View Full Version : *+* Feb 09 Mums SEPTEMBER chat !*+*
Welcome to September and the offical first day of spring :sunshine: Although most of us have experienced spring temperatures already :flowerz:
Hopefully we will all continue having a good time with our LO's and those that are having sleeping issues will be able to resolve them soon :cloud9:
PB Ouch! How is DD's elbow? How did it dislocate? DH pinched a nerve in his arm the day before yesterday from caring Miss K on his shoulder. Hopefully we are off to the Dr today.
janiceg We've just started berries as well. We introduced blueberries this week and will introduce raspberries soon. I'm cautious about strawberries as they are one of my allergies. But if your DD is having them and loving them I wouldn't stop. Berries have lots of good antioxidants.
A'sMummy
01-09-2009, 07:04
Oh my god, I just wrote a HUGE post and lost it GRRR!! Don't you hate that! Well now I can't be bothered typing it all out again
But... here it is in brief :D
Happy September! YAY for Spring!!
PB- I called BabyBliss yesterday and left a message. Have heard good things also and love the fact they wont make me make Anya cry herself to sleep!!
Zeph- would love for you to write down some of your fave baby food combinations for future reference! I have an addiction to making baby food LOL! I just love it :o
A'sMummy These are the combinations that I've found in the jarred food in the shop.
Pumpkin
Pumpkin and Carrot
Pumpkin, Carrot and Apple
Pumpkin and Brown Rice
Pumpkin and Broccoli
Pumpkin and Cauliflower
Pumpkin and Apple
Pumpkin, Apple and Rice Cereal
Pumpkin and Pears
Pumpkin, Banana and Peaches
Pumpkin and Sweet Potato
Pumpkin and Sweetcorn
Pumpkin, Sweetcorn and Apple
Pumpkin, Sweetcorn and Onion
Pumpkin, Carrot, Sweetcorn and Potato
Pumpkin, Carrot, Potato and Beans
Pumpkin, Carrot, Potato and Peas
Pumpkin and Chicken
Pumpkin and Yoghurt
Avocado
Avocado and Banana
Avocado and Peaches
Avocado, Pumpkin and Banana
Avocado and Pears
Avocado and Apples
Avocado and Chicken
Avocado and Yoghurt
Apple
Apple and Pear
Apple, Pear and Cinnamon
Apple, Pear and Apricot
Apple, Pear and Rice Cereal
Apple and Mango
Apple, Mango and Peach
Apple, Mango and Kiwifruit
Apple, Mango, Peach and Apricot
Apple and Banana
Apple, Banana and Apricot
Apple and Sweet Potato
Apple and Yoghurt
Apple, Broccoli and Pea
Banana
Banana and Pear
Banana and Peach
Banana and Mango
Banana, Pear and Mango
Carrot
Carrot, Beans and Sweetcorn
Carrot, Broccoli and Sweetcorn
Carrot, Potato, Onion and Tomato
Carrot, Sweet Potato and Apple
Carrot, Sweetcorn and Apple
Carrots, Sweet Potato, Onions, Peas
Carrot, Pumpkin, Onion, Tomato, Peas
Carrot, Pumpkin, Onion, Tomato, Sweetcorn
Miss K loves
Apple and Pear
Pear and Peaches
Peaches, Pear, Pineapple, Cherry
Pear, Apple and Blueberries
Sweet Potato, Cauliflower and Broccoli
Pumpkin, Potato and Carrot
Cauliflower, Broccoli, Peas and Peans
Pumpkin, Carrot, Peas and Beans
Avocado and Banana
I can't think of anymore right now. HTH :yes:
quitecontrary
01-09-2009, 08:15
Good Morning!! And a Happy First Day of Spring Ever to our little ones!! 3 days to go til Tobias is actually 6 months old!! To celebrate he can have farex - I can just tell he is going to adore food completely, he's been demolishing the rusks I made him the other day with gusto!
We are going to have a party for him in a couple of weeks - couldn't have it this sunday with Fathers Day and everything. An afternoon tea with family and friends is on the agenda. I have to clear some space in the freezer for some cakes!!
The overnight buffet service has been closed again, as of last night. The lad was complaining bitterly for some time but he will work it out soon. The night before when he woke he was complaining, so I fed him and he continued to complain - so that was a lesson for me at least!
gizmoduckus
01-09-2009, 08:27
Happy September everyone! I am so excited, this is the month that my little (big) boy turns 3! :yelclap:
Sorry, I'm going to find it hard to catch up with personals today. I am just too far behind.
Strawberries (and other berries) are considered highly allergenic. E used to break out in a red rash around his mouth anytime he ate anything with strawberry in it until he turned 2. A lot of people believe it has to do with the pesticides used with berries. You can't just wash it off because it actually goes through the whole fruit just like any other soft skin fruit. I was told to try him on organic strawberries but I never got around to it. They are hard to find a lot of the year and it is just easier to avoid them.
That's a great list Zephani, it's a pity L refuses to eat anything except Sweet Potato and Pear with Rice Cereal.
PB, I dislocated E's elbow too about a year ago. It is very easy to do. I was just holding his hand and he just suddenly dropped to the ground and his elbow popped out. I felt so bad! He has done it again a few months back. Apparently, if they have done it once, it is very easy to pop out again.
Well, I hope everyone has a great day. I am hoping that it doesn't rain here so I can get a few loads of washing on the line. :fingerscrossed:
gonnabeaGR8mum
01-09-2009, 08:46
yay spring!!! my favourite :flowerz: wedding anniversary, DHs birthday, father's day all lovely times, and then SUMMER and our first christmases with our babies!:smiliedance:
wow, so many posts since i was last on
i read them all each morning in my email but by the time i'm ready to reply something comes up with E and it all goes out the window- oh well- i will try to do some personals later
We have the sleep nurse coming again this afternoon (last week when she came in the morning Elianna was having one of her very rare 1 hr sleeps and so we didn't get to try any of her tricks). I'm hoping she can give me some tips as to how to re-teach E to self-settle both off to sleep in the first place and back to sleep during the night as these 2-3 hour blocks of sleep are doing my head in (where oh where did my good little sleeper go?)- Luckily we have a great support network up here so all these home visits are free- I LOVE hunter new england health- they've got it down pat.
then on friday we have our last visit from the child and family health nurse as after 6mnths Elianna gets discharged from the program, i'm a bit sad to see her go as she's been a great source of support and advice these past 6 months. i want to get her a little gift to say thankyou, does anyone have any ideas?
re: food
i have discovered that Elianna will eat just about anything as long as it has either apple or pear in it. Zeph, how do you mix the rice in? is it cooked super soft then blended or does Katherine eat the grains whole? ont he downside however she seems to be trying to wean off breastmilk, i am only ever feeding her solids after a breastfeed but it doesn't seem to make a difference, she will half-heartedly feed for less than a minute (not even long enough for any sort of let-down) and then hoe into the solids like i've been starving her for a week. apparently i shouldn't stress as she only needs about 400ml min each 24hrs and she's probably getting that (especially with the overnight feeding thats been going on lately) but here i am stressing anyway :o
E is starting swimming this weekend, with DH as i am on photo duty :yelclap:, i hope she likes it, she's a bit of a scaredy cat when it comes to water, very stiff and anxious when we try to float her in the bath. I've been trying to get her used to water by drizzling it over her head which she doesn't seem to mind too much- does anyone have any other tips for getting her ready for the big pool?
kate- i have to admitt i haven't even gotten around to buying it yet, i just read some exerpts online but i really want to get a copy so that i have something "intelligent" to read lol, besides consumerism is an area close to my heart, especially marketing to kids. there was a good special on ABC that dealt with it all, i was fascinated.
ok gotta go get dressed while miss E is having a quick nap (whats the bet its another long one :rolleyes:)
catch you all soon
Kath
debplus3
01-09-2009, 13:29
Hey yeah, it's the first spring day ever for our bubba'a, how cute!!
On food, Bradley is enjoying pumpkin, sweet potato and rice cereal together. Also loves avocado, made a bit creamier with a dash of formula.
If you are fortunate enough to be still breast feeding - tell everyone who has a go at you to take a running jump!!! I have had b/feeding issues with all three of my kids and I was soooooo upset when I had to stop with Bradly at about 3 months. You breast feed for as long as you can and enjoy every minute of it!!!!!!
Well, my big drama with Bradley was he had an episode of not being able to breathe. he had a heavy head cols and he got so stuffed up in his nose that he couldn't breathe at all. Fortunately I was awake and went into him when I heard funny noises coming form his cot. he had a little stay in hospital and he was monitored for a while, but is doing great now. We have had a run of bad luck for the past month or so and I am over it!! The most recent thing was Kaleb falling at his cousin's place and spitting his head....again!! We still think he is top heaby, always falls on his head!!!
I agree that big babies seem to be slower to get on the move. I think the more weight they have to try and movce around, the harder it is to do. Bradley rolls onto his tummy and forgets that he already knows how to roll back and gets stuck!! Funny baby!!
Hope you get out and enjoy some spring air today!!
sweetseven
01-09-2009, 13:50
GR8 Where did you get that 400ml/day guideline from? It just seems odd, because that is what I recall my DD2 requiring for her supplements 400ml formula / day. Could my memory be in error? Perhaps it was only 200ml/day, but I really thought it was 400ml/day. (She 2/3 of it as one feed whilst I was at work, and the other 1/3 along with a breastfeed before bed.
gonnabeaGR8mum
01-09-2009, 14:29
T3- it came from a friend's Aunty who is a child and family health nurse- i think its because Elianna is now on proper solid meals 3x a day, thus doesn't NEED as much breastmilk- she told me 400-600ml is enough (not that she can't have more, but she's so stubborn i'd have to force feed her :rolleyes:)
T3 In Robin Barker's book "Baby Love" it says that 6 - 9 month olds need 120ml - 180ml of milk 2 - 4 times a day as well as 3 solid meals. So that is as little as 240ml - 720ml. From 9 months it goes down to 2 - 3 bottles of the same amount. She also says that breastfed babies or babies that drink from cups rarely drink the amount consumed by babies that drink from bottles. Apparently this is not a problem.
Miss K drinks three 220ml bottles a day plus a 200ml sippy cup of water.
Deb I'm SO glad that Bradley is feeling better. I can really empathise with you about how scarey it is when they aren't breathing properly. Big :hugs: that things get better for you.
GBAGM How'd you go with the sleep nurse today? I hope E was awake for you this time. They're cheeky like that...sleeping at the one time you actually need them awake.
Hunter New Englad Health sounds so much better than Central Coast Health. We had to cancel our appointment for Miss K's 6 month blue book check on August 24th when she was sick and the first available appointment was on September 7th at 2:30pm. She'll be a week off being 7 months old :p
With the rice I made a risotto so it was super soggy. When it was cooked I mashed it with a potato masher but it didn't do much because the rice went through the holes. She seemed to eat them whole. She eats green beans and peas whole too. Today I gave her a chunk of banana for afternoon tea and she ate it in two bites.
Today I made her breakfast for next week. Rockmelon, pineapple, paw paw and peaches. It tasted really yummy.
With swimming try taking her to the pool before the swimming lesson and slowly take her into the water. KJ posted some great photos on FB today doing a similar thing.
AFU I feel like I'm living on BH at the moment. Maybe I'm hanging around so much since I only have two weeks before I go back to work. In fact tonight I have to ring the woman I am taking over from.
A'sMummy
02-09-2009, 07:58
Zeph- Thanks for the list, gives me some ideas!
GBAGM-looking forward to hearing how you went with the sleep consultant... I am still procrastinating about getting one :rolleyes:
Deb- Glad to hear that Bradley is doing much better now! How scary that would have been for you!!
Anya only woke 2 times last night yay!! I fed her both times and she drank 180ml each time (maybe she is going through a growth spurt?). I also put her in a disposable nappy overnight to see if that would make a difference (more comfy maybe), unfortunately she woke up saturated and soaked through. I didn't realise a sposie wouldn't hold as much as an mcn :confused:. Anyway, she did sleep better so maybe she was more comfortable. I might keep her in disposables overnight for a little while but need to invest in some really good quality overnight ones I think. Do they make specific overnight ones? I have only seen overnight ones in packs with day ones also, but I want to keep her in mcns during the day so the day ones would go to waste.
Anya has also gone off her solids. She was loving them but now she flatly refuses them, cries, clenches her mouth shut and thrashes about. Does anyone know why she might be doing this? Geeze I wish babies could tell me what's wrong LOL!
Anyway, I am off to work... better get some done as I didn't get much done yesterday as I was hunting for nappy icons in the "great down under nappy hunt". I think a few other Feb ladies are doing it too... my gosh it is frustrating... yet fun :o
Have a lovely day everyone! :wave:
Lateralus
02-09-2009, 08:22
Morning ladies - hope everyone is having a great week!
deb sorry to hear poor wee Bradley was sick and having breathing difficulties - how frightening for you! And poor Kaleb banging his head - it's amazing how accident prone kids are - they seem to be able to hurt themselves in the safest of environments :rolleyes:
GBAGM hope you got some hot tips from the sleep & settling nurse - did Miss E wake up in time?
Zeph Miss K sounds like a champion little eater!! And such gourmet foods she is provided with! I feel like Zoe must be pretty bored with her "pumpkin/ bean" or "sweet potato/ apple" combos that I give her :laughing: Hope you enjoy your last few weeks off before returning to work! Make the most of it!!
AFU Miss Zoe had a great sleep last night - we took her out to our monthly RFS meeting in the evening and got home around 8pm - she slept from 8:30-10:30 - had a quick feed then slept 'till 7:15am! :smiliedance: Awesomeness! Well rested for her first official swimming lesson this morning!
Today we are having the inaugural "daddy in charge" day. A friend was doing this with her hubby once a week to help increase her husband's confidence and proficiency with looking after their LO. Basic, DH is the boss today - he sorts out Zoe's meals - when and what to eat, tells me when he wants me to BF her and decides when she needs a sleep. I think my DH has lost a lot of confidence in looking after Zoe and I wanted to show him that it's a lot of 'trial and error' and not an exact science. So far so good! He's allowed to ask questions, but I don't interject unless he asks for help. He did a good job with breakfast and even managed to get her down for a quick sleep before we head off to swimming lessons this morning.
