View Full Version : Adventure buggy VS Phil & Teds

Boobycino
24-08-2009, 22:49
They're manufactured by the same people, they're do very similar things (in that they offer a single 3-wheel-pram that can be easily converted to accommodate a 2nd child)

The adventure buggy has the toddler up on top of the pram http://www.gobubbago.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=34&products_id=72&zenid=42aef47cda4c60bf1f80abbd9da2781b

whereas the phil&teds is underneath (I probably dont need to put in a link, I'm sure we've all seen what I'm talking about)

I want to know others thoughts on this. I've had a massive pram crush on an adventure buggy for months and I've been searching ebay on practically a daily basis for one for months. I do occasional google searches, gumtree and trading post searches but the problem is nobody sells them in sydney, you have to order them delievered, so not many people have owned them in sydney to be selling them 2nd hand.

I'm pretty well fed up with searching for a 2nd hand one.

Price wise the comparison to a phil & ted sport is considerable.

An adventure buggy with the double kit and all accessories is around $1,200 whereas a phil ^ ted sport with a double kit and accessories is around $750 - though they much much much more readily available on ebay, so I could find one for much less than that (maybe $400 in reasonable condition)

We dont have money to burn, but I dont have a car, I dont drive (i cant drive) I spend so much time with my pram to have a pram thats just not suitable for my needs is driving me totally nuts. My double pram which I have for baby sitting jobs is so flimsy that bubba has already managed to kick a hole in the fabric and its only been used around 10 times.

We're planning on having a whole litter of children, so I'd love to get one pram thats going to see us through the next 10 years, because I've already gone through 3 prams in 9 months!!!!

What should I do? Save up and buy a whopping $1,200 pram in about 5 months or buy the phil & teds on ebay for a 3rd of the price?! And be able to have it sooner rather than later (because my maclaren stroller is certainly not the all-terrain vechile I require)

I'm just have a massive crush on the adventure buggy idea, I LOVE the idea that bubba will be able to be at my eye level when we're walking or shopping, I think that'll be marvelous for language developement - and also for when I'm baby sitting I'll be able to have special one-on-one time with bubba. As well as when we have another baby.

Also, just found out you can also attach a 2nd toddler seat to the front, so on the off chance we have twins next time or we have three close together, its possible to convert it to a triple pram or a double pram as our needs change.

But its so freakin expensive!!!!

(I'm obviously conflicted!)

Cheerio
25-08-2009, 00:35
With the adventure buggy does the toddler seat up top take the newborn or does it take the toddler ony? Sorry dumb question probably but if it only takes the toddler it would be a problem for me as I know mine wouldn't face backwards, she would be over it before I knew it. Can it face forwards?

Sorry I don't know much about the adventure buggy. I do have a P&T sports though and I gotta say I am not really a fan.

JLeesmum
25-08-2009, 08:51
i saw on ebay (cant remember what there called) its a 3 wheele rjogging pram/bike trailer.. has 2 bucket seats side by side for 6mth-5yrs i think, has toy pockets and is weather proof.. $150!! i am SO getting one.. look up 'double bike trailer"

Seacretsquirrel
25-08-2009, 08:58
I was looking at the adventure buggy when I was pregnant with DS (he was a twin) and you can get a toddler seat (upright only for bigger kids) and a reclining baby seat which can be used for NB right up to toddler!

plus you can actually put 2 seats on the top of the single pram too so it can become a tripple with the 2 bubs up at eye level!
I sooooo wanted one but I couldn't justify the expense when the P&T we have is fine for the 2 kids!

smog
25-08-2009, 10:48
one of the girls from my due in group has since had another bub and she bought the abc buggy that i think u mean. she got it from the baby expo in sydney not sure of price but i think it may have been cheaper than freighting from melbourne.
i wanted it too until i realised i am too short for it as its quite tall. ive only looked at that friends pram very briefly once and she said it was good although a little bulky to put in car and she could see over it fine but is taller than me.
id be tossing up between the same 2 prams as you though

gizmoduckus
25-08-2009, 10:59
I don't know much about the ABC buggy but how do you put a raincover/sunshade on for both the baby and the toddler? That was one thing I was looking at when I wanted a new pram.

