View Full Version : Okay mums Public or Private School
I thought this might be the best place for me to ask. My daughter is turning three and if I am choosing a Private school it's time to put her name down.
Looking at fees I was wondering what the differance these days......
Is Private better than Public Adelaide mums?
Please help me out!
I live in the Western subs but I'm interested in hearing from mums from all around.
Tar
--------------------------
DH 23
DM 22
DD 3
DS 5 months
mumof2girls
31-07-2005, 18:22
Hi bugsbias;
As an Adelaide mum that has 2 kids at school and who has kids that have attended both private and public I can honestly say GO PRIVATE!!!
I never thought there would be much difference so my girls spent the first 4-5 years in public schools before they went to private school (Tyndale- northern suburbs). Yes they cost more but believe me it is worth every cent, my girls do so much more and they are so motivated and the teachers are really great with the children of any age, the children are more respectful of themselves and others and both my girls are A & B students and love school, they get so much support from the school, I can't say enough about the school, it is great :D
I think to they take more interest in the children's futures from a younger age, whether they want to go to TAFE, UNI etc they guide their students from an earlier age then public schools.
Sorry to waffle on, one thing I do suggest is when the schools have visits go and you will get a feel of the school and whether or not you would like your child to attend, it also shows you whether or not they speak to the child or just the parent etc.
Good luck I know it is a hard decision one that affects the rest of your childs life :)
aardvark
31-07-2005, 19:45
I'm not in Adelaide, but I have two girls at a private girls school, and I would not send them public under just about any circumstances.
The opportunities are exceptional, and my older one has really thrived on it. The younger one is just starting out at school.
My older one is now in year 9, and she commented back in year 7 about how many of the new girls coming into the school from the public system were struggling to read, while her cohorts who had come through the junior school were reading years above their age level.
Yes there are probably exceptions to this, and some public school do perfrom very well - but I'm not chancing it with my girls' futures.
Another comment I would make is that I went to a public primary school, and then a private secondary school. My brother was privately educated throughout his schooling. He had many more opportunities for learning music, art etc at an early age than I did. I was also picked on and bullied at primary school for being one of the top students in the class. The culture at private schools ecourages people to achieve, and it is unlikely to cause social problems if a child is doing well.
mumof2girls
01-08-2005, 11:50
Hi brookesmum;
I thought the same as you nothing wrong with public primary school then private school for high school when it was really important, sounds good right! - WRONG!!!
I am so mad at myself for not putting them into private from reception onwards as they learn from a very young age the discipline and study techniques needed for when they go through to high school. Although my girls do great at school they have missed out on some of those techniques and it shows when it comes to homework, they get it done and do a brillant job but it takes them longer to achieve the same outcome then friends that have been there from reception. They have so much more respect from their teachers and peers for being "smart kids" where as in the public system they were picked on, not only by students but teachers as well. As for the the statistics on the last year 12 class 94% went to UNI, 2 % went to TAFE, 3% had apprenticeships and 1 was travelling around Europe for a year, not bad statistics if you ask me.
My girls work hard at school and are mostly A students (sometimes gets a couple of B's) and as a reward I pay them $10 for every A they get each term. The amount of work they do is tremendous and I think their hard work earns some recognition, what do you think?
ThomasMum
01-08-2005, 12:51
I am not from Adelaide, but I thought the story of mine might add some if not just a little value what your perception about public/private
I went to private school all the way, from kindy through high schools, yes the teachers were helpful, they always made sure that I got what I want, but the downside from being kindly nurtured by teachers (coz my parents had paid big ₤₤!!) was that I got scared in the big world after I graduated from school, I went to university with not much confidence about achieving my goals because no lecturers were kind enough to give me a 'push' like back at the old school, I had changed my subjects too many times from law , media, etc and although I did ended up graduated with a BA degree and even though I got a job but not good enough for my liking.