It also gives me a bit of a 'day off' and lets me catch up on some much needed BH time er, I mean house work! :p
firsttimepreg
02-09-2009, 10:07
Good Morning Mums!!
Its a gorgeous morning here in SA - Spring is here!!!! Yay.
Zeph - Thats an awesome list! Thanks. Charli doesnt seem to like the savoury meals I make up (sweet potato, pumkin etc) so I tried a couple of canned ones and she loved them. They're really bland so I wonder if thats why? She still loves her yoghurt and has been pretty good with her homemade apple and mango for breakfast.
KateJo - Well done on last nights sleep - yay for you! And great idea on the dad in charge, I think I'll try that on the weekend. DH works during the week (although is sick in bed right now) so the weekend is the only time we could do it. Thanks heaps for all the info on the full/empty boob issue. It all makes total sense, I just wish I could express more so that when I'm working she can have breast milk. But I dont think that will happen so formula it is.
A's Mummy - We use disposables all the time (lazy I know) and at night we havent had any problems. We use huggies and have always found them to hold all the night time wees.
AFU - we have play group in the park today which should be really nice since the weather is lovely. Monday night charli FINALLY took a bottle!! She fought me for a little bit but I layed her on the floor with a pillow under her head and once she actually started sucking she was fine! Then I was able to pick her up and feed her in my arms. I only made up 120 mls and she drank it all so I made another 120 and she had 100 of that. I was so proud! So tried again at 5pm yesterday and it was a no go, so I breastfed. She had a big solid meal at 6.30 and then I tried the bottle again at 7.30 (on the floor again) and she took 100 ml. So I'll keep at it each night until she's happy to take it. I thought she may have slept all night but she went down at 7.45, up at 12.30 for a BF and up again at 5am for a BF. But thats not too bad.
I better go get ready for playgroup!!
floodprincess
02-09-2009, 12:40
:wave: Ladies!!
So spring is officially here, now to just wait for it to warm up a little (last few days have been quite crisp for us)...
Zeph - what an awesome list! I've been thinking about doing the same thing 'cause Miss M HATES the baby food from jars and I seem to have lost my creativity somewhere (I have a feeling it's in one of the boxes cluttering my garage)...
A'smummy - Monique goes through times like that, I guess like all people, sometimes she feels like eating sometimes she does. I don't worry too much about it because at this stage the solid food isn't tooo important, but I make sure she has plenty of milk to make up for the missing 'bits' (also helpsher to sleep better).
FTP - I had the same probs when first getting Monique to take a bottle....we found that she wouldn't take it from me come hell or high water (and still won't nearly 4 months later) and I think that it's because Mum is for boob (we're still breastfeeding whenever I'm not at work) and therefore, if she's 'eating' in mum's arms then it should be boob!
To overcome this, I usually either get someone else to give her the bottle or if I have to give her a bottle for some reason, then I either lay her on the floor (like you did) and lie close to her for that bonding or I pop her into her bouncy seat thingy and feed that way....give it a go...don't give up!
Hope everyone is going ok? I've gotta run, courier has just arrived with a pressie that I have to sign for....
Talk soon :hugs: :flowerz:
firsttimepreg
02-09-2009, 14:17
Just a quick update - Its no longer a nice day here in SA. Its cold windy and raining!!! And it started raining about 15 mins after we got to the park for play group :( Come back Spring. Cant wait to get to Brisbane for our holiday next Friday!
kate, just wanted to say what a great idea! how did it all go? i feel like i am always telling dh what to do and it's so unfair..would be a great lesson for both of us!
dd is back to the usual routine of only waking once! yay!
feel like a new woman!
hope you all have a great day!
quitecontrary
03-09-2009, 12:45
Hello!
Hope you are all fine and dandy! Quiet here again - so I'm awaiting a flurry of news soon!!
I decided that Toby could have some food yesterday - so he had some farex and seemed to like it, none of it was spat out! I got him one of those mesh wierd dummy like food things and he had a bit of semi-steamed apple in it and gave it a good try this morning!
Should make some appointments for him - we are behind with jabs, and should go to the clinic too I suppose!
We went down to playgroup this morning and both the kids had a ball. Toby is still debriefing himself in the cot and should go to sleep soon, and I think Miss G is already in the land of nod. Walked down and stopped at the playground on the way home - just in time for the rain to start! We got home just before it really tumbled down, thank goodness. Managed to get the washing in before it was way too late. A little burst in the drier should do it!
Lateralus
03-09-2009, 12:53
Janice I loved the idea when I first heard it too. We had a great day! DH did a few things differently that I would have - but things flowed really well. She had a MASSIVE 2 & 1/2 hour sleep in the afternoon which may have been because of the swimming lesson, but we're chalking it up to great Daddy management ;) We've decided to do it once a week from now on. :thumbsup:
We had play group this morning which was fun - it's so great catching up with the girls and watching our LOs interacting. Some of the kiddies are crawling now (all the bubs are around the same age - I think the biggest gap is about 3 months). It's making it even more fun now that they are getting mobile. Haha - there have already been some squabbles over toys!
We have Speed on Tweed and the Repco World Rally in town this weekend so I have just stocked up on groceries so I can try and avoid the crowds over the weekend. DH will be working so I think Zoe and I will just have a quiet weekend at home.
Hello lovely Feb mummies :wave:
I have missed you all and so sorry I haven't been in touch to see how you're all going. I haven't even caught up on all the past threads, just thought I'd pop my head to say hi....hi!
We are doing okay - Olivia is still waking up about 2 times overnight. I've been very slack and haven't taken her to the clinic for a while and I just find it easier to give her a breastfeed than go in a hundred times to put the dummy in. We've tried different things with sleeping bags, wrapping etc but still nothing really different. I thought it might get better after starting solids but to no avail. Oh well, I just have to come to terms with the fact that she's a different baby from DS and can't expect them all to be the same. I'm just thankful that she's happy and content and healthy and growing strong!
AFM, I'm okay. I'm having a few family 'issues' at the moment which is really upsetting me and getting me down, but nothing that hopefully won't sort itself out. I was feeling dreadful this morning and just couldn't feel like I could function properly and miss O I think could feel the stress. I've decided to hit the shops to get some birthday and fathers day presents so after putting my 'face' on and getting dressed am feeling slightly better! I'm glad I have a wonderful hubby and I just look at my kids and know that they are the most important things in my life.
Anyway, hope you are all doing well. I wish I could get on here more often. I just find it hard to keep up with all the chatting and find it easier on facebook cause you have the faces to the names and of course love looking at everyone's piccies!
Hugs to those in need of them xx
quitecontrary
03-09-2009, 13:28
Nat big hugs to you my dear! I know what you mean about FB, but I like putting all my kidstuff here as its amongst the select few! I am considering a trip to the shops this afternoon too but can't decide whether its worth the effort of getting both the kids out of the house by myself again. Putting your "face" on sure helps sometimes.
Kate it all happens up your way - Speed on Tweed doesn't sound as good as the Banana Festival though! I think we should do a Dad day on the weekends occasionally too. My lovely dh gets too wound up doing his own work far too often, if he's scheduled in to run the roost for a change it would do us all the world of good!
Lateralus
03-09-2009, 15:23
[
Kate it all happens up your way - Speed on Tweed doesn't sound as good as the Banana Festival though!
We do seem to have a disproportionately high number of festivals and events here. But I am not complaining. There is always something to go and look at - Banana Festivals, Kids Days, Environmental themed days, Unity Festivals etc etc. The Speed on Tweed isn't as bad as it sounds - they have heaps and heaps of old vintage cars from all around the country come and do time trials around the town... Quite a sight to see some of the really old cars careering down the main street at top speed!
A'sMummy
03-09-2009, 15:51
Ok I have bitten the bullet after a dreadful night last night and booked a sleep consultant to come over next Wednesday night. I am more nervous than happy about it at the moment though, not sure what to expect! I am also concerned about how much I can be taught in one night? and what if Anya has a rare good night? ARGH more stressed now than before I booked it LOL :o
I am also having my first night without Anya on Monday as I have to travel to Adelaide for a work conference, so Daddy will be in charge on Monday (god help him!). I am stressing about leaving her!
Anyway, enough about me....
Nat- :wave: Welcome back after a some time away!! Hope your family issues are on the mend! I also like facebook to see everyone piccies and put faces to names.
KJ- Glad to hear DH went well with the daddy in control day, what a great idea.
FTP- hope the weather in Adelaide improves before I come on Monday! I have no idea what to pack to wear :confused:
QC- Toby sounds like a real cutie, I wish Anya would just "debrief" herself in her cot instead of cry!!
QC Well done on the farex T. K often debriefs in her cot as well.
KJ I'm glad Daddy in charge day went well. DH will be in charge here 3 days a week when I go back to work.
How did ZoJo go with swimming lessons? Our biggest sleep of the week is after swimming lessons.
Natski Welcome back! I hope your family issues improve soon. I am on FB as well and understand what you mean about names and faces. PM me your details so I can add you!
A'sMummy I hope your night with the sleep consultant goes well and that A will stay awake that night. GRBAGM had a problem with E having a good nights sleep when her consultant came.
Good luck with your time away. I'm sure A and DH will go well.
AFU With only a week to go till I return to work...my boss rang yesterday and said can I change days and change jobs? I was meant to be going back Wed - Fri but now it looks like I will be going back Mon - Wed. That is ok as DH works at home. But instead of going back to one grade he wants me to go back to another one. A grade that is known to be rough. He said he'd ring me back and confirm. I hope he does it tomorrow cause I really need to prepare for work next week and get DH ready to have Miss K.
Question: Miss Independant (Miss K...not Kelly Clarkson :p) has decided that she doesn't want to sit in her bouncer anymore. She is learning to sit up. When you sit her up she can sit up although she is a bit wobbly but because of this she only wants to sit in her highchair or on the lounge with Mummy and Daddy. She happily sat on the lounge with Daddy for 90 minutes yesterday. She can't sit in her highchair all day but I'm not sure the lounge is that good for her either. She still needs to have a lot of tummy time because she needs to learn to go from laying on the floor to being able to sit up. Can anyone elses LO sit themselves up?
Hello everyone!
I am so behind that I am not even going to try to do proper personals- just saying to QC that the day you went to Maroubra and thought of me, I was at the Powerhouse investigating the thingalizer :D
Things are busy on our side with a lot of work and lots of little new tricks to enjoy with G. He is doing great, a lot of smiles, laughs, chuckles and cuddles. He also debriefs intensely all the time- we are dreading the day he starts talking! He still sleeps pretty well during the night, although we don't seem to be able of getting rid of that feed at 5/6 am... I guess I cannot really complain since he goes to bed around 8pm... We went to the beach and he loved feeling the sand between his toes (he was in the baby bjorn so he would not eat the entire beach, he still managed to have a taste).
We have also had a bit of a variety of bugs including gastro which G very kindly decided to share with me... I have never been sick in my life and these days I seem to catch one after the other... well I figure it serves the purpose of me building antibodies that I then pass onto G through BM. Weanign is going well, slowly, he is still only in one bottle of formula per day and has been for two weeks, I guess I will increase one more feed for the next week.
I read all your posts just quickly and you all seem to be doing pretty well. It is a beutiful stage! I was scared with some of your stories with bubs ending up in hospital... I hope everyone and everyone's babies are healthy and happy and either sleeping or ready to sleep.
Good night! :goodvibes:
sweetseven
03-09-2009, 22:56
My littke one has been trying to speak. After changing her nappy today, I asked her, "Do you feel better?" and she responded "better". I made such a fuss about it that she said it twice more.
She seems to try out the odd word when it takes her fancy.
She's been sitting on her own for about a week, but topples over occasioally. Not crawling yet, but on her tummy propped up on her hands moving about in circles.
gizmoduckus
04-09-2009, 08:57
Good morning everyone!
KateJo - I am glad that Daddy day worked out well. It is a good learning experience for them.
firsttimepreg - Have a great time in Brisbane
natski - :hugs:I am sorry to hear of your family troubles
A'sMummy - I hope that the sleep consultant works out for you. So you are coming to Adelaide next week? If you are stuck doing nothing on Monday night, I could always meet up with you for a coffee or something. Just let me know, it would be nice to meet one of you in real life.
zephani - L can sit up for quite awhile but still topples over every now and then. He can't go from laying on the floor to sitting up by himself. Have you tried just propping Miss K up with a couple of pillows on the floor?
tiera3 - Wow! Your little one is doing so well.
AFU - I have a miserable cold and I hate it! The only thing that is saving my sanity is that we booked a family holiday to Fiji at the end of October. We will be staying at Natadola Beach. I have never been there so I don't know if it is any good. My cousin and her partner have decided to get married at the last minute in Fiji and that is why we all have decided to go. I can't wait!
L is doing well. Most of the time he is an extremely happy boy which is a big change from the first 5 months of his life. He is on the move just by sliding everywhere. The only problem is that he gets stuck under furniture and I have to drag him out. He is getting to an age where DS1 wants to play with him which is so cute to watch.
We have an extremely busy weekend. We are catching up with friends for dinner tonight, we have a 21st tomorrow night and then Fathers Day on Sunday. The weekend is just going to go by so fast.
I hope you all have a great Fathers Day and good luck to all of you on the nappy hunt. :wave:
quitecontrary
04-09-2009, 13:54
Firstly - yes, it is true - Toby is actually 6 months old today!!! He is just gorgeous, so happy and contented - we feel so blessed with our little fellow!
Zeph Toby will sit with us - and takes a while to topple by himself. He is on the floor the whole time basically - rolling around and looking at things. He doesn't like his bouncer much either but he does go in it when we're all in the kitchen/dining room. A boomerang pillow is great for propping them up, almost covers all areas!!
Kate - Speed on Tweed sounds like a hoot!
Ardora - sorry to hear that you've both been crook. With the weaning I have to say I kept up feeding Genevieve first thing in the morning and last thing at night til she didn't want it anymore (22months), and it was lovely. It also meant that when we were travelling I could comfort her in the best way imaginable. Between 6 months and a year I was topping her up with formula some feeds, but then I cut out the bottles and kept up the bf.
Gizmo yay you!! How lovely to be having an impulse trip to Fiji! Can't wait to hear all about it!
Tiera sounds like you have a little Miss Echo there, how beautiful.
