View Full Version : The BIG MAD TOY SALES!!!
I just came back from the KMart toy sale (store started the toy sale at midnight) and it was SOOOOO busy - the layby queue had circled around the store... people had trollies filled to the brim and it was soooo hard to get through and around everyone. It was worse than the christmas sales! :eek:
So... what did everyone buy and what was the most popular item?
Nearly every trolley I saw had one of Fisher Price Learning puppy which plays games and sings songs... I loved it as well but problem was it wouldn't shut up and driving all the way home I had to listen to it laughing and singing! :D
Ours starts at 8am.. I wasn't going to go until 12.. but I'm thinking now that I may miss out on stuff. (like a carpark :) )
leanne78
06-07-2006, 01:35
Oh it was amazing wasn't it, people were pushing and running and screaming, I was at penrith, I has bubs with me (he's 5 months) and people didn't care, must admit in the end I was getting cross. I got what I wanted most paid in full and left. I bought a laugh and learn learning home, a sort and rool school bus and the leap start learning table. I may venture back later on to pick up a few odds and ends, we bought him a puppy before they were on sale (hhmmm!:devil6::( ) but luckily he loves it and the giggles are bliss.
InSaneOne
06-07-2006, 07:28
i am so glad i have already brought birthday and christmas pressies for my little one. the older ones have all had their birthdays by this time of year and we usually give them some money for christmas so they can got to movies with their friends during the holidays and buy something for themselves.
Nearly every trolley I saw had one of Fisher Price Learning puppy which plays games and sings songs... I loved it as well but problem was it wouldn't shut up and driving all the way home I had to listen to it laughing and singing! :D
I havent been to them yet but my BF was going on last night about this puppy cause he wants to get one for EJ from KMart - I wonder if there will be any left seems like everyone wants one :)
heymamma
06-07-2006, 07:47
Was there any swing sets on special?
I checked the catalouge, 2 of the things I want don't have "No Raincheck" on them! One's the learning puppy.. so I'm going to head down tomorrow when it's less busy! :D
I went to KMART and could not believe the amount of people, I knew it would be busy but sillly :o me didnt think it would be that busy, anyway after 5 mins of not being able to hardly move I thought bed sounds better to me. I am going to Big W this morning and see how I go.
06-07-2006, 08:27
I want one of those pups for DD so they better have one left for me!!!!!
BTW - I checked the Big W catalog and they are selling those puppies for $29.95 but Kmart has them for $19.95!!! :thumbsup:
Is the toy sale always this crowded or will it slow down?! Will next week be less hectic I wonder?!
Was there any swing sets on special?
Yup Kmart had one of those Hills outdoor swingsets on special. Is that what you were after?
My BF just arrived with the puppy - EJ loves it :thumbsup: He went to Kmart this morning
HugsAndKisses
06-07-2006, 09:25
so since u all have been would u say its worth having a look???
are the specials goog or just ordinary?:confused:
06-07-2006, 09:26
My BF just arrived with the puppy - EJ loves it :thumbsup: He went to Kmart this morning
Lucky duck!!!!
as i said before I really do hope they have some left for me!!!!!
Hope they have some left for you also BrandNewDay :)
Im soo sad ! Ive been banned from the toy sales :( my DP wont let me go cause i went over board last year! i think im gonna go crazy if i dont get there ! some one buy somthing for me !!!!!!!!!
beetlgrl
06-07-2006, 10:46
I went to our local kmart at campbelltown last night at 12! and it was a nightmare. i was there till 5.30 in the lay by line!if u dont get in with in the first day or too you will miss out! As soon as the doors were opened people started running! The puppys were the 1st to go so good luck getting one!
Oh it was amazing wasn't it, people were pushing and running and screaming, I was at penrith, I has bubs with me (he's 5 months) and people didn't care, must admit in the end I was getting cross. I got what I wanted most paid in full and left. I bought a laugh and learn learning home, a sort and rool school bus and the leap start learning table. I may venture back later on to pick up a few odds and ends, we bought him a puppy before they were on sale (hhmmm!:devil6::( ) but luckily he loves it and the giggles are bliss.
I was at Penrith too, i bought a learning puppy and the Fisherprice house, plus a few extras with my sister-in-law. We left the 3 children at home with her husband, i saw a few people with babies... If you had no choice to bring him thats fine but if you did i would have left him at home, a toy sale is no place for a child esp with all the pushing that went on.
Like you i told the sister in law i would pay for it as the layby line was too long she can pay me back later.
My kmart has heaps of Learning Puppies still, I just got back about 1 hr ago.
I got DD one about 1 yr ago(for $40) & she has never liked it(actually does not really like any toys,just books) if anyone misses out and is desperate I would be willing to part with DD's for a cheap price, he is still as new :p
heymamma
06-07-2006, 11:49
Im gunna go out & buy 2 puppy's for my niece's for xmas...one of them will be 1yr old & the other will be 9mths old...so do you think they would be a good toy for that age?
Smurfette
06-07-2006, 11:51
My kmart has heaps of Learning Puppies still, I just got back about 1 hr ago.
I got DD one about 1 yr ago(for $40) & she has never liked it(actually does not really like any toys,just books) if anyone misses out and is desperate I would be willing to part with DD's for a cheap price, he is still as new :p
My little one is the same, lovves books. I ended up buying a leap pad, slide, pop onz table and some bath toys. I bought a few pressies for other kids as well. We got there at 8am, and it was getting very busy when we left.Am very happy we went early.:thumbsup:
06-07-2006, 12:04
Arraggh just got back from Kmart! Summer & I got there at 7.45 am and even though the store didnt open until 8 there was already a huge crowd outside everyone with trolleys!!!! I ended up having to do two separate laybys as i was by myself and not everything would fit in one trolley! First layby went in straight away, second layby was in the line for 2 hours :eek: Summer was playing up really bad by then, she just wanted me to hold her!!
I ended up getting too much then i should have i got the dora explorer talking kitchen, Ocean aquariam (for Taliyah), my first dollhouse, fun to learn laptop, Princess Cabrio, rattle pack (Taliyah), bumble along pooh, bounce & giggle tigger, treehouse bundle, bounce & spin zebra, wiggles keyboard, musical playmat, art easel, playful pup & a kids couch!
Now i gotta make sure i pay it all off before xmas time :yes: :eek:
i hope to get a fisher price learn through music machine. have the cartridges but no machine.:o
Im gunna go out & buy 2 puppy's for my niece's for xmas...one of them will be 1yr old & the other will be 9mths old...so do you think they would be a good toy for that age?
They are bright and colourfull im sure esp at that price they will love it.
The first 10 in minutes werent 2 bad at my kmart this morning. only about 50 ppl waiting outside so it was really good. layby line got long quick but they opened up 2 checkouts as layby as well which made life a bit easier. was in and out by 9am and in miss mauds drinking a cuppa soon after!
Those puppies!!! Aagh! Bug got one for xmas and has driven me nuts with it for the past 6 months!
We had two of them in the boot last night and when you drive around our suburb no street is straight for more then 10 metres. People that know my suburb always compains..... So each time you went around the bend the puppy started talking or should i say puppies... It was funny at first but all you could hear was foot and that tickles or some thing like that.
I bought them for other people as we do not have children yet (2 attempts this year but we will get there).
ashleerose
06-07-2006, 12:52
After last years experience i thought never again.
So i went in on Tuesday instead of monday not realising that the sale started on thursday until i had a trolley load of things.
I was wondering why everyone was looking at me weirdly...
Anyhow i thought there is no way in hell i am putting everything back and making another trip into town (i dont live close to town and with petrol prices and all i limit using the car as much as possible).
So i laybyed everything on a standard eight week laybye and will go back into kmart later next week to have everything reduced down to sale price.
I am thinking about leaving it to the eight week laybye and getting it out with my tax cheque, and i am also thinking about cancelling and relaybying to give me more time.
One thing is for sure there is no way that i am going to leave it to the last minute the year before i learnt this the hard way when they lost some of my things and i had to get other items that i didnt really want.
Briannabear
06-07-2006, 13:12
I went to Kmart today and was there 15 mins after they opened. It was absolutely chaotic! People ramming trollies everywhere. There werent any trollies there to take by the time I got there!
We couldnt make it through the mayhem so I grabbed one leapfrog music table and paid for it fully rather than bracing the laybuy line up!
