View Full Version : Who survived the Kmart Sale !!!
Kristy1979
06-07-2006, 11:10
Hey there fellow gold coasters,
I was at Kmart out at Helensvale this morning and got a few great things.
Talk about crazy , there were people every where !!!!
I got run into by trolleys:mad: .... but thats what its all about hey?
I couldnt find the thing i wanted, the cot aqaurium toy, got a raincheck instead.
Oh well , hope you all had fun and got heaps of great Toys for Christmas.
I pitty anyone who had to stand in that gigantic Layby line... i was going to layby but then i saw that the line almost lapped the store.
What toys did you get?
Kristy
I survived I got DD that Fur Real Chimp for her 2nd B'day, Robina was OK but the layby line was :eek: I just brought it there and then.
I have no idea what some people are going to do with all the toys they had in there trolleys some where staked up to the ceiling :p
I think I might give it a miss :laughing: Sounds to stressful for this little duck :laughing:
Are there some good buys?
I survived Helensvale, whoo hoo, I even laybyed lol, i was there before it opened and was out by just before 10, so that was good, i brought so much,
i survived helensvale.i was just behind jo in line.man it took forever:thumbsdown:
I got some great stuff tho!!Little people stuff and the learning puppy.Spent bout $200.Go layby!!!
MrsMiggins
06-07-2006, 14:40
Well, I'm up here on the Sunny Coast, but wow!!! What a nightmare!!! I refused to be one of those people standing with my trolley ready to barge the door down the second they opened, so the price I paid for that was 2 and a half hours in the layby line!!! Mind you, I was chatting to some very lovely people!!
I walked into K-Mart today forgetting that the toy sale was on, and the line went from one side of the shop, weaved in and out of lanes and all the way over to the other corner for the Lay-by. All I wanted to buy was a toaster! Took me forever to weave my way around all these ladies with their 2 or 3 trolleys...
I was like "WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON?! Ohhh... Toy sale!"
Jax Tellers Old Lady
06-07-2006, 14:45
i survived but my feet are killing me i was there at 9.30am in the layby line and left at 1.45pm omg my feet are killing me. Ds was so tired but he was so well behaved. If it wasnt for two lovely ladies that helped me i dont know what i wouldve done.
illawarramumof2boys
06-07-2006, 14:46
hi:wave:
yes my husband braved the rush this morning for us and was there at 7am.
he had no probs as he paid cash but said if he wanted to layby the line was out the door:rolleyes: .
i was smart i stayed home and minded the boys:D
It was hard but we survived! Got lotsa great stuff:
Learning puppy
Roll arounds school bus
This massive toy( cant think of the name) but it was normally $160 for $74!
Turtle toy that you use the hammer to hit the shapes
Leap Frog learning table
Heaps of stuff and only spent about $200 but probably worth about $400.
Definately worth going to!:thumbsup:
I was thinking of going tonight.........do you think it will be as bad?
Or will anything be left!:laughing:
ElizaDee
06-07-2006, 18:10
I went down to caloundra today at 10:30 and managed to get out by 11:30, but bought the toys on the spot! Was going to layby until I heard that the line was over 2hrs long! :eek:
I got baby several toys some most of you bought...
The Fisher Price learning puppy
The Fisher Price roll arounds bus
Some toy trucks and firetrucks
Playgro toys
Spent about $150 and the toys are worth about $300 :smiliedance:
Now I just need a baby for them! :laughing: Not even here yet and already spoilt!
reddwarf
06-07-2006, 18:19
:thumbsdown: I just got home from Kmart after 3 1/2hours in the layby queue :eek:
I was suprised at how relatively quiet it was at our Kmart. There were an abundacne of toys and people were very polite and smiley faced. The layby line was long (but I didn't use it) and apart from that it was not too bad at all. Christmas is much worse IMO.
One thing i noticed was that some of the toys were not on sale. They were regular price when I checked them. I wonder how many people just go ahead and buy them without looking though.
Jaderocks I would say that quite a few people would've brought the stuff that was not on sale as well, everyone there this morning were all in a frenzy so they probably wouldnt've noticed, I make a list and just buy of the list which I did today, I would hate to know what xmas is like going by today :eek:
Kristy1979
06-07-2006, 18:47
Hi again
Yeah id like to go back with out my littly and see what i missed, well whats left of it anyway.
It was spread all over the shop at helensvale and with so many people in there it was hard to get to every thing when the doors opened.
I managed to get my boys all the 'CARS' stuff they liked and that learning puppy also a Furby and heaps of baby toys.