For some bizarre reason after the gym today I decided to take both the kidlets shopping at a bigger mall not that far from our place. Boy - we only went into 2 shops, so it was the Speed Fathers Day Purchase - but G was running about and T was in the ergo. She was exhausted and he was so well behaved. We got through alive, but I take my hat off to those of you who do the shops with 2 regularly.
I am looking forward to Father's Day - we are having the family over for afternoon tea, which should be fun. G loves a party! I think we are going to have to go the cake and candles seeings she was talking about it on the way home from the mall.
Hope you've all got lovely days planned - if you're making a special day of it. Sundays are so lovely anyway I think!!
A'sMummy
04-09-2009, 14:33
GD- Coffee would be lovely, I have no plans on Monday night. I am guessing the conference I am attending will finish around 5pm so not sure if that would be too late for you? I am staying at the Rendezvous Allegra in Waymouth St but have no idea where that is :o Let me know if anything suits you!
Adora Welcome back! G sounds so happy and content. I hope everyone gets better soon.
T3 What an exciting time for you! Miss K says dada, bubub and occassionally mumum.
Gizmo and QC Thanks for the suggestion of pillows and boomerang pillows. DH and I went to Kmart today and bought two boomerangs pillows. One for the loungeroom and one for Miss K's playpen in DH's office. She has only toppled over once and is *SO* happy with pillows. In fact we've decided to pack her bouncer away.
Gizmo I'm sorry to hear that you are sick. I hope that you get better soon. I'm so jealous about your trip to Fiji! I'm excited for you!
MissMetal
04-09-2009, 18:47
:wave: im gonna jump in finally :p
not sure if i should be here or the march thread, as DS was due in march but he came a little earlier...
im interested to see how much everyones bubs weigh now??
sweetseven
04-09-2009, 18:56
Well, if you were in the "due in march" chat thread, then I would've stayed with them. However, if you missed that thread also, then I would say come join us.
For myself, my bub was due Jan 30th but born Feb 6th, but I didn't join the site until she was two months old, so I joined the February thread.
However, if I had been here from the pregnancy, then I would've likely been with the "due in Jan" group and thus migrated to the Jan bubs thread with them, even though my bub came in Feb.
As for weight, she was a tiny 4.6kg at five months, but has filled out well since then. I haven't weighed her recently though.
And bub's word for today was "yes".
FTYBR You are more than welcome to join us in here :yelclap:
Miss K isn't a good example of baby weights as she is now 10kg :eek: She is very settled in her weight and hasn't put on any in over month.
She is a very happy, healthy and content baby, so I'm not really worried about her weight. She eats healthy food, is moving round lots and is loving life, who could ask for more :D
P.S Are you on Facebook? PM your details and I'll add you :yes:
BoyCrazy
04-09-2009, 19:00
omg, ive just been reading through our due in feb 09 threads..like the "its february and our month" one! i am teary! LOL silly hormones!
ftybr- hi! how are you? your little man is so so cute in your av pic! im not sure what Jasper weighs right now, i am gonna weigh him tomorrow so ill let u know...but at last check (6mths) he was roughly 8.6kgs i think. but do remember that every bub is different and has different rates of growth in there first year.
tiera- wow! i cant believe your bub is talking that much! i bet it sounds beautiful!
gizmo- i saw your FB status about fiji, i am sssoooo green eyed right now! Have a wonderful holiday, lucky girl!!! I also watched L's video, hehe i loved it, hes grown so fast!
QC- happy 6 mths to toby!!! :smiliedance:
zeph- Jasper has only once pulled himself up from laying down to sitting up..i think it may have been a fluke cause he hasnt done it since. he is trying hard tho, and can lift most of his upper body up off the floor, its just that last little oompf he needs!
sorry ive forgotten other posts!
AFU my little man turned 7mths old yesterday! i cant believe how fast the year is going! another 5 months and he will be one! :eek:
solids are going well, Jazzy will eat ANYTHING i give him, its fantastic. lately he has had watermelon, mandarin (loved that), avocado on toast fingers, chicken drumstick, and im making a roast on sunday for fathers day, so we will see how he goes with some of that :D
well im gonna go find some dinner before my tummy grumbling wakes up the kids :laughing:
BoyCrazy
04-09-2009, 19:03
FTYBR You are more than welcome to join us in here :yelclap:
P.S Are you on Facebook? PM your details and I'll add you :yes:
ditto to all of that too :D
MissMetal
04-09-2009, 19:31
i accepted you both on FB :p
i think i have a slow learner lol...
still refuses tummy time, still hasnt rolled, has no upper body strength but seems really strong in the legs.. no where near even sitting up or crawling :o
he is tiny, he has to see paed's & specialists at the RCH on a regular basis & we are seeing a dietician on monday & most likely a speech therapist aswell as the bugger wont eat, refuses solids & cant afford to loose weight as he is FTT :ecomcity:
thats my DS :laughing:
Lateralus
04-09-2009, 20:14
:wave: FTYBR - I think I have come across you somewhere else before?? I another thread perhaps? I recognise the name! Congrats on your little man - sorry to hear you're having some weight gain and eating issues with him. I hope you have some joy with the dietitian and speechie! You asked about weight - I haven't weighed Zoe in a few weeks - but at 6 months (about 2 weeks ago) she was 7.7kg. A bit more petite than some of our other Feb babies - but they're all different little people!
BC Happy 7 months to the Jazz Man! Boy time goes fast. He sounds like a champion little eater! Zoe only accepted her first non-pureed bit of food today - some steamed pear! I have tried her with a few other bits and pieces but she hasn't seemed really very interested. I am sure she'll hook into them when she's ready!
QC glad your shopping mission was a success! The cake with candles for Father's Day sounds lovely!
Giz I am also green with envy regarding your trip to Fiji. We went there for our honeymoon and I LOVED it. Beautiful place, beautiful people! :sunshine:
AFU Zoe has been a tad unsettled today. I think her toothies are playing up.. I haven't been able to feel or see anything that looks suss - but she'll be fine one minute - then screaming and frantically gnawing on her hands or rubbing her cheeks the next... I am presuming this is what they do when they are teething? Anyhow - we've given her some Hylands and Panadol tonight and it seems to have settled her right down. Poor chicka - it's so hard to watch them in pain when you don't exactly know what's causing it.
MissMetal
04-09-2009, 20:58
yep probably, i make many threads :laughing:
DS is 7 months next week & he weighs 5.5kg :o
hello!
Well, i am posting again so I don't fall too behind this time :)
G is 7.7 Kg today at 6 months and two weeks, he is a skinny little one but no complains as he fits nicely around the 25 percentile and he eats ok... so, zeph, we are really far away from miss k!
T3, it must be amazing listening to little miss echo; G does not shut up (ever) but it is mostly baby talk and says dada, mama, buba... etc but with no intention, so I don't count it as talking. We are talking to him in two languages, Spanish and English so we expect that he will be a late talker (we are secretly happy about it :D)
GD- great news about Fiji... I want to go too!!!
BC- Jasper sounds like a great eater. I am starting to consider giving some protein to the little fellow... shoudl I start with chicken?
FTYBR- welcome to the thread! I normally write a few days and then disappear for a week or two... looking forward to hear about your little one. i hope he finds his apetite soon!
QC- toby sounds like a great baby! i am glad you did well at the shopping, I went to the mall and proceeded to get 'mall blockage' and could not think of anythign suitable... tomorrow? or perhaps a shopping trip with DH? Re- weaning, I am hoping to be able of still breastfeeding him at night and in the morning for a bit... it will depend on whether my supply ceases or not.
KJ- I hope miss zojo gets a bit of a rest. G shows signs of teething on a off but no sign of any teeth as yet.
AFU- G sits up quite stable since a couple of weeks ago, i cannot remember, I still put cushions around him because he occasionally tips over but he is pretty good. He eats Ok and likes to change his mind about what he loves, today he had yogourt with pear for breakfast an dpumpkin with apple for lunch. One bottle of formula and 4 BFs. He likes his puree but also fruit and veggies as finger food... he absolutely loved strawberries the two time I gave them to him! brocoli is a winner too...
Well... mega post! no wonder I don't post often :o
Good night :goodvibes:
gizmoduckus
04-09-2009, 22:49
Well I'm back again! Twice in one day is unheard of lately!!! :D
We just got back from a dinner with friends but I'm not tired so I thought I would jump back on here.
A's mummy - I sent you a message through facebook
zephani - I am glad that the pillows worked out well
FollowtheYellowBrickRoad - Welcome to our group. I know that you have been having trouble getting your DS to eat. What has the docs said about that? I am finding it really hard to feed solids to L too so I was wondering what they have said to you. Did you ever find out if your DS had a milk protein intolerance? I am also on FB if you want to add me.
MissMetal
06-09-2009, 12:11
we are seeing a dietician tomorrow at the RCH & they will most likely have to put him on something extra to add to his formula, like a high calorie booster of some sort to try & get him to gain some weight.
i guess we will take it from there, but we see his paed on a regular basis & she may also refer us to see a speechy :(
i just wish he was like normal babies :crying:
i cant help but get so jealous, everyones babies are reaching all these milestones & my DS doesnt :o
vent/cry/whinge over :ecomcity:
sorry ladies....
continue..
Lateralus
06-09-2009, 17:08
I just ordered my first MCNs!
I got 3 AIO baby beehinds (2 smooth and 1 minkee) & 2 AIO itti bitti d'lish's. :smiliedance:
It's a start!
Happy Fathers Day to all the Dads! Especially all the First Time Dads :party:
I can't believe that our bubbas will be 7 months this month :eek: Yesterday was our 11 month wedding anniversary and it's just hit me that in one Monday we will be celebrating our first wedding anniversary and Miss K will be 8 months old. Where has the time gone :p
FTYBR Good luck at the dietician. Let us know how you go. I'm sorry you are feeling down about H's development. He *will* reach his milestones when he is ready. Enjoy him. He is gorgeous! We get the opposite with Miss K cause she is such a big baby.
KJ Well done on the MCN's. It sounds like you got a bargin. Miss K sounds like she is going through exactly the same thing as ZoJo when it comes to teething. She feels like she has been teething for months and we still haven't got any teething yet.
AFU Today was DH's first Father's Day. I think he had a nice day. We gave him a new pair of pj's and a haircut as presents. We had bacon and eggs for breakfast. Miss K had bread soliders and an egg yolk. She loved it :smiliedance:
Then we went to visit one of her godmothers. Check out the pic of Miss K and her friend on FB. We then had Red Rooster for lunch. When I put Miss K down for a sleep I decided to have a sleep too. She decided she didn't want to sleep so DH put her in the playpen in his office while he was playing WOW and let me have a sleep. How beautiful! It's his day and he let me have a sleep.
I'm watching Australian Idol with Miss K. She loves the singing and dancing. She usually is asleep by 7pm but she is still so energetic tonight. Hopefully she will sleep in, in the morning :laughing:
Seacretsquirrel
07-09-2009, 08:53
Good morning ladies I have resurfaced after the trip from Darwin to Brisbane> We survived quite well but DH has decided that the kis and I will fly back as he has to rush back to Darwin so it isn't really fair on the kids to be strapped into their car seats for so long. I must admit it would have been heaps easier if it was the 70's/early 80's and there were no carseat rules cause Riley would have probbeen more settled with a few more cuddles (obviously I didn't cuddle him though).
I'll see what I remember with the Q's people asked but i had a bit of catching up to do.
R is 7.75kg at 6 months smack bang on the 50th % for everything inncluding height (finally which is a relief he seems to have stretched length ways and his weight and head circ have slowed) he stilll has very chunky wee legs though which is kinda funny.
He is sitting really well and can comando crawl like a champ and the last few days he has been doing a few shuffles on his knees. He also says MUM:smiliedance: which is nice cause Z said Dad first!
He is also teething (the first one is nearly through but he is relly unsettled and feeding more and chomping on anything he can get his hands on pandora bracelets are a fave.
Food wise we really haven't strayed past pears, apple mango and apricot. Although we did try sweet potato last night which was not recieved very well = we are going to do some apple to mix in which might make it less dry and more palateable for him.
Uuuuum I have totally forgotten what the rest of you are up to (I need to get back o at least reading what is happening more regularly)
R is awake so I better go get him up!
Will be back to see how every one is going. Oh and any brisbane girls I am keen for a meet up if anyone is abailable Z is spending Thurs with nanny and pa so that works well for me (just having R) if anyone is keen either PM me or mesage me on FB.
Oh and Welcome FTYBR I stuck with the lovely Feb mummys even though Master R decided to grace us with his presence 10 days late in the first of March:sunshine:
BoyCrazy
07-09-2009, 12:38
hey hey!
hope everyone had a good weekend!
SS- ill pm u on FB about maybe catching up thursday.
FTYBR- how did today go? hope it all went well
adora- id try your little one on some chicken first, maybe just some finger strips of chicken breast that he can feed himself with. they went down a treat with J.
AFU i have a unsettled man today..hes got tooth number 3, 4 & 5 all coming thru at once..last night he would do an hour of sleep, hour of settling, over and over, i am zombie today!
we had a bbq yesterday, bub tried some capsicum, sausages, lettuce, block cheese grated, grated carrot, and his favourite mandarin. he loves his food!!
im off to coles to stock up, this bub eats more than my almost 4yr old!!!
oh- and loves pulling my hair! owww! must go save what hair i have left lol.
hope everyone has a good day! :wave:
Lateralus
07-09-2009, 15:01
SS Glad you made it to Brissy OK - we would love to catch up on thursday but we have Mum's group at our place that day :(
BC poor little Jazzy with ALL those teeth coming through at once - doesn't seem fair does it?! Hope they come through quickly and with minimal fuss! :fingerscrossed:
FTYBR hope all went well with your appointments today and that you got some hot tips to stack some weight on your little man! As Zeph said - he will reach those milestones!! They're all little individuals and they will do things in their own time!
AFU We had an ABA coffee this morning as as we were up the coast a bit, we called in and visited JaniceG and Charlotte - she is such a cutie & really getting the hang of that crawling business! :smiliedance:
I have embarked on the great down under nappy hunt and it's driving me crazy. I am hopeless and have only managed to find 6 so far... Any tips anyone?? Please?? :thumbsup:
We're off to the pool again tomorrow morning to meet up with some friends for a swim. Hopefully Zoe will be a bit happier in the water this time! :fingerscrossed:
quitecontrary
07-09-2009, 19:34
Hello!
