View Full Version : Bambooty

BabelFish
04-08-2009, 21:08
So, what do you all think?

I see that they have 30% off this week and there've been a few people here who rave about their night nappies.

Is it worth buying a couple?

2boyoboys
04-08-2009, 21:24
To be honest they are fantastic value!! They dry really quickly, have 12 layers of bamboo (double their day time nappy) but are in 4 flaps (will make sense once you see it). Having said this, i only use them as a 'nap time nappy' on my DS2 ( he is a MEGGA pee'er) I have heard people say that the smalls are really small. Were in the large, and they work on my 2.5 (16.5kg) yo and my 5.5mo (11kg)

BabelFish
04-08-2009, 21:36
Most excellent!!

I'm going to see if they're at the Expo - I HAD to stop myself right at the `confirm order' point on their page because I've spent $500 in a week on nappies and really, it's getting a bit out of hand :laughing:

MrsErinnElizabeth
04-08-2009, 21:39
Might want to check out this post from a while back as well :)

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=263327

BabelFish
04-08-2009, 21:41
Yeah cheers I did a search after I posted this (should have done that first) and I've just read the whole thing :D

Jaspat24
04-08-2009, 22:18
i love bambooty! i have one small easy dry and its so cute and trim on my DS. I loved it so much that i bought a 1day by style pack all medium easy dry and the night nappy. I also got the email today and even though am on a nappy ban, i ordered 3 more night nappies and 1 more day nappy. i'm handing over my credit cards tonight :( i've spent $335 on nappies since saturday, not very good of me.

em1984
05-08-2009, 06:25
Hi :) May I ask how you get 30% off? I'd love to invest in a couple of these

em1984
05-08-2009, 06:29
oh and in terms of their boosters, which is better? plain bamboo or suede top clothed??

em1984
05-08-2009, 07:14
Cancel those questions, I'm a naughty girl and just bought some :D They are so so cute! Can't wait to try them out! And with 30% off, what a bargain!

MrsErinnElizabeth
05-08-2009, 07:15
Hi :) May I ask how you get 30% off? I'd love to invest in a couple of these

You just put the words 'thank you' in the discount code box during checkout. I just ordered three of them last night...can't wait to see them!

em1984
05-08-2009, 07:28
Thanks :) I figured it out from the specials thread. I just bought 8 :D 2 night, 2 easy peasy, and 2 quick dry as well as some boosters and t-shirt! haha, dp is going to send me to nappyholics annonymous soon....I cant wait to get them!

embryonichappyperson
05-08-2009, 07:32
I wish the trial pack had the choice of getting 2 diff sizes to try! I think I might buy a couple to test out but I don't know if I should get small or medium. Logan is about 5.13kg, could be a bit more cause he got weighed a week ago. But the smalls are pretty trim apparently so yeah, what do Bambooty buyers think? Small or medium?

em1984
05-08-2009, 07:43
they say they are a trim fit so maybe the medium will be ok? not sure, hopefully someone can help

embryonichappyperson
05-08-2009, 07:46
Logan hasn't got overly chubby legs either, in between chubby and skinny and they are short! lol. I could buy one of both size I spose.

LeeJ
05-08-2009, 08:02
so the difference b/w them
easy peasy - AIO
easy dry - has 4 flaps that fold out for quicker drying

yes?

neithers 'better' than the other, just designed differently?

3 Little Pigs
05-08-2009, 08:04
Thanks for the discount code.
I just ordered 3 night times and a trial pack, so naughty, but couldn't help myself, i got the small size seems like they fit newborns.

Jofema
05-08-2009, 08:14
Hi Buddy-Judy,
Did you get the 30% discount off the trial package? I wasn't sure if it applied to the packages as well.

3 Little Pigs
05-08-2009, 08:19
Jofema- Yep i got 30% off the trial package as well. :)

Jofema
05-08-2009, 09:13
Thanks Buddy-Judy - too much of a good deal, I gave in!
I have just ordered three more to go with the five Bambooty nappies I already have!
How many nappies is too many nappies????:laughing:

em1984
05-08-2009, 09:21
jofema your obviously happy with them? I'm thinking I might order even more, as the 30% off is such a good deal!