Now on the other hand, my husband Joshua went public all the way, his grades were excellent, we both got same BA degree but the difference is his with a plus, for he had received his degree for being the most outstanding student! He’s finishing his MBA degree now at most exclusive school, AGSM. Oh by the way I’ve met couple people like me who went to private schools all the way but achieved not much.
So that’s the story from me, good luck in whatever you doing. one thing I know, I have high respect in public school, coz my husband is made from public education yet he turns out to be one of the successful men in Australia-he had achieved many e.g. being guest lecturers overseas, many conference overseas (Asia-Europe-US), his valuable Europe projects, and many more), he’s currently a manager at one of most respected media industry at only 30 years old with 6 figures salary plus car allowance of 20K annualy, and this brilliant mind was nurtured from public school! Whilst mine is not even 50K, not a manager yet, my name never been on the newspaper like he did!
Not much to say about me is there? And as part as bullying, these cultures are everywhere! Not only in public but also private schools, trust me on that one! So for me it’s not because of private/public but I think it’s the way you brought up plays vital role in our success.
[QUOTE=mumof2girls]Hi brookesmum;
As for the the statistics on the last year 12 class 94% went to UNI, 2 % went to TAFE, 3% had apprenticeships and 1 was travelling around Europe for a year, not bad statistics if you ask me.
QUOTE]
I just wanted to add my 2c worth on this topic. I think following the stats is not an ideal way to look at it - i went to public school all the way and the rate of students going on to uni or tafe was very high - but a few years later, i look at how many people subsequently dropped out and it was surprising. We are all taught that we *should* go onto tertiary education and so many people just doing it without really *thinking* about whether its what they really want. You can have the best education in the world and still find that tertiary education isn't for you. So many of my peers went to uni only to find it wasn't for them and went straight to work, often in a field different to their area of study. So many of us felt pressured by schools/parents to follow careers in business, accountancy etc only to find it wasn't the fit for us. I would estimate that 50% of my graduating class have hotfooted it over to London!!
All i ever wanted to be (i know its not politically correct) was a wife and mum. So I wasted years at uni really, just passing the time, doing what i thought i should do and accumulating huge hecs debts just to be where i am now, a very happy and contented stay at home mum.
Anyway I could go on for ages on this topic but bub is requesting my company!!
sopolicha
01-08-2005, 15:13
Nicole,
Good on you for saying that all you ever wanted to be was a wife and mum. I could not think of anything else I would rather do than stay at home with my kids and look after them and even my husband.
Who would say that is politically incorrect.
mumof2girls
01-08-2005, 17:52
Wow it looks like I touched a few nerves from what I said. All I was saying is that from the experiences I have had these are the decisions I have made. My girls are confident children because they have been raised that way, they have their own minds and they don't have to conform to what others want them to do. They know the decisions they make will have consequences and it's the choices they make that will detemine the consequence. I don't care what my children do when they get older, whether they want to be a stay at home mum or an astonaut, I really don't care I just want them to have the opportunity to achieve what they want to in life. I stayed home with my kids until they went to school and now my hubby stays home with them while I work, because this is how WE wanted it, we don't care what others think!
I also think it is up to you what you achieve out of your life, I work in childcare (minimum wage) because I love working with children, my hubby stays home with the kids instead of working so someone is always with them, we live on a tight budget because we have to as these are the choices we have made and when the girls look at us and say "we are richer than most because we know that after school someone will always be there to help us with homework, talk, listen and be there for us" it is worth all the sacrafices we have made.
If we can raise 2 confident, happy children who can think for themselves and will do as they please throughout life without conforming to what others think then I am so mucher richer than I ever thought I could be :)
Sorry to rave on, I'm not aiming to offend anyone just voicing my opinion!
Thanx for your hel on the debate.. I know it sturs up alot of emtions when it comes to your kids..
In her defence my mother and father raised me to think for my self and be strong, however the pressure to go off to uni was still there, kind of the next step in Education. I was rasied to believe I was very smart (I was an A srtudent, won awards etc) All I wanted to do was work in retail, my up bring told me to strive for more...
