View Full Version : nappys and boys

iMischa
11-08-2009, 14:37
hello! my ds#2 is 7 weeks and has grown out of his huggies newborn nappies now... as huggies are a bit more expensive ive switched the babylove...but if we dont change him every two hours he completely wets through! this is a real pain because how is he meant to get a good nights sleep when ive got to wake him to change him (when i dont he wakes up from being completely wet right upto his arm pits :|:|) the aldi nappies are the same...

im thinking of just putting him into huggies...but rather than go out and spend even more money (and being left with almost a full packet of useless nappies) wanted to see if anyone with lil boys has any similiar issues with huggies?

baby love were perfect for my first DS...and snuggies were the ones that made him leak through...so im not keen to try snuggies...

so frustrating! i am making sure his willy is pointing down as well so i know its not that...

two cheeky smurfs
11-08-2009, 15:16
Lucas is 14 weeks and has just grown out of newborn nappies and i thought the same... i tries all sorts of nappies but have ended up going back to huggies as they are the only ones that when he wakes up in the morning he isnt wet from head to toe!!! He sleeps through from 7:30pm til 7:30am and with everyother brand nappy i tried he woke every 3 hours as he was just so wet!!

I wasted a whole box of nappies but he seems to feel better and sleep better when it stays in the nappy!!! Hope this helps :-)

Cheerio
11-08-2009, 15:36
I can't believe that I was about to post a thread with a similar question!

I have exactly the same problem with Huggies. I have been using DD's walker nappies for night time because his were leaking through every single night :hair:

Can you buy inserts or something to put in a boost the absorbency? I might check this out. I also used the Sorbies night time ones and still wet everywhere.

Sheer Bliss
11-08-2009, 16:13
Sorry girls, but I have to be cheeky here and gloat. DS feeds every 2-3hrs at night, and I usually only change him if he has pooed (so often not until morning) and we never have leaks.

He wears a baby beehind fitted cloth nappy :D or an Itti bitti boo boosted with a bamboo fold-up. Cloth rocks! :laughing: :yelclap:

DD1 was the only one I used disposables with, and we always used huggies at night, until their new apparently improved design that gave her wedgies all the time, that's when we converted to cloth, and it has been fun! lol.

maplewattle
11-08-2009, 16:26
Hi Mischas,

We tried the Huggies infant after DS grew out of newborn but he still wet up them. And they're very exey! I've found the Babylove work best for us now (they have a new "poopoo pouch"!)

I've read some women on here talk about the Woolies brand are apparently good, not the black and white but the Woolies name brand. Maybe give them a try?

iMischa
11-08-2009, 16:43
oh damn no guarentee with huggies either!!!!

CM u cheeky lady :P i cant afford afford to set up the cost of cloth unfortunately.. and i must admit i'm too lazy to add all the extra washing ontop of everything else around here.

cheerio if u find anything about inserts please let me know!

i guess ill give the rest of the brands a go and see if any solve the prob *sigh*

Lilahh
11-08-2009, 17:19
Lincoln outgrew Huggies NB nappies around 4 weeks. We tried babylove and he pooed and weed right through them. They leaked terribly! They also gave him bad nappy rash. I had a box of NB huggies leftover and kept trying to use them... he leaked out of them. I finally upgraded to the next size in Huggies and haven't had a single leak problem since. :thumbsup: They are exey but they are the best. I gave the leftover NB Huggies to a friend having a baby soon.

Nanay
11-08-2009, 18:15
DS1 leaked through all other brands of nappies except Huggies and Aldi. When I tried babylove I would have to change him every 2 hours, i complained to the company and what did they do... they sent me a whole new box of it and were the same problem so i just made it his "day" nappies ...
With DS2 I found that he was leaking through his Aldi crawler nappies (5-9kg) when he was only 7kgs so I went up a size at nights (7-16kg) and that solved the problem for us at nights.

I had a thread about this awhile back and people have responded that the body of the bubs also make a different on how the nappy fits them... I dont know if that's much help, maybe try small packets first until you find the one that will fit the best.

iMischa
11-08-2009, 18:23
thanks for the replies! My MIL have bought us 3 packets of every sized aldi nappies (while i was pregnant) the newborn size are fairly big on him and are the worst of the bunch id say..maybe thats because of the size? i'll keep them as emergency/spare ones but definitely arent very good for this munchkin..

one day he had wet through and i changed his nappy and found the front of the nappy had absorbed ok.. then nothing in the middle then a little right up the back...so more than half the nappy wasnt even soaking up anything!

gonna try a small pack of huggies i think and then move on to woolies brand and or snuggies...surely something hasto work! i need sleeeep argh!