Jofema
05-08-2009, 09:35
Hey em1984,
Yeah - I love them. I have four nights and one easy peasy. I think they are well made and wash/wear well.
They are a trim fit so I have upsized to medium on my DD who is around 6kg - maybe a little early as the nights have leaked occassionally at the top of the back, but I know this is because she is skinny around the waist and chubby around the thighs. She is also a heavy wetter!
The easy peasy is exactly what it says! So easy to use and never had a leak:yelclap:.
Had I come across these nappies sooner, I would have more (they are fast becoming my favs) but I already have almost 30 nappies for a 12 week old :laughing:!!!
I am sure you won't be dissapointed if you buy some....

Jaspat24
05-08-2009, 10:05
IXNAY: my DS is 5.46kgs and fits nicely in the small size. But not for much longer. So if you were going to order some, i'd probably get some mediums, then you'll get the wear out of the.

em1984
05-08-2009, 10:15
cool thanks! I've already ordered a few but think i might get some more now... I just cant decide whether to go with the easy peasy's or quick dry? Is drying time the ONLY difference? I think the easy peasy might be more daddy friendly :D

Jaspat24
05-08-2009, 10:24
I went with the easy dry cos i love them so much and hate waiting for things to dry befor ei want to use them again. I just make sure all the nappies are stuffed and boosters laid in properly etc so when DH needs to cahnge a nappy its all ready. what am i talking about - DH changes on average 1 nappy a week and i leave out the nappy i want him to use on the change table so the poor man doesn't even need to think about it.

em1984
05-08-2009, 10:31
hmmmm does anyone have both, is there a MASSIVE difference in drying time? ahhh i can't decide, it takes FOREVER for things to dry here, unless I use the dryer... I think my new itti's I got today will be going in the dryer as I just want to use them NOW.. Will be my first ever mcn used EVER yay!

LeeJ
05-08-2009, 10:38
well after all your rave reveiws, i ended up getting the trial pack, a night, an easy print and a couple of extra boosters.
fingers crossed they work out for us!

Me
05-08-2009, 10:44
well after all your rave reveiws, i ended up getting the trial pack, a night, an easy print and a couple of extra boosters.
fingers crossed they work out for us!

:laughing: I just got a night and an easy dry print - strawberries for course:D did you get j the transport print?

Jofema
05-08-2009, 10:46
I can't compare the the two yet, but I can say that I find the easy peasy doesn't take that long to dry, I would say it takes less time than my BBH magicalls - actually about the same time as my itti bitti sewn ins. Hope this helps...

em1984
05-08-2009, 10:51
cool thanks well I might just go with the easy peasy's I think, I'm going to end up having that many nappies anyway that drying time probably won't be an issue haha

LeeJ
05-08-2009, 11:05
:laughing: I just got a night and an easy dry print - strawberries for course:D did you get j the transport print?

haha!

i got the nights in yellow,
a blue and green in the colours,
and OF COURSE the transport print, daddy will LURVE it, LOL

Me
05-08-2009, 11:59
i almost got the yellow nights but then changed my mind to pink:laughing:

kezzaskids
05-08-2009, 12:04
I have the strawberries :) I really like them about the same as my BG AIO that they used to make BUT..... I think if you have a heavy wee er....(?) you really need to use boosters as they dont last very long otherwise. The quick dry feels like it has more absorbency but prob is the same. I really like them too and may just have to get some more!

jjules13
05-08-2009, 13:21
i just received a medium butter cololured one today. my first trial of this brand. tell me, do they run on the super small side. what size bubs do your 'large' bambootys fit?

Merla
05-08-2009, 16:48
i just received a medium butter cololured one today. my first trial of this brand. tell me, do they run on the super small side. what size bubs do your 'large' bambootys fit?

Ive got medium day nappies on my (id say almost 8kg) 18week old DD, and they fit perfectly on the smallest snap setting, we have been on that snap setting since I got them a few weeks ago. We also have a Large night nappy which "just" fits, though gapes a little at the legs, so ive been popping a cover over it to be on the safe side.

