View Full Version : **09 March Mummies August Chat**
Just Add Water
02-08-2009, 09:26
i'm hearing you tash on the sleeping thing. I've got a diary that i'm going to start writing things down that i've asked dh to do, what he's been doing, and then i'm going to show it to him. I get he's working but it's not like i'm sleeping everyday. I figure it's the only way i might get my point across. I'll also put down the good things he does so he can see i've been honest.
I'm just tired of being a single parent.
Happymumma
02-08-2009, 12:08
August wow how the time flies and i hear ya ladies on the single parent thing its tuff!!!!:no:
subaruforestermum
03-08-2009, 08:59
Hi all, it's been a while hey...
**deleted**
I havent read through the last thread..sorry.. hope you girls and bubs are well..
I tried bubby girl on solids and she loved it, tried her with some potato at first as she refused to feed on me while I was eating them and then sat herself up (she can push herself up and pull herself up) and started chewing watch me eat..so gave her some and she went nuts.. so she's had apples since.. growing strong, her 4 month needles have been delayed to her being sick yet again! Havent had her weighed yet, or measured for her 4 month check up!
SFM- Massive hugs to you, sounds like your having a rough time at the moment, good luck with DS hopefully someone can give you some answers soon :hugs::hugs::hugs:
Happymumma- Big hugs to you too, i cant imagine how hard it must be for you not having DP there, my DH went to the footy on Saturday night and i struggled for 4 hours :laughing: i dont know how single mums do it.
Quick question for those who's bubs are on solids- How much and how often do you give them the solids and what are you giving? We started L on solids last Sunday, we were just giving her rice cereal for the week so she could get used to it and she's now mastered it so i've started adding some pureed apple for brekky but we also give her just plain rice cereal at about 5pm. Should i be adding something at the 5pm feed or just keep giving her the plain rice cereal for a while? And how often do you try new stuff? I have no idea about this stuff!!
Hope everyone is well!
TIA :)
TP - google 'wholesome baby foods', it has suggestions of what and when to introduce solids, try pear, pumpkin and avocado next if you like, there are recipes on the site too:)
We're still introducing J to it, so im not much help yet!
Suby, thats sucks that CL wouldn't pay!!! Hope dp comes acroos something soon, and that things improve.
Nomadic, yes, it's tough when they work so much eh. well on a good note, at least some of the guys that owed us have paid up, so we got to pay ourselves decently this month, and actually make dh working so much have a pay off.
happymumma, it is tough being on your own, i know you're alone all the time at the moment, but i can empathise with dh being away so much. hope the next few weeks fly by!
ok, will come back later and do an update on me:wave:
Thanks tommo, will do. :)
tinytotsmum
03-08-2009, 20:09
hi ladies so sorry i have been lurking in the background just have had alot going on latly started a new group a PND one but it seems to make me worse and they get you to talk about thing and then just cut you off so by the time you go home you feel like crap so yeah at the moment i think em has a cold - runny nose etc.
she has come out with little blisters on her bum adn veejayjay and after a day or 2 they burst one or two of them bleed i have been told it may be a fungal infection thing so i have to use a special nappy rash cream but am unsure wether to take her to the doctor or not to get it checked.
oh and i have been sick etc etc so been pretty crappy adn my psyc had gone on holidays for 2 weeks so am very lost but i get to see her on wednesday yay.
started doing avon to fill in some time and i have lost 2kg from walking around doing the catalogue delivery to my territory and i take em with me in the pram and she squels with delight the whole way round quite cute really.
anyway i am still alive so is em so yeah we are ok. dont know if any of you guys have heard from missyky but she is currently no longer with the father of emerick and has started renting a place by herself and has decided to start afresh mind you i havent seen her this happy well ever and she is kinda seeing a great guy at the moment who spends the night gets up to her little man and got up the next morning made her breaky in bed and cleaned the kitched so who knows but he is treating her well which is the main thing.
well better go have more stuff to do ( sigh)
Just Add Water
03-08-2009, 20:57
Ok, so I posted this in last months thread yesterday... but obviously no one is going to read it so I'm reposting it... just because I think someone here might be the slightest bit interested in what's been going on in my life for the last few weeks...
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/icons/icon1.gif
howdy :) well, i am alive but still have no net access so on the phone. Have been trying to keep up though.
Well we have had an insanely busy couple of weeks with my sister and her family arriving from os. 4 adults and seven kids in one house makes for a lot of noise lol. They've been back and forth to sydney house hunting, car shopping and trying to get things sorted so i have been a mum of seven a few times lately! Thank god i have an eight seater car. It didn't help that dh has been really busy so i really have felt like a single parent. The kids all got on fairly well so that made things a lot easier. And i have become an expert at putting a snack together for six kids in a snap. :) thank god for the popcorn machine lol.
Kar, we go to our local club for dinner on monday nights. The kids are at after school care and daycare so it's my day off, and that includes cooking!
I'm having problems with my teeth so have not eaten a proper meal since last sunday. I was meant to have two wisdom teeth out on wednesday but i had a bad sinus infection that went into my cracked wisdom tooth. I was put on antibiotics but still having trouble so am going to have to go back and get some stronger ones. I think i have an abscess on the jaw and that's why it's extremely painful to open my mouth. God, i'd kill for a cheeseburger, but it takes me about an hour to eat a childs serving of mash.
Bubs is going well, tried him on farex against my judgement and he had a really good two days of sleep but insane pain from wind. I stopped it and he is sleeping better but no wind. I want to hold him out till six months so will see how he goes. I will prob try him with something else in a few weeks.
Ok, will keep reading and will enjoy the peace in my house as everyone has gone :)
Jeepers, terrorists raids in our town,
if it's not bogans on neighbours, swine flu, its bloody terrorists cells....
for a town of 15000 odd people, theres sure plenty of excitement :cool:
Happymumma
04-08-2009, 10:37
I thought i better pop on and instead of just reading actually post lol i think we are all doing the reading thing lol oh well hahaha
Nomadic- man 7 kids i would go crazy you def sound like you are doing a GREAT job
How are your teeth now still giving you grief when can you get rescheduled for op to get them pulled out hope its not too long
Hopefully bubba will be a bit better with the Farex when he is 6 months
Tinytots- Not cool bout em poor bugger hope her bottom gets better soon and things run smoothly for you :hugs:
Avon sounds good i was doing the homecare run in my area and was loving it with Jackson in the pram but the weather is a little cool and windy at the moment for him to go out the wind aggrivates his excema so im going to pick it back up in summer my rep is awesome and doesnt mind but it is good to get you out and about and good for the fitness too!! Sounds like missyky is doing great good on her!!!:smiliedance:
Tommo- thanx im doin ok now with out my man im in a really good routinue with Jackson and ive gotten used to him not being here for the moment so its going a bit quicker now, but still dont miss him any less lol:o
Tickle Pink- Thanx to you too it is hard but you get used to it lol
on the solids thing as tommo said that site is pretty good but as a rough guide to let you know what we are doin Jackson started solids a bit earlier so he has been on them for about 2 months now and is an old hand at it lol
We started just like you have with the farex and then we would introduce one thing at a time ie apples which you have pears mixed with the farex we generally gave farex in the morning then say apples at bout 5 both meals were about an hour after a bottle so he was still having his bottle first and just a snack on the solids. Then every 3-4 days we would try something new like carrots or pumpkin and zuchini by this stage he was on 3 meals and i would always try the new food at lunch so i could see if he reacted to it. I always fed him till he turned his head and got fussy but slowly added more and more at a time,now 8 weeks on he has tried everything and i mix them up now carrots and pumpkin with apple is his fav i know sounds strange i like to always give him apples everyday in something to stop constipation. I have recently moved to giving him raffertys organic food pouches from woolies so he can get more tastes and textures like spinach and peas and stuff that i dont puree myself lol i only do the basic ones pumpkin,pear,carrot,zucchinni,apples ect but he is really loving the raffertys
So i know im rambling but he is now on almost a full 120g pouch for all 3 meals plus he still has his 5 bottles bout 1000ml all up!
But at first it was like 1 ice cube at a time then after about a week i tried 2 ice cubes then three and then 4 ect till he now has little containers rather than ice cubes oh and the pouches. hope that helps a little i found it worked for us any way
Oh forgot to add he has rusks and chopped fruit and advocado in his mesh feeder as snacks sometimes too.
Suby- big hugs to you:hugs: sounds like you are roughing it a bit stupid CL i hate them hope DH gets a job soon and you dont have to deal with them for to long and i hope he wins his unfair dismissal claim sounds bad :( I know you will make it through but we are here if ya need to chat anytime i know with all that stress i would be a mess but it sounds like you are doing well keep it up huney it can only get better :fingerscrossed:
Well not much new on our front Jackson has his 6 month needles comin up i swear it only felt like yesterday he had his 4 month needles
We are also putting him on Step 2 formula and he gets to try some more foods yay like beetroot and some diary stuff like custard .....will see how he goes with that lol if he is anything like daddy (which he is lol) he will eat anything that is edible lol so i dont think we will have a prob, he has a sippy cup for water after meals now and is doing well with that and can almost hold his own bottle when its nearly empty no chance when its full little too heavy for him i think, wrap is still going good its just around his waist now and other arm out last night was a little fussy but not too bad considering
Still missin my man its coming up to 2 weeks now but its going quicker so i cant complain i have a baby shower to go to on Sunday so cant wait for that i got to buy little girly clothes yay was a bit excited bout that lol
Any hoo i think i have rambled on long enough now hi to everyone else readin along hurry up and post already i want updates lol
Take care all
Crystal
OMG the drama continues! I seriously have enough going on in life atm to send the most sane person insane. So MIL came home from hospital yesterday but no-one could get hold of her last night so we rang BIL and sent him over(as he lives closest to her), lucky it was just that her phone died. So this morning we get a call saying she's gone back to hospital, couldn't talk properly, swollen face, struggling to breathe, rash on her arm magically appeared overnight and just now we've found out she hasn't kept any food down(for possibly 2 days). Her local hospital(where she's been for the last 2 weeks) didn't want to admit her because she didn't need "critical care" but she couldn't just be sent home because she needs 24/7 care(she currently has "high needs care" which is a carer morning and night 7 days but she's alone during the day and night). She's being transferred to a different hospital this afternoon, which is a relief to us. A friend also had a baby either late yesterday or early today. I got a photo sent but no details yet, and she's at yet a different hospital!
Mum is trying to organise a memorial for my grandfather for later in the month but my brother and I aren't talking(from since indie was born yet my brother doesn't want to appologise because "he's embarrassed" about the way he acted:rolleyes:). My dad is staying with my aunt and uncle in the uk, but my aunt has swine flu, so we need to find out if and how long dad needs to be in quaranteen when he gets home before we can finalise the memorial date then my other brother needs to organise to come home from wa for it.
I'll leave it at that, because I'm sure you're all over hearing about my woes!
Nomadic - there is a very happy little girl in this house - thank-you very much!
Tash you could start writting your own tv series based on your town!
Crystal the 6 mth needles came around fast! any news on when dh will be home?
Happymumma
04-08-2009, 14:59
Hey Newme my goodness you do have alot going on dont you :hugs: big hugs it all sounds very draining for you i hope you are doin alright!
No news on when he will be back yet prob mid Sept so another 5-6 weeks i would say but im doin fine now :yes:
Thanks crystal, I figure we'll be due for some good luck soon;)
5-6 weeks should go pretty quickly!
Thanks so much Crystal! You're post was a huge help, I've been doing pretty much the same thing as you in reagrds to the solids so it's great to know i'm doing the 'right' thing. Well done on the wrap weaning, we've had Lilly with one arm out for all her day sleeps this week and so far so good. I'm not game to try it at night yet so i might give it a few more days and then give it a shot.
NewMe- Hope your hanging in there OK, sounds like you have alot on your plate at the moment. :hugs: I hope things start to get better soon.
Hi to everyone else, Hope everyone is well! :)
Thanks TP, I'm doing ok, just can't believe so much is going on at once. When it rains it pours. At least I'm not feeling overwhelmed by it all, its just the way it is and I just have to get on with things and juggle the best I can.
Just Add Water
05-08-2009, 13:00
Glad she likes them NewMe :)
Here's a funny for the day:
My MIL wants to use the kids as an excuse for her to attend the skanky cow's wedding. Apparently she doesn't really want to go but wants DH to tell her it's okay as he "needs" her to look after the kids. :laughing::laughing: Yeah, like that's the reason she hasn't said "No, you stupid skanky cow I don't want to come to your wedding because you're a stupid skanky cow who treats her kids like crap".
But wait, it gets better.
SIL & BIL are going too.... and their daughter is bridesmaid. Same daughter who I had as an extra bridesmaid because all her life she'd wanted to be one and she's done nothing but ***** about the dress, the hair, the makeup, the effort since.... but she's happy to do it for the skanky cow because skanky cow is letting her choose her own dress.
Stupid fartheads (think a lot worse than that and you might come close to where I am at).
OMG I didn't even know the skanky cow was getting married!
I can't believe our SIL and BIL's DD, that's rather superficial!
Did the kids get an invite?
Just Add Water
05-08-2009, 13:12
Oh yeah, the kids are going. She's telling everyone (including the school principal (she went up to their school to share her langauge with them - I really need to catch everyone up LOL) that I am doing Miss 6's hair for the wedding. Oh and apparently we're to buy them outfits. Um, no.
Oh I just re-read your post, I thought you were saying that your MIL was using babysitting as an excuse NOT to go to the wedding! Why does she actually WANT to go:confused:
Its too mean for the kids sake but it'd be tempting to send them over their in their pjs and let her deal with dressing them appropriately on the day:devil:. As I said though, that's not fair on the kids.
Just Add Water
05-08-2009, 13:36
MIL wants to go because she would prefer that DH still be with the skanky cow because she hates me with a passion. I mean, I don't take drugs and threaten to kill my kids and all so really it's quite understandable really :rolleyes:.
I'd love to send the kids' looking completely feral but you're right it's not fair on them and neither DH or I could ever do that. She's gone and told Miss 6 that she'll be wearing a lovely pink fairy dress and told the boys they'll be in suits and then sends DH a text saying that we have to dress the kids as she's out of money. So of course we will.. and one day they'll find out the truth on their own. *sigh*
It really is laughable... if you tried to make sense of it you'd go bonkers (that's what happened to me anyway).
:eek: she's so rude! Maybe you could really dress miss 6 up as a fairy - so then she's still dressed in a pink fairy dress -just wings, halo and all:D
Ahhh MIL's, got to laugh or you'll cry. I've got a friend who's MIL "accidently" always calls her by her dh's ex's name. Mind you they've been together for over 20 years and the ex was an early highschool "boyfriend-girlfriend" situation... nothing ever serious! Worst thing MIL has done to me was dh wanted to borrow a jacket that MIL had bought for his ex for me to wear(i can't for the life of me understand WHY he wanted to borrow it, I had a perfectly good jacket already and I have no idea where we were going) and MIL refused saying she wanted to keep it. Fine, I didn't want it anyway so meh. I'm pretty lucky in that sense but we get our own set of dramas with MIL, she's quite stubborn and wants her independance but needs so much care. Mind you when you're over visiting she won't hold back on telling you want to do "pass me that", "pick that up", "put that...". She never asks, always just tells us:rolleyes:
Hi girls, Not too much new from me. I read most days but just don't seem to get time to post. Just gave Ella her 1st taste of farex but she wasn't too impressed! I have been giving her one bottle of formula per day which has made it a bit easier so I can also express at night and have bottles when we are out. She's having 6 milk feeds most days which I think should be cut to 5 by now but I can't seem to get her to cut out that 3 am bottle.
Nomadic.. wow!!! :eek:
Newme:hugs: Hope things start looking up for you soon.
Re the wrap weaning, is there a certain age you are suposed to do it by? I stopped wrapping DS quite early since he was a summer baby and it was hot but since it is cold I am still wrapping Ella so she's warmer. Sometimes she gets out, sometimes not but I am not too bothered by it.
Anyway better get back to it.
marie, we are still on 6 here too generally - 7, 11, 3, 6.30, 12ish 4ish.
no sign of losing one of the night feeds at all and he is just about on full solids.
gah, need to pack but how?? have taken all of f's stuff into the lounge so :fingerscrossed: he has a sleep this afternoon
Hello :wave: We've had a bit of a rough week here. William has been really grumpy and unsettled. I think it's a mixture of jabs, wonder week and teething. Poor little guy has been chomping on his hand non stop. I've given him panadol and some teething gel but sometimes even they don't work. Today has actually been a better day, usually we're in full on meltdown by now.
Poor little guy, I want my happy baby back.
Just Add Water
07-08-2009, 08:36
morning :)
i went and saw dr phil last night... It was awesome! Made me rethink a lot of things in regards to the kids and our lives.
And on top of that i have the best husband in the world and the kids have such a great father. He took them out yesterday to run errands, had a great night with the four of them and is now sitting at school with ds waiting for the assembly to start so he can watch master 9. He sounds so relaxed and said he's had a great time last night with the kids. He's driving to sydney after school so he has bay all day too.
Can't wait to see them all later today :)
ok, need to get up now!
TuesdaysPrincess
07-08-2009, 10:47
Sorry, this is going to be a very selfish post ...
So I'm feeling really down today. My house is an absolute bomb site, it's truly revolting and I hate walking in to different rooms and seeing the mess that is everywhere. I need to sweep, mop, wash, fold clothes, tidy, sort clothes, etc. It's just so overwhelming at the moment.
I know it's just housework but the longer I leave it the worse it is going to get and I hate having a messy house.
My DS1 is toilet training and had been doing SO well, 5 days in undies with only one or two accidents. Today he's peed in his pants EVERYTIME and is refusing to sit on the potty. He's a little constipated so I know that he's scared it's going to hurt, so we've been into the pear juice today, but I find myself getting really angry at him for having accidents, which is not great, he gets upset, so do I - it's a viscious cycle.
I'm feeling so lonely - my girlfriends from work never answer my calls or emails, I asked them to work out the roster (we are all shift workers) so that we could organise a day to catch up, but no one has gotten back to me, so I'm just at the point where I figure, what's the point in asking to catch up when they are ignoring me. One of the girls has a birthday on Sunday, and they had mentioned going out to dinner, but we've not received an invitation or anything, and I don't want to just invite ourselves along. It's like ever since we had DS2 we've dropped off the face of the planet. My only other close girlfriend lives over an hour away and she's just had a baby so it's hard to find the time to catch up, and because my mum is in Perth I can't just pop over there to say hi.
I had started taking meds for my PND but we can't really afford for me to take them, but we don't qualify for a health care card ... I just don't know what to do - go without food so I can take meds? I know that they were helping me, but now that I've stopped, I can feel myself sinking again.
I applied for a new job yesterday, but if I get it, I would have to put DS2 (who's not even 5 months old yet!) into day care early ... and three days a week, which is something I said that I would never do ... it would be great if I get the job because it would set me up for community work, but at the same time I don't really care if I don't get it because then I don't have to send my boys to daycare three days a week.
My DH doesn't really get how I'm feeling. DS2 takes forever to go to sleep at night, and DH just falls asleep even with the baby screaming right next to him, and I just have to keep on helping him go to sleep ... I feel so resentful, I would really just like a sleep for more than 4 hours at a time, but then I feel guilty for thinking like that because DH has to get up at 4:30am to go to work, so he needs his sleep ...
Anyways, sorry to ramble on so much but I know some of you are kinda going through the same thing . I just need to get it off my chest.
kylie, :hugs::hugs::hugs:
oh hun, im so sorry things are so hard at the moment, i wish i was closer to give you a hand:(
i understand the resentment towards dh....
:hugs::hugs:
Just Add Water
07-08-2009, 11:55
big hugs k. Is there a way your gp can give you the medication for free? Speak to them and really let them know what's going on. They get samples and can often swing things if needed. Depends on your gp though.
Oh TP I didn't know you were feeling so overwhelmed. Is there anything I can do to help(no i'm not superwoman, I just have an uncanny knack for being able to ignore the things that need to be done that are right in front of me when a friend is feeling down in the dumps:)).
DD1 did a similar thing with TT. She was fine for ages then went backwards so quickly. It does get better. You just need to boost his confidence at every opportunity you can.
Are there perhaps other alternatives to the meds? Is there anything that you find particularly relaxing that you could do? I know it's not the same but we're currently teaching DD1 deep breathing techniques for when she's stressed, could that help?
Please please please let me know if there is anything that I can do that will even just maybe help you feel a teensy bit better.:hugs:
Just Add Water
07-08-2009, 12:32
big hugs k. Is there a way your gp can give you the medication for free? Speak to them and really let them know what's going on. They get samples and can often swing things if needed. Depends on your gp though.
tinytotsmum
08-08-2009, 00:08
tuesday princess. with the resenting dh for the sleep and how you say you feel bad cos he has to get up for work one of the things i have just learnt are. You are working to 24/7 you need sleep and you need a break i really wish i could help you try to stay on the meds cos if come off them when you try to go back on them you will need a higher dose before they will work because you body will have built up a resiliance. have you gone into centrelink and spoken to them adn seen what they can do to help or speak to your midwife and see if she can tell you of places that can help i have a PND mums group over which is sometimes helpfull but not maybe look into the redcross as well for your house i have a lady that comes out for 4 hours every thursday and depending on how much your dh earns depends on the contribution you give them it can be as low as 5 dollars. maybe ring the mental health line aswell and they can get you to someone to talk about everythign asap and will be free and maybe they can help you get the medication to.
i know things can be hard but we work constantly and we cant switch off or go on a lunch break or have a weekend off it is every day all the time so we wouldnt be great mums if we didnt need help from time to time. as for your friends in most cases that happens i have lost all my friends because becoming a mum is a very very big transistion in our lives and that is all part and parcel of it. maybe just try and get involved in things that are free like maybe your local library has rhyme time etc so you can meet other mums and make your mum friends.
if you need to chat you can pm me and if you want i can give you my number to talk cos i was in your position only a month a go and it is taking alot to try to think positive, but chin up you will make it through and i can promise you that.
Happymumma
08-08-2009, 07:18
Good advive TT you of all ppl who would be able to help you Tuesdays Princess TT is the one she has had a rough time too and is on the other side i would listen to her great advice from some one thats been there and she knows some great resources:yes: I cant offer much in the way of advice but can offer :hugs: and a listening ear i know we all go through our rough patches with our bubbas but sometimes you need that little extra help i too was resenting DH at a point there because he could just go to work and come home and sleep solid where i was still "on" its funny i was watchin Dr Phil the other day and he said being a stay at home mum is equal to have 2 full time jobs!! So it is hard but it will get better and i know now that i would rather have DH here not doing a thing than where he is at the moment :( But we all struggle dont feel like you are alone we are all here to listen and offer our advice,cheer up and maybe look into some of the things TT mum said and know that it will get easier at some point it wont be like this forever.....well thats how i get through lol Cheer up and you know you can always vent here :yes:
MKS- with the wrap there is no certain age they say when they can roll Jackson rolls but not in his bed yet and my MCH nurse said she wrapped her grand daughter til she was 1 so just make sure they can get there arms out if they need to, we started weaning cause i knew he wanted to suck on his hands due to teething so he has one arm out of a night now but day sleeps still wrap both its up to you really.
Kar- you have prob tried it but have you tried a dream feed at say 10pm to get him through the night??
Pippa- same thing here non stop hand chewing and grumpyness due to teething hopefully they break through some time in the near future not much we can do really but ride it out my doctor told me to use nurophen when it gets real bad cause it has an anti inflamitory in it to help with the swollen gums where panadol doesnt but not to use it all the time only when its bad...just a thought for ya.
Well as for us its been 2 weeks now with DH gone for work doin better than i thought i would lol i have had a few things to do lately so running around doing everything has kept me busy, the sty i thought i had on my eye turned out to be a cyst but its getting better now that im on tablets almost gone today so yay no surgery:yelclap:
Well i think thats all from me baby shower to go to tommorrow cant wait CL appointment on Thur so that should fill my whole day lol and before i know it another week will have passed lol any way have a great weekend girls!!!!
ManekiNeko
09-08-2009, 20:52
Oh gawd I feel like such a slacker I haven't been catching up with this thread but time goes so quickly. Just wanted to pop in and see that you ladies are doing well.
Nomadic :hugs: sounds like you need a break hope your DF gets it with the diary.
Newme you really have ben having a rough trot lately I hope it gets better and if you need a thing let me know ok btw I think you have my old phone number so I am hoping you haven't text me because my lack of reply is because of that lol. I really am slack I have told only my imidiate family I changed my $ 3 months ago still havent got around to telling everyone else. If you want will send you it on fb.
TP you poor thing :hugs:I really hope things start to get better I feel like I totally could have written many parts of your post. I rember having to go back to work when DD was 5 months old and the pnd it really is a horrible thing. I too went throught that frustrated stage with toilet training to DD regressed and I ended up having to clean poo up off clothes furniture and the floor and toilet I was going insane. It took a whle but she did get back on track and now only has a nappy at night time. But yeah I really feel for you I hope things ease up for you.
Hey all,
I feel awful because I've been reading along but haven't felt much like posting these last couple of days.
TS:laughing: that's completely something I'd do, not give people my new number. LOL I really need to send you a message, will PM you.
The last 2 nights have been shockers, 5 feeds per night and last night after feed 3 I just couldn't be bothered sitting up any longer so I just put her in bed with me. She sleeps pretty well in either place so I shouldn't complain.
DD1 has been a handful at kindy. I got called in to speak to her teacher and the director on friday morning because she kicked the director on thursday. Well I got called back in to speak to them this morning too because friday didn't go a whole lot better(though it wasn't as bad, no kicking involved). I'm going to have to call them in about 45 mins to see how today is progressing. I've been watching her diet a lot closer over the weekend and nothing I've given her has had any preservatives or artificial colours or flavors. If only I could say the same for what other people have given her. DH gave her a pink breaka on saturday and a preservative filled juice yesterday then yesterday afternoon MIL gave her a choc chip cookie without asking, DH and I both tried to say that no she couldn't have it but it was too late, MIL had given it to her and DD1 had it in her mouth. I just wish I wasn't up against such a big fight against everyone else on this(though DH's drinks were a slip up and he nows knows that when I say 'no preservatives' it means he actually has to look at the ingredients, not just assume!).
Oooh sorry, didn't realise I was needing a vent on that:o.
It's a public holiday here today, but DH is still working, DD1 is still at kindy(because it's not a public holiday where her kindy is which is 5 mins away!). I'm in the office(so we didn't need to pay our storeman public holiday rates to sit around and do a lot of not much). I bought indie a new play mat yesterday from Ikea. It's really cool, I ummed and ahhed a bit but DH couldn't be bothered so just grabbed it and said we're getting it, lets go:laughing:. He knows I'm so indecisive!
Just Add Water
10-08-2009, 22:21
she has rung child protection and told them i am abusing miss 6. So now we're being investigated. If dh hadn't dealt with them before because of her then they would have taken our kids tonight. Including b.
I know i've done nothing wrong but am devastated. They are ringing the school tomorrow to talk to them.
All because the kids weren't here when she wanted to talk to them tonight.
Happymumma
11-08-2009, 06:49
Oh Nomadic that is awful you poor thing she really is a witch isnt she :no: big hugs for you:hugs::hugs: I cant imagine what you felt like:( i hope this clears up soon.
Huge hugs. I don't even know what to say. I'm here if you want to chat(((hugs))).
trifecta
11-08-2009, 10:27
Nomadic surely that will just make the department realise well and truely that this woman is crazy and that she should be investigated? And hopefully they will see what a wonderful job you are doing with all the kids.
:hugs::hugs:
Just Add Water
11-08-2009, 13:28
Thanks everyone for the messages today, they really meant a lot :yes:.
Well, the case has now been deemed "closed without further investigation required". It has honestly been one of the worst times of my life.
DH was actually on his way to the police station last night to make a complaint against her threatening him with abuse constantly when child protection rang to say they had received a complaint against me. I knew none of this until he came home and started crying and telling me he loved me (and quite honestly scaring the absolute crap out of me). They obviously wouldn't tell us who made the complaint but it went like "Their father is doing a wonderful job, it's the step-mother I'm worried about." She was also unable to provide an address (no idea where we live because of previous threats from her), a mobile number for me (same deal there), referred to me as only Kris as she doesn't know that it's actually short for something. So was obviously her.
DH then rang his mother and his brother and told them all what was happening and that in no uncertain terms would he be in their lives if any of them go to her wedding or speak to her ever again. It's extremely sad that it had to get this far but they have finally decided that he is worth more than her :rolleyes:.
I spent last night and this morning going over everything I could think of in regards to how I am with the kids. The worst thing was that I just kept trying to figure out what the kids had said about me, do they see me as abusive? I eventually figured out that I would make myself sick and needed to realise I had done absolutely NOTHING WRONG!!!!
DH spoke to the school this morning and they were absolutely shocked (as was pretty much everyone else) by it. They had a phone call from CPS and from what CPS have since told me they said that DH & I are great parents and that it is her that is unstable. The icing on the cake there was that she had gone to the school 2 weeks ago and sat there with the principal and the deputy telling them that she's jealous of me because I'm doing such a good job with her kids and she should be doing it. She also left an abusive message on DH's phone while he was there which he played for them. They are now on full alert as she has threatened to come take the kids from school. I'd like to see her try - our principal might be little but I wouldn't want to cross her :laughing:
Oh and even better.... we've been told that we are within our rights to with hold communication and visits between her and the kids until supervised visits can be arranged and we can secure legal representation. :yelclap:
Now just to get some money in and not have to worry about paying rent this week and the world will be working again. :o
I'll go back and read through the other stuff in a bit.... but just quickly, has anyone heard from Karice?
JLeesmum
12-08-2009, 08:46
Hello! i only had time to read from lage 3+, ive been pretty slack!
no one probably even remembers me!
well Jydens 6 months on sun, doing well. still waking a couple of times a night for his dummy. i THINK he has a tooth breaking thru.
umm.. tuesday princess u said ur DS is almost 5 months.. isnt he 5 1/2 months?? my DS was born on the 1/3 and is 6 months this sunday..
im starting to find every day a bit repetative at the moment, jyden sleeps avey 1 1/2 for 40 mins.. when hes awake theres no time to go anywhere as he gets tired again so quick and doesnt sleep in the pram..
and hes not rolling from back to front yet, and hates being on his belly so he gets bored easily.. i cant wait till hes sitting up and rolling over ( i bet i wont be sayiing that when it happens!!) anyway.. my 40 mins is up so i better go make a cuppa b4 he wakes up!
too late.
smashlee, at about 4 months (the actual date 4 months later, so 1/3/09, 1/7/09-would be 4 months), they change to calender months, not 4 weeks to a month, if you get my gist.
don't worry, it wsa news to me too;)
so ds is only 5 and a half months at the moment.
i have to say, there have been some super rude people in your threads, hope they didnt get to you, they were super meanies, so :raspberry: to them
nomadic, what a cow!! glad karma bit her in the bum
newme, eek, that is not nice to get up that many times.
Joshy was up 5 times last night, gosh its sad when you get used to that many wake ups.....
well Kar is in the US for some hol's now, so i dont *think* she'll be in for a little while.
poor thing got delayed by 5 hours at the airport. so i think it was a 28 hour trip all up, poor possum! with Felix, who didnt sleep for most of it... very poor possum!
tinytotsmum
12-08-2009, 12:06
hello ladies i am still here is the background reading along. just wanted to send hugs to nomadic that is a really rough thing to go through i dont think i could even imagine what that must have been like that is probably where i benefit not having family around adn staying with ems bio father. but i am still crapping myself as my mil and fil are both coming over on the 28th and staying for a week i have only met them once when i was preg adn this is the second meeting adn now we have em so i am trying to save up as much energy as i can cos i know i am goinf to need it. mind you i have a plan to take them to pumpkin patch and get em a top or something and see if they will get her things from there lol. worht a try lmao.
well anyways we are good getting there slowly slowly still have my really bad days but my psyc and i are working on it mind you the new group i joined new begginnings ( post natal depression group) are pretty good everyone there had a tromatic preg,birth,beginning to motherhood as well and yeah but it just happens that im the only one who has had a miscarrage there so they are all a bit wierd adn not sure what to say even thought it happened a while ago i still break down in tears. the same as i know that if that pregnancy worked they would be 1yr old on the 25th of this month sad but nice so i am going to get some flowers adn throw them into he sea on that day in memory of them some people may think im wierd but i dont care.
newme - you just need to tell everyone as soon as you walk into ther house or they walk into your because it is something that needs to be sustained across the board.. my brother has a massive problem with food colouring adn preservatives they tried to drug him for adhd but when my mum removed those he was well kinda normal so it is amazing hat some of the crap they put in food these days can do to a child.
oh lmfao my brother of 12 is already shaving adn is um cough cough when he sees a prety girl lmao i laughed so hard when my mum told me adn the only thing she could say to him was it is like a puppy you have to teach it to stay down but saying down boy down which just made everything 40 times funnier but my mum is going to his karate class and talking to the teacher to see if he can pair my brother up with another boy cos that is where the trouble mainly seems to be. good i am sooooo glad i am a girl adn we have a girl and i look forward to hearing all those sort of stories for the mums that have boys out there lol.
happy mumma - thanks for your somment. hope things are going ok with your dh being away i am preetty sure my dh wants to spend a night or 2 away at the moment just so he can get some sleep because i have somehow managed to not hear em crythrough the nigh t so i have instructed him to wake me when she wakes cos i just dont hear her and dont wake up.
as for em she is booked in to see a specialist about being tested for epilepsy next month i think it may even be when the pil are here so that will make it soooo much more fun NOT.
well anyway better run have heaps of tidying to do as we have just spent over 3 grand on a new office set which is gorgeous but alot had to get moved around so mess everywhere mind you at least we can walk through the house today lol.
well take care all and KEEP YOUR CHIN UP.
JLeesmum
12-08-2009, 12:46
tinytotsmum thats funny about ur bro! )my DP dtd at 8yrs old:no:!)
my friend has a 5yr old, he asked her the otherday if she could touch his willy, she asked why and he said cos it feels nice... HAHAHA (im not really looking forward to things like that!)
id just say " u can touch it urself as long as its in private, (in the bedroom or the bathroom)..
GirlsOnly
12-08-2009, 16:05
hi, i havent been here in what seems like forever...
I think I am pregnant...i did a test and it came up with a faint positive line...:bfp:..................
OMG 5 kids what was I thinking! I had my tubes tied after my csec with mikaylah but they told me there was a 1 in 200 chance that it wouldnt work, due to the clips going on while everything was swollen...when the swelling goes down, the clips are then too big and allow eggs to pass through....i will do another test in the morning to either confirm or relax....
I am not sure I am ready for number 5....:hair:
holy hell aimee!!:goodvibes:
were you wanting another? must be coming as a bit of a shock! you must be one fertile women!
Just Add Water
12-08-2009, 16:13
Aimee - you'll do an awesome job. Can't believe you beat me :)
GirlsOnly
12-08-2009, 16:13
I had been joking about wanting 2 more, but it was a JOKE!!! i wouldnt be upset with another one, but it def wasnt in the plan...I guess I shouldnt complain, some people are fighting to just have one and here I am possibly up da duff for timd number 5 without even trying! I am just a bit freaked out and am looking forward to finding out for sure tomorrow.....
please dont say anything on facebook until i am sure xx
hopefully tomorrow brings the news you want:)
tinytotsmum
12-08-2009, 16:19
wow girlsonly, full on i would have passed out i have already done one test but it was negative just a bit of a messed up period but god i think i would die if it was posative lol good luck and i hope the test shows what you want it to tommorrow.:fingerscrossed:
Happymumma
12-08-2009, 18:33
Hi Ladies :wave:Wow what a week so far lol Im not sure if you guys remember the saga my friend robyn has had when i was a bout 5 months pregnant she fell pregnant too but unfort lost the bubba at 8 weeks so any way the tried again and ended up falling when i was like 8 months pregnant so she is now 30 weeks and on monday night went into labour :eek: So needless to say we all freaked out she is now in Sydneys Royal Womens hospital being monitored and taking tablets to stop contractions and steroids for bubs they are concerned because some measurement near her cervix should be like 3cm but its only 9mm so bub could come out any time so complete bedrest and looks like it will stay that way til bubs is born we are hoping she stays in for a few more weeks at least Poor thing the hospital she is in is like an hour and a bit away from where we live so its hard for ppl to keep her company and her hubby was away working with my DH and he flew all through the night to get her I wish i could be there with her.....but im sure it will be fine!!!!!
Any way on to some personals
Smashlee- yeah as Tommo said its a bit confusing with the weeks vs months thing even though they are 24 weeks they are tecnically not 6 months til the anniverssary of there birth this month.....So Jackson was born on 27 Feb he will be 6 months on the 27th of this month but he is actually 24 weeks this friday so there is a 2 week difference my GP said to forget counting weeks now and go by months so thats what im doin now :yes: just to save the hassel lol
TTM- Bahahaha thats hilarious bout your bro lol
i dont even want to think about how im gunna approach that aspect of things i think that will be dad's job lol
Your welcome bout the comment lol its true, im doin ok now with out DH im in a groove doing things on my own now kinda sad im missing my friend Robyn now lol we kept each other company while both our other halfs we away and now she is in hospital so im bored again lol but thats all good shouldnt be too much longer now its been 3 weeks prob another 6 and he will be home :fingerscrossed: Its actually going quick now.
Girls only- wow it has been awhile a few of us have changed our names since you were in last lol if ya dont remember me i was EmotionalFirstBub hehehe not sure if you have been following but its great to see you back in here again i was thinking about you the other day weird then you pop in i dont think i have heard from you since you had your bubba .....So wow a positive test your keen i will say that a true miracle seen as though you had your tubes tied!!! How are you going to cope with your back and stuff is it any better these days i hope so cause i know you had it rough towards the end there and the docs were worried for ya, well you will have to keep us informed i hope you get the results you want :p Im one of 5 and its hectic to say the least maybe you will get your little boy this time ......im sure your DH would love that.
Things happen for a reason and im sure you will do great either way!!
Well im on week 3 without DH and its not too bad now......It seems like there is always something to be done no matter what so each day brings something new lol Jackson is as cheeky as ever and i SWEAR i heard him say mum mum mum today im prob just imagining it but it wont be long a dont reakon he looks really intent at ppl when they talk now and you can see his little mouth trying to move in the same way its cute as!!!
