View Full Version : Smelly Nappies!

babysus
11-08-2009, 16:18
I've been using MCN's exclusively for 5 months or so, and have had no issue until just recently. DS is 7 months and started to have teeth (not sure if this has anything to do with it). His night nappies are starting to get really smelly, during the night, to the point it disturbs me at night (we co-sleep). I wash every 2nd day, 2 cold rinses then a full wash at 40degrees, then dry in the sun. I just notice that the nappy bucket now also gets more and more smelly, compared to when he was a little 3-4 month old bubba.
Do their urine get smellier as they get older or something? Is there anything to disguise the smell during the night? Any suggestions?? I'm tempted to revert back to disposables at night but that's just such a waste in my opinion.
Help!!!

SmileyBJ
11-08-2009, 16:26
Our nappies occasionally smell a little but not to that extent. Only thing i can think of is that his wee may be really concentrated, does he drink any water during the day??

DreamBelieveAchieve
11-08-2009, 16:27
Mine stank so i gave them a wash in Canastin laundry liquid and they were fine after that :)

MrsErinnElizabeth
11-08-2009, 16:37
What (and how much) detergent do you use? I am still new to all this MCN fun, but in my reading, I've found that most of the time, smelliness is due to a build-up of detergent over time.

My nappy using friends in the States 'strip' their nappies when they start to get smelly. They put them in the washing machine with a few teaspoons of liquid dish soap, and then rinse and rinse and rinse until there are no bubbles left in the water. I haven't done it yet (bubs is still on the way) but apparently it works like a charm.

megaminz
11-08-2009, 16:39
Mine stank so i gave them a wash in Canastin laundry liquid and they were fine after that :)
I do this too...works a treat!!

mytwoangelsC&A
11-08-2009, 19:21

:iagree:thats what i do too when abit smelly. I have noticed my DS is pretty stinky when i get him up in the morning too but i don't notice it once the nappy has been washed

SpottySocks
11-08-2009, 19:23
Mine were getting really smelly a couple of months ago - I think due to lack of sunlight and having to dry them inside because of the wet weather. Someone on this forum recommended Canestan Laundry Liquid and it made a huge difference. I don't use it all the time but just every few weeks if I notice they are getting a bit stinky. I can't wait for some regular sunny weather to get them really fresh again!

Also with the night nappies - if you aren't going to wash them straight away run a bit of water into them to dilute the urine before putting them in the nappy bucket. I find this really helps as my night nappies were also quite smelly even after being washed and dried in the sun. I put the nappy bucket outside in the sun every now and then as well, and also give it a swish out with some of the canestan wash.

Goodluck!

2boyoboys
11-08-2009, 19:54
I put Bicarb soda in the bottom of the bucket, and then a couple of drops of either, Eucalyptus oil, Tea tree oil or Lavender oil in the bottom,- depending on my mood. Then once i put the nappies in the wash, i put water in it, and use the bicarb oil combo to wash the bucket. SO far so good

Cant help with the night nappies though

flutiemum
11-08-2009, 21:38
Do they smell really bad as soon as they get wet? I think you need to do a strip wash to remove detergent build up. Do a hot wash with some dishwashing detergent and rinse (as described above). I do this every so often when the nappies start holding smells, and (yay) no more stinky nappies.

They can be extra stinky when bub is teething too. Sometimes they just about burn my nostril hairs in the morning lol!

Once you get the smell out of the nappies they shouldn't stink so much during the night.

jjules13
12-08-2009, 08:01
if my son ate asparagus his wee was awful and consequently the nappies ponged also !!

LeeJ
12-08-2009, 08:30
it was on the bambooty site i read that teething causing more of an amonia smell to the urine!
it was just as i'd started noticing ds's smelling strange!

vickih
12-08-2009, 12:13
I'm having similar problems, but i don't think my DS is teething...

I use the canesten rinse on my nappies but they still smell... will try a strip wash but the inserts are still absorbant- they aren't repelling liquid. will try anyway!!!

i was thinking that maybe DS isn't getting enough water with his solids- he doesn't really like drinking heaps, but he is on breastmilk, and i would have thought that would be sufficient?

babysus
12-08-2009, 12:29
Thanks everyone for the responses. I am the same with vickih - nappies are not repelling water, in fact a relatively new night nappy (Bonnibuns) that has only been used less than 10 times was the first one being really stinky. If strip washing was needed I would have thought the other nappies would have needed it first.
But anyway, I have tried the strip washing now!
Also, I'm still breastfeeding loads esp at night, so dehydration is not the issue, but it could be teething? The nappies don't get smelly immediately when wet, it's sometime during the night that the smell gets stronger and stronger and ugggh. DH complained about it this morning and he said why don't you try another nappy. What other nappy??? :no: Unless I put him back on sposies of course.
Anyway I'm trying the stripwashing now, so I can report back in a couple of days if it works!

