View Full Version : Magic May Babies #2
lanaamelia
14-08-2009, 16:00
amelia has been a lil sook, so clingy she is fine when ppl are around but as soon as its just me and here she sooky and doesnt want to be put down... hope this faze passes again soon, second time she been like this but only lasted a few days..
we had a few visitors today, my friend melissa currently 37 weeks pregnant and her lil girl natalie (2) and an old school friend and better half.. was good to see em all in one go, although i didnt get to finish cleaning the house before they came around, all good i needed a break buy the time they got here..
puppy is going very well here, not so sooky now that he is used to out place yay
thats all for now oh wait i spent lots of money at the big w sale. lots of nice clotsh for bubs, most in a few sizes up :D
too quiet here .. i have nothing much to report .. perfect child (takes after its perfect mother bahaha .. totally being sarcastic here!)
how is everyone going? i know its only early days but anyone considering going back to work. the lady who took over my position resigned and my boss asked me if i wanted to come back in october - full time and i was like .. umm no freaking way .. how about 2 days .. and he wouldnt budge :( .. i doubt i could leave Jax tho .. im a smother mother ;)
weighed Jax - 12 weeks - 7.5kgs - buddah boy hahaha .. for some reason he isnt taking his bottles .. last week he was taking about 210mls every feed, 5 feeds a day, but this week hes generally only taking 100mls of about 3 bottles then 200mls of the other 2 .. im not too concerned yet cos he is quite a big boy .. but dunno .. its like he doesnt seem interested in drinking anymore? my health nurse said not to be too worried about it .. so who knows??
Cherio - men argghh .. my DH had the day off work the other day and he didnt feed/change/play with Jax until late afternoon and i was like WTF and i brought it up and he was just like meehh
TripleTime
14-08-2009, 18:10
Kel - I wouldnt be to worried about Jaxon's up & down feeding. His taking as much as he needs. Trips are offered 120mL's per feed & take any where from 40 to 120, sometimes more. All depends on how hungry they are.
KyKy - All i can say is MEN!!
Not much happening in this house, Trip's are 12 weeks on sunday & thats about it.
two cheeky smurfs
14-08-2009, 18:56
hi!
Havent posted a lot in the last couple of days as im having a bit of a hard time atm!! Both my babies have been very sooky and it so hard to keep them both happy!!! Finding it hard to get out atm but i managed to go to gigglepots this morning which is at the library.. we just sing nursery rhymes to our babies!! Met Blueiris today... i think most of you would know who i am talking about as she was in the due in may thread but ended up having her little girl in April!!!
Im just feeling so drained and exhausted and once again Maddy isnt feeding very well... i just dont know what to do to get her to feed!! She takes one hour to drink 50ml!!! Going to get her weighed on wed so if shes lost weight again ill go back to the doc
Sorry about the 'me' post!! Will do personals a bit later!!!
Cheerio - I'm so with you... Hubby and I were having an argument the other day about how I have to do everything and he never helps around the house and I never get any time for me anymore. His reply 'Yeah but you're home all day...' One look at my face and he pleaded 'It was just a joke, I'm not serious' followed by ' Geez don't you remember what it's like to have fun'. D'uh NO! That's my bl**dy point d'head!
Ah Men - I'll say it again... Can't live with em, can't legally shoot them!
Kel - Kian is exactly the same with feeding and weighed in at 7kgs at 12 weeks. I just don't stress. He feeds when he's hungry. If I try to give him more than he wants I end up wearing it anyway! Lol!
M2T - Oh no, poor you. Sounds like you need another of those bubba free nights! I do hope Maddy gets sorted out soon. Gigglepots sounds like fun. That's the sort of thing we do with bubs at swimming. Say hi to BI if you bump into her again. I assume she's going well.
Ushas, you gotta love them hey. I think my husband is just loveably dumb when it comes to dealing with stuff like this. He just doesn't use his noggin :rolleyes:. I hope this shocking weather today buggers off so you have a great day.
TT, :flowerz: 12 weeks already!
Kel, Zane feeds like that too and he is a big boy, the only problem I am having is that he now won't drink enough during the day so he is drinking it at night :(. Nah no workies for me. By the time we paid childcare it wouldn't be worth me working.
lana, is she due for a growth spurt? Sounds like it to me, but also hubby and I have definately noticed Zane has a preference for me which kinda breaks hubbys heart but he soon gets over it when DD is all over him and she was the same as a bub. You gotta post a pic of your puppy :D
lilahh, all this talk of mcns lately has got me interested. What type did you get?
M2T, big :hugs: for ya. I agree with Ushas, you need some time out. Is there any way you could work something out with your folks to get some sort of break even once a fortnight? Having 2 young bubs 24/7 without backup would just be full on.
well we have a busy weekend, going to a birthday party today, then we are going to Aqwa (indoor aquarium thingy) tommorrow for DD's 2nd Birthday and I can't wait, I haven't been there for years.
lanaamelia
15-08-2009, 16:00
kel & cheerio, i hear ya about the whole MEN part.... when ever my other half is talking to bubs and i ask him a question and last night and he ignored me. i got really anoyed at him and yelled at him n told him not to ignore me when i am talking to him... yes keep talkin to amelia but just listen to what i am saying and it takes to seconds to stop talking tto her and answer me.... other then that not alot has bugged me, just want him to spend atleast an hour with her before he goes to work so i can get showered and dressed ready for the day, oh and some time at night when he gets home, she loves it when he talks and plays with her, just doesnt happen enough..
cheerio: she is 11 weeks old so im not sure but i guess she could be having a growth spurt. yea amelia is like that on certain days.loves me more :P ill try post a piccie up soon, he is such a cute pup and some times a big sook, more then amelia is haha
M2T, yes you need another night out, i hope things all work out soon and fingers crossed no weight loss..
i have been so slack havent had amelia weighed properly since she was 6 wks, i weighed her with me on our home scales and she was around abouts 5 n a half kgs maybe closer to 6 kgs but i will try take her on monday, im sure we con pop past the health clinic and just have her weighed.
we had a HUGE scare today, ill try to make this short..
we brought glass display cabnets for loungre room, put one up and then decided we wanted to add more shelves so it had to be taken apart again so my partner started to take it apart, its laying on the floor behind miss amelia in her walker facing the lounge, im of to go to the loo i get in there and her a bang so i slide the door open and run out thinking i was going to see glass smashed every where but none, instead i run out to amelia screaming her head of cos the base of the cabnet fell over (no bigger then a mag but 3x thicker) and had knocked the walker n scared the **** out of her, it really scared her it took me 10 min to calm her down and get her in a happy mood again, my heart jumped out of my chest.. from now on ill have amelia on the oppisite side of the room when we are doing things like that.. just so nothing nocks the walker or her rocker.. anyways she is back to her happy lil self, just getting sooky cos she is hungry so thats my cue.. sorry i just had to write it all down and share with someone..
i hope everyone else is doing good
Haven't read the end of the last thread, so sorry for anything I've missed.
Not much happening in this house, Trip's are 12 weeks on sunday & thats about it.
Are you sure? Cruz is 12 weeks tomorrow & they were born before him.
Sorry about the 'me' post!! Will do personals a bit later!!!
:hugs: hope they settle for you & :fingerscrossed: for a weight gain.
lilahh, all this talk of mcns lately has got me interested. What type did you get?
oohh, I'll happily talk to you about cloth & tell you how wonderful & easy they are :D
Well I've taken Cruz to the chiro twice now & am amazed at the differece. Will be going a few more times as he has a bit that needs fixing.
I have some exciting weight gain news to share. At almost 12 weeks, Cruz is a big 5.2kgs :smiliedance: I'm so happy. Chais was born at the same gestation & at this age was only 4kgs, so I'm hoping we won't have the same weight gain issues again.
Hope you're all having a great weekend :wave:
TripleTime
15-08-2009, 18:20
Are you sure? Cruz is 12 weeks tomorrow & they were born before him.
NO, it was last weekend.:laughing:
Can you tell my brain's fried? I must have still been in hospital when he was born. I remember his birth announcement on LAP & thinking "holy cow, that was quick!"
two cheeky smurfs
15-08-2009, 20:07
i went to my parents today for a bbq and mum saw how tired i was and offered to have them tonight which is fantastic!! shes such an amazing women!!!
She also had a talk to me and has actually offered to have them both once a fortnight on Friday nights for me and the other week have one so i can have a night with just one baby for one on one time with them which i great!!!
lana, that would have scared the bajesus out of me,lucky all was ok.
kotakai, would love to hear what you use. My main problem with getting into MCN's is the initial outlay. Have been looking at the cheapy overseas ones do you know if they are any good? Great news about the weight gain!
TT, LOL, glad you got your weeks sorted. Its funny how much a fried brain can blur one week into the next!
mummy2twins, thats fantastic news! And its good cos they'll love it just as much as you will. So so happy to hear this :hugs:
lanaamelia
15-08-2009, 22:26
i went to my parents today for a bbq and mum saw how tired i was and offered to have them tonight which is fantastic!! shes such an amazing women!!!
She also had a talk to me and has actually offered to have them both once a fortnight on Friday nights for me and the other week have one so i can have a night with just one baby for one on one time with them which i great!!!
YAY :smiliedance: thats heaps good gotta love mums :p. its great your mum is happy to help you out every week, i think its agreat opp to bond with one bubba at a time, and the other week to have a night out or just a night in.
lana, that would have scared the bajesus out of me,lucky all was ok.
oh yes my heart just about jumped out my chest it really freaked me out
TT-:laughing: the bad news is your brain is never the same again.
M2T- That's such great news. You've gotta love mums. I think the 1 on 1 is such a great idea also.
Cheerio- I haven't used those ones. I would be quite wary to be honest. Like a lot of things, you get what you pay for. With MCN, the most important factor for me is absorbancy, as I need them to last 3-4 hours with no leaks. The cheap ones wouldn't have as many layers in them, so I doubt they would last that long. Both my boys are big wetters. I would just slowly buy them as you can afford them. If you get OSFM ones, they'll last till toilet training, so you'll save a fortune on sposies. After hearing rave reviews, I've ordered some bambooty ones, which are pretty cheap & always have good specials. They should arrive next week, so can't wait to see. I'd suggest also looking at the trial packs you can get. You need to try a few different ones to see what types you prefer & what works for your DS, as every bub is different due to shape, amount they wet etc. You can always sell or swap the ones that don't work. Also, if you don't mind 2nd hand, you can pick some up pretty cheap. There's also a lady that offers a service where you can borrow some for a couple of weeks to try them out.
Well my DS has a footy gala day today & it's lovely & :sunshine:, so should be a great day. Bye :wave:
Your mum deserves a medal. She's awesome M2T! Aren't you lucky to have someone so thoughtful and supportive of the great job you're doing!
Cheerio - that'sw the reason I went with the issy bear ones... They do a good trial pack of 6 with 8 inserts for around $150 and they are one size fits all as well. I'm off to have a look at Bambooty though! I use the MCns at home during the day, but if we're out and I need to change him he goes into disposables and he wears disposables at night. I'm keen to get more MCNs though.
KyKy:
Im using mostly Baby Beehinds. They are fairly exy but excellent. I got half sized and half one size fits most. The OSFM are more exy because you have to buy the nappy and a cover, but I had DS in one last night for 10 hours and had no leaks. I have 15 MCNs, was planning to do daytime use and night time sposies, but after the excellent performance of my BBH last night Im going to go full cloth, day and night. For 15 MCNs plus a nighttime booster and some other extras I paid $366. I plan to have 20 MCNs for fulltime use washing every second day (I hope thats enough!!), so will need to spend about another $150. I think the estimate for sposies is $3500 per child from birth to TT. If you take good care of your MCNs, then you should be able to use them for two kiddies from birth to TT. Im doing it for cost and environmental reasons.
I agree with Kotakai, you get what you pay for, although Im new to cloth!
Ushas: How was the christening!?
Happy birthday Cruz and the Triplets! :flowerz:
Lana: Wow thats scary! Glad Amelia is okay!\
Hi everyone else:wave: Im in a house of sick people here. :(
greeneyes81
16-08-2009, 13:10
Hi all :wave: Hope everyone is doing well, I am thinking about trying cloth nappies too but really need something affordable and easy too use, even something that has a one size fits most option would be great too..anyone got any tips?
Well things have been rather blah alot lately here. I got trinity an ergobaby carrier the other day because she was too squished in her bubba moe sling and she hated it..thankgod I got my money back .Id really love to be able to carry her because Im finding Im not bonding with her as much as I like. Its making me really sad :(I didnt successfully breastfeed, now she doesnt like to be carried around in a sling/carrier I feel like all my bonding options have gone out the window.I am so tired all the time,extremely snappy and my poor dog is afraid of me and have recently got an infection down there which caused a massive boil and made me feel rather feverish so off to hospital I went last night..fun fun. I had my MIL over from wa the last 2 weeks and the first thing she said about Trinity was "oh shes alot smaller than I thought, shes so petite,tiny" I thought she wouldve said something alot nicer considering it was the first time she had ever seen her grand daughter!! I mean Trinity has put on 3 kilos since her birth weight of 2.530kilos, and now shes in the average weight range for her age at 12 weeks grrrr...Hmmm what else, oh my dad is coming to stay from WA for 5 days so that should be interesting, last time he stayed for 9 days and I was tearing my hair out. It will be good for him to see his grand daughter for the first time tho. Wow that sounds like the most negative post, but thats whats happening around here at the moment..
Greeneyes - That's awful about you hospy trip. I do hope it's all better now. I took my baby carrier back to the shop and bought a bubba moe sling instead haha... The carrier was just so awkward to use, and was almost impossible to fit on properly without two people. We don't use the sling a lot but it's good for the football cause we can carry him and he can snuggle in and stay warm.
Well we went to the Dome for brunch today and Kian decided he would wake up when the food arrived. So I sat him in one of their high chairs. First time in a high chair for him cause they tend to be too big and he wobbles a bit, but I wadded his blanky around him and he loved it! Was very proud of himself! And I got to eat two-handed!!! Yey!
Lilahh - the Christening was wonderful... I've posted some piccies in the Naming Day/Christening thread. But here's one of him in his gown...
http://i369.photobucket.com/albums/oo137/Ushas99/100_1627.jpg
and one of him sleeping with a girl!!! I know they start so young these days! Hahaha. Poor things were so tired after a busy day!
http://i369.photobucket.com/albums/oo137/Ushas99/100_1629.jpg
greeneyes81
17-08-2009, 09:15
Ushas Kian looks so gorgeous in his christening gown! Wouldve been a special day for you and your family :)
Lilahh Hope your not getting sick too, hope your family feels better soon :hugs:
Ok heres a question for mums who have got bubs 12 weeks or older..when they go thru their 12-13 week growth spurt do they feed alot and stay awake alot???? Trinity has decided not not wanna sleep during the day even tho shes super tired and rubbing her eyes, she is clingy and feeding like crazy!! I thought yesterday was a one off day but nope today is exactly the same...
:yes: yup, lots of fun huh. Hope its over quickly for you. I got my Ergo a few weeks back and it is awesome! I carried Z in it all day yesterday and my back didn't hurt one bit. Sorry to hear you are having a hard time. My only advice would be that bonding isn't necessarily constant contact but looking at each other, giggling together, spending lots of time on the floor together and playing. I was a bit like that with my DD and I did breastfeed. I was so freakin exhausted and in shock at how much my world got rocked I just wasn't enjoying her. But it did get better and it will for you too :hugs::hugs::hugs:
Ushas, the photos are gorgeous. Geez, picking up chicks already, what a smooth operator!
Thanks for the info on cloth bums gals, I will be checking it out.
My DD is 2 today, I can't believe how fast it has gone, feels like she was my chubba bubbah just yesterday. Well off to play with her new toys while Zane is sleeping. Hope you have a great day!
Can't believe my DD is 12 weeks today. I'll have to take her to the clinic some time soon to see if she's any longer lol. I weighed her on my home scales and she's just under 6 kilos. No wonder my arms get a workout.
Went to my aunt's 60th birthday on Sat night..bub was fantastic despite having a bad day with colic. She looked gorgeous in her purple outfit...i'm so over pink lol..The music kept waking her up but once we got her home she still slept for 8 hrs.
Speaking of which she's asleep now so time for me to get some lunch will catch you later.
lanaamelia
17-08-2009, 15:53
hey all just a quick post, might be able to get back soon do do personals
11 weeks old yesturday so popped into the health clinic today and weighed and measured her ourselves and she is 5.54 kgs with bonds wondersuit on and semi wet nappy and she is now 56cm long..
a cause for concern, amelia is going threw a growth spurt and jumped up to 200ml a feed so this morn she had 200ml but then at her next feed only drank 60ml and that was about 3 n half hours later which understandable for break but then she didnt drink anything at her next feed just feel asleep, then at about 3.30 she drank 130ml, so out of the whole day she has only had about 400ml... should i be worried??? im not sure if this is because of the growth spurt.. any advice???
two cheeky smurfs
17-08-2009, 17:23
hey all just a quick post, might be able to get back soon do do personals
11 weeks old yesturday so popped into the health clinic today and weighed and measured her ourselves and she is 5.54 kgs with bonds wondersuit on and semi wet nappy and she is now 56cm long..
a cause for concern, amelia is going threw a growth spurt and jumped up to 200ml a feed so this morn she had 200ml but then at her next feed only drank 60ml and that was about 3 n half hours later which understandable for break but then she didnt drink anything at her next feed just feel asleep, then at about 3.30 she drank 130ml, so out of the whole day she has only had about 400ml... should i be worried??? im not sure if this is because of the growth spurt.. any advice???
if she only drinks that again tomorrow and you are still worried maybe take her to the doc... Maddy only drink between 450ml and 600ml a day and has for quite some time...