He has this thing at the moment he wont sit or lie down on the ground he wants to stand and hold onto my fingers....like allllll dayyyy hehehe its cute but tiring so i trick him and put him in the jolly jumper or the walker and he seems to be content with that sometimes lol his exzema has flarred again recently just under his chin no where else its so hard to keep that area under control but the cream keeps it at bay i guess,other than that we are doin really well he has moved onto finger foods here and there picking up banana and munching away as well as advocado its so cute to see him picking up food and going for it it almost feels like he is to little to be doin it ohhhh they grow so quick it makes me sad:(
Any way i think i have rambled on long enough ,thinkin of ya all we have made it this far im sure it will only get easier and easier as the months tick by.
JLeesmum
13-08-2009, 07:43
hmm intersesting about the weeks to months thing... that means DS had his needles 2 weeks early every time, started solids at 4 months, (CHN told me to start him around 4 1/2 months), and i changed his formula to step 2 last week(i might go back to step 1 for a while i think):hair:
tinytotsmum
13-08-2009, 09:58
actually tommo that was something i was going to ask so when it comes to there shots say there 6 month ones does it then go from 6 months of the birth date or 24 weeks as all the other shots are from weeks?????????
i don't think it really makes all that much difference girls. (re shots)
josh's were 7.5 weeks and 18 weeks.
go with whatever suits, the 2 week difference isn't going to matter much.
This is the 1st I have heard of measuring milestones by weeks. I know up until a certain point we do refer to the baby's age in weeks (I started calling it months once they had both reached 3 mths) but when it came to needles and food I always did it by calender months. Ella was born 10/3/09 so she had her 2 month needles after 10/5/09.
I have started her on solids last week just before the 5 month mark. So far she is having farex and I gave her a little bit of apple before. I am going to start vegies in about a week I think. I didn't start Michael on solids until 6 mths (that was the rule 2 years ago!) and I found he took to it much more quickly - he learnt quite fast how to eat whereas she just makes a mess!
I think GO may not be preggers judging by FB but if you are congrats!! I only have 2 children so we are considering a 3rd but not sure what to do there. Prob the best scenario for me is an 'accident' - I would secretly be thrilled (but not just yet :laughing:) but not sure if I can make the decision to actively try for another one. I can just think of so much more we can do for 2 children vs 3. We'll see I guess.. Considering I am soon supposed to be having a mirena inserted which gives you contraception for 5 years, looks like I will not be having an accident any time soon! What a hard decision...
JLeesmum
13-08-2009, 14:39
heheh i told dp.. "theres this website i go on, its all about pregnancy and babies. their going to have a stall at the baby and childrens expo" DP-"what? bubhub?"
hmmm whats he been up to...
OBVIOUSLY on MY comp...lol
make me wonder what he has read...:eek:
hey ladies
Just thought i wouod pop in and say a BIG hello to everyone!! i have not been here for a very very long time!! I hope all of you and ur bubbas are well!!
As for me, Me and Df have spilt... i caught him lying to me about a girl and then we had just bought a house in the country moved there, and we were having a arguement where he pushed me when i was holding emerick,(there was more to it but i thought i wouldnt bore u all with my problems) so after that i packed emerick and mine stuff up and left! havent looked back, one of the best desicions i had made, even thought he is trying to make my life hell with emerick, saying he going to take me to court for 50/50 which wont happen, as i have witness to how he is a bad and unfit father! but gave him the chance to see his son a few times and has said he is busy so his lost in the end, he misses out of watching his son grow up!
so apart from that, i have gotten emerick and i a house back in perth and it all nicely set up! i have one day a week where emerick is in day care so i can do my pole dancing lessons (for fitness) and have a day to my self!
Hats off to all the other singles mothers out there, its very very hard at times!!
Emerick is 4 months old now, rolling over nearly and has learnt to grab onto things esp my hair!! loving every minute of watching him grow up!! Found out he is allergic to diary and gluten... just like his mummy, but loves the soy formula!!
Anyway i will try and pop in more oftern as i now have the net connected!!
hope you are all well, miss you all (its been a while) and shall speak to u all soon!!
Kylie xoxox
JLeesmum
13-08-2009, 15:21
hi missyky,:wave: i dont think weve met..where in perth r u? um up the hill in York...
sorry to hear about ur P (notice i scrubbed out the D bit) but it sounds like ur better off with out him. hes missing out on such a special thing!
i pureed some broccolli, looks like snot. ewww (thanks to the stick mix i bought)
smashlee, i was in brookton with the ex but i have now moved to edgewater (near joondalup)
i miss the country, loved it soo much
Happymumma
13-08-2009, 17:34
Tinytotsmum- Re the shots i asked my doctor bout this weeks vs months thing and when i should get his needles he said i should go by calender months now and he does for the shots he said some other doctors do it different but thats what he prefers as tommo said i dont think it matters too much but im going by months now :yes:
Big hi to everyone else was just popping in briefly lol
tinytotsmum
13-08-2009, 18:27
happy mumma - thats ok it just means that i can wait 4 weeks instead of 2 to get ems shots lol. hope your friend is ok.
well emily is now in the next stage of eating her food is slightly lumpy to get her used to chewing so i have just used my magic bullet and ut the food in the old food jars and will freeze it shortly but it is quite yummy i was eating some inbetween giving it to her lol maybe that why she ate tons cos i was eating it lol. i gave her her first try of yohgurt this morning she quite liked it not sure if it gave her a brain freeze though but she ate it all like the little piggy she is i gave her the vaalia yoghurt says from 6 mnths + so thought i would give it a try adn see what happens.
emily keep getting a fungal infection on her bum so i thought the more expensive yoghurt may help as it has all the live acidophilis etc in it so see how we go.
i have started doing avon ( if anyone in perth wants a book let me know) and now a pamphlet round in my neighbour hood just to fill in time adn earn a littel extra doe better than nothing and emily and i get to go out together and enjoy the sunshine which is nice.
\i have started to feel i dont belong in my postnatal depression group cos there are so many girl crying cos they feel sooooo bad cos they arent bringing anymoney in and there is nothing they can do to make them selves feel better blah blah but i am doing it i am working and still get to spend every minute with em so i not sure why they cant.... sorry if this offends anyone it is just i feel like i am no where near the place they are maybe i have just hit a point in my life wher ei dont care about small things anymore but yeah still seeing psyc but hmmm not sure if ill go back to the group.
HI MISSYKY lmfao how is ya long time no see lol at least we get to watch emerick grow p and i get to look at him and go oh em is bloody huge lmao but they are so cute together holding hands on the floor till em tried to pull his finger off lol.
Hi everyone! :)
Hope you’re all doing well. I can’t believe it’s the 13th of August already (and my first post for the month!).
Nomadic - :hugs: you deserve a medal for putting up with the vile ex. I’m glad DH has put his foot down with the ILs about seeing the skanky cow. I hope you are feeling heaps better now that the trauma of being investigated is now over… I can’t imagine how terrible that must have been. Surely karma will bite her in the bum. You and your DH are doing so well in managing her cr@p... In time I’m sure the kids will see her for what she really is (they probably have some idea already).
Tommo - :hugs: thanks for your kind words after my last post, I really appreciated it. You are always so helpful and encouraging to all the girls on here. It’s been a pleasure getting to know people like you on this thread. Hope Josh is doing some good night sleeps! Oh, I saw some photos on fb of him in his issy bear nappies… he is so gorgeous! I’m so slack.. still need to put some photos of Lily up.
Kar - hope you’re having a great time in the US. Sounds like the flight over was a bit challenging but hope it’s all gone well from there on. Thanks for your thoughtful reply to my last post - made me feel a bit better to know that others may be feeling the same way. Enjoy the rest of your trip!
NewMe - I hope things are looking up for you hun. I totally get where you’re coming from on dealing with behaviour issues with the older kids - my DS1 seems to be extremely cheeky lately (and it seems especially towards me) and DS2 is throwing some major tantrums and throwing, hitting and biting. Thankfully, none of this is directed at Lily… they both absolutely dote on her and are very gentle, but they are teasing each other and fighting a lot lately (all normal I’m sure but very draining). It’s amazing how diet can have such a significant impact on their behaviour. Hope you’re managing to get some rest in between spreading yourself so thin.
TTM - sounds like you are doing very well, so good to hear. I think your plan to throw flowers into the sea to commemorate your babies’ first birthday/anniversary is a really good idea…. Not weird at all - I think quite healthy actually. We always place a pink gerbera (Sarah’s flower) in the tree outside the hospital window where she was born… her birthday/anniversary is coming up on the 16th. We’re planning a family outing to the zoo on her birthday.. it has been 6 years this year. I can understand why you feel different in your pnd mother’s group.. I remember feeling out of place in my mother’s group when everyone described their labour and birth experience for their first baby and I had to explain that DS1 was actually my 2nd baby. I hope Em’s tests for epilepsy go well later this month. By the way, that story about your brother was hilarious (I guess I have that to look forward with my boys!).
TuesdaysPrincess - :hugs: big hugs sweetie! I hope some of the other girls’ suggestions help, sorry I can’t think of anything different to add. I hope you can somehow access the meds. We’re always here to offer support and hugs.
Happymumma- great to hear that you’re doing so well while DH is away - hope the rest of the time passes quickly. Hope your eye is all better now! My thoughts are with your friend and her bubba - I hope she and bub are doing well and that bub can cook for a bit longer before making her entrance.
Tracyselena - Hi! Good to see you back here! Hope all is going well with you and your little ones. How is Austin going with his reflux?
Suby - Hi! How are you and your littlies going? Is DS better now? Hope we hear from you again soon.
Smashlee - yeah I remember you, welcome back!
Hubnbubby - Hi, how are you and J doing? Any more trips planned?
GirlsOnly - welcome back! Wow, that would be quite amazing if you are pregnant! I hope you get the result you are hoping for. If another little bub is on the way then it must be meant to be. Will have to check fb for an update…
Mks - I wonder why we are now hearing that the age to start solids is now 4 months (again)?? I haven’t started Lily on solids yet and she is 5 months.. I’m planning to do what I did with the boys and start at 6 months (I think I started DS1 at around 5 months). It’s funny how things can change within a couple of years… they seem to go full circle every few years! It is hard to decide whether to have a third child when you originally thought you’d have two… I was the same as you, I hoped for an “accident” as it was agonising to try and decide what to do (DH was happy with 2 kids at home while I really wanted another child). While Lily wasn’t completely unexpected (not using any other contraception other than BF), I was thrilled when I didn’t have to decide anymore. Hope the Mirena works well for you.
Missyky - A big hello to you too! I’ve been wondering how you are. Sorry to hear about your split with your fianc but it does sound like you are much better off. Hope you are settling into your new house well. Emerick sounds like a real cutie - Lily’s a hair grabber too!! Pole dancing sounds fun, must keep you fit!
TicklePink - Hi! How’s Miss L doing with her solids?
Karice - Hellllooo! Hope the move went well and you’re settled into your new place. Hope you’re over the pneumonia by now too! How’s Cady?
PippaG - Hi, hope you’re having a better week!
Hi to everyone else on the thread, hope you’re all well!
AFU - busy as always and still not getting heaps of sleep. I did manage to get Lily down by 10.40pm last night (very early for her!) though she did wake for another feed in bed an hour later, then again at 4.30am and 6.30am. Tonight she has gone down at 9.30pm…. hmmm wonder how long she’ll sleep for. Her day sleeps have been a bit all over the place lately, not helped today by me having to run errands, do shopping, pre-school drop-off etc. She has been doing more cat napping during the day lately. She is such a cheeky and funny girl… such a joy.
Been feeling quite teary today…. It’s the lead up to DD1’s birthday on the 16th - 6 years this year. I think the lead up is worse than the day itself. We usually do something nice with the family to mark her birthday - the last couple of years we’ve gone to the zoo (my MIL’s family paid for a commemorative bench near the Lions, so we stop there to reflect). We'll place gerberas in her tree outside the hospital too.
DS1 turns 5 next Thursday... where has that time gone??? My baby is a big boy now! Need to organise a few more things for his party. We're taking the easier Hungry Jack's option this year (he's happy with that!). Also organising the kids' christening... yep having a "bulk" christening on September 13. We're doing it fairly low key.. we'll invite family and a few close friends and probably go for a casual lunch afterwards.
Well, as I predicted Miss Lily has woken… will try and feed her in bed to get her back to sleep.
Good night all!
Lisa :wave:
Lisa, aw, that's so nice, you are such an encouraging person, the effort you put into personals is amazing! you always include everyone, and are so postive!
J has slowly over time crept to a 10pm bed time, *usually* with 1 feed overnight and 1 resettle. some nights its 5 resettles *shrugs*, take the good nights with the bad. But Lilys' wake up times are hard!! Josh was doing that for a few weeks, i felt like a zombie, and i only have to look after him! and he would give me a repreve once a week usually and only get up once or twice.
gosh it brings me to tears reading about your dear dd1:( :hugs: I hope her birthday goes well:goodvibes:
ahh, good old hungry jacks party, will make your life SO much easier my dear! leave them with the mess!!:D
thanks for the comment on J, I think he's a bit of a spunky butt, and yes, PLEASE put some photos up of lily, i want to have a looksy at this beautiful girl!
ok, feed is done now, better get myself back to bed, i'll be thinking of you.
Happymumma
14-08-2009, 06:56
Hey Tiny Tots
I was thinkin bout the yougurt thing yesterday was just going to go to woolies and check out what they had suitable for bubbas what brand did you get? Jackson has been getting chunky stuff here too he does quiet well with it and gums on bananas and advocado too !!! He is also on stage 2 formula which seems to keep him fuller longer nd i dont worry too much now when he has his days of not drinking much milk because it has heaps more stuff in it !!
I have also been giving him tries of my food if we are out and stuff he loves it lol
JLeesmum
14-08-2009, 07:45
bongos, welldone on the personals...my memory is shocking!
i need some advice, for about 3 weeks now DS has been waking about 7 times a night for his dummy (hasnt woken for a bottle for about a month)... im thinking about CC cos during the day, to put him to sleep i put him in him cot, roll him on his side put his dummy in and pat him till he fallas asleep (only ever sleeps 40 mins during the day)
i think the dummy is the culprit..
when CC, when i go to tell him im there, do i pat him for a bit or put him dummy in?? or dont touch him? i dont think ive got the guts to do it anyway...:(
i bought some of those plastic sippy cups, come with 5 in a pack they r GREAT DS can use them himself! (like $3 a pack)
happymumma- i agree step 2 fills them up much more, DS doesnt really want his bottle unless i put it infrom of him.. then he laughs at it and drinks it! (he can get it in his mouth and hold it for a bit now)
anyway i gtg, times up!
tinytotsmum- r u going to the expo tommorrow?
I've been meaning to post for awhile but i've been slack so i thought i'd better pull my finger out and get typing.
mks- We've started weaning DD of her wrap over the last few weeks, for the 1st week i left one arm out for all her day sleep's and this week i've just been wrapping her from the waist down. I still wrap her at night mainly because im worried she'll start waking up if i dont but next week i'm going to leave her unwrapped for all her sleeps so we'll see how we go. How are you going with the solids? We started L a few weeks ago and so far she seems to be doing well. We give her pear and rice cereal in the morning and either apple and sweet potato or sweet potato and rice cereal
in the afternoon.
PippaG- How's William doing now? Hopefully you have your happy baby back.
Nomadic- Big hugs to you, what your going through sounds awful. I hope things get better soon.
TP- How's DS1 going with the TT? :hugs:I hope your feeling better, sounds like your having a tough time.
Happymumma- Fingers crossed for your friend. Glad to hear your doing OK without DH. Your new pics of Jackson on FB are soooo cute, he's gorgeous and
looks like such a happy little man. L likes to stand now too, it's very cute but get's tiring after awhile, gone are the days where i could just plonk her in the rocker, she always wants to sit or stand now. They grow too fast dont they, we'll be chasing them round the house in no time.:(
Traceyselena- Hi :wave:
NewMe- Hows DD going at Kindy? Hopefully things are a little better. I know that once L starts eating proper foods that i'm going to have problems
with people (mainly the In Laws) giving her food that i dont want her to have. What dont people understand about the word 'NO'?!?!
smashlee- I was confused about about dates too, we started going of month's once L hit 5 month's coz it was getting to hard to remember the weeks..LOL
There are quiet a few different ways to do CC, alot of people have success with the 2,4,6,8 process, i have some info on how to implement it, if you like
i can PM you the details? DD was waking up a few times during the night to have her dummy put in as well so just before i go to bed i go in and
take her dummy out myself and so far it seem's to be working well, she hasnt woken up at all over the past 3 nights. I think she was waking up when she
actually spat it out.
TTM- LMAO about your brother, I was saying to DH the other night that i'm glad we wont have to go through that with L and he said "are you serious,
we're going to have to go through PMS, boyfriends, husbands, pregnancy's and god knows what else LOL...so true!!! Fingers crossed the In-laws co-operate
at Pumpkin patch too....sounds like a good plan...LOL. I wish you lived closer to me, i would have brought some Avon off you for sure.
GirlsOnly- Hopefully you got the news you were hoping for!
tommo- Hi :wave: hope your well.
Missyky- Hi. Sounds like your dong an awesome job without DF, good on you! Like you said, it's his loss, he's the one who's going to miss out in the end.
Bongos- Awesome job with the personals :yelclap: Miss L is doing great with the solids, we're taking it very slow but so far so good...thanks for asking! I'm so sorry to hear about your DD1, i'll be thinking about you on Sunday. YAY for the Hungry Jacks party, i cant wait to have a Macca's party for Lilly (once she's old enough) it would be so much easier (and cheaper i assume) than organising a party at home. Lilly was a serial catnapper too but strangely enough over the last week she's been having 2 x 2 hr naps and shorter one in the arvo, not sure why but i'm not compaining..LOL...hopefully your Lily starts sleeping better soon.
AFU- All's good with us, I've started to wean L off her wrap and she's doing so well. I left one arm out for the 1st week (day sleeps only) and all of this week i've just been wrapping her from the waist down. Next week i'm going to 'attempt' to leave her arms out at night as well...eeek! She's also stopped catnapping *touch wood* i have no idea what i did but all of a sudden she's gotten herself into a great routine and is having 2 x 2hr sleeps a day and a nap in the arvo too. I'm thinking it's just something she had to learn to do herself, i wish i didnt stress so much over it before. Solids are still going well, we're doing it very slowly but so far she hasnt had any bad reactions to anything so thats great. Did anyone go to the Big W baby sale? I went last night and spent waaaay to much money but they had some great bonds stuff on special, i also got
a few sippy cups and some bowls and stuff.
Hope i didnt miss anyone!!
tinytotsmum
14-08-2009, 11:00
happy mumma i have em on the vaalia it is a little expensive but i know it is an awesome brand and a good yoghurt. yeah ems gets a chew on whatever i am eating as well the other day she had her first potato wedge was quite funny she wouldnt hold it though.
OHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOH OH em held her bottle all by herself last night i cried cos i was so so proud of her could almost cry now thinking about it she is growing so fast ahhhhh sorry just had to share.
:yelclap:YAY EM!!!! :yelclap:
:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
JLeesmum
14-08-2009, 16:07
DS was weaned out of his wrap whenhe was 4 weeks..
has any one been doing baby sign language??
Happymumma
14-08-2009, 17:50
Hey
Tinytots mum thanx darlin got some today while i was at woolies they were on special 6 for $3.50 so i thought that was ok for yogurt:)
And Yay for Em holding her bottle i was like that when Jackson started using his sippy cup on his own :smiliedance: Once he did that it was all mister independent holding his own bottle and trying to feed himself :no: So sad but good i guess:p.
