View Full Version : Maybe moving from Syd to the GOld COast
MissSparkle
05-07-2006, 19:52
My DF and I have buying a franchise of the business he is currently managing. We agreed that the best place for one would be at the Gold Coast.
We currently live in Sydney and the thought of moving to another state is quite daunting. I was just wondering if anyone could help me out, we're looking at the real estate up there but we have no idea what the surrounding areas are.........The business would be right in the heart of Surfer and we'd like to buy close by.
Any help would be so much appreciated!!
i noticed you are from penrith. i actually grew up in blaxland and moved here about 10 years ago. we are on the northern suburbs of the gold coast , hope island, and for us to get to surfers takes about 20 mins. it depends if you want to live near the beach.... directly to the north of surfers you have main beach than southort, than labrador, runaway bay, paradise point than hope island, coomera.
from coomera to brisbane is about 45 mins
going south of surfers goes... broadbeach, mermaid beach , nobby beach, miami, burleigh beach, palm beach, currumbin, tugun, coolangatta.(which is on the nsw /qld border)
surrounding suburbs close to surfers also includes sorrento, bundall, ashmore, isle of capri, chevron island. it all depends on $$$$$ and the type of surroundings you like. we like hope island as its out of the hustle and bustle but others enjoy that iykwim. flights are so cheap your best bet is to come up and stay for a week and drive around looking.
you should not regret it ..being the westie that i was my life,in sydney, revolved around night life and shopping etc..up here we fish go out in the boat skiing, at the beach etc its a good life for the kids.
good luck with it all
MissSparkle
05-07-2006, 20:41
WOW Suemp I grew up in Mt RIverview! I actually went to Blaxland High! What a small world.
Thank u for all ur help! I was on the real estate site looking all these suburbs thinking omg Im so lost!
I was looking at a couple of house at Southport...I liked the sound of it (reminds of me of Newport- The OC!) It does look pretty pricey but if we're owning a business we'd wanna be close by!
Kristy1979
05-07-2006, 20:50
Hey there,
Flying up here would be the best idea, get a cheap flight and book a hotel on wotif.com.au and save a heap.
There are so many different but great places to live depending on what you want surronding you.
Coming from Sydney your used to traffic so our peak hour is nothing like yours.
You can pretty much be anywhere on the gold coast in 30 - 45 mins, have a look at some real estate online and click sufers paradise and surronding areas to search and that should give you an idea of the different prices in different areas.
I personally dont go into Surfers a lot, i live at the northern end too and i can be in there in 15-20 mins. I work in Southport which is just 5 mins north of Surfers.
Try Robina, thats nice and pretty close too.
Kristy
Cheeky Little Monkey
05-07-2006, 21:12
hmmm you and a zillion other Sydneysiders (including my DH) chose to come to this glorious place to live :D
It depends on where you want to be....close to the water or inland a little.
I personally prefer the northern end of the coast but the southern end has lots to offer too. It takes about 20 mins for us to get to the heart of Surfers where DH works (on a bad day) but being in the north we are only about 45 mins to Brisbane.
It depends on what your budget is be it for rental or for purchasing. Have a look at realesatate.com.au and look at the different areas and then maybe post another thred asking about specific pros and cons of the areas you are thinking of. There are lots of Gold Coasters on here (both young and young at heart ;) ) so you will get plenty of differing opinions.
Good luck
Hey Youngmumsteph!
Well at least you know you have the support of us Bubhub girls when you arrive!
You definately wont be lonely!
Let us know closer to the time and we will arrange a meet!
Leanne
im a blaxland high ex pat too. graduated 95 (showing my age :eek: )
Hey Steph
I live in Southport-I like it!!Nice and close to Surfers as well.Its a lil pricey for rent.We pay $240 for a dinky lil 2 bedroom.But we are walking distance to shops,parks,Australia Fair mall and the Broadwater:thumbsup:
Do you know anyone here?Do you have a place to stay before you settle?