AFM- went to get Maddy weighed again today and she had once again lost weight... she lost 150g.. im not happy... i just dont know what to do
Going back to the paed tomorrow and hopefully we can get her putting on weight again as this is really making me worried... she is 15 weeks on wed and losing weight.. has anyone had this happen before?
lanaamelia
17-08-2009, 17:31
[QUOTE=mummy2twins;4000551]if she only drinks that again tomorrow and you are still worried maybe take her to the doc... Maddy only drink between 450ml and 600ml a day and has for quite some time...
QUOTE]
yea thats what i am thinking, im just worried she will end up dehydrated, so when she wakes up again i will try give her some water and if she takes that then try formula but if she doesnt drink it then i think ill take her to the doc..
how much does maddy weigh at 15 weeks??
amelia is 11 weeks and weighed her today and is 5.54kgs with her cloths on and a semi wet nappy
two cheeky smurfs
17-08-2009, 17:53
[QUOTE=mummy2twins;4000551]if she only drinks that again tomorrow and you are still worried maybe take her to the doc... Maddy only drink between 450ml and 600ml a day and has for quite some time...
QUOTE]
yea thats what i am thinking, im just worried she will end up dehydrated, so when she wakes up again i will try give her some water and if she takes that then try formula but if she doesnt drink it then i think ill take her to the doc..
how much does maddy weigh at 15 weeks??
amelia is 11 weeks and weighed her today and is 5.54kgs with her cloths on and a semi wet nappy
Maddy at 15 weeks weighs 4.90kgs
M2T, sorry to hear about Maddy's loss. Well at least one good thing is she is close to four months so the Pead will prolly get you to start solids maybe? You never know she may be a power eater and chunk it on for ya. Let us know how you go tomorrow.
Lana, I agree with M2T but I've also heard of bubs going through major growth spurts with feeding frenzies and then sleeping alot the day after. Neither of mine do the sleep part of the growth spurt though :rolleyes:. Hopefully she will settle better with feeding tomorrow.
Lingo, I was like that with pink too and its my fave colour. Now I am over blue :D
Ushas – loving the christening photos .. im very impressed you have had him christened already .. i have only just ordered my thankyou cards for all the pressies and have only contemplated what’s involved in the christening .. im thinking November ahaha oh dear! But he looks adorable and masculine which im always scared of what boys would look like in the gowns.
12 week spurt – maybe thats what Jax is going through? Thankfully he is back to his full 200mls per feed (well 180ml at the least) thinking he might of had a sore throat or something like that cos i have had a cold/cough that i cant seem to kick ... Jax has also slept like a champ today but last night and the night before he was shocking. My theory is this ... the more they sleep during the day (meaning they aren’t overtired) means when they wake in the night its easier for them to put themselves back to sleep ?? i will try this tonight ... it could backfire and he might have had too much sleep and not want to sleep at all!!!
Clothies – i am so impressed by all you ladies doing the cloth/mcns .. i really wanted to at the beginning (think they look adorable/savings/enviro friendly) but honestly cant see myself doing it yet .. for no reason in particular, just not yet.
M2T – like Cheerio said .. hopefully the paed will be able to help and maybe start on solids. I have been reading up on baby led weaning (not that it is going to happen anytime) but i really have no idea on milestones/when to start solids etc ... but it is quite interesting stuff. Hopefully your appt goes well goodluck xxx
AFM – not too much to report just curious on how you ladies feed your bubs as in: do you wait for them to cry, wait for another cue? Or do it 3/4hourly ... ive sort of been doing the waiting for Jax to do this weird cough thing and then check the time is between 3 and 4 hours .. just curious how others ‘know’ when to feed.
lanaamelia
17-08-2009, 20:16
cheerio: amelia has been sleeping all day n not feeding at all, ive managed to get her to drink 200ml since 6. but still a lil worried..
fingers crossed its just all part of a growth spurt
TripleTime
17-08-2009, 20:18
Lana - The formula for a full term little one is 120mL x their weight devided by the amount of feeds per day.
So for Amelia it would be 120mL x 5.54 devided by 6 (4 hourly feeds) = 110.8mL per feed. If she keeps it up for a couple of days 7 you arent winning head to the Dr.
Happened in this house about 2 weeks ago & lasted 3 days. All was good, they gained about 500grams each.
Lauren - Not to good about Maddy. Hope she gains soon. Maybe ask the pead. about calorie loading.
Kel - Feeds in this house go by the clock every 4 hours. Most of the time someone will beet us by 15 minutes. Each of them have a different cry for when they are hungry. If they dont wake, they get woken up. Most we can go is 5 hours.
AFM - Aleah has an appointment with the Derm. tomorrow at freaking 9am!! I know im good but im not wonder woman. Thats a 5am get up.
Thanks for the kind comments on the Christening. I'm Catholic so it was considered quite late getting him Baptised as you usually have it done ASAP. There really wasn't too much to do. The Priest organises the church bit, I just had to let him know when and who was involved etc... He also organised the candle and stole. My parents were awesome and my older Brother all helped with food and we held the after ceremony bit at mum and dad's.
Invites - I found these adorable 'It's a Boy' announcement cards which were blank inside and printed out the invite bit and glued it in. I usually make all my own cards and invites but these days the time just isn't there!
I made the cake and a load of food. And that was pretty much it for organisation.
Thanks Kel - everyone comments that there is no way Kian could ever be mistaken for a girl, as he looks very much like a boy. So yeah it was good that he didn't look 'girlie' in his gown.
M2T - Good luck with the paed hon! Fingers crossed things get better for Maddy.
Kian is doing well weight-wise. He's a big, healthy chubba bubba. He's alert and developing well. Very strong and gaining lots of new skills. But does anyone else have a really spewy bub, or had a really spewy bub? He has milk throughout the day quite happily and then brings loads and loads back up almost every time. I sometimes wonder how he is getting any nutrients at all! It's usually quite watery at first then later it'll be more mucusy. He was on Karicare Gold initially, but now he's on Karicare Original.
It'll sound weird but... I'm not really concerned about him health-wise as he is gaining weight steadily and as I said, bright and alert and developing really well. And there isn't anything about him that would suggest he's uncomfortable or anything. In fact he thinks it's absolutley hilarious! But it's the constantly cleaning him up and going through bibs at a rate of knots all the time and every outfit being dirtied before we even get out of the house. Mine and his!
If I felt he was suffering in any way or having a sore tummy or anything I'd be straight to the doctors, but he's not! And we're due to go in a week or so anyway for his next set of needles.
I just wondered what anybody else did that might have helped.
Ushas, you made that cake! How clever are you!!! :yelclap:.
Zane is a happy chucker. I had noticed though over the last few weeks the volume of spewness has definately decreased and I am washing less bibs and changing less outfits. You could try a thickener but if you and he aren't that worried about it I would just leave it, it should settle down in the next few months.
Lana, what is your mumtuition telling you? If you are worried definately go to the Doctors. I would be worried too but I am a worry wart at the best of times. Is she still weeing/pooing ok and happy when awake and no fever or anything? Just remember Mothers intuition is the strongest out there.
kel, Zane is a 3-4 hourly. But, in the morning he will only drink about 120ml so he demands his next bottle 2.5 hours later and will drink 200ml and its 3-4 hourly usually after that.
TT, wow I am bustin it getting my two out the door by 9 in the mornings and I get everything organised the night before all I have to do is breakfast/bottle, change and in the car. Have fun!
TripleTime
17-08-2009, 22:27
Im lucky if im dressed by 9am. Going to be interesting. My sister has the week of school so she's coming too. Ive got everything ready to go, just need to pore bottles, pack the car & we're gone.
Thanks Cheerio - I might give the thickener a go and see what happens. It really is driving me nuts. And it's things like I bought him a jolly jumper today and he LOVES it! But because I daren't allow his tummy to get shaken after a feed he isn't getting much time to play with some things. So we'll try it and see what happens. Cause his spewiness isn't decreasing!
two cheeky smurfs
18-08-2009, 11:22
Just got back from the paed and we have decided with a lot of discussion that we are going to try her on solids... she's 3 and a half months now and shes showing all the ready signs so i think its time!!
The paed gave her a bit and she loved it... she opened her mouth ready for it to go in which was great!! so fingers crossed she starts putting the weight back on!!
Going back to get her weighed in a week!!
yey Maddy! Good luck with it!
wow M2T thats great news. She must definately be ready opening her mouth, how cute!
Wow, heaps to catch up on!
M2T - sounds like Maddy is going to do much better on the solids. I hope she pigs out for you!
Ushas - That christening gown was gorgeous. And I also worry about shaking my little one up, he gets a bit sicky too. It doesn't bother him either, even when he manages to cover himself in it. lol
TT - thanks for posting that info re formula amounts. My little man had been having 180ml x 5 feeds a day but now he is sleeping through he is not always getting his late feed. But going by your formula for it, he's having 30ml extra a feed so is in fact getting what he needs all up, so I shouldn't worry?
kel - Joshua lets me know when it's time for a feed, he gets very fidgety and cranky and if I don't get that bottle in his mouth in time then he gets very vocal!
Not much to happening here. The boy is growing, he's getting weighed tomorrow and I'm hoping he's hit 5kg. He'll be 11 weeks on Friday. Went and did a bit of shopping at the Big W baby sale yesterday, got some good stuff. May have ventured elsewhere and bought more too! Hard to stop once you get started. Heh.
I notice the cloth nappy talk and that's something that I would like to do but I'm probably going to have to return to work full time soon and worry I wouldn't have the time to put into all the cleaning etc. Not sure?
TripleTime
18-08-2009, 15:34
Kimmie - Its a guide, if his taking the extra 30 willingly. All is good. Our 3 are on 180mL per kg per day. Tahlia has no where near what she should. James has more & Aleah is right on. As long as nappies are wet, people are sleeping & happy. Everything is A OK.
Thanks for that TT, he's definitely sleeping well, happy and alert when awake and plenty of wet nappies. He's really only offered 180ml as per measurement guide on the tin but he drinks it more often than not.
lana, how is Amelia doing today? Hope things have settled down for you.
TT, how'd the appointment go this morning?
Kimmie, I didn't dare go to the sale I just knew I would spend too much. What did you get?
Zane is now in his own room tonight. We have just found he is stirring more and more through the night so hopefully he will settle down a bit. I so hope so anyway!
two cheeky smurfs
19-08-2009, 11:19
hi everyone!! Man i had a shocker of a night last night... both babies woke every hour and the max amount of sleep i got non broken was 10-15mins!! Im stuffed.... exhausted and just want to go to bed!!!!
How is everyone else going?
M2T - poor you! I hope you've given them a stern talking to!
Kimmie - Thanks. His Nan in the UK made it. It is so beautiful. Well I took Cheerio's advice and am doing the thickener and he's been much, much less spewy! So yey! Even managed to put him in the Jolly Jumper without a major eruption!
Ok looking for more advice... What do you do for an almost 15 week old who has a bad cold. He has a really snotty (but loose and ok with breathing) nose and an irritating little cough. I really don't want to be rushing off to the docs everytime he sneezes etc... It is just a cold. I bought some Baby Balsam for his chest and other than that am just trying to keep him warm, plenty of fluids and sleep. I'm staying home as much as possible (which is killing me!) so he's not out in the weather. Any other tips? He is happy enough and active enough most of the time but you can tell he feels a bit crappy.
Ushas: Not sure hon sounds like you are doing the right thing. DS has the same, he is so whingy and upset. :(
Ok looking for more advice... What do you do for an almost 15 week old who has a bad cold. He has a really snotty (but loose and ok with breathing) nose and an irritating little cough. I really don't want to be rushing off to the docs everytime he sneezes etc... It is just a cold. I bought some Baby Balsam for his chest and other than that am just trying to keep him warm, plenty of fluids and sleep. I'm staying home as much as possible (which is killing me!) so he's not out in the weather. Any other tips? He is happy enough and active enough most of the time but you can tell he feels a bit crappy.
Fees (not sure on spelling) Little Noses, you can get it for the chemist. Totally grose sucky outy thing that clears the nose easily. Otherwise panadol. Oooh and if you have a vapouriser they really help for breathing during the night. Poor lil poppet, hope he feels better soon.
ETA, Just read about him breathing ok so you may not need what I suggested after all. Sounds like you are doing all the right things! Good job Mum! Not sure what you can do for the dog though LOL
lanaamelia
19-08-2009, 17:00
Lana - The formula for a full term little one is 120mL x their weight devided by the amount of feeds per day.
So for Amelia it would be 120mL x 5.54 devided by 6 (4 hourly feeds) = 110.8mL per feed. If she keeps it up for a couple of days 7 you arent winning head to the Dr.
Happened in this house about 2 weeks ago & lasted 3 days. All was good, they gained about 500grams each.
thanks i dont quiet get all the maths stuff but i know wat yur saying.
Lana, what is your mumtuition telling you? If you are worried definately go to the Doctors. I would be worried too but I am a worry wart at the best of times. Is she still weeing/pooing ok and happy when awake and no fever or anything? Just remember Mothers intuition is the strongest out there.
at first i was just thinking she is just having an off day n then i really started to worry, things are looking much better now though, she has had really good feeds since monday, so it seems like she just had an upset tummy, poos n wees fine n really happy, except last night i was a lil stressed n had some baby blues n bubs could sense it so she was crabby but DP looked after her so i could shower n relax a lil.
Just got back from the paed and we have decided with a lot of discussion that we are going to try her on solids... she's 3 and a half months now and shes showing all the ready signs so i think its time!!
The paed gave her a bit and she loved it... she opened her mouth ready for it to go in which was great!! so fingers crossed she starts putting the weight back on!!
Going back to get her weighed in a week!!
thats amazing, good luck i hope it works for her. amelia is also showing all the signs so we are going to start her in a week or two.
are you just going to start with rice cereal??
just a lil update, i was in the nursery thread n saw all thesse beautiful nurserys, so i have decided i am actually going to paint n decorate amelias room. we arent putting her in for another month so plenty of time to air out etc.... cant wait for final outcome so excited
TripleTime
19-08-2009, 19:17
Ushes - Other than what your already doing, cut an onion in half & stick it near his head.
Can also make up some saline & squirt it down his snoz. He'll cough & splutter but it will all come out.
DS loves it, not.
AFM - DS stopped breathing on me twice yesterday afternoon. So we spent the night in hospital.
TT, how scary! Hope everything is okay now, thinking of you.
Oh TT I hope everything is alright with him now! How terrifying!
Thanks for the advice ladies. He is a bit more snuffly this evening so I may have to look into the squirty thing. Although I have an amazingly strong stomach, except when it comes to stuff coming out of noses. Makes me heave something awful. So really not wanting to go there! Lol! His cough is the worst bit. And it keeps waking him up. Poor bubba, I hate seeing him poorly.
TT - That's scary! Hope everything is ok now?
Cheerio - I got a combo of toys and bits and pieces so he's got a little variety, but mostly I got him a heap of clothes to see him through for hopefully the next few months. Lots of cute outfits out there. Also got him one of those little fold out sofas and his first pair of shoes, some dunlops! lol Oh, and some slippers that my girlfriend said looked like old man slippers. Heh. How did Zane go in his own room?
M2T - Hope you managed to get a nap in today and I have my fingers crossed that they sleep better tonight for you! With any luck they are exhausted from the broken sleep themselves.
Ushas - glad the thickener seems to be working. I'll have to get some more for Joshua too, it just seems to be getting worse every day now. Poor Dad copped it tonight. Hope that cold clears up for Kian! Funny you saying about the strong stomach and hating stuff coming out of noses. My girlfriend and I were talking about our kids and how amazed we are that getting wee'd on and poo'd on etc just doesn't bother us but before kids it would have horrified us! lol
Lilahh - Hope Lincoln gets better soon for you.
lanaamelia - have fun with the nursery, post some piccies when it's done!
Well, it looks like Joshua has decided he doesn't want to sleep through anymore. 3.30am wake up now, so I'm going to try a dream feed and see what that does for him. That's about it really here. I'm starting a getting to know your bubs 6 week thing next week, I think it's sort of like a mums n bubs thing but will be interesting to see what that is about. At the least, it will get me out of the house.
Hope everyone is having a good night.
Eboniesmum
19-08-2009, 23:44
Hi everyone, sorry i've been missing for so long....not much time for posting these days. Still think of you all every day though :)
TT- is everything ok now? did the dr's say what was wrong? My dd always stopped breathing in her sleep, the dr's said she has sleep apnea which has now improved alot
Ushas - how is Kian now?
M2T - hope you have been getting some sleep
Hope everyone else is well, i promise i'll try and stay up to date from now, i'm always sayin that but never seems to happen although i have been getting more organised lately and starting to get into a routine so will see what happens lol.
