View Full Version : mums with 3 or more

mumma_jessy
29-06-2006, 13:48
I have always wanted 3 kids, we currently have 2 and my man is not convinced that he wants another one. He thinks that 3 is just too expensive, but i dunno, is 3 really that much more expensive than 2?

He thinks we will nedd a new car(we have a station wagon) & a new house (we have a 3 bedroom at the moment). I don't think it's a problem for kids to share a room, i did when i was younger and i LOVED it, we had so much fun!

I really don't think i'm gonna win this battle but i'm gonna try. It's not that my two aren't enough, i just always wanted 3, it's the end of a dream if i don't get the last one:crying:

How did you handle going from 2 to 3? My mum had 3 and said going from 1 to 2 was harder for her, but once you have 2 it's not really any harder if you have more? Is it really that much more expensive when you already have 2?

Thanx ladies, i await your replies!!!

Roopee
29-06-2006, 13:58
Hi, i currently have 3 and am pregnant with my 4th! (big surprise)

I found the jump from 2 to 3 no different, you've already learnt how to juggle your time, amongst other things.

We still drive a sedan, which now obviously has to be traded to a bigger car but if i wasnt preggers now, we would have kept the sedan. There was enough room in it for the 5 of us.

My oldest two, both boys 5 and 3, share a room and they love it. We actually use seperating them as a punishment, they love to lay there and chat and play. Our house is 4 bedrooms but we kept the study as a study (gotta go now of course) and they chose to share.
Financially it doesnt make too much differece yet-im sure that will be a different story when they get older.

My 3rd was a bit of a surprise, we were only ever going to have 2 but now we have nearly 4 and we wouldnt have it any other way.

Good Luck:D

29-06-2006, 13:58
It wasn't too difficult for us.
I have always thought it was more challenging just having one child.
I enjoy chaos and I love my children so much so I am so grateful that I have my kids.
BTW I want 5!

mum23girls
29-06-2006, 15:05
As said before, it is a bigger jump going from 1 to 2, after that it is a breeze!!!

As a family of two adults and three kids - we live quite comfortably in a three bedroom house - doesn't even have a rumpus or "activities room":eek: My two elder girls share a bedroom and the baby has the other one (with the toys!)

I drive a Toyota Corolla - I can fit 3 seats (1xbaby 1xhighback booster and 1xno back booster) as Dh has a ute, that is our "family car"

Can't comment on food though, no. 3 hasn't started eating yet.

The source of babies amusement is watching her two older sisters!! There is never a dull moment - at least one of them is trying to make baby laugh all the time!!

Gor For IT!!!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Sandra/Paul
29-06-2006, 15:13
Hi, Ive got 3 foster children and I have had them since they were little (3months, 1 year and 2 years). They are now 12, 13 and soon to be 11. We started off with a station wagon and a sedan and then went to a station wagon and a torago - only to stop the fighting with them sitting next to each other.

I cant really comment of the expense too much with them growing up but now as a family of 5 with growing children and pets our weekly shopping bill is usually around the $200 mark. Thats with some little luxuries of course, but not every week though.

We are at the moment trying for one of our own so that will make us a family of 6 :smiliedance:

Hope that helps a little

Cinta
29-06-2006, 15:20
DF and I plan to have three kids. As someone else said, I think it would be harder to go from 1 to 2 rather then 2 to 3.

If you really want another child, then keep trying to talk him into it! You will only regret it later on in life if you don't :)

Good luck persuading him!! ;)

FourAngelKisses
29-06-2006, 15:56
When we went from 2 to 3, we had to get a bigger car.......but that was because we had a 3 door Hyundai Excel, lol. We now have a magna station agon, so no, you definately wont need a new car (unless it is a sigma stationwagon that you have, lol).
As for the house, the one you have will be fine. We are in a 3 bedroom place and I have the older 2 sharing and Matthew is in by himself. I tried to put him in with Jacob, but when Jacob goes to bed, Matthew wakes up and thinks it's time to play.
I grew up in a family with 4 kids and we only EVER lived in a 3 bedroom house.