TicklePink- every time i read your posts i think ahhh that was me not so long ago i remember telling you Jackson had just stopped catnapping all of a sudden and i didnt know what i did lol now your LO has done the same , i also remember not so long ago weaning one arm at a time with Jackson's wrap as well he does well now with no wrap except in the days i still wrap him nights he is not fussed only when he is really fussy and his teeth are giving him greif do i wrap him at night but he usually gets out of it in the first hr or so then i just take it away lol Its funny how you seem to be on the exact same path as us here except a little behind cause your LO is a bit younger lol but i swear if they were born on the same day we would have duplicates lol
SmashLee- Its totally up to you with the CC but they do recommend not to do it til at least over 6 months and that its not really effective til they are about 9 months but you know bubs best just a thought thats all.
We were having probs with the dummy too at first i thought it was the wrap and thats why i weaned him off but he was still waking and i figured it was the dummy:(
Along the same lines as Ticklepink suggested we did what was called Pentley Pull out technique and it seems to work well for us what you do is you give them there dummy and once they are asleep and no longer sucking you take out the dummy and gently close there mouth with your finger now they will grizzle for it once its taken out so you give them the dummy back wait approx 10 seconds or till the sucking slows then take it out again and keep doing this a few times it took us about 6 - 8 times of putting in and taking out then they just give up lol i think we did this for about three nights and the dummy spits had improved ALOT we still have his fussy nites where he just wants his dummy but when he does that he generally does not spit it out 50 times a night lol its just soothing on his teeth i think, the other thing we did was also put his dummy on ribbon and a safety pin and every time i had to go in to put his dummy in i would run his hand down the ribbon so he knew what to do to find it himself he is slowly getting the hang of that one lol but combining the 2 i have had great results, i know he is a sucky baby and he will never completly not have a dummy but if it comforts him i dont mind!!
Just another option to CC thats all im not against CC i just know im not strong enough to do it lol thats why i always look for other options hehehe
LOL Crystal I was reading back through the old posts and thought the same thing, our little ones are very similar indeed! I'm glad you go through it all 1st that way you can give me all your good advice...LOL.
Great advice on the CC and dummy too!
Happymumma
14-08-2009, 18:12
Haha thanx TicklePink lol i will be a guniea pig lol :laughing: Will give you the heads up if i have any dramas in the near future lol so you can be prepared hahahaha
trifecta
14-08-2009, 19:36
Bongos your posts never cease to amaze me! It's always lovely to hear from you. I will thinking of your family on Sun too. I remember thinking last year how special it was, I think you had a picnic?
We are doing really well. Incredibly well, I wonder why I didn't have him sooner really. But I also think how on earth I could I possibly love another child as much as I love him? Seams impossible but I'm sure I will - hope so! I think the first born will always be a teeny bit special though?
We started on solids about a month ago, we just take it very slow too. He has something fuityish (like banana and something) in the morning and some veggies in the evening. Some days he will only have a few mouthfuls and not want the dinner, some days he wolfs down as much as you can give him. I'm still really only offering about 2tbls size each time, and don't force it if he doesn't want it. He is still BF so gets his nutrition from that.
He's starting to want to stand all the time too and is also getting a bit clingy? He cry's if I put him on the floor and go make a cup of tea or wash my hands or something. Going to have to try fix that, he's getting to heavy to carry all the time!
Went to big W today : ) Just got some bonds t-shirts for summer a few suits and a jolly jumper musical matt! Yay. All he will be wearing is a shirt and nappy this summer, has already been in just a singlet and nappy the last 3 days. At least he gets to show off his cute fluffy bum.
DH is in Brisi 'seeing a man about a job', so fingers crossed we will be moving back soon.
Gosh I've rambled a bit all about boring me - sorry guys! :wave: to you all. Must be my sleep deprived state, didn't get much last night.
I think a lot must have changed in the past 2 years regarding solids. I was told with DS to start at 6 mths (I know now they have changed it to 4 - 6 mths) but it seems like lots of your babies are eating so much variety already (like tasting what the adults are eating :eek:) So far I have given Ella rice cereal and some apple mixed in. Next week I am going to start trying a little bit of sweet potato. Has anyone spoken to a professional about this?? Maybe I should be trying more but she seems so little yet that I am scared to give her too much of anything. With DS he was having rice cereal and diff vegies at 6 mths and it wasn't until he was 7 - 8 mths that he started wating yogurt and custard and that kind of food. I think she is going to enjoy her food cause the mouth is wide open but she doesn't know how to eat yet - most of the food comes back out!
Just Add Water
14-08-2009, 20:51
mks - i tried bayley on farex at four and a half months on the advise of others and it made him quite sick. I was advised to try him on something else by the nurse due to his size. He had apple custard for two weeks, only a jar over the day and i today started trying him on apple and mango delight. Both jars from heinz. I haven't made anything be really wish i'd been able to keep him on formula only longer. He didn't get a jar yesterday, only if he's getting really hungry and i can't satisfy him with two hourly feeds. I'll be doing each food for at least two weeks so i can see if there are any problems with him with it. My nephew had a lot of problems as a baby so i am quite wary of pushing the food thing.
tinytotsmum
14-08-2009, 22:27
heya all lol.
smashlee - no i didnt go today but i am going to go on sunday have my avon route tommorow adn what not so sunday it is and i am meeting missyky there at around 11:30 you welcome to join if you want to venture out pm me and ill give you my mobile so you can call me.
happy mumma that is great about the yoghurt being cheap i didnt even know it existed cos it is in the adult section not the usual kids place so was a surprise when i found it hope bub likes it em has one every morning then her jar of fruit and a bottle adn then for lunch has some mooshed veggies adn a bottle adn then bottles for the rest of the day sometimes i will give her some veg for dinner if she is awake when we eat dinner so she feels a part of it all.
MKS - go by what you feel with your little one you will know what is best i have been given a chart by one of the large perenting places but it says to start food at 6 months and yoghurt not till 8 months but em was on solids at 3 month so she is ready for yoghurt earlier but it just depends any thing new i try it at lunch so i can see if it makes her a bit icky and if it does dont give it again for a while and so on but em is now 5month is on solids with lumps in it and has solids for breaky lunch and sometimes dinner along with her 5 bottles a day so she is a very large eater but she is pretty big for her age she is 70cm and 7.9kg last time she was done at 5 month so she is above average on both.
today was a pretty full on day for me today was just about the 5th car in a pileup just missed the **** end of the car in front of me by about a centremeter which was lucky em was in the car with me so i was on the phone organising the police ambulance and firebrigade and there was an old lady and a mum stuck in there cars adn i had to look after the ladies kids while they cut her out so they played with em and i had to try and keep her calm while they cut the front of her car and then she was taken to hospy with her kids they had a few bumps and scratches but needs to be checked just to be sure and the old lady was the first cut out and rushed of all becasue on edickhead couldnt merge adn just pulled across in really crappy weather mind you i dont think he was feeling to well after it all he looked very very pail but the cops had to shut one side of the road down as there was oil petrol and other vehical fluids all over the road so yeah wasnt to best day of my life the poor kids were worried sick about there mum so i had to keep asking if they could go and see her and she kept asking for them but becasue of the petrol they couldnt go to close until it was really safe which made sence but was heart breaking for the mum adn kids made me feel unbelievably lucky i had quick reflexes and managed to miss the car in front cos that was the one with the kids in so yeah very wierd feeling at the moment had to give a statement and everything. well anyway i am going to go and have a hot shower and go to bed very tired adn i even skipped the gym even thought it was free wine after the work out session ( what was i thinking with not going lol)
Happymumma
15-08-2009, 07:05
Morning Ladies
TinyTots- that sounds like it was horriffic you poor thing at least you stopped in time and everyone turned out ok:no:
MKS- Like the girls said it really is an individual thing and i think Jackson is a little older than most of the bubs on here, we started him on solids at 4 months under the docs suggestion cause he was draining all his bottles and still wasnt satisfied in the beginning he was just tasting farex and apples and what not but now that he is approaching 6 months and has got the swallowing down pat and the textures and what not he seems to really enjoy trying new foods we still take it slow but he has done really well on solids its different for every baby and like TT said Jackson and Em are pretty big for there ages so i think they needed that little extra...Jackson is 9kg and also verging on 71cm so he is a big bubba lol and a boy to boot lol when i say he is tasting my food its only teeny tiny bits of potato and stuff here and there just so he feels included cause every time i eat or drink he looks at me as if to say where is mine lol and reaches out for some....He started out small and is now on Breaky,lunch and dinner he doesnt always finish a jar i just go by him if he closes his mouth or turns away i know he has had enough but most times he will polish off a jar at each meal and have little bits here and there of bannana or rockmelon im convinced when he has finger food not much goes in its just the fun of it for him :yes:
you guys will get there, i dont think there is any rush really as long as your LO is still getting lots of milk it doesnt matter just yet no need to stress :)
I dont know what it was but i just couldnt sleep last night Jackson was fine he didnt wake me or anything i just couldnt switch off its been 3 weeks now without DH and im really missing him im handling things fine but i just miss him i guess :crying:
Oh well not much longer i guess i will try and get a nanna nap at some point today gotta stay home cause ppl are picking stuff up for DH to take back to QLD for him, so i got nothin better to do lol may as well sleep its actually such a shame i have to stay home its meant to be like 28 degrees here today might put a blanket down out the back and sit in the sun with bubba :p
Well enjoy your weekend girls hope its lovely for all
Crystal
JLeesmum
15-08-2009, 07:52
hello, i had to read the last post real quick cos im expecting bub to wake up.
another horrible night, he wole up 8 times the night before (for his dummy) and about 6 times last night. he seems to think 4am is morning..:no:
happymumma-Jyden(9kgs) is 2 days younger than Jackson, he started solids at 4 1/2 months, he didnt like farex so i started on apples, now he has tryed all of the heinz jars.. (even the 6+) expet for the chocolate custard...so i bought a stick mix, and pureed banana, apple and pear. he loved it, then some broccoli (whick looked like snot) then weetbix and banana! (with formula). my chn said this is fine..
he has 1 jar size at 9am and another at 3pm.
and i tryed CC, i lasted 2 mins.lol. and im not game enough to try take his dummy out! NEVER wake a sleeping baby i say!
tinytotsmum- thanks 4 the offer, but im going with DP today... will be back in york on sun...
"TicklePink- every time i read your posts i think ahhh that was me not so long ago i remember telling you Jackson had just stopped catnapping all of a sudden and i didnt know what i did lol now your LO has done the same"- from happymumma (sorry i havnt worked out the quote thing).
jyden only sleeps 40min catnaps... r u saying he will grow out of it and sleep longer?? i hope so.. :yelclap:
have a good day!
hubnbubby- The start of your post made me feel all mushie :goodvibes: I often look at L and think to myself 'wow, we made you' i couldnt possibly love anything or anyone as much as i love her (unless we have another one of course). Your DS sounds like L, she's starting to get clingy too, if i put her down she starts whinging and if i dont go back to her straight away it turns into a cry, hopefully it's just a phase.
mks- We started L on solids at almost 5 month's, she was finishing off her 210ml bottle and looking for more so the Dr suggested introducing solids slowly which we have done. She could definitly take more than we offer her but i dont want to rush her and i want to make sure she's still having all her milk feeds.
Nomadic- Have you tried the Rafferty's Garden rice cereal? I tried DD on Farex too and she had the most disgusted look on her face and then i tried it and had the same look on my face :laughing:. We give L the rice cereal and add a bit of pureed apple and she loves it!
tinytotsmum- WOW sounds like you had a pretty full on day! Glad you and Em were OK, how scary for you.
Happymumma- I had one of those nights on Tueday, Lilly slept all night but i kept waking up and couldnt get back to sleep so i was so sleepy during the day and had to have a Nanna nap lol. Sitting outside in the beautiful sun sounds like an awesome idea.
smashlee- I dont want to get you all excited but for us Lilly just started sleeping longer during the day. We have started her on solids so it might be that but who knows?!?! With the dummy thing, you dont actually wake bubby up, you take the dummy out once they've stopped sucking. I've done it the past 4 nights and Lilly hasnt woken up once.
Have a great weekend all!!!
Happymumma
15-08-2009, 10:53
Hey
Smashlee- yeah some of them look pretty funky when you puree them try spinach blah thats gross but with a bit of apple puree its not too bad lol
Yeah i knew there were a few other bubs round the late feb just couldnt remember who they were lol
Yeah you will be surprised though you dont wake them as TicklePink said you wait til they have stopped sucking and then take it out give them a bit and if they grizzle put it back in no harm done as you get used to it so will he it will work trust me you just take it out once they are sleepy and stopped sucking then repeat like i said it may take a bit but its better than getting up fifty million times a night ...... and trust me i know how you feel!
With the catnapping thing yeah Jackson seemed to "outgrow" it so to speak but i am a big believer also that it stopped once he was established on solids cause it was like we started solids and a few weeks later the catnapping just stopped it was weird but good at the same time.
Haha Jackson had Yogurt today :yes: he was pulling the funniest faces and at half a pot so not too bad :thumbsup: Followed by bannana......oh the mess he loves smooshing it everywhere!!!
Quick question has any one moved onto stage 2 formula?
I haven't even thought about stage 2 formula yet, When do they say you should change? What's the diff between stage 1 and 2? Sorry for all the questions lol.
Tp step 2 is for after 6 months. I don't know the specifics but I know it fills them up more.
Ttm I'm glad to hear you and em are ok. How scary(((hugs))).
Am I the only 1 who hasn't started any solids yet? Indie isn't needing the extra yet and I'm a bit lazy too, I'd be quite happy to hold off for another month or 2. I'm planning blw anyway to make it a bit easier on myself with meal preps. I don't want to go with jars and spoon feeding as we ha a lot of problems with dd1 objecting to anything that wasn't from a jar until 15mths, and still now at 3 1/2 she wants us to spoon feed her when she's tired.
I bought myself a slow cooker today. Can't wait to try it out tomorrow, just have to choose what I'm going to cook!
I've been inspired by you lovely women to put some effort into getting indie to sleep without the boob. I did the pat- shush method last night with cuddles to calm her when she got upset. I also tried resettling last night instead of feeding at every feed(just fed when she woke 4 or more hours after her last feed). In the last 24 hours she's worked out how to suck her thumb and is going to sleep by herself just with me doing the patting and shushing if she's upset. I'm pretty happy it's been quite easy(and thankful of that because we had - and continue to have - so many probs with dd1s sleep)!
Anyway all this talk of sleep is tiring me out(was up resettling indie for over an hour straight at 1 point last night) so I'm off to rest up!
tinytotsmum
15-08-2009, 18:47
hey tickle pink i think stage 2 if from toddler so from 6 months or sometyhing like that i ask the doc today about em on her formula but she is going to be on the AR for atleast till she is 1 and probably a bit longer after that cos of her pyloric stenosis cos it will take longer for all her stomach muscle to built up enough to handle normal milk so yeah i dont have to worry about when to change but on the tin it should say when to go to the next leven i think stage 2 doesnt have as much nutrience in it cos they should be eating solids by then and stage one will hyave more vitamins and minerals in it ect.
so yeah the tin should tell you
tinytotsmum
15-08-2009, 18:54
emily did something complete insane this morning and i have NO idea why but at 5:30 this morning she had slept 9 hours and normally it is 10 so that was wierd enough but she just started this blood hurtling scream so i ran as fast as i could to her think i even hit dh on my way and then ran face first into her door and she just cried and cried adn looked horrified at everything so i dont know whatwas wrong but i have only just really click that she isnt weeing that much so i have started recording her ins and out to see cos yesterday the last 3 nappies i changed before she went to bed were dry and her first one this morning was pretty much dry but then she did one nappy that was smallishly wet but her poops are rock solid you could probably slice them and write on them like paper so solids have stopped till i work out what all that was about. if anyone has any opinions let me know.
yay my dad is coming up on the 23rd of this month so we can spend some time together which is great i am really looking forward to it we can go fishing and do all the things we used to do adn my red cross lady comes out the day before the pilget here which means the house will be clean and dad will stay for the first 2 days that the pil are here which will be nice will get to see how well they will clash lmao.
well anyway better run going to make chilli prawn on jasmin rice mmmmmmm.
Happymumma
15-08-2009, 19:55
Hey
In regards to the stage 2 formula its for 6 months and on and it is iron fortified and has a few more nutrients for there growing bodies just incase they dont get it all from there solids, just bumps up the calcium and what not cause they drop a bottle round about now which Jackson prob could do now and that will make it 4 bottles a day (he is not that interested in the dream feed any more so going to drop it)So i just want to make sure he is getting as many nutriets as possible!!!
We started the Stage 2 tin today cause i ran out of stage 1 and figured we are only a week of 6 months so may as well start it.....was just asking if any one had started it yet cause it seems thicker or something it doesnt bother Jackson he still drank it like normal i was just wondering if that was normal or not lol
TT- Have you intrduced anything new solid wise lately???? Is she getting enough milk??? do you offer water when you give her a meal??
sorry i know lots of questions but not enough wet nappies can be dehydration and if her poo is hard sometimes that is due to lack of liquid too especially if she is getting lots of fibre in the farex and stuff
With the scream thing Jackson does that occasionlly and it doesnt seem to be anything wrong maybe she just got startled by something and because you were not there ASAP she screamed??? May not have anything to do with her nappy situation but it may also lol they are funny little things sometimes but like you said prob a good idea to watch the in vs out and see your doc if you are worried
Just Add Water
16-08-2009, 08:28
"Babies can't express their emotions in the same complex way that adults do. While they do let you know when they're angry, bored, or happy, they can't express love or humour in the first few months, but that's beginning to change. By five months your baby shows a strong attachment to you by raising her arms when she wants to be picked up and crying when you leave the room. She may also give you hugs and kisses. And she's beginning to get the joke -- she'll laugh at funny expressions or positions and try to make you laugh, too.
For many parents, this is when the fun begins. You'll find yourself regressing back to childhood as you make silly faces and nonsense sounds, or play at pantomime and mimicry."
Re Step 2 - I guess this is a bit like when to start solids, everyone will do what they believe is best for their baby. I have been advised that unless bubs is not being satisfied with step 1 then it is not necessary to go to step 2. Step 2 (at least with Bellamy's, which is what we use) has a different base ingredient so along with trying new foods is another thing for their little stomachs to handle.
NewMe, re solids - as I said, we only started Bay on solids from pressure of others. I then stopped and now we are giving him maybe a jar a day (if that) if he's still hungry. He didn't have anything other than milk yesterday and the day before that he had half a jar over the day. I generally only give him some when I am struggling with him having 240 mls every 2 hours :yes:.
It is definitely a lot more time consuming than giving him a bottle! (And a lot messier).
hi girls, been reading, just being slack and not posting:p
re solids - we've started because the gp wanted him started at 4 months, to try and help with the reflux (helps some, not others), he's only had some pear, apple twice and tried sweet potatoe mixed with farex yesterday. going really slowly for us. don't know if his reflux is more than just that, so definatley sticking to the 4 day rule, he only is offered 1 ice cube worth at lunch.
He started 'eating' about a week ago, where he would come foward for the spoon.
I would have prefered BLW, but am willing to try anything to help the reflux:rolleyes:
He's a more than reasonable size for his age too, considering the first couple of months! he's certainly made up for lost time.
He'll be having only fruits and veg for a long while yet, i won't be introducing dairy, ect till after 6 months, maybe later.
As someone said, if you don;t introduce it, they dont know it exists, LOL.
On a good note, He is actually laughing a couple of times a day:goodvibes: Gosh it's good to see him hapy.
Well we've made the switch to the highly addictive world of MCN's, loving them!!
I'd read something along those lines Noamdic, re the 5 month clinginess.
hmm, not much going on here. DH is still working lots, looks like things maybe slowing down.
Oh, we're starting our extensoin! All go, just waiting for the builder, but should be started in the next couple of weeks! yay!
TuesdaysPrincess
16-08-2009, 15:04
HI everyone
Thanks so much for the kind messages of support with my last post - was feeling very down that day! Anyways, with my meds I have discovered that some chemists do a generic brand of that med, so it's nearly half the price which is awesome. So happily on meds now, and things seem to be picking up, which is great.
We're all pretty sick here, DS1 has a nasty sinus infection brought on by his asthma and virus over the last two weeks, so he's on a whopping dose of amoxil to try and clear it up. It's gonna suck taking him on a plane with his sore ears, but hopefully I'll be able to drug him up a bit and it might help.
DS2 is going great guns - has only rolled twice but is happily sitting up by himself! NewMe - he's only just starting on solids too, I was finding that my BM wasn't keeping up with him, and he's sleeping much better now with a full tummy. He's only had rice cereal with EBM, and a little bit of apple but he's loving it so far. I'm also on a gluten free diet to see if that is helping with his irritability and poos - AND IT CERTAINLY IS!! He's like a new baby!
We're off to Perth next week to see my mum and dad, we got offered seats for $96 each way, which we couldn't turn down! So we're spending 7 nights there, just me and the boys, so the flights will be interesting but worth it!
So if I don't get on before we go, hope everyone has a good week and gets some decent sleep, and will chat when I get back.!
JLeesmum
16-08-2009, 15:16
hello!
i just got back from the city, went to the baby expo in claremont, was pretty good exept there wasnt a bubhub store!.. bought Jyden some 'baby bandz"sunnys and a hat :S
then went to my SIL's happybirthdaysuprise party..(my dad recently got married) i didnt know anyone and everyone was smoking outside so i went inside.. and found 3 mums,a 12 wk boy. a 14 wk boy and a 7month oldgirl(who was almost walking!)!
so it wasnt too bad after all..
they turned the ;ights out just as SIL arrived.. during that 10 mins, all 4 bubs fell asleep, everyone yelled surpise and they all jumped! hehe
tinytotsmum, maybe em had a bad dream or a night terror??
and jyden has been having poos like that for a couple of days, i bought come coloxyl today and he has had a softer poo already!:smiliedance:
happymumma- it hink ill try the dummy think tonight! whats the worst that could happen? im already geting up 8 times a night!
DP accitently bought stage 2 formula a week before ds was 6 months, so i started him on it anyway..IMO i think its good to start on stage 2 formula if bubs eats 2meals or less a day because it has extra iron..
hehe Jyden tryed weetbix, formula and banana! he loved it!
when we went to perth yesterday(11am), DP locked the cat in the shed, accidently! and we only just got home (2pm).. lucky it wasnt hot!
gtg , i have a baby going thru separation anxiety..
Ashlee.
ps. is anyones baby cruzing around in their walker yet? mine is! i gtg catch him..lol
oh TP for $96 each way I would have jumped on that plane too(my brother is over there). Hope ds1 is better by then!
Just Add Water
16-08-2009, 20:22
So I have been thinking all week that I am pregnant, despite having my AF - I just felt like I did when I was first pregnant.
So I did a test.
It was faint, but the second line was there.
:eek::eek: Holy Crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek::eek:
*sigh* another bloody baby in the first half of the year - is four not enough? :laughing:
DH is driving to Sydney and just went "Wow". Going to get another one tomrrow and see what happens....:detective:
:yelclap: thats what you were hoping for though?
congrats if its so kris!
Just Add Water
16-08-2009, 20:40
Yeah, we'd be pretty happy if I am, but okay if I'm not... we were just happy letting the universe decide :) The scary part is that along with "feeling" pregnant, despite my body telling me I wasn't I keep having dreams of two little people, a boy and a girl... and I have a high chance of twins.... lol.... wouldn't be telling DH that news while he was driving!
Oh well, what will be will be. Do another test tomorrow and go from there.. I figure if I am then I'd only be about 4 weeks so that would mean around April / May. (We already have 8 March, 22 April, 3 May & 23 May - maybe DH only works for certain times of the year? LOL).
Happymumma
17-08-2009, 06:03
hey girls
blah think im sick sore throat and cough and what hope it passes quick:no:
any whoo
Smashlee how did ya go with the dummy thing??
Nomadic congrats to you bet your a little scared though ?
just wanted to share WE ARE WRAP FREE!!! :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
Last night and all day yesterday we had no wrap to tell you the truth i dont think he even relised :yelclap:
Dummy time now lol i think that will be easier cause he is less and less interested everynite i pull it out of his mouth lol
JLeesmum
17-08-2009, 08:03
nomadic- wow, i keep thinking im pregnant again too..lol but i havnt done a test cos ive got Af too..i think in dec or feb we will try again.. (when i fell preg with DS i had a really faint line too, i tested 7 times to make sure!)
happymumma- again, i wasnt really game enough to try the dummy thing! but after getting up 6 times (by 2am) i took the dummy out and he still woke up an hour later.. maybe ill try again tonight...
and welldone onthe wrap thing! i just tuck Jyden in really tight, so he feels secure. ( he wouldnt sleep the otherday so i acctually tryed wrapping him, he just looked and laughed at me, he's not a baby anymore!)
its my happybirthday in 3 weeks! (7th sept) and our 7th anniversary! (weve been together since i was 15!)
we havnt even fought once!:valentine: (ok, maybe 1 or 2 disagreements but we have never walked out on each other):smiliedance:
Ashlee.
YAY that's great Happymumma :yelclap: we are wrap free during the day but im still not game to try it at night, we've had a few crappy nights lately tho so i may as well give it a go, cant get any worse i guess. Good luck with the dummy, i couldnt get L's out last night, i tried about 5 times but i was scared she would wake right up so i gave it back (and i was tired and couldnt be botehered :rolleyes:). She woke up 3 times looking for it which was very frustrating so im on a mission tonight and i wont be giving in! Hope your feeling better soon, i just got over a cold, it seems to be going round at the moment.
Congrats Nomadic :goodvibes:. I really wanted twins, that was until i came home from the hospital and struggled with the 1 i had...LOL.
TuesdaysPrincess- Hope you guys are feeling better soon and have an awesome holiday!
smashlee- We dont have a walker, our whole house is carpeted so it'd be too hard for L to get around. We have a Jumperoo tho and she looooves it! Her little legs go crazy in it.
tommo787- Nothing beats a happy baby, glad to hear your getting a few laughs out of him.
We've had a few rough nights here, L hasnt wanted to give up her dummy like she normally does so she's been waking up a few times to have it re-inserted. I brought a copy of the NCSS which apparently has something in there about taking the dummy out so hopefully it helps me, maybe im dong it wrong?
trifecta
17-08-2009, 09:45
Oh Nomadic that's great news - if you are - how did you go this morning? How exciting, your the first of us!! Unless GO was positive too? :yelclap::yelclap: woohoo more beautiful bubba's in this world.
I'm not on any contraceptive either and my AF only just arrived for the first time last week. Hum better watch my cycle a bit. I'd be quite happy to be preggers again soon though too.
Speaking of bubba's my friend just had a wee boy Sat night, Charlie : )
Nomadic :smiliedance: I can't wipe the smile off my face! Ohhh I'm so happy for you:fingerscrossed:. I'm so jealous too! I'd love another one very soon, but I'm also a bit scared I'll still want more and more and more:laughing::D
Just Add Water
17-08-2009, 12:59
Well, I have no idea if I am or not now LOL I've done four tests, 2 different brands... got two negatives and two positives, the faint one last night and a not so faint one this morning. So I'm just going to tell myself that I'm not and see what happens... I'm not doing anything that will affect a baby if I am so life can continue as normal here :)
A friend of mine is studying Bowen Therapy so I went over there this morning and had a BT Massage, she did one on Bayley as well. We're taking Laura over too. She has to do a load of case studies so it works out for everyone :) Basically it's moving the muscles in certain ways to release the hydration through them so that the nerves function better - mine were so tight!! I'm going back again probably Thursday for the next session. I hate getting massaged but she's got this beautiful room and I've known her for quite a few years and she's very respectful of my personal space issues so it's nice. :)
Well we've just got home so now I'm going to try and get Master B to do the sleeping thing and I think I might have a nap too. Don't have to get the kids till late today.
Oh, Miss 6 went and told her teacher she had swine flu!! LOL DH informed them that she just had a cold and she is perfectly fine now... it's amazing what kids come out with :) (Mind you I did say to DH that she was acting like a total pig yesterday and her room resembles a sty hehe).
jojoT1979
17-08-2009, 13:23
afternoon ladies.
i've been on a few times lurking around :o but being new to the march group (bubs was due in april) i've not really known how to jump on in.... anyway, i'm just gonna.
things are going pretty well here. amelie is the best bubba we could've ever dreamed of. she is forever smiling and rarely whinges :)
she's bottle fed, unfortunately my milk supply dried up quickly but she's happy and growing so can't complain. generally sleeps through the night from about 7.30pm - 7am, with a dream feed at 10.30 that we're about to attempt to drop.
we started her on farex and veg / fruit purees about a week ago, just once day, and she loves them - the child nurse agreed that because "she's a bigger girl" she might need extra. the nurse said "wow, she looks like a 6 month old". poor babe will get a complex. anyway, she's spot on weight for height, but above weight for age. she's perfect either way in my eyes. :p
i'm still trying to adjust to being a mumma. loving it and loving bubs ... just struggling with never accomplishing much during a day besides mumma things. ie... house wifey stuff and stuff for me. where's the balance? am i deluded that there is one?
anyways.... enough about me...
nomadic - how exciting that you may be pregnant again. that's pretty special.
i've been wondering if we may be utd as well, i've only had 1 af since giving birth and that was 2.5months ago. negative preg test though... having no idea what to expect after birth i'm assuming things are still in the process of returning to normal...
it sounds like a few march mummies would be happy to be expecting again. exciting!!
smashlee - happy birthday and anniversay in advance!!! lucky you for not having any arguments yet, well done :)
tickledpink + happymumma - amelie still has a dummy too. she will fuss during her daytime sleep if she loses it but at night time she spits it out and doesn't miss it once she's out.
happymumma - hope you feel better soon!
so... looking forward to getting to know you all better. hopefully i'll be able to keep up this time :rolleyes:
jojo
:wave: jojo.
Nomadic I still cant stop :D. I'll live vicariously through you:p
Its official, I have a teething baby. I can see and slightly feel a bump but it hasnt cut through yet. So far so good with the moods though:fingerscrossed:
Happymumma
17-08-2009, 17:21
Hi Jojo:wave: just jump in whenever lol we all do hahaha dont be shy
Smashlee and Tickle pink it all good you guys will get there with the dummy im slowly but surely getting there lol he never cries when i take it out but sometimes an hour or two later winges and a pop it back in and he is back off again so i know what you mean too about sometimes being too tired to be bothered lol:laughing:
Newme we have had a bump for a little while now and every morning i wake up and check but still nothing:( but he has been fine really a few bad nights here and there where i gave him nurophen but generally if he has his ice cold cloth to suck on he is all good:p
Nomadic im sure if its meant to be it will be and if its not its not :yes: you will find out soon enough i guess.
ASM im still feeling a little blah hoping to wake up in the morning and be all refreshed lol
I had another night last night of not much sleep,just really awake and not from Jackson either......so it got me thinking i started taking these new multi vitamins and i think thats what is keeping me up....so i didnt take any today will see how i go tonight i guess lol
any hoo take care
Crystal
ps did we find out if GO was :bfp:???
Crystal thankfully it doesn't seem to be bothering her(I was blessed that dd1 was an "easy" teether too). I'm a bit surprised to see it as dd1 didn't cut her first tooth until 8 mths and with absolutely no notice, actually I found it when she bit me haha.
Well I've got a pounding headache, sore throat and just generally feel like crud so I'm going to try to sleep(dh is still out at work and with pre-storm weather out there it's not going to be easy).
mumma2ajem
17-08-2009, 19:51
Hi ladies well ive been lurking around here and not posting much... so i am going to start posting alot more now :yes:
well im not going to attempt persies now i have missed out on too much i will start after this post.. sorry for the long post...
well my bubba girl is now 5 and a bit months old she is now also FULLY COTH BUMMED :yelclap:(MCNS GOTTA LOVE EM) that was my goal and now i have reached it an i love it i will never go back to sposies again....
after a rough patch with jemmas feeding we are now back on track a lil info on that we were lucky if we could get 300 ml into her per day she was just not drinking and all she was doing was sleeping (as she was starving herself) she was sleeping about 20 hrs out of 24 :eek: we went from doctor to doctor to a specialist to tressialian but no one could tell me why the only answer i could get was cause she was born a lil early ( when she was born they did not think she was as old as she was i was induced at 38 weeks however the paed said she looked to be only 36.5 ish weeks) she was having trouble sucking and she was wearing her self out and just falling asleep well at my wits end with not a clue what to do i rang a 24 hr help line ( a health link one) and the ovely nurse on the phone suggested i by her a sippy cup and what do you know the lil bugger from that day on was back on her full feeds plus more ( she put on 1.5 kg in 2 weeks thats how much she needed the milk) so my lil miss independant now drinks from a sippy cup all by herself she hates it when someone holds it it makes me a lil sad to see her growing up so quick shes not my baby anymore :no: she growing to fast...
j is on solids as well now well she has been since about 3.5 months due to her eating probs with milk and she loves everything that is put in front of her i make all my own baby food as she has a lactose intolerance and i wanted to know exactly what is going into her food she will eat avocado,banana,apples,beans,pumpkin,all types of potatos, carrots, zucchinni etc shes a lil piggy..
mmm what else well j's naming day is this weekend i cant wait we have family coming for lots of places new zealand,darwin,up the coast, the south coast having about 80 or so people so it will be good it is also gunna be our "unofficail" house warming party as we have just bought our own house :yelclap: another thing im loving atm having a house that is mine oh all mine ( well the banks for the next 20 years but u get the drift)
other then that j is going good she can sit up by herself for about 30-40 secs at a time then she face plants..
i am really loving being a full time mummy i did not think i would be cut out to be the stay at home mum but i love it and will do it until my youngest child goes to school ( i want 3) providing that our circumstances can still aloow me to stay home..
well hope all you ladies are well and look foward to actually posting here more and learning about everyones lil bubba
oh and is anyone alreday thinking of having another one?? i would love to but not sure about the age gap what do u ladies think??
JLeesmum
18-08-2009, 08:11
:wave: to misslouie and jojo
misslouie- sorry to hear about all ur troubles with DD, im glad shes doing much better!
my ds was born on the 1st march.. he's almost sitting up too..untill he face plants! he's almost rolling back to belly, but his thighs r too fat for him to roll!
i also want 3-4 kids and will stay home till the last one goes to school if i can. i want another one now! but the only thing stopping me is i dont want too close of an age gap.. about 20mths would be good i think.
jojo- hello! thanks for the birthday wishes!
and im still adjusting to being a mum aswell, DP used to get everything done for him cos he works hard, it really hurts me sometimes when he comes home to a messy house, or no dinner ready, or no washing done. i try my best but theres only so much we can do during a day! DP completely understands, but i feel like a failed house-wife sometimes!
i felt like i was coming down witht he flu yesterday so i didnt try the dummy thing again... but luckily he only woke up once between 7pm-5am!
and i think we have a tooth coming thru too, ive felt a little lump for a while but it seems to be going up and down.
APPARENTLY your baby will teeth at around the same age as u did. is this true for anyone yet??
it wasnt untill i was 12 months, thats when i got ALL my teeth!
hehe i busted Jyden playing with his bits:rolleyes:, he pulled it up that high it almost reached his bellly button! i had to make him let go i was abit worried he's accidently hurt himself
Happymumma
18-08-2009, 09:01
:laughing:bahahaha smashlee its so funny when they find there bits lol Jackson found his a few weeks back and now never stops playing with them lol
Hi Girls, sorry I've not posted for a while we've had a pretty horrid couple of weeks. W has been so unsettled and grumpy that he has spent most the time in tears and therefore so have I by the end of the day. I took him to the doctor last week, and they said there isn't anything medically wrong with him, maybe he's just a baby that cries more? We had a good weekend with him but he seems a bit unhappy again today. We went to Giggle Time at the library this morning, and as usual he was the first baby to cry which gets a bit tough, in the end I feel like not going out with him but I don't think that's good for either of us really.
I haven't really had chance to read all the pages of posts, I'm sorry. Just haven't had time to be apart from Will, but hopefully things will improve soon.
:wave: Welcome to our newcomers!
Exciting news Nomadic about a possible pregnancy already! :)
Ooh and Crystal I remember you saying that Jackson had eczema, did it make him really uncomfortable?
JLeesmum
18-08-2009, 14:55
hi pippa.
hope will's ok, not teething? or constipated?? im sure youve been thru the check list a thousand times..
jyden was grumpy for a week untill i bought some coloxyl, too soften his poo's up.. i didnt even realise he was constipated..:no:
JLeesmum
18-08-2009, 15:14
hmmm i looked up 6 month milestones, was quite interesting what i read..
-Establish a bedtime routine and other habits to discourage night awakening. Make sure your baby has learned self-soothing techniques by providing your child with the same transitional object, such as a stuffed animal, "special" blanket or favorite toy.
Most babies double their birth weight in the first 5 to 6 months.(jydens tripleds his!)
Feeding should be on a routine mealtime schedule which hopefully coincides with the family mealtimes
Now is the time to begin introducing a cup since it is important to eliminate all bottles by the baby's first birthday. The easiest way to do this is by taking advantage of the infant's natural curiosity and desire to imitate adults. Parents should buy two or three brightly colored plastic cups and begin drinking their coffee or tea out of these new cups. Since the child will want the same thing the parents have, start giving your child his or her milk or juice in an identical cup. The child will not be able to hold the cup by himself or herself for some time
Get down on the floor and check for safety hazards at your baby's eye level.
Empty buckets, tubs or small pools immediately after use. Ensure that swimming pools have a four-sided fence with a self-closing, self-latching gate.
never allow your child to approach a dog while the dog is eating EVER
i just thought id highlight that cos our bubz r growing up so quick u might not realize!
Ash. (sorry if that was really annoying)
Just Add Water
18-08-2009, 16:02
I don't think I'm ever going to be one to follow the rules... maybe it comes with having 3 older kids in the house that I have raised since the youngest was 18 months old, maybe it comes with dealing with a huge number of issues that other families don't always face, maybe it comes from believing that everything will always turn out right in the end if you simply love first and do everything else second.
I am in no hurry to give DS a "sippy cup", he eats when he's hungry (as I often do), he does not sleep on his own of a night and during the day will go down for a nap in his bassinett but I will put him there after he has fallen asleep in my arms. I have no problem with him pulling the cat's tail - I am with him at all times and pat the cat at the same time so that he doesn't feel threatened. I am aware of dangers and aware that he can grab things now and anything within reach is fair game, but I also believe that no matter how careful you are something will always happen that you weren't expecting, just take it as it comes.