Big W was far less chaotic! We happily browsed and put some things on laybuy with no dramas! :thumbsup:
Im planning on maybe going back later on tonight to get the things I missed at Kmart.
malinda84
06-07-2006, 13:28
I went to the fountain gate midnight opening and it was kaos. I was at the layby in 15mn and i stiil took till 5am to get out. My store had 2 more pallets of the puppies and the learning tables and some other things but they where not going to bring them out till 8am and then8am tomorrow. I line to pay was just as bad 3 hours someone told me. not only that there was no toilet and you couldn't even buy a drink because you had to line up, so people where just opening the boxes of canned drinks and drinking them and opening the chocolates there was mess every where. People even opened all the folding chairs and wgere sitting on them. I'd hate to see there damage bill. People where fighting over those $2 bags another 2 ladys got kicked out over a toy. total kaos in the end i only missed one thing off my list and it was one i didn't know if i should get anyway.
I'll admit I was mad enough to go. But I thought that if I miss out on anything there will be Target's on very soon, so I'll wait. But stupid old me accidently joined the Layby queue! Gosh I felt like a dope. At least it moved quickly. I was only in it for 20 minutes before realising where I was and then being in a short dash to a register. It was madness though. When I was in the layby queue I was trolley #101! the Layby queue was HUGE! But I bought Little People Garage for both kids to play with for Xmas and a walking doll for DD and the Fisher Price Train for my youngest and some DVDs.
BUT I went to the Myer Clearance sale as well (which was my priority shopping trip today) and got some amazing bargains. I got over $200 of Country Road Towels for $50 and a $129 dress from Cue for $28! So, I was happy. Oh, and $92 (originally $45.95 each) worth of Triumph Maternity/Nursing Bras for $20 (reduced to $10 each:smiliedance: ). Underwear was amazing! Heaps and heaps of Formfit undies for $5 a pair! My DH will be happy as all I wear is Best and Less 99c undies:laughing: .I've gone slightly more upmarket.
Ahh, I'm broke. :crying: :smiliedance:
heymamma
06-07-2006, 13:30
I got 3 puppy things....2 for my niece's (1 each) & i got my lil guy ethan one for xmas. I got my nephew the view master thomas the tank thing...where you look though the slides..& i got my niece a dora view master...only $19.98. She is dora mad..so it was a good choice...lol. I tried looking for the swing set but man getting through kmart on a toy sale with a tandom pram...nahhhh doesnt really mix well would you believe.. :rolleyes:
Its was great but absolute Chaos!!! Layby queue was circled around the entire store.
The specials were fantastic, definately made it worth while going!
And yes, there was a learning puppy in my trolley and about evey other Trolley I could see!
OMG:eek: DF and I are not going till he gets home from work, is it likely to have calmed down by then?? It sounds like pure bedlem at kmart!!! We had a quick look last night to stake out were all the stuff we wanted for the kiddies was so hope that helped....
(DD got a learning puppy for chrissie last year so at least I wont have to worry bout that one:rolleyes: )
It was madness:eek:
I was in layby line for ages,stuck next to a lady that was chatting to me like I was her best friend!!!Luckily her daughter kept holding Riley.He was so grumpy by the end of it!!
I got there just after 8 and was out by 10ish so not toooo bad!!
Great specials!!I got the learning puppy like the rest of australia:rolleyes:
also got alot of little people stuff!!
rachdent
06-07-2006, 15:15
Hey gals
Well, I just got home from the sales - not fun at almost 38 weeks preggers! I too bought a learning puppy but didnt' actually end up with anything else. I bought a lot at the Myers sale a couple of weeks ago. It was amazing to watch though. Thinking of taking DH out on Saturday and getting the Boat Sandpit if they still ahve some - no way a pregnant woman was gonna get that out of the store.
Happy shopping
Thinking of taking DH out on Saturday and getting the Boat Sandpit if they still ahve some - no way a pregnant woman was gonna get that out of the store.