2boyoboys
05-08-2009, 16:59

I have the large on both my boys. DS1 is 2.5 yrs and DS2 is 5.5 months. DS2 is 11+kg (and a very big boy for his age) on DS1, there are a low rise, but still contain everything.

I went from Itti's to Bambooty- so to me they seemed massive, i think it depends on what ur used to. Try it on with a liner, and see how the fit is- im pretty sure u can exchange sized if it hasnt been washed ( u might want to check the sight to confirm that though)

jjules13
05-08-2009, 19:25
i ask because im debating the strawberry and stripes in large for my daughter, who really is at the end of her diapering career hahaha i just bought the medium to trial for my (not yet born) 3rd bubba! haha. couldnt resist whacking it on her for a trial run.

Zalia
06-08-2009, 13:10
cool thanks! I've already ordered a few but think i might get some more now... I just cant decide whether to go with the easy peasy's or quick dry? Is drying time the ONLY difference? I think the easy peasy might be more daddy friendly :D

I have both and like them equally. The drying time is different but not a huge amount - maybe 1/2 a day. And the easy dry is actually still very daddy friendly, the flaps fold in easily and sit flat. Its not as fiddly as an itti sewn in for example. Its probably easier to boost an easy dry because you can put the booster under the flaps.

HTH

springbubba
07-08-2009, 15:34
mmmmm decisions decisions...to buy or not to buy???

Bubs isn't due to October but I already have purchased just over 20 MCNs.

I have
3 Bambooty
5 Bubblebubs
4 BBH magicalls
3 itt's
1 ecobub?
1 green kids
1 cushie
4 Bamboozle fitteds with thirsties and bummis covers

I lloooooovvvvveee the bambooty's and who could resist this sale? I don't know the gender of bubs but love the strawberries and trucks. I don't think I need anymore small sizes as most of the MCN's above are smalls (except the cushie and green kids). Would you buy a few meds to take advantage of the sale or would you wait to see if they actually work for bubs and that way you know which colours to buy (trucks or strawberries?). Or do you think I could do with a few more smalls???

HAHAHA this addiction is taking up far too much of my time!!!

mundyc
07-08-2009, 16:45
springbubba - I wouldn't buy any more smalls as you probably won't get your money worth out of them . I can't see my small fitting my DD for much longer and she is only 1 month old . If I were you I would grab half a dozen Booroi bamboo prefolds to fill out your stash . You already have covers and the prefolds are only about $8 each . We use them on our newborn when every thing else is in the wash or waiting to dry and they are excellent . And unlike everything that contains elastic and/or pul they can go in the dryer if you get caught without any dry nappies .

Don't forget they nappy hunt is on again next month so there will be heaps of sales on then . :smiliedance:

TuesdaysPrincess
07-08-2009, 16:48
I wish the trial pack had the choice of getting 2 diff sizes to try! I think I might buy a couple to test out but I don't know if I should get small or medium. Logan is about 5.13kg, could be a bit more cause he got weighed a week ago. But the smalls are pretty trim apparently so yeah, what do Bambooty buyers think? Small or medium?

I ordered the medium for my baby, he's just uner 7kg and they are nearly too small for him already. I would definitely get the medium for your little one, not the small!

em1984
07-08-2009, 16:49
Whats the nappy hunt??

mundyc
07-08-2009, 16:57
Whats the nappy hunt??

Its like an online scavenger hunt were you have to follow clues on nappy websites to find a nappy icon . There are heaps of prizes to be won but best of all all those who are registered for the hunt get a code which entitles them to discounts .
I got most of my current stash in the hunt last time and saved heaps of money . Be warned though it will take your addiction to a new level . :laughing:
Google diaper decisions and go to the Great Nappy Hunt ( not diaper hunt ) for more info .

LeeJ
07-08-2009, 18:49
I ordered the medium for my baby, he's just uner 7kg and they are nearly too small for him already. I would definitely get the medium for your little one, not the small!

oh no, don't tell me that K!

I got 4 mediums, J is already 7kg:(
might have to see if she'll swap them, theres another $15 postage down the drain.

i have 2 itti bitti M coming too, don't think they will last long either, damn it.

