View Full Version : gripe water stinks

bindiloo
29-06-2006, 10:09
I just started using the gripe water yesterday and i spoon fed it in to bubs mouth just before i gave her her bottle but it absolutelt stinks rotten and she seemed to hate it so much then cried so much it was hard to calm her for her bottle and since using it i actually have found her more unsettle whilst she sleeps. Normally when she would go down for a sleep she wouldnt move till it was time to wake but now she squirms and wriggles and vomits abit in her sleep.

Should you give it to them right b4 a bottle or later or earlier?

Just wondering what other mums have experienced on it.
I was using infacol and i may go back to it or ill try the brauers

Ana Gram
29-06-2006, 10:12
We used gripe water but put it in her bottle. She never noticed the difference.

bindiloo
29-06-2006, 10:13
the chemist said not to put it in with her formula just a bottle of water only

29-06-2006, 10:13
We used gripe water but put it in her bottle. She never noticed the difference.

What she said !!! :)

EskimoMumma
29-06-2006, 10:17
I used the natural brands of gripe water. CHN advised Infacol is a waste o fmoney :confused:

WHat we would do for DD when she was small, we would just give it to her via spoon, really quick or just dip her dummy in it a few times for her.

Now that she is older we just give it to her in her medicine dropper. Although we havent had a need for it in a few months.

Ana Gram
29-06-2006, 10:18
the chemist said not to put it in with her formula just a bottle of water only

Well that's what we did and never had a problem with her drinking it and it really helped. Did the chemist say why you shouldn't put it in her bottle?

angcaltam
29-06-2006, 11:01
We tried gripe water with DS1, and I agree it really stinks. But when we had DS2 we were told about "Infants Friend", it is great and helps with a lot of different thing, maybe you should give it a go.:yes: We now use it for DD. You just get it at the chemist.

elissas
29-06-2006, 11:19
It depends on the brand.

If you're using Hartley's brand, which is the one you usually find in chemists, yes it stinks and DS hates it. The label is mostly purple. It's horrid.

I now use Coram's brand only, which is the one you'll find in the supermarket. It has a white label with a pink logo. Not nearly as potent and DS doesn't mind it. And it works a treat. Helps settle his belly in minutes!

FourAngelKisses
29-06-2006, 11:25
I used Brauers (??) colic drops....they were a sample in my Bounty bag and they worked really well.

29-06-2006, 11:42
I used to put it in a bit of water in a bottle....didn't know you could put it in milk? Ah well, you learn something new every day!

skyejax
29-06-2006, 11:55
i find the corams gripe water to b alright bub doesnt mind it even when given strait. my dr told my mum to give one teaspoon of cooled black tea to help the bubs tummy. she tried it the other day and said it really helped so after hearing my bub grisling for a while and not settling i decided to giv it ago to and 5/10 mins later sleeping soundly, and did so for a few hrs too :smiliedance: (not the usual 1/2 hrs he was doing). any way thets my piece.

bindiloo
29-06-2006, 16:25
Ive brought some bruaers it smells heaps better

Daffy21
21-07-2006, 16:10

Just wanted to let you know if bubs doesn't cry all the time from colic, you don't have to use Gripe Water it as a preventative measure. Our son had colic for the first month and then he didn't need gripe water anymore. He would be pretty good during the day and would settle well at night when he was put to bed. He would wake in the early hours (anytime from midnight-3am) and then scream his head off in pain. We would give him the gripe water on a teaspoon and he would drink it no problems. He would then go straight back to sleep. In the daytime we never really used it. Soon as he say the teaspoon with the gripe water he opening his mouth wide. He knew that it gave him instant relief.

I have heard from friends that they think infacol is wonderful too. I started with Gripe water at that done the trick so we never changed. We just bought it from the aisle at Woolies for about $6.00. One bottle was all we ever used. It says on there that it shouldn't be used more than 5 times a day or something from memory. :wave:

23-07-2006, 10:36
I have heard from friends that they think infacol is wonderful too.

I have been using Infacol and find it works wonderfully- but it's different to the others, the main ingredient is an anti-foaming agent. Here's what it says on the label if you're interestest (if you're not then excuse my :ecomcity: !)

"Infacol relieves infant wind before painful colic can occur.

Infacol wind drops is an effective method of treating wind in babies and infants. Simethicone, the active ingredient in Infacol, causes the small bubbles of gas in the baby's stomach to join together into one large bubble which can be quickly & easily expelled.

Infacol wind drops is SUGAR FREE and does not contain any antacids likely to upset baby's delicate stomach".

It also says that you can add it to their bottle of formula or EBM.

I tried Gripe Water with DS but had no success and unfortunetly I didn't try Infant's friend (also good) or Infacol back then.

Cheeky Little Monkey
23-07-2006, 12:36
I used gripe water with my DD only when absolutely necessary.
I did purchase a dummy that had an attachment to it that allowed you to dispense medicine etc through the dummy. It is brilliant and I cant recommend it enough! I got mine from Big W in the baby section for less than $6
I have seen them at chemists too.
My DD just sucked on the dummy and didnt seem to notice too much she was having gripe water. It was a god send during those moments.