As for the cost, it didn't REALLY cost that much more. I'll probably notice it more when they are all teenagers, lol. I only use disposable nappies at night, so there is only the expense of nappies every 2.5mths. I did use formula which was expensive as he was going through 2 tins ($50 worth ) each week.

I'd say to go for it, you will regret it if you don't. I couldn't imagine only having 2 kids now, it just wouldn't feel right.

heymamma
29-06-2006, 16:04
Well i didnt get much time to get used to having 2 kids....cause Ethan our 3rd was born when phoenix was 10.5mths old.:eek:
we go out & people think they are twins..lol
but i want more.:laughing: i think its great!....hard work..no sleep etc but sooooooo worth it.

Jem
29-06-2006, 16:10
i think its great!....hard work..no sleep etc but sooooooo worth it.

second that! :p

Funkychicken
29-06-2006, 17:16
Our third bub was a big surprise so it's not as though we had much time to think about it! It has turned out to be the most wonderful thing imagineable. Not just a new baby, but it has bonded DH and I in a way I could never have known. He has always been a great dad but with our new bub he is all gooey and ga-ga and comes in from work asking "Where's the little man?" and variations on this. He is also the one who was adamant that two was IT!
We also have a three bedroom home and DS#1 really needs his space and privacy, so he needs to be in on his own. DD would share in an instance! They have a room each, bub is in with us and when he is older he will share with DD. Personality plays a bigger role here than gender at this age. What we will do 'later' we don't yet know.
I am going out on a limb here though, because I have to say I have noticed the jump from 2 to 3 much more than 1-2. It may be that I had a big break and was 'out of routine' (nappies, baby food etc...) but the workload of three is much more intense. One extra baby increases the washing by a huge amount. Today, for instance, it took me over two hours just to sort, wash, hang out, fold some and put away. And that was after only one day of not washing! (I took yesterday off for my birthday:D ) getting in and out of the car, holding children's hands and pushing a pram etc... is tiring. I try shopping and doing anything shop related when I only have bub or one child and bub. It's a great oppurtunity for the children to go a bit wild in the supy when they know I am busy with the three of them!
But....I wouldn't change a thing for the world. I/we have absolutely no regrets and adore the fulfillment of being a family of five so much more than a family of four. We somehow feel more of a Real family.;)

candlelover
29-06-2006, 21:54
number 3 has made me complete, i had 2 sons first and i so wanted a little girl, and i was blessed with a princess.

I gave up full time work to be at home with my kids, we really haven't noticed the difference, sure there's another set of clothes and shoes and nappies but you learn to manage with what you have, unless it's going to mean beans on toast for dinner i say keep talking to DH as for the car we have a staion wagon and it's fine if you really need you can always have a rearseat put in the back.

3 has made me complete i love my family

FourAngelKisses
29-06-2006, 21:56
3 has made me complete i love my family

I said the same thing 18mths ago, now I really want another one. DH doesn't though. :(

my_lot
15-07-2006, 11:34
i also found the jump from one to two much harder than two to three.

we have a three bedroom house with a guest room downstairs ( thats only used for visitors) and a family room upstairs in the main living area that the kids play in.

the two girls share now as they are both at school. before no.2 went to school the two youngest shared. they would all sleep in the same room if we let them.

the two girls love sharing a room ( weve just had one go to grandmas for the holidays and the other couldnt get to sleep in the "empty" room! ) we have three cars ( two for business one for mums taxi) so we didnt need a bigger car for two to three, i easily had two boosters and a 0-4 carseat in my little car.

i say keep talking him into it, three is more fun than two!

when i had no.3 i had one in kindy and one at pre-school 2 days a week...it was a juggle at drop off and pick up times with a baby in tow, but now they are 9, 7 and 4 and its just great having the three. i couldnt imagine only having two....but come to think of it, my house would probably be alot quieter!!

mich71
15-07-2006, 12:44
honestly we have 5kids and twins on the way its not that much harder or more expencive i say go for it cant beat a big family

FourAngelKisses
15-07-2006, 12:52
Mich...come for a visit and have a chat to my DH please. :D