View Full Version : How are our Mums of Premmies going?
gidgeroo
03-07-2006, 15:24
just thought this thread has gone quiet and I was curious to see how all our tiny prems are going and how their mums are coping. I know a couple were still in hospital and waiting to come home. :fingerscrossed:
DS2 is now 6mths old (today infact) and he is doing everything a 3 month old can do so we're really pleased with his progress. He's fighting a cold and needs immo this month but I'll wait till he's better. Not sure how much he weighs but he's out of 000 clothes already!!
I'm a bit rundown due to him and his older brother being sick for the last two weeks but we're at the tail end of the cold so its all looking rosy again!
Back into the swing of things! :smiliedance:
perthmummie
05-07-2006, 15:16
My boys were not overly premmie but still tiny :)
they have been doing ok, they caught a virus last week so have been in hospital for 5 days but are now back home and getting better!
My boys are putting on heaps of weight which is great and almost out of 00000 and 0000 clothes!! but most of the 000 are still a bit big :laughing:
Glad to hear your little one is doing good, hope the cold gets better :)
xoxox Angela
kylie now weighs 1710g ---------90g to go to the perspex cot yay
my clever girl , seen her thismorning she was gettin prepped for the transfusion she was all wide awake and just staring at me then her arm which had the big board in it poor little thing-hate seeing her unhappy. shes so good at getting any wires masks boards etc off her so they had to pretty much pin her arm to the matress.
i want so much to be there for her but it just really stresses me seeing her like that. and i know my bubby girls gona be cranky afterwards . ill be seeing her again later got the boss ute for the week or so , which is making it alot easier to get to her and back- for now.
i just keeping walking in and out of her nursery now, constantly staring or rearranging clothes, toys and what not . cant wait til my baby girl can come home. i think im ready.
07-07-2006, 16:25
My premmies are big kids now compared to yours. lol
Zach is 3.5 and caught up in all developmental areas as of his last premmie checkup last month. His weight is on the 20th for his age and his height is still under the bottom line but hes doing great. He was 9 weeks prem.
Bella was only 5 weeks prem, shes got her 12 month check on the 18th... I'd guess shes on the 90th for weight having been under the 3rd at birth. Shes a big girl, shes doing brilliant and you would never guess she was early!
tired*mummy
08-07-2006, 21:57
My daughter was extremely prem. Born at 23 weeks. She is now 2 and 1/2 and shes where she should be with her development. I thought she would have a few difficulties with her development along the way but she hasnt. She was slow in development to start of with and was about 6 months behind but has now caught up. She hasnt caught up with weight or height as yet but i know she will always be smaller. She's 11kg and cant remember what her height is lol. She just come out of sz 1 clothing. My other daughter was in sz 3 when she was 2 and 1/2.
When ever we see dr's or nurses they cant believe that she is a 23 weeker because alot of them say that you can tell but the shape of there heads and other things that they were so prem. But people never guess that she was 17 weeks early.
Shes not having a good time at the moment, shes in the royal childrens as she has Pneumonia and Bronciolitis. She been in since tuesday and is still on oxygen. She has Chronic Lung Disease (the only thing problem she got from being prem) and most times when she gets a cold she ends up in hospital, and for a longer stay every time.
But other than that i would say that she's doing great. The first few months after she was born werent very good but its definately alot better now.
gidgeroo
08-07-2006, 22:23
hi
Its great to hear from you all and see that you and the bubs are doing well.
TiredMummy and Perthmummie I hope you're babies' stay in hospital isn't too long and they are feeling better and at home soon. Its so hard when they're sick at the best of times - let alone when they're in hospital - all the best! And there are so many nasty bugs around - I felt quarantined for the last 3 weeks just trying to keep mine away from germs!
Charmzy I love hearing stories like your premmies. It fab that they all catch up really well in their own time (about 4 of my close friends were prem and they keep saying they turned out alright!!)
Bec its good to hear Kylie is doing well and that you're getting ready for her homecoming (I can imagine the nursery!). I know how hard it is to watch them do procedures like that - its better to go away and come back later like you said.
James' cold turned into bronchialitis and we just kept seeing our GP every day to make sure it wasn't getting worse - which fortunately it didn't. He's all clear now. He weighed in today at 6kilos - such a boomba!
I call him my little old man because he's been a baby for such a long time! Do you know what I mean?
May they grow and prosper!!
I Have a 10 week old bub - Aliyah corrected age 3 weeks , Aliyah was born at 33 weeks and scince coming home is doing quite well weve just started wearing 0000 and slowly filling them out.
It has been a totally strange but full filling experience being a mum of a preemie.And im still learning along the way.
Hey
I have a 4 month old who was 10 weeks prem. She was born Weighing 1.163kg. She is doing so well she is our little miracle. She now weighs 3.730kg and is thriving. Just starting to smile and giggle it is heart warming. Anyone wanting to talk kyles124@hotmail.com
onabreak
26-07-2006, 00:35
I have a 20mth old daughter who was born 11 weeks early in Nov 2004. She is doing very well and you wouldn't even know she was premmie. She is up with all her developments and is quite smart for her age. She can be very cheeky at times and is definately daddys little girl. The only thing is she has become a very fussy eater and will not drink milk.
My daughter spent 7 weeks in hospital when she was born, she weighed 1.5kg or 3 pounds something (only know metric system).
bootiful
31-07-2006, 02:04
Hello Everyone :wave:
My georgous baby girl was born at 31w 5d. She was in hospital from 17th Oct to 16th Nov.
She was a trooper right from the start..she didnt have any complications only slight jaundice.
She is now just over 9 months and doing nearly all the things a normal 9 month old is doing, except crawling cause her arms are not able to take the weight of her body yet.
She can walk if you let her hold your hands, she can sit up, she can shake her head no and she can say 'yeah'. Last week she said dog about 20 times :D and she is getting smarter by the day.
It has been hard being the mum of a premmie bub but it makes you pay closer attention to their development.
I send out big :hugs: to all mums of premmie babies. Well done! :thumbsup:
hey everyone a quick update on kylie anne marie
kylies getting released monday 6-8-2006 yay
im booked to saty in the hospital all weekend with her and be discharged first thing monday morning, yay cant wait 3 days to go
well 1 and i get to spend a couple of nights with her alone
gestation is what shed be if i was still carrying her yeah?
she would be about 37 weeks her due date was 21st august
kylies well over 2 1/2kg's nearly 3kgs, weigh her today will let you know exact weight tonight. shes about 2 months a few days old now , im so proud of my precious she has come such a long way.
xox talk soon xox bec