View Full Version : How much PPS are you on?

Teley
21-07-2009, 20:35
Just wondering. I don't work so I'm on the full thing.

crazymuma
21-07-2009, 20:44
I'm on the full payment until I can find some part time work as well.

2 kids, rent assistance I think its about $1100 per fortnight - will have to check what it is exactly (have some bills etc come out before I even see it) Definetly not enough for me - I miss work only for the $$$

Always interesting to compare what we get cause I know centerlink don't always pay the same amount - when I had only 1 child my best mate also had 1 child - we both spent the same on rent and neither got child support yet she got $40 a fortnight more than me.

SPC
21-07-2009, 20:58
Nothing. I haven't been in Australia long enough.

HarvestMoon
21-07-2009, 21:00
I have 2 kids and am on the full amount as well... i get around $1000 a fn but have took both the ftb advance and pps one so only get a bit over $900/fn.
Its no where near enough for me either... i'm struggling to find work.
I have a job interview tomorrow so am really hoping for the best!

Teley
21-07-2009, 21:02
I have 2 kids and am on the full amount as well... i get around $1000 a fn but have took both the ftb advance and pps one so only get a bit over $900/fn.
Its no where near enough for me either... i'm struggling to find work.
I have a job interview tomorrow so am really hoping for the best!

Good luck!:fingerscrossed:

:laughing:Look at the stats!

crazymuma
21-07-2009, 21:02
Nothing. I haven't been in Australia long enough.

Really?? Where are you from??

Do you mind if I ask how you manage financially??

Oh and how long do you have to be in australia before they will give you a pension??

munchie
21-07-2009, 21:03
Don't work [i study]
I'm on the full PPS. I think it works out around 1000 per f/n.

crazymuma
21-07-2009, 21:03
Oh Crap just looked at the stats - how long till some partnered parent comes and sees that and starts talking/thinking about us bludging single mothers :laughing:

LizzardLover
21-07-2009, 21:04
I voted other, because I dont know! I think it's not full because of child support?? I don't work at the moment.

I get about $570 PPS and then $280 FTB each fortnight.

HarvestMoon
21-07-2009, 21:05
Good luck!:fingerscrossed:

Thanks... i really need it.

Myztiks#1Fan
21-07-2009, 21:05
it would vary for me. depended on how much i worked. sometimes it would be an ok amount, other weeks, it would be nothing.

JabberJaw
21-07-2009, 21:06
I am on full amount also since splitting with my hubby nearly 5 months ago.

I get around $1400 fortnight for 4 kids....WOW sounds like heaps! But rent,food,bills etc are much higher now than when i was a single mum years ago with just 1 kidlet.

I have just taken up studies, and hope to get work within a year once my course is complete.

I have had extended time off with this bub, 16 months so far, and although i enjoy it, i am looking forward to the workforce.

Teley
21-07-2009, 21:06

May I ask what the job is?

Myztiks#1Fan
21-07-2009, 21:07

honestly, i dont think you will need luck. just be really positive and be yourself. i was myself in my job interview for my day job and i had no experience but i was what they were looking for.

HarvestMoon
21-07-2009, 21:10
May I ask what the job is?

Just working in a supermarket in the fruit and veg department. I don't think i will get it cause i went for the same role for the same company at a different store a few weeks ago. The employer seemed keen but i couldn't do the early starts required. So if its the same working hours at this store.. its just not going to be possible unfortunately.

Amara
21-07-2009, 21:11
I put other cos I don't know how much I will get.

I've just switched from full time work to part time work. Whilst full time I was not entitled to it but got the full FTB A & B.

They've told me I do qualify but haven't given me the figure yet. I know it will only be a small portion of it, but it's nice to get something.

Mum2Bug
21-07-2009, 21:22
I ticked other in the poll coz it doesnt allow the option of casual work that may or may not cut down the benefit each fortnight.

SPC
21-07-2009, 21:42
Really?? Where are you from??

Do you mind if I ask how you manage financially??

Oh and how long do you have to be in australia before they will give you a pension??

I'm British and became a PR in September 2007, then pregnant in February 2007. I qualify for the pension in September 2009- woohoo. I did get baby bonus and the two stimulus thingies, [Esme was born one day too late for the first]. I get Tax A and B, rent assistance, a health care card, medicare and child care benefit. Just not the pension.

Obviously Esme is Australian, her father is Australian and we got pregnant whilst I was a PR and then buggered off, so I don't feel too bad about my bludging. As for how I live - 9 weeks paid maternity leave, and my savings, [I sold my house and am building a much smaller one - I get homebuyers bonus too]. I am going back to work 2 days a week now Esme is 9 months old. The last nine months has cost me about $30,000 in savings.

Larski
22-07-2009, 00:00
I get nothing cos I work.

two cheeky smurfs
22-07-2009, 07:55
with PPS and FTB a+b i get nearly 1200 per fortnight... because i have twins i get double FTB a i think it is! I also get 130 rent assistnance per fortnight as well... i didnt think it would be enough but at the moment im coping pretty well money wise!!

SimplyMum
22-07-2009, 08:37
I get about $10 PPS. I work full time and just scrape under the threshold. I get Full FTB A & B.

DP and I are looking at moving in together later this year so obviously this will change dramatically when that happens. It's nerve racking losing some of that independence.

Veritas
22-07-2009, 10:49
I get full PPS as I am not currently working.....

I do get reduced FTB due to child support....

AnnaT
22-07-2009, 18:30
I dont know what I get but it equals about $1000 f/n + about $250 child support. Dunno how they think thatll support 3 kids AND pay market rent but hey, if I can find a place to rent I wil make it work.

I think its a laugh that my sister with one kid is on just about as much as I am. There is something seriously skewed with the system.

Bountiful
22-07-2009, 19:16
I selected other, because whilst I don't work, I do study (part-time though).. I get around $1100 p/f but some of that is made up of my pension education allowance and my carers allowance... DS has Autism and has alot of special appointments that I need to run him around to, otherwise I'd study full-time and get out into the workforce quick smart!

oleander
22-07-2009, 19:35
I get nothing and I dont work. I get my money from other resources. Not sure if id be entitled to anything but im assuming i have too much income so havent applied.

IndigoJ
22-07-2009, 19:54
I voted other, because I dont know! I think it's not full because of child support?? I don't work at the moment.

I get about $570 PPS and then $280 FTB each fortnight.

Same here. :)