Maybe your best bet is to come here for a mini holiday and check it out.Gold coast is fantastic!!
MissSparkle
07-07-2006, 17:15
Thanx so much!
All this info has helped alot. We still aren't positive...still comtemplating opening up in Bondi or Cronulla (to stay in Syd) but I love the gold coast!
If we were to move up there we'd be buying (DF refuses to rent!!) and we'd like a 4 bedroom house somewhere nice......price wise we'd be looking at $500 000 max I think...depends on if we sell our house here or rent it out.
Suemp- I started at Blaxland High in 1999 in yr 7. U possibly know my dance teacher from school, she went to Blaxland too but would have been a couple of years older than u but she was like sports champ of everything so everyone seems to know her lol!
What we did when we moved from Sydney (Clovelley) was flew up here for 2 weeks, found a place to rent and then looked for 6mo or so all over the Gold Coast for land or houses to buy. We ended up buying in the suburb we were renting in.
Make sure you rent a place you really like that way your impression of the GC will not be soured or negatively biased. And rent in an area that you would like to live in that way you can get a feel for what it might be like.
If you are going to be working in Surfers, Broadbeach is an excellent option. It is the next suburb south of Surfers on the beach but it also has canal estates.
If you buy there your house will be guaranteed to appreciate well. It is also more family orientated than the working suburbs of Southport and Labrador and not as busy.
The GC is so diff. from Sydney and certainly Penrith! That is why you should rent for a little while. You will find living anywhere on the GC heaven compared to Sydney at first. After a few months then you will start to discover preferences for particular suburbs.
As for Bondi! I couldn't wait to leave there! I worked in Bondi Junction before it was revamped and it was a miserable place with miserable ppl! Prob. because they where paying too much in rent or mortgage!lol
Get outta Sydney while you can!:thumbsup:
Hi Steph,
Just thought I would say Gday from another Gold Coaster and to also let you know that my Hubby Daniel is another Ex Mt Riverview kid :thumbsup:
BiLL|z0r
07-07-2006, 19:29
Yay for Mt Riv ppl, although I've been on the GC for 20yrs now. You know where Vista Pde is? We lived at No 1.
As far as places to live for that price range Broadbeach is close to Surfers, a little older but heaps of reno'ed places. Don't live directly in Surfers, it's YUCK :barf:
Could also try Benowa, Sorrento or Robina (where we live). Robina is a little futher in GC terms but prolly still close in Sydney terms.
go the mountainers :smiliedance:
were you a mt riverview public school attendee daniel...just think if youd of hung around long enough to go to the local high school youd of had the pleasure of prob being in the year below me (trust me you missed nothing!!!:no: )
its much better up here :yes:
vista pde rings a bell but cant place it
i used to live near the lappo pub :yelclap:
MissSparkle
08-07-2006, 11:23
OMG I lived in Vista Pde until I had DS 2years ago!! I lived in No 6! Thats crazy!
I went to Mt Riverview Public school but didn't start in Kindy till 1992. Looks like Mt Riv was the place to be!
Thank u all for all ur great advice! Ive been checking out some of the realestate sights trying to get an idea of what we can get, in what area, for what price! Its helped out so much!
LOL! It's a small world hey Steph! Daniel's stoked that he's found other Mt Riverviewer's :)
BiLL|z0r
08-07-2006, 16:24
OMG I lived in Vista Pde until I had DS 2years ago!! I lived in No 6! Thats crazy!
I went to Mt Riverview Public school but didn't start in Kindy till 1992. Looks like Mt Riv was the place to be!
What a small world. Was your house newer than others in the street? If I recall no. 2 was opposite and then a large spare block of land which could be 2 blocks (no 4 & 6). This was 20yrs ago mind you. Our house was the brown 3 story 1 on the corner (looked like 2 story from the street though). My parents built it. When they sold it in 1986 or so they sold it for $99,000, LMAO, prolly worth $799,000 now.
I went to Mt Riv primary school too.