He has a dummy, we use disposable nappies, he can wake as often as he wants at night (and I love nothing more than waking up to see my son snuggling into his daddy or smilng at me), he has never been wrapped and shock of all shocks I don't bath him every day, sometimes he may even go four or five days with nothing more than a wash over with a cloth.
*shrugs* I don't know why I felt the need to right that, feeling a bit all over the place and tired of living in a world of rules, I'm not meaning to have a go at anyone so sorry if I've offended anyone. I seem to be rather good at that.
Nomadic you've actually reassured me that having Will fall asleep in my arms during the day isn't in fact the end of the world, so thank you :)
Happymumma
18-08-2009, 19:32
Evening all
Pippa G- it didnt seem to make him uncomfortable all day only in the bath and when he got too hot, he used to SCREAM in the bath for the whole 2 seconds he was in there lol now that its under control and he has cream he loves his bath :yes:
Does Will have it ? Does he scratch? i noticed when jackson scratched it bothered him alot and i knew i had to put the mittens on and cream and distract him till the itchyness passed.
Smashlee- good advice:thumbsup:
Nomadic-Dont feel like you have offended any one you have just said what you feel and there will always be so many different parenting styles and at the end of the day every one is different every baby is different so we can all only do what we feel is best for us and our children i myself feel like i take a bit of this and a bit of that from all different styles but in the end i do what I want! We use Disposable nappies,Formula feed, started solids early,i had a c-section we use a dummy,i also used to rock jackson to sleep in my arms and loved every minute ......im kinda sad now he wont fall asleep in my arms any more only in bed.....he just stares at me when he is in my arms now too nosey lol We COULDNT wash Jackson everyday at one stage there cause of his eczema and yes he has a sippy cup but i dont force it on him i just leave it there and let him discover it on his own .....i guess what im saying is where are these RULES so to speak cause if i find them i would prob throw them away as well lol Dont feel bad for being the mum you are you have already raised some beautiful children and they are still alive so you cant be doing that bad lol
But i do know what you mean being a first time mum i often feel pressure weather it be deliberate or not from other mums (no one here :)) about what i should be doing or what Jackson should be doing by now and often think am i doing this right should i be doing something different am i developing bad habits for him??????? So many doubts but i have only JUST recently relised he is my child and i am raising him MY way and if that so happens to be the "WRONG" way then i will deal with it when it becomes an issue......until then i will continue doing things as i please its workin for me and him....Oh and of course getting advice from all you lovely ladies as i go hehehe and seriously i dont ask ANY of my family and friends for advice its all on here it seems less bias that way if you know what i mean:p
Wow that was a bit more of a rant than i thought it would be lol sorry just dont like the way some ppl make you feel for choosing certain ways of raising children. Needless to say i have had a few bad experiences ie C-section and Bottle feeding so right from the beginning ppl were judging me so its a sore point thats all.
Sorry
ps Smashlee dont think ANY of this is directed at you your post made some good points, im just over reading bout stuff like that and stressing if Jackson isnt there yet or doing those things but the safety issues are a good reminder to us all i guess.....just add too i just put jacksons cot down to the lowest level cause i read something about babies falling out of there cots and some rediculously high statistic of babies that fall out are around the 6 month mark because often they decide to sit or grab the side of the cot to stand up for the first time around this age and even though they dont look like they would be able to do it yet often its there first time and they tumble over the side .......that was one thing i took on board cause i know how fast they learn things and it would be just my luck jackson would be one of those learning in his cot lol so i lowered it just incase :p
We have a tooth! Cut through either late yesterday or overnight with no pain relief at all(not needed)!
JLeesmum
19-08-2009, 08:06
sorry i didnt mean to upset anyone:( :no:.
nomadic- my DS plays with the cat (and dog occasionally) when im with him too, i use sposies, pat him to sleep everynight, bath him every 2nd day:rolleyes:, FF at 6weeks, solids at 4 months (we even went home from hospital 20hrs hours after he was born!).. i gave him a sippy cup to play with and he wokred out how to use it all by himself! so i just keep water in it all day and give it to him as a toy.
anway, ill try not to upset anyone again, sorry.
Nomadic- Your post made me smile, i can sooo relate to just about everything you said. Lilly used to only sleep ON me and i stressed out so much about it and now she will only fall asleep on her own in her cot (independant woman already). I really miss our little snuggles and the way she used to bury her head into my arm, i wish i enjoyed it more and stopped stressing about it coz i'll never be able to get that back :crying:.
PippaG- Sorry to hear you've had a rough few weeks, could it be teeth or a growth spurt maybe?
NewMe- :smiliedance: How awesome that the tooth came through without any pain, hopefully the rest decide to do the same...LOL
Happymumma- :wave: quick question for you- when you take Jackson's dummy out of a night is he asleep when you take it out or do you take it out just before he falls asleep? I read the NCSS and it says you take it out just before they fall asleep, i was taking it out when she was asleep and that was working great, she wouldnt wake up for it but the last few nights she wont let go of it and has been waking a few times to have it put back in. I was thinking about trying to get her to put it back in herself but im not sure how to do that...any advice?
smashlee- :hugs: I dont think you upset anyone, I think sometimes we read too much into things instead of doing what we think is right or going with our instincts. I used to wonder why Lilly wasnt sleeping as much as blah blah's baby or why so and so's baby was rolling more than mine but I found that was just stressing me out. I threw all my baby books in a bag and put them away and decided it's much easier to follow Lilly and let her lead the way, we're are both much happier and stress free now. :)
Lilly woke up 4 times last night *sigh* everytime she woke up i replaced her dummy and she went straight back to sleep but once i was awake it took me ages to fall back to sleep so i'm a bit all over the place today :dizzy:.
Hope everyone and your beautiful babies are well.
trifecta
19-08-2009, 09:14
Smashlee you haven't upset anyone! I think Nomadic was just making a point that everyone does their own thing with regards to parenting, their are no hard rules. Some babies (and parents) really do benefit from a set routine and some certinaly don't! We all know our own children best and live the way we do because we are all individual. No need to feel like you've upset anyone!
I personally love hearing how different we all are and our beautiuful bubba's are.
I know we all do one thing that is the same - we all love our children more then I can say :valentine::valentine:
tinytotsmum
19-08-2009, 09:28
it seems wierd to think that all our little ones are starting to hit that age where we need to start teaching them about cups ect mind you the last 2 bottles em had fed to herself with very little assistance from me ( just putting a and back up ever now adn then. oh my god the safety stuff in the house really need to get a move on with that oh my god they are growing to fast SLOW DOWN.
smashlee the animal one is a biggy not only for feed times anytime they shoudl be supervised emily can lay with our dog but you still never know if one of the cats ****s him and he turns to nip at one of them whos to say he wont miss and nip her etc etc.
well better run had to have an awww moment about her bottles.
tinytotsmum
19-08-2009, 09:31
oh and smashlee emily and i have no routine what so ever i try to have one but she hates it so we just eat whenever and she sleeps 10-11 hours straight so i cant complain but i do know it is important to have some sort of routine in there. mind you now i think about it we do have some sort of a routine when she is sleepy we feed change and she gets taken to daddy so he can say goodnight and give her a kiss then put to bed i give her a kiss goodnight and say see you in da morning adn she will fall to sleep not long after so there are routines there i guess you dont really think about as well.
JLeesmum
19-08-2009, 15:46
we have no routine either.. i just follow his lead.
jyden has a new thing.. im not alowed to hold his bottle anymore, or spoon feed him. mr indepentant! he wont open his mouth if i try!
and he has had a 2 hour nap during the day for 3 days now!! (insteads of 40mins)
tinytotsmum- i had a friend whos son was badly attacked by a dog that was protecting a toy. he had his ear ripped off and is blind in one eye, he'd just started crawling..
Happymumma
19-08-2009, 16:02
Hey Tickle Pink normally he is asleep when i take it out.....in regards to wanting to teach bubs how to put it back in what i have done now that we dont have the wrap i got some baby safety pins (you know the ones with the little clip locks) and some ribbon and attatched his dummy to the same side every nite and if i do have to get up for a dummy re-insert i run his hand along the ribbon and put it in his mouth that way he knows if he wants it himself its on the end of the ribbon also he doesnt normally have his dummy other than bed time but lately i have been giving it to him to play with i wont put it in his mouth i just hand it to him and he practices that way too , he is really getting the hang of it now he put it in himself in the day but at night i think he is still getting the hang of doing it while he is sleepy and cant see it lol but he will get there either way i figure he will learn to put it in himself or just not want it any more, ive given him the tools to decide i figure its up to him now :yes:
Oh yeah New me :yelclap: yay on the tooth!!!!
Thanks Crystal, I was pretty sure you said that you take it out once he's alsleep but when i read the NCSS it said to take it out just before they fall asleep so i got confused..LOL. The little bugger has been determined not to give it up the past 2 nights it's as if she know's im coming and she starts sucking again :rolleyes:.
I'm definitly going to give the ribbon trick a go, and good idea letting him practice himself, Lilly only has her dummy at night but i might let her have a play with it during the day to see if she can work it out.
Thanks again, i have to say i love having you as my guinea pig :D.
Happymumma
19-08-2009, 16:54
Oh yeah i forgot to say bout the ribbon dont make it too long so its still safe and not a strangulation risk, i tried the clip on ones as well and the clips tend to be a bit bulky for him to sleep with thats why i did the ribbon and pin thing but i guess you could use the clip on ones already made with a ribbon on it if you wanted?
Happymumma
19-08-2009, 17:01
haha no probs Tickle Pink any time :yes:
Jackson does that some nights too he hears me or something and sucks double hard lol i still take it off him and he has a grizzle and is over it most of the time but some nights he just wont give it up and i let him have it i figure he needs it more for what ever reason be it teethin or what not on these nights i find he keeps the suction happening pretty well so it doesnt come out at all or not as much lol
Keep it up either way she will either learn how to put it in or get over you pulling it out on her hahaha, they can be cheeky sometimes though lol
Morning all!
Quick question- does anyone use a bath seat for bubs and which one do you have? Lilly refuses to lay down in the bath now and absolutly cracks it until we sit her up but it's making my back sore having to lean over the bath while she sits up so I was thinking about getting a seat to make it easier.
TIA xxx
TP I use a safety 1st bath seat. I've only used it a few times for Indie, because she's more happy to lay back on the bath hammock thingy(:laughing: I'm so technical:p), but DD1 used it from about this age and loved it. Don't spend a lot of money on 1 though, they only use them for such a small time.
Smashlee - I'm sure you didn't upset anyone, certainly not me :)
TicklePink - We don't use a bath seat yet. Luckily Will is happy to lay back and splash around.
Crystal - The Dr doesn't think he has eczema but I'm not so sure. I've got another appointment tomorrow to discuss it with her. They gave me a cream which helped but he was only supposed to use it for 3 weeks which I have done and it has improved but still there. He is now getting a rash on his face, which comes and goes. I think it's a bit itchy for him though as he's always rubbing his eyes.
You've all got me thinking about trying to wean the dummy from William. He only has it for sleeps, although I'll take it with me when we're out and about. I can't believe how much I second guess my decisions with William. I decide to do something but then worry about long term effects, repercussions etc
Thanks NewMe and Pippa. Lilly was happy to lay on the 'hammock thingy' (:laughing:) but she's decided it's more fun to sit up which means i have to lean over the bath and hold her there which isnt fun for me. I had a look at the Toys R Us cat and they have one in there for $30 so i think i'll get that one.
Pippa- I second guess myself all the time :o. You'd laugh if i told you how many times i 'attempted' to get rid of the dummy before deciding it was easier to just keep giving it to her. I dont think i could handle taking it off her and i figure that she'll learn how to put it in herself eventually so who cares. It's not doing any harm at the moment and it keeps her happy (and helps her sleep) so i'm not fussed.
Oh i forgot to mention before that we're finally wrap free for all her sleeps!!! WOO HOO!!! :yelclap:
JLeesmum
20-08-2009, 12:03
pippa have u tryed goats milk soap? apparently it works well..
i wish this rain would stop. DP cant shear wet sheepys!:no:
ive been thinking about a bath seat.. Jyden doesnt mind laying down but is hard to sit up cos his bum just slides everywhere..lol
i used to run deep baths so he could swim kinda, but now i just fill the bath up with about 4cms water, put him on his back then i hide behind the shower curtain so i dont get soaked! i dont think hes cryed during a bath once!
I'm laughing (in a kind way :)) at everyone trying to wean the dummy. DS 'threw' his dummy in the bin about 3 - 4 months ago. He was just under 2.5!!!!!!!!!!! To be honest we used the dummy only at sleep times for him and he never woke up for it (it would fall out once he was asleep and he would sleep without it until morning) and didn't ask for it until one day at around 18 mths he threw a tantrum when I didn't have it with me when we were out. From then on he wanted it constantly (esp in the car).. strange. It was a big event when we got rid of it. Now I have to figure out what to do with Ella.. I am giving her a dummy at sleep times and when she is unsettled. She doesn't wake up for it though. She is still waking up for one feed at around 3 am and I try to get her back to sleep with the dummy but it's not working! She wants milk. It is worth the piece of mind though and even if it takes a while to get rid of it again, I figure you don't see many 10 year olds sucking a dummy! :laughing:
eeyorethedonkey21
21-08-2009, 10:15
am i the only one that doesnt use a dummy?
Eeyore I don't use 1 either.
Can anyone else hear a chicken? Or is that the sound of my own clucking:laughing::laughing:.
TP - $30 seems like a good price:)
Is anyone doing anything interesting on the weekend? Hopefully we're just having a restful one - I'm sick with the flu:(
So we're back from the doctor and DS does have eczema on his face so we have a cream to use for 3 days and then back to see how it's going. Got yet another cream for the nappy rash as well. I feel like I live in that surgery! Will spent the time in the waiting room charming all of the old people, and I spent the time worrying that someone would cough all over him, paranoid mum alert :p
How have you all managed to get bubs wrap free? William needs to have his arms tightly wrapped to sleep otherwise he just annoys himself with them, but he's getting too big for his wrap, and I'm yet to find anything else big enough. I'm thinking of moving to sleeping bags but I just don't think he'll cope too well. Any suggestions?
No plans for us for the weekend NewMe apart from our friends' little boy is turning 1 so we'll be seeing them in the afternoon.
Pippa I know there are some big wraps you can get, Tash knows where from:o.
Dont worry i'm a paranoid mum too. i wasn't going to let my dad see my kids for 2 weeks after he got home from the uk(they have no swine flu quarunteen there), but i caved and they got to see him for about 15mins.
LOL NewMe, i definitly cant hear any chickens where I am :laughing:.
mks- L only has her dummy at sleep times too. Like you said, you dont see 10 year olds with them and it helps her sleep so meh...LOL (i'm sure i wont be saying that in 2 years when i'm fighting her for it :laughing:).
Pippa- We put L in her sleeping bag and wrapped her over the top of it so she got used to it. We then kept one arm out for all her day sleeps and then both arms out for a few days and then we didnt need it anymore. I thought it would be a real mission to get rid of it but it was soooo much easier than we thought, it was like she was never wrapped at all. If your happy to keep wrapping you could use a baby sheet or 2 muslin wraps? Once L was too big for 1 muslin wrap i wrapped her in 1 and then wrapped her in another one and she never got out.
We have a pretty busy weekend planned, DH is going to the bledisloe (sp?) cup tomorrow night and i have a girlfriend coming over so we'll have a few wines and catch up. On Sunday my mum's coming over, she doesnt normally invite herself over so i have a strange feeling she wants to tell me something or maybe she wants to give me lots of money :laughing:.
Hope you all have a greeeat weekend!
big wraps - livingtextiles.com.au:)
we're still using a dummy, im not too fussed about it either, he doesn't need it put back in over night, so it's not a big deal, he only uses it for sleeps usually.
How did we get rid of the wrap? no wrap during the day, sleeping bag at night with wrap, then no wrap at night, cold turkey. he does annoy himself with his hands sometimes, but not too bad.
ummm, whats new here? trying to refrain from buying an more cloth nappies, lol.
Josh managed to sit on his own on the weekend, only for about 10 seconds at a time, but its a start! he would always pull his bum up into the air, so he wouldnt sit (a reflux thing apparently), so its a bit step for us.
Still being spewed on contantly, ho hum, just used to it now...
enjoying the giggles and things now.
hmmm, not sure there is much else on us!
No plans for us this weekend, thinking we might try and see a movie on Sun, as we still have tix here we need to use by sept (6 actually, lol)
oh, having my hair done tomorrow, chopping it all off!:laughing:
thats about as big as it gets here!!:laughing:
Tash you've just reminded me, do any other non-reflux bubs still doing vomits? indies a "happy chucker", I just didn't think it'd still be going at 5 1/2 months. They're not big vomits, just little ones, but quite constant, ie several times a day, I go through at least 10 bibs a day plus numerous shirts and I'm not fussy and don't change her every time she vomits on herself(I always wipe her up though and change her if it's wet through her top, been more than 3 vomits or we're going out):o. OK, that makes me sound really feral but i think you all know what I mean, if I changed her at every vomit we'd go through all her clothes each and every day!
tinytotsmum
21-08-2009, 15:05
eeyor when emily was sick she had one but doesnt want it anymore so she hasnt used one since she was about 8wks old now it only ever gets used if she is very very very over tiredbut it only stays in for a minute till she is asleep adn that is it.
Happymumma
21-08-2009, 15:35
Blah both Jackson and i have been sick with a cold :(
Poor bubba was so stuffy he kept waking up and i had to suction his nose....good thing though he woke up lookin heaps better so hopefully he has been through the worst of it,just gunna keep up the steamy bathroom trick and the vicks on him:yes:
Pippa- i was gunna say by how you described Wills rash that it sounded like excema but you have since been to the docs and had it confirmed....QV wash in his bath and dont use anything else on his skin moisturise with sorbelene 10% Glycrin in it at every nappy change should help.....with the wrap maybe its not such a good idea to wean him from it just yet til you have the rash under control cause he will want to scratch and that will keep him awake ?
When Jackson got too big for the wraps i had we double wrapped or got bigger wraps i managed to get a REALLY big stretcy one from our local baby shop and i also got a big muslin one from our cheapy shop Sams warehouse was great for when we started the sleeping bags i would wrap over the sleeping bag as one of the other ladies suggested that way i knew he wasnt too hot. Or you can use a cot sheet works well too!!
Newme- Jackson is a happy chucker too and we get the odd spew through the day and i go through lots of bibs still too mostly dribble but he does still spit up not as much and it tends to be a little chunkier :(
on the dummy thing im not too fussed just yet but my nephew is 4 and still has his for sleep time and i dont want that for later and the older they get the harder it is...but for now im not too fussed :p would like to not have it but hey he likes it and it keeps him happy so who am i to change that lol
Nothin planned for us this weekend prob just a quiet one lol every weekend is quiet now that my man is away :(
any hoo chat later gunna start dinner,bath,bottle ect ect the relax time :p
trifecta
21-08-2009, 20:08
Oh nice to see a bit of chit chat action here, has been so quite lately. ;)
Jacob has never taken a dummy and stopped been wrapped at about 8w as he never liked that much either and always escaped. I'm lucky that living in Nth Qld it's warm enough for him to sleep in just a suit, I usually put a sheet over him at about 9pm but it's always kicked off when ever I go in for a feed anyway. He has always hated his arms been confined and has always slept with them up above his head. He's never been a chucker either luckly, but is now dribbling like nothing else and loves to wipe it all over me :o
He is now sitting up ALL the time and only plonked over twice today :yelclap: He's so strong. And is always standing and the little look on his face been all tall and strong is priceless. He's so proud of himself. he he so cute. He is also chit chatting in multiple syllables now -num num num is his favourite - I'm trying to get him to change that n to a m : )
He absolutely loves our cat and squeals with delight when ever she is brave enough to get within a metre of him, which surprisingly is getting more often.
