View Full Version : Controlled cyring & feeding during night?

bosang
20-07-2009, 13:58
My DD (6.5 months) has started waking a lot during the night, where as she used to only wake at approx 4am for a breastfeed. I have been happy to feed her at 4am (although a full nights sleep would be nice!), but I'm not wanting to get into the habit of feeding her whenever she wakes, which last night was 12pm, 3am, 5am. I would like to explore the possibility of doing CC, but can you do CC & still continue with 1 feed overnight??? Ideally, I wouldnt mind doing CC until she wakes after 4am, at which point I'd be happy to feed her. Is this too confusing for her though? Is it best to just stop feeding her altogether during the night & just implement CC? Hope this makes sense!

littlechomper
20-07-2009, 14:12
hi there,
My DD did exactly that at the same age... I found it very exhausting.. I had enough by about 3 weeks of getting up and giving into the breast feeds.. Most times she would only have 5min feed then just wanting to comfort suck:( with my first DD i CC but this time around i couldn't... I was given a book by Tizzie Hall called Save our Sleep.. DD was on her routine for one whole day and she slept all night only waking once.. I reckon after 3 whole days on one of her routines she was sleeping through the night completely:smiliedance: Even during the days she was totally different.. Very happy & content baby.. She is just over 9 months now & we havn't looked back.. Give it a go..

wocket
20-07-2009, 14:37
It could be a growth spurt. Rather than controlled crying could you try giving your bub more solids during the day? or may be a tooth starting?

Instead of letting them cry through it maybe pick the bub up for a 5 min rock then back to bed? i find that we only need one feed at 12ish with this method.

lupa
26-07-2009, 18:54
I hate that 4am feed! It's hard because any earlier and you'd probably leave them but after 4 you don't know if they're really hungry. Sucks hey! Do you do dream feeds at 10pm? My DS is 7 months now and has just gotten into his solids, (we started at 3 months) and I mean he will eat HEAPS! and since then, he's slept SO well at night it's crazy.in bed by 6-7, dreamfeed at 10 and he'll sleep till around 6 then I can put him back to sleep and he'll sleep for about another hour. (Occasionally the nights wont be THAT good, but that's ok).

If DD isn't really hungry at 4am, just wants comfort, and this is a regular "comfort feed" then it's ok to let her cry, just try it for 5 mins. You can tell by her cry by now if she's hungry etc. 5am onwards, I would feed, and I do this with my DS now.

Good luck!! :)

amymay
27-07-2009, 15:13
hi my ds is 4 months old and i have intorduced solids a few days go, as he stared waking at night and is hungrey, use to sleep through most nights prior. we are only on day 5 of solids and im doing it per tizzie halls guides. we also follow her routines and swear by them.... i have a baby that is happy to sleep and put him self to sleep with little fuss. like all mums we have bad parts of the day sometimes, just how it goes i think but generally we have great routine.:)