:laughing: LOL very tru ... I really liked the sandpit unfortunantly our backyard is smaller than the actual base of the darn thing (well it feels like it any way) so no boat for us:(
claireandbailey
06-07-2006, 15:21
the toy sale was CRAZY!!!!!!!!!
we went at midnight and got in the layby line about 12.30 and i didnt get home till 5.00 this morning!!! suprisingly the time went pretty quickly. I got everything off my list except for one thing but it wasnt anything important. Luckily i had gone into the store on tuesday and scouted out where everything i wanted was. I even found a cabbage patch doll on tuesday that's name is Bailey same as my dd. So i hid it behind all the other ones luckily i got it!!!!! i was so happy to get it. Even though Bailey is only 11mths i had to get it cos its her name!!
I stupidly invited my neighbour to come along and now i wish i had never mentioned it to her. She complained the entire time we were there. I didnt expect it to be as busy as it was and she just whinged the whole time. by the end of it i felt like punching her out !!!!:banghead:
i went to my kmart at 9 am this morning and the first thing i got was 5 of those $2 show bags at the main doors...
i walked around in no hurry ( yes no kids with me!) and picked what i wanted.. i got the fisher price wagon school bus $40 off and fisher price treehouse $20 off for the new baby ( would you believe with three kids in the house we have NO baby toys!) got DD7yr old a leapster max hand held game thingy and some games and each DD a big (ugly) baby brat doll-half the price of last xmas. 3 pixel chix cars- DS wanted the pink!- to go with the houses they got last year. got V-smile games- buy 2 get 1 free- to go with the Vsmile game unit we have put away for DS. DD9yr old wanted a fur real monkey that moves $30 off so that went in the trolly and a playskool vaccum- $25 off- that sings and talks for 1 yr old nephew..
i was walking around and a lady stopped me to ask where i got the show bags, i told her and a few minutes later she came back to me and said there was none left would i mind giving her one of mine..i said no sorry as i have a friend with 5 kids and it was one each for them. she said it should be one per customer and swore at me...
i went to the layby line -yes it was huge-and was there for 10 minutes when a kmart worker came up to me and said shed take the layby just fill in a form and theyd send me the details in 2 weeks- this was for people with one trolly or only a few things- so i did this and then left.
i shop for bargains all year and put them away in storage boxes with each childs name on, so i really didnt need to get that much as my boxes are already filling up! but all in all i had a good trip and was happy with what i got.
06-07-2006, 16:15
i went to my kmart at 9 am this morning and the first thing i got was 5 of those $2 show bags at the main doors...
What are they?
06-07-2006, 16:16
I surived!
JUST
I waited 45 minutes in line at kmart to put DD's toys on layby
big was alot easier tho
$2 show bags-
they say "toy sale" on the front are blue or pink i got three blue and two pink ( the blue are all the same the pink are different)
the boys ones have king kong couloring in book, k-zone magazine and extras that came with that months mag- like a tennis ball toy or lolly, spiderman comic, monster connectots toy, "flip it" which is a ball toy you tie to a shoe to kick like a soccer ball?, some magnet toys and dip sherbie lolly pops.
the girls ones one has the ball toy for the shoe, candy lolly pops, a dvd, total girl mag-with the extras that came with that months mag, and two couloring in books ( dora and chicken little)
the other has the ball toy and lolly pops cabbage patch plastic doll keyring, total girl mag, dvd and chicken little couloring in book.
Hmm my bubba woke up at 6am and so we decided to get up....we were all ready for the day at 7am and our Kmart opens at 7am so I mosied on in then, got absolutely everything I wanted, waited 15 mins in line and was out of there. At around 10ish I then went to another Kmart with a friend and it was mayhem! The line looked to be about 3 hours wait as it weaved around the department store.....I was sooo glad I had been out earlier. My friend was up against empty shelves as everything she wanted was gone. Then after seeing the line she put her few items back.
Big W also had empty shelves! But yes I did find that you needed to compare prices between the 2. I also got 2 of the puppies, 1 for DD2 and one for my niece Mia.
For DD2 prize purchases were the dollhouse and Bratz baby doll.
Littletreasures
07-07-2006, 13:39
i went yesterday it was so busy
However i managed to get everything that i wanted to get for DS and the 5 other neices and nephews that i have and all i spent $260 on toys :eek: spent 1 hour in the line for laybys...