Not much happening with us. Lucas got weighed and measured on the 12th at 13 weeks and 4 days and weighed 6.7kg's and is 62cm long so he is still growing well surprisingly.
In laws are totally driving me insane lately but thank god they have just gone on holidays so we wont see them for about 4 weeks yippeeeeeeeeeeee
If i had time the other day you all would of copped a huge vent about them from me lol.
Just cant stand them at the moment, they keep bossing me around and treating me like i dont know how to look after my family oh and they treat Lucas like a frigan doll......oh no i better stop now or this post will never end hehehe
Anyway take care everyone, hope your bubs are all doing well
Hi all,,,
Sorry i have been MIA for awhile. i have been trying to organize a wedding and trying to keep breastfeeding, so i've been told lots of rest! not really working but hey, well keep trying!
Im now on motilium to increase my supply, the health nurse thinks cassie has a UTI. And she has woken with horrible nappy rash!
TT- i hope everything is ok now, what did they say happend?
Ushas- I use little fess nose spray and they sucker thing i think it works, also if you have a vaporiser put it in bubs room with just water no smelly stuff.
MTT- i hope your gettin more sleep and bubs are being nice now!
I will try and keep up now,,, last time i came on here were were back in the mmb#1!!!
Hope every1 is well!
TripleTime
20-08-2009, 11:26
We think its reflux related. But silent reflux not spewy reflux, make sense?
He has a probe down his nose that stops just above the gut to measure the acid levels, that have been sitting at 3.4 for an hour & 2 hours after a feed. Should be 5.6 between feeds.
He hasnt had a moment since tuesday arvo & O2 levels were 99 & 100% on tuesday night. Go back today to get the results, im pretty sure i know what it is.
Kristy - If Lucas' reflux plays up, ask if they can do a PH probe. If they already havent. Also, if you dont mind me asking. Who's Lucas' Pead.?
Hi everyone! I haven't been on for AGES!!!! SO sorry about that. We've been really busy.
All is going really well. Allira is still feeding great and sleeping 10 hours a night. DS is pretty good, although this last week he has decided some days that 5.30am is a fun time to wake up. Hopefully that finishes soon.
I can't believe Allira is 3 months old now. It's gone too fast.
We've been taking her to an osteo fortnightly as she's gota pretty decent flat spot (which has been getting better since the trips to the osteo) and we are hoping that it fixes her spewing. SHe's an extremely chucky bub, but she's a happy chucker just like her brother was. She's a real pudgy little girl too. hehe. Very cute.
I hope you are all going well! Sorry I haven't been keeping up. Hopefully I will be able to again soon... just been hectic here lately.
take care.
TT: How scary. Glad to hear James is doing much better. :yelclap:
EM, Lozie, Herchy: Hi! Welcome back! Hope your bubbas are behaving. :flowerz:
Just wanted to say for those of you with reflux & sleep probs, since I've been taking Cruz to the chiro, these have improved out of sight. I can't believe the change in him.
Since Cruz was due in July, I also chat in that thread, & one of the girls recommended a wind mixture that a chemist makes & will post aus wide. Lots of girls tried it & raved about it, so I gave it a go & agree that it is fantastic!!!!! Not sure if I can post details, but if any of your bubs are having wind probs & nothing is working, PM me & I'll give you the details.
Hi EM, Loz and Herchy!
Well thanks for all the advice ladies. Kian isn't any better, if anything he's more snuffly than ever. But he's still happy as ever and giggling and playing. Even chattier than usual. He has had me in stitches because of how similar some of his sounds are to real words, and they seem to come out when it's appropriate too! Highly amusing! He's busy arguing with Daddy about not going to bed atm...
TripleTime
21-08-2009, 07:04
Update on J-Man.
He has silent reflux with episodes lasting up to an hour. His on 10mg of Losec once daily & AR S26. Has a review next month, has also picked up another Pead (now has 2) & a dietitian.
In short Hospital discharge summary says, his an alert, happy boy who's 56cm long, 4.11kg, who has acid reflux with PH of 3.8.
Does anyone know if you can get mini tins of formula? I want to try Lincoln on a bottle at night time and see if that makes my life easier. But I don't want to buy a whole tin in case he hates it/makes him sick/I don't end up giving him one every night.
Also whats the deal with different types? Should I just buy the most expensive because it will be the best?
TIA lovely mummies :wave:
Lilahh - S26 do small packets in their Gold range I think and their AR. They also do ready made up tetra packs. It really depends on your individual bub. I started Kian on Karicare gold but he had issues with bringing up the wind, so we swapped to Karicare original which was brilliant for his wind but he kept vomiting back up... so now I'm Using Karicare AR with Thickener and his wind is good and he's vomiting heaps less. (Hard to tell cause he's so full of cold at the moment) So it really just depends on the baby.
Not sure about other brands but I am certain I read somewhere about sample packs... just don't know where!
OMG I had a small miracle!
Zane who has been sleeping during the day like absolute rubbish all week is asleep :smiliedance:
wanna know how that happened....I wrapped him, arms out of course but thats it, I just wrapped him. Soooo excited just had to share, so hope I haven't just poxed myself by saying it out loud...but then writing isn't the same as saying really is it :D
Yey Zane! Good lad!
Thanks Ushas, all went downhill shortly after, apparently typing is declaring and I did pox myself :rolleyes: I am not saying a blardy word now about sleeping habits anymore :no:
Eboniesmum
21-08-2009, 22:27
We think its reflux related. But silent reflux not spewy reflux, make sense?
He has a probe down his nose that stops just above the gut to measure the acid levels, that have been sitting at 3.4 for an hour & 2 hours after a feed. Should be 5.6 between feeds.
He hasnt had a moment since tuesday arvo & O2 levels were 99 & 100% on tuesday night. Go back today to get the results, im pretty sure i know what it is.
Kristy - If Lucas' reflux plays up, ask if they can do a PH probe. If they already havent. Also, if you dont mind me asking. Who's Lucas' Pead.?
very interesting.....i never knew reflux could affect breathing like that......my dd had severe reflux so i wonder if the sleep apnea had something to do with the reflux
Nope they havent done the probe. Didnt know anything about that test, i will definately ask about it though. Lucas' Paed is Dr Michael Lonergan and he is fantastic, absolutely love him and he is soooooooooo good with kids, he has small kids of his own and is fairly young so i guess that helps, he's at newcastle private hospital, not overly expensive either
Dr Mark Lee at JHH paediatrics outpatients seems ok aswell, Lucas seen him once before.
Hi Lillah and Ushas
Lillah regarding the formula have a look around at the chemists cause like i think Ushas said they have sample packs for around $1 each, different chemists have different brands, main ones i seen was Karicare, Nan and S26
Lilahh - My DD has been on S26 and they have stick packs for about $5.50( no wastage) and popper types ready to drink for about $2. I use these in the nappy bag when I travel as an extra standby. Obviously other brands prob. have their versions too. I get mine at Coles.
Ushas - Glad to hear the thickener is working for Kian. Isabelle starting being really sick several weeks ago and that's when we discovered she had reflux. I added thickener to the S26 (have tins full so wasnt buying extra if didn't need it.) She's been doing really well since..I only add 1/2 to 2/3 of what it says though. After a while try a few bottles without it and you'll know if prob. is better or still there.
All is well here bub still sleeping 10-12hrs most nights. Had a few bad days with colic but she is busy winning over her nan who is here for a few days. I can't believe she is 3 mths old on Tuesday.:yelclap:
lanaamelia
24-08-2009, 09:43
Does anyone know if you can get mini tins of formula? I want to try Lincoln on a bottle at night time and see if that makes my life easier. But I don't want to buy a whole tin in case he hates it/makes him sick/I don't end up giving him one every night.
Also whats the deal with different types? Should I just buy the most expensive because it will be the best?
TIA lovely mummies :wave:
hey not sure about small tins but like the others have said you can get the sachets, ive only seen them in S26.
my family has always used hienz nurture.i use gold. been great for all of us.decent price too,
but all bubs a different so maybe find someone you may know who is using formula and maybe ask to pinch sum :P try them out, he might not like particular formulas.
on a completly diff note, i have no idea were to post this but i hope someone could help me here..
we have a reverce cycle air con, wall mount, with the box dooflaky outside, and the stupid neighbours cats keep doing their business on it and when i have the heater on our house ends up smelling like cat ****, any one have ANY ideas as to how i can stop them from doing their business right there???
ive been told to put pepper there?? does that really work??
on a completly diff note, i have no idea were to post this but i hope someone could help me here..
we have a reverce cycle air con, wall mount, with the box dooflaky outside, and the stupid neighbours cats keep doing their business on it and when i have the heater on our house ends up smelling like cat ****, any one have ANY ideas as to how i can stop them from doing their business right there???
ive been told to put pepper there?? does that really work??
Try leaving citrus peel on the unit or spraying it with citrus spray. Hopefully this will deter the cats and make your house smell nice :)
Eboniesmum
24-08-2009, 12:29
i've heard pepper and citrus aswell so maybe give it a try.
We have cats doing their business on our front verandah and in our garden and it comes right through the house, its the worst smell ever.....i have once sprayed a citrus scenred spray and wipe on my verandah and now i think about it the cat smell went for a while
lanaamelia
24-08-2009, 13:13
awww kool thanks, i will deffinitly try both n see what happens :D:D
two cheeky smurfs
24-08-2009, 13:24
hi everyone!!
Havent had time to read thorugh yet but will do very soon!!
Maddy is doing well on solids... had them both weighed today and Maddison is now 5.72kilos which means she has put on weight YAY!! And Lucas (which was a good shock for me) is now heavier than Maddison weighing in at 5.82kilos!!! Im so proud of them both!!!
Eboniesmum
24-08-2009, 13:27
way to go Maddy and Lucas and good job Lauren for feeding them up
Fantastic news about Maddy Lauren! And Lucas...well done bubs!
Thanks for the tip Lingo. I'll try again in a week or two as he's still a bit spewy but I think it's down to him not being very well at the moment.
I got hold of some Fess today and did the aspirator thingy and actually didn't feel sick. Worked quite effectively.
Eeewww...to the cats thing Lana... Blardy hate cats!!!! Especially as they belong to other people but seem to prefer doing their business anywhere but home!
Kylie - you should have whispered it!!! Lol!
M2T - fantastic news on Maddy and Lucas. :thumbsup:
lanaameilia - hope one of those suggestions work cause the cat thing sounds awful.
it just dawned on me, this time last year i would of just been pregnant(very early) :) bring a little tear to my eye ;) .. cant believe how much things have changed (for the better)
Lana, hope the cat pee thing gets sorted. I would say citronella as well, let us know if it works.
Ushas, Glad the fess stuff didn't freak you out too much. Also, I read in the april thread (yes I was being nosey lol) and one of the ladies mentioned that vapourisers shoudn't be used on kids under 2 so I take that tip back! I am going to ask my own Doctor but it kinda freaked me out that I had recommended something that isn't recommended iykwim. How is Kian going is he getting any better? Is that doggy of yours letting you get some sleep?
m2t, fantastic news about Maddy & Lucas. Go Maddy, podge up for mummy!
MegACT, long time no hear, how are you going?
Lingo, sounds like all is good with you and you have a champ sleeper too. I am sooo jealous of all you gals with good sleepers!
Eboniesmum, How are things with Lucas now? Hope all is good.
Herchy, good to hear from you! How is your leg now?
TT, hope all is well with the trips, has the silent reflux settled down?
Kimmie, saw on FB that your little guy isn't sleeping so hot during the day. Just wondered if his night sleeps were still good?
All is pretty good here, apart from the crap sleep part of course. I go in for my new fandangle pacemaker on Wednesday and I know this is prolly sick but I am soooo looking forward to it. Not the op part but the sleep part!!! I have been instructed to rest for at least a few days so I will actually get some sleep :smiliedance:. So hubby will be doing all the getting up and if he has to work my mum will be here helping. Kinda like a forced break really.
Anyhoo, after this promise I will stop whinging about lack of sleep as I will be 100% well and my old bouncy self again.
Cheerio - I must admit, his sleeps at night are pretty good. At the worst it's midnight through to 6am. He was doing longer but was starting to wake up at 3am so I've changed it a little so he now has a later feed just before I go to bed. I just worry he isn't getting enough during the day, he seems to sleep for an hour here or there and that's about it. I've barely put him down for a sleep and he's ready to get back up!
Hope it all goes well on Wednesday and you can enjoy your break and catch up on some sleep.
Been trying to keep up but wow there is alot of Chat going on in here!
Just came in to say My sister is pregnant! due MAY next year!!! :D she is in my wedding party in feb so we need to find a new dress! but im excited!!! Im ordering a PINK one for her! she already has a blue one! plus if she has a pink one she has all the right season clothes from cassie!
Cheerio- vaporisers can be used in kids under 2 just with no smelly stuff in it,,, just water, its meant to help, my dr and health nurse said to do it for cassie when she was sick.
M2T- YAY maddy and lucas!!
Well i gotta get ready for mummys group!
Eboniesmum
25-08-2009, 10:46
kel - yep me too, i found out on the 29th of august last year that i was about 4 weeks pregnant, its gone so fast.
cheerio - Lucas is going good except his teeth are peeing him off. Good luck with your op, hope everything goes well.
Hello everyone hope everyone is well. We are all going ok although i slipped over on saturday night and ended up in the hospital, the dr thinks i may have broken my wrist but there was too much swelling to see the xray clearly so they put a half cast on my arm to immobilise it and i go back on monday for another xray then i see the fracture clinic to get the xray results, if its broken they'll put a full cast on but if not then its probably just soft tissue damage or something.
If its broken and its the bone they think it is then its going to take 10 - 16 weeks to heal which is really going to suck.
two cheeky smurfs
25-08-2009, 13:30
just wrote really long post and lost it... man that sucks! anyway ill do it sorter this time!!
kel87- i would have been pregnant at this time too but didnt find out til end of sep!!
Cheerio- goodluck with your op and rest up hun!!
lozie2- congratz to yor sister!! Hope mummy's group went well :-)
EM- sorry to hear about your wrist! hope you not in too much pain!
AFM- its my 25th birthday tomorrow and on one hand im looking forward to it as its the first with my twins but on the other hand not even my family will be here and my friends all live in Murray Bridge but ill get over it!!
Not much sleep here... up on average about 8 times a night with either Maddy or Lucas (usually Maddy though) This may sound awful but im looking forward to Sat night as my mumhas them for the night... i just want sleep!!!
Hope everyone else is going well!
Eboniesmum
25-08-2009, 14:10
that does suck, i hate when that happens.
Thanks, my pain has gotten a little better since saturday thank god but on saturday i wished i was in labour rather then going through what i was going through lol
Eboniesmum
25-08-2009, 14:30
it didnt post all my post grrrrrrrrrrrr
i also said
happy 25th for tomorrow.....shame your family and friends cant be there but hopefully havin your 2 gorgeous bubs with you will make up for it
you must be exhausted you poor bugger.....it doesnt sound awful....you deserve the break.....hope you have a good sleep while they are with your mum....dont worry about anything other then sleep, once you've had a good sleep then do housework or whatever you need to.
MegACT, long time no hear, how are you going?
Hello :) Thanks for the shout out lol. I actually frequent the forums to check up on how everyone is doing, im just a bit shy when it comes to posting :o Everything is going really well here. Kobe was born 2.5weeks early so I actually ended up having an April bub but I still feel like a May Mum at heart. I am really loving being a Mum and feel so lucky to have a great baby! Kobe is so happy all the time and a few weeks back started sleeping through 8pm to 8am and also does a big 3-5hr block sleep during the day. I'm still breastfeeding although I do give Kobe a bottle before I put him down for his two sleeps as I found he wasnt sleeping very long and waking up hungry, its been working really well and DH gets to bond with him when giving him his night bottle.
My days/weeks seem to go so quickly these days with appointments and catch-ups and playgroup, much quicker than my working week.
I must run as Kobe is just waking up from his sleep. I hope all goes well with your stay in hospital and you have a quick recovery. Enjoy the extra sleep!
TripleTime
25-08-2009, 15:51
J-Man is going well, got a point where he refused AR formula so we swapped him to Gold
& thickener. Much happier boy.
Aleah has an appointment on friday about her neck, hanging for that one. Been causing her alot of pain.
happybirthday mummy2twins. Even though your family can't be there, I hope you have a great day & get lots of cuddles from your beautiful bubs.
Well Cruz is 3 months old now. Still unsettled sometimes in the days, but the nights are getting better. Here's a couple of new photos.
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/Cruz2-1-1.jpg
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/Cruz1-1-1.jpg
Hello :) Thanks for the shout out lol.
I just wanted to say I love your DS's name. It was on my list but DP said no :(
J-Man is going well, got a point where he refused AR formula so we swapped him to Gold
& thickener. Much happier boy.
Aleah has an appointment on friday about her neck, hanging for that one. Been causing her alot of pain.
Glad to hear James is doing better. good luck for A on Friday, hope you get some answers.
Hi to everyone else :wave: hope you're having a great week.
I meant to post this photo too.
I've had all the kids hands & feet done on the day they turned 1 month old. It's amazing the difference in size between the 4 of them at the same age :laughing:
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/handsfeet-1.jpg
Sorry about the dodgy photo. Very hard to get no glare.