I trust you all had lovely Father's Day(s) with your little ones! We had a lovely day. I made french toast with G for breakfast - even did an apple and rhubarb compote (what a fancy word for stewed!) to go with the toast - all very simple and effective, the way I like it!! In the afternoon my family descended for afternoon tea - well, my sisters and their families and my parents. Dad was chuffed to be surrounded by the grandchildren!!
I have started Toby on farex and the lad loves it! So I suppose I should do a bit of reading and work out what to do next, sweet potato I suppose, and potato and pear and apple!! All that sort of stuff! What fun!
The child has been exhausting me. I opened up the 24hour buffet service again a couple of weeks back when he had a cough, and he's not letting me close up again. There is only so long I can listen to a grumbling bub before cracking. I'm hoping he decides he can go back to sleep instead of carrying on for an extended period of time like a pork chop.
Realistically I should say both the kids are tiring me out. G wakes up between 5 and 6.30 every morning so it really is all on once she appears. At least with T he will go back to sleep!!
Enough on all that!
I trust you are all well, looking forward to more news!!
BoyCrazy
07-09-2009, 19:47
just thought id share this if anyone is interested
http://www.bubhub.com.au/infozodiacaquarius.php
Lateralus
07-09-2009, 20:04
just thought id share this if anyone is interested
http://www.bubhub.com.au/infozodiacaquarius.php
OMG - the first 2 paragraphs is Zoe to a T!!!!
gizmoduckus
08-09-2009, 08:38
Good morning everyone! I hope you are all well.
FollowtheYellowBrickRoad - Don't stress about your DS reaching his milestones later. In a few years time he would of caught up with everyone else and you won't be able to tell the difference.
KateJo - Good luck with your nappies
Seacretsquirrel - I hope you have a great time in Brisbane. I am glad to hear that R is growing well now.
quitecontrary - I hope you get some sleep soon.
AFU, I finally got to meet one of us! I caught up with A's mummy last night for a coffee because she was here for a conference. It was really nice to finally meet someone from here.
We had a shocking night's sleep last night. L has a really bad cold and he woke up practically every hour last night sometimes more. Has anyone used those humidifier things and are they any good? Those saline drops did nothing for him last night and I don't think I can go through any more nights like that. :sleeping:
Lateralus
08-09-2009, 11:12
Giz sorry to hear little L is not feeling the best. We used a humidifier when Zoe had a cold and I think it did help! We just used plain steam, but you can also use it with some vaporizer oil (like eucalyptus or teatree) but I am not 100% sure from what age it's safe to use them - I am sure they'd be able to tell you at the chemist.
Rather than the saline drops, you could try the little fess saline spray - I found it got up and into her nose a bit better than the drops... Stand back after you've given it though because it's usually followed by a big projectile snotty sneeze :laughing: We also used the vicks baby balsam on her chest, back and feet and kept up with regular panadol. The doc also told us that elevating the head of her cot can also help drain some of the chesty secretions and make it a bit easier for them to breath when they have a cold. Hope something helps :hugs:
AFU we had the best nights sleep to date - she slept for 11 & 1/2 hours non-stop!!!! Amazing!! Haha - I woke up in a pool of milk!
We went for a swim this morning with some of her little friends which she loved - we'll see if she's a bit happier with it at swimming class with DH tomorrow!
OMG - the first 2 paragraphs is Zoe to a T!!!!
:iagree::iagree: I was reading it out to DH and he said it describes both Miss K and myself. I was born at the end of January so we are both Aquarians.
Lateralus
09-09-2009, 13:55
I got my first ever fluffy mail today! (first of many me thinks!) :D
quitecontrary
09-09-2009, 15:50
Kate thats good news!
Boy oh boy, quiet times here it seems!
Hope everyone is AOK!
We are fine here, the house is nice and clean (yay for every second wed and the cleaner!), Toby is just grand. He was a little sad after his jabs but seems to have recovered fully. He is such a sociable little man - today at the creche when I came to get the kids he was sitting in the pram being attended to by one of the older boys - it was so lovely to see the other boy (who has a little bro the same age as G) pushing the pram back and forth and trying to get T's beany onto him (T officially has a very large head - and getting any beany on is a struggle!).
On the subject of T, he is in his cot having a sing-out so I suppose I should attend.
Hello!
Everyone is quiet... I might be able of keeping up :D...
BC- thanks for the tips on the chicken, G likes to 'feed' himself although I don't know how he will go with chicken as he has no teeth... I hope J's teeth are out and he is not in pain anymore.
KJ- have you tried the nappies? what about for the pool? do you use cloth for the pool as well? I don't do cloth because, amongst other reasons, I live in a flat where all my washing was in a little airer so I could not do more washing than I already do... but I am open to cloth ocassionally, for example for swimming. AH... yay for sleeping!!!
GD- I second KJ in the Feiss spray, it is really easy to apply. I hope L is better and that you are getting some sleep.
QC- I also have a cleaner every second wednesday, we started like a month ago and it has been the best decision we have made lately :yelclap: Toby sounds like a really lovely boy and that story of the creche is very sweet.
AFU- I am really busy with work as I have some major deadlines coming... G is as good as always with his fantastic happy personality. He loves being in kindy and I must say that I admire their work... they have put G to paint and to cook!! hahaha!! Our first dad's day was a bit odd as we forgot in the morning and only realised with SIL asked how it had been... but in the end it was good...
Have a great night! :goodvibes:
Lateralus
10-09-2009, 06:37
Adora glad to hear that G is going well at kindy - good luck with your deadlines! You asked about swimming nappies... You can buy cloth swimming nappies but I haven't bought one yet... We are starting off small (5) and will build our collection up over the months. I know that we'll eventually end us saving heaps on disposables but I will need to spread that initial outlay out over a few months. I haven't tried them yet - am waiting for the babybeehinds to get here so I can wash them all together.
AFU poor wee Zoe has been running high fevers for the past 2 days. I thought it might be her teeth, but she has started projectile vomiting too and has had a few loose poos so maybe she has some gastro? Poor chicken. I rang the health advice line and they didn't seem to concerned. Said just to keep up with fluids and panadol.. Even so, if she continues on being crook today I think I will take her to the doctors - they can get dehydrated so quickly when they are little. :(
Adora You said that G likes to feed himself. What do you give him? Steamed vegies and fruit? Miss K decided at dinner last night that she wouldn't eat anything unless she could feed herself. She is doing this morning as well.
We use Huggies swimmer nappies when we go swimming.
I'm glad that G is liking kindy. Sounds like they do a really great job.
KJ I'm sorry to hear that Z is ill. I'd take her to the Dr. It's better to be safe than sorry as they say. As you said they can get dehydrated so quickly. Let us know how you go.
AFU Last night we went to the local RSL for dinner. I took Miss K's chicken risotto to feed her but she wouldn't accept it. It seems she decided that if we were eating bought food so was she. So I tried to feed her some of my salad but then she decided she was only going to eat if she could fed herself. I put a variety of salad, including red capsicum, green capsicum, lettuce, carrot and onion, on the table in front of her and let her play. She seemed to love the capsicums and the onion (even though it was raw). The mess on the ground under the highchair was revolting. There's a video of this on FB.
This morning Miss K drove DH crazy at breakfast. It was his job to feed her, her breakfast while I made us pancakes for us. Again she wouldn't be spoon fed. So I got half a banana and cut it into sticks. If you tried to put it into her mouth she wouldn't eat it but if you put it in her hand and let her feed herself she was happy.
This will be interesting as I am returning to work on Monday and DH will have Miss K for three days a week. I love watching him trying to discipline her. He just told her that her grizzly mood isn't going to last. That finger food is messy and takes too long.
This morning in bed she kept undoing her nappy and DH tapped her on the hand very, very softly and said no. It was cute to watch.
Hope everyong has a great day!
Lateralus
10-09-2009, 09:27
Zeph don't stress too much about K only wanting to feed herself and only managing to get a little bit in. Remember milk is supposed to be their main source of nutrition until they're 1 and before that, food is all about experimentation! It's great she wants to feed herself! I have been trying to get Zoe interested in some finger foods, but they only end up in her hair or on the floor! :laughing:
Lateralus
11-09-2009, 07:23
Gosh it's been quiet in here - I had to keep checking that I was in the right month :laughing:
Poor ZoJo still crook - I ended up taking her to the doctors yesterday afternoon because she had ongoing fevers and was still vomiting and having some loose poos. He seems to think she's got a UTI (they took a wee sample) so poor bubba is now on antibiotics. Her fever seems to have settled but she is still vomiting and has not had a really good wet nappy in almost 2 days despite me offering her to boob every hour yesterday. The doc wanted to see her again this morning so we'll see what he says about it. It's so, so horrible when they're sick isn't it :(
Anyhow - think she's waking up just now so better go and give her some mumma cuddles! Hope everyone's having a great week!
quitecontrary
11-09-2009, 08:11
Kate I hope poor ZoJo is feeling a lot better soon.
You are right, its eerily quiet in here, just waiting for the tumbleweeds to start blowing through!
We are fine, need to shake myself and get us all ready to go out this morning. Should be making a shopping list but might just wing it - we're having about 40 people over on Sunday afternoon for a little party in honour of Tobias - should be fun!
Purplebird
11-09-2009, 12:49
QC - good lord! I don't think I know 40 people! I hope you have a lovely do though.
Kate - poor Zojo. I hope she is soon on the mend. How are you enjoying your fluffy mail deliveries? They always brighten up my day!
back later:)
firsttimepreg
11-09-2009, 14:25
Thought I'd pop in before we go away, Im so excited for our little holiday to Brisbane. I've never been there and Charli's not been on a plane yet so its our first adventure! My mum, sister and borther moved to Brissie a couple of months ago so I'm really looking forward to seeing them. I don't get in til 11.30 tonight, do you suppose that is too late to crack open a bottle of bubbly? :)
KateJo - how'd you go at the dr this morning? I hope bub is feeling better. They put a little bag to collect wee on Charli in hospital too the other day but she didnt have an infection which was good.
QC - enjoy your party on Sun. Sounds like it will be lovely.
We were up every 3 hours last night for feeds, although Charli doesnt seem very interested in bfeeding during the day. She'll go on and suck for maybe a minute or two and thats it. Had her weighed yesterday and she's only put on 40g in a month so I'm trying to feed her more. Not really working though but we'll get there. I'm giving bigger serves of solids, the health nurse said give her whatever I know she'll eat so there's been lots of yoghurt and fruit. Apparently babies dont over eat, they stop when they're full so I just keep going till she's had enough.
Well I'll be back after our holiday. Hope you all have a lovely week!
Lateralus
11-09-2009, 15:02
FTP have a great time in Brissy - hope the weather stays as good as it's been - :laughing: you'll come home with a tan!
QC have fun at your shindig over the weekend... Is this like a naming ceremony for Master T?
PB I have done the initial wash on all the fluffies and as soon as they are dry I will start trying them out. Do most people use flushable liners with their MCNs? If not - how do you, er, get the poo off the nappies and into the toot. Z's poos aren't that solid yet!
AFU I took Zo back to the Docs this morning because he wanted to see how she was doing. Her temps had settled down over night but she was still vomiting a bit and having a few looser than normal poos and not much wee. He was happy with how she was going and she does seem a little chirpier this afternoon. The formal urine results came back and it seems she doesn't have a UTI - but because there was such a dramatic improvement in her fevers when we started her on the antibiotics he wants her to finish the course.
My MIL is coming to stay over the weekend. She can be a bit of hard work, but it will be nice to have another set of hands around as DH is working. I think I'll take her down to Byron tomorrow if Zoe is well & happy. Hope everyone has a great weekend :wave:
quitecontrary
11-09-2009, 17:17
Kate we have a fabby little thing called a Little Squirt which we bought at Bunnings, which is like a high powered water shooter for getting poo off nappies - it attaches easily to the plumbing at the side of the toilet. Previous to that we sluiced (is that the word) the nappies in the toilet - the Little Squirt changed our lives (hahahaha!). Have fun with your MIL - get her to put the kettle on at least!! Glad to hear ZJ is getting better.
FTP have a great time in Brisbane - such fun to see your Mum etc again!
I gave Toby some sweet potato for dinner tonight (with his farex of course!!) and the lad wolfed it down.
The party on Sunday is a Meet Your Mates (though most of the people coming have met him already!!) bash for T - I suppose if we were going to do a naming this would be it. Just not formal in any way! When we had the same sort-of thing for G we did get out the christening layer of our wedding cake to cut up, so that was a bit of fun.
Purplebird
11-09-2009, 18:57
FTP- have fun in Brissie. Cameron is much the same - he prefers feeding at night than the day :rolleyes:
Kate - glad Miss Z is on the mend. We made a Little Squirt equivalent with a bit of hose pipe from Bunnings! I line my MCNs with fleece as it keeps the skin drier and it is much easier to clean than the actual MCN. Just bought some from Spotlight and cut it into pieces, then I chuck it in the nappy wash.
I'm super busy at the moment packing up the house as we move in a week's time. Well, I should be packing but packing boxes is possibly the most boring activity ever invented! Hence me being here instead.
floodprincess
12-09-2009, 09:27
Hey Ladies
How is everyone going? I've tried to keep up with everything but failed miserably (at least I've seen a few comings and goings on Facebook...)
Hope everyone is doing well!
I'm feeling a little depressed atm; it feels like our BF'ing is coming to an end...Miss M doesn't really seem that interested in the boob during the day :crying: my supply has never been the same since the mastitis the other month and nothing is helping it to recover....to top it off, AF has returned with a vengance (sorry TMI) and I'm feeling ooky (maybe I should just HTFU offer boob more often and get over myself).
But on the upside, we're off to Melbourne for a few days next week for my nephew's christening, hopefully that family function will be good. Can't guarantee it though, my mum is already being a bit of cow over it because I want to stay in a 1 bdr apartment with the kids rather than have DH, Miss M and myself stay with my Sisters inlaws who we've never met, while DD1 (Tiff) stays at my sisters...... :barf:
Anyway, enough whinging, the day is too nice to waste - and I have to remember I still have 2 weeks leave left so I best make hay while the sun shines and get my house properly sorted.
HAve a great day all! :wave:
Seacretsquirrel
14-09-2009, 07:11
Wow it has been quiet in here I have been enjoying catching up with friends and family in Brisbane so I have been on here less!
KJ hope zo jo is feeling better.
