View Full Version : Sleep!

Jo_Jo
12-08-2009, 03:26
Good morning ladies,

My 5 month old has been a great sleeper, i mean he did the new born every 2 hours thing and when he hit 2 months was every 4 then after 3 months was every 6 hours during the night for a feed which has been great...now at 4 months we had a week that he woke up every hour on the hour and i new he was having a growth spurt.
He has had the last 3 nights waking every hour screaming does not want a bar of dad, just wants boob for a little and falls asleep 10 to 15 minutes later, he has had no temp bums all fine, he is shoving everything to his mouth but at 5 months they do......has me a little stumped, some teeth on the way? maybe i should try him on some baby food? or another spurt?
He has been sleeping normal during the day but he has been cranky and sleepy from the night!
This is the 4th night and im so :sleeping: and cranky with everyone!
I am going to take him to the health nurse tomorrow get her opinion....but any thoughts from you sleep needing mums?

JustUs3
12-08-2009, 07:44
I wish I had some advice for you but I don't, my DD is doing pretty much the same thing (she's the same age as your DS). I was thinking it might be teething as when she wakes up she screams like she's in pain, she goes back to sleep as soon as we put her dummy back in so I'm not sure what's going on.

Hopefully someone has some advice, I'll be keeping my eye in this.

Pixilocks
12-08-2009, 07:50
My little one is about the same age and was also doing this, she usually sleeps through the night, but has taken to either sleeping through til about 4 or waking up every few hours, but she doesn't cry, just talks to herself... we find we put the dummy back in and she goes back to sleep.

I asked a friend and she said her son did the same at about this age... a phase perhaps?

Jo_Jo
12-08-2009, 07:54
Ahhh great wanted to hear from someone with a bub same age.........my fella screams as well, a real screach!
soon as boob is in his fine.....mmmm maybe teeth or little cons...lol i will be watching this to!

lupa
12-08-2009, 17:45
if it is teeth, I thought breastfeeding would aggrivate it

Jo_Jo
14-08-2009, 09:51
Well seen the health nurse and she seemed to think Jack is hungry, i thought this but when he is waking he is only sucking for 5 min and going back to sleep and its not even a real hungry suck.
She suggested a bottle of formula before bed along with boob but i told her i will try a little food and see if he is interested so i blended some apple and banana after reducing them together in the pot and last night gave it a go and he really got into it, did not waste any!
But he did the same thing through the night:crying: but when i pick him up and let him fall asleep with boob in the mouth due to the fact im falling asleep as well:yes: he will sleep.
My little fella is a comfort con!....lol i hope this time next week things are a little bit back to normal ahhhhh whats normal, routines come and go, i will say i hope this time next week i get more sleep and bubby is sleeping more soundly.
Hope your bubbys are sleeping better!
Cheers.

JustUs3
14-08-2009, 10:03
:laughing: Comfort con...that's funny!

Does he have a dummy Jo_Jo? DD was waking up through the night so i thought id try taking her dummy out once she was asleep and it seem's to have done the trick, she's back to sleeping through so i think she was waking up when she lost her dummy.
With regards to the solids, it might take some time for him to get used to it IKYWIM, my DD was a serial catnapper but since we've started solids she now has 2 x 2 hr naps and 1 x shorter nap in the arvo :eek:. We started solids about 2 weeks ago and she's only started sleeping longer during the day this past week so i think maybe she's geting fuller and is sleeping better with a full tummy.

:fingerscrossed: he stats sleeping better soon, keep us posted.

Jo_Jo
14-08-2009, 13:36
Ticklepink i wish he would take a dummy:yes: my daughter was the only one who sucked a dummy all the boys spat them out whenever i tried even during the night...lol but yes i agree i will give him some time to sought the whole food thing out, he did love it so i will try him with it again later.
He has had 2 one hour sleeps today but i have not been able to take advantage of them and have a nanna nap myself.
:fingerscrossed: i can have a better night tonight 6 nights of this and im like :hair:
have a good weekend.
cheers.

Jo_Jo
27-08-2009, 08:46
Well i had my first real sleep last night! after 2 and half weeks of Jack waking every 2 hours:yes:
He is having 2 meals a day brekky and dinner is not really interested at lunch, so last night he went down at 9 woke at 1am had some boob back to his cot by 1.15 and slept to 5am, gave him some brekky bum change and some boob and back to sleep at 6.30am and he is still sleeping:yelclap:
So i hope this stage can last for a while and i can feel a little human again untill the next one.
Hope all you mummys are getting some sleep to!
Cheers!