HeidiLee
26-08-2009, 12:04
Kotakai - I had our sons done at that stage as well. When I got it back about 8 weeks later I couldnt believe how much he had grown! So cute :)
lanaamelia
26-08-2009, 12:07
Well Cruz is 3 months old now. Still unsettled sometimes in the days, but the nights are getting better. Here's a couple of new photos.
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/Cruz2-1-1.jpg
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/Cruz1-1-1.jpg
awww this is just gorgeous, does he love the tummy time?? amelia absolutly loves tummy time.
I meant to post this photo too.
I've had all the kids hands & feet done on the day they turned 1 month old. It's amazing the difference in size between the 4 of them at the same age :laughing:
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/handsfeet-1.jpg
Sorry about the dodgy photo. Very hard to get no glare.
awww thats awesome i have just brought the kit myself, hoping to do it tonight, id like to have them done at 3 months, 6 months, 12 months so on so forth....
happy birthday mummy 2 twins hope your having a great day x
Cheerio - Thinking of you xxxx Hope it's all going well.
EM - Bad news about the wrist, poor you! Make sure you take it easy.
M2T - Happy birthday to you... I won't make you put up with my singing though... Have a fab one and sleep well Saturday! You deserve it.
Loz and Cheerio - Thanks for the vaporiser advice...I don't have one but may need to get one. Kian is much improved now. I'm the one who is full of cold and feels crappy now! Lol! The dog is also much batter behaved now!
two cheeky smurfs
27-08-2009, 12:03
thanks for the birthday wishes :-)
I had a very good and speical suprise in the afternoon yesterday... a really close friend of mine that ive known so long suprised me and visited!! He also got gifts for me from the twins which i was a huge and wonderful suprise!! I guess being a single mum i didnt expect it!!!
It was great to see him and he's coming down again in 2 weeks which im looking forward to!!!
He was awsome with the twins... they loved him... always smiling and giggling at him which he loved too!!
lately ive had so many nights with only about 2 hours broken sleep but seeing a friend who can cheer you up and make you laugh makes it not so hard to deal with...i feel refreashed even though i hav been getting no sleep!!
Eboniesmum
27-08-2009, 12:41
TT - good to hear James is doing better, hope everything goes ok with Aleah
Kotakai - Cruz is gorgeous
Ushas - sure is bad news, this plaster sucks lol, as for taking it easy i'm trying but thats not an easy task for me, i can never sit still, im always cleaning something lol.
Hope you dont have a cold for too long, scks when a cold just keeps hangin around. Vaporisers are great even for the bigger kids like us mums hehe
M2T - that would have been the best surprise ever, so glad you have wonderful friends. Hope you get some decent sleep soon.
Eboniesmum
27-08-2009, 12:49
hello everyone......got some exciting news well exciting for me anyway lol
Lucas rolled over for the first time today, he went from back to belly then back to his back then to belly again and back to his back
For the last week or two he has been rolling almost completely to his belly but only getting his bottom half all the way over while the top half was still twisted on his side
I thought he was going to be lazy and not roll over for ages
He loves his jolly jumper aswell and he jumps so high, he's done so many new things this week, growing way too fast :(
Sorry for the brag, just a little excited hehe
hope everyone is well
I just wanted to say I love your DS's name. It was on my list but DP said no :(
Thankyou :) His full name is Jakobe Max. We picked Jakobe as it is the name of a singer from a band we both like although his name is spelt Jacoby. And Max is DH's Pop's name.
Lucky for me we agreed straight away on both names we had picked for a boy or a girl.
hello everyone......got some exciting news well exciting for me anyway lol
Woohoo, well done Lucas :smiliedance:
Eboniesmum
27-08-2009, 15:38
Hi again everyone.
Just wondering who if anyone has their bub on solids and what do you give them?
I started Lucas 2 days ago because about a week ago we put his bottles up to 180ml from 150ml which is appropriate for a 4 month old (he's on noeocate) but he still seemed to be wanting to feed every 3 hours and also instead of dropping down to 5 bottles a day he was still wanting at least 6 so i thought well maybe he needs a bit more then just bottles now.
We gave him 2 teaspoons of pears after his bottle which he seemed to like and since then he's had it a few more times and i notice after he has a bottle and a few teaspoons of food he has a really good sleep.
two cheeky smurfs
27-08-2009, 16:41
EM- i have started Maddy on solids... just given her pear at the moment and has had no reaction to that so the paed has said its ok to on Sunday to try try her with a different food!!! he has given me a few ideas!!
Kotakai: What a cutie!! :flowerz:
m2t: Glad you are feeling better! Happy birthday. happybirthday
Ushas: Hope you feel better soon. :( Glad Kian is doing much better. :wave:
EM: Yay for Lucas! What a clever boy. :thumbsup:
AFM, Tried Lincoln in his own room last night to see if that made him sleep longer. It didn't. Still feeding every 2-3 hours. :sleeping:
The MCHN said I should get him on solids ASAP because he is such a big, hungry boy and BM isn't going to tide him over during the night. He is 7240gms at 11.5 weeks. I bought some sachets of lactose free formula instead, Im not keen on starting solids before 5 months. Im going to try formula before bed tomorrow night and see if that gives me some hours snoozing. He still settles well after every night feed, but Im getting up to him 2-5 times a night for feeds and its tiring. Usually its at least 3 times a night.
Anyway blah blah Im just whinging cause Im tired. I thought he would be sleeping longer at 12 weeks.
two cheeky smurfs
27-08-2009, 18:24
Hi everyone!!
A really close friend of mine was killed in a car accident today so i may be absent in here for a few days...
Hope everyone is well :-) xoxo
TripleTime
27-08-2009, 18:37
Oh Lauren, thats not good at all. Take all the time you need.
:hugs: Lauren. I'm very sorry to hear that.
So sorry to hear about your friend Lauren xox We are all here for you
Oh Lauren that's so sad. Such a rollercoaster for you the last few days. Big Hugs!!
EM - Lucas is awesome!!!! Wow! I think Kian is waiting for me to do it for him! Lazy lump! Lol! Kian has jumped from 5 bottles a day having between 100-180ml to just inhaling everything in sight. He is downing 220ml almost every time and is still on 5 bottles a day! And he often gets cross when it runs out! I have tried him on some baby rice and he'll have a spoonful, but anymore than that and he spits it back out. Mind you it is completely gross. So maybe he'd do better with pear. Although I'm not forcing the issue. I go back and try again every couple of days, but if he's not ready then that's cool.
HeidiLee
28-08-2009, 04:40
Ushas - while we are down to 4 x 220ml bottles the little man is looking for more occassionally so I tried the rice cereal without much success. He swallows it but screws up his face so I am thinking he doesnt like the taste (and after tasting it myself I dont blame him). Am thinking of trying pumpkin. Am I right in that we should do veggies before fruit so they dont get used to the sweet taste?
Eboniesmum
28-08-2009, 08:50
EM- i have started Maddy on solids... just given her pear at the moment and has had no reaction to that so the paed has said its ok to on Sunday to try try her with a different food!!! he has given me a few ideas!!
How long has Maddy been on solids, just wondering how long i should have him on pears before trying something else. With his allergies i dont want to upset his tummy, i have to stay clear of custards and stuff like that because of his milk protein allergy so my next try will be vegies, i've bought all the heinz organic baby food and some rafferts garden brand all natural food for now as my DD had the same probs as Lucas and she had to have organic food
EM: Yay for Lucas! What a clever boy. :thumbsup:
AFM, Tried Lincoln in his own room last night to see if that made him sleep longer. It didn't. Still feeding every 2-3 hours. :sleeping:
The MCHN said I should get him on solids ASAP because he is such a big, hungry boy and BM isn't going to tide him over during the night. He is 7240gms at 11.5 weeks. I bought some sachets of lactose free formula instead, Im not keen on starting solids before 5 months. Im going to try formula before bed tomorrow night and see if that gives me some hours snoozing. He still settles well after every night feed, but Im getting up to him 2-5 times a night for feeds and its tiring. Usually its at least 3 times a night.
Anyway blah blah Im just whinging cause Im tired. I thought he would be sleeping longer at 12 weeks.
Wow he is a big boy, i thought Lucas was big hehe, good to have a big baby though. Lucas was 6700 grams and 62 cm long at 13 weeks and 4 days.
Hope the formula works for you so you get some sleep
Hi everyone!!
A really close friend of mine was killed in a car accident today so i may be absent in here for a few days...
Hope everyone is well :-) xoxo
OMG i'm so sorry Lauren.
EM - Lucas is awesome!!!! Wow! I think Kian is waiting for me to do it for him! Lazy lump! Lol! Kian has jumped from 5 bottles a day having between 100-180ml to just inhaling everything in sight. He is downing 220ml almost every time and is still on 5 bottles a day! And he often gets cross when it runs out! I have tried him on some baby rice and he'll have a spoonful, but anymore than that and he spits it back out. Mind you it is completely gross. So maybe he'd do better with pear. Although I'm not forcing the issue. I go back and try again every couple of days, but if he's not ready then that's cool.
Lol, surprised me that Lucas rolled over so early, he doesnt stop rolling now and he's trying to bloody crawl lol. Sounds like Kian is wanting food aswell just not the rice lol. Pears are a good start, i was told cause its the least likely to give them a bad reaction or they are less like to be allergic to it or something. I guess its all trial and error to see what they do and dont like.
Ushas - while we are down to 4 x 220ml bottles the little man is looking for more occassionally so I tried the rice cereal without much success. He swallows it but screws up his face so I am thinking he doesnt like the taste (and after tasting it myself I dont blame him). Am thinking of trying pumpkin. Am I right in that we should do veggies before fruit so they dont get used to the sweet taste?
not sure about trying the vegies before fruit, i never heard that before...oops hope Lucas will still like vegies lol.
I normally would make the vegies myself for the kids and just buy the jars of fruit but with my wrist like it is and while we are still in all the food trialling stage i'm just going to buy jars of vegies.
two cheeky smurfs
28-08-2009, 09:29
EM- Maddy has been on solids for a week... my paed said to wait a week to a week and a half to try something new! Other people may say diff i dont know!!
Thanks everyone for your kind words... going to see the family of my friend today :-(
Eboniesmum
28-08-2009, 09:34
ok thanks.
Can i ask what happened with the accident? did your friend have kids or anything? it wan't the one just north of sydney was it? that was horrible
you dont have to answer or talk about it.
My cousin, her husband and their 3 kids were killed in a car accident 11 years ago, the youngest kid was 4, it was so sad
two cheeky smurfs
28-08-2009, 10:03
Yeah he left behind 3 kids... his wife died of cancer a year ago...
no it was in SA... he was picking two of his kids up from his parents and someone in the other lane was overtaking and didnt get over in time... two were killed in the other car as well
Eboniesmum
28-08-2009, 10:09
OMG that is awful, them poor kids
No idea Heidi... It sounds like most start on pears, asnd pumpkin is quite sweet anyway. I need to have a look through the feeding section I think.
M2T - It's too, too sad! Those poor kiddies...
Found this info on the feeding info bit on this site, about introducing solids...
when to start feeding solids
http://www.bubhub.com.au/images/blankspace.gif
There are a number of signs that your baby will give you when they are ready to start solids - such as showing an interest in food, chewing when you eat in front of them and the disappearance of the 'extrusion reflex'. This reflex causes babies to put their tongue forward and upwards when feeding, as if sucking, and prevents baby from taking food from a spoon. Current research indicates that, ideally, babies should be breastfed exclusively for the first six months before introducing solids. There have also been indications that starting babies on solids at too young an age can lead to food intolerances - usually caused because the baby's gut is not mature enough to digest certain foods. For further advice, speak to your child health nurse or GP.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/images/blankspace.gif
start with rice cereal, mixed as directed on the packet. Once your baby has been eating this satisfactorily for a couple of weeks, you can start to introduce other foods
introduce foods one at a time wait a couple of days before introducing another one so that you can isolate any adverse reactions
start with vegetables, sweeter tasting fruits tend to be favoured over vegetables if fruits are introduced first
never leave your baby alone with food - babies can choke on food and drink
don't add extra salt or sugar - a baby's taste is more sensitive than an adult's and salt and sugar are not required. Salt in excess can be harmful.
don't offer fried foods
So yeah I'm just going to take it really easy with the solids. He's taking a bit of a spoonful but then pushing out with his tongue after that, so we'll stick to the litre of milk he's going through each day for now.:D We've got our CHN 4 mth appt and his needles with the GP next Tuesday so I'll have a chat to them then.
Eboniesmum
28-08-2009, 11:18
thanks for that ushas. Very interesting.
Although I dont really do anything by the book lol naughty me, i'll probably stick with pear and when he is used to that i'll try vegies, i did that wih my dd and her fave food now is vegies so lets hope Lucas is the same. I started dd on solids at 3 months, with her i didnt bother with rice cereal either due to her allergies so im guessing Lucas will be the same and unable to have rice cereal.
At the moment Lucas doesnt want the bottle he only wants solids lol
Yeah well M2T had it suggested that Maddy started on pears didn't she? So I guess It's one of those things where there's so much different conflicting advice you just need to go with what you think is best for your own bubba. Besides it's not as if pears are the sweetest fruit around is it? And some vegies are just as sweet, pumpkin, sweet potato etc... Maybe I should statrt Kian on onions and lemon hahahahahahah... Only Joking!!!!! I must admit this is the first time as a first time mum that I've felt completely unsure of what to do. But he's not starving so I guess we're ok! Lol!
Eboniesmum
28-08-2009, 12:31
yeah she did. Yep alot of conflicting advice, makes parenting so hard, i think thats why i have always gone with my own instincts on things. Nope they sure aren't, pears are far from sweet lol. Yeah thats right there is alot of sweet vegies so i guess if we start the kids on fruit and then they dont like vegies we could always offer them sweet potato and pumpkin lol. Hahahahaha i'm sure Kian would just love that.
Yeah some things are tricky when trying to work out what to do, i totally couldnt remember how much solids to start them off on but looked it up on the net. Thats true if he's not starving then all is good lol
TripleTime
28-08-2009, 16:24
Aleah had another appointment with the Derm today. Her neck is causing her so many problems its not funny. We're now talking about having it removed :smiliedance:
I wanted that in the first place so it didnt end up like this. Derm is going to ring the surgeons (who were both mine at one point) & see what they say. Have an U/S next month to see how far into her neck it is.
On the solids thing, id go a week at a time to give their bellies time to either live it for hate it.
Be christmas before we even look at starting solids.
Oh poor Aleah, it's just not fair when they have to suffer is it? Hope you get the result you want for her TT.
Just on the solids question... This site has good down-to-earth info...
http://www.cyh.com/HealthTopics/HealthTopicDetails.aspx?p=114&np=302&id=1487
Eboniesmum
29-08-2009, 14:09
thanks for that ushas im just looking now
TripleTime
29-08-2009, 16:07
Oh poor Aleah, it's just not fair when they have to suffer is it? Hope you get the result you want for her TT.
Not at all. Its not just her suffering, its the rest of us as well.
Not fair at all :no:
I know these should be in the pics thread but... how cool would it be if they made adult versions of some kids toys, like these...:yelclap:
The Excersaucer...
http://i369.photobucket.com/albums/oo137/Ushas99/100_1592.jpg
Jolly jumper
http://i369.photobucket.com/albums/oo137/Ushas99/100_1649.jpg
TripleTime
29-08-2009, 19:07
So thats what an Excersaucer is. Still not a fan but each to their own.
Ushas- he's gorgeous! Looks like he's having heaps of fun.
I had a reality check of how different my prems are to my 2 full termers today :( I was going through some old photos, & found photos of my older 2 around this age in the jolly jumper, in a similar thing to your exersauser & in the walker. They were so big & strong looking. Chais wasn't ready for any of those things till around 6 or 7 months & at 3 months, Cruz still just lays there & looks like a newborn.
Oh they all get there in their own time, don't they? But they do all get there eventually. And regardless of when they do, it's wonderful and amazing to watch them do it.
TT - I got it because Kian is mad keen on standing up all the time. He has such strong legs and loves testing them out. He can use the strength in his legs to turn the seat section. And he's really developed his ability to grasp things and is completely transfixed by the different toys at different times. But he only stays in it for a max of about 10-15 minutes at a time. He gets tired after that. He likes it when I sit on the floor and play with the toys with him, and it has a good area for putting other favourite toys where he can grab them as well. He's started liking the 'throwing them on the floor for mummy to pick up and hand back' thing.
As you say, each to their own though. :)
Eboniesmum
30-08-2009, 07:33
Ushas - Kian looks like he loves his jolly jumper as much as Lucas does, we have the jolly jumper mat aswell but havent used it yet as Lucas is still so spewy.
I'm getting one of those excersaucer things, was going to buy one but a friend has one she said she'll lend to me.
Lucas loves to stand aswell and has unbelievably strong legs. Everytime i take him to a dr, CHN or the paed they all comment on how active and strong he is lol. Lucas gets so tired after about 15 mins in his jolly jumper so i assume he will be the same in the excersaucer. He also sleeps very well after his jolly jumper time which mummy loves lol
Ushas- I've been meaning to ask, how do you pronounce Kian's name? Like it rhymes with Ryan or like key-arn?