FP hope you are doing okay and that your BF is not coming to an end I too am having probs with the day feeds and this has meant that the little muppet has been up every 2 hours at night which is very exhausting (although he was much better last night I think he may have been getting cold and waking rather than needing a feed) I think it is a lot to do with the supply demand thing and they are getting older and more efficent too so you don't feel the full feeing very often any more they are also a lot more aware of what is happening around them and get very distracted by voices and movement (z is R's biggest distraction ATM it drives me nuts!)
FTP hope you are enjoying Brisbane too!
Pb hope the move is going well I agree packing is a royal pain and super boring Although for us because we do it every few years I try to use it as a chance to have a big chuck out (stuff that hasn't been used/worn/played with in a while gets chucked!) oh and the removalists do the majority - we only have to do personals stuff and clothes - so that helps:D
AFU - we have been busy catching up with friends and family we saw my grandparents, sister and her BF and one of my uncles on Sat (a gathering for fathers day and Nanna's birthday!) so that was really nice and both kids were so good Z esp as she can be a bit funny with new people (even ones she has met before) but after inital reserve she was fine and R loves cuddles so he was happy being passed around!
R is crook again though poor little bugger he is all snotty and chesty plus his teeth are still moving around just under the surface (I think we should see some soon and I think it will be a few at once by the looks) on the positive he is really active little man he can pull himself up on people and the stairs and can stand for ages while holding onto furniture and people, he even takes a few tentative steps along sideways (although he is still working out the fact that he has to move the foot closest to the direction he wants to go first rather than the other foot so he gets a little tangled sometimes).
He is loving his food he had a raffertys garden apple, carrot and sweet potato the other day and loved it so that is a great comb for him he also loves chewing on a crust (esp sourdough bread) and has been having that each morning and he ripped into 2 wedges of water melon at lunch on sat it was amazing to see! I think he really prefers feeding himself too so I might have to read up some more on BLW
Anyway I better be off before I bore you all do death with a super extra long post :yes:
Hope you are all doing well!:wave:
parentingrocks
14-09-2009, 10:15
Hi mummies!
Sorry its been so long since posting. I have been very run down - Charli has tonsilitis and is not sleeping one peep over night - unless of course I hold her or co sleep with her..!!! GRRR!! she is really taking it out of me. I got a referral to see a paed last week and got in to see him on sat just gone, about her sleeping problems.. I have been trying the 'allow her to cry for 5 mins' thing for soooo long and its not working - after being up and down all night the last few months I keep resorting to co sleeping with her for the last few hours of the night and she has become very dependand on it. She is now waking whether there is anything wrong or not and just screaming bloody murder until I hold her. The paed said we need to dedicate an entire weekend (at least 3 nights) to allowing her to basically scream all night until she realises its not an option. He said her behaviour now is a 'learned' behaviour and she is very capable of 'learning' that the cot is the place to sleep. He has recommended using the Breuer product 'calm' and then doing a dream feed to 10.30pm and then only going in to 'soosh' every 15mins.. just allow the screamingt o continue and continue. He said its the hardest thing I'll ever do in my life but it has to happen and he is sure we will get results. MY GODNESS I hope it works.
Just to top off a $hit month - this morning I have a lunch date with some old gril friends that haven't met CHarli yet - I have been looking forward to it so this morning I washed, dried and ironed my fav outfit and was ready - and as I was writing this post I just spilt my coffee all over myself. :hissy::crying::hissy::crying:
What do I have to do to catch a break??????!!!!!!!!!!!
Purplebird
14-09-2009, 11:34
SS - glad you're having some nice family time. We're nearly all packed now and it was good having a sort through, I agree. Very therapeutic chucking all the old stuff out and donating to the op shop.
FP - sorry to hear about your bfeeding problems. You have done really well to get this far. My little man is a bad daytime feeder, so I know how annoying that is. Where will you be in Melbourne? If you have time for a coffee let me know :)
Solsen - sorry you and Charli are run down, you poor things. I hope this doesn't sound horrible, but if you don't feel comfortable about letting Charli cry you don't have to. She's still very young and there are other things you could try first (only if you want to). Maybe you could try the No Cry Sleep Solution, or even a sleep school. Your MCHN would be a good source of advice too. Some paeds are a bit, well, unsympathetic. Anyway, good luck whatever you try. Cam has never slept through so I know how hard it is.
Anyway, back to the boxes I suppose!
quitecontrary
14-09-2009, 11:54
Hello!
PB I feel your pain getting ready to move. I hate even packing to go away - I could easily pay someone to do it for me, esp when we're going back to the UK and it feels like the kitchen sink is even getting a look in as something we might need.
Solsen ohhh, I just hope that whatever you decide to do in the way of getting Charli to sleep through works quickly and well for you. We tried the crying thing with G at one stage and we were all a mess.
Toby is back to having a 4am feed, so much better than 2am I have to say. Not ideal, but seeings G always comes in to us when she wakes up (generally between 6 and 7 though it can be earlier) I don't have the energy to try to settle him again at that time. He is known to sleep right through on occasion - I just would like him to do so more often! He is getting solids twice a day now, which he seems to like. I just need to summons the energy to cook him up some more veg and fruit and get some different food into him!!
We had a wonderful day yesterday, the party was great fun! About 30 people came, which was about optimum for our place. It was such a hot day it was great to be able to be out in the garden in the late afternoon with friends. The kids all had a hoot - it is funny watching all the different ages interact with each other. The first guests came at 3, and the last ones left at 9pm!
The other big news for the weekend is we bought a new (to us) car!! This afternoon we are heading out to the dealership to pick it up and drive away, farewelling steve the Magna who has served us well. Its a Honda Odyssey and it is very swish indeed - I actually can't believe we've bought such a luxurious vehicle that can sit 7! To think 4 years ago when we bought steve it was my first car! Thats inner city living for you eh?
Anyway, the kids are both asleep so I should probably take this opportunity to get out of my pjs!!
Purplebird
14-09-2009, 18:54
PB I feel your pain getting ready to move. I hate even packing to go away - I could easily pay someone to do it for me, esp when we're going back to the UK and it feels like the kitchen sink is even getting a look in as something we might need.
Ah, now packing to go away is something I'm always happy to do :) Mind you, not so much fun with kids is it? They really do seem to need the kitchen sink. Last time we went on a 'relaxing' weekend away I did wonder if it was worth it given the amount of stuff we had to take.
Lateralus
15-09-2009, 14:07
:wave: Hi everyone. Hope you all had a great weekend!
Solsen :hugs: Sorry to hear you've been having such a rough time with Charli. :hugs: As PB said - there are options other than just letting her cry if you don't feel comfortable with that! Your community ECHN might be able to refer you to a sleep and settling nurse who might be able to make suggestions as to how to settle her without leaving her to cry for 15 minute blocks. At sleep school with Zoe - we'd go in a settle her (pat & shoosh with no eye contact or talking) and then leave the room while she was still awake. If she started to cry again - we'd stop and listen - if she's just grizzling & not escalating at all - hold off going back in & see if she will self settle. If she sounds really upset or if she's escalating - so back in and repeat the patting and shooshing process 'till she's quiet again then leave the room and repeat process until she's asleep. The first night it took us about 5 hours of running through that cycle to settle her - but I felt comfortable with it because I didn't feel as if I was just leaving her to 'cry it out'. The more we did it - the better she seemed to get at self settling. Anyhow - just an idea and just so you know there are other options out there if you're not feeling comfortable with what the paediatrician suggested!
PB Hope the packing is going smoothly :fingerscrossed:
SS Glad you're having a great time on the East Coast - hope poor R is over his sniffles soon!!
FP :hugs: Hope things are sorting themselves out in the BF department. I have found that Zoe is pretty disinterested in the boob during the day at the moment too - subsequently she's feeding more overnight - we're back to 3 hourly feeds at night at the moment :sleeping:. But yes, she is definitely not too fussed with the boob during the day.
AFU It's our 2nd wedding anniversary today - I feel terrible because we aid we wouldn't do presents this year - and then this morning my DH presented me with a beautiful diamond pendant this morning and I didn't have so much as a card for him. We went for a lovely picnic by the river for lunch today & we're just planning a quiet night!
quitecontrary
15-09-2009, 16:37
Kate - Happy Anniversary!! Oh, good on your dh for pulling a swifty on you, you deserve a beautiful gift! Though I understand feeling a bit bad without anything for him in return. I trust you have had a lovely day!
PB my dislike for packing for os holidays has never stopped me wanting them! Going on hols here doesn't have the same effect on me at all.
We're fine! Toby is rolling about exploring under the furniture in the lounge room without his sis to interupt him, having a great old time it seems!
The new car is fantastic - can't really believe its ours! I think our kids are dead spoilt, they wont remember driving around in a normal old car, having to wind the windows up and down and use the key to lock the doors!
Wow so much has happened lately! I can't believe that I haven't posted since last week. I've been reading but too tired to post. Let's see how I go with personals. Sorry if I miss anyone out.
FP How is your BF going? I hope you can continue but if you can't cherish the fact that you have been able to BF for thing long.
How is your leave going? How was the Christening? Did you end up staying in an apartment?
SS I'm glad to hear that you are having a great time with friends and family.
I have been reading up on BLW as well as Miss K decided that Wednesday that she will only eat if she can feed herself. She loves fingers of banana, kiwi fruit and grapes (cut in halves). She has been having this for breakfast and lunch. She also has a tablespoon of yoghurt with lunch as it helps with her poo. For dinner she feeds herself fingers of pumpkin, potato, sweet potato, cauliflower (OMG she LOVES cauliflower!!!), broccoli (which she isn't really fond of), carrot and green beans plus a finger or two of whatever meat we are having that night. I'm going to order the BLW book that they talk about in that thread.
Solsen I'm sorry to hear that Charli has been sick and is having problems setting. :fingerscrossed: things get better soon. A few people here have been using sleep schools or nurses.
QC I'm glad your get together on the weekend went well. I bet they all adored T.
PB We went to Melbourne earlier in the year to see DH's parents and nearly didn't fit everything we needed in his Commodore station wagon.
We moved some of our furniture around last weekend and DH said that when we move next we will be paying someone to move us.
KJ Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and the diamond pendant :yelclap::yelclap: Our first anniversary is on October 5th and I keep telling DH I should get my eternity ring. He keeps telling me I should wait 10 years.
AFU Miss K is only eating when she can feed herself as I mentioned above. I was worried that she wasn't eating as much as when I fed her with a spoon but she is still sleeping 12 hours straight at night so that is good. My sister told me that because the consistency in finger good is different to pureed and mashed food it keeps them fuller longer. I hadn't heard that before?
I went back to work yesterday after 9 months off. I'm only working three days a week and luckily I am allowed to do this until Miss K (or any future siblings) are 5 or in school.
It was really hard leaving Miss K, especially when she was crying when I rang DH ten minutes later to ask him to bring me something. He was really sweet and brought her up to me at lunch time so I could feed her, her finger food. They are having a good time together at home and DH sends a photo and video message to my phone everyday. I was so exhausted when I got home yesterday that I went to bed at 7:30pm and slept through till Miss K woke up at 6:30am.
Today was really hard. The group I am working with are really restless and blergh and I don't think I've heard so much bad language in my life. I felt like I was going to cry but when I came home and Miss K put her hands out to me it made everything better.
At leas today is hump day and tomorrow is my last day for the week.
Sorry for the long post :ecomcity::ecomcity:
floodprincess
15-09-2009, 19:17
Hi Ladies!!
Been a heaps busy start to the week here!
Zeph - I know how hard it is going back to work - you will get through it, and the way K's little face lights up when she sees you of an evening will make even the hardest day disappear (I know when I get home to Monique it makes it all better - kinda like kisses from Mum when I was a little girl).
Solsen - I hope things are getting better for you!
I wanted to do other personals, but don't have a brain for it atm....sorry girls.
Well, the big Melbourne trip is coming up this weekend. I've booked an apartment but have had to change plans around.
Our Deputy Commissioner died suddenly over the weekend, and as a result, a whole lot of organisational changes have taken place and to cut a long story short, I have been recalled from leave to work Thursday conducting interviews for a vacant position.....:rolleyes:
So instead of making a 2 day trip to Melbourne (a stop in the middle to rest), we have to do the drive in one hit (thankfully we have 3 drivers in the car!).
The day-time BF is pretty much over I think. I've tried and tried but Monique is really only interested in boob for the first and last feed of the day and because of that, I haven't got the supply to even express during the day :( but at least I get 2 feeds and we managed to almost 7 months exclusively (which is a bonus since we only got 2 months from DD1).
Anyway, must go, I'm still trying to organise interview questions (the last set I got for this position I'm conducting interviews are 10 yrs old and not applicable anymore) also got to organise the packing (what a performance - DD1 wants to take FAR to many clothes).
I guess the only bonus to being recalled from work is that any hours I do are paid at double time and I get my leave hours re-credited (which will work out great in October when my daytime babysitter goes to NZ for a week).
Take care ladies, have a great night and I'll do more personals tomorrow when I've hopefully gotten everything sorted.
Oh - PB - would love to do coffee! We're staying in Brighton, but are travelling randomly all over the city to catch up with people (the furtherest we're going is Werribee from memory) I'll PM you in a couple of days to work something out!
Peace......out :wave:
Small message, I have no time but just to have a post today in our thread ;)
re- self feeding. If I am spoon feeding him, many times I just put the spoon near his mouth so he can do the last push. he likes that. finger foods is what others have said, steamed veggies and today I gave him some chicken for the first time! he loved it so much that decided to wear what he couldn't eat :D
weaning is going well... I feel relieved that I am finishing and expressing is over and I am not the sole responsible for his milk... BUT... i also feel a bit sad about it... (not enough to change my mind but I wonder if I will regret) At the moment we are doing 1 or two feeds in the morning and the last one at night with BM. The day feeds are formula and it seems to work for us :)
and a few impersonal personals: i too hate packing; congratulations on the new car and the beautiful anniversary present; have a great holiday and a safe trip; good luck with getting Charli to sleep, I hope that whatever you try works quickly for you.
and that's it. need to go now!
:goodvibes:
quitecontrary
17-09-2009, 12:16
Hello!
Sounds like some of you have been very very busy. FP sorry to hear about the death at work and your recall for a day in the middle of your hols. I hope the drive to Melbourne town isn't too daunting for Miss Monique - and the rest of you as well - its a long haul in one day but not as bad as it used to be on the Hume eh?