Ushas
11-08-2009, 19:04
I had some Babylove and hated them. He kept leaking and the nappies were 'exploding' and he was covered in the gel stuff.
So I went back to huggies. I use MCN's at home and disposables at night or when out.

www.nappyonline.com.au (http://www.nappyonline.com.au/)
This is a website a friend gave me for cheap prices on Huggies nappies. I haven't used it yet as I was given boxes of the NB nappies and have been taking these back to woolies and swapping them for the Crawler ones as I need them. But she said the prices are awesome and the service was immediate. Ordered the previous day and on her doorstep before 9am the following day.

LolliLips
11-08-2009, 19:08
Snugglers. If ur going to try something first this has been my winner. They seem to be 1 design away from huggies (by design I mean 'latest style' etc) and way cheaper. My son at 19mths goes 12 hrs at night in them.

VegieK
11-08-2009, 21:21
I have my DS in the Nature Babycare ones. He lasts a good 12 hours in these overnight - with no problems (he is almost 5 months)

Hooves
12-08-2009, 00:07
I am using Huggies, and we skipped the infant size, and just put him into crawler. they come further up his belly, but I can get a snug fit.

AND they are loaded in the morning, and never leak through.

The only time I have had a leak is if his penis is pointing to the side, or up. SO I make sure it points down, between his legs. LOL

I used to use the snugglers all the time, with my other boys.

AND will be changing to them, soon. I only used the huggies this time, as they were on sale, 2 boxes for 66. Worked out about $5 saved. LOL. (so about 6-7 weeks supply.

I am aiming to spend no more then $34 a fortnight (or if possible a little longer then a fortnight).

HeidiLee
12-08-2009, 05:07
You really do get what you pay for with nappies.

We have used huggies from day one (never paid more than $30 a box) and have never had our son wet through a nappy and this includes his 10+ hour nighr sleeps :)

kotakai
12-08-2009, 07:08
CM u cheeky lady :P i cant afford afford to set up the cost of cloth unfortunately.. and i must admit i'm too lazy to add all the extra washing ontop of everything else around here.

Do you know for the price of a box of huggies, you could buy a night cloth nappy, that you use over & over? You don't need to use cloth in the day, as you can just change him, but if you don't want to have to change him over night this could be the way to go. I get a good 12+ hours out of mine with no leaks.

And there's really no extra washing. You just chuck it in your wash in the morning & hang it on the line. That's it. No soaking or anything.

I'll get off my cloth bandwagon now :laughing:

teen17
12-08-2009, 07:14
i so hav to say that Woolies Select nappies are THE BEST for preventing leaks!! :smiliedance:
God i was so angry huggies changed there design cos they hv so many leaks n the fit is horrible :no:
we got a Woolies pack to try (u can get a pack of 2 travel ones in a few sizes to try them) n loved them. they havnt leaked once n iv used them sice he was 6wks old (hes 15wks tomorrow) :yelclap: whereas when were using any other nappies DS's liquid poo explodes everywhere!!
n theyre alot cheaper than huggies n u can get good specials on them too.
the Woolies just hav a very nice baby-shaped fit that contours to fit your baby perfect whereas alot of nappies arent flexible enuf. DS is a VERY heavy wetter at nite and he sleeps 7.30pm to 8.00am no problems in them with no leaks :D
we tried Snugglers, Sorbies, Aldi, Babylove, Huggies, Coles, and couple of others... they all leaked :eek: but the Woolies didnt! (a miracle with DS's wetting LOL)!

just my input!! but i HIGHLY recommend the Woolies select for absorbancy, no leaks n the proper contour fit wich actually fits babies' individual shapes!!

PS. for those wondering about boosters hav u tried the completely biodegradable flushable pads that go inside eenee pouch pants? google them n ul find them. u could use them to boost the nappy n if poop ocurred flush it straight down the loo or if wet compost it!! :thumbsup:

Mummy2R&K
12-08-2009, 07:16
Oh I like the Woolies Select nappies :) new fan here :thumbsup:

I mostly put DD in the Huggies one for the first night stretch (about 8hrs) then when she wakes for her bottle and if I need to change her, then just put a Woolies one on.

Usually you can get huggies for fairly good deals every few weeks, just buy in bulk if you can. Woolies select quite often go two boxes for $50. You could just try the huggies at night too. The woolies actually have sample packs for $1.30 i think so I bought one to try first.

DS I used to always have to put him in the next size up at night because he was a big wetter.