Boobycino
25-08-2009, 11:13
I don't know much about the ABC buggy but how do you put a raincover/sunshade on for both the baby and the toddler? That was one thing I was looking at when I wanted a new pram.

With the reclining toddler seat, which is the one I want, which is suitable for NB to 4 years, it has its own rain cover and sun shade seperate to the main seat.

DP pointed out the deal breaker for the phil&ted - I need a pram that can go down stairs and with the toddler seat underneath I cant imagine being able to bump it down the stairs without them getting quite bashed around. (anyone with a phil&ted know about taking it down stairs?)

*sigh* I suppose I just have to wait. Its not like its a totally desperate need, I have my maclaren and my double stroller which do the job, I've just already waited about 3 months to find one on ebay and they're so expensive it'll take ages to save for one :(

I do actually have money in the bank for it, but DP thinks I should put that on the credit card first... :( I dont wanna, I want to buy a new pram... :D:yes:

I like instant gratification. I hate waiting.

Boobycino
25-08-2009, 11:19
I was looking at the adventure buggy when I was pregnant with DS (he was a twin) and you can get a toddler seat (upright only for bigger kids) and a reclining baby seat which can be used for NB right up to toddler!

plus you can actually put 2 seats on the top of the single pram too so it can become a tripple with the 2 bubs up at eye level!
I sooooo wanted one but I couldn't justify the expense when the P&T we have is fine for the 2 kids!

:eek: I hadn't seen that! Thats amazing!

Seacretsquirrel
25-08-2009, 12:41
The double can have two seats up the top too so you can have quad with the one pram no worries!!! it really is an amazing pram!

Boobycino
25-08-2009, 13:07
The double can have two seats up the top too so you can have quad with the one pram no worries!!! it really is an amazing pram!

That was the first one I'd seen. I dad with 4 boys, two pairs of twins, 2 were about 18 months and the other 2 looks about 3ish.

Fun times in their home I imagine!!!

Then I saw the single with the toddler seat and I went into babies galore and asked about it and they'd never seen one.

I had to resist temptation to run up to a random lady who had the reclining toddler seat and a single pram to ask her if she liked her pram, but I thought that'd be too random.

Its such a shame they dont sell them in a shop anywhere in NSW!!!! Though, they have very good youtube videos to demonstrate the prams thoroughly.

I guess I'm waiting for my perfect pram.

Boobycino
25-08-2009, 19:43
Does anyone know if you can wheel a phil&ted down stairs? I cant imagine you can, but I'm interested.

kotakai
25-08-2009, 19:48
I have the ABC adventure buggy & loooooove it!!!!!!

I hate the phil & teds, so def didn't want one of those & love the fact that both seats fully recline & sit up, so I can put either of my boys in whichever seat I choose.

I also love that each seat comes with it's own rain & sun shade (which are included in the price) & it has a huge basket, which is easily accessable.

It's so simple to just pull the top seat off & then fold up.

I'm the person supermumof3 was talking about. I'd seen this pram online, but didn't want to order it sight unseen, so I was so excited to see them at the sydney baby expo. I ordered it through them in melbourne & it gets shipped directly from new zealand.

I'm happy to answer any questions you have about it. Where about's in sydney are you?

alexsmom
25-08-2009, 21:15
HI there- I have the Phil and Teds vibe and I really like it (my first pram was a beema q which I didnt really like) and to answer your question- yes you can bump it down the stairs with the seat attached at the bottom. I do get my toddler to get off an walk tho- its tooooo heavy with the 2 :laughing:

the only issue I had with the pram was when dd was between 3ish- 5 months. When she was a newborn, she'd lay flat and the toddler seat would attach to the top of the pram, so shed be basicaly staring at the back of her brothers seat. Which was fine when she was so little, shed always sleep in the pram. When she got older (and before she could sit up in the pram) she HATED laying and staring at the seat! I had to use the bjorn for a month or so- she wouldnt go in. Its fine now tho- she can sit in either seat and loves it now :)

edited to add- oh and I really love the brake on the handle bar on the vibe! You dont have to get your foot underneath to put it on. It so much more convienent there :)

lanigirl09
25-08-2009, 21:43

I'm glad someone else feels the same way as I do about buying a new pram and spending heaps. I've been wanting one of these for ages and have been through quite a few prams.

