View Full Version : TTC with DH working away

summastarlet
22-08-2009, 18:44
DH and I have decided to start TCC. It's all very exciting and we can't wait to have our own little family. :valentine:

I am a bit concerned about how long it will take me to get a BFP though. DH works away from home...at the moment he is in the NT! He works 15 days then is home for 13. Guess I just have to keep my fingers crossed :fingerscrossed: that it will be the right time to BD when he is home!!

He has only been doing this sort of work since the end of last year, so I am still getting used to him being away so much.

Anyone else in a similar situation???

tjane
25-08-2009, 12:30
My DH is away constantly with work and when we were TTC he was only home for about 6 weeks in 6 months! It happened for us when he was home at last for 2 weeks.
Are you charting your temp and cycles? this can make it easier.

I am sure with the schedule he has that you will have some luck soon! Just be patient, and if you know your schedule at least you will know which cycle you have a chance on.

Good Luck!

summastarlet
25-08-2009, 19:49
My DH is away constantly with work and when we were TTC he was only home for about 6 weeks in 6 months! It happened for us when he was home at last for 2 weeks.
Are you charting your temp and cycles? this can make it easier.

I am sure with the schedule he has that you will have some luck soon! Just be patient, and if you know your schedule at least you will know which cycle you have a chance on.

Good Luck!
Thanks Tjane :)
Its nice to hear that you managed to get your BFP even with DH away so much!!

Bunnyhugs
25-08-2009, 19:54
For 5 months, my DH was away during ovulation/fertile week and I was starting to think it was never going to happen but we managed to JUST catch it the night he got home on the 5th month :laughing:

Just keep track of AF and then you can work out your approx fertile week and with any luck, it'll fall within the 13 days that he's home :thumbsup:

Good Luck :wizard:

pinkbella
25-08-2009, 19:55
Hey hun... We were the same.. DP is always travelling, and i knew that when we got together... And it is very hard... But if you knwo your cycle well, hopefully ovulation will fall when he's home? Or try take a few days off one time and visit him and get your groove on hehe.

Oh and we've been together for 1.5yrs and im still not used to him travelling so much! i end up in a blabbering crying state everytime we're apart, sad i know :laughing:

I hope a BFP will come quick for you though :fingerscrossed:

summastarlet
31-08-2009, 15:01
Thanks for everyone's positive words! Helps me to keep thinking on the bright side. I know it will happen eventually. I will just have to be patient :)

pdogsmum
05-09-2009, 18:26
My DH and I have been TTC #1 since Nov/Dec 2008. I was also worried about conceiving with DH working away as his roster was 4wk/2wk off. Since March he had only been home 3 times while I was ovulating and it was really getting me down. However, I was lucky enough to get my :bfp: this week!! Like the other ladies said, the most important thing is getting to know your cycle by charting/temping and using OPK's. I found the the OPK's especially useful and even used them on the cycles DH was away to get a really good idea of when I was O. Another tip: BD like crazy when he is home! I think we BD'd for 10 days straight out of the 14 he was here!! I just thought, why not, we were only getting a chance every 2 months so we'd better get to it!

Hope you get your BFP soon :babydust2::wizard:

summastarlet
06-09-2009, 18:59
My DH and I have been TTC #1 since Nov/Dec 2008. I was also worried about conceiving with DH working away as his roster was 4wk/2wk off. Since March he had only been home 3 times while I was ovulating and it was really getting me down. However, I was lucky enough to get my :bfp: this week!! Like the other ladies said, the most important thing is getting to know your cycle by charting/temping and using OPK's. I found the the OPK's especially useful and even used them on the cycles DH was away to get a really good idea of when I was O. Another tip: BD like crazy when he is home! I think we BD'd for 10 days straight out of the 14 he was here!! I just thought, why not, we were only getting a chance every 2 months so we'd better get to it!