Ardora glad that the weaning is going well. You are very brave ending the bf-ing, I'm just a sook when it comes to my babies it seems. But it sounds like its the best thing for all of you. I've been thinking about you lately - our Spanish contingent arrived from Barcelona two nights ago. My older sisters in-laws, so no actual connection by blood but linked anyway! I think my niece and nephew are beside themselves having their other grandparents here!
Both my kidlets have colds, very dull I must say. Poor old Toby is coping. They are driving me mad these days - not quite sure how to cope with it. Just seem to be muddling on getting cranky with the toddler which isn't fair at all.
Enough on that! He is having a grumble so perhaps I should go and get him out of the cot.
Purplebird
17-09-2009, 19:16
FP - oh, you're staying just down the road from me! I am moving tomorrow though and won't have internet for a few days :eek: I will try and jump on a wireless connection somewhere in case you message and are available for coffee. Would be lovely to meet you! I'm very sorry about the death at work too :(
ETA - will pm my mobile number.
Kate - hope you had a lovely anniversary. I think DH is allowed to spoil you after all you've been through!
Zeph - it must be hard returning to work. Thank goodness you can stay part time and DH can help out with Miss K. It's great that Miss K is enjoying feeding herself. I did BLW with my first and she is a wonderful eater (maybe a bit too much actually, lol!). Cam is getting the hang of things slowly. He loves his vegemite toast, but still squishes things up a lot.
Ardora - it is sad when breastfeeding ends, but if it's the right thing for you then don't feel too sad. Don't forget those pesky hormones can make you feel a bit teary when b'feeding ends.
QC - I so hear you on the getting cranky with the toddler thing. Two and a bit is certainly an, er, interesting age! I feel terrible as poor E is showing a lot of jealousy toward Mr C now, but i'm too busy and tired to give her all the undivided attention she deserves.
Well, I'm signing off here. A few more boxes to pack and some serious scrubbing to be done and we are out of here tomorrow. No internet for a while (:crying::crying:). See you on the other side!
Hello everyone! :wave:
Well it's been so long since I posted anything, I doubt anyone even remembers me, but I have a question and so I thought I'd just stop in to ask your opinions ... if you don't mind me crashing?? :o
So, this is what's happening ...
When Coop was 5 1/2 months I tried to start him on Farex, but he was not interested at all. I waited the extra 2 weeks, then tried him again. He still wasn't interested. He wasn't pushing his tongue out or anything, he just wouldn't open his mouth. After a week or two, I tried him on Rafferty's Garden banana porridge [in case he just didn't like the taste of Farex], but he didn't want that either. Then I tried a bit of apple, still not interested. I spoke to a friend, who suggested I leave him until 7 months. So I gave up. Tried him at 7 months - no good. Tried him at 7 months, 1 week and FINALLY he opened his mouth and ate the cereal :thumbsup: .... but it only lasted around 3 days, now for the last 5 or so, he is back to being not interested and just sits there with his mouth clamped shut.
I'm so frustrated and starting to get worried, especially when I see all the different foods your little ones are eating. Basically, he is ow 7 1/2 months old and he's really only having booby milk. Not sure how much he weighs right now, but he is a chubby and I'm not worried about his size, but shouldn't he be needing the food now??
Any advice would be MUCH appreciated!!!!
quitecontrary
18-09-2009, 12:33
Hi Jade! I remember you!! I'm not much chop on the eating thing with Toby yet, though he does seem to like it. My only suggestion for you for Cooper would be to try what is referred to as Baby Lead Weaning (or BLW in typical bubhub abbreviation speak). Try him with some finger food eg pieces of steamed veg or fruit he can experiment with himself. Perhaps with all your other kids around helping themselves he'd like to get into the action! I think the other thing to remember is that little ones at this age are still getting most of what they need from breastmilk or formula.
Lateralus
18-09-2009, 13:25
:wave: Hi Jade - I have a good little DVD on BLW that I could burn and send you if you think that'd help? As QC said, my understanding was that they get all the nutrition they need from milk until they're one - that it's just "food for fun until they're one"....
PB hope the packing & cleaning is going well!
QC hope the kids aren't too miserable with their colds!
AFU not too much happening here. It's Zoe's 7 monthaversary today... I took her to be weighed & she's 8.33kg (up 850grams in a month), 70cm in length(she's grown 4cm in a month) and head circ 45cm (up 1.5cm in a month - go brainy!!). She's never going to play forward prop but I am quite happy with those stats! :flowerz:
Better go and attack that never ending pile of washing...
sweetseven
19-09-2009, 03:05
Sorry ladies, I haven't been following for the last few weeks, and changed my handle on this site. Skimming seems to reveal a lot of you are busy with travel plans. I hope it all works out well.
However one recent change is my little bub, who used to sleep through from 1am-6am has started waking very hungry in the wee hours (something like 3am). After takin everything the breasts have to offer, she's still not satisfied, soils her nappy then gets rather demanding. The only thing that has been able to tide her over is solids. For example, she just finished off a whole banana.
Thanks QC and KJ! I may just try the 'BLW', because when he does decide to eat, he grabs the spoon to put into his own mouth every time.
Will let you know how it goes - thanks again :)
Lateralus
20-09-2009, 17:01
wow - it's been quiet in here over the weekend. I hope this means everyone has been out doing fun stuff and/or relaxing!!
Sweetseven (idid I miss something - are you tiera13?) sorry you've been having some disturbed nights... Must be something in the air at the moment because Zoe has been waking up at some ungodly hours and deciding that it's time to be up & about for the day! Very frustrating. I fear as the days get longer it's only going to get worse... Oh well.... :sleeping:
DH has been away this weekend - in Wellington NZ working on the Rugby (shame Wallabies, shame...) so Zoe and I have had a pretty quiet weekend. Caught up with my best friends and her 2 (& 1/2) kids for breakfast yesterday and then Zoe and I hit the markets this morning... I was very restrained and only bought 2 things - a cute little singlet for Zoe and a wallet for DH.
Zoe is getting so cheeky when I am feeding her solids - she holds her mouth wide open, grins and quickly shakes her head from side to side with a very challenging little look in her eyes... "go on, try and get it in now....". As frustrating as it is (it takes 10 times longer to feed her) it is pretty funny and very cute...
We had a bit of a shocker yesterday evening - she yelled on and off for almost 3 hours before she went to sleep... :hair: I don't know how we used to do that every night.. For hours on end... :dizzy:
OMG - When I was getting Zo into her car seat today, I was pulling the buckles together and my hand (which was slippery from sunscreen) slipped off one of them and I fully clocked her in the mouth :eek: I felt SOOOOO bad. She didn't cry... But looked at me with a very hurt expression on her face... Heart breaking...
Lateralus
20-09-2009, 18:45
oh, & another thing.... A wee word of warning...
we had a mozzie net over Zoe's bed... Had it tied to the legs of the cot like you're supposed to... But when I can in to Zoe after her snooze this afternoon, she managed to to pull the net through the bars of her cot, ripping off one of the tags off & managed to tangle herself up in it.... I shudder to think what could have happened if she got it wrapped around her neck. Needless to say I took the mozzie net down straight away.... It was more there as a decorative thing - but it won't be going back up again until she is a lot older!
Seacretsquirrel
20-09-2009, 18:58
Hey Ladies
Welcome back Sweet Seven nice name change! R too had a few weeks of waking 2 hourly it was just about driving me to distraction (although with the drive and staying at the ILs then mum and dads may have had something to do with it) and demanding a feed to settle each time too so perhaps a growth spurt it is so hard to tell the reasons for these spates of wakefulness.
KJ - it is horrible when you inadvertantly bump you bub isn't it (I have a nasty habit of bashing their heads on the car roof when getting them into and out of their carseats - Bad mummy:shame: you'd think I'd have the hang of it after nearly 3 years:o) Glad you've had a good weekend just you girls.
ETA - yikes about the mozzie net that is very frightening glad it was just a close call for you.
Jade welcome back to you too I was going to suggest BLW to you too R is a big fan of feeding himself and if you are eating he watches every move you make and reaches and makes little chewing motions which is so funny.
AFU - R is a little machine he has really taken to the solids thing with gusto esp if he can chew it himself - crusts of bread/toast, watermelon, rockmelon it really is quite amazing. but I think his movments are the totally incredible thing he is so much more mobile than Z was at the same age he is pulling himself up on low stuff (6 inches or so high) and yesterday he managed to get up the 2 steps between the lounge and the hallway it was amazing to watch he was getting so frustrated but was pleased as punch when he succeded.
other than that we are having a great time Z has been spending thursdays with the IL's so I get a day with just R which is really nice. Mum is on hols for the next 2 weeks too so that will be fantastic and I think miss Z will be having her very first sleep over with Nanny and Pa (she has stayed twice with my parents and was great but we stay at their house and she is more comfortable with them but we left her not her leaving us) so I am a bit nervous about her staying away but they are only 10 mins away so if she cracks it or panics or something they will just bring her back.
Anyway I better leave it here before I bore you all to death :ecomcity::ecomcity: :D
night night sweet dreams and good sleep vibes to you all:sleeping:
quitecontrary
20-09-2009, 19:18
sweetseven I hope you work things out with your hungry little girl.
Kate eek to the mossie net scenario, and oops to the clocking of your daughter.
SS Riley sounds like a perpetual motion machine! Wow to the steps! Toby is still just rolling around and plonking himself under the couch whenever possible!
Well, poor old Toby has had a corker of a cough, last night he managed to throw up in his bed after I fed him at 3am (yes, the restaurant is open again - esp with him being ill) so we had him in our bed to settle him - not that it settles me in any way shape or form. I've booked him in to see the Dr tomorrow afternoon. I imagine we'll be riding it out but I just want to make sure its nothing too serious.
We've had a great weekend, driving here and there in the new mobile! It is sooooo comfortable and wonderful. I can't believe we have such a great car! Yesterday we drove down through the Royal National Park and along the Land Sea Bridge - such a great little drive from our place, so scenic! Today it was over to Middle Head for morning tea at a new cafe there - what a view too. Oh, and dh and I actually managed to have a night out on friday, drinks and dinner with his colleagues. Fun to get out amongst it again - and good timing for my parents-as-sitters as they are going to be away now for about 3 weeks - though we will be away too for part of this. Did I tell you how much I am looking forward to going up the coast on Friday??
Hope you've all had lovely weekends!
A'sMummy
21-09-2009, 09:12
Morning Ladies! I hope you're all well! Sorry I have been MIA for a little while, I have been keeping up with all your posts but have nothing exciting to post myself. :o
SS- wow Riley sounds like a clever little cookie with all the moving!! Anya is rolling around a little bit and pulls herself along with her arms but her legs aren't strong enough to crawl I don't think.
QC- Congrats on the new car! Sounds so lush and lovely!!
KJ- We had the same problem with the mozzie net a few weeks ago. I went in to find Anya had pulled it into the cot and was playing with it, what a little monkey! I also had a mad panic and thanked god that she hadn't gotton tangled in it and promptly removed it from reach!!
Jade- I am finding Anya increasingly difficult to spoon feed but she is more than happy to munch on finger food. Last night after she refused her mashed pumpkin, potatoe, carrot, zucchini and broccolli mix I was trying to feed her at my inlaws so I just put a selection of finger food on her high chair tray and she happily sat there for 45mins playing and tasting everything. She is a great chewer! Last night she had a boiled baby carrot, a piece of chicken breast meat, a strawberry, a celery stick and a bean to munch on, she had a ball! :D
AFU- We are currently dreaming about buying a few acres about a min away from where we are currently. :cloud9:
But I would like to highlight the word DREAMING!! I am not sure we can afford it but are currently in talks with the bank and may make an offer alot lower that the current advertised price (like $100,000 less :o), but it is our dream property so it's worth a shot. Here is our dream house (for all those who love looking at property like I do hehe) http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=o&id=105796603&f=0&p=10&t=res&ty=&fmt=&header=&cc=&c=28416859&s=vic&tm=1253491936
quitecontrary
21-09-2009, 12:25
A's Mummy - Anya sounds like The Very Hungry Caterpillar!! Glad to hear she has a desire for finger food! I love the house - looks great! So different to where we live, thats for sure.
Nothing much to report here so far today, except that Genevieve decided to give Toby a good hard bite on his cheek this morning whilst I was out in the garden putting out the washing. He screamed, and she ran out to report on her actions when I was rushing in to see what was happening. Poor little boy, it looks really nasty. At least she didn't draw blood, but I think she came close. Oh, the joys of having two!!
A'sMummy
21-09-2009, 13:52
QC- LOL she does sound like The Very Hungry Caterpillar!!
Ouch to poor Toby! I can imagine how difficult it must be with two littlies! Must keep you very busy indeed.
Gosh it's quiet in here, maybe everyone is out enjoying the sunshine. Yay for summer coming, I can't wait!
quitecontrary
22-09-2009, 17:25
Me again!! Wondering where you've all got to over the last few days!!
There is the biggest storm brewing here, the sky is so black. Toby and I are home alone - and about to go out to my weightwatchers meeting - yep, he has the most fun!!
The lad is on his first course of antibiotics, he has a chest infection. Poor little man, he is in pretty good form though apart from that. Just can't wait til he's feeling better and decides to sleep for more than 4 hours at a time at night. I am sure he is recovering.
Is everyone else just in love with their babies at the moment? I really can't believe how much I adore this child - and how amazing it is to have him in our lives. I love his big sister too of course, and I wondered how I could ever love another child as much as I love her. Boy, was that soul searching a bit of a waste of time!! Toby is just a delight!!
Enough baby-gushing.
I hope you are all fine!
I would love to hear from more of you here! FB has its uses but not all my fb pals need to know how gushy I am over my little Due in Feb, came in March baby!
Hello Ladies :wave:
We've definitely been quiet around here. I've been reading but I'm trying to fit everything in with going back to work.
My exciting news for today is that I bought a new car. Well not new but new to me. She is a red Commodore VZ Executive Wagon. DH decided that he wanted to get another crappy Hilux to go off road in so we decided that I would get a wagon so we can fit everything in when we go away. She is very pretty though.
We went shopping for Miss K on the weekend. I can't believe she is only 7 months old, especially when she is wearing size 1 tops because her size 0's are too short. She is also wearing size 2 - 5 socks and size 3 - 4 shoes. Where did my little baby go?