My main issue is to get a pram that my toddler and baby can both sleep in but not a side by side because my boy just keeps trying to touch the baby and it drives me up the wall! :hair:

So this is the perfect pram for me apart from the MB triple and leave the middle seat empty!

I want the AB with the reclining seat but after talking to the lady at go bubba (Australian stockists) I want the static seat as well (easier to see over so good for shopping) and the baby mattress that goes with the pram.
But at a grand total of 1450, my hubby would have a heart attack!!

I've been on ebay alot trying to get a excellent 2nd hand pram with a static seat around melbourne then I'll go and buy the reclining seat as well.

What colour are you looking at getting Rachel?
Id like black but the med blue is nice too.
Kotakai which colour have you got?

As far as comparing P &T and AB, AB is hand made in NZ and PT mass produced in china.
You'll read heaps of negative comments about PT but mainly only good reviews about AB.
The only problem with adventure buggies is fading and stability with the toddler seat thats why they brought out the stability kit.

Anyway I hope I get mine soon, I would recommend talking to the lady at go bubba go (1800gobubba)
Also as you would already know there is a lady in sydney selling hers on gumtree!

Boobycino
26-08-2009, 08:48

I'm glad someone else feels the same way as I do about buying a new pram and spending heaps. I've been wanting one of these for ages and have been through quite a few prams.

My main issue is to get a pram that my toddler and baby can both sleep in but not a side by side because my boy just keeps trying to touch the baby and it drives me up the wall! :hair:

So this is the perfect pram for me apart from the MB triple and leave the middle seat empty!

I want the AB with the reclining seat but after talking to the lady at go bubba (Australian stockists) I want the static seat as well (easier to see over so good for shopping) and the baby mattress that goes with the pram.
But at a grand total of 1450, my hubby would have a heart attack!!

I've been on ebay alot trying to get a excellent 2nd hand pram with a static seat around melbourne then I'll go and buy the reclining seat as well.

What colour are you looking at getting Rachel?
Id like black but the med blue is nice too.

As far as comparing P &T and AB, AB is hand made in NZ and PT mass produced in china.
You'll read heaps of negative comments about PT but mainly only good reviews about AB.
The only problem with adventure buggies is fading and stability with the toddler seat thats why they brought out the stability kit.

Anyway I hope I get mine soon, I would recommend talking to the lady at go bubba go (1800gobubba)
Also as you would already know there is a lady in sydney selling hers on gumtree!

I want the light blue or purple one. I love the idea of a completely unique looking pram (if its not unique enough with the reclining toddler seat, they're already very impressive looking prams)

I'd noticed the one on gumtree, its been there for a while, I imagine its sold by now. I would prefer the reclining toddler seat - and if I'm going to buy a 2nd hand pram for $400 and then the reclinding toddler seat new for $400 I may as well get the whole lot new and get all the accessories offered through gobubbago brand new.

My DP doesn't understand how I could possibly want another pram when I've already had 3. Though I've obssessed over this pram for long enough that even if he doesn't understand why its important to me, he knows that it is. And I'm normally a very thrift person, so for me to want something thats expensive is unusual so he's slowly realising this is important to me.

Before we had bubba we were in a completely different financial position and DP insisted on buying me a Stokke with all its accessories (which was around $1800:eek:) and I think I ended up storming out babies galore in a pregnant huff because I couldn't make him understand I'd be embarressed walking around with such an extravegent and snobby status symbol of a pram - but he just wanted it because it was the most expensive, most impressive pram on offer - even though at the time we could have just paid cash for it, I would have still been embarressed to have it.

So DP is somewhat understanding if I want an expensive pram is must be good - but overall he doesn't understand it because i already have 3 prams :rolleyes:

I am frustrated with waiting though, now that I've decided to buy it, I just want it now!

(and I agree with alexsmom - i do like the hand brake on the vibe)

Boobycino
26-08-2009, 09:57
I have the ABC adventure buggy & loooooove it!!!!!!

