View Full Version : Mother of a Prem
Hi all i just was wanting to connect with other parents who have been through the pain and heart ache of having a premmie baby.
My daughter is currently 11 weeks this tuesday or 3 weeks this wednesday corrected. Gracie was born at the royal womans here in brissie on the 5th may at 31 weeks and 6 days via emergency c section for no movements and fetal distress. It was all very scary. I went into labour nearly every week from 21 weeks. It all started when i somehow got a infection in my waters at 21 weeks and we were told that we were going to loose our baby. After deciding to carry on dispite how sick i was i am glad we did as our wee princess is here now and doing ok. During my pregnancy i also lost my dad to cancer. He found out on the 6th of feb and died just over 3 weeks later on the 3rd of march. I am only starting to deal with this now. I shut down on all emtions while i was pregnant just wanted to get through it. My husband is also in the defence force and is away alot. We also have a beautiful 2 year old daughter as well.
When Gracie was born she was on CPAP for 3 days spent 5 days in ICN and another 3 weeks in SCN after coming home we thought all was going to be smooth sailing. Not so much...Gracie came home 1 June and has spent another 2 weeks in the childrens hospital with RSV a blessing in diguise maybe as we found out while on all the monitors she was having alot of apnoeas both awake and asleep. Gracie recently had a sleep study which revealed she was dropping her oxygen stats to 69% while she was asleep and indeed was stopping breathing for at least 20 seconds so she is now on oxygen for the next 3 to 6 months or longer.
Feels like a huge step backwards. I just want her to be well and i will do whatever it takes to get her to that point. I just feel really overwhelmed with everything right now. I am blessed that my 2 year old is a dream and so good with helping me out, but i just feel like a single mum alot with DH being away so much, its not his fault that just the job. But having a sickly baby is hard and keeps you on edge all the time as you worry what will be next.
I know that i am not the only one out there that would be feeling this way so i just thought i would write my story and hope others out there can share with me.
UsThreeGirls
19-07-2009, 19:08
Hi I had DD at 29 weeks at the RBWH too. Its a scary way to bring a baby into the world thats for sure. My husband (now ex) was absent a lot of the time too and it was very hard to deal with.
DD came home after 8 weeks and have only had things like reflux and colic which is pretty common for prems. She had no ongoing medical problems luckily.
I am pregnant again now and have some signs that this one may come early too due to a subseptate uterus, irritable uterus and it seems incompetent cervix.
I have found talking to mums of prems has really helped. Are you taking her to the playgroup for prems at the hospital? I found that was a good source of meeting other mums in the same situation.
I have not been to the play group yet as i cant take my 2 year old with me so that makes it a little hard but i had heard they were great! I found the royal wonderful.
I am also experiencing the joys of Reflux and Colic. but have heard its more common in premmies and they grow out of it!
Its fantastic your little one is doing so well now! and congrats on your pregnancy and i hope you do make it to term.
and thanks for replying its good to know there are people out there who have experienced the journey of having a premmie. and understand its challenges. My princess is worth it!
I had my son at 27.6wks and he spent 15wks in hospital and still came home on oxygen.
So i know how hard or annoying it can be to have to have the oxygen around the home.
I found that even though I had the oxygen I was not going to let it keep me house bound. So I would rug him up and put the cover over the pram to keep the sticky beaks out and put the tank in the bottom and off we went.
He was on oxygen for 4 months at home ( 7 months all up) and is now a happy healthy 4yr old and went to his first day of Kindy today.
Hang in there it is hard and some days you feel like giving up but she and you will pull through this and go on to enjoy the rest of her long life :thumbsup::hugs:
SilverSprite
22-07-2009, 11:59
Thank you for posting this thread, I had my prem on 19/05 and his due date was 10/07, so he was 8 weeks early due to my developing pre-eclampsia. I have been trying to find other mothers in similar situations or who have had premmie babies before to offer an insight as to what to expect. I did not know that colic and reflux were common!
