View Full Version : moving to kalgoorlie

lee81
23-08-2009, 19:29
hi there,
I will be possably moving to kalgoorlie in about 5 weeks, and really dont know much about it at all!! would love some help on abit of everything if anyone out there wants to help n adopt me to this new adventure we are taking. its a little scarey but think i would feel better knowing i might make a few friends befor we go. (will know defanitly by end of this week).. so love to hear from you all.

purska
23-08-2009, 19:48
well i lived there for over 5 yrs but now live in Albany and although i dont have babies yet here is a few things that may help

the roads arnt dirt,there is 24hr power and yes there is moblie phone coverage!(for so reason ppl think that Kal is still in the dark ages:no:)
there is a Cole,woolies and a Kmart

big swimming pool (trust me Kal gets sooo hot come summer)

other than that its a great town and im sure if you join a mothers/play group that you will make heaps of friends
and its a good time to be moving cause although it may still be quite chilly it is wayyyy better than moving in the middle of summer!
well i hope it helps or at least put a :) on ur face

chloeadele
27-08-2009, 12:23

I dont know if I'm much help but I moved to Kal just over a week ago from Melbourne for my partner's work. Before I got here I was so scared, so I know how you might be feeling. But I can tell you, that since I got here, its been great! Everyone really is friendly, and although I haven't really made any friends yet, I've settled in well after the first few days. There really is everything you need here.. Kmart, Target, 2 x Coles, Woolies, a baby shop, bunnings, bargain store, harvey norman, etc, and pubs galore! (no good for me, I'm expecting my 1st in Jan!) The culture is great here, it's laid back and relaxed. Let me know when you get here, I would really love to get to know someone! If you have any particular questions, let me know if I can help! But relax, you'll love it!

lee81
28-08-2009, 11:01
aww so your new to it all to. cool. wait...
ill send u a private message. :)

tashV8
17-09-2009, 12:25
I've been up here since May and separated from ym partner 2 weeks ago so could do with some friends to keep me occupied on the week that he has the kids lol... Kalgoorlie is a nice big country town... People are friendly and plenty of shops here... Has to be I guess.. People don't wanna drive 600km to Perth to buy the stuff they need

Let us know when you get up here :)