I hate the phil & teds, so def didn't want one of those & love the fact that both seats fully recline & sit up, so I can put either of my boys in whichever seat I choose.

I also love that each seat comes with it's own rain & sun shade (which are included in the price) & it has a huge basket, which is easily accessable.

It's so simple to just pull the top seat off & then fold up.

I'm the person supermumof3 was talking about. I'd seen this pram online, but didn't want to order it sight unseen, so I was so excited to see them at the sydney baby expo. I ordered it through them in melbourne & it gets shipped directly from new zealand.

I'm happy to answer any questions you have about it. Where about's in sydney are you?

I'm right next to North Sydney.

I suppose I do have a question. Do you ever regret spending so much money? Do you think another pram 'would do', that even though its a wonderful pram, maybe the money could have been put to better use?

Thats just my worry that I'll get it home and it wont live up to my expectations.

kotakai
26-08-2009, 13:08

I've got the blue.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/pram-1-1.jpg

I'm right next to North Sydney.

I suppose I do have a question. Do you ever regret spending so much money? Do you think another pram 'would do', that even though its a wonderful pram, maybe the money could have been put to better use?

Thats just my worry that I'll get it home and it wont live up to my expectations.

I spent most of my pregnancy searching for the 'perfect' double pram. I'd had other doubles when my older 2 were younger & hated them, so since my boys were only 12 months apart & would be in the pram everyday with all the things we do, it was very important to find one I was happy with.

DP doesn't like to spend money on things that aren't neccessary, so I wasn't even sure if he'd go for it, no matter how much I begged :laughing: He liked the look of it online, but it wasn't till we test drove it at the expo (after test driving a million others) that he was as excited as I was about it.

We used the baby bonus money for it & no I don't regret it. I love it & it does everything I wanted it to. Yes, it would be great if it was cheaper, but unfortunately it's not. It was a bit scary spending so much money on a pram, but I'm so glad we went with it, as I think I'd be so disappointed if we got something else & would hate having to use it each day.

Boobycino
26-08-2009, 13:24
I've got the blue.

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/pram-1-1.jpg

I spent most of my pregnancy searching for the 'perfect' double pram. I'd had other doubles when my older 2 were younger & hated them, so since my boys were only 12 months apart & would be in the pram everyday with all the things we do, it was very important to find one I was happy with.

DP doesn't like to spend money on things that aren't neccessary, so I wasn't even sure if he'd go for it, no matter how much I begged :laughing: He liked the look of it online, but it wasn't till we test drove it at the expo (after test driving a million others) that he was as excited as I was about it.

We used the baby bonus money for it & no I don't regret it. I love it & it does everything I wanted it to. Yes, it would be great if it was cheaper, but unfortunately it's not. It was a bit scary spending so much money on a pram, but I'm so glad we went with it, as I think I'd be so disappointed if we got something else & would hate having to use it each day.

Thats beautiful colour! Thats definately the one I want.

Yep, okay, sold - seeing your two bubbas in it, seeing you son up the top when he looks so much like my boy to be honest, I can imagine bubba would love being up high.

I talked to DP about it today, he said when the credit card is down to $2,000 we can buy the pram. Because it wouldnt feel right to spend so much money when we currently have a fair bit of credit card debt.

So probably another 3 months or so and we can get it....

I still hate waiting :(

lanigirl09
26-08-2009, 14:16
Your pram looks great! thanks for posting a pic

Can I ask some questions,
first about the reclining seat, do you ever get embarrassed about the attention you get with it?
I live in a country town in SA (pop 5000) and I really don't want to draw alot of attention to myself!

Can you go shopping with it and still see over ok? I'm about 164cm so bit on the short side!

Would I really need a static seat as well?

Did you use the baby mattress? (I've got a 11 week old)

Does it steer ok with the stability kit on?
I'm using a Em with a toddler seat on the front atm and you can imagine how heavy it is to steer!