TripleTime
30-08-2009, 14:13
Oh they all get there in their own time, don't they? But they do all get there eventually. And regardless of when they do, it's wonderful and amazing to watch them do it.
TT - I got it because Kian is mad keen on standing up all the time. He has such strong legs and loves testing them out. He can use the strength in his legs to turn the seat section. And he's really developed his ability to grasp things and is completely transfixed by the different toys at different times. But he only stays in it for a max of about 10-15 minutes at a time. He gets tired after that. He likes it when I sit on the floor and play with the toys with him, and it has a good area for putting other favourite toys where he can grab them as well. He's started liking the 'throwing them on the floor for mummy to pick up and hand back' thing.
As you say, each to their own though. :)
Fair enough. We cant have anything like it. Much to my mother disappointment.
Eboniesmum
30-08-2009, 15:03
Ushas- I've been meaning to ask, how do you pronounce Kian's name? Like it rhymes with Ryan or like key-arn?
funny you ask that cause i was wondering that myself, i always thought that maybe it was pronounced "ky - ann"
will have to wait for ushas to reply.
Fair enough. We cant have anything like it. Much to my mother disappointment.
How come you can't have one?
TripleTime
30-08-2009, 16:02
How come you can't have one?
Kids dont have the strength to hold them self's & we cant push them, have to wait for them to be ready. So they get to use the furniture.
TripleTime
30-08-2009, 17:24
Question - When did everyone's LO get the head control thing down pat?
two cheeky smurfs
30-08-2009, 17:28
hi everyone... it has been a very eventful weekend here... went to murray bridge to visit the family of my friend and that was very sad...
I have been having trouble with Maddison feeding again and found out she has secondary lactose intollerance... at least i know what the problem is now!!
Apparently it can be caused by a baby getting quite sick which Maddy did about a month ago!!! and the doc also said it could only be temporary!!!
TripleTime
30-08-2009, 18:10
Lauren - Glad you know what it is now. Have you tried her on LF formula?
My older 2 were around 8 weeks & Chais was around 4-5 months. This is a photo of him at 5 mths sitting in the fisher price jumperoo (which he loooved, if anyone is looking to get anything like this, I can highly recommend) & he's holding his head well. He was too short to reach the ground though, even on the smallest setting, so we used to put phone books under there for him to stand on :laughing:
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/P1190699.jpg
Cruz is 14 weeks today, & if I'm holding him up against my shoulder burping him, he can hold his head, but I wouldn't say he has total control just yet.
mummy2twins- I hope you can get everything sorted.
Ok ladies, it's pronounced Key-un...
My hubby and I (as most of you know) are completely mad Manchester United fans... Hubby's favourite player was Roy Keane, Keane being the anglicised version of the Irish name Cian or Kian. His middle name is David after my all time favourite player, Beckham. So there you are... Anyone else with interesting (or completely tragic) reasons for their kiddies names?
Anyway...
TT - They'll get their in their own good time. Your little bubbas are completely, wonderful little miracles who have come so far so quickly already!!! They're gorgeous little superstars!
Kian was holding his head with good control by about 6/7 weeks... I remember him being good at the CHN appt at the time and she was quite impressed.
I try to only buy toys/items for Kian which are appropriate to his level of development. The first bigger purchase I got was a Kick n Go gym (I think it was called) because he had such strong legs and loved having a good kick. It's like a Teddy's head which is attached to a ball and when he kicks it the head nods and music plays. That was at about 2 months.
Then at almost 3 months he got his Bumbo because he just wants to be sat up all the time. He likes sitting in it with me when I'm cooking tea or prepariong bottles etc...
Then at 3 and a half months I got the Excersaucer because I had been looking for something solid that would allow him to stand and use his legs because he always wants to be stood up now. And I got the Jolly Jumper around the same time for the same reasons. They also give him a bit of independence and he'll happily play in them for a bit in my craft room with me so I can do something for myself (in very small doses) but have him by my side.
Ushas I love his name. When DP & I were around 17 & talking about the names of our future kids (as you do :laughing:) we both loved Kiahn(pron. key-arn) When we were picking names for Chais, I still loved it, but DP didn't want it anymore.
Cruz's middle name is David, but that's cause it's DP's name.
I try to only buy toys/items for Kian which are appropriate to his level of development. The first bigger purchase I got was a Kick n Go gym (I think it was called) because he had such strong legs and loved having a good kick. It's like a Teddy's head which is attached to a ball and when he kicks it the head nods and music plays. That was at about 2 months.
That is another fantastic toy :yes: You can see it in the side of my photo above. Chais absolutely loved it, as did all the mother's group kids when they came over.
TT: DS is 12 weeks today, and sounds the same as Cruz. He can hold his head up okay when on my shoulder, but still needs help. He has a gigantic noggan. Also speaking of name pronunciations, is your DD1 pronounced Ahhh-le-ah or A-leah? (With a short or long a?)
M2T: Im so sad to hear of you friend. My prayers are with his family and friends. :hugs: Glad to hear you got a diagnosis for Maddy! I agree with TT, try LF formula? DS has LF, not because he is lactose intolerant but because I am and he seems to get windy from my BM when I eat too much dairy.
Ushas: Lincoln is Lincoln cause we like the name! But my family call him Abe because they think I named him after the president. :p Karl is my dad's name. We were talking about no #2's name last night... we both like Theodore! I cant believe we are already talking about no2.
Kian is a great name, I always thought it was pronounced Ki-un, as you said it is. It sounds very Irish.
Kota: Chais is so cute! He looks just like Cruz!
Morning everyone else! DS had another bottle of formula last night, he drank 120mls at 7pm and self settled himself! Yay! Then we dreamfed 70mls of EBM at 10.30pm. He woke at 1.30pm and 4.30pm for feeds. Im so glad I only had to get up twice to him. Sometimes its as much as 5 times per night.
Im going to try him on 240mls at 7pm tonight and a 170mls EBM dreamfeed to try to get more sleep out of him. My flow completely drops off around 7pm and I can only get about 30mls per hour out. No wonder DS wakes so often at night, he is hungry. Hopefully 240mls of formula with the dreamfeed topup will get him through the night.
He is 12 weeks today. I wish he would SLEEP THROUGH already!!!
Oh forgot to add, anyone got any plans for Father's Day?
And a question: does anyones bub have their hands shoved in their mouths every second of the day when awake? Doesn't matter if DS is full and not tired, he just loves jamming his hands in his mouth.
two cheeky smurfs
31-08-2009, 09:16
ushas- i choose my names for the twins because i liked them... no other reason!! lol
Lilahh- yes both my little ones have their hands in their most most of the day whether they are hungry or not!!! LOL!!!
For those of you that have suggested LF... yeah thats what i have her on now!!! :-)
TT:
Morning everyone else! DS had another bottle of formula last night, he drank 120mls at 7pm and self settled himself! Yay! Then we dreamfed 70mls of EBM at 10.30pm. He woke at 1.30pm and 4.30pm for feeds. Im so glad I only had to get up twice to him. Sometimes its as much as 5 times per night.
Im going to try him on 240mls at 7pm tonight and a 170mls EBM dreamfeed to try to get more sleep out of him. My flow completely drops off around 7pm and I can only get about 30mls per hour out. No wonder DS wakes so often at night, he is hungry. Hopefully 240mls of formula with the dreamfeed topup will get him through the night.
He is 12 weeks today. I wish he would SLEEP THROUGH already!!!
And a question: does anyones bub have their hands shoved in their mouths every second of the day when awake? Doesn't matter if DS is full and not tired, he just loves jamming his hands in his mouth.
Yay for progress!! I'm glad Lincoln is taking to formula, hopefully it will help long-term. I BF Kobe all the way up until he is ready for bed and then he drinks 250ml of formula for his last feed of the night. Its also nice to have a break from feeding in the evening, i get DH to feed him while i cook dinner.
We are just having a quiet one on Sunday. I will probably cook DH breakfast like he did for Mothers' Day.
Kobe always has his hands in his mouth and anything else he can get his hands on. Its part of their development.
Regarding DS's name, Jakobe is named after the lead singer of Papa Roach (a band DH and I love) although the singer's name is spelt Jacoby. Kobe's middle name is Max which is DH's Pops name. Unfortunately Jakobe always gets called Jacob, which i was trying to avoid, i now wish I had used a 'y' instead of an 'e'. We usually just call him Kobe Max to avoid confusion.
TripleTime
31-08-2009, 09:38
TT: DS is 12 weeks today, and sounds the same as Cruz. He can hold his head up okay when on my shoulder, but still needs help. He has a gigantic noggan. Also speaking of name pronunciations, is your DD1 pronounced Ahhh-le-ah or A-leah? (With a short or long a?)
Aleah is pronounced Ah-lee-ah. Basically Leah with an A on the front.
Yay for progress!! I'm glad Lincoln is taking to formula, hopefully it will help long-term.
His face the first time I fed it to him was one of pure disgust. He tried to gag it back up!! But I persisted and started to BF him and then slipped the bottle in and he didn't seem to notice. :devil6:
Aleah is pronounced Ah-lee-ah. Basically Leah with an A on the front.
I thought so, just wasn;t sure. V. pretty. :thumbsup:
His face the first time I fed it to him was one of pure disgust. He tried to gag it back up!! But I persisted and started to BF him and then slipped the bottle in and he didn't seem to notice. :devil6:
The things we do! Lol
TripleTime
31-08-2009, 09:59
I thought so, just wasn;t sure. V. pretty. :thumbsup:
Tis very pretty. Goes nicely with Rose. Shame she's such a grub though. Lol. We've had to add 40mL's to her bottles 'cause she ends up wearing it. Feeding her solids is going to be very messy.
Everyone sucks their hands in this house. We're all teething expect for DF. 4 very grumpy people at times.
TT - Joshua is 12 1/2 weeks and he's still a bit wobbly, wouldn't say he has full head control yet.
Lilahh - For Fathers Day, we'll be visiting my Dad during the day and then dinner with DP's family. What about you? Got anything planned? As for the hands, Joshua has his permantly shoved in his mouth. Even when I try to feed him I have remove them.
Ushas - my DP chose Joshua. I had a girls name that I wanted so thought it fair that he pick the boys name. :laughing: The middle name is DP's fathers name.
Had Josh weighed last week and he finally cracked the 5kg - he was 5.06kg. :thumbsup:
On the Fathers Day thing, just wondering what everyone is getting their DP's?
TripleTime
31-08-2009, 12:23
DF's getting a beer hamper & some other stuff for fathers day.
Yes Lilahh, Kian is constantly chewing on his hands, and anything else he can put his hands on!
Thanks Kotakai - Choosing his name was a very long affair! But we love it. I love reading about how people chose names. Those who chose names cause they loved them, I'm so jealous, being a teacher we had a very hard time finding names I liked, Lol! I've never taught a Kian btw... :)
Father's Day - I'm doing lunch for Hubby and I, My mum and Dad, My brother and his wife and son, My other brother and his girlfriend and her parents who are over from Melbourne atm, and two elderly Aunties who are visiting from the UK. I may also ask a friend of mine and her hubby with their new bub. I figure a buffet lunch will have to do as there isn't room for everyone at the table. :) I'm hoping we'll have nice weather so that we can sit outside and maybe do a bbq. Wait and see. We haven't done pressie shopping yet.
Eboniesmum
01-09-2009, 13:58
Lucas was 7-8 weeks old
No plans here for fathers day...im a bit slack lol
and yep lucas constantly has his hand in his mouth, so frustrating sometimes lol.
Eboniesmum
01-09-2009, 14:05
hello everyone, how are you all?
Thankgod spring is finally here....woohoooooooo, looking forward to warmer weather and all these winter illnesses to bugger off.
well i went to the fracture clinic yesterday and my wrist is indeed broken so i'm in plaster for at least another 6 weeks so that sux, At least i got a purple cast i suppose lol.
We have no plans as yet for fathers day but he has his present already except for fathers day stall stuff.
We've got 2 b'day parties to go to the day before fathers day which will be exhausting and my dad lives 500 kilometres away and df's dad just got back from hawaii yesterday so we told him not to come near us for 2 weeks incase he caught some filthy germ like swine flu lol so we might just go out for lunch or do something quiet
hope eveyone is having a good day
two cheeky smurfs
01-09-2009, 21:44
EM im so glad spring is here... its my fav season! love it!! cant wait til when it warms up coz i so want to take the twins in the pool!!! In my town they only start swimming lessons at 6 months.... my parents have a pool but its been way too cold so cant wait for it to warm up!!!
my twins will be 4 months on Sunday... it seems only like yesterday they were born!! its gone too quick!! Had my little ones weighed again today and Lucas has put on 200g in a week!! He's becomming my little chubba bubba!! i love it! Maddison hadnt put on anything but hadnt lost anything either and the middy wasnt too worried so thats good!!
Have my multiples group again next Monday which i am really looking forward to!!
Im so tired and defeated I want to cry. Or start smoking again. Lincoln is 12 weeks old and still wakes every two hours overnight. Everyone keeps telling me he will be doing this till he is 2 years old. Some babies sleep through early and others don't till they are 2+. I feel like I can't do this for one more night let alone 2 years. We've tried formula, dreamfeeds, letting him cry it out, keeping him up later, putting him to bed earlier, sleeping in different rooms, the same room, co-sleeping, letting DP try to settle him, swaddling, not swaddling, using the dummy, everything.
:crying::crying::crying::crying::crying::crying:
I thought it was because he was hungry but all these babies can go 6+ hours between feeds, why can't he?? Maybe we need sleep school.
I really want to go and buy some cigarettes.
:hugs: Lilahh, sleep deprivation is the pits.
My recommendation to you is to try a chiro. Cruz was unsettled, in pain & not sleeping & it was driving me crazy. Since we've been going to the chiro, the reflux is better (still not totally fixed yet though), but he's so much more settled & now sleeps from around 10pm-5am each night. It's like a miracle.
DP & I were both very sceptical about seeing a chiro (DP much more than me) as we'd never been so weren't sure how it could actually help. But after hearing him explain it to me, it makes perfect sense, & the results speak for themselves.
I wish I'd done it with all my kids from the start.
Cruz has a paed appt this afternoon, so I hope I can come back & tell you he's had a big weight gain.
m2t- Yay for Lucas's gain :smiliedance: I'm glad to hear Maddy didn't have a loss & the middie was happy with her.
Kota: Lincoln has already been to an Osteopath, we got his wind/reflux/feeding issues sorted out after one session. It was great. Did nothing for his sleep though. :(
Eboniesmum
02-09-2009, 07:47
M2T- spring is my fave time of year aswell except for getting hayfever but i can put up with that if it means i'm getting nice warm weather. I cant wait to get Lucas in our pool, he loves water...has never cried in the bath....except his 1st bath but that was only for about a minute and that was cos the water was too cold lol.
They start babies in swimming lessons at 6 weeks in NSW.
The twins are growing really well especially Lucas. Good that Maddy didn't lose any weight.
lilahh - oh no you poor thing, i have a friend with a 10 month and she is going through the same thing still.....i hope that Lincoln starts to sleep for you soon....you probably don't want to but have you thought of maybe trying some solids? or maybe give him some formula and put thickener in it at night.
Have you tried a nice warm bath with bedtime bath in it and then put bedtime powder on him when dressing him just before bed??? We give Lucas a feed around 7.30/7.45pm then about 7.45/8 o'clock we bath him and dress him and put him straight in his cot and he puts himself to sleep.
i hope things get better for you soon
lanaamelia
02-09-2009, 10:07
nothing planned for F/D, but about the hand in mouth situation, exact same here, amelia has her hands in her mouth all day, she even tries to get one in while im feeding, which can be a pain some times.
Im so tired and defeated I want to cry. Or start smoking again. Lincoln is 12 weeks old and still wakes every two hours overnight. Everyone keeps telling me he will be doing this till he is 2 years old. Some babies sleep through early and others don't till they are 2+. I feel like I can't do this for one more night let alone 2 years. We've tried formula, dreamfeeds, letting him cry it out, keeping him up later, putting him to bed earlier, sleeping in different rooms, the same room, co-sleeping, letting DP try to settle him, swaddling, not swaddling, using the dummy, everything.
:crying::crying:
I thought it was because he was hungry but all these babies can go 6+ hours between feeds, why can't he?? Maybe we need sleep school.
I really want to go and buy some cigarettes.
awwww poor you, i hope it sorts its self out soon, i can only imagine what your going threw as amelia sleeps from 11 threw till 8.ive been told that after about a week of giving bub a formula bottle every night before bed starts to get them into a routine, i dont know if this works or not but if you havent tried already maybe its worth a shot, i saw you stated you tried formula but not sure how much/long etc just thought id suggest this.
and i hear you about smoking, i wasnt a big smoker before i got pregnant but now im not i tend to crave one every now and then spec when im with my folks as they are both smokers... but dont give in, its not worth it...
good luck and i hope this sleeping business gets sorted.
my last post didnt show up for some reason and i dont remember what it said. but just a lil update on our end, amelias teething is fun and she is loving the custard and rice cereal i give her every now and then.. i think by 5 months she will be on solids once a day every day, its quiet amazing how fast they pick it all up :D:D
hope everyone is doing fine.
only a quickie for me as I have an upset bubbah
Lilahh big big big hugs hun. I know exactly how you feel I had this with Olivia and its awful awful awful awful. Sleep school would be a good idea I think. I learnt soooo much from sleep school but....I have another non sleeper now too :rolleyes: Luckily though he just wants to co-sleep and now its like a friggin miracle he is sleeping through. Thinking of you hun :hugs:
Eboniesmum
03-09-2009, 10:39
morning all, hope everyone is going well.
