View Full Version : MCN's and daycare
Jaspat24
08-08-2009, 09:10
I start back at work 3 days a fortnight (every wed and every 2nd sat) on 19th August. DS will be in daycare pretty much all day on the Wed and DH will have him on the Sat. The daycare have said they're happy to use MCN so i've bought some of the BBH magicalls on clearance to use for daycare.
How many MCN's would i need to leave for him? I don't want the daycare to use my normal nappy bag so i've got a berlei bag (free with bras etc) that i was going to use. But cos i need to give a small cooler of EBM (medela cooler bag) i'm worried it all won't fit. Do you reckon i could just put the nappies in a clean woolies green bag or old shouldr bag? would i look 'weird' taking two bags into daycare?
Friends say to just use disposables for daycare but then that means that i'll have nappies hanging around in the nappy bucket for an extra day to get enough to wash.
TIA, Jasmine
Eco Goddess
08-08-2009, 10:01
Good on you for using MCN's at daycare:yelclap:
I work in a day care centre, so although I dont yet have a bub in MCN's, thought I might give some advice.
Putting them in a green bag would be fine... I know at our centre we just get parents to put their child's nappies in a basket on the nappy bench in the morning, so a bag isnt necessary. But if they want you to keep them in something, I think that would be ideal. And dont worry about looking wierd with 2 bags...lots of our families come with several bags - 1 for spare clothes, 1 for sheets, 1 for nappies!:)
Don't worry about looking weird taking 2 bags in, you should see all the stuff I take in some days for DD1 - she wants her pillow, her blanket, something for show and share, her bag and sometimes a teddy or similar for rest time. I almost feel like taking the pram out to load up just to get everything through the door - and she's 3!!!
A green bag would be perfect for your nappies. easy to access, big enough for everything you need and easy to carry.
Good luck for your return to work!
oliviasmumma
08-08-2009, 10:22
I reakon stick with MCN (heaps of mums do it)and whatever bags you think you need - though I reakon the simpler the better!
good luck!:flowerz:
deb
My girl is in family day care so I have to provide everything for her. I always send her in with 2 bags - 1 for food and 1 for nappies. The nappy bag has - a change of clothes, 4 mcn nappies, wet bags, a pack of disposable wipes and a couple of huggies for emergencies. I don't have enough mcns for to send more than that but the 4 is usually enough.
I'd send in the amount of nappies you usually use in that time +1. In a centre if they need extra they have 'em anyway.
Jaspat24
08-08-2009, 11:41
I'd send in the amount of nappies you usually use in that time +1. In a centre if they need extra they have 'em anyway.
If DS had a bad pooey day and i didn't provide enough and they had to use sposies, would i then have to 'replace' or pay for those disposables? I would normally use maybe 4 magicalls during the day, so if i sen him in one, and provide 6 extra, i think that'll be heaps.
Thanks for the replies about the 2 bags though, i won't feel weird about it now!
I don't use cloth wipes (yet) so do i need to provide a pack of wipes for them, o is that included? (at $72 a day, i would hope so).
mummeeto2
08-08-2009, 11:59
If DS had a bad pooey day and i didn't provide enough and they had to use sposies, would i then have to 'replace' or pay for those disposables? I would normally use maybe 4 magicalls during the day, so if i sen him in one, and provide 6 extra, i think that'll be heaps.
Thanks for the replies about the 2 bags though, i won't feel weird about it now!
I don't use cloth wipes (yet) so do i need to provide a pack of wipes for them, o is that included? (at $72 a day, i would hope so).
It would depend on the centre's policy. Some centres do not provide nappies or wipes so you'd have to check with the director. Flushable liners are great for daycare so they don't have to worry about getting rid of poo from the nappy/fleece liner
BabelFish
08-08-2009, 12:42
A lady in my mother's group uses MCNs at her daycare - she sends her son along with six Magicalls with liners. She said they're more than happy to accommodate, which I think is fantastic!! :yelclap:
When I worked in cc we were always happy for familys to use cloth.
Ask about wipes - some do, some dont.
If you do/dont want them rinsed I'd let them know also.