Jade/A's Mummy Miss K is a real finger food eater too. She decided a fortnight ago that she wouldn't eat anything unless she could fed it to herself. For breakfast she has strawberry, grape, banana and kiwifruit. For lunch she has tomato, cucumber, half an egg and some yoghurt. For dinner she has a floret of broccoli/cauliflower, a finger of potato/sweet potato/pumpkin/carrot, some beans and a finger of whatever meat we are eating. For snacks she has a piece of bread or a rusk. She is also getting a lot better in holding her sippy cup. We have stopped giving her her formula in a bottle. She only uses sippy cups now. I've ordered the Baby Led Weaning book by Rapley and Murkett. It should arrive in the mail this week.
QC I hope T gets better soon. Miss K had a chest infection a while ago and it was yucky.
I am with you on the adoration of our babies. Miss K has developed so much in the last two or three weeks and she surprises me with how much she has grown within herself. She is a real little person now and sigh...I could talk about her forever :cloud9:
I'm exhausted so I'm going to read in bed and hopefully fall asleep. Hope everyone is having a good week.
sweetseven
22-09-2009, 19:11
Not good about the mozzie nets. I had considered them originally, 'cause my little ones sport some bites, but never got around to it. Now I'm glad I didn't.
I've got the semi-co-sleeping downpat now. I get her to sleep in my bed, then once she's asleep, I move to the spare bed (adjacent) so I get a good nights sleep also. (Well until she wakes up hungry that is. But after her snack at 2-3am, she'll sleep through until 10-11am. So I think it is she needs her bodyclock readjusted.)
Had the follow-up paed appointment yesterday (re: single umbilical aertory). Ultrasound showed her kidneys were on the small side of normal, so nothing to worry about there. Dr said he was concerned about her weight and doesn't think she's getting much milk from me. He also asked how long I planned on breastfeeding for. But he didn't give any suggestions on the matter, and there are no further appointments with him. She is now 5.6kg so has gained 1kg in a little over two months. (She appears healthy though, just small.)
Z Congrats on the new car. I hope it works out well.
gonnabeaGR8mum
22-09-2009, 19:43
i'm afraid i'm guilty of reading every day but not posting :o sorry guys
zeph yay for new (to you) cars, looks pretty flashy (and they say red cars go fasater too!) hope you have a lovely night sleep and a good day at work tomorrow before your weekend starts!
sweet7, that weight gain sounds similar to Eli, she's gaining around 400-500 grams every 4-5 weeks, but she was a big bub at birth (4.09 kgs) so is still a fairly respectable 8.5kgs now even though her grwoth has slowed dramatically compared witht he first month or so!
Is everyone else just in love with their babies at the moment? I really can't believe how much I adore this child - and how amazing it is to have him in our lives!
I find miss E to be the most amazing and challenging little person i have ever come across, my love for her just keeps growing (despite the difficulties, or maybe even because of them, who knows)
but it is our dream property so it's worth a shot. Here is our dream house (for all those who love looking at property like I do hehe) http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=o&id=105796603&f=0&p=10&t=res&ty=&fmt=&header=&cc=&c=28416859&s=vic&tm=1253491936
that is just beautiful, what a lovely place to bring up a family... it may be just a dream right now, but dreams can become realities! how did the bid go?
I think his movments are the totally incredible thing he is so much more mobile than Z was at the same age he is pulling himself up on low stuff (6 inches or so high) and yesterday he managed to get up the 2 steps between the lounge and the hallway it was amazing to watch he was getting so frustrated but was pleased as punch when he succeded.
I'm increadibly impresseed with R's stair climbing skills, i'm not game enough to even let Eli try ours as they are slate and tile so not very forgiving on her poor little head should she fall (plus i don't have much faith in her ability since watching her attempt to climb of the lounge head first and getting stuck in a hand-stand position lol) she is getting around really well using her unique brand of crawling (on her left knee and right foot) and has started pulling herself up on things in the past week- i have been delaying lowering her cot from the bassinet height due to my back but i think we may just have to do it considering she is over 75cm tall and pulling herself up and leaning over the sides!
However one recent change is my little bub, who used to sleep through from 1am-6am has started waking very hungry in the wee hours (something like 3am). After takin everything the breasts have to offer, she's still not satisfied, soils her nappy then gets rather demanding. The only thing that has been able to tide her over is solids. For example, she just finished off a whole banana.
you and me both, only thing is she refuses to eat and only makes a halfhearted attempt at breastfeeding before falling alseep again and waking up less than 2 hrs later to do it all again... i'm getting to the point where i'm not seeing the point in going to bed in between, i just feel more and more groggy!
AFU, apart from what i've written above we've been having a shoking time of it lately, she won't sleep for longer than 2 hr bursts, refuses to breastfeed properly even when i hold her off so that she's really hungry, won't nap during the day unless i am beside her to sush her when she stirs every 5 minutes, pretty much refuses all solids except purreed apple and vegemite on toast, doesn't want me to cuddle her but doesn't want to be put down either! its driving me to distraction i feel like i am running up a super fast escalator and not getting anywhere, i'm constantly on the verge of tears, snapping at DH ALL THE TIME, even yelling at Eli (and then crying some more because its not her fault i can't work out what she needs) i feel like such a terrible person for taking it out on them, and i really do love her so much that it hurts, i just want her to be happy and healthy:crying:!
sorry enough of the pitty party. i hope everyone else is having a much better time of it!
quitecontrary
22-09-2009, 21:27
GBAGM oh darling, it does sound like Miss Eli is giving you a right royal run-around at the moment. Can your Mum (or anyone else for that matter) come in for a day and give you the chance to rest/separate a bit between the feeds? I know that on the rare occasion that I get to leave the house without my children I feel incredibly "light". Have you had a chat with your baby health clinic about it? Sometimes they have some good ideas.
Zeph your new car looks great. Genevieve would love a red car!
sweetseven
22-09-2009, 22:58
A's I forgot to comment on that property. It looks perfect. Good luck. :fingerscrossed:
My little bub is so happy right now, laughing and kissing me. Only problem is I am so tired.
sweetseven
23-09-2009, 05:40
After going to bed at 12:45am, she woke at 4:30am for a feed. So I got a couple more hours sleep last night. However, that didn't turn out too well because I've been unable to get back to sleep since then, and I have a busy day ahead of me.
A'sMummy
23-09-2009, 08:23
Zeph- Your new car looks lovely... and I agree, red cars are DEFINITELY faster hehehe
GBAGM- Oh dear, sounds like you have your hands full you poor thing! I think what QC mentioned would be great, just a couple of hours to be yourself and do what you want to do makes an amazing difference if it's possible.
Sweetseven- sorry to hear about your lack of sleep last night, I hope your day isn't too busy and stressful so you can maybe get some rest at some stage throughout the day.
AFU- all I can say is it looks like our "dream" home is just that... nothing more than a dream :(. Unfortunately because we currently have 5 years left of our fixed interest rate on our current mortgage we would have to sell and settle our house and settle the new house on the same day. The owners of the new house didn't want to agree to those terms as they could possibly be waiting awhile till our house sells. :hissy: WAHHHH so sad!! Our other option would be to pay the fee of ending our fixed interest rate contract with our bank which would be approx $50,000 what a rip off!! Grrr I hate banks!
Anyway, apart from that, everything is going well. Anya can clap her hands which I was VERY excited about hehe. There is a clip on facebook which alot of you have already seen (thanks for your lovely comments :yes:).
I hope you're all going well!! Take care
Lateralus
23-09-2009, 08:35
Good morning ladies :wave:
Thinking of you all down south with the dust storms - we've been checking out the pics on the SMH website - looks pretty full on!!
OK - a few personals... hope I don't forget anyone...
A'sMummy the property looks beautiful - do keep us posted on how your offer went. I will keep my fingers and toes crossed for you!! :fingerscrossed:
sweetseven glad little miss got the clear from the paed in terms of her kidneys! Great news! And as you said - maybe she's just a petite little thing... If she seems happy and content I would imagine she's getting enough sustenance! It's funny how we always seem to be fighting an uphill battle with people undermining our confidence in our breastfeeding abilities!
Zeph Zoom ZOOM - enjoy your new hot mummamobile!!
GBAGM :hugs: sorry to hear you've been having such a tough time with E not sleeping well and being fussy with her food and drink. I can fully sympathise with you... When we were having all the problems with Zoe's sleeping I was constantly crying and super irritable too... I too have been guilty of yelling at DH, Bub, the cats... anyone who even looked at me !! Don't for a single second think that you are a terrible person - it's an impossible ask to expect someone to be calm and chipper in the face of sleep deprivation and stress! The best piece of advice I was given was that if I was feeling overwhelmed, was to put Zoe in her cot, close the door and walk away. Go out in the back yard or the car or somewhere where I couldn't hear her crying and just breath slowly and quietly for a few minutes and go back again when I am feeling calm. Do it as often as needed. Even if she cries the whole time I am gone - she's safe!!
Also - in terms of her eating/ feeding fussiness.. Have you considered contacting the ABA for a chat and some advice and reassurance? I go to regular ABA meetings and the councillors there are just great! I was chatting to one just this monday about Zoe's increasing fussiness on the boob... They said that around this age Bub's start to get better at knowing what they want and don't want and will drink only what they need. As it starts to get warmer, Bubs will also take smaller more frequent drinks to quench their thirst - and your breast milk becomes more watery to compensate.
QC hehe - gush away. I have been falling more and more in love with miss Zoe as the days go by. I will be totally honest and say that it was not love at first sight for me - but that now the lurve bug has definitely hit! :bee:
AFU all good here... Off to swimming this morning. Looking forwards to our trip to Sydney next week. Have a friend's wedding then catch ups with friends and family - some of whom I haven't seen in over a year!
gizmoduckus
23-09-2009, 09:31
Hi everyone! Sorry for not posting anything for awhile. I have been quite busy the last couple of weeks but it looks like it has finally settled down.
QC - I totally agree with you. At this age they are such great fun that my heart just swells watching L. :bee:
Zeph - Congrats on the new car
GBAGM and Sweetseven - :hugs:. Lack of sleep is sooo hard. I hope it gets better for the both of you soon.
A'smummy - Sorry to hear about your dream home. I also hate banks. They caused us a lot of grief also when we started building our new house. We had to sell our current home before we got the money to start building because we were doing it owner-builder but if we had gone through a builder then we wouldn't of had to. Lucky for us the people that bought our house were happy to rent it back to us.
AFU we are just all getting over being sick. L got it the worst out of all of us. He ended up having a chest and nose infection and has just finished his round of antibiotics. He is doing well now which means we are all sleeping again.
We had DS1's 3rd birthday on the weekend. I can't believe how quick the time has gone. It just seems like yesterday that he was L's age. Before we know it, all of our little ones will be that age. I am starting to feel old. :laughing:
Well L is definitely on the move now. I had to do a big clean up of all the little toys around the house even though DS1 did a big protest. He isn't exactly crawling but he is dragging himself around the house at lightning speed. It is quite funny to watch but it is hard to tell him it would be so much easier if he got up on all fours.
Well, I hope you all have a great day and I hope that the dust storm in NSW settles down for all of you there soon.
quitecontrary
23-09-2009, 13:23
Well, for those of you wanting a Sydney Weather Update - I can tell you that in rocking Rockdale the wind is still blowing but the sky is blue. Thank goodness - it is so strange having a car covered in a fine layer of Central West Dust not having left the driveway!
Kate I am glad to hear you are having a holiday in Sydney - sounds like it is long overdue!!
Gizmo how fun to have your Big Boy turn 3! Genevieve is already telling everyone she is going to have a party in January. I haven't had the heart to tell her that her party will be in Feb when we come back from England - though I think we will be having a party there too, of some type!
A's Mummy poop to the banks and the fixed term mortgage - what a pain. And as for having to exchange on both properties on the same day - this isn't England! So, I suppose its a case of sitting still on your place for a few more years - and the best house with land will come up for you when you are really ready!
England has the most bizarre and painful real estate processes that I've ever come across - this thing called The Chain - no deposits, no contracts and anyone can walk away from a sale. Thank goodness we don't have a house there any more. Enough of my real estate whinges.
Toby is still a bit crook - has a few more days of medications. I hope it manages to knock out the bugs - he is in fine spirits but I am mightily sick of feeding him every 3 hours around the clock.
We are off up the coast on Friday - and I haven't started packing, but at least I got dh to bring in some luggage from the garage - so I could start!
Good to hear from so many of you again!!
sweetseven
23-09-2009, 20:38
Had to go to hospital for my children's cardiac checkup today, in the middle of the dust-storm. Miss13 and Miss<3 had lower oxygen saturation results (94% & 96%) which I think were due to the dust-storm. Bub has a tiny fistula on the coroted (or aortic, I can't remember) aertory, which the Dr said should be nothing to worry about but he wants to monitor her (every two years). He didn't explain what it was or any implications however.
This evening, he rang me asking if I realised how small bub was, and that he wants me to take her to the GP to get her weight investigated.
GBAGM Miss E sounds like she is definitely giving you the run around. I agree with the person who suggested ringing the ABA and also seeing if someone could come sit with E to give you a break for a few hours.
A's Mummy I'm sorry to hear about your dream house. Banks just suck! As someone else said there is something bigger and better out there for you and it will be available at the right time for you.
Gizmo I am glad that you are all getting better. The photos of E's birthday look great on FB. Sound like everyone is doing baby proofing at the moment.
Sweet7 I hope your LO's are ok. Sounds like the dust has really affected everyone. I came home from work early yesterday cause I had trouble breathing. Are you worried about DD7's weight?
AFU My breathing is back to normal after having troubles yesterday. Today is the start of my four day weekend. I'm glad I'm not at work today.
Miss K is definitely getting more mobile. Yesterday she was sitting on the couch with us and must of decided she wanted to be on the floor. She rolled over onto her tummy and edged her way back until her bum was over the edge of the couch. Then she used her feet to find the floor. Once her feet we touching the floor she let go and ended up kneeling on the floor. It was so cute to watch. I thought it was a fluke so I put her back and called DH and she did it again.
DH had his last de-sensitisation needles yesterday so hopefully they worked. He doesn't have to have more needles till May next year.