Hope you get your BFP soon :babydust2::wizard:
Thanks for your happy story pdog :) Congratualtions on your BFP!!!!!!!!! It's nice to hear that despite your DH being away so much, it can still happen. Definately going to try and get to know my cycles better! We are already making sure to BD as much as possible when he is home! I typed in dates into ovulation predictor on babycenter.com.au and it seems he should be home for my fertile days over the next few months so fingers crossed!

summastarlet
22-09-2009, 18:19
Well..I was wrong..or the ovulation predictor was! I think I O'd early this week...and DH is not home until tomorrow. Worked out that if my cycle continues the way it's going, then DH will not be home for when I O until November.
So frustrating. I didn't think TTC would be so difficult.

kjw125
01-11-2009, 20:56
Well..I was wrong..or the ovulation predictor was! I think I O'd early this week...and DH is not home until tomorrow. Worked out that if my cycle continues the way it's going, then DH will not be home for when I O until November.
So frustrating. I didn't think TTC would be so difficult.

Hi! hope this thread still has some people viewing. TTC #3 as of this month and my DH works FIFO 1 wk on 1 wk off, and yep... it appears that we are out of sinc too! DOH!! My cycle is still setttling down from my last bubs (11 mnths old now) and so I am hoping that I get my next one a week late to get me back in sync..... if not I think I may be driving 600km some weekends to pay him a little visit!

good luck for this month xx

summastarlet
07-11-2009, 14:51
Hi! hope this thread still has some people viewing. TTC #3 as of this month and my DH works FIFO 1 wk on 1 wk off, and yep... it appears that we are out of sinc too! DOH!! My cycle is still setttling down from my last bubs (11 mnths old now) and so I am hoping that I get my next one a week late to get me back in sync..... if not I think I may be driving 600km some weekends to pay him a little visit!

good luck for this month xx

So frustrating isn't it!!! My DH is due home Tuesday..and it looks like I will be Oing around then!! I am very excited and hoping this is our month!! He is back to 2 weeks on 1 week off (instead of 2 and 2) so I think it's going to make things even more difficult!!

Can I ask how you cope with 2 kids while DH is away? I am starting to wonder how I will go with a baby when DH is away so much. Also, how does your DH feel about being away from the kids?

IndigoJ
08-11-2009, 01:47
Hey SS. After a muck around with my AF i just calculated that i will O the week my DP is away. Before this silly late AF i O'd 2days after he flew out. So unless my cycle changes we wont have a chance to conceive until June. :( I can imagine how frustrating it is, DP offered to put some in the freezer :laughing: EWW.

Where do your DP's fly to? My Dp is on a 1/1 roster and gets back on Tuesday. But no chance to BD with silly AF (well i think its AF) hanging around.

Good Luck to everyone.

kjw125
08-11-2009, 16:51
So frustrating isn't it!!! My DH is due home Tuesday..and it looks like I will be Oing around then!! I am very excited and hoping this is our month!! He is back to 2 weeks on 1 week off (instead of 2 and 2) so I think it's going to make things even more difficult!!

Can I ask how you cope with 2 kids while DH is away? I am starting to wonder how I will go with a baby when DH is away so much. Also, how does your DH feel about being away from the kids?

Hey summastarlet! DH has been doing this for 18 months now so we are used to it. I work too, I really struggled some days when I was on mat leae. The days went on and on and on! Prob now is that I am Full time at work so the balance is now too far the other way! I think if I had a Part time job that things would be perfect! Might look into that soon I think.

Of course DH would prefer to see the kids daily but when he is home he has them on his own as I am at work and they do so much cool stuff! He does kindy runs and is so involved in the day to day that it is worth it. We are only 1:1 though, not 2:1.

IndigoJ, its hard isnt it! I thought that I was back in sync. But AF appeared 3 days earlier this month that has now thrown us back out! I have had to stop caring about it. It is what it is and we have now decided just to have some fun and if it happens then it happens..... Otherwise I think I would go crazy!!

Good luck to you all! Hope you are all coping with DH away!

TeamAwesome
08-11-2009, 17:57
My Dh works away 6 weeks on 1 off though this varies a bit from time to time so does some longer stints and some shorter.

