View Full Version : Young Brissie parents and parents to be!
archiesmum
04-07-2006, 10:43
I am a first time mum (20), with a nearly 6mth old DS. I'm from London and have been in Brisbane for a year and a half and am really desperate to make some friends around my age with bubs or pregnant with bubs etc! I have joined mothers groups and all the ladies are lovely but there never seem to be parents around my age so have decided to try and get some people together as I'm sure I can't be the only one! I live in Jindalee on the west side but have a car and dont mind travelling but if anyone is keen maybe we can agree on somewhere easy for everyone? Archie and I are around wednesdays, thursdays and weekends and are fed up with sitting at home! :yes:
Who's keen? :smiliedance:
Hope to hear from some of you soon...I know you're out there!
archiesmum
04-07-2006, 10:50
hey ATD-FAH - i saw your other post...how are things going? hope things are getting better for you - just give us a shout if you need any help or someone to just vent at! :yes:
anyways lets do something! what area are you in?
ForeverMine
04-07-2006, 10:51
I'll second that...
I'm keen as well. :D
hay:wave:
Count me in too! i live on the northside but willing to drive
:yes: Id be keen, Im on the inner North side I don't have a car but Im pretty good at making my way around on public transport.
im moving to the north side next week but am keen to meet young mums aswell! I dont mind driving much... although would prefer to not have to drive to the other side of bris... LOL... I hate driving!
my new house has a MASSIVE back yard... maybe one day we could have a play group/mothers meet there?:)
youngbrismum
04-07-2006, 15:51
Hello young mummies, :wave:
I live in Forest Lake so that isn't far from Jindalee. I have just finished my uni degree (finally!!) so I have heaps of spare time on my hands.
My bub is a bit of a big bub now (19 months) so if there are other young mums with toddlers out this way that would be great.
Hope to meet up soon.
archiesmum
06-07-2006, 16:03
Hi guys...so if we're all keen lets do something! I'll start with the days i'm free and hopefully we can find a day thats good for everyone. As i said before i don't mind driving as its seems most people are nearer the northside?
Wednesdays, Thursdays and weekends are best for me as I work in the city the other days.
Anyways hope to catch up with some of you soon :ecomcity: ...
youngbrismum
07-07-2006, 15:21
I am free almost everyday except every second Monday (free this Monday).
I am happy to travel although prefer not to have to go to far with the price of petrol at the moment. Train is easy for me though.
I will keep checking back to see when others are free.
i'm keen! i'm 23, turning 24, that's still young right? heh. i'm on the northside.
though i don't have a car at the moment, happy to do the public transport thing though.
I'm Keen. I'm 20 with a 20 month old from the inner south side. I'm free ever day except thursdays and sundays.
babyjode
10-07-2006, 09:54
Hey.. everyone!
Sorry to butt in here, but just before I came on the net I rung up playgroup as. I am going to start-up a backyard playgroup. Im going to do it at my father in Burpengary. His house is about 5houses away from Burpengary train station. So there is public transport. I was thinking about having it every 2nd and 4th Thursday a month, and for everyone to bring a small plate of food, for morning tea or something. I was going to make my own thread but I thought i would post a reply here, hope you dont mind. I know its a while away from jindalee. But if anyone is interested can they send me a email to dimond_j@hotmail.com, and just let me know your interested and let me know what day of the week, and time(going by every 2nd and 4th wk of the month) best suits you.
Jody-Anne, oh yeah btw Im 18 with a 15mnth old DS.
dimond_j@hotmail.com
archiesmum
10-07-2006, 11:03
hi all,
so it looks as if wednesday would be best...correct me if i'm wrong!? so how would we all be for this wednesday coming (12th)? if thats good for everyone we just need to decide on a place. i'm happy to have people over to my house but i think its a bit far for some of you without transport so you'll have to help me here cos I'm still learning my way around Brisbane and don't know where is central for everyone. Maybe a park or coffee shop...
babyjode...playgroup sounds great athough i have no idea where burpengary is...maybe we should all meet up first?
archiesmum
10-07-2006, 11:05
oh and Tee...of course 24 is still young! silly question! :p
Hi guys, I live in the outer north (morayfield, caboolture) I'd love to meet up but mondays and wednesdays are out because I study :thumbsdown:
You mentioned trying to find somewhere central, maybe chermside shopping centre (I suppose everyone knows where that is :confused: ) Just a suggestion tho.
happier-than-eva!!
11-07-2006, 16:53
I know what you mean about mothers groups, I've been to afew now and they are all so much older than me. I would love to meet up, I live at Logan, on the southside but have transport and am available pretty much any day with enough notice. I'm 20 with a nearly 6month old gorgeous girl Chloe. I also have a few friends with baby too, who I'm sure would love to come aswell. :yelclap: I'm all excited just thinking about it!!!
youngbrismum
12-07-2006, 11:11
I only just noticed this this morning and it is wednesday but I am keen. There is a BubHub playgroup (mostly young mums) that meets up at Roma St every second Wednesday although it can be a bit far so one on the southside too would be great. Maybe every Wednesday that the Roma St one isn't on.
I am going to put up a new thread for a southside playgroup and see what sort of interest we get. I am happy to have the first one at my place in Forest Lake.
ForeverMine
12-07-2006, 11:29
Hey Guys...
I hadnt fortgot about this thread... just been super busy.
I'm free everyday as I have just finished studing. Wednesday are usually the best for me as it's pay day and I've actually got money :D
I had a car accident last week so I'm back to public transport for the meanwhile.
What's exactly central for people???
I'm fine with travelling.
archiesmum
12-07-2006, 11:38
hey everyone...it seems like wednesdays are good for most but maybe we'll have to alternate days if some people cant make it (thats if we want to carry on meeting up of course!) whats everyones thoughts? someone suggested chermside shopping centre, i'm not sure where that is :confused: but if its good for everyone let me know otherwise make some other suggestions! :idea:
hopefully we'll get together soon as its my day off again and i'm sitting at home :(
Chermside shopping centre is on the northside so it's not exactly ideal for those of us who live on the southside.
How about somewhere fairly central like southbank?
youngbrismum
13-07-2006, 09:02
If anyone wants to go to a central playgroup there is one at Roma St every second Wednesday that I go to. It is mostly young mums although I believe it is open to all.
PM me if you want the details.
archiesmum
17-07-2006, 13:49
hi everyone...:wave:
ok so i'm trying again for THIS wednesday the 19th at 11am. as there haven't really been any suggestions for a place i'm going to suggest indooroopilly and see what the response is. let me know who's keen and a better place and time if necessary! hope you all can make it :fingerscrossed:
aprilinaugustsmummy
30-07-2006, 14:45
Im Amanda 23 with April nearly 2, I just moved to carina from albion, I dont have a car but am a public transport queen!! lol love to meet new people and April is baby crazy... would be nice to stare at a different set of walls HAHAH
Im free all days :)
Mummy2Amelia
30-07-2006, 21:56
I'm Tamara, 18 y/o SAHM to my beautiful baby girl Amelia. She will be 9 mths in a week. We live in Edens Landing, which is about 5 mins from Beenleigh on the southside. Does anyone live around here?
I am always up at the hyperdome or garden city so if you want to meet up or just have a chat pm me and i'll give you my email address.