Funny you mention about the Stokke Rachel, (one was for sale on ebay the other day) because the whole concept with those prams is the closer interaction you get with your baby having the baby higher up and thats the good thing about the AB you can have the baby right there with you!
Don't know if I really want my toddler up there he'll probably try to annoy me! lol

Also tell your hubby a pram to a chick is like a car to a guy! and they are bit of a status symbol, you can tell if someone is doing well by the pram they push and I'm sure other mums check out what you are pushing.

One of the girls in my play group who has two babes the same age as mine went out and bought a brand new vibe, mmm very nice!

That was the motivation and justification I needed to decide on going ahead with buying one (credit cards been approved, have to wait to get it then order it and wait again for 2 to 3 weeks!!) but still bit worried :fingerscrossed:

Boobycino
26-08-2009, 14:30
I know with the Stokke, I did rip myself of a tiny bit!

I didn't know when I was pregnant that that would be important to me. When we went and bought our maclaren the first question the shop assistant asked was if I wanted to be able to see the baby while pushing the pram - I couldn't see why that would be important to me.

I do wish I'd let him buy it for me now that I've had bubba. :rolleyes:

lulu 2
26-08-2009, 15:01
it sux you guys don't have the quokka classifieds over in the eastern states ,I am looking at 6 ads right now for adventure buggys ,one like kotakais with the 4 wheel stabilty kit incl is $850 s/hand and thats before bargaining (its been in the paper for 2-3 weeks now) and the rest of the ads range from $100 -$499 for singles with toddler seats I got my double ab with toddler seat for $200 and its only 3 yrs old so still the new model. I was gonna go to the baby expo to check out the accessories but got sick just my luck but if any shops around you still stock mountain buggys then I would say that is very similar in size to try. The diff between the phil n teds and the AB for me is looks and wheels (the phil n teds has solid wheels) and storage I like both but know an Ab suits me better.
Yes you do get looks with the double ,not as much with the single well over here in wa anyway as loads of ppl have mountain buggys and abs which look basicly the same but I am used to that I have a tag a long too and still get asked all the time about it. I am 165cms I think and I have had no trouble seeing over the pram its not especially tall and is very easy to steer even with kids who are diff weight. And it doesn't take up much room in the car either ,the double fits in the rear of my 4wd without folding it down altho the toddler seat has to be removed first so i have neva had to lift it into the car.
Anyways hope you find one cheap chel it sure beats paying the new price,have u checked out the one for $29 on ebay dunno how old it is but even if you have to buy the toddler seat seperate and there is a few for sale on there atm it would still be cheap. http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ABC-Adventure-Buggy-Jogger-Stroller-Navy-accessories_W0QQitemZ200376676274QQcmdZViewItemQQp tZAU_Prams_Strollers?hash=item2ea7616fb2&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

FiveInTheBed
26-08-2009, 15:10
I give the ABC :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

If I wasn't still using mine I'd sell it to ya!!

Easy to handle, higher weight limit than most other double prams, easy to steer, great big storage bag underneath, I imagine it will be easy to sell when you are finished with it.

I got the double pram with toddler seat (up top), baby mattressx2, shade cover, rain cover, top shade cover and rain cover from NZ. They sent to a small country town - sending to a major city shouldn't be an issue.

kotakai
26-08-2009, 15:31
Your pram looks great! thanks for posting a pic

Can I ask some questions,
first about the reclining seat, do you ever get embarrassed about the attention you get with it?
I live in a country town in SA (pop 5000) and I really don't want to draw alot of attention to myself!

Can you go shopping with it and still see over ok? I'm about 164cm so bit on the short side!

Would I really need a static seat as well?

Did you use the baby mattress? (I've got a 11 week old)

Does it steer ok with the stability kit on?
I'm using a Em with a toddler seat on the front atm and you can imagine how heavy it is to steer!

You do get used to the stares :laughing: I found it a bit weird at first as I'm a very shy person & hate people looking at me, but don't mind now. It's funny, you see people trying to look without you noticing as you walk towards them, & then as you pass them, they turn & have a look & hope you don't see them :D I get so many kids saying, did you see that awesome pram! & similar things.

I'm about 170cms & have no problems. You get used to looking ahead, as you obviously can't see the ground directly in front of you.

I don't plan on getting a static seat. Both seats can sit totally upright, so they'll be fine.