It took us 16months of 'trying without trying' to get a BFP (so I wouldn't have to stress over TTC DH not being home etc I was aware just not overzealous about all my fertility ;) ) basically I knew when I was Oing around when it was happening but had an irregular cycle after our third so AF somehow managed to arrive basically with in a few days of him coming home. Dh was home for two weeks over Easter and then we got our BFP but I had a mmc in June and am now only ready emotionally to go back to properly trying as we've just kind of been not perventgign the last couple of time but once again AF turned up during DHs last couple of times home. He will be home for a month over Christmas which is the longest he's done since he started working away when our almost 4yo was 4.5mo. Was always 2 weeks at most off. Again Af will be due not long after he gets home (DH thinks it's out to get him and stop him having fun LMAO) which puts O sometime between Christmas and NYE which he is definitely home for so if we catch the egg I guess will make it almost 2years of TTC due to DH working away from home if not I guess sometime next year will be it for us. I've been hoping it'll be somethign memorable (which that tiem of year is) but we're also hoping for a romantic weekend for our anniversary next year as well so that could work. I could obsess over it but that's just too stressful especially after so long so just remember it will happen and make it fun in the mean time ;)

kjw125
08-11-2009, 18:19
6:1 - that would be hard work! And I can completely understand how hard it would be TTC with that arrangement. :hugs:sorry for your loss during the year. Heartbreaking. I have everything crossed for a different ending this time!

We have only just started the TTC now for #3. We had chatted that we are just going to leave it up to fate to see if we get another. I could not go through it obsessing every month, or the diapointment of himbeing away through the O time. So for us we will just see what happens and let it be. My youngest is 11 months so it is fine that it might take a while!

Good luck to all!

mum3iwish
08-11-2009, 19:04
Hi ladies, mind if I jump in on this thread.
My DH has been working away for the last couple of years, although its never been a definate 2 on 1 off or anything like that.
It should be 3 on 1 off but they ask him to work the extra week or 2 and he usually says yes. BUT I just had a tubal reversal just over a week ago so we have to get him home in sync with my cycle. I have been doing the temp recording thing and also bought the maybe baby ovulating checker, We tried IVF earlier in the year but 2 failed transfers and a fail to thaw so I did the reversal.
I'm not 100% on the whole ovulating with the temp, is it when the temp drops or is it the next high reading after it drops?? Anyway if i bleed on the correct days he will be home for my dec cycle, i think he flies in on day 11 and then we go on holidays so i have 2wks to try and get it right, i think he will be sick of me by the end of the 2wks:laughing::laughing:

kjw125
08-11-2009, 19:09
Hi mum3iwish, I have no idea on the temp thing. Sorry. It does amaze me that I am not the only person with the DH Working away issues with TTC!!!!

Good luck!

summastarlet
08-11-2009, 20:08
Hey SS. After a muck around with my AF i just calculated that i will O the week my DP is away. Before this silly late AF i O'd 2days after he flew out. So unless my cycle changes we wont have a chance to conceive until June. :( I can imagine how frustrating it is, DP offered to put some in the freezer :laughing: EWW.

Where do your DP's fly to? My Dp is on a 1/1 roster and gets back on Tuesday. But no chance to BD with silly AF (well i think its AF) hanging around.

Good Luck to everyone.

My DH is working up somewhere near Emerald at the moment...he has moved around a lot in the past year...NSW, NT, now back in QLD...but they have mentioned SA too! It's a suprise every stint!!! Damn AF always messes things up!!!!

Hey summastarlet! DH has been doing this for 18 months now so we are used to it. I work too, I really struggled some days when I was on mat leae. The days went on and on and on! Prob now is that I am Full time at work so the balance is now too far the other way! I think if I had a Part time job that things would be perfect! Might look into that soon I think.

Of course DH would prefer to see the kids daily but when he is home he has them on his own as I am at work and they do so much cool stuff! He does kindy runs and is so involved in the day to day that it is worth it. We are only 1:1 though, not 2:1.
Good luck to you all! Hope you are all coping with DH away!

Thanks for sharing kjw! It's interesting to hear how other wives deal with DH working away!

My Dh works away 6 weeks on 1 off though this varies a bit from time to time so does some longer stints and some shorter.

6 weeks away!! That must be hard!! I hope you manage to get your BFP soon!!