I went off to uni straight from year 12 with a great TER, and well what I discovered was UNI SUCKED!! I spent the next year trying to find a job in retail but alas I was too old with no experiance (Yeh as if 19 is old!), I missed the boat.
The drop out rate in first year uni is over 50% and I understand why.. I stayed at uni and dropped out when I has my DD, now I have a HECS debt and no degree.
Out of all the people I know who did graduate only four use the degree they studied for.
I am pro uni but I hop my kids will feel free to tell me how they feel, if they come to me at 16 and say they want an apprentacship (sp) I hope I will tell them to go for it.
Yes year 12 is important but following your heart/gut is way more important..
As for the debate, I have to choose between sending my kids to a private school or staying home with them... It's a hard choice that I don't take lightly,
mumof2girls
01-08-2005, 19:39
Hi bugbias;
Good luck with making a choice as you said we are all trying to to what we think is right for our children, my children have many interests and whatever they decide to do with their life is fine by me - no matter what it is, as long as they are happy that's all we wish for. Good luck to all of you on your decision, it is a hard one to make, but by visiting schools you will get a feeling for the one that appeals to you :)
mumofethan
01-08-2005, 19:58
Well i am not ashamed to say that my boy will be going to a public school... i can not afford the fees for a decent private school, not will i most likely live near a decent one and i refuse to stick my kid on a bus for an hr to get to school each day, and at the moment i dont drive.
I know lots of friends who attended private schools and they, no offence, are any better off that my other friends who attended public schools. Those that wanted to work and go on to Uni did so.
Personally I would love to send my son to Prince Alfred College or Pultney Grammer, but I refuse to live in poverty just for him to do so. I only went to public schools, but the ones I went to were fantastic and I never felt that I was lower than private school students, and I had the bonus advantage of not feeling the pressure that some private school students do.
This is just my opinion.
Michelle
mumof2girls
01-08-2005, 21:24
Hi Brookesmum;
Thankyou I am a very proud mum and I love my girls to bits and they are doing great at school, due to their OWN hard work :) I do understand where you are coming from, I want my girls to have all the opportunities I can possibly give them but it doesn't mean they have to use any if all of them, over all it is their decision what they do with their lives I just want them to know they have choices and opportunities to be able to make their decisions :)
Sorry once I start on about my girls I could go on for hours, they are such great kids and I just adore them :D
Hi Mumof2Girls,
I have read a couple of older posts about your girls as well (I try to get some all round info from the site whilst learning about motherhood) and they truly sound like lovely, well adjusted, secure little women! I can understand why they would do so well in Private school, in my experiences it is most beneficial to children who get the same support at home (whatever futures they aim for).
In a more general sense, I found that when I finished school a lot of the girls chose paths other than uni; some went to work for their parents (one is now the manager of her dad's super successful restaurant), some started their own businesses, in a small way at first (such as clothes design, computer programming) and one is now an actress on our TVs every week! I think it depends on the schools attitude, if they are obsessed with uni, then they wont fit all kids, but you can find some wonderfull private schools which just focus on the childs talents and needs.
The benefit at Private schools seems to be that most of the kids come from supportive homes, who make up a great school community, they WANT their kids to do well, that is why they pay so much. Sadly, even in Primary schools (and I have been on teaching rounds in many) the public system suffers from having the majority of uninvolved parents (the few parents in this country who don't give a rats about their kids aren't going to pay $$$$for their schooling!) so all the kids are lumped in together, this can have nasty effects.
Anyhoo, good luck in your choosing; a very well chosen public school will be just as good, as they are out there, just be prepared to really involve yourselves in the community, as that is the best way possible to have a positive influence on their whole school experience :)
ThomasMum
02-08-2005, 07:30
Hi BlueGin, its sad to know that there are parents out there who have no interested in their kids life actually DO exist!! How hurtful it is to know that there are some parents who 'don't give rats about their kids' :(
Joshua and I would certainly do everything to make Thomas's future will be much brighter than ours! (That’s why before we had Thomas we made sure that our financial/job secured-we own a place and have enough saving/investment so that we are all growing up together and having great time at the same time!)
