View Full Version : What's so good about your suburb?

dynnyrne
29-06-2006, 01:21
Hi girls- I was wondering if you could give me some advice. :fingerscrossed:

My husband and I are currently travelling and when we come back to Australia in Sept we want to move to Brisbane. We've lived in Sydney the past 7 years and house prices are so high we thought it's time to make the change and start out somewhere we can try and 'get ahead'.

We'll be renting for now and and I was wondering if you could tell me about your fave suburbs to give us an idea of where to move to. We want somewhere cheap so we can save, but nice enough that we don't feel 'unsafe' at home IYKWIM. We also need somewhere we can have our cat and probably first baby so inner-city apartments are out.

Thank you so much!! :D

Gribel
29-06-2006, 08:37
I live in Nundah, which is a 10 min drive from City, on the Northside. we are also about 15 min from the airport. We are renting a huge 4bdr house here for $365, which is pretty cheap. I love this area, we are surronded by little parks ( one right across the street) and we are close to public transport and just a 10 min walk to a Shopping Centre (Toombul).
Have a look on realestate.com.au for the current rent prices etc...

Hope this helps a bit!:p

Belinda

mel04
29-06-2006, 08:38
Do you want to be close to the city? If so, i'm not sure about cheap places, but Narangba is great, about 45mins to the city and is still fairly cheap.
It's a lovely area and is going to go up in value (already has alot!).
We've got 1/2 an acre there and building a new place, we used to live there before too though, and i loved it.
It's on the northside, i don't know any areas on the southside sorry.
Hope that helps.
Cheers!

zenifa
29-06-2006, 08:49
I live at Stretton on the southside of Brisbane - its a 20 min drive (20km approx) via the freeway into the city. Although we own our own home, neighbours are paying $250/week rent for 3-4 bedroom houses (less than 10yrs old). There are lots of facilities nearby - shopping centres, cinemas, hospitals, schools, pools, libraries etc. Other nearby suburbs that are similar to ours are Runcorn, Kuraby, Sunnybank Hills, Calamvale and Algester.

em's mum
29-06-2006, 14:16

We live at Parkinson - just nextdoor to Algester and Calamvale on the southside - and not very far from Zenifa over at Stretton (and yes, Zenifa, looks like I'm following you around the boards again today!!! :eek: STALKER!!!) Anyway, as well as everything Zenifa has mentioned, we also have lots of parks within walking distance (I have 4 all within 10 mins walk from our house). Another reason we like it here (apart from being close to hubby's work) is because we are about a 5min drive to the motorway entrance that will take us up the north coast, down the south coast, or out west-way to Toowoomba. We aren't renting so I can't help too much there, but I think people down the road from us pay about $300/wk for a 4 bedroom house with a huge backyard.

Aside from that, I grew up on the northside of Brisbane at Kedron and it is a very central suburb - again, not far from the city (about 7k's give a take a couple), lots of shopping centres, cinemas, public transport. Don't know rent prices there but probably would be a bit higher seeing it's closer in to the city.

Hope this helps.

Jo9999
29-06-2006, 14:32
You can rent our house when we break our lease in mid September to move into our nown home... :smiliedance:
Eight Mile Plains in South Brisbane - walking distance to bus station, 20 mins from Brisbane, 5 mins from Westfield Garden City shopping, gate in backyard opens onto walkway behind us, pets ok, 4 brm, ensuite, 2 air cond bedrooms @ $325/week.
Seriously though, if you have friends already here then you might want to move close to where they are as it can take a while to travel from one side to the other.

Rose68
29-06-2006, 18:37
Hi my husband would like to move from melbourne, but is it a safe community is a good place to raise happy children thanks

tee
29-06-2006, 19:56
I grew up in Wynnum (southside) and it's lovely. It's all about getting the right area. Manly is absolutely fantastic. Right by the bay, there's a boat harbour, plenty of shops, 10/15 minute drive to capalaba and carindale shopping centres. Lovely people, lovely community and it's starting to become a really high value area. Lots of families, lots of senior citizens, heaps of great schools (both private and public). About a 20 minute drive from the city, 40 minute train journey.

I've also lived at thorneside, which I found a little too isolated.

Kangaroo Point which is city apartments so probably not suitable.

Indooroopilly which I really really loved, although the property is mostly expensive. My favourite shopping centre (indooroopilly), great transport systems, close to the city, although it's quite fast paced and not as laid back as anywhere else I've lived. It's right on the river which was lovely and close to countryside too (even being so close to the city)

I'm now at everton park (northside) which I really like too. In a beautiful quiet dead end street, three houses on it. Shopping centre is a walk away, lots of walking tracks and sports fields. 15 minute drive from the city, on the train line. The area I'm in has great families and really nice people.

I'm moving back to the bayside though (manly) and probably settling there. There's just something about it.

Rell
29-06-2006, 20:24
I live in Redbank Plains and I love it here. I moved here 2 years ago and we bought our house for $172,000 :smiliedance: and its on a 1/4 acre
You can rent a new 4 brm house for around $280 - $300 a week.
It is about 45min to the city (less during off peak) and the new orion shopping centre in being built 5min down the road.
There are lots of new developments happening (including a Bunnings and spotlight) and there is heaps of young families.

OceBel
30-06-2006, 11:41
i live in annerley, house prices to buy are over $290.000
rental for houses can be from $180-$300 and over depends. rental for units i pay $200 a week, but i live in a older style unit. modern ones aound my area with air con are $240. i have looked around.
i live about 5 minutes from the city. hospitals are near by. shopping centres near by, trains and buses frequent reguarly, the area is old, and has some history.

surrounding suburbs are Greenslopes, Stones Corner, Mooroka, Coorparoo. Tarrgini all which are expensive areas to live in, i live just off a main road which is busy. a few crimes happen but not as much as some areas.

im happy living here, its close to the city. transport is near by, major hospitals (2) are just around the corner. maccas is near by so is hungry jacks.

30-06-2006, 18:43
Yes I agree with Rell (of course I'm biased) :D I live close by in Camira (south west), its nice cheap with big blocks of land. We Bought a 989sqm 4bedroom house with inground pool for $260K in Camira. Heaps of schools including Springfield college if you want to send you children private.
If you want to rent a new place ( but they generally have small yards ) then Springfield or Springfield Lakes (south west) is lovely, all brand new with parks and the lakes of course.
We rented there before we bought and lived in a brand new house, as in we were the first people to live in it. It was 3bedrooms with ensuite and Aircon.
It is 23km to CBD. My hubby works in the city and drives in everyday, so its not a too far at all.
Move where you are closish to friends or work definately as Brissy southside and Northside take a bit of travelling between.
Being from NZ, I think Brissy is an awesome city and its hard to go wrong with picking a suburb, north, south, east or west there are beautiful places to live and raise kidsit all depends on what area is the most practical for your needs!!

Someone further up asked about Banora Point/ Tweed heads, I have friends who live down there, they built 5years ago and their house has quadrupled in value, its lovely there and the beach is fantastic, definately nicer climate wise than Melbourne lol!!!
House prices for three bedroom 5years old are approx 300K plus these days, you'd be hard pressed to find anything cheaper than that. Not sure about renting down there though. Check out Realestate.com.au for a guide to pricing in the area.;)

dynnyrne
05-07-2006, 22:41
Thank you all so much for your replies! I feel overwhelmed now though :laughing:
We'll obviously travel around a bit and check out the city when we arrive- but your insights are a GREAT help! Thank you :thumbsup:

brizbabe
05-07-2006, 23:11
A really great website to checkout is "ourbrisbane.com.au"

http://www.ourbrisbane.com/living/suburbs/

the above link will give you a run down on different suburbs:)

dynnyrne
06-07-2006, 08:26
A really great website to checkout is "ourbrisbane.com.au"

http://www.ourbrisbane.com/living/suburbs/

the above link will give you a run down on different suburbs:)

Yeah- we've been looking at that and it's really helpful. It's nice to hear from people about their suburbs though too. :o