Hi ladies, mind if I jump in on this thread.
My DH has been working away for the last couple of years, although its never been a definate 2 on 1 off or anything like that.
It should be 3 on 1 off but they ask him to work the extra week or 2 and he usually says yes. BUT I just had a tubal reversal just over a week ago so we have to get him home in sync with my cycle. I have been doing the temp recording thing and also bought the maybe baby ovulating checker, We tried IVF earlier in the year but 2 failed transfers and a fail to thaw so I did the reversal.
I'm not 100% on the whole ovulating with the temp, is it when the temp drops or is it the next high reading after it drops?? Anyway if i bleed on the correct days he will be home for my dec cycle, i think he flies in on day 11 and then we go on holidays so i have 2wks to try and get it right, i think he will be sick of me by the end of the 2wks

Fingers crossed for you! I have only started temping this month, so I don't know a lot about it yet...there is a thread of ladies talking about temping so you could ask some questions in there...I have! :)

tayahnkai
11-11-2009, 10:38
:wave: Just wanted to say good luck and try not to stress to much. After falling in the 1st mth with DD and DS this time it took longer. After 3mths of trying we got our :bfp:. My DH works 8:8 wks but usually longer so there was a months of ov when DH was away. I have short (25) cycles and regular so I knew when I was ov (plus I get ov pains). It is good to know when you are oving but no so good to know when DH is away IYKWIM. I have heard go28days (I think) or fertility friend are good sites for charting temps.

Also wanted to add that when I got my :bfp: we had only BD once during that cycle (cos I had to go away).

kjw125
11-11-2009, 22:46
:wave: Just wanted to say good luck and try not to stress to much. After falling in the 1st mth with DD and DS this time it took longer. After 3mths of trying we got our :bfp:. My DH works 8:8 wks but usually longer so there was a months of ov when DH was away. I have short (25) cycles and regular so I knew when I was ov (plus I get ov pains). It is good to know when you are oving but no so good to know when DH is away IYKWIM. I have heard go28days (I think) or fertility friend are good sites for charting temps.

Also wanted to add that when I got my :bfp: we had only BD once during that cycle (cos I had to go away).

Hi!! Thanks for your response also in the 3:3 thread I started! Are you expecting now? Do you have 2 or 3? Nice to hear more of how you cope when DH is away for such a long time!!

tayahnkai
13-11-2009, 18:39
We have DD (4), DS (22mths) and currently 11wks. I have never been so tired, it has been challenging. DH has been gone all the first trimester!!!

kjw125
14-11-2009, 06:54
Congrats on the 11 weeks!! yippee! I cant beleive he has been gone the entire first trimester. Thats huge. its amazing what you can do when you have to! I am 10 days into cycle and DH comes home Tues.... So I am really hoping that this month we can catch the egg!!!! I think we will have a very small window but if it is meant to be it will happen

tayahnkai
14-11-2009, 13:14
:) FX for Tues that you catch that egg

Hope the timing is right. I still cant believe we got a BFP that cycle with only BDing once.

I would have prefered DH to be home for the 1st trimester just to help. Never mind Im starting to feel pretty good and not so tired anymore. :smiliedance:

TeamAwesome
14-11-2009, 13:47

just popping my head in, I got AF last night which means it's due early the week DH comes home but it's been confirmed he'll be home for a month hooray (now to just wait for them to actually book his flights) I mentioned to DH that I will get AF the first week he is home je then made a comment about how I'll probably have it for our anniversary next year had to remind him I might be pregnant, long paude and change of topic, I think he's remembering I'm likely to be sick if I am so either way not much fun, lol. I realised I'll probably need to have a dating scan again so will drag a friend along with me for that, so I have someone for support as Dh won't be home until Feb (for our anniversary)

tayahnkai - congrats on your BFP! The fist trimester is hard when they're away and you've got other kids. Glad you're starting to feel better. Dh was, for the most part, away for the first 30 weeks of my third pregnancy.

kjw125- hope you catch the egg but remember try not to stress about it it's hard I know but it will be easier if you aren't stressing about it.

Good luck baby making.