No, I didn't use the baby mattress. I just use that orange insert that you can see in the photo. In that photo, my baby was around a month old, he was 7 weeks early, so technically still not due, & he was fine. He's 3 months now, so about the same as yours.

I find the steering great. Easy to do 1 handed if you have to. The great thing with the seat being over the back, is they're so much more stable than the ones with the seat at the front, as the back is the widest, most stable part, IYKWIM.

Boobycino
26-08-2009, 18:17
it sux you guys don't have the quokka classifieds over in the eastern states ,I am looking at 6 ads right now for adventure buggys ,one like kotakais with the 4 wheel stabilty kit incl is $850 s/hand and thats before bargaining (its been in the paper for 2-3 weeks now) and the rest of the ads range from $100 -$499 for singles with toddler seats I got my double ab with toddler seat for $200 and its only 3 yrs old so still the new model. I was gonna go to the baby expo to check out the accessories but got sick just my luck but if any shops around you still stock mountain buggys then I would say that is very similar in size to try. The diff between the phil n teds and the AB for me is looks and wheels (the phil n teds has solid wheels) and storage I like both but know an Ab suits me better.
Yes you do get looks with the double ,not as much with the single well over here in wa anyway as loads of ppl have mountain buggys and abs which look basicly the same but I am used to that I have a tag a long too and still get asked all the time about it. I am 165cms I think and I have had no trouble seeing over the pram its not especially tall and is very easy to steer even with kids who are diff weight. And it doesn't take up much room in the car either ,the double fits in the rear of my 4wd without folding it down altho the toddler seat has to be removed first so i have neva had to lift it into the car.
Anyways hope you find one cheap chel it sure beats paying the new price,have u checked out the one for $29 on ebay dunno how old it is but even if you have to buy the toddler seat seperate and there is a few for sale on there atm it would still be cheap. http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ABC-Adventure-Buggy-Jogger-Stroller-Navy-accessories_W0QQitemZ200376676274QQcmdZViewItemQQp tZAU_Prams_Strollers?hash=item2ea7616fb2&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

I did a google search for used ABs and quokka came up - I nearly cried to see how many they were and how well priced!!!! :geek:

Ebay only really ever comes up with ones in Melbourne, Brisbane and WA, because there is no where that actually stocks ABs in Sydney, which means very very few people own them to then sell them on ebay.

DP has suggested multiple times going to melbourne to pick them up - as I have family in melbourne - but how I see it is if I'm going to pay for air fares and then the costs that come with visiting, even though its family and I'll stay with them, I'll break even and have a second hand pram - I'd rather buy it new and not risk it being in poor condition.

I'm in such a rush to get it, which is so silly considering I'm not even pregnant with no 2 and I only have really enough baby sitting jobs to justify the purchase at this stage.

I'm just a bit sick of my Maclaren, this afternoon was a frustration because I did some grocery shopping and had WAY too many bags hanging off my stroller and I kept thinking this would be so much easier and safer with a bigger pram.

And good question lanigirl about height, I'm 163cms... I suppose anyone who is silly enough to stand directly in front of a tall pram like that deserves to get run over :D (hopefully small children dont get in front of me though :no:)

Boobycino
27-08-2009, 15:03
I just spent 25 minutes chatting with the guy who owns gobubbago - he's lovely!

We had a really detailed chat about the prams, and also about phil & ted (the people, not the company, which was a bit of a spin out, aparently Phil still helps sew the adventure buggy canvases by hand :eek:)

Its a very warm and fuzzy family feel, he told me how they got started with gobubbago and his wife is the chick in the videos demonstrating it.

We also just generally chatted about the joys of parenthood.

I've worked in sales before (briefly) and DP is a sales man almost every minute of his life, so I get there was some serious repor building, but he was lovely!

I'm not waiting either, I've made a decision. Today I nearly threw my Maclaren at a wall because I literally had baby stuff falling out (Jaspers ball fell out of the back of it and rolled across the road into a major traffic lights :eek: and I had prayed it wouldn't be run over before the trafiic stopped and I could retrieve it.... *phew!*)

And we were walking towards the sun and bubba was getting sunburned and I couldn't do anything about it :( and when I got home and took bubba out of it it felt over :(

SO I'm doing it! DP has said we'll talk about it again tonight, but there isn't much he can say to disuade me.