We are all good here but very busy, we've had people here every afternoon this week giving us quotes for roller shutters and also the guy from the patio place we are getting our entertaining area built by was here yesterday so we could sign contracts but unfortunately by the time it all goes through council and it is built it will be about 10-12 weeks away:(....however finally things are moving along with the reno's woohooooo,
i also have a CT scan tomorrow to check my wrist because it looks like i have broken it in 2 places so they need to make sure.
Hope everyone has a good day
TripleTime
03-09-2009, 11:25
Kristy - Your house sounds like ours did last year.
Trip's are 4 weeks corrected on sunday and weigh in at
James - 4.74kg
Aleah - 4.24kg
Tahlia - 3.89kg
Little pork chops
Goodness Lilahh - You poor, poor thing... I think by this stage I'd definitely be looking at sleep school too hon. You've already tried everything I could think of. Big hugs... I do hope things improve for you soon.
Kian had his needles on Tuesday and was brilliant. Apart from some crying immediately he wasn't bothered by them at all. He also had his CHN appt and weighs in at 7.7kgs and is 64 cms long.
Great progress with the triplets TT! It's amazing to think Tahlia is only a little bit over the same weight as my chubba was when he arrived! (He was 3.75) Happy growing little bubbas!
Usahas - I know what you mean about choosing names when your a teacher. That's the reason why my DD's name is NOT shortened to Izzy but is to Belle.
On the hand thing from the age of about 3 mths they put them in their mouth, yep both of em stuffed in their for their development. It's how they start to learn about texture, size etc.
Isabelle had good head control from about 7/8 weeks..she's 15 weeks on Monday. When laying on her tummy she lifts her head right up and turns it around to check things out..it's like she's doing a neck workout lol.
She's due for her needles on Thurs so will she how she goes..was very good last time..
Ciao
kiwi1984
06-09-2009, 11:14
Hi everyone. Just wondering if I could join? I have a bubba boy who was born on the 30th May, and also have twin boys who are 5.
Bridg.
lanaamelia
06-09-2009, 17:31
Welcome bridg hope to see you around the threads xx Lana
TripleTime
06-09-2009, 17:45
Welcome Bridg.
Nice to see a fellow multiple mum.
two cheeky smurfs
06-09-2009, 18:38
welcome bridg!!!
I cant believe my twins are 4 months today!!! its gone so quick!!!
Have their needles tomorrow... not looking forward to that at all and then straight after have my local multiples group.... will be interesting to see how they go!!
How is everyone else doing?
TripleTime
06-09-2009, 19:33
We have needles on the 19th. Not going to be pretty.
J-Man talks!!! Not words but babbles. He was having a good old chat with my sister today. I was very impressed.
We've all been sick in the last week, James coped it the worse. Poor little dude was so close to being taken to hospital. His getting better though.
Tahlia's up'd her bottle intake, having about 140-160 during at each feed during the day & 60-80 at night.
Still waiting for a date to speak to Aleah's surgeons. Go back to derm next week & has a U/S of her neck on the 24th.
kiwi1984
07-09-2009, 09:47
Triple Time- I take my hat off to u, having 3 bubbas. Sorry to hear the munchkins have been sick. Hopefully they recover quickly.
Mummy2twins- It goes very quickly! Just wait til they start crawling and walking! My 2 never stopped once they got going.
AFU, Well Ive had to change Logans formula (again). He was fluffing with his feeds. I changed him to SMA yesterday, and already he has improved heaps. :fingerscrossed: he continues this way.
TripleTime
07-09-2009, 09:52
Triple Time- I take my hat off to u, having 3 bubbas. Sorry to hear the munchkins have been sick. Hopefully they recover quickly.
Thanks. Kids are getting better. DF went down hill over night.
Had our first scary accident incident this morning...
Kian just loves sitting in his high chair and being able to see all the action around him. I have a cushion in it which curves round him and wedges him solidly into the seat (it's still a bit big otherwise). Hubby put him in it this morning after he got him out of bed, but he didn't lock the tray into position. I was busy making his bottle when there was an almighty crash, hubby yelled the 'F' word and ran over to the chair. Bub was lying on the ground with the tray underneath him.:crying:
He was very lucky and managed not to hurt himself. He fell face forward so didn't bang his head apart from a small red patch on one eyebrow. He cried for all of about 30 seconds then once he'd had a cuddle started giggling.
I so wanted to scream at hubby for not putting the tray on properly, but I couldn't have made him feel any worse than he did.
I guess it's the first of many accidents waiting to happen with an adventurous little man. *sigh* Goes to show just how bouncy a bub can be though.
Anyway, have kept a very close eye on him all day, not allowing him out of my sight. But he is absolutely fine. I think he scared me more than himself.
Not sure if it's linked but Hubby came home early from work feeling ill... He never gets ill. I think he may have worried himself silly all day, till he could come home and see Kian was really okay. So feeling a little run down and worrying himself sick...
Hey all,
Hope everyone is well and those who've been sick are on the mend. I can't believe it is just 12mths ago I found out i was pregnant (i found out on father's day):laughing: and now she's already 15 weeks old..time sure does fly.
Just doing last minute things for her naming day now I know how many people are coming lol..some ppl have no idea what an RSVP date is for.
Ciao:chef:
Couple of questions for those FF. How much are your bubs drinking each day? Cruz has a bottle at 8am, 12pm, 4pm & 8pm & has around 120mls each time. I then try & give him a little bit at 10pm when we go to bed. Sometimes he'll drink around 20mls, but usually he won't have anything. So he has around 500mls give or take each day. He has plenty of wet nappies & is a total chubber, so I'm not worried, just curious what others are drinking. Also how often does your bub poo?
Hi everyone. Just wondering if I could join? I have a bubba boy who was born on the 30th May, and also have twin boys who are 5.
Bridg.
:wave: welcome
OMG! How scary for you. I'm glad Kian's OK. Boy's can be little monkey's. I always said if DS1 gets to 2 without breaking a bone it would be a miracle :laughing: He's just turned 6 & so far so good.
two cheeky smurfs
07-09-2009, 19:18
ushas- that would have been terrifying!! glad he is ok though :-)
kotakai- Lucas has a feed at 7am, 11am, 3pm and 7pm and in his 7am and 7pm feeds he drinks 240ML and in the other feeds he has 180ML!!
Maddison is very different she usually has feeds at 3am, 6am, 10am, 2pm, 5pm and then a top up at about 7-7:30pm. In each bottle i am lucky to get her to drink 80ML so most of the time only has 50-60ML in each bottle!! She's on bit of solids now and seems to be doing a lot better!!
Both my two have between 3 to 5 pooey nappies a day and i have no idea where Maddison's come from!! lol!
TripleTime
07-09-2009, 21:09
Leanne - When James is himself & not sick we offer 180mL during the day & he'll just about all of it if not all. During the night we're lucky to get 80mL into him & has now decided to sleep through could be due to being sick.
Tahlia we offer 120mL, pushing to 100 into her.
Aleah about 140 ever feed.
kiwi1984
07-09-2009, 21:25
Ushas- Im glad DS is ok, and yes it can be scary with their first fall.
kotakai- Logan has just started drinking about 130ml every 3hrs. (That started today). Before today, he would fluff with his bottles. Sometimes drinking only 60ml per bottle.
TT- I hope DH recovers quickly and is back to his old self again.
How did all the other halves enjoy their Fathers Day? Leigh enjoyed his. Had a nice quiet day at home.
Kian drinks anywhere between 200 and 275 mls a feed generally. He has a feed at 7.30ish, 11.30ish, 3ish, 6.30ish and a midnight feed. But sometimes he'll only have 100mls. He is always offered 275ml (which is how much there is once the formula is added to 250mls of water). We're getting to the stage where we are considering dropping the midnight feed and seeing if he'll still sleep through.
And he has one or two pooey nappies a day...
Lingo I know what you mean! I was just saying to a friend on Thursday that it was a year before that I had done the HPT, because it was his wedding that weekend and I wasn't able to join in downing the free bubbly or the lovely seafood on the buffet. And I couldn't get in to the docs to confirm it till the following Tuesday and was going to be majorly peed off if it turned out I wasn't and had missed all the goodies at his wedding! Lol! And then he turned 17 weeks on Saturday... Ahhh!
TripleTime
07-09-2009, 21:58
TT- I hope DH recovers quickly and is back to his old self again.
So do i, man flu sucks big time.
Eboniesmum
08-09-2009, 08:24
Morning all, hope everyone is well
I haven't been in to read or post for a while so i'll post this then i'll go back to read and catch up
I had a CT scan on friday and got the results yesterday, it's my radius thats fractured so i'm in plaster another 4 weeks (i've already been in plaster 2 and a half) thank god its not the scaphoid joint or i would of been in plaster up to 16 weeks and may have needed an operation.
We all have the flu again, i thought now winter was gone we would stop getting sick but i guess not.....this weather doesn't help though, one day its warm the next its cold
Lucas is pretty sick, he started turning blue on me a couple of days ago cause he was coughing and then couldnt breathe, i've been up all night every night since last thursday....i'm totally buggered. I'm taking him to my dr at 3:45 pm today so :fingerscrossed: he doesn't have whooping cough or something.
Anyway gotta go Lucas is crying
Have a good day everyone
Eboniesmum
08-09-2009, 08:59
Kristy - Your house sounds like ours did last year.
Trip's are 4 weeks corrected on sunday and weigh in at
James - 4.74kg
Aleah - 4.24kg
Tahlia - 3.89kg
Little pork chops
Aren't reno's great LOL. Wow good weights, way to go trips
Bridg.
Welcome :wave:
She's due for her needles on Thurs so will she how she goes..was very good last time..
Ciao
How did the needles go?
welcome bridg!!!
I cant believe my twins are 4 months today!!! its gone so quick!!!
Have their needles tomorrow... not looking forward to that at all and then straight after have my local multiples group.... will be interesting to see how they go!!
How is everyone else doing?
How did the twins cope with their needles?
Kian just loves sitting in his high chair and being able to see all the action around him. I have a cushion in it which curves round him and wedges him solidly into the seat (it's still a bit big otherwise). Hubby put him in it this morning after he got him out of bed, but he didn't lock the tray into position. I was busy making his bottle when there was an almighty crash, hubby yelled the 'F' word and ran over to the chair. Bub was lying on the ground with the tray underneath him.:crying:
He was very lucky and managed not to hurt himself. He fell face forward so didn't bang his head apart from a small red patch on one eyebrow. He cried for all of about 30 seconds then once he'd had a cuddle started giggling.
I so wanted to scream at hubby for not putting the tray on properly, but I couldn't have made him feel any worse than he did.
I guess it's the first of many accidents waiting to happen with an adventurous little man. *sigh* Goes to show just how bouncy a bub can be though.
Anyway, have kept a very close eye on him all day, not allowing him out of my sight. But he is absolutely fine. I think he scared me more than himself.
Not sure if it's linked but Hubby came home early from work feeling ill... He never gets ill. I think he may have worried himself silly all day, till he could come home and see Kian was really okay. So feeling a little run down and worrying himself sick...
OMG that would have been so scary, lucky Kian is such a tough lil man
Couple of questions for those FF. How much are your bubs drinking each day? Cruz has a bottle at 8am, 12pm, 4pm & 8pm & has around 120mls each time. I then try & give him a little bit at 10pm when we go to bed. Sometimes he'll drink around 20mls, but usually he won't have anything. So he has around 500mls give or take each day. He has plenty of wet nappies & is a total chubber, so I'm not worried, just curious what others are drinking. Also how often does your bub poo?
Lucas is on Neocate so its very thin and not very filling, we make him a bottle with 180mls of water, 6 scoops of formula and 1 & 3/4 scoops of thickener and he usually feeds every 3 hours but he sleeps from 8 to 11 hours a night, his last feed is usually between 7:30 and 8:30pm and his next feed is about 6-6:30am. He'd usually have 4 or 5 bottles a day i think which would be between 720 and 900mls a day, thats if he finishes all of his bottles, sometimes he leaves 40 or 50 mls.
He poo's anything from once or twice a day to maybe only once every 2 or 3 days
Hey all,
Ushas - snap again lol! It must have been something about weddings and September last year. I don't eat seafood but was at a wedding just after I found out so no champagne and the entree choices were seafood or rare beef...my brother got mine and I ate the main lol. In the end thanks to hubby I told my brother and mum the next day. it took mum a while to register what i said, she thought one of the cousins at the table was pregnant and I overhead it lol!
To think we now have 2 weddings in the next few weeks and this time I can't have a drink becuase i have to look after DD..go figure.:laughing: 2 ppl in my family already asked me if I was going to have any more.
I might get takeaway on Monday night for my wedding anniversary..who knows lol.
hope everyone is well.
two cheeky smurfs
08-09-2009, 13:00
EM- my twins needles were rescedualed for Thursday!!
i have some kind of exciting news... ive been getting to know a guy for a little while now that i met at one of the parents groups i go to and we have decided to go on out first actual date next week!! i am excited and scared... i guess i always thought when i was to have kids i would be with someone who would stick around and my dating days would be over!! havent been on a date in about 5 years... very scarey!! lol
To whoever asked about FF. My DD has 180ml per feed..about 4 in a day and 280ml at 6am after 10-12hrs sleep. She sometimes has 3 feeds of about 200 or so to make up for it. She has always drunk more than the tin says anyway. One of the reasons why my poor supply of BM was never enough.
We usually have one poo nappy a day or a not so nice one every 2 days.:D
TripleTime
08-09-2009, 13:05
OOOOO Lauren *insert wolf whistle* :P
You'll be fine, good luck Lovely.
i have some kind of exciting news... ive been getting to know a guy for a little while now that i met at one of the parents groups i go to and we have decided to go on out first actual date next week!! i am excited and scared... i guess i always thought when i was to have kids i would be with someone who would stick around and my dating days would be over!! havent been on a date in about 5 years... very scarey!! lol
Oh that's so brilliant! I hope you have a wonderful time. :hugs:
Eboniesmum
08-09-2009, 20:20
Lauren - hope they go well with their needles then,
also..........
woohooo congrats, how exciting, hope you have a fantastic time
lanaamelia
08-09-2009, 20:56
:wave: welcome
amelia has a feed at 8ish am, 12noon, 3-4pm, 7pm and then at about 10pm all feeds are about 150ml, her 12noon feed she also has half a jar of custard..
awwww wow that is exciting, excellent news... im sorry to ask if it upsets you but i was just wondering where is the twins dad ?? i dont mean to pry and you dont have to tell me as it is none of my business.
amelia is now 5.9 kgs hehe packed on the weight now hehe not much else new here, amelias room is almost finished, had a minor set back but back on track now, once all done will start moving her into her own room.. also she is loving the custards i have been trying her on..
two cheeky smurfs
08-09-2009, 22:20
amelia has a feed at 8ish am, 12noon, 3-4pm, 7pm and then at about 10pm all feeds are about 150ml, her 12noon feed she also has half a jar of custard..
awwww wow that is exciting, excellent news... im sorry to ask if it upsets you but i was just wondering where is the twins dad ?? i dont mean to pry and you dont have to tell me as it is none of my business.
amelia is now 5.9 kgs hehe packed on the weight now hehe not much else new here, amelias room is almost finished, had a minor set back but back on track now, once all done will start moving her into her own room.. also she is loving the custards i have been trying her on..
Nah its all good.. the twins dad left me when i was 8 weeks pregnant... most people already know my story!! I was dating FOB for 7 years and we planned this pregnancy and when i first found out i was pregnant it was good... he was happy and i was happy then it turned... he decided he wanted me to have an abortion and when he realised i wouldnt he left (i personally have a feeling he met someone else but dont really know) ive heard from him once since having the twins and that was because he got his parents to ring me to find out whether i ended up having an abortion and was so mad when he found out not only did i not have an abortion but had twins!! i used to be mad but im not anymore... there's no need to be mad when i have two gorgeous babies i love so much and i want them to grow up with a happy mum and not one who is so resentful!!!
I dont mind anyone asking me anthing.. i dont get upset by it becasue at the end of the day its him thats not going to have the privelidge of watching two amazing and beautiful babies grow up!!
Talk about multitasking, Im typing with one hand, expressing milk with the other in between drinking my morning coffee. :laughing:
TT: Grats on their weight gain!! Glad to hear they are going well. Are you getting much sleep? I cant wait to hear about them growing up, triplets must be so amazing.
Kiwi: Welcome! 30th of May was my DS'S original EDD.. but he came late. What is your DS'S name?
M2T: Wooooooooooo! Hot date! Does he have kids? Tell us more about him and how the date goes! So happy to hear you have met a nice guy, FOB(s) sounds awful. :thumbsdown:
Ushas: That DOES sound scary, glad Kian is okay. That feeling when your heart falls out of your chest is AWFUL, I hope you three all recover quickly. :hugs:
EM: Hope Lucas feels better.. whopping cough?? How did the Dr.'s appointment go?
Hi everyone else, hope you are all well.
AFM, Bub slept for 4.5 hours in a row last night!!!!! OMG!!!!! I feel like a new woman!!! The past three weeks has been 1-3hourly feeds and I feel like death warmed up. 4.5 hours?? Thats nearly sleeping through. I am going to shower him in kisses when he wakes up for good this morning. I couldn't go back to sleep after the feed because I felt so rested from 4 hours sleep! :laughing:
How often/long does your LO's sleep during the day? Sometimes Lincoln has good day sleeps and sometimes he catnaps terribly. Really depends on whether we are out and about or at home all day.
Eboniesmum
09-09-2009, 08:11
Lauren - i just read what you wrote and i agree its him that is missing out. Can't believe what he did to you, so wrong but like you said no point being mad.
Lilahh - Dr said Lucas has a chest infection so he's given him anti-biotics, i hope they start working soon cause i'm exhausted from a week of sleepless nights.
Multi tasking indeed lol
You would feel like a new woman getting that much sleep after how little sleep you were getting, lets hope it continues.
As for day sleeps Lucas is a bit like Lincoln he has sleepy days where he will have 2 or 3 sleeps that last 2 hours or so each and then he has not so sleepy days where he will only have 20 mins up to 40 mins here and there
TripleTime
09-09-2009, 08:31
TT: Grats on their weight gain!! Glad to hear they are going well. Are you getting much sleep? I cant wait to hear about them growing up, triplets must be so amazing.
Thanks, we get about 6 hours a night. Trumps your 4 :P . They've started sleeping 5-6 hours at night, bloody awesome i say.
On the day sleeps, i make sure i wear them out during the day (helps the night sleeps). We get up between 6-7am, play, bottle asleep by 8. Up again 9.30, same back in bed by 12ish, up at 2, same deal in bed by 7.30. Dont hear from them till 11pmish.
Hope that makes sense, Tahlia wants up & is whining at me. Kid needs some cheese to go with it.
lanaamelia
09-09-2009, 18:46
Nah its all good.. the twins dad left me when i was 8 weeks pregnant... most people already know my story!! I was dating FOB for 7 years and we planned this pregnancy and when i first found out i was pregnant it was good... he was happy and i was happy then it turned... he decided he wanted me to have an abortion and when he realised i wouldnt he left (i personally have a feeling he met someone else but dont really know) ive heard from him once since having the twins and that was because he got his parents to ring me to find out whether i ended up having an abortion and was so mad when he found out not only did i not have an abortion but had twins!! i used to be mad but im not anymore... there's no need to be mad when i have two gorgeous babies i love so much and i want them to grow up with a happy mum and not one who is so resentful!!!
I dont mind anyone asking me anthing.. i dont get upset by it becasue at the end of the day its him thats not going to have the privelidge of watching two amazing and beautiful babies grow up!!
omg wow, im truely glad to hear your happy and not dwelling over it, from what i have heard you are doing a great job and im very proud of you for doing this. its such a shame about how your r/ship ended, but you have such a great out come and yes its his loss and your gain, your bubbas are just gorgeous and im very happy for you xx
two cheeky smurfs
10-09-2009, 18:26
M2T: Wooooooooooo! Hot date! Does he have kids? Tell us more about him and how the date goes! So happy to hear you have met a nice guy, FOB(s) sounds awful. :thumbsdown:
yes he has two boys, 7 and 5!! He's 29 and his wife died 4 years ago :-( Hes a great guy from what i have seen and im looking forward to getting to know him more :-)
two cheeky smurfs
14-09-2009, 10:06
had my babies weighed today...
Maddison is now 6.065kilos
Lucas is now 6.235kilos!!!
Lucas is increasing the gap!!! My little ones are not so little anymore :-(
Go Lucas!!! Yey Maddy!!!
They are looking fab Lauren! The photos from the weekend were brilliant! And they looked so gorgeous!
AFM - I tried Kian on carrot this weekend. Well that was a complete hit!!! Loves, loves, loves it!!! Much better than pear and a hundred percent on rice cereal! He is just inhaling the carrot. Going to try pumpkin later this week. Hoping that'll be a success too!
Aren't our bubs just getting to be so much fun now? Trying solids, playing with toys and some of our clever littlies (not Kian yet) rolling over. Kian loves his swimming and baths now. Have introduced his little rubber ducks to the bath and he spends all his time splashing and trying to kick them! Too funny.
But where has the time gone? Kian is now 18 weeks and our bubs are approaching 5 months now!
Ushas: How long was Kian on rice cereal before you introduced other stuffs? Hope he is loving solids.
M2T; 4 kids between you, sounds like fun. :goodvibes: Glad you hear your little ones are chubbing up.
AFM, Lincoln is still feeding round the clock but Im used to it now. I usually get one 3.5-5 hour sleep a night and that is nice. He is a great little self settler so I cant wait for solids time to roll round as I know he is only up from hunger. He is nearly 15 weeks! Not long to go now. Got him weighed, at 14 weeks he is 7.71kgs, the MCHN asked AGAIN if he was FF. Nope! Glad 9 feedings a day are paying off though.
We are trying NAN HA Gold next week in an attempt to find a formula for occasional use that doesnt make him windy and upset. :fingerscrossed: it works, Im a bit depressed about having had my body on loan for over 12 months now. It would be nice to have it back occasionally.
two cheeky smurfs
18-09-2009, 10:04
ushas- they definately are so much fun at this age!!! Lucas has got picking things up and playing with them down to a fine art now but so many times has he picked something up and tryed puting it in his mouth but missed and got himself in the nose instead.... the other day it was a remote control and ive never heard him cry so loud but hes all good :-)
Maddison loves pumpkin!! she devours it!! lol... havent got Lucas in solids yet as the formula still fills him up!! he is showing all the signs though and now can sit up on his own for 2 minutes at a time!! once he's five months ill going to introduce solids to him which is only a couple weeks away now anyway!!
Lilahh- congrats on his weight hun!! awsome!! my two are over 19 weeks now and are not 7 yet!! Hope the formula works for your bub!!! how long til Lincoln is ready for solids? he was born in June wasnt he?
two cheeky smurfs
18-09-2009, 10:06
i feel like a bit of an idiot now!! lol!! just looked at your sig and it says when he was born!! DAH!!!!
Eboniesmum
20-09-2009, 13:14
hello everyone, it's quiet in here lately, i havent been in much cause i'm too tired, been having a hard time with Lucas.
Lucas had his needles on friday and he was very brave, only had a little whinge, no crying. He got weighed and measured, he hasnt put on any weight, he's actually lost some since his last weigh and measure on 12/8/09 so he's 6.5kg's now but he's grown 5cm longer so he's now 67cm long
Hope everyone is well
TripleTime
20-09-2009, 16:39
Its been very quiet here lately.
Update on us. We started solids today, bottles havent been cutting it for a few days. DF & I decided it was time, even though we were meant to wait till christmas. Every one took to it like a duck to water, made a massive mess but all is good just needed to hose every one off after.
And everyone is teething.
EM - You've had a rough trot lately, so no surprise you've had no time to come on here!
TT - Wow! What superstars you have! It must be so much fun at feeding times now in your house! And all teething? Goodness me! I hope poor mummy is getting plenty of sleep!
:wave: all, just thought i'd have a read & catch up on how all the bubbas are doing. Wow, they all coming along nicely.
M2T ~ Woohoo, how'd the date go. He sounds like a nice guy.
TT ~ Yay to starting solids. I also let DD lead the way with starting solids. I've been trying her on solids every few days till she adjusts to solids.
EM ~ Yay to a brave little boy with his needles, sadly my DD screams the surgery down & makes mummy cry in the process. I wouldn't worry too much if he lost a little weight.
TripleTime
20-09-2009, 17:49
They've been having a few nibbles after Tahlia stole my banana, today between them they downed a jar of veg & a bowl of rice cereal.
Wow TT they really are doing well with the solids! We're slowing it down and leaving it for a couple of days here cause Kian isn't too well and his poos are all soft and runny. So I figure a few days off the solids till he's back to normal is the go. Try again later this week.
TripleTime
20-09-2009, 18:28
We were shocked too.
We're still sleeping, just making the most of every chance we get. Wore them out today at the Marina, fingers crossed they sleep so we can too.
My mum is having them for a night next week so we can paint the house & go out for dinner. Than Luke's mum had them the next weekend.
two cheeky smurfs
20-09-2009, 18:49
hi ladies!!!
EM- what a brave little boy with his needles!!! i got a quick cry from both twins but a cuddle and they were fine!! like BI said i wouldnt worry about the weight loss... i had a problem with Maddy;s weight not long ago and even now she only gains a little or stays the same... she doesnt drink or eat much!!
TT- wow it does sound like your little ones are taking to solids really well... thats great :-) i have just started Lucas in solids today as he has stopped sleeping through the night as he is very hungry and after bottles hes still hungry... so far so good with that!!!
BI- yeah it went really well!! Just taking it slowly!!!
Ushas- hope Kian gets better soon hun!!
AFM- i have had to majorly sooky babies the past week... both never want to be put down which makes it really hard to get things done!!
got a busy few weeks here... went to Port Lincoln this weekend which was great!! Next weekend we are going to Adel for my bro's graduation (hes in the police acadamy!!) then the following weekend we are going to the Barossa for the weekend so ill be kept quite busy!! looking forward to it all though!!
Wow tt- sounds like they are loving food!
m2t- you sound very busy!
Ushas- hope kian gets better soon!
We are going well, Cassie is getting her needles tonight! She has started rolling! Only when im not in the room! i have found her 3 times on her back when i had put her on her tummy! any other cheeky bubs out there doing this 2?? We are holding off on solids for abit... hoping to make it to 6 months breastfeeding, then will start soilds, fingers crossed we make it that far!
greeneyes81
21-09-2009, 13:36
Hi ladies :wave: How is everyone doing??
Well we are going pretty good here, Trinity had her needles on friday morning and was good as gold :) Wasnt grizzly at all like her 2 month ones.Had her 4 month checkup today and she now weighs 6.3 kilos and 62.5 cms long! I am so happy, she was born at 2.5 kilos and 48cms long so shes doing alot of growing. On another positive note Trinity has started sleeping thru the night and feeding a LOT more too, have tried solids a couple of times but I am trying to hold off a few more weeks...I know this might be a bit personal and all but is anyone else suffering from post natal depression?? I got diagnosed just over a month ago..
Lozie2: Trinity is trying soooo hard to roll over and gets very fustrated because she cant just yet...keeps rocking side to side tho. Shes constantly trying to sit up all the time tho and loves playing with her toys and rattles :)
TripleTime
21-09-2009, 15:02
We like food in this house. Lol.
Trip's had their neddles last friday, no screaming match this time. Aleah can roll from back to belly & gets sooooo cranky when we put her. I reckon she's trying to stop her neck from hurting.
James has a sleep study tonight, here's to hoping it was NOTHING like Tahlia's was & we get to finish this one.
Greeneyes - Yes it's personal but we're here to listen and chat if needed. That's what we do. :) It's so good though that it's been diagnosed and you can work towards better health. Best wishes hun!
I'm so impressed with your clever bubs Loz and TT! Kian isn't rollong yet although he has gone from back to side a couple of times. You can see he has the idea but isn't really bothered about putting in the effort! He has however, started to lift himself right up when on his tummy and uses his arms to pull himself around in a circle. Not going forward yet though! :lol:
We've had another day of the horrid poos. They are mostly like liquid although occasionally grainy and every nappy has been dirty. He really down't come across as being poorly though. He's giggling and laughing and playing. He's still feeding well and I'm making sure he's not dehydrated.
But on the good side... Kian slept from 7pm till 6.30am without waking last night. We've up till now been waking him for a midnight feed but decided to stop them as he's not really having very much during this feed. So last night was the first 'all through the night' sleep! I'm so proud of him.
Eboniesmum
22-09-2009, 09:33
TT - Sounds like its going well with the solids.I cant imagine what it would be like with 3 bubs teething at once, its hard enough with 1 lol. How did James' sleep study go?
B.I -I'm so glad Lucas didnt cry otherwise i would have been a mess aswell lol. Nah i'm not worried, he's a big enough boy to be able to lose or not put on weight. He's been sick and i thought he'd lost a little bit of weight just didnt expect that much.
M2T - Lucas is a big pig so its odd he didnt put on anything even though he has been sick but its all good he's got enough weight on him to be able to lose some, thats the good thing about big bubs i guess lol. You definately are busy. Hows the twins going? They still being sooky? Lucas is sooky lately and not sleeping well, i think its his teeth annoying him.
lozie2 - How did cassie go with her needles? Lucas rolls all over the lounge room all the time, he even gets himself out of his rocker jsut so he can roll around lol.
Greeneyes - Trinity has had awesome weight gain, way to go. I havent been diagnosed with PND but some days i sure feel like i've got it. Its good to talk about stuff and get it off your chest and remember have a break when you can even if its just going up the shop for 10 minutes by yourself.
Ushas - how's Kian doing? Still got the poo's? Good boy for sleeping all night Kian
TripleTime
22-09-2009, 13:18
TT - Sounds like its going well with the solids.I cant imagine what it would be like with 3 bubs teething at once, its hard enough with 1 lol. How did James' sleep study go?
Its loud with them all teething. Lol.
Sleep study went well, he went to sleep at 8 & i woke him up at 5.30am.
Got the results & all is good.
Kian seems to be on the improve... (TMI) less poos today and they were more solid. Not quite back to normal but getting there. He was cranky today though cause he needed to sleep but didn't want to. But he did sleep through the night again.
TT - Sounds like it all went well with the sleep study! Good job James!
I've been reading along but not posting as there's really nothing new to say. Everything's good.
Those of you in Sydney, can you believe the sky this morning??????? It's glowing red.
Cruz is 4 months tomorrow, so will get his needles sometime over the next few days, just haven't got around to making an appt. yet. Can't wait to weigh him. He's such a chunker, I'm expecting a huge gain. We're back at chiro on Friday. I can't believe the difference it's made. From being on his 3rd different reflux meds as nothing was working, to not needing them at all anymore :smiliedance: Have I posted that here? Sorry if I have, I can't remember what I say in diffferent threads. Permanent baby brain I think :laughing:
-
But on the good side... Kian slept from 7pm till 6.30am without waking last night. We've up till now been waking him for a midnight feed but decided to stop them as he's not really having very much during this feed. So last night was the first 'all through the night' sleep! I'm so proud of him.
Woohoo :smiliedance: Isn't sleep wonderful!!!! I hope he does it for you again tonight. Hope he's feeling better today.
Sleep study went well, he went to sleep at 8 & i woke him up at 5.30am.
Got the results & all is good.
Glad it went well.
First a little whinge "what is it with some ppl?" When i was at Weight Watchers yesterday A woman looked at DD in the pram and said 'what a chubby boy!" She was wearing a dress and on the wight issue she's 7.1kgs at nearly 18wks! She's hardly obese (she does have her cute rolls but i'm he mum and can say that), wonder why ppl like me have weight issues when ppl start commenting on others at that age. Sorry rant over.
On the up side my social calendar has begun lol. Went to a wedding in Canberra on the weekend (hubby was best man). It was the 1st time we did anything ,just us she DD was born. Got to have a belated anniversary dinner at the same time. Isabelle's naming day this weekend..then hen's nights, more weddings etc.
DD - She has tried to rollover since 8 weeks but still hasn't got there. She twists 3/4 of te way round to watch you or the tv lol and stops. Lately she's been trying to backflip off my lap on the lounge. Scared me the first time, now i'm prepared for it...she just looks at me as if to say i'm gonna go, smiles, then pushes off with her feet.:laughing:
Kotakai - as far as the weather, I'm on the outh coast and we've got it too, but also had the dust storms yesterday as well.
TripleTime
23-09-2009, 08:34
Leanne - We have a nice layer of red dust over everything.
Eboniesmum
23-09-2009, 08:55
tt - i can only just imagine how loud lmao, glad the sleep study went well
Ushas - good to hear Kian is getting better
Kotakai - I'm in Newcastle and its awful here aswell, i put photo's up on my facebook
TripleTime
23-09-2009, 09:00
I woke up at 6am & wondered why the house had an orange glow, was thinking it was an awesome sunrise. How wrong was i. 10am & its still orange.
Eboniesmum
23-09-2009, 09:03
me too Krystal, i opened the blinds expecting a beautiful sunrise but nope just dust and trees blowing everywhere
two cheeky smurfs
23-09-2009, 09:11
sorry to hear about the dust storms some of you are having... it must be awful!!
no personals today just thought id pop in and say hi!!
things are not going to well here at the moment... ive had no sleep in the last 3 nights and thats literally none... ive had the twins up every hour of the night as they are teething... so not fun!! Im sooooooo tired and i have to try and get my house ready for my inspection which is the last thing i want to do but atm the twins are finally down for a nap so better get it done as i dont have time when they are up as they are both extremely sooky!!
hope everyone is going well :-)
LOL, I was thinking it was going to be a gorgeous sunrise too!
First a little whinge "what is it with some ppl?" When i was at Weight Watchers yesterday A woman looked at DD in the pram and said 'what a chubby boy!" She was wearing a dress and on the wight issue she's 7.1kgs at nearly 18wks! She's hardly obese (she does have her cute rolls but i'm he mum and can say that), wonder why ppl like me have weight issues when ppl start commenting on others at that age. Sorry rant over.
:hugs: I hate that people feel they can make comments. My DD was a biiiig baby. She was born 4.94kgs & I just looked in her book, & at 5 months she was 9.8kgs & 70cms! I used to get comments all the time about her weight.
My mum had probs with me too. I was a baldy for a looong time & she even started stickytaping bows in my hair :laughing:, always had me in pink dresses & still used to get told what a cute boy I was.
GE: Aww hon Im thinking of you. Are you getting treatment for PND? That must be so hard. Remember, you are an amazing Mum and your DD loves you for it. :hugs:
TT: Whats a sleep study? Glad to hear DS went well.
Ushas: Yay for good sleeping. Im sooooo jealous. Glad Kian is feeling better. :wave:
Lingo: Yay for the naming day! Hope it goes well. Post some pics of DD in her outfit.
Kota: Glad the chiro is working wonders on Cruz and his reflux. :thumbsup:
M2T: You poor thing. Lincoln kept me up every hour last night and I feel like hell... I;ve said it once, Ill say it 100 times over, you are AMAZING coping with twins! Hows the new man?
EM: Hows Lucas doing? Hope you are getting some sleep.
AFM, We have our good days and bad days, like everyone I suppose. Did anyones LO have a growth spurt at 15 weeks? Lincoln was an angel last week, sleeping 2+ hours twice a day and going 3-5 hours between feeds at night. The past two days he has been a right PITA though! Up every 1-2 hours for food and is super fussy.
His christening is this weekend, Im very excited. :flowerz:
TripleTime
23-09-2009, 12:21
TT: Whats a sleep study? Glad to hear DS went well.
Its a study to see how you sleep, how long it takes for you to get to a deep sleep & how long you stay there. They also check you oxygen levels to make sure they dont drop & that why you wake up.
Tahlia had one about 6 weeks ago.
Eboniesmum
23-09-2009, 12:29
m2t - I'm hearing you on the no sleep ...... im sooooo tired, i just wish these teeth would hurry up and come so our bubbas can not be so sooky and we all can get some sleep. Dont stress too much about the house i'm sure the real estate will understand you have twins and cant be so spotless. Hope things are better for you soon.
lilahh - Lucas is going ok i guess, he's doing everything good like feeding, pooing etc but he just wont sleep....not at night anyway...im totally exhausted....he used to sleep so well thats why i cant understand why all of a sudden he's not sleeping....ok i'll shut up now, i know im not the only one going through this, sorry for the whinge
Lucas had a growth spurt around 14 or 15 weeks and was doing exactly what Lincoln is and its been since then that i've had problems with Lucas wanting to wake 10 or more times a nght and having a night feed again. Lucas is now 19 weeks and 4 days and he hasnt gone back to his normal routine. Hope that doesnt happen to you.
Hope you have a lovely time at the christening.....Lucas gets christened on November the 8th
M2T and EM - Huge hugs xxxxoooo Poor things. Here's hoping the teething settles soon for all of you!
I have to say, gruesome as the dust storm must have been it was really very beautiful. No consolation I know but you ladies took some stunning photos.
Lingo and Lilahh - We want photos of bub's special days.
Lilahh - I thought Lincoln's christening ws the same day as Isabelle's naming.
It should be a good day, meant to be bout 18/19 deg. and a little windy but no rain etc. We have the same celebrant that married us and Isabelle's gown is my brother's (he's 28). Was gonna use our wedding cake....but after 7 yrs alcohol content is too strong...ppl would be pulled over at the end of the driveway lol.
Hope all those sooky..not sleepy babies have a change of routine overnight:fingerscrossed:
TripleTime
23-09-2009, 20:20
We had non night sleepers for a while, after 2 nights i soon put a stop to it. Would let them sleep for 4 hours during the day & that was it. Was the only thing that worked for us. We now make sure we take them outside during the middle of the day for a play on the grass.
:wave: everyone, been flat out lately so have missed heaps but will try and keep up now.
Still no good sleeping here. I have come to the conclusion that my babies just aren't born to sleep well. I have pretty well tried everything so have just decided screw it I will just accept the situation and get on with it :D Fortunately DD sleeps well now so its just Zane I am getting up to 500 times a night. Despite the lack of sleep he is a very happy cruisy baby, doesn't take much to get him laughing his head off. He is a total mummy's boy which I love :cloud9:
I have tried to give him solids a few times now but he has had some shocking belly pain from it so I am waiting a bit longer. I am pretty sure he will start sleeping alot better once solids are established as he is waking for feeds so I just have to be patient which is so not my thing.
So, how is everyone else going?
Yeah all good here Kylie! I'm the same with Kian and solids. He obviously had a bad tummy earlier this week so I thought we'd give solids a break. We were doing some vergies but I don't think it necessarily agreed. I tried some rice cereal again today and he was ok with that but he doesn't really like it. We get lots of yerghs and blarghs and face pulling. It's extremely funny to watch.
But on the yippee side... He rolled over twice today. Front to back. I think he shocked himself the first time as he was stretching out his arms and sort of flipped over. He had a huge 'O' mouth going on, like 'What just happened mum?' Then he thought it was hilarious.
Anyway here's a couple of pics of Kian modelling a couple of his latest Issy bear Nappies
Pirate Ships
http://i369.photobucket.com/albums/oo137/Ushas99/100_1761.jpg
Farmyard
http://i369.photobucket.com/albums/oo137/Ushas99/100_1757.jpg
muminshock
26-09-2009, 22:40
Hi girls!!
Long time no talk to... I have come on so many times and by time I catch up on all the posts I'm either too tired to post myself or Ned will start carrying on like the lunatic he is and I just give up.
Man, we've had a rough time with this ratbag. It seems with this kid, you fix one aspect of his sleeping and he'll start playing up somewhere else. At the moment the dummy is driving me absolutely bonkers. This morning I went in to put his dummy back again in AGAIN and found the bloody thing wedged in his mouth back to front! I tell ya.... I'm going nutty!
Anyway, he seems to be asleep finally so I should probably try and get some sleep
Miss you all ;)
Oooh I was thinking about you today MIS and wondering how you're getting along! Cause I reckon we Perth Girlies should do coffee or a picnic in a park or... I dunno something!!!
Who've we got Perth-wise? Cheerio, MIS, Me...
muminshock
26-09-2009, 23:37
Sounds great, I'm in...
TripleTime
27-09-2009, 09:55
Ushes - Where did you get the alphabet mat from? We have people trying to crawl (Tahlia) & timber floors are a little hard.
I got mine from Kmart $29.99 - but The Reject Store also had some around the same price. I have the same prob here with Lino on the floor. The mat is 7x4 of the squares, so all the alphabet and a couple of shapes.
TripleTime
27-09-2009, 11:21
Sweet Thanks, ill have a look tomorrow.
ushas, cute nappies where did you get them??
tt trying to crawl!!!! WHAT!! wow thats fast! Cassie still wont roll in front of me!
How many dirty nappies does your bf baby have. Ive heard its normal to have as many as 1 per day to 1 per 10 days...
Cassie has at least 2-3 per day! and they are decent! she has had 6 in one day at the most!
is that considered normal? she is only bf, no solids.
TripleTime
27-09-2009, 17:29
tt trying to crawl!!!! WHAT!! wow thats fast! Cassie still wont roll in front of me!
Tahlia's the only one that does, she tends to face plant over her tummy support pillow. Aleah will roll in bed but no where else.
Lozie - They are Issy bear Nappies www.issybearnappies.com.au (http://www.issybearnappies.com.au) They are beautifully made AIO One size fits most... The lady who makes them lives in WA. The Farmyard is one of the new Beary Times range and the Pirate Ships is a Day Nappy range.
I bought a pack of six initially to see how I got on with them, then had to get more cause I just love them to pieces. I have 12. They last me a few days. I have extra inserts as they take longer to dry than the nappy outers. We still use disposables at night and if we're out and about.
The patterns are just adorable. We have...
Geckos, Bugs and Frogs, Pirates, Knights, Little Robots, Turtles, Pirate Ships, Dalmations, Flames, Farmyard, Tractors and Mighty Mouse. The last three are from the new range which aren't up on the website yet, but if you want to have a look I have a copy of the catalogue or you can email Michelle info@issybearnappies.com.au or again via Facebook...
Okay sales pitch over... hehehe... But I do love them!
Oooo Perth meet up :yes: absofreakinlutely!
Those nappies are too cute Ushas.
Gals, just watch with those alphabet mats. I got ours from the reject shop and DD chewed chunks off them :eek:. That and those foam football thingys, I had no idea they were a choking hazard until DD started to get chompers.
lozie, when DD was fully breastfed she pooed almost every nappy change, I think it only started to settle down once she started solids at 6-7 months.
man, 8 o'clock and I am nodding off, I am such a nanna. Night
Night Kylie! Thanks for the tip-off about the mat...I'll keep my eagle eyes on that!
Perth Meet-up... Brilliant! We'll wait till the kidlings are back at school I reckon then pick a nice place. If it's nice weather we could picnic... In fact should we make a new thread for this? There may be other mums who'd like to join us.
Ky: :wave: Sorry to hear you aren't getting sleep. Im in the same boat. Its rough.
Lincoln is 16 weeks old today. :flowerz: :sleeping:
I've been reading a lot but haven't got much to add cause mostly I'd just whinge. Glad to hear everyones bubs are developing so well and sleeping so well. :wave:
Sounds good Helen!
Lilahh, feeling your pain hun, whinge away, I totally get it :hugs:
Hi Everyone :wave:
Not much new to report here. Cruz had his 4 mth needles last week & went well. Best news is he is now 6.7kgs & 62cms long, which is more than 3 times his birth weight :smiliedance:
He's getting a bit sick though, as he's been a bit snuffly, sneezing & has a yucky nose.
But on the yippee side... He rolled over twice today. Front to back. I think he shocked himself the first time as he was stretching out his arms and sort of flipped over. He had a huge 'O' mouth going on, like 'What just happened mum?' Then he thought it was hilarious.
Anyway here's a couple of pics of Kian modelling a couple of his latest Issy bear Nappies
Pirate Ships
Farmyard
Woohoo for rolling :yelclap: and what a gorgeous cloth bot!
Here's one of Cruz's new ones.
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/bob3-1.jpg
Hey all,
Hope evryone is well. Had a great day on Sunday for Isabelle's naming day. The weather was not so good, windy as so had the ceremony and guests inside..just as well it's not a small house lol!
Check the new avatar pic.
Ciao for now
The pics wer gorgeous Lingo. She looked adorable.
Oh I love those MCNs Kotakai!!! Very nice. Issy Bear are on about doing some custom made embroideries for Chrissie. Can't wait to have a look! Great news on the weight gain too!
Eboniesmum
29-09-2009, 10:05
M2T and EM - Huge hugs xxxxoooo Poor things. Here's hoping the teething settles soon for all of you!
I have to say, gruesome as the dust storm must have been it was really very beautiful. No consolation I know but you ladies took some stunning photos.
Thanks, so far teething hasn't settled and i am going totally insane
Yeah was a pretty bad storm, had lots of mess to clean but yep some nice pic's were taken
We had non night sleepers for a while, after 2 nights i soon put a stop to it. Would let them sleep for 4 hours during the day & that was it. Was the only thing that worked for us. We now make sure we take them outside during the middle of the day for a play on the grass.
Good idea, i might limit the day sleeps. Lucas loves being outside so when this weather works itself out i'll get him out and about...for now i'll wear him out in the jolly jumper
:wave: everyone, been flat out lately so have missed heaps but will try and keep up now.
Still no good sleeping here. I have come to the conclusion that my babies just aren't born to sleep well. I have pretty well tried everything so have just decided screw it I will just accept the situation and get on with it :D Fortunately DD sleeps well now so its just Zane I am getting up to 500 times a night. Despite the lack of sleep he is a very happy cruisy baby, doesn't take much to get him laughing his head off. He is a total mummy's boy which I love :cloud9:
I have tried to give him solids a few times now but he has had some shocking belly pain from it so I am waiting a bit longer. I am pretty sure he will start sleeping alot better once solids are established as he is waking for feeds so I just have to be patient which is so not my thing.
So, how is everyone else going?
Hi i'm hearing you on the no sleep, Lucas has only slept straight through 4 nights over the last 6 weeks and i'm ready to lose it. We had the same problem with solids so Lucas has been taken of them for now
Pirate Ships
Farmyard
Way to go Kian for rolling over, nice nappies too
Eboniesmum
29-09-2009, 10:13
MIS - how's it going?
TT - Good girl Tahlia, Lucas is trying so hard to crawl
Cheerio - i have those mats aswell so thanks for that, i never really thought about them chewing it.
Kota - very nice nappies, makes me wish i used cloth lol
How is everyone else? Hope these naughty non sleeping bubs start behaving soon
EM, what type of allergy does Lucas have to formulas?? DS is driving me round the bend, NO formula seems to agree with him. We have tried standard, LF and now NAN HA. All of them make him painfully windy and have poo explosions. :no: Im not giving up BF but Im tired and I really want to find a formula that can give me the occasional break. Other then lactose intolerance and protein intolerance I dont know what type of issue a bub can have.
Eboniesmum
29-09-2009, 11:42
He has CMPI (cows milk protein intolerance) He also has reflux.
He was very windy, yukky poo, had eczema, wheezing, stuffy nose. Couldn't tolerate any formula we tried.
I was told with this allergy not even soy or lactose free formula's were any good for him.
Apparently lactose allergy is different to CMPI
I had to give up breast feeding because of this allergy and he had to be put on Neocate.
TripleTime
29-09-2009, 11:50
Lactose intolerance is very different to protein intolerance. I am LI & my sister is PI. I cant touch any milk at all, my sister can as long as its long life due to the heat treating.
For me its - wind, tummy cramps, headaches, runs, constipation. For my sister - she spews, runs, wind.
Im in the process to find out if the trips are PI, Aleah had a heal prick done last friday.
Eboniesmum
29-09-2009, 11:57
i also have LI TT but i thought i'd outgrown it and then i got some food poisoning 18 months ago and since then i've been sick with all those symptoms you get again. The dr's thought it was Post infective irritable bowel syndrome from the food poisoning or maybe collitis but tests for collitis were negative so still the problem is unknown. I then started to think it was my endometriosis but i'm not sure....maybe it is just my LI. I love my tea and coffee so i need to have milk but i end up so sick, i use light milk and that used to help me but now nothing helps.
What do you use in tea and coffee instead of milk? That is if you drink it.
Other food affects me aswell so i may have another problem on top of LI but i would have to say dairy foods affect me the most
TripleTime
29-09-2009, 12:12
I dont drink hot drinks because i will end up sick. I had a hot choc a few months ago & was sick for days.
I stay away from it all, cream, cheese, yogurt & custard. I can eat fake things like yo-go but have to be careful.
I also have cealic's disease.
ETA - When Lucas is old enough, try him on long life milk. Alot of people with PI can handle it due to the protines changing during the treating process.
Eboniesmum
29-09-2009, 12:17
ahh ok, sux doesn't it not being able to eat or drink what you want. I think they tested me for cealiacs disease but i dont have that. We still eat gluten free sausages and really watch what we eat, my dd has bowel problems, she has alot of constipation issues and the paed had her tested for cealiac disease aswell but it was negative and we told him sausages affect her unless they are gluten free and he told us sometimes you might not be a cealiac but you can have a gluten intolerance......so many things out there hey.......why cant we all just be healthy
TripleTime
29-09-2009, 12:46
Makes life interesting. Its something you've got to weigh up. I can eat & it will taste good but is it worth being sick for the next 3 days? No, its not.
I had to give up breast feeding because of this allergy and he had to be put on Neocate.
Thanks EM, why did you have to give up breastfeeding?? (As in, how was Lucas' allergy affected by BF?) Maybe DS has a CMPI... but would that mean I couldnt BF him??
TT: I dont know if Im LI or PI... but eating dairy makes me windy, crampy and have diarrhea. (Sorry, TMI??) I grew out of it when I was a bub, but same as EM, got food poisoning five years ago and it came back. :(
EM: I have soy milk in my coffee and tea, and I also take Lacteeze.. have you tried that? It works okay, its very expensive but means you can have some dairy.
Chais & Cruz both had/have CMPI too. I also had to give up BF as even cutting out dairy & things, it was still affecting them.
They both went on Elecare.
Their paed was hopeful they'd grow out of it as lots of kids do. Chais failed his 12mth test, but went OK on his 14mth one & since then can tolerate a bit of milk. He certainly has a level though & if we go over it, we have probs. He also can't have yoghurt as that still reacts bad. He has a small amount to drink at breakfast & sometimes at dinner. He can also have cheese now which he couldn't before.
When he was younger, we really had to read the jars carefully when giving him anything. Even things like rusks were no good.
TripleTime
29-09-2009, 13:44
TT: I dont know if Im LI or PI... but eating dairy makes me windy, crampy and have diarrhea. (Sorry, TMI??) I grew out of it when I was a bub, but same as EM, got food poisoning five years ago and it came back. :(
Id say you could be LI, only one way to find out. Strip your diet of all dairy & slowly reintroduce things one at a time for 10 days at a time.