Natalie

mimsie
14-11-2009, 14:01
This is probably a bit of an OTT or um, unusual suggestion, but you could go on the pill and use it to shift your cycles to match times when he's home, then go off it, and hope they stay in the new cycle, ergo letting you ovulate on the week he's home :)

LOL I did say it's over the top...

TeamAwesome
14-11-2009, 14:33
It's not an option for us but thanks for the suggestion. :)

kjw125
14-11-2009, 15:33
This is probably a bit of an OTT or um, unusual suggestion, but you could go on the pill and use it to shift your cycles to match times when he's home, then go off it, and hope they stay in the new cycle, ergo letting you ovulate on the week he's home :)

LOL I did say it's over the top...

Very clever!!! This is our first month, and I have only just finished BF my youngest so I am hoping that my cycle is not yet settled. But I rekon that once it has settled and if we are still out of sinc I might just try that! What a great suggestion. I like that better than driving 650kms to be with him at the right time LOL Very clever

summastarlet
24-11-2009, 21:02
Still no BFP for us. DH's rosters keep changing all the time which is making it even more difficult to BD at the right times. This month we almost had it I thought...got a positive OPK the day before he came home...so close, yet so far! :laughing:

Now it looks like we are out of the game until next year. DH will most likely be away until after New Year now which sucks. :(

Also my cycles keep getting shorter and shorter each month, so now I don't even know if my lutal phase would be long enough for me to get pregnant anyways. :confused:

I hope everyone else is having better luck than me!!! :babydust2:

kjw125
07-12-2009, 21:11

Went on our big holiday and AF visited while we were away... so unless I do some intervention there is now no chance for the next 6 months of DH being home when required for my BFP!! Maybe I invite the postman in (I am joking!!)

So I might just wait until after Christmas and then see what intervention I can do to change things around....

summastarlet
08-12-2009, 20:50

Went on our big holiday and AF visited while we were away... so unless I do some intervention there is now no chance for the next 6 months of DH being home when required for my BFP!! Maybe I invite the postman in (I am joking!!)

So I might just wait until after Christmas and then see what intervention I can do to change things around....

oh that sucks hun!!!:hugs:I know the feeling..been like that with my DH for the past 5 months..

:laughing: postman looking better and better..jokes!

My DH has been away for past 3 weeks and its looking that he won't be back til end of January. This will be the longest he will have been away..not looking forward to the festive season without him

kjw125
08-12-2009, 22:50
Oh no, Summarstarlet - that is terrible! Such a long time. Makes it even longer when TTC & christmas etc. Mine leaves Christmas eve... Same last year but atleast I get him some of the time.

Maybe we should photograph the postman and compare our other options lol!! Have to make light of it somehow

I am sure that something will happen eventually, just makes it tough. Big hugs to you over the Christmas period. Tough isnt it. :hugs:

summastarlet
09-12-2009, 19:52
Oh no, Summarstarlet - that is terrible! Such a long time. Makes it even longer when TTC & christmas etc. Mine leaves Christmas eve... Same last year but atleast I get him some of the time.

Maybe we should photograph the postman and compare our other options lol!! Have to make light of it somehow

I am sure that something will happen eventually, just makes it tough. Big hugs to you over the Christmas period. Tough isnt it. :hugs:

Thanks kj! :) It is tough..and I know it will happen eventually, but I am beginning to get impatient!!

It's nice to talk to other ladies who are going through similar things though, as I dont think you can understand having your partner being away for so long unless you have gone through it.

kjw125
10-12-2009, 16:05
I agree completely.

We just got some crazy news that DH work will now shut down for the Christams week so he will be here! After the week we have had I just cant beleive it!

summastarlet
10-12-2009, 20:31
I agree completely.

We just got some crazy news that DH work will now shut down for the Christams week so he will be here! After the week we have had I just cant beleive it!

Oh how wonderful for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :yelclap: That's great news. Will be a merry christmas then! :tree:

summastarlet
14-01-2010, 22:32
anyone else getting frustrated TTC with their DH/DP away all the time??