2boyoboys
07-08-2009, 18:55
Would you buy a few meds to take advantage of the sale or would you wait to see if they actually work for bubs and that way you know which colours to buy (trucks or strawberries?).

I have a 2DS's and we have a strawberry in out stash, as well as a strawberry fields Itti, and i love them on the boys!! So i wouldnt worry to much about the print and colors- having said that though i draw the line at pink. but we do have purple :goodvibes:

Im hanging for my Bambooty's they have become my work horse, and am expecting 13, but with 2 in cloth- we go through them.

katieinwa
07-08-2009, 22:46
oh no, don't tell me that K!

I got 4 mediums, J is already 7kg:(
might have to see if she'll swap them, theres another $15 postage down the drain.

i have 2 itti bitti M coming too, don't think they will last long either, damn it.

don't stress

DD is 9.68kgs and still fits her med itti with one snap exposed in teh middle. :)

Jaspat24
08-08-2009, 09:03
my DS is only 5.46 (yay 170gms weight gain this week :smiliedance:) and i'm looking forward to prewashing and using all my mediums on him!!! i've got 8 more bambooty coming in the mail.

LeeJ
08-08-2009, 09:20
don't stress

DD is 9.68kgs and still fits her med itti with one snap exposed in teh middle. :)

medium ittis' - fit him, but doesnt look like for long:(

ohh, money down the drain!

Me
08-08-2009, 13:33
Tash I thought the same thing but the ittis seem to fit on the same snap for ages. I've had mine for about 2 mths and I don't think I've changed the snap settings yet.

LeeJ
08-08-2009, 13:53
yeah, i said to dh, his growing will slow down a bit now, and once he gets to 12months, it will slow heaps.

ho hum, we'll wait and see:)

jjules13
08-08-2009, 14:36
is the sale finished?

em1984
08-08-2009, 14:40
I think it finished yesterday? You could email her just to double check? I emailed her the other day asking and she just said it finishes at the end of this week so I assumed friday, it could mean tomorrow though I'm not sure.

LeeJ
08-08-2009, 15:32
i thought sun,

if you add them to your cart, go thru, put the promo in, and it will deduct the 30%, so you will no before you have to pay:)

LeeJ
10-08-2009, 08:28
I got my bambootys this morning:D

They are nice and trim, well made, very similar sizing to the itti bittis (Medium anyway), they arn't quite as trim as the ittis, but still definatley one of the trimmer out there.
they fit with one or 2 snaps in the middle, so should fit for a while?

has anyone had ittis? how long did it take to go from one snap in the middle to outgrown??

my day ones came with the cute little wetbags, PERFECT for the nappy bag!

the Easy peasy (AIO), as close to a sposie as you can get, nothing to snap, stuff or anything.
interesting to see drying time:)

easy dry- very nice too.

night time ones- really are quite slim than a regular bumgenius/happy babes.. not any more bulky

i think i only ordered 3 boosters, but she sent 4 :)

love the little gussets, will hold poosplosions much better (had one in an itti the other day, did it go everywhere:rolleyes:)

now to get them washed and dried to see how they go absorbency wise!

em1984
10-08-2009, 08:42
ooooh yay! I should get mine shortly....just sitting waiting patiently :D They sound great! And I'm glad coz I've ordered another heap of them, just need to pay....I'm kinda keen to have mostly one brand so I'm thinking bambooty's may be it...Although obviously we havent tried them yet but no one seems to fault them so I'm feeling confident!

Me
10-08-2009, 08:42
Yay its raining with bambooty goodness!

I jumped online yesterday to order more but my laptop died just after i put my cc details in but before i hit send, now im kicking myself that i couldnt log back on to do it again. i'll wait and see what i get in the nappy hunt though and go from there:)

em1984
10-08-2009, 08:45
newme just email amelia, she might still let you get the discount if you explain what happened? shes really nice!

Zalia
10-08-2009, 08:59
I got my bambootys this morning:D

has anyone had ittis? how long did it take to go from one snap in the middle to outgrown??