I have noticed that altho my son is 9 weeks old, he should only be 12 days...so he really seems like a newborn..he was tube feeding up until 3 weeks ago but is thriving now..just still sleeps a lot and seems...newborn?
Any advice or insights would be most welcome, and my thoughts are with you all and your precious precious babies :cloud9:
TripleTime
22-07-2009, 20:50
I had my Triplets on 17th May 09 at 28+3 weeks via emergencey c/section due to spontaneous labour for the 5th time, once at 18 weeks where i spent a night in hospital. Once at 23 weeks where i spent a week in, while having steroid shots & Nephetapine every 6 hours. Friday before they were born, when i spent the night in delivery suite & twice the sunday they were born.
J spent 1 week in Level 3 NICU, 2 days on CPAP, 4 days with a long line. A & T spent 1.5 weeks in Level 3, 5 days on CPAP, 7 days with a long line.
32 weeks corrected they were moved into open cots & put on sucking feeds. From 34 weeks they were all on full sucking feeds.
T spent 2 weeks on o2 due to desates & 6 extreamly bad apnoia's in 90 minutes, all requiring blow over of o2. At 33 weeks was taken off the o2 & put on to Caffine to stimulate her breathing & remind her to breath deeper. On August 10 she will have a sleep study to assess her breathing.
At 35+1 weeks corrected & 6 actual DF & I roomed in with them for 2 nights. At 35+3 weeks & 7 weeks corrected they were discharged. Have now been home for just over 2 weeks & are all thriving.
just still sleeps a lot and seems...newborn?
Any advice or insights would be most welcome,
Your DS is still considered a newborn, as prems go by their corrected age (age from their due date) for milestones.
SilverSprite
23-07-2009, 11:20
Thank you for posting TripleTime, and congratulations on your babies! They have certainly kept you on your toes havent they.
Hey there,
My DS was born at the Mater (Brissy) at 29+6, he was 845g due to IUGR and was in NICU for 2 weeks on vent/CPAP then 6 weeks in SCN, then he caught RSV and his left lung collapsed so back into NICU on CPAP to reinflate the lung and then back into SCN and then finally home!
After coming home he ended up having a NG tube put back in due to chronic feed refusal from reflux and ended up going back on nasal canula oxygen for a while due to lung dramas!
He had tubes and oxygen on and off so often in the first year I lost track!
Anyway he is two now and much more stable, his reflux is under control and he still has reactive airway disease and hypotonia etc but he is less medically fragile now.
We are now getting support from disability services queensland as he has general developmental delay but he is a real ray of sunshine!
He has oral aversions still and is still classed a FTT but when I remember him being TPN fed it doesnt seem so bad.
Oh and he has sensory processing disorder as well so he does some weird things like licking the floor and what not!
A few other issues as well but he is out of hospital and that's the main thing.
Hugs to all premmie mums, I had such a big feeling of grief and loss over all the things we missed but it does ease over time I promise.
TripleTime
23-07-2009, 15:18
Thank you for posting TripleTime, and congratulations on your babies! They have certainly kept you on your toes havent they.
Your welcome, in the beginning we were always on our toes but it has gotten easier as they've gotten older.
Hello There
Not sure if you are aware but there is a great Prem Support Group based in QLD called PIPA, their web site is www.pipa.org.au. They can help with a lot of your questions. If you are in Vic there is a charity called Lifes Little Treasures, www.lifeslittletreasures.org.au. They run support groups you can bring all the kids to, as well as other great means of support for prem families.
Best Wishes
*~alegna~*
24-07-2009, 15:58
:wave: hi Ladies,
I've been following this thread & thought I'd finally post. My babies were not as prem as most of yours but I felt "robbed" none the less.
DS1 was born @ 36wks & even though he was a great weight (6lb13oz) was serverly jaundiced & stayed in nursery for 3 odd wks, he was fluro & was near transfusing. At 3 now he is fine & has hit all the milestones.
DD was born @ 35wks & was the smallest at 5lb2oz. She was so small & again they took her straight from me & into SCN she went, after getting some feelling issues sorted, 10 days later they let me take her home.
DS2 is due today! & is 4wks old, he was born @ 36wks. I had a cervical suture with him but still went into labour, however would have been earlier if I'd not had it. prelaboured at 28, 30 & 34wks. Born @ 36wks he was 5lb9oz but was so alert. He was my 1st "room" baby..was fantastic not to have to endure the SCN etc & not being able to take my baby home with me, which I did blissfully on Day 3!! he did so well, the Paed said I could go & I just cried:o I was so happy.
Anyway, we've done our bit for haviing babies, thankfully. I take my hat off to all your women that have had more prem babies than my three as that was stressful & heartbreaking enough. I can only imagine how strong you are.
x:hugs: To you all & thanks for listen to my dribble lol..
TripleTime
24-07-2009, 16:09
Alegna - You didnt dribble at all. Feeling robbed was the worst part for me, i knew i was only going as far as 34 weeks but when it was moved to 32 weeks, than 30 weeks & than i day at a time. I really lost it, as much as i hated being pregnant. I would have really liked that extra 6 weeks. But wasnt ment to be.
*~alegna~*
24-07-2009, 20:23
Alegna - You didnt dribble at all. Feeling robbed was the worst part for me, i knew i was only going as far as 34 weeks but when it was moved to 32 weeks, than 30 weeks & than i day at a time. I really lost it, as much as i hated being pregnant. I would have really liked that extra 6 weeks. But wasnt ment to be.
:yes: The hardest thing for me was being told when I was ALLOWED to feed, touch, hold, change my our children. I felt really disconnected with my 1st 2 & I think that's why my emotions took over with DS2. I was on tender hooks in the hospital, every time the door opened I swore it was a MW coming in to tell me it was all a big joke & they were taking him away :o.
TripleTime
24-07-2009, 20:31
We had the same issue & than being told how to do thing. We had one nurse insist on reminding us we'd been there for 22 days & we should know how to do things. I went off my nut at her. The whole unit heard me. Needless to say, we havent had anything to do with her since.
*~alegna~*
24-07-2009, 20:39
So hard aswell I think when different staff tell you different things & over lap through a Paed consult.
I used to be sooo confused sometimes, the Paed would see me & DH & tell us something then a MW would contradict what he had said & when I would try & correct the advice or tell them that the Dr had advised differently it was like I was out to get them & we were causing trouble...no wonder it is so stressful.
Do you still hae to go back to the unit for your bains:
UsThreeGirls
25-07-2009, 07:34
Yeah I felt ripped off too. I got really jealous seeing pregnant women as I knew I should still be pregnant. Hoping I can have the experience this time of having a huge belly. I won't know what to do with this baby if I can just "take her" home.
Lastcenturymum
25-07-2009, 08:07
I can't say I felt ripped off at all. Maybe frustrated at my bub being in another hospital to me (I only saw her once after she was born then not till 5 days later) She was then in isolation and we only had two cuddles in that week after she was born. Was about two weeks till I could feed her.
Probably what annoyed me the most was the paed who kept saying in his loud voice 'this baby is prem, you cannot just keep breastfeeding her whenever you like, she needs to rest' I got send to a mothers/babies home to 'establish feeding' (yeah right) test ways and top ups and they HAD to go 3 or 4 hours or got a top up :hair: I discharged myself and went home (she was about 3 weeks by this stage) and demand fed for a week and she put on half a kg in that time.
We were just grateful things worked out ok, but I think some people really have a hard time.
wow ladies i am starting to feel as though my feelings are normal! I also felt ripped off, when it got closer to my daughters due date i started feeling jealous towards some of my friends who were due a couple of weeks from my actual due date. Thinking they will get to take their babies home and not have to express every 3 hours or deal with oxygen etc. I also felt sad i had a c section as i wanted to do the whole natural birth this time around, i was ready. It all got taken away from me i felt.
thank you so much to everyone who has posted so far on this thread it means so much. I dont feel so alone now as i know their are so many others out there!