2 to 4 weeks for delivery is as long as I'm prepared to wait!

Oh, and they also sell ergos which I've wanted for ages so I asked for a discount because I'm spending $1200 already and he took $40 off the price :D

Wish me luck that I dont lose my nerve and get talked out of it!

lanigirl09
27-08-2009, 21:57
You do get used to the stares :laughing: I found it a bit weird at first as I'm a very shy person & hate people looking at me, but don't mind now. It's funny, you see people trying to look without you noticing as you walk towards them, & then as you pass them, they turn & have a look & hope you don't see them :D I get so many kids saying, did you see that awesome pram! & similar things.

IYKWIM.

Ha Ha!! That's funny, hey if you could get used to it I suppose I can too, but it does worry me!
Thanks, for answering all the questions
and thanks Lulu about the tip about the adverts in Perth, the one for 850 interests me!

I'm so glad Rachel you've decided to go ahead with getting one, if your gut feeling about buying one is good, then its the right decision.
Also I didn't realise they were husband and wife that ran the go bubba shop, I spoke to the lady and she was heaps nice, she has the pram herself so she told me what it was like on a daily basis.

How does your hubby react when you talk to him about buying the AB?

When I was pregnant with my second (3mths ago) I was in two minds about alot of prams and tried to get my hubby to help me decide, in the end he got soo sick of me talking about it we ended up in some HUGE fights!
Anyway in 6 months I've bought 5 different prams and sold a few too, so talking about prams at my house is now banned :no::confused:

Also another issue for me, I live halfway between Melb and Adel so not easy to buy prams
Sorry changing the subject, I can't believe it a beautiful valco double trimode has come up for sale on ebay in my little town!! amazing! and its the type I like with the silver metal footplate only 18 mths old?? I've liked them too for a while but I can't have both.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/valco-baby-twin-runabout_W0QQitemZ280390048958QQcmdZViewItemQQptZA U_Prams_Strollers?hash=item41488c9cbe&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

lanigirl09
27-08-2009, 22:11
Forgot to mention there's double ABC in NSW on Ebay but I know you want the single one (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BABY-TWIN-DOUBLE-ABC-JOGGER-PRAM-ADVENTURE-BUGGY-ACCESS_W0QQitemZ290343607621QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_ Prams_Strollers?hash=item4399d3dd45&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14)
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BABY-TWIN-DOUBLE-ABC-JOGGER-PRAM-ADVENTURE-BUGGY-ACCESS_W0QQitemZ290343607621QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_ Prams_Strollers?hash=item4399d3dd45&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

Boobycino
28-08-2009, 07:13
Thanks for noticing the ABC buggy in NSW - I want a single one though.

I'm supprised that one slipped past me, I've been checking ebay on a daily basis for an adventure buggy in NSW, I'd seen it, but not clicked, but I almost always do even if its not what I want just to see where it is.

DP wasn't at all supprised when I made my announcement last night. He told me he's always been supportive of me getting one, just once the credit card is sorted out. He was kind of sold on the fact that it takes 2-4 weeks for delivery, he realised I'd be going out of my mind if I had to wait 3 more months and then another month after that.

I think DP is sympathetic that I've been obsessed, completely and utterlly obsessed with Adventure Buggies for 3 months. I've checked ebay for one literally on a daily basis. I dont think I have a day where I dont say the words Adventure Buggy:D I'm sure I'd dream about them if I dreampt.

Its a bit painful though. I did make sort of a bargain with him, I'd give him the rest of my money for the credit card - so by tomorrow I'll be totally and utterly broke :( I've had several thousand dollars in my account for over a year as a buffer.

Its really scary not having a buffer if something goes wrong. But its exciting how close to being credit card free we are! (We're down to $3,800 when my money comes through from an embarressing $40,000. I'm so proud of my DP for being so detirmined to pay it off, I dont know if I'd have had the self control to pay it off the way he has. But seriously, with so little to go, its time we're allowed to let go of the purse strings just a teenie bit! (I'll justify it a dozen times over if I have to, bottom line is, I'm buying it!!!)