I might go back down about 8pm cause i live about 2 mins away and i will see whats left.
Chels21- i saw you and your bubba, i recognise you from your avatar. hope you had fun too.
Well will let you know how i go tonight, maybe i will find something stuffed under other toys that was sold out !!!
Kristy
Just got back and it was great!:D
It was busy in the store itself but NO-ONE was in the layby queue!YAY
I actually checked the queue BEFORE I started shopping and there was no-one there.
I got all the stuff I wanted - Fisher Price and it was easy to find, they had put it at the front of the store all in 1 aisle
I'm so happy:smiliedance:
I not only got stuff for Xmas but for her Bday too in October:yelclap:
Enjoy girls!
no thats ok to ask. when you have kids and realise the cost of xmas the savings are a god send plus the fact that you can pay it off over 6 months. for eg our rego and afew other big bills are either dec or jan plus the cost of school holidays , school equipment for the following year etc its good to get one big thing out of the way iykwim
mum2littleman
06-07-2006, 20:37
we got lots of great things then even went to robina tonight to get my nephews hmmm crazy or what, but tonight wasnt to bad all up on toys today i just worked out i spend $490- :eek: owell ill pay it off slow.. heehee
I not only got stuff for Xmas but for her Bday too in October
I just wanted to mention that last year I did a layby & had planned to give some of the things to DD for her b'day in August(so I planned to get it all out then & just hide the chrissy things) anyway when I went to get it they said :no: the no deposit toy sale laybys go away to another storage space & can not be taken out until some time in Nov(not sure what the date was) so I could not get my layby out for DD's b'day :crying:
It maybe different in other stores, maybe my local Kmart has little storage space.
mum2littleman
06-07-2006, 20:49
I just wanted to mention that last year I did a layby & had planned to give some of the things to DD for her b'day in August(so I planned to get it all out then & just hide the chrissy things) anyway when I went to get it they said :no: the no deposit toy sale laybys go away to another storage space & can not be taken out until some time in Nov(not sure what the date was) so I could not get my layby out for DD's b'day :crying:
It maybe different in other stores, maybe my local Kmart has little storage space.
yeh we asked about that and they said just have to tell them 5 days before u want them..
and jo i got the $10 off chels ill bring them to sea world... are u still going?
MrsMiggins
06-07-2006, 21:22
I went down to caloundra today at 10:30 and managed to get out by 11:30, but bought the toys on the spot! Was going to layby until I heard that the line was over 2hrs long! :eek:
We were there at the same time!!! You could have seen me in the layby line and yes, it was over 2 hours long. Two and a half to be precise!!:sleeping:
I was there lamenting the fact that I didn't have enough credit left on my credit card just to go & buy the whole damn lot there & then! :laughing:
when I did my layby today they said I could take it out when ever but have to give them at least 5 days notice like Lou said.
Lou thats cool ya got your money, thought I would get it to you now before I spend it lol, I thought about finding you again but looked at the line so just gave it to Chel, umm should still be going on mon, I maybe taking hubby's neice and nephew if thats alright
i went to our local one at midnight and waited in the lay buy line til 7.30am! :eek: Talk about nuts! people go crazy!
Chels21- i saw you and your bubba, i recognise you from your avatar. hope you had fun too.
Kristy
why didnt you say hi?????i had my bubhub ribbon on pram but had to abandon it in favour of a trolley!!!
Kristy1979
06-07-2006, 22:04
babe i would have had to jump across 10 trolleys to get to ya whilst saving a huge trolley of my sons toys with a 3 month old under my arm.......
Its cool , i will meet you all one day , Im one of those scardy cats any way , the ones they are talking about in the other thread.
I never used to be shy but ever since having my boys and working ive kinda kept to myself. Mainly cause im shagged at the end of a long day , i only really go out once a month with my friends..... God what happened, i used to be such a disco dancer ...:crying:
Maybe once things settle down with my mini coop.
Kristy
LOL true!!luckily I had some batty women next to me who guarded my trolley while I ducked round chatting to friends:laughing:
Im sure we will meet soon-dont be shy!!
that lady was a crack up ay chel, was lovely of her and her daughter to push your trolley around and stuff, sorry I didn't stay for a drink and good, Sue and I had to get to BigW lol before she had to take the car back, will definatly have to go out for coffee another time, I havn'thad teh chance to do that in ages
heymamma
07-07-2006, 07:58
Yeah i was only in there like 15mins...lol i got 3 puppies...1 for Ethan & 1 each for my lil neice's for xmas. & my other neice & nephew i got them the view master..i got my neice the dora one & my nephew the thomas one.