I should run. We have a very busy day today. I want to go to the gym, the morning tea with one of Miss K's godmothers, then GymbaROO, then a meeting and then late night shopping. WHat it does mean is that our day will be freer (more free :p) tomorrow.
parentingrocks
24-09-2009, 07:42
Hi there ladies,
sorry i am guilty of reading and not posting and hardly ever doing personals when i finally post. so sorry.
I think I popped on here last time to say Charli had been alittle nightmare at nights recently. I ended up hiring Gabrielle from sleeprescue.com and O M G!!!!!! A DIFFERENT BABY HAS ARRIVED!! She has gone from waking ever 10mins ALL NIGHT LONG SERIOUSLY, to sleeping 12 and a half hour nights every night. This lady is a genius. I can not believe the difference! It cast a bomb but was worth every penny!
Anyway,
A'sMummy the house is lovely. Very different to where I live too but looks so peaceful. Haven't read through these last few posts to see if you ended up putting an offer in? how did you go?
Kate - I read your post a little way back about cheeky Zoe and her playing games whle you try to feed her - Charli is the same at the moment and as a few other said I have had to let her have finger foods too. I'm not sure she is actually eating much of the fingerfoods though, she sort of chomps a little and licks and sucks them and then they eventually end up on the ground. I suppose it better than nothing though?
Sweetseven - don't stress too much about the doctors comments on bubs weight, you would know if it was a problem, some babies are just little end of story. that dust storm was full ion yesterday - I am in Melb and only saw pictures in the news but looked horrible. Hope all your littlies are feeling better after that.
Zeph - how cute miss k wiggled her way down to the floor. what a champ! they are growing up so fast
GBAGM - You poor bugga. thats so frustrating when you don't know whats going on. maybe call the ABA and get some advice on getting her on the boob more efficiently. maybe if she's refusing food she may be unwell though - charli started refusing food and drink last week and was miserable, so i took her to the doc and she had tonsilitis. mayeb seeing a good GP will help whether she is unwell or not just to have a chat.
sorry ladies thats all i can remember for personals.
hope you are all well.
I am going to hit the shops today after Charli has her morning nap. Kmart and Target have some cool toy sales on and I want to get one of those sling things that help baby to sit on your hip. Toys 'r' us had them on sale for $80 - does anyone have one of these? do they work? Charli can get very 'antsy' in the pram and always wants a cuddle when we are out so I thought maybe one of these could help because I always end up carrying her, and she has outgrown the baby biorn.
:ecomcity:./..... I'm going on and on... better go
gonnabeaGR8mum
24-09-2009, 08:33
I think I popped on here last time to say Charli had been alittle nightmare at nights recently. I ended up hiring Gabrielle from sleeprescue.com and O M G!!!!!! A DIFFERENT BABY HAS ARRIVED!! She has gone from waking ever 10mins ALL NIGHT LONG SERIOUSLY, to sleeping 12 and a half hour nights every night. This lady is a genius. I can not believe the difference! It cast a bomb but was worth every penny!
sounds great! if you don't mind sharing what kind of things did you work on/change to get her to sleep through? i'm getting pretty deperate, maybe i need to pay someone to come out, the clinic nurses are so busy and never seem to come when it's sleep time (plus its the night sleeps that are the problem!)
one good thing that has come out of all this unrest is that we have gone cold turkey on the wrap. we figured that since she was being such a monkey all night anyway, it was harly going to make her any worse- last night was night 2 of no wrap and had we had 3 wake ups between 8 and 7:30 (so no real change). now if we could just get her to go back to sleep without a feed, i'm sure we'd start making headway!
parentingrocks
24-09-2009, 09:01
Ok.. some of her techniques were -
- No dummy
- if heater is on low overnight (we have ours on 19) then put baby to bed in jump suit (I use bonds easy suits) and a sleeping bag, one sheet, one heavy blanket.
- Roll up 2 bunny rugs/wrap/small blanket into a 'coil' sort of.. like fold in thirds lenth ways and roll up like a fat sausage and after tucking baby in jam one between cot bars and the matress (at shoulder height) to jam the blanket in so the baby is tucked in SUPER tight.
- after seeing a tired sign at bed time - feed baby bottle in bedroom/ BF in bedroom (minimal lighting), burp, in sleeping bag, straight to bed tuck in very tight...
- as of 6 months of age no more 'comfort' talking.. like no 'shooshing' or patting, or rocking, or forehead stroking.. just a very stearn strong voice.. so before leaving the room I was told to say (place hand on baby chest so they are aware of your presence) "Good night Charli, go to sleep Charli, time for bed!" immediately leave room, door shut, no night lights, complete darknes..
- listen to crying. wait 3, then 6, then 8, then 10, 10, 10,10 mins before re-entering. BUT before deciding to re-enter - listen to the crying, if its begun to be 'broken'... wait linger... these times frames is the soonest you can go in. Decide before going in if you truely believe your presence will help or hinder - often when you go in you thinnk it will help but ot will just make her want yo uto come back. If you decide she is crying enough to warrent you going in then walk in (leave hall light on so she can see your face) and immediately (as above)hand on chest "good night Charli, go to sleep Charli, time for bed!" Your voice must 'mean business'.. leave room immediately and again listen to the crying.. 2 time you wait 6 mins (as above)
- she said 80% of babies take 40mins. 10% take only 10 mins and the last 10% can take up to 1 1/2 hours. Charli took 30mins the first time (and she was a former dummy user at night) and within 6 days she does not even make a noise, she is immediately asleep.
- If you are starting this routine and your baby is younger than 8 1/2 months old, do a dream feed at 10pm to illeviate any chances of hunger overnight - so basically if they wake at any other time you know it will not be hunger, they need to self settle. baby can obviously be taken out of the bed to BF, and bottle just leave them flat on their back and slip the bottle in their mouth and they will drink while sound asleep. They do not need burping - this will only wake them up.
- If the baby wakes at any other time during the night (6am is the earlist they can start their day) then the self setting guide above is to be follwed (waiting 3:6:8:10:10:10.... til self settles)
I think that is it.
She has guidlines for day time too but my days were fine I only needed help with nights.
The biggest changes that helped us was using the firm voice - I was too comforting to Charli when I went in to calm her down, she would scream when I left the room because she would want me to come back and keep touching her forehead and talking nicely to her. She said its proven in research that babies from 6 months repond better to this 'baby based learning' when spoken to in a stearn voice rather than a comforting calming voice.
Hope that helps - ask any questions if I've missed stuff. This 1 night of following this saved my life. She is seriously a completely different baby.
P.s this routine shoudl be followed (all naps in cot) for at least a week after starting to ensure it continues..
:goodvibes:
sweetseven
24-09-2009, 10:36
Z I'm not concerned, but feel oblliged to due dilligence just in case. (I've had two other children that were tiny, and followed through all the paediatric appointments only to be told that they were just meant to be small.) I'm just not looking forward to all the hassle of most likely unnecessary appointments again.
S I'm glad the settling techniques have worked for you. When you started to outline them, I was reading eagerly, wondering if it might help my little bub. Unfortunately, I'm not a fan of controlled crying, so I don't think I'll give it a go. I will have to try the firm voice however, mines normally begging/pleading in that situation, which probably isnt the best.
(On that note, I was rather ill last night, so took bub to bed at midnight instead of staying up until 1am like ususal; She screamed, very obviously irritated for hours :hissy: even though she was laying right next to me (clawing my arm and hip with her fingers and toes). I even gave her some baby paracetemol in case she was unwell also (I was sufferring from headaches and muscle aches all over). But even the medication didn't help and she continued to yell.
quitecontrary
24-09-2009, 13:10
Solsen thanks for all that info. I think I will have to start making Toby's bed. I know that sounds weird but he is wrapped (and getting out of it sometimes) and we put a rug on top, and I know that its probably wrong. He could do with being tucked right in. We are going to have to switch to grobags soon - so its good to know how to make the bed properly.
He is still a bit crook, as soon as the course of antibiotics are over I'll try closing the 24 hour boobstop cafe. He doesn't have settling issues really, its the overnight feeds that kill me, and his sister waking up so early nearly every single day.
S7 sorry to hear that your little one is so unsettled. I hope you are feeling a bit better too.
sweetseven
24-09-2009, 21:55
As for last night, I don't think it was unsettled, more angry about going to bed early (in her definition).
Tonight, she dozed off in my arms (as per usual) this evening, so I tried putting her in bed (at 9pm, a much more reasonable time for a baby to go to bed). As soon as she realised where she was, she started screaming in protest (as she always does these days if it is before 1am). So I thought I would give that CC method a try, just for one week: 3 mins, 6 mins, 10 mins, 12 mins - and I discover Miss8 had snuck in with her. She had also wet her nappy, so I chased Miss8 back to bed, changed bubs nappy, and gave her a cuddle and a feed, then as she relaxed, I started again: 3 mins, 6 mins, 8 mins, 10 mins - and she was quiet.
However, bub is sobbing in her sleep. I really hope this is just temporary. It is just making me feel so guilty. I just cannot keep staying up until 1am with her every night.
gizmoduckus
25-09-2009, 08:50
Aaaaarrghhh! I think I am getting sick again! I HATE, HATE being sick. :hissy:
I have a girls only afternoon planned for Sunday which I have been looking forward to for weeks and if I'm sick I won't be able to go. :crying:
Sorry about the vent. Just feeling sorry for myself. :(
gonnabeaGR8mum
25-09-2009, 09:05
vent away gizmo! being sick sucks, especially when it means bub then gets sick then DH and then not only are you sick but you're looking after 2 babies, grrrr
fingers crossed you are ok for your girls day,
Well, it has happened again, days have gone past and I haven't posted... this thing of working is messing with my BH life! :D Seriously, I make a conscious effort of no opening BH while at work and then one day goes after the other!
Life is good. Work has been busy, very busy, in fact. And G is just being this amazing little boy that I love more and more every day. I agree with you all when I stop and wonder how did I live my life without him?!?!?! (And I know that I was extremely happy too!!) Also, I have lost all the baby weight and I now fit in a pair of jeans that I did not fit even before getting pregnant! isn't that amazing? I have been exercising at a place with mums and bubs and it has really worked, I feel fit and full of energy :smiliedance:
And, well... sorry no many personals as I am a bit lost... QC how is the new car? it sounds great!! we too might end up buying a new car in the next year or so as our Golf is having a hard time carrying all of G's stuff when we go away. Thanks Solsen for passing that knowledge onto us, I might start trying that to get G to sleep that extra hour... he normally wakes up at 5:30h and that is killing me because by the time I feed him, I don't go back to sleep... GD vent away!! I thought that is one of the main reasons of getting into BH! ;) GBG8M, I hope that Miss E behaves a bit better and gives you a rest, do what they told you, get out of the house and have a few minutes to yourself... even better if you can get some help and you then get a couple of hours to yourself... S7 I also hope that your little one starts to go to sleep at a baby-hour!, good luck with the move to PB, KateJo I am happy to see that things are great with ZoJo! and Zeph, I hope you are feeling better and enjoying your relaxing day.... ah! A's, sorry to hear about the house, I hope you have better luck next time!
Well, have a good day!! :goodvibes:
parentingrocks
28-09-2009, 08:45
where is everyone??????????:wave:
gonnabeaGR8mum
28-09-2009, 09:00
no idea, its like a ghost town- oooooohh
Yep! It seems that i killed the conversation...
firsttimepreg
28-09-2009, 17:06
Hi yummy mummies!
It is quiet here! Well I've been back from my holiday from brissie for a week now, but just havent gotten around to posting. Hope everyone is going alright.
Holiday was wonderful, charli loved all the outside time in the beautiful weather, she hasnt seen much of it here.
I've been trying the BLW thing a bit here, charli seems to prefer it. But I dont think she is actually swallowing much of the food, so how do you make sure they're getting enough? I've also been spoon feeding her so I know there is something going in her belly.
Adora - great news on fitting into your pre-preg jeans!! That must make you feel awesome!!
Solsen - thanks heaps for the info from your sleep session. There's heaps in there that i want to try. Charli still wakes at 10, 1 and 4 )it varies some nights).
Well I better get started on dinner.
Bye for now!
Solsen Its great to hear that the sleep rescue people work. Congrats!
QC Is T feeling better?
Gizmo I hope you are feeling better and you were able to go to your girls afternoon.
Adora Congrats on fitting into the pre-preg jeans. I've been going to the gym for months and I feel like I'm getting no where.
FTP We've been doing the BLW thing lately too and Miss K LOVES it. Don't worry about your LO and how much she actually gets in her mouth. She'll let you know if she is hungry. Plus she will still be getting nutrients from BM or formula.
AFU Things are going swimmingly. DH is going great guns with Miss K while I am at school. Although I'm glad it is holidays at the end of the week. I'm exhuasted!
My brain has gone blank. I'm feeling really annoyed with a public/private school thread in the general tips section. I can't help it!
parentingrocks
29-09-2009, 07:47
Zeph - I found that thread and read your comments. I completely agree with everything you said. It sounded like it was getting very heated in there.
Hope you get some rest as you deserve so you are less exhausted.
Ardora - I am the same with Charli. Loving her more everyday. I think to mysekf 'how would I have lived life without her' but I know the answer... still sitting at the desk working in the mindless job I was in getting nowhere.
AFU - Charli is just being a little angel at the moment. Our new sleep routine has changed my life and she is the best little sleeper ever. She is pulling herself up on all the furniture and walking around the coffee table (holding on with one hand) and stepping across from holding one piece of furniture to another. I am so proud! I think it will only be a matter of weeks before she is walking, she is so confident on her feet.
She is slightly off her solids at the moment, just eating less than usual, but I continue to offer it to her and hopefully its just a phase.
We are off to mothers group today. We will probably walk and soak up the tiny bit of dun that melbourne offers us.
I watched the australian story on ABC last night about the bushfires. It was horrible. I will never forget black saturday. I feel like I didn't aknowledge it enough because I was due to have Charli only days after and all the headlines I missed because I was in hospital gazing at my new bubba. Life is so short - no more lounging on the couch for us.. I want to get out and have more fun with this baby.
hope you all have a good day. :flowerz:
Purplebird
29-09-2009, 19:24
Hi everyone, I have had a quick read but I can't catch up right now. Big hugs to all those who need them.
We are all moved in now and have just got back on the internet. I will pop back in soon and say hi properly.
parentingrocks
01-10-2009, 06:23
I have started a new thread for october xxx :)