View Full Version : Faint +

jaimie
04-07-2006, 07:41
Im sure you are all sick of hearing from me but i have another question!
I did a few tests with the crystal clear+\- test and got faint +. Then yesterday and this morning (with FMU) i used these dip in the cup cheapy ones and they are very faint +...so now im freaking because i was expecting to see a darker line this morning. Admittedly i went back to bed and checked it an hour and a half later..
Am waiting to call dr to go for a blood test today but in the meantime im just really worried. Also im not due for AF till tomorrow so i am testing early. And yesterday arvo and night i was a bit queasy. like what i had with Jazz. Although my real afternoon sickness didnt kick in till week 5 with Jazz.
Sorry for the long post..if anyone else had faint + i would LOVE to hear what happened.
jaimie.

Mummy2my5
04-07-2006, 08:00
It could just have been that they were different tests jazzysmum and the cheapy ones are less sensitive. I have heard that the cheap ones don't really get dark untill after af is due.....good luck..:fingerscrossed:

Jenko
04-07-2006, 08:17
I used a cheapy brand and got a BFN. The next day i did another test with a more expensive brand (can't remember what it was - maybe fortel) and got a feint BFP, this was at night, so i did another test the next morning with FMU expecting it to be darker but it was still feint. The next day i used crystal clear (mid-stream test) and it came up straight away still not as dark as the control line. Finally i waited 2 or 3 days did another crystal clear and it was a definate dark BFP!

They are somewhat addictive those tests aren't they:laughing: . It may very well be because it was cheapy brand, especially since your testing before AF is due. Alot of people don't even get a BFP till after AF is due so yours being feint does make sense. Even though some of the cheap brands say you can test early, i'm not too convinced by them.

I guess the blood test is the best way to go, but if you do get some more HPT steer clear of the cheapies!! Good Luck! :)

~Emmylou~
04-07-2006, 08:37
If you're testing early it's perfectly normal to get faint positives - can mean that you just ovulated late (therefore not very far past implantation), or could be the test.
With this pregnancy I got my first faint positive (and it was FAINT ;) ) at 11dpo and I did not get a really dark line until a day or two after AF was due at about 16dpo.
I chart so I know that in that cycle I didn't ovulate until CD18 so it took a bit longer to get a darker line.
Congratulations btw!! :)

BlessedWithBlue
04-07-2006, 09:07
Yep i had faint lines still 3 days after af was due to arrive, i did another a few days after that and it was a nice dark line! I used First Response Tests and the dark one that came up was a Pregnow Test from ebay.

jaimie
04-07-2006, 09:21
Thank you ladies so much! Im resting a bit easier now..Am off to the doctor at 11:30. Not sure when i will get the results of blood test back tho..
I will kepp you all posted!!:D :fingerscrossed:

Mummy2my5
04-07-2006, 10:03
Good luck jazzysmum............:thumbsup: :fingerscrossed:

jaimie
04-07-2006, 10:09
Thanks sweetpea!
I have been torturing myself by reading old threads about false + and all that kind of thing!:no: Not the best thing to be doing..but jazz is asleep and i cant stop thinking about it!
I guess i should take advice from the old threads when people say "a line is a line!".......

Mummy2my5
04-07-2006, 10:19
Yep thats the worst part jazzysmum.........:yes: Ask your doc to rush the tests so you aren't waiting forever for the results.:thumbsup:

whitsundaysmumma
04-07-2006, 11:07
:fingerscrossed: Jazzy'smum, all the best with the bloods!!

chicken
04-07-2006, 13:43
Hi Jazzysmum - how did you go at the doctors?

You're going to think I'm a real downer after my reply to your brown discharge post and now this, but...

I've only had two experiences with BFPs, but one of those was a chemical pregnancy and basically it evolved something like this.... tested about 9dpo with FMU and got a very, very faint + with a cheap brand. Next morning, got another faint + with an expensive brand. Waited a couple of days expecting to see a darker line on 12dpo but it wasn't - in fact I think it was more faint. Next day I did two more and they were both neg. Then I got my AF as expected.

A line definitely is a line, but it doesn't mean it will stick. After my experience, I can see now why so many women on this forum choose to remain ignorant and not test until AF is late. But its sooooooooooo hard to resist.:banghead:

I guess my only advice would be to keep testing and see if the line gets darker. Its true that many women don't get a line until well after AF is due, but seeing that you've already seen a faint line, yours should be getting darker as time progresses. Even though your AF is due tomorrow, a chemical pregnancy can sometimes mean AF arrives a few days late. But I'm guessing you should have your blood test results by then anyway, so at least you'll know either way.

I've got :fingerscrossed: that you hold on to it - I know what an awful feeling it is. Ten times worse than just the normal BFN disappointment. :gloomy:

Cupcake
04-07-2006, 13:53
:fingerscrossed: All went well
I have had a little giggle with all your testing, reminded me of when I was testing I swear I spent about $100 on the dam things, but also wanted to say when you get a + it does not really matter that it is faint it should still mean Positive, I did not get a positive out of the 700(:laughing: ) test I did until the day my period was due!!
Good Luck :hugs:

HelloKitty
05-07-2006, 13:45
:fingerscrossed: Goodluck, a line is a line. But i got a blood test after my faint BFP and it was negative :laughing: the hormone was too low to detect. But the next day i finally got my confirmation... I know how you feel, but go with your instincts, i reckon your a BFP :smiliedance: Congratts if you are!

chicken
06-07-2006, 10:23
jazzysmum - any update?

jaimie
06-07-2006, 10:33
Chicken!! It came back positive!!! Im going back on monday to see the doc but i was actually surprised that it was + because it was the day befpre AF was due...So im very happy..wont really relax till the week 12 mark tho!

chicken
06-07-2006, 10:38
Congratulations - that really is wonderful news!!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

angelickaren
06-07-2006, 10:42
congrats jazzysmum i hope all goes well for you :fingerscrossed:
i have been following your posts and i so happy for you i had the same sort of things too neg blood tests but i knew i was pregnant , us women know these things and people just look at you as to say yeah right but we know:yes: with my first bubs my bloods didnt show up till 9 weeks i went made at my drs saying no you arent preg you must have missed a cycle but i knew and let me tell you when i finally got the

+ive result the dr was so sorry i also stopped seeing that dr and found another
and with my 2nd as well same sort of thing but this dr was more +ive and belived me and 2nd did show up on bloods till 10 weeks but i was +ive on urine tests both time though but faint so go figure once again congrats:smiliedance:

jaimie
06-07-2006, 10:43
Thanks Chicken!:hugs: :fingerscrossed: You get a BFP soon.When are you testing?

chicken
06-07-2006, 10:54
Still got the full TWW in front of me. Today is O day!!!! But we've been BDing the past five days in a row, so there's not much else we could have done. I really hope it works!!

jaimie
06-07-2006, 10:56
I have everything crossed for you Chicken!!!