My DH was home over xmas and was perfect timing for ovulation..however we did not get our BFP...I had to wait 5 months for him to be home at the right time...I dont want to have to wait another 5 months for it to happen again.

At this rate we will never conceive a baby!!! :hissy:

mum3iwish
14-01-2010, 22:56
summastarlet, i feel you, my hubby is away again as well, he was with me over xmas and during ovulation but nope no BFP I was 4 days late and getting bit excited but then AF arrived. I'm ovulating at the moment but seeing as though DH only went back to work on the 4th he cant be home. But he is goin to work back the extra week so he should be home in time for next month :fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed:

He says he is giving it until probably April then chucking his job in and coming back to work in town, He just wants his big shed and our new verandah before he does it though.

kjw125
15-01-2010, 07:13
mum3iwish - hopefully the change in shift puts your timing right
Summa-not fair about last month... is it still 5 months til he is home

AFM - DH home last Wed and I got my positive on the OPK yesterday so we are BD like crazy. Good feeling this monht. Last month AF was 4 days late which seems to have put me in tune with his shifts... for this month any way.

I have positive thinking this month, and I think it may be our month. So I have everythng crossed and just trying to enjoy ourselves rather than stress about it all!

Good luck ladies.

RolzBubz
15-01-2010, 07:24
Have you tried going back on the pill for abit summa to try and change your ovulation dates..might throw you around abit but if your able to get your af quickly after coming off the pill this might help..

summastarlet
15-01-2010, 09:12
Have you tried going back on the pill for abit summa to try and change your ovulation dates..might throw you around abit but if your able to get your af quickly after coming off the pill this might help..

I did think about this :laughing:
But because his rosters get changed around so much..I don't think it would help! Knowing my luck I would go back on thinking he won't be home for a while, and then he would turn up!

RolzBubz
15-01-2010, 09:15
that sux summa ...would be good if you kind of had some sort of roster to go by...without it it does make things alittle hard..well hopefully with all us girls giving you good vibes and wishing your dh comes home when you O might help alittle.

kjw125
16-01-2010, 10:33
that sux summa ...would be good if you kind of had some sort of roster to go by...without it it does make things alittle hard..well hopefully with all us girls giving you good vibes and wishing your dh comes home when you O might help alittle.

I agree Rolzbubz - good vibes to you summa! and you never know what will happen with your cycle. We were off course completely then AF arrived 4 days late and now we are back on course... who knows!!

AFM - I rekon I have ovulated for sure now. Positive on OPK thursday, CM changed yesterda (TMI warning) to be just moist and i had a mini skin break out and slight pain on right side... So DH is a very happy man, and I think we might have got enough BDing in!! I have everything crossed and am now officially in the TWW, how ever I think I might test Tuesday week.....

summastarlet
16-01-2010, 13:04
AFM - I rekon I have ovulated for sure now. Positive on OPK thursday, CM changed yesterda (TMI warning) to be just moist and i had a mini skin break out and slight pain on right side... So DH is a very happy man, and I think we might have got enough BDing in!! I have everything crossed and am now officially in the TWW, how ever I think I might test Tuesday week.....

Keeping my fingers crossed for you!! :)

SethsMum06
26-01-2010, 11:51

I too am TTC with a partner who works away. Unlike everyone else here though has no roster :laughing:

He is on call 24/7. Sometimes he gets heaps of time at home, other times he doesn't and might only be home one day out of two weels. It's hard when I don't know what tomorrow is gonna bring.. whether he will be sent back out or not.

We may have been successful this month, testing in 6 days.

:babydust2: To all you ladies, I have only been TTC for a short time and already have been concerned about it happening!

summastarlet
30-01-2010, 23:15
SethsMum-that must be so hard not knowing when your DH is coming and going!
I hope you are successful this month and don't have to worry about trying to have DH home at the right time!! :fingerscrossed:

We are onto our 6th cycle TTC number 1, and DH has only been home twice at the right time of month (last cycle and this cycle). I am currently 5DPO so hoping number 6 is lucky for us!!!

kjw125
31-01-2010, 22:37
AF arrived for my birthday instead of my BFP!! lol

I think we will be in with a chance nesxt month based on DH shifts.... I hope so, good luck Summa & Seths mum

summastarlet
01-02-2010, 18:10
AF arrived for my birthday instead of my BFP!! lol

I think we will be in with a chance nesxt month based on DH shifts.... I hope so, good luck Summa & Seths mum

:hugs: for you! That sucks. I hope it works out next cycle for you with DH's shifts!