Then DH got home from work and wanted to go again so we went and we got everything for DS bed that i wanted eg: Doona, quilt cover, pillow, sheets, matress protector :ecomcity:... And loads of clothes for Myself And DH for christmas... Spent 30 mins in line for laybys and $600 later.....:eek:
Lets just say that i wont be going shopping again for a while...
Does anyone know whether the big Myer sale has toys on special as well?
SamanthaJane
07-07-2006, 15:02
I got one of those learning puppies too (no use to me yet, but they were half price, so its being put away till bub is ready for it;) ) I swear EVERYONE was buying them in our Kmart! lol every second person had one in their trolley!
I also got a virbrating bouncer/rocker with a detatchable toy bar for $69.95, saving $20 I set it up yesterday lol i was so excited!! :yes:
bellagirl
07-07-2006, 15:09
my friend went yesterday and got there at 1........she got home at 9.
i wanna go but i cant handle it when its so busy i cant move.
yes! i wanted one of those learning puppys!
surely theyll have more in stock though?
i just got a learning puppy for $10 !!! it was on the discount rack with a sticker saying it didnt sing- i switched it on and it sung away!
about two months ago i got one on a discount rack for $20 same reason that time i just pulled the demo tag out and it was singing away. i gave that puppy to my nephew.
i also got some more of those $2 show bags today.
OMG I won't be doing any shopping for the rest of the year... I have just spent way over what I said I would!! Ah well we got all the chrissie prezzies for family as well plus stuff for the new bub and lots to put away for years to come (you never know when the money will run out so best to be prepaired I say:p !!)
DD and I were stuck in the lay-buy line for nearly an hour:eek: but thankfully she was happy to 'chat' to the lady in front of us!!
Lots of good bargains and there were only 2 things on the REALLY long list that were all out of stock so not to bad...
Does anyone know if they keep stock aside to put out throught the whole sale so the don't run out?? Is it worth checking to see if the other things pop up over the next week??:confused:
GoneBatty
07-07-2006, 17:18
I went to my midnight opening store with a friend....even down here in little ol tassie it was PACKED!!! we got to the toy section and couldnt move our trolleys and lay buy line was starting to grow so.....(here's a tip for next year)
I went a stood in the lay buy line with trolley while she went by her self and got what she wanted for her DD and then when she came back i went and got what i wanted for my DS! We were outta there by 1:30am! which was good considering a friend of ours was stuck in the line only about 10 metres behind us didnt get out of Kmart until 7am! glad that wasnt me!
I got a tonka tractor and trailor, a ride on thing a learning puppy (yes me to! it wasnt making any noise tho so hoping batteries are just flat!) and a little ppl farm animal thingo.
Also went to big w later in the day and it was much more relaxed!:smiliedance:
from there got a pooh bear little kids couch thing a pooh bear bath toy and um something else. I cant remember and cant be bothered going to get the docket!
Thats my toy shopping done! quite glad its over with!
Good luck for those who havent been yet!
I just came back from another Kmart and was soooo surprised at how QUIET it was in comparison to the other stores I had visited! There was hardly anyone at the layby section and not many people at the checkout counters! I felt so sorry for them that I ended up buying more stuff!! :laughing:
07-07-2006, 18:05
I just came back from another Kmart and was soooo surprised at how QUIET it was in comparison to the other stores I had visited! There was hardly anyone at the layby section and not many people at the checkout counters! I felt so sorry for them that I ended up buying more stuff!! :laughing:
you musta been on of the lucky ones
I did ask why they were so quiet and they said that it was because they were within 7km within another Kmart which is much bigger (and open 24 hours). So everyone it seems goes there first. I think I have to stop "Kmart hopping" so I don't keep spending!! :p
our little treasures
07-07-2006, 18:13
Yep I was a crazy one at my Kmart store at 11.30 for a midnight open and didnt get out until 6.45am!! I loved it it was fun and in the line I met some other mums and just chatted and watched each others trolley while we went to get drinks toilet etc.. We even started shopping for each other, if we seen something that the other couldn't find we would bring it back to them!! At the end the staff finally got black bags and paper to write our details and we packed our stuff in writing how many items, and our name etc. Then they wheeled our trolleys outside!! I spent $800 as I got my niece and nephews their presents as well.. I want to go to big w and get the combo gym set and the plastic cubby. Then I just have to pay it all off!!:eek:
I do this every year and I can't wait for next year....