It depends on your bubs shape. My girl has chubby thighs and the mediums a little small but the larges are a bit big. Yet they are nearly on the same snap position around the waist. Its the rise that gets short - too much plumbers crack. Does that make sense? Hows the fit for height?

LeeJ
10-08-2009, 09:12
It depends on your bubs shape. My girl has chubby thighs and the mediums a little small but the larges are a bit big. Yet they are nearly on the same snap position around the waist. Its the rise that gets short - too much plumbers crack. Does that make sense? Hows the fit for height?

the bambooty's have a higher rise than the ittis', so should last a bit longer then:D

oliviasmumma
10-08-2009, 10:00
whats the outer material feel like?

LeeJ
10-08-2009, 10:04
silky-ish, sorta, :laughing:

nicer to feel than bumgenius, baby safari, happy babes.

oliviasmumma
10-08-2009, 10:08
ok cool - looked kinda plastic-ish! but silk is much better.:yelclap:

will be interested to see how the night nappy goes!

LeeJ
10-08-2009, 10:12
yes, i was worried about the plastic-y feeling too, but out of all of the 'regular' nappies i have (non minky;)) they are the nicest to feel,
can someone help me out with a better discription?

i think silky-ish is the best way to describe it though:D

em1984
10-08-2009, 18:55
well we got our bambooty's today yay! Trying out our first ever night nappy tonight, has anyone else tried them out? I put an extra booster in but it was WAY too bulky so fingers crossed it will be ok. They are a very small fit, I'm starting to wonder if I should have got large, I dont know....anyhoo they are gorgeous nappy's, beautifully made by the looks of it too!

em1984
10-08-2009, 19:12
Deb they are a nice feel, not 'plasticy' at all. I actually really like the feel of them, its a nice change from minky. Yeh the only way I can think to decribe them is silkyish too :D

kotakai
10-08-2009, 19:23
They are a very small fit

Hmmm, wonder if I should go med instead of sm then :confused:

I really need them to fit now though.

em1984
10-08-2009, 19:37
kotakai, Noah is a very skinny bubs too, but tall. He is about 8.5 kilo's and 74-75cm tall and they are pretty low cut on him, although he is on the smallest fastners as he is quite skinny. Looking at them I reckon they would have fit him from quite young. It's so dependant on each baby though, obviously, as to how they fit them....

Me
10-08-2009, 19:45
Kotakai you could measure his waist then email Amelia to ask her recommendation? Dd2 is 5 months in m's but has the snaps meeting in the middle.

em1984
10-08-2009, 19:46
I'll also add, the easy peasy definitely take a bit longer to dry. I had all nappies in the dryer for a couple of hours and they all came out dry except the easy peasy's, they were still fairly damp, so they are sitting in front of the heater at the moment and have been for a couple of hours and are still slightly damp. I think the sun would probably speed things up a little, but yeh there is a definite difference there. They are great though and I've got another 5 or 6 of them on order :D

LeeJ
10-08-2009, 20:53
josh has one (or 2, still deciding which will be best, lol)snap showing in the middle, he's 7kg, but only 65cm's.
mine are still drying, hopefully be ready tomoz.

the night ones are still very damp, so hopefully very absorbent!

3 Little Pigs
11-08-2009, 09:20
I got mine yesterday, my first ever fluffy mail :smiliedance:
I got the smalls and there teeny tiny and so very cute.

Harriet
12-08-2009, 06:19
I got my Bambooty yesterday and they are too big:( So disappointed because I can't wait to try them out - they look great. I got large....DD is just over 9kg - I thought for sure that'd be the size for her, but when I tried the Quick Dry on this morning we had severe wing droop.

I'm going to put a post in the swap section in the hope that someone else might have bought theirs too small. Otherwise I'll put them away for later. They are deceptively large - they look tiny:)

SmileyBJ
12-08-2009, 06:52
Otherwise I'll put them away for later. They are deceptively large - they look tiny:)

Mine were way too big also, got them when there very first sale was on about a month ago. Tried one on Ds this morning and it finally "just" fits lol. I can actually do it up on the smallest clips without it falling down :laughing:.

LeeJ
12-08-2009, 08:09
harriet, il have a look in swaps, i have some mediums :)