MrsB09
03-02-2010, 13:50
I'm new to all this but DH & I have decided to start TTC seriously.

He's been working away since May 2009 and he works away for 4 weeks and is home only for 1 week :(

He's very excited and I was wondering if anyone could give us some tips with TTC whilst he is working away? He is taking menovit and I am taking folate tablets.

summastarlet
03-02-2010, 20:22
I'm new to all this but DH & I have decided to start TTC seriously.

He's been working away since May 2009 and he works away for 4 weeks and is home only for 1 week :(

He's very excited and I was wondering if anyone could give us some tips with TTC whilst he is working away? He is taking menovit and I am taking folate tablets.

I have found charting my cycles to be a help (as I then know when I am ovulating and whether DH will be home). All you need is a BBT thermometer and you can chart on Fertility Friend (can look at my charts through my link in signature). Also OPKs can be useful to predict ovulation too. :)

MrsB09
03-02-2010, 21:05
Thats a pretty cool chart Summastarlet!

What does BBT mean? I am guess OPK is Ovulation Prediction Kit?

kjw125
04-02-2010, 20:17
Hi MrsB09
I have used OPK just so I know it I have o'd when he is home. The first few months I didnt and then when AF arrived i realised there was no way we could have got our BFP as he would have been away. The opk makes me know if there is a chance or not!!

Good luck. Thats a long shift for you... I hope that it all works out!

MrsB09
04-02-2010, 22:41
Thanks for that kjw125. DH is a bit daunted by the whole checking all the time as he wants it just to happen but realistically it won't

I've been speaking to him for a lil while tonight and he's been asking me 101 questions about what we need to do and our health insurance etc. I also popped into my doctor today and they have on file that we are TTC so any problems we can go to them :D

summastarlet
04-02-2010, 22:59
Thats a pretty cool chart Summastarlet!

What does BBT mean? I am guess OPK is Ovulation Prediction Kit?

BBT is Basal Body Temperature :)

Pretty much all you need to do to chart is take your temp first thing when you wake up of a morning and do this at the same time each day.

It takes a few cycles to see the patterns, but it's a really interesting way of getting to know your cycles and your body.
There is even a thread all about it in 'conception issues and TTC' which has lots of info shared between members if you want some more information. Can also come join TTC First Timers if you want to talk with some other ladies who are TTC #1. We are all very supportive and helpful! :yes:

kjw125
05-02-2010, 07:05
Thanks for that kjw125. DH is a bit daunted by the whole checking all the time as he wants it just to happen but realistically it won't

I've been speaking to him for a lil while tonight and he's been asking me 101 questions about what we need to do and our health insurance etc. I also popped into my doctor today and they have on file that we are TTC so any problems we can go to them :D

It might just happen. and I have everything crossed it does for you. Both my girls came first try so you never know!! Good luck! You sound soooo excited! I hope your ttc journey is a quick one xxoo

kjw125
25-02-2010, 19:32
I got my BFP ladies. Something worked in my favour and DH was clearly home at the right time during Feb. Good luck to you all. It is soooo hard when they work away. I think thats what makes this that much more exciting.

Good luck xx

MrsB09
26-02-2010, 01:06
Massive congrats kjw125!! All the best for a trouble free pregnancy

We're hoping I may be ovulating when DH is home next but my cycle is a bit out of whack :(

kjw125
26-02-2010, 06:43
Massive congrats kjw125!! All the best for a trouble free pregnancy

We're hoping I may be ovulating when DH is home next but my cycle is a bit out of whack :(

You never know! And good luck. This was the first month on my TTC journey that I decided to not even think about it. I threw away the OPK, and my DH and kids went away for his time home and we just had 'fun' when we felt like it. I didnt even get o symptoms, not that I was looking for them. took the science out and returned it with fun and got my BFP.

Good luck, I hope your BFP is just around the corner xx

Greenhorn
07-03-2010, 17:41
I'll be screwed when it comes time for us to TTC, he's one week on, one week off...

and he's away the week i ovulate (on 28 day cycles)

So unless he has a swing off, its going to be painful :(

kjw125
07-03-2010, 19:11
:(

Thats hard. We were like that too, and my DH also works 1/1 - but in Dec my period came one week late and then back to the 28 day cycle which put me ovulating when he was home. We caught the egg on the second cycle.

Someone reccomended to me going on the pill to try and change cycle dates.... maybe thats an option??

Good luck

Greenhorn
07-03-2010, 19:12
hmm kjw... thats a good point.... will have to ask the docs...

congrats on your pregnancy :D

kjw125
07-03-2010, 19:16
My DH works 660kms away so I was even thinking about driving up to visit! Thats how desperate I was.. .then by chance my cycle just changed?? Things happen for a reason I am sure

Good luck to you. Have you been on the TTC journey for long???? I remember getting up at 3am on his last nights here for a quick BD, hoping that the little swimmers would stay alive for 3 - 5 days to cathc the egg !! lol

I really hope that you get your BFP soon, I know how heartbreaking it is to want it so bad and the logistics keep it from happening

summastarlet
10-03-2010, 22:12
hey ladies :wave:

How's everyone going? Anymore success stories???

I am getting so frustrated with TTC. AF is late , but not getting any positive tests, so I think after all this time with nice, regular cycles my body has gone haywire! :(

I am lucky DH has changed to a 10day on/10 day off roster which is nice coz he is home more often..but still doesn't seem to be working out that he is home at the right time!

Once AF arrives we will be onto our 9th cycle of TTC....I don't know why it's not happening, as we have had a few months where he has been home at a good time..I think I will head to the doctors this month to get some tests done...

Mum2Mimi
10-03-2010, 22:17
dp works away 4weeks on 1week home inthe pillbarra and we decided to start ttc#2 at the end of dec well after newyrs festiviaties lol didnt happen for us jan as he was away but i had my af 21st-26th jan and he flew home 1st feb and i was O between 2-4th feb and we conceived but we were also like rabbits as he had been gone a month :laughing:

so didnt take long at all for us but it was just luck really

goodluck on ur journey!

TeamAwesome
11-03-2010, 11:52
I got AF last night which means it's due early the week DH comes home

just realised I never came back in here but we had a lot happen when Dh come home and I've been so sick since just before Christmas, it slipped my mind.

Anyhow this particular AF never arrived as 10days later they moved the guys north to a new camp and thanks to his lovely supervisor DH got to stop in for a couple of days which ended up being the perfect time to catch the egg.

Unfortunately I kind of forgpt about AF being due as the day DH was due to come home for his Christmas break his superviser was killed in a tragic accident basically in front of DH so had the investigations (internal; work place health and safety; police; and another gov department that I can't remember) and the funeral to deal with.

It wasn't until Dec 19th, so AF was almost 2 weeks late by then, that I finally got up the nerve to test as I'd been late, and therefore disapointed, before. Anyhow got a BFP straight away, I'm now almost 17 weeks:goodvibes: (almost 16 by the hospital but what do I know I've only been pregnant 4 times before:rolleyes: - especially when DH was only home for that one weekend)

Unfortunately the pergnancy has brought out some health issues so I'm high risk pregnancy with risks to both bub and I which is just what you went when your DH works away and family are too busy making sure they all have their own lives and they aren't disrupted - "Nat's in the hospital oh well is it really that urgent we have visitors over?":rolleyes: - follow up after DH went back to work was only a text message saying "hope you feel better now" like the hospital fixed 'the problem'. Dh suggested moving to Canada :laughing:but more seriously to Victoria, I'm contemplating it I can tell you, but only after I have the baby as where we are is only a few mins to the local hospital and about 45mins (via car and good traffic) to the Royal Brisbane Women's and Childrens if we need that too.

But feeling some movements the other night just made my heart melt. :bee: