View Full Version : Best cloth nappy as a gift?
splish n splash
12-08-2009, 08:39
We are thinking of getting our work mate some cloth nappies for her baby.
I haven't used them in about 2 years. What are they best ones out there now. We are hoping to spend around $20/25 so we can get her about 4 or 5 of them. Oh and she is having a boy so some cute boys ones.
jimmysmummy
12-08-2009, 08:43
I assume you mean $20-25 per nappy?
Check out Bubblebubs, they have some cute nappies. You can get some good trial packs at Nurture Nappies and other online retailers.
splish n splash
12-08-2009, 08:45
Yes sorry $20/25 per nappy.
I'd look at a couple of trial packs as you often get bonus wipes or boosters in a trial pack too. Itti trial packs are good and there may be a discount code from the Perth pbc expo, just check out the sales thread. Issy bears have some cute patterns, as do bambootys. Actually there aren't many you can go wrong with:)
I saw Bumgenius OSFA pockets on special for about that price.....PM if you want details. They would be very useful and last hopefully through to TT, which not many others will.
SmileyBJ
12-08-2009, 12:51
Bambooty have a really cute gift packs and trial packs with matching printed outfits etc. They only include 1 or 2 nappies though.
You could maybe make your own style gift pack with several different nappies and a couple of toiletries etc ?
Another thought was a wet bag too, I know it was something that I didn't think about when I first started using cloth.
I'd go with bambooty's like smileybj said! And each day nappy comes with a wetbag, and you can get the little t-shirts to match. Their liners are brilliant as well, and reusable which is a big plus. The nappies are great, my absolute favorite so far!
I would recommend n itti bitti trial pack, I love my ittis they are what converted me to cloth. bambootys are also good as the pp said. So maybe a trial pack in each? I would personally recommend getting nappies in medium size if the person isn't already a cloth convert, so if they sit in thr draw for the first 2/3 months (like mine did, I found life too hectic to bother) there stil getting lots of use out of them.
I agree with Merla.
I haven't tried heaps of brands just itti bittis, BBH magicalls, Bamboo prefolds and eenie weenies. I always thought that I'd go from day one using cloth. Sadly it was too much for me and disposables were way too easy to use. Itti bittis are awesome. So beautiful to touch and easy to use.
I've just ordered more itti bittis because my DP and I love them so much. He even thinks they are great. I find the snap in much much better than the sew ins but each to their own. The trial pack is an awesome place to start. Cheap and very useful. If I was to get cloth as a baby shower gift I'd be rapt to get an itti trial pack.
*Need~More~Coffee~Please*
14-08-2009, 23:19
I'd look at a couple of trial packs as you often get bonus wipes or boosters in a trial pack too. Itti trial packs are good and there may be a discount code from the Perth pbc expo, just check out the sales thread. Issy bears have some cute patterns, as do bambootys. Actually there aren't many you can go wrong with:)
i havnt seen a discount code in the sales thread ?? anyone know if there is one ??
this may sound like a silly question, but I have a friend having a bub in jan, would you always select small/newborn size as a gift? like the itti site says some newborns fit size med from birth? Im just asking as her bubs tend to grow VERY fast! (her little girl was off the charts for height and 99%ile for weight)
If you were going to buy Itti's, I'd buy mediums.....her baby may not fit them immediately, but she will get a lot more wear out of them than newborn/smalls. My DD was big 4.1kg at birth and fitted into medium Itti's at about 8 weeks, and still fits them now at 8 months!!!