Thomas might have to go to childcare 2 days/week since I go back to work, but that doesn't mean we love him less. We know he's having great time at childcare, and his childcare is one of the best one in the North Shore, we didn’t mind that we have to pay more but they have the best programs for infants, nothing can beat an early education!
Having said that, with too many 'good' public and private schools here in the North Shore we still haven’t made up our mind where is Thomas going to polish his brilliant mind to!
So good lucks to mums/dads out there, like I have said previously: our involvements, they way we educate/teach our children are more valuable than the education from the outside!
Enjoy parenthood!
willsmum
02-08-2005, 08:29
I grew up in, and still live in Adelaide so I think I can comment here. I went to public school right thru. I then went to Uni & graduated into a related career.
My DH also went to public school in SA. He has his own successful business employing 15 people and exporting to several countries.
We are lucky and live in an area with excellent public schools (Norwood-Morialta and Marryatville), and this is where our two will both go.
I think that if you choose public, you should look carefully at the quality of the school and it's staff. If there is a better quality public school outside your zone, but still close by, if you apply early enough you should be able to get in.
Briannabear
02-08-2005, 08:54
As someone who has been to both private and public schools I honestly believe that it comes down to the school itself. There a horrible private schools just as there are awful public schools! You really have to do your homework (so to speak, LOL!) on the schools that you are interested in. Look at all aspects of it - curriculum (sp?), facilities, teaching staff, ratio of students to teachers etc; and make your decision based on all factors.
As for the issue of peer pressure regarding drugs, alcohol, sex etc (obviously as they get older!), you will get that anywhere. Both public and private schools I went to had those issues. I probably found the peer pressure worse at the private school. There was a lot of teasing there because most of the students were quite wealthy - but my parents really struggled to afford to send my brothers and I there. My Mum and Dad worked so hard to afford the fees. I completed my senior years at a public school and I have to admit the kids were great! I fitted in, I didnt feel like I had to prove myself worthy of being there. :rolleyes:
At the end of the day as Thomasmum said, a lot of it rests on the education and upbringing we give our children at home.
A perfect example of this is my DH. He actually never completed school. He was completely uninterested. (he was attending a private school at the time). He went on to complete a trade, then later on he formed a company in another field. He is extreemly intelligent, has a fantastic business mind and a great work ethic. Our business is now running in 2 cities, and is very successful. His mother and father taught him so much and were great role models for him. :)
But with that said, if there happens to be a fabulous private school that we love and can afford we will send my DD there! :D How long are the waiting lists out of interest?
ThomasMum
02-08-2005, 09:10
Hi Becca, depends on how 'popular/well knowns' they are. The more popular/well respected these institutions, the longer the waiting list are!
The nightmare is almost similar to the childcare waiting list! lol
Briannabear
02-08-2005, 09:31
Id better start looking around! How does the schooling system work in Qld? I did school in NSW and the first year of school in Kindergarten. How does it work here with pre-school and everything?
mumof2girls
02-08-2005, 20:27
Hi Bluegin;
Thankyou for your comments about my girls, I can honestly say I am blessed to have the well behaved children that I do. I guess the way we picked our school and we looked at both public & private for high school (they actually started in middle school) was the feel of the school when we went to look around and how impressed our girls were when we left the school they now attend. Nothing seemed faked at all, everyone seemed genuine when talking to you and you are right, my girls school has a great deal of parents that help out with everything, not just a few but heaps. It's not just for "rich" people either as about 45% (maybe more) are on school card. As I tell my girls " it doesn't matter if they come in last with whatever they are doing as long as they gave it their best than that's all I ask"