ARGHH!! I just saw the Target Toy catalog (http://target.com.au/html/catalogue0376T/catindex0376T.htm) but it's frustrating not being able to see the prices!!! :banghead:
How am I supposed to compare?!?! It's torture! GRRRR!!! :mad:
malinda84
07-07-2006, 23:27
We went to the 24hr one in melbourne last year at 10pm and it was sort of good because u could shop before the sale had started and they gave out the $2 bags for free and they had 3 DVDs ( wiggkes, play school and another) and some great f/p toys, This year i was tired so i went to the one near me at midnight big mistake next year i'll be heading back to the 24hr one. I don't like getting pushed against a door to get some cheap toys. Oh and they are getting toys in all week to keep stocks up but i don't think the big stuff just the smaller stuff i know the f/gate store had 2 more palllets of the puppiesmy 8th month old got 8 last year it was sort of funny but i can't stand them they never shut up. there tooooo happy lol :banghead:
I'm not goimng to the target sale i'm getting married soon so i need the energy for that.
We also got a boat sand pit and it was missing a pce and we took it back and they have no more i cracked it and they gave me a $50 coles/myer card
Oh and if anyone missed anything our target is offering to match toy prices so head down to yours and see if they are. :thumbsup:
our little treasures
08-07-2006, 00:07
malinda84 was that fountain gate that you were at?? I was shopping there at midnight it was so full on!! Last year I went to burwood at 10pm with my hubby and we took our time picking toys and lined up for 3 hrs not 6hrs like F/gate!! I felt for the staff they were abused all night and barely 20 yrs old!!
~Emmylou~
08-07-2006, 12:08
I just went to CAnnon Hill KMart at 9am Saturday morning - it was great! The whole toy section was totally organised (as opposed to completely destroyed) and there was no one there! When I got to the layby counter there was only one other person!! I got everything I wanted and I saved so much money!!! WOOHOO!
I'll be making this a yearly event from now on :smiliedance:
KiLLaKaZ
08-07-2006, 13:04
I just went to CAnnon Hill KMart at 9am Saturday morning - it was great! The whole toy section was totally organised (as opposed to completely destroyed) and there was no one there! When I got to the layby counter there was only one other person!! I got everything I wanted and I saved so much money!!! WOOHOO!
I'll be making this a yearly event from now on :smiliedance:
i went to cannon hill kmart on thursday - the day the sale began - & it was quite empty (of ppl)!! but, there were toys dumped all over the shop! lol. i'm heading up to the wynnum one today, hopefully it's not too crowded, it's usually worse that cannon hill! maybe i should just travel the extra KMs to cannon hill! ;)
i didn't realise the learning puppies would be so popular! i was going to buy one, hopefully there are some left!
I went to campbellfield kmart.. at 11:45 wednesday and it was soo mad.. people pushing and everything.. i got most of the things i wanted and spent way less this year than ever other year and this is the first year i have 2 kids..?
for my daughter i got a Dora Kitchen, extra play food, a board game and a babrie horse where you do its hair, skipping rope and faires dvd
I really wanted to get my DS on of the Thomas ride-ons.... i searched for it for ages and was told they sold out.. so i did some investigations (looking in everyones trolley) and no one had one.. so i went up to the guy and asked, turns out they never even got them in. i was not impressed..
so anyway i got my son the drop and roar dinosaur, a talking tonka truck & sesame street tool belt.. and for his bday in jan i got a Thomas the tank bucket set..
my mum got be one of the ride-on thoams's from a friend who knows some one that sells wholesale toys, only $50.00 not $59.95 that will be for DS bday too
i just neeed a suitcase on wheels for DS and a sleeping bag couch for him to and then i am done :ecomcity:
Mummy_Johnno
08-07-2006, 23:09
I have no idea! What should i buy for my son who will be 8 months at Chrissy time?
Any tips? Advice of what would be a good investment?
Arggggggggggggggggg ...... so many toys! :smiliedance:
our little treasures
18-07-2006, 00:05
I always buy things that will last the year so that with my boy he isntgoing to outgrow it before he uses it!! So I get somethings for now and some things for whenthey are older!!