View Full Version : Reassurance needed
:o I am embarassed to admit this, but I need some reassurance that it has happened to others.....my 3 month old DD had a fall from the change table yesterday.
She has been checked out and she is all good this morning, so I don't really need to worry but I can't help but feel like a horrible, neglectful mother :gloomy:! (I had her strapped on, but she wriggled under the strap and off the end).
I am sure it has had more of an effect on me than her - even the doctor was asking if I was OK!!!
I still feel sick when I think about it.
My son almost came off at around that age & I switched to changing him on the floor from that moment on.
I have however had him fall off the bed when cosleeping (when hes's being extra grumpy) so I try to keep him in the cot whenever I can.
It's a horrible feeling when they fall. My mum had my brother fall off the kitchen bench when he was a bub so I reckon falls are more common than you think.
nothanksbye
30-07-2009, 09:38
:o I am embarassed to admit this, but I need some reassurance that it has happened to others.....my 3 month old DD had a fall from the change table yesterday.
She has been checked out and she is all good this morning, so I don't really need to worry but I can't help but feel like a horrible, neglectful mother :gloomy:! (I had her strapped on, but she wriggled under the strap and off the end).
I am sure it has had more of an effect on me than her - even the doctor was asking if I was OK!!!
I still feel sick when I think about it.
ohh your poor thing.:hugs::hugs::hugs:
You are not a bad mum.
The first accident is always so ful of guilt.
You did what any mum would do.
I hope you feel ok soon.
SmileyBJ
30-07-2009, 09:40
Ds fell off my bed one day. I use to lay him in the very middle after i'd had a shower, he still wasn't even moving, rolling or wriggling until obviously the day he fell off :(
Worst feeling in the world isn't it?!
My DD crawled out of bed while I was asleep, and fell on the floor twice before 9 months.
I don't think I know anyone who hasn't had something like this happen at least once with every baby.
Purplebird
30-07-2009, 09:50
Oh it's a terrible feeling :hugs: DD fell off the bed twice in the space of a month when she was less than 6 months old. I bet we've all done it.
:) Thanks for the support - much appreciated
I tipped DS out of his rocker from about hip height trying to cut corners and move it without taking him out first.
He fell and hit his head on the rug, was only about 10 cms from the tiles :no:
I felt absolutely terrible. Cried more than he did.
JabberJaw
30-07-2009, 10:14
:hugs: I am sure its happened to many of us.
I have told this story before ..... but when i had my first DD she fell off the bed, me being a young first time mum called the ambulance, they came...bub was fine...me on the other hand ,,,well i was treated by the ambo's because i was having a massive panic attack!!! Very embarrassing, but we are all fine, and 12 years on my daughter has no lasting effects, or damage from the fall, but my heart still races when i think of it.
LittleBug'sMum
30-07-2009, 10:47
You've just given me a big wake up call, my DS is almost 3 months, and showing no signs of rolling yet. I must start strapping him in when he's on the change table!!!
Sounds like it happens to everyone at some stage, but I understand that you would be feeling horrible :hugs:.
Chickadee
30-07-2009, 11:16
Here's an older thread with other accidents (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=5390)that BubHub parents have experienced. It happens to nearly all of us.
NonnyMouse
30-07-2009, 13:38
LOL.... if only you knew how many times DD was *almost* badly hurt due to me or DX...
One time I put her in the stroller and before strapping her in I saw a horse on the other side of the road and said "Look! A Horse!". Of course she swung round to look at it, fell face first out of the stroller onto hard bare dirt.
Another time, DX was bathing her and turned her over to wash her back. It was only when I walked past a few moments later that I saw he had her face submerged without realising!
Another time we were playing "aeroplanes" by swooping her around the room and the cat decided to take a swipe at the low flying bubs and only just missed scratching her eye out.
Another time we put her to sleep beside the bed on a small portable baby mattress/bed on the floor because we were out of town and didn't have a cot... we woke up in the night to check on her and she was almost frozen! We hadn't yet realised how much heat babies lose and the floor was of course the coldest place to be at night in a NZ winter in the deep south! LOL
Those are just a few examples! I could give you heaps more! LOL
So, don't feel too bad... parenting is as much trial by fire for the kids, as it is for mums and dads.
mumma2ajem
30-07-2009, 13:49
pheww thank god i am not the only one i felt terrible for what happened to dd the other day
i was at the clotheslineand i had put her in her stroller ( it is a steelcraft holiday umbrella type stroller i use purely for around the house) took her to the backyard and started to hang washing when she started to get whiney so i moved her closer to the line where she could see me better well i have grabbed the line and spun it ( as i needed a new part of the line) and one of the jumperws on the line got caught on the handle and yanked the stroller over onto the concrete thank god i always strap her into her pram or it would have been a lot worse ( as i know ppl who dun for a short time while hanging washing etc) i picked her up and i was so upset i couldnt unbuckle the straps so i ended up just ripping the strap off the pram to get her out and whne i got her out the first thing she did was laugh at me the lil bugger i was more upset then her i cried for a long time and she didnt she just kept looking at me n laughed... so cause i wrecked the old stroller ( which i only bought 3 weeks ago for like $150) i got a new one:) cause dp wanted to cheer me up but i have never been so scared in my life
I had my son in the bouncer and learnt that day that he was really too big for it. He sat up,and tipped the whole thing over, face-planting himself into the tile floor.
Every child has accidents, and we all beat ourselves up over them, but they're inevitable.
EmmasMummy
30-07-2009, 14:37
Ahhh Mothers Guilt is the worst ....I used to put DD on my bed while I got dressed in front on the mirror right beside the bed.... she was playing around and then sat up on the edge and fell back on to the floor... I think I cried more then her... I felt so horrible.
And any other time she gets hurt I am the same... I can be so grumpy at her for not doing as she is told and getting into things she not suppose to them get hurt falling over or something and I feel so bad for being cranky at her and for her getting hurt.
Think it happens to everyone
Boobycino
30-07-2009, 15:06
I was talking on the phone to my mum and forgot to strap Jasper into his pram as we were getting ready to leave the house and as I adjusted the seat back I pushed him forwards and he toppled out head first and landed on his back - doing a complete flip.
He was about 4 months old and it was the first time he'd ever bumped his head or anything and he only cried for a couple of minutes, but my guilt stayed with me for days and days!
It was only a week later that I even confessed my mistake to DP!
Seacretsquirrel
30-07-2009, 15:16
:oYep Had a nasty fall in this house too :o- I popped DS on the front seat of our 4x4 so I could adjust the straps on his carseat and he flipped out and onto the concrete - I think he must have done a complete flip and landed on his bum and then fallen backwards as there was not a scratch on him no bruises or anything! I went straight up to emergency and they checked him over and other than the mild heart attack it gave me all was okay!
It was a big wake up call though:yes: