View Full Version : sone help please?
my babys spewin and got a sore tummie? if she eats shes sick, ne susgestions im a 1st time mum and its the 1st time shes so sick:(
melfunction
27-06-2006, 17:03
Keep her fluid intake up - most important. She can do without food for a few days, but she needs to drink small amounts of water often. Go to a chemist and get her some hydralyte ice blocks. This will help keep her hydrated.
If you are worried about her, take her to a doctor.
thanks guys and yeah shes 3 but never been sick b4.. only colds its a bit scairy!! she spews an crys an i wanna cry 4 her :barf:
27-06-2006, 17:07
Keep her fluid intake up - most important. She can do without food for a few days, but she needs to drink small amounts of water often. Go to a chemist and get her some hydralyte ice blocks. This will help keep her hydrated.
If you are worried about her, take her to a doctor.
Yep all of the above. I wouldnt worry too much, this is going around at the moment. My DD has had it & same with my niece & nephew. Well by the souds of it they have the same thing anyways. Hope she feels better soon :fingerscrossed:
thanks! isnt it scairy the 1st time they get really sick? no one tolled me about THAT wen i was preg!! lol
you guys r great. dh is all she'll b right! plus hes at work so i need some1 to talk to i know im a little paranoied dh had it a wk ago too and hes fine now... but shes my baaaby!
27-06-2006, 17:24
Keep an eye on her temp too...
thanks again guys... she ate plane spaggetie and kept it down... her temps ok 36.7 she'll be right im a paranoid girl!! hehe
If you cant get hold of hydrolite iceblocks, my Dr suggested to me flat lemondade diluted with water. This will help keep the levels up. Also, plain starchy potato chips.
Wyatt had a bout of gastro 2 months ago for nearly two weeks, Not fun.
Hope things improve soon.
2 wks!! poor boy! im hopein she'll wake up fine tmorra!!:fingerscrossed:
jasminesmum
27-06-2006, 19:46
I know this sounds really strange but I read on another site to give them a spoonful of strawberry jam.
My son had cramps and gastro on the weekend and I tried it on him and it worked.:yes:
I'm not sure why or how it works but it may be worth a try.
Hope your little girl is better by the morning.:fingerscrossed:
she jst woke up vommiting every where:(
rynosmum
27-06-2006, 20:48
That's why clear fluids are best as they won't as easily come back up again.
Stick to some really basic fluids rather than heavier meals.I hope she feels better soon.
Definatly clear fluids :yes: Little sips often is the best way, if her mouth starts to look dry and she wont drink anything take her to the dr coz that's a sign of dehydration.
I use gastrolyte when DS is sick and not drinking much, it's a powdered hydration drink, works the same as the hydralyte ice blocks. I prefer it coz you don't have to worry about keeping it cold. Dr actually told me that gastrolyte is absorbed faster into the body if its drunk at room temp.
My DD was another who was sick for about 2 weeks...but she was 4mths old at the time. She had vomiting for 2 days then diorrea for another 10. My DS who is 3yrs old also got sick, but he only had vomiting for 24hrs, and only actually vomited a couple of times, then he had diorrea for another 2 or 3 days, but again it wasn't too bad. He was eating and drinking normally once the vomiting went away.
Hope your DD feels better soon :)
Tam-I-Am
27-06-2006, 23:09
Don't worry about the food so much - her body can't process it at the moment. When we get gastro, our body's first reaction is to clear the gut - by vomitting and diarroea - to get rid of the bugs. If we try and heap anything else on top of the bugs - ie more food - they have to get processed. Its too hard for the body to deal with. For as long as she is vomitting, keep giving her lots of clear fluids - small sips often is what is needed. A good rule of thumb is a small sip every 5 minutes. If you're worried about her blood sugar levels, give her weak cordial, or very well diluted flat lemonade (do NOT give full strength - the sugar WILL give her diarrheoa, and that's what you're trying to avoid).
If her lips start to dry out, or she gets diarrhoeah, or is still vomitting after 48 hours, she needs to go to the doctor. Little kids dehydrate really really easily and it can be dangerous.
When she says she's hungry again, and ONLY if she hasn't vomited for more than 12 hours - give her 1/2 a piece of dry toast, or if she won't eat that alone, the tiniest bit of vegemite won't do her any harm - DO NOT give her any butter or margerine on the toast at this stage. If she keeps that down, give her something easy to digest, like a hardboiled egg, or 1/2 a weetbix or something very very easy on her stomache. Progress up to eating normally.
If in doubt, always consult a doctor - its soo important when little ones are sick.
Good luck, I hope your little girl is feeling better soon
PS Remember to wash your hands all the time after beign with her. If you touch her, or her bedding/dishes etc - make sure you don't touch your face until after you've washed your hands. This will give you the best chance of avoiding catching it yourself.
thanks guys the vomiting has subsided abit- but we gotup like 3 times last nite.:thumbsdown: she said she doesnt wanna eat 'coz it'll make me vomibit again' she's a trooper! i tolled her- the girls on the net said to keep up the water- wen she wouldnt drink so now she has lots of little sips and says like this? each time. now im not so worried i can see her being cute again. thanks so much 4 the help dh was out last nite and i didnt no wot to do but you girls helped heaps and i felt better knowin i was doin the right thing- wiv water... an theres not alot more u can do unless it gets bad and its doc time.
best wishes to all the little 1s whove had it or do and the mums coz the only time i find this mum stuff hard is wen my girls in pain and i bet u all understand... jst... thanks again dudes!! :thumbsup:
TYLERSMUM05
28-06-2006, 07:48
a lady told me one day that when the children get hurt or sick the parents actully feel worse then the children!!! lol i laughed , but its true, so dont worry, think about it!!!! you hurt just as much as they do!!! lol and if you feel that you cant handle it , go to the qwacks!!! they will help!!!:ecomcity: :yelclap:
Chickadee
28-06-2006, 10:21
If she's having sips of water that's great. But water alone isn't enough after more than about 24 hours and you should try pedialyte or similar. You can get it at the chemist. Keep checking for signs of dehydration too. Some have been mentioned already, and also listlessness is one. If she's just not herself then she should go to the dr. Trust your instinct on that one.
If you do a search on here on "gastro" you should find some suggestions on food ideas for kids recovering from vomit and diarrhea. Basically it's all plain easily digestible stuff. Try having a browse through this older thread:
Feeding bub after gastro (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=2749&highlight=gastro)
I hope she's feeling better soon.
ive booked her in 4 the docs this avie...:fingerscrossed: shes not to bad today but wen i called tih doc they said bring her in so i will.
thanks 4 the help ladies :hugs:
her temp has gone 2 47.8 thats bad isnt it
Chickadee
28-06-2006, 12:25
I hope that was a typo and you meant 37.8, not 47.8 :confused:
37.8 is a little high. I'd make sure she isn't overdressed, give fluids and you could consider panadol if you want.
47.8 is deadly - call an ambulance and put her into a cool-lukewarm bath immediately. Actually, i'm not sure 47.8 is physically possible??
woops yeah typo! 37 ur right
thanks 2 all who helped me... took her to the doc and he gave us maxolon.
she's 99% better today!
thanks again guys u were a great big help!:D
Chickadee
29-06-2006, 11:00
I'm glad to hear she's on the mend Crissie :)