Humm think that's about all the updates : )
As for the weekend, DH is working tomorrow then we are going to a friends BBQ to meet her 1wk old little boy. So looking forward to that. That's about it from me.
Hope Jackson and you get better soon HM and everyone has a lovely weekend.
ok chicky dee's,
nned some advice re solids!
So on 2 GP's recommendations, we started J on solids at 4 months to try to help the reflux.
He is now taking 1-2 cubes of food at lunch (so far pear, apple, pumpkin and sweet potato)
He started taking this much about 3 days ago.
before that it was anywhere up to 1 cube.
Yesterday and today, he's reduced his feeds a little. Instead of 3 x 240 and 2 x 160,
he's gone more to 1 x 240, 2 x 180, 2x 160, so has dropped about 100-120ml.
He is 5 months old in 5 days.
How were your bubs going at 5 months with solids??
Did they reduce their feeds much?
Thanks for any advice girls!:)
I actually asked the Dr about this a few weeks ago. L has the same amount of solids as J and is also drinking less milk now. Sometimes she'll only have 150mls instead of 210mls and I was freaking out that she might get dehydrated or something but he Dr said it's very normal, He said as long as she still has wet nappies then don't be too worried. He asked if I'd tried offering her water and I said I had but she won't drink it and he said if she was dehydrated she'd be drinking the water. I hope that made sense, I'm typing off my phone and can't re-read what I just wrote...lol.
Happymumma
22-08-2009, 16:27
Tommo i do have some advice for you bit busy right now will post after i get Jackson down ok .....bout 7ish
Crystal
ps had all intentions of posting but didnt relise the time lol
ticklePink, thankyou! that is exactly what J is doing! I started his feed at 5pm, it's now 5.45, and i've given up at 160ml. by 80ml, he was fighting the bottle:confused:
happymumma, will wait for your reply later tonight:D:yes:
on a good note, last night he went to bed at 9.30, woke at 5.20(:eek: usually somewhere b/w 2-3.30) for a feed, took 120 (usually 160-180) then slept till 8.30:eek::eek:
Best night sleep ever for him!
fingers crossed it will continue!
Happymumma
22-08-2009, 17:23
Ok so im back Tommo not sure if you remember but Jackson did the same thing and i was also told to start on solids early so i was a bit concerned when he started not taking as much milk so i asked my GP and my maternity health nurse and they both said that they will eventually drop a bottle at some stage and now that Jackson is 6 months old ideally he should only be having 4 bottles any way but he is still having 5 lol as he started takin more solids he hasnt kept dropping milk it was just that one little drop at the beginning , they both said the formula of going by there weight and multipling and what not to make sure they are getting enough milk does not really apply as they start solids as a rough guide they should be on about 4 bottle of 240mls so about 950-1000mls per day but Jackson still has 5 bottles round 200mls per bottle he doesnt always have it all so i worked out he is on about 900mls per day but he has about 3 full jars of food a day or roughly 4-5 ice cubes each meal so he is taking in more solids than your little one but he has been having solids for a wee bit longer than you guys.
So i guess what im saying is i was stressing out heaps about it now i have noticed if he wants more he takes more if he doesnt i dont stress at some point they will continue to drop more and more milk as they get older and as long as they eat enough solids it should be fine if i think Jackson hasnt had enough milk i will give him a yogurt tub or something but it sounds perfectly normal to me and as long as he is not screaming in hunger he will take what he needs and be fine oh and also if he is still gaining weight and generally happy i wouldnt fuss, i think we put so much worry on ourselves when they are little to make sure they are drinking enough milk that when you introduce solids we tend to freak out when they drop a little milk.
I know J is a little too young for yogurt but maybe put some milk in his solid food to boost it up a little if you are overly worried.
Usually when they start fighting the bottle and take longer to feed they are not really interested and have had enough and there is no point trying to force it any more cause it just wont happen lol Jackson did the same and i ended up in tears sometimes worried about it i just put him to bed and figured he would take more at the next bottle and when he didnt i did the whole upset thing again i have now learnt he will take what he needs and let me know if he gets hungry judging by J sleep last night i would say he is not fussed lol I think it has something to do with there digestive system becomin more capable of processing things more efficiently so dont stress like i said been there done that and now Jackson is in his own little groove of eating and drinking his milk some days more other days less.
Hope that made sense and helped you a bit but if he does start to not gain weight or anything maybe just chat with your GP oh and i forgot to say when i was having concerns sometimes Jackson was only drinkin 800mls a day and they still told me that was fine.
great crytal:)
yeah, J is 1 month younger than your J, lol.
I might try no food tomoz, see what happens??
how is everyone going with 'routines'
i think J is just about ready to drop another bottle, but i dont think it will be from overnight:rolleyes:
what times is everyone generally doing feeds?
(or when they were around 5 months, if your memory takes you back that far, lol)
Happymumma
22-08-2009, 18:19
Hey again Tommo
Roughly we are still on the same Routine as when he was 5 months old not much has changed really:
Wake at 6:30 sometimes 7 if im lucky :)
Bottle at 7
Breaky solids at bout 8
Back down for sleep 2 hrs after he woke so 8:30-9
Generally sleeps for 1 and a half to 2 hrs
so up at bout 10:30-11
Bottle when he wakes
Lunch solids bout 11-11:30
bed 2hrs after he woke so bout 12:30 -1:00
he will sleep same 1 and a half - 2hrs
Bottle when he wakes bout 2:30ish
back down for nap at 4:00
only sleeps for 45mins or so longer if he hasnt had alot of sleep through the day
Then dinner solids at 5:00
Bath at bout 5:30 then
bottle at 6:00 down by 6:30 at the latest usually earlier if he is buggered lol
then he sleeps through with a dream feed at 10:00 which we are bringing forward slowly to drop used to be 10:30:)
Like i said thats all rough guides lately cause he has been a bit stuffy with the cold he has been catnapping again in the day or only having an hr sleep three times through the day but im pretty sure he is close to dropping a nap very soon im sure the arvo will be first to go sometimes he doesnt want to go down and wont have it at all and is still happy enough so i dont think he is far off dropping one.
With the stopping the food i did that for a week and he did increase the milk but as soon as i started solids again milk went down :confused:
How bout you guys are you on a routine or are you askin cause you wanna start one lol
We're pretty much on the same one as that crystal.
he wakes at 8am, bottle at 8.30
bed at 10-11.30/12ish, bottle at 12.30 + solids
bed at 2 till 3.30/4ish, bottle at 4.30
nap around 6/6.30 for 45 mins. bottle at 8.30/9.00
now going to bed at 9.30 (have gradually bought it back from midnight, :dizzy:)
feed once at night, could be anytime.
then we start the day again:)
so pretty much the same, just an hour later start, and not quite as much sleep at night (fingers crossed he will get to that 11-12 hours soon, lol)
He pretty much fell into the routine on his own, just thought id see if you are 'supposed' to take one of the naps out or something in the next month or two, lol.
maybe il just keep up with the same amount of solids, see how he goes, if he drops a bit, its ok.
eeyorethedonkey21
22-08-2009, 19:19
i get nathan up at 6am, bottle then back to bed by 6.30. off to work get home about 9am get him up, bottle then he usually stays up til about 10.30ish. back down til about 12pm then solids. bottle at 1pm then to bed. i go back to work from 2pm - 4pm. get nathan up at 4.30pm when i get home. has a bottle. solids at about 5 - 5.30pm. bath around 6ish bottle about 6.30 in bed by 7pm.
in terms of bottles nathan has 5x180mls and sometimes he won't drink it all.
how much solids does nathan have? he's much closer to J's age, LOL.
worked it out, josh will prob have about 800ml today, so definatley at the lower end, but not in the red zone.;)
eeyorethedonkey21
22-08-2009, 21:58
nathan takes after his dad and brother....he's a pig. today at lunch he ate three quarters of a heinz tin of pureed apples. for about the last week he's been having lunch and dinner. no breakfast yet.
i usually give him half at lunch and half at dinner that way the tins / jars / sqishy rafferty's meals aren't in the fridge for too long. he seems to like the rafferty's food the best
Happymumma
23-08-2009, 06:45
eeyore- Jackson loves the Raffertys one the best too:D except cause he is on the chunkier stuff now i find they dont have as big a flavour range so he has weetbix for breaky now and i mash a bannana or advocado for him with a fork for lunch and then he has a jelly jar or yogurt dinner he normally has a raffertys :yes:
he is a little piggy too hehe
JLeesmum
23-08-2009, 08:27
hello!
tommo- at that age jyden was having a bottle every 3 hours- 6am-9am-12pm-3pm-6pm. with 1 jar of solids at about 9.30 and another at about 3.30pm (this is all roughly)
he would wake up at 5am every morning (still does) then be awake for 1 1/2 hours, sleep for 40mins, he'd do that all day till 6.30pm then hell go to bed for the night and sleep thru till 5am (we dropped the night feeds at 5mths)
NOW-does the same thing but his bottles r all over the place, and is only having 4 a day (on step 2 now)
has 1 jar of solids for brekkie, brunch, and arvo tea (sometimes only 1 jar a day... i dont push it too much) oh, and he wake sup about 7 times a night for his dummy.. goes too bed at about 7.30pm now but still wakes up wide awake between 4.30-5am (and after 1 1/2 hours awake,he only sleeps 45 mins so i cant go back to sleep!)
and the last week he has had a 2 hour nap around 1ish!:smiliedance: YAY finally! a sleep longer than 45mins!
what time do ur bubs wake up in the morning? im so over it, he could at least wait till the sun:sunshine: comes up!
we need a zombie emoticon:sleeping:
ash
Happymumma
23-08-2009, 09:35
Hey Smashlee Jackson used to wake at 5am about a month ago and he has recently started sleeping til 6:30 and sometimes 7 so i think as they get older they stretch it out a bit longer :fingerscrossed: for ya any way lol
Don't worry smashlee indie gets up at 4:30-5 as well. It's exhausting but I know it won't be forever:)
tinytotsmum
23-08-2009, 15:50
tommo747 - emily only has maybe 4 bottles a day so i just uped the amount of solids em has yoghurt fro breaky with a bottle to jars full of food and a bottle for lunch adn a jar of food for dinner adn a bottle and she wakes up at about 4 in the morning for a bottle and back down till 8 and then it is the yoghurt again. i dont keep track exactly of when the eats and drinks but i know that is pretty much what she does.
tinytotsmum
23-08-2009, 15:54
oh and tommo with the 800 mls he is drinking and you say he is at the lower end is that with using the weight X 150 divided by how many bottles cos i think when they start solids that is right any more it is only when they are total milk.
tinytotsmum
23-08-2009, 15:56
as for food emily LOVES everything any brand and home made but is still not keen on parsnip as long as it doesnt comtian that she will eat it even tried a tuna rica and veg this morning and she LOVED it wasnt a big surprise though lmao
Tommo - Will is offered 4 x 240ml bottles and then a 180ml bottle for his dreamfeed but he doesn't usually finish all of these. We only started solids a few weeks back but he'll take about one ice cube at lunch. He hates rice cereal, has anyone else had this problem? I've tried making it up with formula and just with water but he hates both, even put a little bit of one of those Rafferty's fruit pouches in and he still hated it!
Our routine is roughly, wake at 6:30, bottle at 7, sleep at 9, he'll usually only sleep for 45mins in the cot so we go out or go for a walk. Bottle at 11, solids at 12, sleep at 1, bottle at 3, sleep somewhere between 4 and 4:30. Bottle at 6:15 and bed by 7pm. He then has a dreamfeed at 10:30pm.
Crystal - I've been using the QV wash for him which seems to help a bit. The cream I've been using on his face has definitely improved his appearance but I am concerned that when we stop using it, which will be tomorrow, that it will just come back. Will have a chat to the dr about it on Tuesday. His nappy rash is still pretty bad despite the new cream, I feel so sorry for him, it doesn't appear to bother him too much but his little bottom looks so red and sore. :(
Forgot to say NewMe, W is a happy chucker as well, and we would easily go through 10 bibs a day as well as change of clothes for him and me. I know exactly what you mean about not changing every time they chuck though!! I can't wait until he improves at this, it makes no difference if he's laying down, sitting upright and even bouncing in his jumperoo after his food!! The result is always the same :barf:
ManekiNeko
23-08-2009, 16:50
Hey tommo at this stage milk is the most important thing they should be having. So if he is on the lower end of the intake and reducing even more with solids maybe try a little less. At this stage solids are supposed be secondary to milk and more taste based to get them used to different things up til 12 months. I only just started Austin at 6 months and give him a little bit of organic rice cereal each day. Becasue of thereflux I'd be careful with lumpy texture atm because there is a risk they may choke on it. Hope that helps.
Also here is a really great link from the raising children website.
http://raisingchildren.net.au/articles/when_to_introduce_solids.html/context/14
this stage milk is the most important thing they should be having. So if he is on the lower end of the intake and reducing even more with solids maybe try a little less. At this stage solids are supposed be secondary to milk and more taste based to get them used to different things up til 12 months.
I'd be careful with lumpy texture atm because there is a risk they may choke on it. Hope that helps.
:iagree::iagree::iagree::iagree:
ManekiNeko
23-08-2009, 17:22
Oh I just wanto add too don't share your babies spoon or anything from mouth to mouth. This is because babies don't have the bacteria that adults do they can cause decay and this can spread it to the babies mouth.
Happymumma
23-08-2009, 17:40
hey Pippa with the cream they gave you is it sigmacort??? we had that prob we could only use the cream we had for a little bit think it was 7 days or something and it would clear up really well then we had to stop it for 4 days and as soon as we did that it came back worse:no: i asked my doctor bout it she said i musnt use it all the time cause its steroid based and can thin there skin and cause sensitivity :no:......So she gave us a non steroid based one called Elidel it is FANTASTIC i can use it all the time and i only have to put it on at the first sign of a flare and he will wake up in the morning and its all gone!!! The only down side is its expensive bout $35 bucks for a tiny 15g tube but well worth it!!! so maybe ask your doc bout that one???
very important though when you are using these creams you will notice it dries there skin a fair bit so use the sorbelene to help with that cause if it stays dry thats when the flare ups become worse:no:
hope your doc can help cause we went crazy everytime we stopped the cream it came back and for 4 days there was nothing we could do to help the little bunny:(
good luck with it though let me know ;)
I give him the solids at lunch, after is full bottle, and it is homemade puree, it has only been to taste, and he started 'eating' it about 2 weeks ago, i offered a smidge more in the last few days (still the same, pear/apple/pumpkin or sweet potato, so basics), and noticed him taking less milk.
but...
I think what I'm actually noticing is him wanting to go back down to 4 bottles per day. today i let him lead the way, wanted a feed at 5.30am, 11 am, 4pm and assume he will want one 8-9pm. then go through to the morning one?? with any luck anyway.
Thanks girls for the great advice as always,
mumma2ajem
23-08-2009, 20:01
heya girls how is everyone going??
well we are all good here we had jems naming day on saturday and it went off great weather was great and everyone had a great time especially jem she had all our family and friends here just for her people travelled from new zealand,darwin, up north nsw and south nsw we had about 70 people here by the end of it all for her she is a very special little girl:) she got lots of very nice presents including keepsakes( like frames trinket boxes etc) lots of jewellery ( bracelets,brooches and earings) and some money for her bank account...
well i seen some of u ladies were talkign about routines well me and jem dont have a routine and it works for us:yes: she eats when she wants sleeps when she wants( which i cant complains he has about 2x 2.5 hr sleeps int he day and sleeps 12 hrs at night )
and regarding solids jem was out in solids early by advice from a paed and she has 3 meals a day weetbix for brekky, veggies for lunch and fruit for dinner ( whihc i make all the fruit and vegies myself) and she has between 3-5 bottles a day depends what she wants ..
well i am so proud of my lil girl she is sitting up on her own nd she is getting onto her hands and knees although she cant go anywhere yet but she has the start of it down pat so i dare say it wun be too long until she cralws aww she is growing up to fast although my dp walked at 10 months old and me at 10.5 motnhs so maybe shell be an early walker aswell
well hope all bubs and mums are doing well
take care xoxo:flowerz:
tinytotsmum
23-08-2009, 21:52
Happymumma & Pippa G - with all this talk is it about nappy rash emily came up with blisters on her bum which after putting the anti fungal cream on for a week it would go for a day and then come back worse than last time even thought i continued the use found out it is just a worse form of nappy rash and just to go adn buy the nappy cream with the highest amount of zinc in it adn it knock it back hers has finally gone adn hasnt come back so if it is bum cream hapy mumma was talking about worth giving a go.
and all the mums that have reflux baby would be worth getting the same as reflux babies can have a higher acidity in there urine and poos which can slightly burn there skin. that was why ems was so bad and blistered horribly was because her body produces to much adn was jsut burning her skin.
as for the feeding em is doing fine with how much she eats and she has never been the one to follow suit she is happy and very healthy so i will just keep going with how she is feeding i am not that worried about how much solids she eats or how much milk. i make sure she has at least 5 bottles a day but i dont care when and i have been told she is developing fine i dont see a reason to stress about all these guidelines for feeding etc as all it does is stress us out and makes unnecisary anxiety when these times should be fun. we have no routine and she sleeps fine have no routine for eating and she eats fine so WHY STRESS.
sorry if my comments upset anyone but there are so many mums here in perth i know that spend all there time worrying that there child is eating this and eating that and pooping at 10 and if it is 10:30 there is something wrong and along with that the child has no fun eating. enjoy the time enjoy the mess.
ManekiNeko
24-08-2009, 10:36
I am not at all stressed about Austin he sleeps and eats whenever he needs too and I do enjoy him being a baby. He has many years ahead of him to enjoy adult foods so for now I am just letting him be what he is which is a baby and not rush into things that he doesn't really need.
Tinytots I wasn't upset by you at all. These days many children have food allergies and intolorances so it's better to air on the side of caution. Sure your child might not but some ppls do that's why guidelines are there. Also the foods you or I may eat have too much sodium or other additives that are not great for adults let alone babies that's why it's important to avoid them and stick to the basics as their digestive systems are also much more fragile than an adults.
Both my children have had food issues so that is why I am careful about what I feed them. Reflux is often a secondary issue caused by food intolorances so in a child with reflux you need to be careful about what you feed them and monitor the effects. My sons reflux was secondary because he is intolorant to milk and soy protein which is actually pretty common. There is alot af nasty stuff in food today that can adversly affect chidlren. For my children the constipation was the first sign they were not tolorating foods given to them and over time if I kept giving it to them it would do alot of damage to their bowels.
Iam glad em is doing well you guys seem happy and that's the main thing. Also if your child is on reflux medication their should be no high acidity in their urine or faeces. This burning can be atributed if they are having problems breaking down sugars. This was one of the signs of my sons intolorance and a simple stool test showed he was haveing digestive problems from the milk protein.
I have been lurking around since we all fell pregnant but have only just signed up today. Terrible I know!!!
