View Full Version : BF problems - please help me!!!
RedPanda
29-06-2006, 21:15
I always planned to BF my DS, but he's only five days old and I'm already considering giving up. I am sooo sore - I've been expressing for two days because my nipples are bleeding and just too sore. I know this isn't a good long term solution, but I really don't want to give up just yet. I hate the thought of putting him back on the breast because I'm just so worried it will hurt - it makes me feel so mean because I feel like I'm cheating him.
Did anyone else ever feel like this? I just feel like it would be so much easier to bottlefeed him - I want to give up, but I know I'll be disappointed in myself. Also, I worry that I'm just hypersensitive emotionally because I've just given birth. I don't want to make a decision based on my all-over-the-place feelings. Please help....
I know how you feel!!!! i can feel the pain right now!!!
advice to you: get yourself some lanolin (wool fat) pile it on to one nipple, and give that nipple a rest for the day!! then swap over!! :yes:
Dont give up! it will get better!! :hugs:
It is pretty horrific in the beginning. I remember being in tears in that first week and wanting to give up, but at the same time, not wanting it to get the better of me. Have you tried some lansinoh? It worked beautifully for me.
The first 3 weeks are the worst I think...it only gets b etter from there, as you both learn how to do it properly. And as your bub grows, they can open their mouths wider and latch on better.
Have you tried calling the ABA? Or seeing a lactation consultant?
It won't always be as bad as it can be in the beginning. Like most things, it takes some time and patience. :hugs:
Oh you poor thing!:kiss: :hugs: Its so hard in the beginning isnt it?. I used to bawl my eyes out at the start and i wanted to give up. I know people always say to perservere , but it is true. It will get easier. Im sure you will get heaps of great advice on here. So chin up and im sure you are doing an awesome job. Hang in there!
Oh and i remember getting out of the shower was really painful when i had to dry my boobs and i found that putting a snug bra on straightaway helped.
Funkychicken
29-06-2006, 21:23
Hazel, if you truly want to keep breastfeeding, hang in there! I know this sounds hard (and painful) right now but it will get easier and less painful. Usually this sort of pain is associated with wrong attachment. You may have to re-check his attachment. Make sure his bottom lip is jutting out, not tucked under. This is a really common way for babies to suck so you'll have to be vigilant about getting it right. You're doing a fantastic job of expressing by the sounds of it. I would give the ABA a call ASAP-they are fantastic and will offer you great inforamtion and advice and you will probably be able to meet with a Lactation Consultant straight away-as in tomorrow.
You won't ever regret breastfeeding so it is really worth sticking to it.:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
Oh mate.. its an awful pain, i really feel for you :hugs:
Hang in there, its truly worth it...
Do as others have said and get some Lanisoh (its great!)
and if bubs has not attached properly take him off and try, try again...
both of you are still learning and you'll have it down pat in no time
Oh I really feel for you. It is so hard when both you and bubs are trying to get 'the hang of things'. It sounds like you are doing the best for your bub by wanting to continue b'feeding. Once you both get into the swing of things, it becomes such a rewarding experience.
I highly recommend giving the ABA a call...here is a link (http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/products/counselling.asp) to their phone counselling service. I'm quite sure it is a 24hr service.
You poor thing :hugs: We have all felt that pain. I didn't feed with my 1st (DD) as I was the same as you sound in terrible pain and my nipples just wouldn't heal. I did feel bad for a while but the babies need the stress less than they need the breast so be persistant but DONT DO YOUR HEAD IN! :o It may get better but it may not, I used PAW PAW OINTMENT available from a chemist it is all natural and safe for feeding, but when I realised I couldn't feed due to inversion of the nipple I gave up went to bottles as I had done too much damage and figured what the hey I TRIED :D I brestfed with my 2nd (DS) 2 seconds after he was born I reached in my bag grabbed the nipple shield and we stayed that way for 9 months.
Try but don't ever think you've failed :hugs:
A lactation consultant is worth their weight in gold. i went from "no way can I look after this baby" to "lets go home now" in the space of an hour. She got me a plan that I could cope with in relation to feeding and expressing, nipple care and attachment.
Try but don't ever think you've failed :hugs:
I was just going to add that also...
Robyn you are NOT a failure if BF does not work for you and Lewis !!
Funkychicken
29-06-2006, 21:31
I have a tube of Lansinoh that I don't need if you are interested. Let me know via PM your postal address and I can send it to you if you like. it should get there in a day or two.
RedPanda
29-06-2006, 22:48
Thanks everyone for your advice and encouragement. I'm going to hang in there and keep expressing and tomorrow I'll buy a nipple shield and call the ABA. It's something I really wanted to do, and I was just getting so stressed and emotional about it. Reading everyone's responses has made me feel so much better (less depressed) - like there's light at the end of the tunnel. It's good to know that it won't always hurt this much. I'll persevere - I already feel more positive. I haven't cried about it in at least an hour now!:fingerscrossed:
oh sweetie.. dont worry about crying... its a great release :yes:
:hugs: and more :hugs:
Hey
Don't be down on yourself if you can't do it! All my friends gave up but in the end bottle feeding is actually heaps more cleaning and work. I didn't give up and am still going my DS is 6mths and now when he is feeding i haven't forgotten those first few weeks but I know i will actually miss feeding him when it is all over. It is a wonderful bonding thing really really worth it. HANG in there! :hugs:
29-06-2006, 22:58
:hugs: Good luck to you and I'm so glad you're seeking help early on. Breastfeeding can be so difficult to get the hang off! It took me over 3 months, but it is so worth it :)
Personal story: I didn't really research breastfeeding when pregnant and after I gave brth, I was in shock. By day two, I was ready to give up and crying before each feed. I gritted my teeth in pain at DS latching on. Day four, my milk came in and I cried more as my nipples hurt, my boobs hurt and the rest of me hurt from birth. It was hell and I hated every minute of it. I just was in tears everyday. I got help, used nipple shields to help my cracked nipples and I'm still breastfeeding, 5 months on, and I know some other mums have gone through lots worse to get through it in the end. I really hope it works out for you, but don't feel too bad if it doesnt. At least you tried! :thumbsup:
TanyasGot3Boys
29-06-2006, 23:10
Definately dont feel like you're failing bubs. Teaching yourself and bubs how to breastfeed is such a tricky art. Especially when you've got hormones running around your body and self-inflicted expectations (Didnt we all feel like we could "just do it"). Give yourself the chance to learn and know that you'll get to the otherside. Whether its breastfeeding in the end or bottle. Ive breastfed three sons and there is always a different drama to deal with as no baby is the same. Ive been through the lot just like the others who have tried to help. It's horrible while you're there but its the usual answer of "persaverence through time". Believe in yourself and speak to a lactation consultant they are miracle workers. Some local council's also have free lac.cons. available too.
Just a tip on the side with ds#1 a lac.cons. told me to always rememeber the SPECIAL K mouth. If you look at the special k logo the curvy bit looks just the right shape for a perfectly attached baby. If you are visual hopefully this will help you too.
Sorry to babble that was my first post (heehhehe)
I saw 2 L.Cs before i got it right. I remember all I could think about all day were my poor sore nipples and dreading putting him on again. But lanolin cream is good and going braless with a loose top is good too. Everyone I know has found it tough at the beginning. As one friend said to me" by six weeks its much better, by 3 months you wont be looking back!"
the_queen
30-06-2006, 09:05
My bubbs is 8 weeks old. I cannot believe that it was only 5 weeks ago that I was in your EXACT position. I cried more than he did, when he woke for a feed. I would take him off the breast before he'd finished, because I couldn't stand the pain. Actually, pain is too soft a word. It was agony. But because my breast wasn't drained I started to get mastitis. Thanks to magnificent advice I managed to head that off at the pass.... and some of the advice I got helped with the nipple pain.
Try feeding in a different position - I used the "football" hold (or "twin" hold) for 24 hours on the really sore side, and because he wasn't aggravating the exact spot that was cracked, it gave it time to heal a little.
LANSINOH (is there an echo in here?? :p) LANSINOH LANSINOH LANSINOH. Slather it on straight after a feed, to soothe the wound. Keep applying it in between feeds, because keeping the wound moist will quicken the healing process. I cannot reccomend this product enough, seriously the day I started using it was the beginning of the end of the agony.
Check your attachment. Use a Lactation Consultant, or even ring the hospital where you birthed him and ask if they have a breastfeeding clinic, or a daystay facility. I can tell when he's not attached properly now, and it feels a little bit like it did in the beginning, so in retrospect I can say for sure I had some attachment problems. The longer you breastfeed, the better you get at "putting him on". His mouth has to be wiiiide open, and your nipple and areola has to be flat enough to slide heaps of it in there.
STICK WITH IT! Honestly, it gets better. It is amazing how quickly it got better for me. All of a sudden it was just... easy! I look back at the hard times, and it felt like such a long time but was only about 3weeks. And once breastfeeding is going well, it is soooo easy.