I cant wait to have a wonderful amazing beautiful pram!!!

Yay!

Boobycino
28-08-2009, 07:48
That valco is beautiful by the way. The foot plate does make it look pretty impressive.

Boobycino
28-08-2009, 13:55
Its ordered and paid for!!!!

http://www.gobubbago.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=62&zenid=0efae94d489544d5d8d2f0ba7c6e5f2c

I got this colour!!!

OMG!!!

2-3 weeks to wait for it because they're back ordered.... they'll let me know when its left newzealous...

ahhh!!! excitement!!!!

garfield13
28-08-2009, 14:15
How exciting:yelclap:

lanigirl09
28-08-2009, 14:58
Congratulations!! The colour looks wild! Let us know when you get it

And yes I've ordered mine too now, same but in black!
I was looking at 2nd hand but its all to hard to find a good one plus your enthusiasm Rachel and positive feedback from kotakai and five in a bed helped sway me.
Also my credit card came in today with a higher limit than I asked so that helped.
Now I have to sell my other prams to help fund it, 2 emmas with a toddler seat, bassinet and skateboard and a old double Mountain Buggy!

Boobycino
28-08-2009, 16:59
Congratulations!! The colour looks wild! Let us know when you get it

And yes I've ordered mine too now, same but in black!
I was looking at 2nd hand but its all to hard to find a good one plus your enthusiasm Rachel and positive feedback from kotakai and five in a bed helped sway me.
Also my credit card came in today with a higher limit than I asked so that helped.
Now I have to sell my other prams to help fund it, 2 emmas with a toddler seat, bassinet and skateboard and a old double Mountain Buggy!

When I told DP i was buying it he was like, okay, so you'll ebay the other three prams then.

... awww.. but.... but.....

I'll sell my two cheap prams for whatever I can get for them but I'm keeping my maclaren, because its less than 1 year old and its still in tip top condition, it'd break my heart to sell it for $150 on ebay when its so new. But wonderfully it'll fold away in the cupboard.

Its such a fabulour colour! DP commented that he'll look gay pushing it :rolleyes: but the biggest mistakes I've made with baby purchases was letting his opinion count for anything. Its not his pram at all. If he wants to look more masculine, he can push the grey maclaren.

lanigirl09
29-08-2009, 10:33
You'll have to post a pic for us when you get it with your little boy up top.

I know how you feel about selling your prams, I would like to keep one of my emmaljungas
(black seat, chrome base and nice wheels)
I also have a cheap valco stroller, great for shopping and throwing around, but when my boy is older 3 or 4 I'd like to get a fancy stroller for my baby girl, my first pick would be a maclaren!
So its funny how you'd like to keep it now but I do agree your better off hanging onto it since you bought it new and you'll always need a stroller
Plus when you have your next bub your hubby will probably go do boys things with your son and need a pram to use.
Actually thats whats happened today for me dh ds have gone to the footy and left us girls at home for some peace and quiet
(she's asleep too) :baby:

LeeJ
29-12-2009, 17:08
so, bumpity bump!

had my heart set on a mountain buggy, but i have just seen the adventure buggies and im almost sold! lol

Gimme a looksie!:D

acinoz
18-03-2011, 14:47
Hi Sleepless Beauty! I am YEARS late but found your thread on Adventure Buggy VS Phil & Teds and laughed out loud in my kitchen at your deliberations, all of which we are repeating verbatim here in my household as we are expecting our second child. ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS!

If you receive this message - and I appreciate you might definitely have moved on (in so many ways!) - I would be ever so grateful if you could let me know:

Did you end up liking your Adventure Buggy???????

Yesterday I was on the verge of getting one....but the pricetag.....and as you say Phil & Teds is OK and so much cheaper.....oh, I won't bore you further as you already know that whole train of thought.

Even if you don't receive or aren't able to reply to this belated message, I have still bookmarked your thread and intend to share it tonight with my husband, who, though I love him dearly, has also been utterly useless in catering for bubby's gear.

Your thread still has me chuckling. Thanks for posting it!

Best

Amy