Mummy2R&K
12-08-2009, 07:22
Also, forgot to mention that I've started using the Junior Woolies Select ones for DS, as I refused to pay the Huggies price for theirs. They quite often have 2x44 packs going for $27.

No problems there except if he gets really wet and is playing outside, jumping on tramp etc, the absorbent stuff in them becomes seperated.

Hooves
12-08-2009, 08:54
I was given some of the woolies select nappies when he was first born, and I found they leaked after 4 hours. Every time.

SO I stayed away from them.

Hmmm weird how some nappies work for one person, but another works better. IYKWIM??

I used to use the home brand nappies years ago, and found them quite good. Haven't used them for 4 years though. LOL

iMischa
12-08-2009, 10:01
hehe so many conflicting storiesss!!! i guess maybe it does come down to diff babies diff nappies!

cloth confuses me, i wouldnt mind making the switch except they do cost a bit and my ds just grows SO quickly (was born 7.5 pounds and at 7 weeks is 12 pounds) *crikey!!!*

do they have a one size fits all? lol.

angelsofmine
12-08-2009, 10:34
Yes a lot of cloth have one size fits all

My little one has fuzzibuns in one size (we got 10 of these)... they are awesome. He also has baby beehinds another one size (which are awesome over night and we have 6) and we have some cushie tushies ...(these are also one size and we have 8 I think)...man i could go on..... But I wont hehehehe

It has been great buying cloth as we have 25 nappies now which means I can wash every 3rd day if need be and it didnt cost alot at all to start up...... alot of these can be bought in bulk packs at a reduced price.... and they look so cute.....

btw my son is already 7.1 kgs at 16 weeks and his nappies fit so well and will for ages....

Mummy2R&K
12-08-2009, 12:16
I was given some of the woolies select nappies when he was first born, and I found they leaked after 4 hours. Every time.

SO I stayed away from them.

Hmmm weird how some nappies work for one person, but another works better. IYKWIM??

I used to use the home brand nappies years ago, and found them quite good. Haven't used them for 4 years though. LOL

I didn't like the newborn ones, but the crawlers seem okay.

Alot of newborn nappies will leak with poo as they are so big on babies and cos it's so runny still. I found huggies always leaked for poos with DD until she went onto formula.

Never had a problem with either for wees.

Bunnyhugs
12-08-2009, 12:19
Hi guys - hope you don't mind me crashing your thread but just wondered if anyone has tried the Aldi MAMIA brand nappies?

I found them to be heaps better than Huggies and Babylove and they're pretty cheap too.

Ushas
12-08-2009, 17:19
Yes they do Mischa... My MCNs are One size fits all.

www.issybearnapppies.com.au (http://www.issybearnapppies.com.au)

Many of the brands do though...

Cheerio
13-08-2009, 08:04
well tried Woolies select nappies last night and it was not great. Had to change clothes, grobag, sheets at 3am. This is driving me crazy!

His willy is south, nappy definately fitted properly arrrrrgh :hair:

iMischa
13-08-2009, 09:42
hugs cheerio* oh i feel your pain...well ive ordered my first MCN...and im hoping its everything i want in a nappy lol please of please no leaks!

Cheerio
13-08-2009, 10:37
oooooh, what did you order? You'll have to let me know how it goes

iMischa
13-08-2009, 11:00
a baby beehind magicall minky snap with an extra bamboo booster *fingers crossed* will definitely keep you posted :)

MagicalLeopluradon
13-08-2009, 14:07
I had the same problem with my DS from birth, he was constantly wetting through his nappies.....I ended up putting him in the next size up (and making sure his penis was down or not to the side hehe) and no more wet throughs! He was only in the newborn for 1 week....put him in infant and he no longer wet through.

MagicalLeopluradon
13-08-2009, 14:12
Oh and I use Huggies, tried Snugglers....but find myself always going back to Huggies.

Cheerio
13-08-2009, 15:06
beckibabe, I tried the next size up too and even his sisters nappies which are walkers and it still blardy happens. His new nickname has gone from Junior Whopper to Super Soaker, this is nuts!

MagicalLeopluradon
13-08-2009, 20:06
Oh really, true....hmm have you been to the doctor about it maybe or the child nurse? Is he a big drinker? My son has big bottles always has since 8 weeks 200-260ml. I dont know what else to suggest :(

Cheerio
14-08-2009, 09:09
Beckibabe, we are seeing the CHN next week so will ask her then.

We had some success last night, instead of walkers I used Juniors and no weeing through :smiliedance: