View Full Version : Sitting up

28-06-2006, 11:16
I know, I know all babies are different, but my DS is not even showing any signs of sitting on his own, or doing anything really. How can I encourage him to start sitting up? More tummy time?

Jem
28-06-2006, 11:33
I used to have this foam thingo( half a circle) and bub would be supported from all angles..(also had a little seatbelt in it)

I borrowed it off a mate.. so i have no idea where you can buy them from? but they are excellent! :thumbsup:

Jem
28-06-2006, 11:35
Gee.. sorry i jsut read that.. and im not much help am i..lol

dont know the name of the thing.. and dont know where to buy them from! :o :banghead: Sorry!:p

rynosmum
28-06-2006, 11:39
You can try a bumbo seat or a play ring, else just prop him up with pillows.

I wouldn't be too concerned though. My DS had no idea about sitting at 4 months either although he mastered it at 6 months (actually a friend of mine sat him on the floor whilst I was out of the room - I was so shocked to see him sitting up unsupported and she was equally as shocked not realising that he had never done it before :laughing: )

~Emmylou~
28-06-2006, 11:54
He's only 4 months old! Don't worry about it ;)

DD never sat up by herself until she was nine months old and that's still considered "normal". He's fine he'll do it when he's ready :)

28-06-2006, 12:08
He's actually 5 months (have to update my sig!) lol.

Thanks - I'll try some of his little seats. I do have a bumbo but haven't used it much as he got cranky in it after 1/2 a second.

Rell
28-06-2006, 13:27
I was told by a CHN that a lot of babies (mine included) will not sit until they are able to get to sitting themselves. Both my kids started sitting about a month after they crawled. There is heaps of time for him to sit don't push it.

RachWA
28-06-2006, 17:57
My DS sat up at 5months and my dd just the last few days at 5 1/2 months, although ds did not crawl until 9 months and then walked at 10. DD looks as though she may also do this. Once DS was sitting that is all he did - he hated tummy time and made no attempt to get anywhere himself, which meant eveytime he wanted a new toy I was called to get it for him. So with dd I am trying to encourage her to crawl a bit before she gets to used to sitting.

A friend of mine DS recently started crawling and then sitting at just before 5 months :lol: she also had a 2 year old so very quickly very busy!!!!!

They all do things at there own time.

Niki
28-06-2006, 17:59
i used to lean jake against my leg on the floor so he was sitting up dont worry one day it just clicks in