Gabi
12-08-2009, 13:44
I use white vinegar instead of washing powder if things start to get a bit smelly. That and plenty of air time.

It could simply be his teeth and might go away again, if not it might also be worth getting him checked for a uti just to be on the safe side.

kezzaskids
12-08-2009, 14:34
Im having that problem here too. Its not all the nappies just her sandman night nappies that I use a wool cover with. Hmmmm? It isnt half as bad even with different brands, just the sandmans and wool covers. Not sure what to do about it? Any ideas??

LeeJ
12-08-2009, 14:46
I use white vinegar instead of washing powder if things start to get a bit smelly. That and plenty of air time.

the care instructions on quite a few of my nappies say to never use vinegar, i have nappies with PUL.
so just be wary if you have any with PUL.;)

vickih
12-08-2009, 15:07
mmm, babysus- let me know how you go after strip wash. i'm sceptical as to whether that is the solution though...
even though it's rainy here in perth, always leave my nappies outside on the clotheshorse to dry, so they get plenty of air and some UV rays... might sound weird, but his wee kinda smells like bad broccoli- could it be the broccoli i'm giving him? have heard of bad smelling wee with asparagus, but broccoli?

em1984
12-08-2009, 15:10
Just a thought, theres no chance bubs may have a uti? Coz that can make their wee's REALLY stink, it may have nothing to do with the nappy at all. Maybe see how the strip wash goes, or even try him one night in a sposie and see if there's a difference?

Gabi
12-08-2009, 18:18
the care instructions on quite a few of my nappies say to never use vinegar, i have nappies with PUL.
so just be wary if you have any with PUL.;)

Thanks for the heads up.:) I didn't know that. I don't have any AIOs so I'll make sure I never put PUL covers in the wash when I do it. Thanks again!:thumbsup:

Zalia
12-08-2009, 18:47
The teething really does make their wee stink. I noticed it even when DD was in 'sposies and they didn't normally smell. It stank out her whole room overnight for a while.

LeeJ
12-08-2009, 19:04
Thanks for the heads up.:) I didn't know that. I don't have any AIOs so I'll make sure I never put PUL covers in the wash when I do it. Thanks again!:thumbsup:

no worries, id hate to see you ruin the PUL on your nappies!

babysus
12-08-2009, 19:58
mmm, babysus- let me know how you go after strip wash. i'm sceptical as to whether that is the solution though...
might sound weird, but his wee kinda smells like bad broccoli- could it be the broccoli i'm giving him? have heard of bad smelling wee with asparagus, but broccoli?
Hey, actually I did think it smelt like broccoli!!! Like a really old broccoli that smelt bad. But he doesn't eat broccoli everyday though, not even once a week! Unless the smell went into the nappy and does not leave or something. Anyway, I've used Canesten regularly, so it can't be the solution, I've strip washed my nappies today and also used bicarb soda. If that doesn't work, I'm going back to sposies.

babysus
12-08-2009, 20:02
Just a thought, theres no chance bubs may have a uti? Coz that can make their wee's REALLY stink, it may have nothing to do with the nappy at all. Maybe see how the strip wash goes, or even try him one night in a sposie and see if there's a difference?

If bub has UTI then wouldn't he have a fever or something? He seems happy and normal though, just a really bad smelling night nappy, haha! I have sent him to bed with a disposable tonight, so we'll see if I notice any different smell tomorrow morning!

babysus
18-08-2009, 21:46
:yes:Well ladies, thanks to all of you, after a strip wash, my night nappies no longer stink!!! They still smell a bit after 12 hours of use (of course), but only when I take him for a nappy change in the morning, not in the middle of the night while everyone is sleeping, and definitely not the same bad broccolli smell as before.

I basically did a strip wash using bicarb soda (read somewhere that this is better for front loader) and another dose of Canesten rinse. The nappies smell fresh after that.

THANKS EVERYONE.

lozie2
20-08-2009, 17:25
where do you get Canesten rinse from? also how much bi carb? i think mine need this too, although we think cassie has a UTI getting the results tomorrow!

SpottySocks
20-08-2009, 17:41
where do you get Canesten rinse from? also how much bi carb? i think mine need this too, although we think cassie has a UTI getting the results tomorrow!

You can get the Canestan Rinse from the supermarket - it's a liquid and comes in a white bottle, am sure you'll spot it once you look for it. I'd never heard of or seen it before until it was recommended on here and when I went looking for it I was surprised I'd never noticed it before.

Not sure how much bi-carb for a strip wash but I used to use it in the machine with my terry flats. I would put in about a tablespoon for a load of nappies.

Goodluck. Hope you get the all clear on the UTI.

jjules13
21-08-2009, 10:05
im due in 5 weeks and think i'll try do the canestan rinse b'n now and then because some of my nappies were used by my son, passed down to my daughter and shes rapidly going from med to large size. wouldnt hurt to give everything a good clean before passing the smaller items on to new baby. guessing thats recommended...