I have a little boy Harry who was born on the 9th March - I love reading all your posts about what all the bubs are up to and you all have given me plenty of help and advice with knowing it!!
Anyway will start to post now that I am signed up instead of just reading along.
Happymumma
24-08-2009, 14:05
Ok so i missed a few posts and just caught up do we have some new ppl???
Razzie hi:wave:
Tracyselena im sure i vaguely remember you but you dont pop in much do u?:wave:
Calden dont know you either but hi
So not sure if i understood what was going on did some ones bub get an infection or something ????? just in regards to Tracyselenas comment on the spoons???? im lost:confused:
Tiny tots hey we were talking bout eczema cream:p
mmmmm all this talk bout solids and stuff i think everyone has to do things there own way and what they feel is best for THERE bubs sure there are guidelines and advice out there but at the end of the day i dont think any one should judge how other ppl do things it may work for them!!!
Before all this advice and guidelines were there are parents and there parents parents and women in African tribes and Aboriginal tribes raised children alot differently to how we do now and alot of them played ate and slept in dirt and most defin did not have sterilisers my personal opinion is they survived and we all survived and the amount of allergies and what not was very rarely heard of back then makes me wonder why its so popular now??? just a thought regardless of all that like i said advice can be given and taken but at the end of the day you are the one raising your child do what you feel is best for there well being :yes:
And when you need that extra reassurance or friendly advice thats what we are all on here for right!
Sorry just felt like i had to say something prob took the conversation out of context but it felt like it was a little judgemental ......feel free to tell me i took it wrong if you need to :o
ManekiNeko
24-08-2009, 16:00
I used to post regularly when the due in march thread began but now I don't get alot of time to post here seeing as Austin is here. I do how ever read it and speak to alot of the ladies on facebook anyway which is why I don't really post in here.
I wasn't judging anyone with what I was saying I was trying to put correct and apropriate advice out there. Sure they are your children and if you want to go against guidelines that's none of my business but then giving other ppl misinformed advice is another thing. If you look at the evidence on the examples you used such as the past and other cultures you would actually see an increase in infant mortality so that's probably why things are done different. Also current research shows a dramatic rise in allergies and intolorances in children to which at the moment they have no explanation.
I never once singled anyone out I just merely stated my advice on the topic of food and someone came out and expressed they felt it was directed at them when I never mentioned them at all. I only brought them up after they expressed they felt it was about them. I'm sorry you thought I was being judgemental but If I fed my son some of the things advised here he would be very sick.
i think some things may have been taken out of context;):shakehands:
TracySelena does have alot of knowledge on solids, ect, as both of her kids have had reflux, and food intolerances, she still see's a pead, so does have very up to date info:)
There are quite a few bubs in the march section that have had reflux, ect, and reading through the posts, it does make it seem 'normal' that a 5.5 month old is having more than just the basics.
This could be quite confusing for someone who isn't sure on what, when, how.
Realistically, most bubs that start on solids at 4 months, do so on doc/pead recommendation.
Up untill 6 months, I would be very careful of introdcing too many foods, as thw WHO recommendation is still 6 months for starting solids,
constipation, stomach pain, more spewing, all signs that bub isn't handling the solids so well.
The rule still applies, new food, wait 4 days till the next.:)
A great site is wholesomebabyfood. com, has heaps of info of what is recommended for each age, risks of different foods, and so on:)
Everyone is doing the best they know how for their bubs, I think TS just wanted to clarify some of the info out there.
Happymumma
24-08-2009, 17:50
Ok so it wasn’t meant to be judgmental that’s fine and I do appreciate you wanting to give correct and appropriate advice, but im still a little confused as to what you think was given as inappropriate or incorrect advice?? I don’t think anyone said “you should feed your child this” I think a question was asked in regards to how everyone’s LO’s are going with solids and milk intake? And in response various ppl responded on how there LO’s were eating and what they were eating and how much milk they were taking….
TS you sound like you are very knowledgeable in the topic of foods and intolerances and I really do agree with what you have said but on the next breath not every baby is the same and I know recent research has done a lot to decrease infant mortality in this decade but a lot of infant mortality was linked to inadequate medical care or medical advances not to mention vaccinations and a lot of the things we have now that they didn’t have back then, food intolerances were not heard of and babies often died from LBW due to lack of maternal care only recently have they actually declined substantially because of research done into causes of SIDS and recommendations of lying baby on there back to sleep, something like 50% decrease between 1991-1997 because of this alone! Im not saying to go against ALL the guidelines, im just saying that not every baby FITS the mold I was advised on 2 different ped advice to start solids early at 4 months as I know a lot of other mums on here were also, I know my child is eating a lot more things than most at his age but I always give him age appropriate food and discuss any concerns I have with my GP and my maternal health nurse. He is thriving and happy and has never been constipated or had any bowel problems or allergies or reactions to the food I have given him I started slow with every new taste with the 4 day rule and have never had a problem I know some babies do have issues and appreciate that if you fed your child what im feeding mine then he would be sick but it doesn’t mean that all babies will have that reaction.
Im sure I took the initial conversation out of context and I do apologies for that and you have given some great advice on the reflux bub issues ,but I don’t agree that ANYONE on this forum has given incorrect or misinformed advice I think we have all just shared our experiences and put it out there incase it helps someone in the same position.
And im a bit touchy I will admit on the whole “Guidelines” topic, im going against the guidelines yes I will admit that but it was never my intention Guidelines state vaginal birth is the best option for baby…….I had to have a c-section Guidelines state to breast feed til the age of at least 12 months…..I couldn’t as my milk dried up Guidelines say to start solids at 6 Months…..my child was not satisfied enough with 6x250ml bottles and was not happy started solids and he is a happier baby and more satisfied, and the whole time I have copped flak from everyone because of all these things and the bub hub was the one place I thought I could say things without being judged.
Any way everyone is prob thinking I WAY over reacted about this and I prob did I guess it just touched a nerve.
Maybe I need to give up on Bub Hub as well. Don’t want to give any one any wrong advice.:(
TS no hard feeling :shakehands: just had to have a vent i guess.
ManekiNeko
24-08-2009, 19:23
Ok I am trying my hardest to be diplomatic but I feel I need to adress the things you are saying.
If you do not think anyone has given advice you only have to go through this and re read some of this threads posts. I could be really nasty and go back and quote specific things but I am not going to delibritly single someone out. I have not just come in and read this I have been reading this for months and biting my tongue and enough is enough already.
Trying to imply I am condradicting myself by saying every baby is different is completely misreading and taking my words out of context. Every baby is different yes that's why caution should be taken. Too much or two many of certain foods can react with a baby once it is in their it is in. So if straight off the bat it's given in large quantities or various things all at once it is going to be far more detrimental than a little to start with and isolating it to see the reaction. I feel I have to add this is not a statement personally directed at your actions, it is a generalised statement because you appear to be taking my words personally which they are not intended on my original posts.
Ok so you also brought up the point of your child not being satisfied at an earlier age and you started feeding him at 4 months. That is still reccomended by some doctors and health professionals I agree. So you are following a guideline there even though you say you went against it. Feeding a child at 2 and half months is definately not in line with any reccomendations and that is what I am reffering to mainly these extreme disregards for guidlines. Also if a baby is not satisfied with milk surely it can be satisfied by basic foods there really is no need to give some of the foods mentioned in this thread especially when they contain additives like sodium that aren't good for adults let alone babies. That is a genral overview not saying you give your baby those things just an explantion for what I am getting at.
As for you statistical information justifying why infant mortality rates are higher that really contradicts itself. There are no controlled studies on that so you can't really say why it is or it isn't but I used the infant mortality as an example because you were implying nothing is wrong with those cultures who do this that or the other. I was merely explaining that they aren't doing as well as us I never said it was because of the food they ate. Statistical data definately shows that but to say what is the difinitive root is not plausible in an uncontrolled situation.
As for my son doctors told me to start him on solids at 4 months aswell even though he was still having major issues. At that stage he had not been diagnosed with intolrances to dairy and soy protein and was already suffering from the milk he was drinking adding other intolorant foods on top at doctors advice would have only exacerbated the issue. Postponing solids to find out the problem actually would have done no harm as apposed to starting it becasue you can always add things in later. Like you keep saying every child is different so people need to keep this in mind when they are giving advice like replacing inadequate intake of milk with soilds.My son had an inadequate intake but he was still thriving so there was really no reason to add extra things in. If a child is failing to thrive that is a completely different story.
This only became a personal issue when you stated that's how you felt it was when it really never was. I never initially singled anyone out until they singled themselves out. I will accept your:shakehands: but in no way will I apologise for what I said becasue nothing I said was with intent or mallace. I never said it to judge anyone or single them out I only gave my opionion and advice. You are the one that singled me out so that is what I am adressing. Don't give up bh on my behalf because I never initially had been directing anything at you. Passive agressive statements are also not going to make me feel guilty for what I said because it's the truth and I wouldn't be the only one who thought the things I had previously said.
That is all I am not going to come back into this thread and discuss this further because I have stated my point many times already. Me speaking further on this issue doesn't serve any purpose for anyone. If my words are stil not understandble after that there is not alot else I can say. I wish you nothing but good and I don't want to argue further.
Happymumma
24-08-2009, 20:04
Feel free not to discuss any further thats fine i wont be but i know you will still be reading along so three things before i leave
A: I never singled you out
B: I never said it was personal
c: I never asked for an apology
Advice is fine Judgement is not
If you had a problem with the thread all along why bother reading and then all of a sudden throwing in comments to make ppl feel like they are doing less than a satisfactory job raising there children i know you didnt single any one out but its kinda obvious you had a point to make.
Sorry to all the other ladies on this thread for hijacking your conversation in the last couple of posts will love ya and leave ya to carry on
kimberlee
24-08-2009, 21:08
Hello ladies - been ages since I've posted - we've had so much go on too.
We rented our house out on the mountain and have moved to the city to be closer to my husbands new job - saves him about 4 hours a day in commuting. It is proving to be a huge adjustment for my oldest but hopefully she'll feel better soon.
I start working tomorrow - supposed to be doing some work now hence I am already procrastinating... but will be nice to be a bit more mentally stimulated - I just have to get back in the swing of things. I have an overseas business trip in about a month and have gotten a trainer to help me out with shedding some of these pregnancy pounds..
oh and we're becoming australians next week - very exciting - means another new passport (I just got a new one a few months ago as mine was expiring and now another chance at a better passport photo! it can only be better actually..)
belle had her 6 months photos done last week - they look fantastic - she still looks like one of those japanese cartoons - (her eyes are just huge) and is developing a bit slower than her big sister (she was crawling at 6 months and walking at 8 months) but she is on the verge of crawling and was taken out 4 weeks early so maybe she is on the same track anyways... time will tell.
well back to it - hope everyone and their little ones are doing well - lots of new faces here but I haven't been on in ages so maybe not so new...
kimberlee
24-08-2009, 21:13
Hello ladies - been ages since I've posted - we've had so much go on too.
We rented our house out on the mountain and have moved to the city to be closer to my husbands new job - saves him about 4 hours a day in commuting. It is proving to be a huge adjustment for my oldest but hopefully she'll feel better soon.
I start working tomorrow - supposed to be doing some work now hence I am already procrastinating... but will be nice to be a bit more mentally stimulated - I just have to get back in the swing of things. I have an overseas business trip in about a month and have gotten a trainer to help me out with shedding some of these pregnancy pounds..
oh and we're becoming australians next week - very exciting - means another new passport (I just got a new one a few months ago as mine was expiring and now another chance at a better passport photo! it can only be better actually..)
belle had her 6 months photos done last week - they look fantastic - she still looks like one of those japanese cartoons - (her eyes are just huge) and is developing a bit slower than her big sister (she was crawling at 6 months and walking at 8 months) but she is on the verge of crawling and was taken out 4 weeks early so maybe she is on the same track anyways... time will tell.
well back to it - hope everyone and their little ones are doing well - lots of new faces here but I haven't been on in ages so maybe not so new...
MissMetal
24-08-2009, 21:20
HELLO :wave::wave::wave:
yes its been a while.... hmmmm about 6 months infact since i last posted in the march thread lol.
I actually didnt even know this section existed :laughing:
I must have missed out on sooooooooooooo much ;)
hope everyone & their bubbas are fantastic :smiliedance:
Renee & Hunter xx
ManekiNeko
24-08-2009, 21:59
O hai kimberlee :wave: Are you still going to Boston then? I love seeing photos of Zoe and Belle on facebook they are so gorgeous! I couldn't beleive it when I saw that one of bell almost crawling!
Hey Renee like I said srs didn't know you hadn't seen this thread. For some reason I really though I had seen you post in here once. How's Hunter going? Are they putting you in touch with a speechy?
tinytotsmum
24-08-2009, 23:55
hey trayselena - emily isnt on the reflux meds anymore but she still suffers from the pyloric stenosis adn she seems to have a higher level of stomach acid to normal so as for that we will have to stay on reflux formula for a couple of years hopefully less. as for the solids i dont give her much extravagent just everynow and then at lunch i chuck something new in i have worked out 2 small tubs of yoghurt gives her big belly ache and the runs but ne she handles fine but yes every baby is different and everyone should be careful so i totally agree.
happy mumma - you will know your child better than anyone adn that was exactly the way emily was i managed to have her vaginally but it was the most horrible thing for both of us adn i couldnt breast feed past 2 weeks after birth we are just trying to doo the best we know how and i am sure if you were really worried you would go to a doctor. emily started solids at 3 adn a half months so we are way off from where most bubs would be right now like with the yoghurt normally babies arent meant to be on that till 8 month + but cos em started solids 3 months early i have been informed she can go onto other things 3 months earlier than normally stated ming you i only stick to 1 month. oh and im with you guidelines are based on the average so may not suit your child and most the time we dont have a choice em will be on relux formula for the next 2 years and there is nothing i can do as long as your child is happy adn healthy and you are to... its all good. i dont think you have over reacted. i got grumpy yesterday about some posts on here so i just walked away for a bit.
anywho i think we all need to back away from the solids talk every baby is diferent so all that is given here is our opinion and what we might do but only you know the whole story and your child so if you are a bit iffy see a doctor or midwife and ask a professional.
anyways emily is growing great guns and my dad comes up tommorow sooo yay was going to talk more about boo but am really tired so am just going to go to bed but i hope everyone is ok and healthy.
chat soon
kimberlee
25-08-2009, 06:09
hey tracyselena - that is one cute puppy! and Ruby's birthday party looked like a huge success - love the facebook pics.
Yes Belle is very determined with the crawling but has no interest at all in sitting - everytime you put her in a sitting position she just looks back and forth and tries to stand up - she won't sit still long enough to realize that sitting might be pretty cool... oh well.
I ended up getting a contract to work remotely for the job in Boston when I turned down the job - I am sooo happy - really fun group of people doing some great work. It also looks like I'll have another position here for a couple days a week that I would actually show up to work for - it's been a couple years since I did that - I'm very used to working in my pjs all day but it probably would be good to have some actual human interaction in my day...
ManekiNeko
25-08-2009, 06:57
hey trayselena - emily isnt on the reflux meds anymore but she still suffers from the pyloric stenosis adn she seems to have a higher level of stomach acid to normal so as for that we will have to stay on reflux formula for a couple of years hopefully less. as for the solids i dont give her much extravagent just everynow and then at lunch i chuck something new in i have worked out 2 small tubs of yoghurt gives her big belly ache and the runs but ne she handles fine but yes every baby is different and everyone should be careful so i totally agree.
chat soon
Thanks Tiffany I really did not mean to offend you in any way and my original posts weren't directed at you personaly so I'm glad you realised it was a generalisation. It is true they are all different and I hope that she stays doing well because it sounds like you know her best. I don't think anyone here is a bad parent and the one thing I think we all can agree on is we love our children very much and we do the things we do because of that. I know you and Em have had a prety tough time and I'm glad that you are handling things so well :hugs:
That sounds awesome Kimberlee. I know vaguely what your field is but what work do you do specifically because it sounds very exciting?
TS I see where you are coming from. I have been reading along for a while amazed at how much variety some of the babies are already eating. I think also having a child already (when the guidelines did state to wait until 6 mths to start solids) has made me very hesitant to give Ella too much. She has been eating some rice cereal with a little bit of apple in it for about 3 weeks - one meal per day only. I am thinking of starting her on some veggies this week as she is nearly 6 mths old now. To be honest I am happy to introduce solids slowly (less work for me! :laughing:)
Parenting is a touchy subject so we should all try to accept that we have different opinions and methods and that's that!
We had Ella's christening on the weekend. It went really well. I am still tired but at least Michael is at kindy today so I have a chance to get my house in some kind of order. I also started toilet training him yesterday - what a disaster. HE has been using the potty for a while but now I am not putting nappied on and we mean business! We went through 7 pairs of undies / training pants!
Nomadic - I know I haven't been posting on here but I have been reading along since last year when we all fell pregnant - :hugs: big hugs to you and your family - I hope it all sorts out really soon and that you can get back to enjoying life and your family
This forum I think is an escape for many mums including me and I hope it goes back to everyones exciting bits and news on their bubs and lives.
As for me H is a great baby - we do have our bad days but most of days he is a happy little boy who brings me many belly laughs especially when he is in the bath - I don't think I have laughed as hard as tonight - his legs just don't stop SPLASHING!!! :)
helllllllllllllllllllooooooooooooooooooo
well, on a new note,
josh slept through the night!! (night before last)!:smiliedance:
So wasn't the same last night, but, it is showing promise!!!
He is 5 months old tomorrow, wow, when did that happen? Surely he is getting teeth, he is irritable, and oh my, the drool and the chewing!
me, got all my hair chopped off! well, to my shoulders, was very long, decided enough was enough, and off it went! much better.
my latest addiction? Fluffy mail!! wowser, so i'm a full time clothy now, and lovin it! lol, this is from the girl that spat her drink out when my freind asked if i was doing cloth whilst pregnant. lol
they look SO cute! should have more tomorrow, an embroided one with a dragon, cool.
sometimes of late, i've felt like maybe it's time for me to move on from the hub.
the girls here have been so much help during such a tough transition, don't know what i would have done without all of the help!!!!
so i am still here, just thinking maybe i'll head into the sidelines for a while.
nomadic, im sorry things are so sh!tty at the moment:hugs::hugs: i hadn't heard any more from you about the possible:bfp:, sorry it didnt work out the way you wanted, hopefully soon.
kimberlee, my gosh, i cant beleive dd2 is so close to crawling! she isnt lagging behind at all! Josh just crawls round on his back, lol, has no interest in craling on belly.
saving 4 hours in communting would be a plus!!
followtheyellowbrickroad, stop changing your bl00dy name! i cant keep up!!! lol
hello TS, TT, HM, MKS, KAR, TEE, CD, how many more acronyms can i come up with? lol
hope everyone is doing well, we're trying not to get blown away down here in cold Vic, so lets hope that we dont have any trees fall on the house, ect!
Just Add Water
26-08-2009, 19:46
Razzie / Tommo - thanks.
Just so people don't think they're mad I had two posts here that I have since deleted.
Ciao.
What's going on here??? Has everyone been scared off or something?????????????
A new month is dawning;) I thought we could leave august behind and start afresh, new thread already created:)
i thought who is this Me???
;)
wheres the link, oh my, now i have to go looking, will be back shortly:p
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=4029766&posted=1#post4029766
heres the link to 'silly september'