View Full Version : Car advice

Shajbm
30-06-2006, 22:55

I'm expecting identical twins and we already have a 3 year old DS...We are looking into buying a new car because I currently have a Ford festiva and that will be way too small when the babies come.

What can you guys suggest? I guess we need a car that will fit 2 car seats(capsules for the first 6-8 months) and a booster seat. Also boot needs to fit a double stroller.

Any advice would be great.

twins+another
03-07-2006, 08:57
Hi, we are looking at cars at the moment as well. We have 14 month old twins and are expecting another 1 in January, so we will have 3 under 2!

We have a small Subaru station wagon at the moment but it is too narrow to fit 3 seats across. Looked at 4WD, but twin prams are too heavy to lift very high so that was out. Then we started looking at vans and people movers but the boot space isn't big enough to fit a double pram in, so we crossed that off our list as well. We have pretty much decided on a Ford sation wagon (although hubby swears he will never be caught dead in a Ford LOL) because they are wide enough across the backseat for 3 seats to fit comfortably and have fantastic boot space. The Holden is good as well but not quite as wide.

Good luck

Briannabear
03-07-2006, 11:54
We have a Commadore 'Berlina' and it very comfortably fits two car seats in it. It also has a large boot that easily fits a double pram.
My friend has an older 'Executive' and its just as roomy as ours.
Good luck in your hunt!

Shajbm
03-07-2006, 12:00
Briannabear...Thanks for that but I already have a 3 year old so I need a car that will fit 2 car seats and a booster across the back seat.
twins+another...we're not keen on a stationwagon such as ford or holden and my bertini pram weighs about 16 kilos...so I'm not sure yet what we will do...We may end up having to settle for the next best thing...We're not in a hurry so will keep researching. When are you due with your next bub?

Sandra/Paul
03-07-2006, 12:08
Hi, Ive got 3 children and when they were all young in car seats, booster seats and capsules - it was a very tight squeeze. Wo opt'ed for a Toyota Torago and Ive never looked back - best decision we ever made I reckon. Has enough boot space for a pram or you could even lay the back seats down for extra room. We are planning on having a 4th so this is great for us.

riley&coopersmum
03-07-2006, 21:23
Our twins are almost three and we are currently trying for the next one (just one this time, please!). We recently got a Kia Carnival and it's the best thing we ever did. The boot isn't very deep when you've got all the seats in use, but I just stand my pram up and we don't have any problems.

twins+another
05-07-2006, 08:45
My next bub is due the first week of January so I will have 3 under 2! If you find a car suitable for 3 car seats and a boot big enough for a double pram, let me know!

Shajbm
05-07-2006, 11:32
Sandra&Paul...Thanks for the advice...We have a cash flow issue too. We are trying not to spend an arm an a leg on a car, but I'm slowly realising that that may not be possible.
riley&coopersmum...WE haven't looked closely enough at the Kia Carnival, but one of the mums at playgroup had one and I couldn't work out how you get 3 seats across the row!!!
twins+another...Will do!!

riley&coopersmum
05-07-2006, 12:57
riley&coopersmum...WE haven't looked closely enough at the Kia Carnival, but one of the mums at playgroup had one and I couldn't work out how you get 3 seats across the row!!!

Since we only have the twins (at this stage) we have them in the middle two seats. There are three seats across the back row.

When we have number 3, we will probably move the twins to the back, new baby in the middle row and take out the other middle seat to allow easier access for the kids to climb in and out, plus get in there ourselves to do up seatbelts, etc.

Part of the reason we went with the Carnival was cost (it was under $30K), plus the fact that it has sliding doors on both sides. Prior to the Carnival, we had a Falcon sedan and it was a nightmare finding parking wide enough that you could open both doors sufficiently to get the twins into their carseats.

Hope this helps and good luck!

InSaneOne
05-07-2006, 13:29
i love our kia carnival. the double sliding doors are one of the reasons we didn't go with a tarago. we only paid $17000 for ours second hand but when you get a new one the warranty is very good and tehy have heaps of room. we have a bub under 1 and 3 teenagers. we also stand the pram up and use one of those stretchy straps around the pram and the headrest just to keep it from falling over. we have fitted a whole weekends worth of clothes and baby needs (portacot and pram) in the back as well as all the seats being filled up woth people so there is plenty of luggage room and seats of butts to fill.

you could also take the car seats and pram you will be using with you when you go car shopping and try them out for space. most car yards won't mind. then you will know which ones fit the best.

malinda84
05-07-2006, 14:01
We just brought the kia grand carnival, it has 8 seats and i have never had a problem, my partner has the holden zafira and he has three car seats in the middle, i have even had 6 car seats in my kia and the zafira we have put 2 boosters in the back. The kia was only $36100 on road i think. if you find your booster is too bulky buy a maxi rider they are great and the toddlers still have the harness and are strapped to a bolt which i like. We Also have a 2005 barina and i have had 2 car seats and a maxi rider in it and it is great on fuel $35 and you go 600km not like our kia $70 for 600km. hope that helps. :thumbsup:

mum of

Andrew- 26/10/03
Kaitlyn- 10/10/05

little mermaid
05-07-2006, 19:14
My friend has twin boys and a 3 year old and she has a Ford Teritory, it has 5 car seat anchor points 3 in the middle and 2 in the back if you use those seats.They are on the backs of the seat so does not waste any luggage space. She did not have any problem putting her Bertini Bidwell twin pram in the boot at all. All her 3 car seats fit fine across the back, although on saying that I have a Ford Focus and I can fit 3 car seats along the back.

Shajbm
10-07-2006, 11:58
Bille+beth, Malinda84 and little mermaid...thank you for your replies. We too are looking at the Kia Carnival and also looking into other 7 seaters. If we don't have to change our carseats, then that would be preferable(just because I can't be bothered shopping around for some other ones)however, it may be more feasible for us to purchase smaller seats and booster so then we can get pretty much any car we like.

The hunt is still on...

How is everyone else going? What have you all been up to?

A Party of Five
04-08-2006, 12:06
Hi There, I have just got my 2004 Toyota Tarago, and I we just love it. It's the best thing we have done as a family. We need a bigger car for the twins (dec06). It has heaps of room and lovely to drive. Now DH wants to drive all the time now.

Shajbm
01-09-2006, 21:53
Yummy mummy of 5...My DH is not keen on the Tarago...

Where has everyone gone?

Twins+1
02-09-2006, 07:54
Hi Shajake,

When we found out we were having twins (we also have a 2 yr old) we decided to buy a second hand Landcruiser. It fits the 3 car seats in comfortably and has plenty of room in the back for the twin stroller and anything else you may need to pack in there.

We also have a 1996 Commordore SE Executive that we were suppose to sell to a friend (long story but they didn't end up buying it... just drove it for 6 months and we now have it back). Anyway, the 3 car seats also fit in the back comfortably and the twin stroller also fits in the boot. They are normal sized car seats and the twin stroller is a Childcare brand that can be used for newborns. We did buy the Valco Twin Runabout pram but this stays in the garage and is only used for walking around the streets as I find it to big and heavy to take in the car.

We have now decided to sell the Landcruiser as I find it alot easier to put the girls in the Commordore and it is alot better on fuel.

Anyway, goodluck with the car hunting!