My premmie angel has been back in hospital this week, she had a reaction to immunisations on tuesday and they think she may have had a seizsure but not to sure. She started going blue and went lifeless followed by foaming at the mouth it was so scary. Just wonder whats going to be next!!!!! Going to get the rest done at the emergency dept on thursday.
*~alegna~*
25-07-2009, 08:51
:crying::eek: gresh that is terrible. You are a very strong lady that's for sure.
I'm thinking of your little one.:flowerz:
TripleTime
25-07-2009, 09:10
Do you still hae to go back to the unit for your bains:
Not for brains as such, i had steroids at 23 weeks & no one had a brain bleed :yelclap:. Cause they were born under 30 weeks, we go back for prem clinic. went last week & dont go back for 3 months.
Yeah I felt ripped off too. I got really jealous seeing pregnant women as I knew I should still be pregnant. Hoping I can have the experience this time of having a huge belly. I won't know what to do with this baby if I can just "take her" home.
I got jealous as well. On day 5, i went to the chemist to get pain killers & they asked if they were for me (i looked like i was still 30 weeks preg, if only i made it that far). I said yes, they asked if id spoken to my OB about it cause they werent safe for pregnancy. I got really cranky.
wow ladies i am starting to feel as though my feelings are normal! I also felt ripped off, when it got closer to my daughters due date i started feeling jealous towards some of my friends who were due a couple of weeks from my actual due date. Thinking they will get to take their babies home and not have to express every 3 hours or deal with oxygen etc. I also felt sad i had a c section as i wanted to do the whole natural birth this time around, i was ready. It all got taken away from me i felt.
thank you so much to everyone who has posted so far on this thread it means so much. I dont feel so alone now as i know their are so many others out there!
My premmie angel has been back in hospital this week, she had a reaction to immunisations on tuesday and they think she may have had a seizsure but not to sure. She started going blue and went lifeless followed by foaming at the mouth it was so scary. Just wonder whats going to be next!!!!! Going to get the rest done at the emergency dept on thursday.
Definatly normal!! :yes:
The day i was discharged from hospital, i lost it when we walked out of NICU for the day. I broke down in tears, in a heap of the floor. DF didnt know what to do with me. I got so cranky at myself for doing it & felt like id let the kids down. I now know all those feelings are most defiantly normal.
Hears to hoping your little one will be fine :hugs:
UsThreeGirls
25-07-2009, 09:17
Oh no, how is she now? Is she still in hospital?
It must be so hard. Hope Thursday goes ok for you *hugs*
doing ok, but worried sick about thursday, wondering if i should get them done. i know she does need them.
UsThreeGirls
28-07-2009, 12:06
can you get them done at the hospital, so if there is a problem they can be straight onto it?
DoubleDelight
28-07-2009, 12:19
Hi to our new premmie mums. My youngest two were born at 31+5 due to a reverse flow and IUGR to Twin 2 aka our son. Funnily enough he needed no breathing assistance although our daughter was on CPAP for 8 days. Our NICU journey was a smooth one with us home in 27 days. Our daughter has consistently developed as a full termer whilst our little man has experienced quite a few delays but we've kept on top of things, luckily the support services for prems are very good.
I found having prems after having big full termers was an eye opener. The lack of understanding in general, the feelings of loss, failure and fear in what should be the most exciting time of your life raises challenges that are unexpected.
I think it's important to establish a support network of prem parents, because they will understand the journey you take.
TripleTime
28-07-2009, 15:25
I think it's important to establish a support network of prem parents, because they will understand the journey you take.
:iagree:
Question - Were your little Dude & Dudet born at the John Hunter?
DoubleDelight
29-07-2009, 13:15
Question - Were your little Dude & Dudet born at the John Hunter?
No we didn't come back to the Hunter until they were around 18mths old. They were born at Liverpool.
TripleTime
29-07-2009, 13:25
No we didn't come back to the Hunter until they were around 18mths old. They were born at Liverpool.
Fair enough
I found having prems after having big full termers was an eye opener. The lack of understanding in general, the feelings of loss, failure and fear in what should be the most exciting time of your life raises challenges that are unexpected.
Yeah, I found this too. DD & DS1 were both full termers, who did everything early & had no probs. DS2 & 3, were both born at 33 + 2, & it's been a total different journey.
pennylane
30-07-2009, 17:05
Its taken me a long time to get over having a prem bub,actually I dont know if you ever fully recover from that.I still get on edge when people comment on her size etc',I get REALLY defensive about it with some people (theres a few that constantly go on and on about her being small,YES I have noticed that lol)but its just because they dont know how far shes come and people that have always had healthy,full term babies really dont know what its like to have a NICU experience and not get to walk out of the hospital with your baby after you give birth.
DD1 was born at 33 weeks due to pre-eclampsia weighing 2 pounds 5 ounces or 1152 grams,she was on CPAP for 48hours,had jaundice and spent 2 weeks in NICU and four weeks in SCN.We were very lucky she did so well being so small.
We havent had any issues with her so far (she has pallid seizures now,but theyre not sure if thats related to being prem and theyre very rare and manageable) she turned 2 in June and while still being small for her age (10kgs) she's ahead in speech development,very beautiful and very very active.lol
We also have a 5 month old DD and my pregnancy with her was perfectly healthy.I had a c/sec with her because I have scar damage from my first c/section with DD1 and I took her home the day after my c/section,thats how desperate I was to get her home lol.I think I thought they would change their minds and not let me keep her,even though she was perfectly healthy I was so amazed that she was fine and I didnt have to leave her behind at the hospital that I just hobbled on out of there the first chance I got.HAHA
*~alegna~*
30-07-2009, 19:26
had a c/sec with her because I have scar damage from my first c/section with DD1 and I took her home the day after my c/section,thats how desperate I was to get her home lol.I think I thought they would change their minds and not let me keep her,even though she was perfectly healthy I was so amazed that she was fine and I didnt have to leave her behind at the hospital that I just hobbled on out of there the first chance I got.HAHA
This was me! I totally understand:hugs:
Misscharlie
31-07-2009, 13:06
H everyone,
I'm new to the internet chat thing. Great to see prem mums connecting.
I too had a prem (considered micro prem). DD was born at 24.5 weeks and was 530g.:baby:
Scariest time of our lives. Spent 170 days at her bedside in NICU. Great many heartahes and joys. The only place in the world where they encourage wait gain and get excited by a dirty nappy:laughing: A place to grow a sense of humour to remain sane
It was a hard journey but worth it to see my DD smile (she is now 6months corrected)
The worst things were the separation from my hubby,the emotional rollercoaster and the heart wrenching choices they have you make about the little ones care.:gloomy: Emotionally the guilt you feel when "it was not yours" and you felt sad for the other parents and relieved all at the same time.
The best thing was the friends you made. The support from complete strangers and how much human kindness there is in the world:hugs:
The hardest thing ( sounds stupid) but breaking away and bringing a small baby home on oxygen. The confusion started for us when we came home as you see different Drs and specialists from all areas who judge your DD development via a book. If she had been term they wouldn't be studying her so hard. Someone said sift it and take what you want from it.:detective:
I look back and think what a blur. I don't feel ripped off... well sometimes, I don't have any fat photos. But ripped off never just look at that smile.
I did do a diary when at NICU and continued it when at home including a treasure chest of photos and small significant keep sakes.
There are always things that make you feel a failure or if your going backwards.:hair:
Remember to play the cards your dealt and just look at the great smile that greats you of a morning
Great things come in small packages
TripleTime
31-07-2009, 19:44
H everyone,
I'm new to the internet chat thing. Great to see prem mums connecting.
I too had a prem (considered micro prem). DD was born at 24.5 weeks and was 530g.:baby:
Scariest time of our lives. Spent 170 days at her bedside in NICU. Great many heartahes and joys. The only place in the world where they encourage wait gain and get excited by a dirty nappy:laughing: A place to grow a sense of humour to remain sane
It was a hard journey but worth it to see my DD smile (she is now 6months corrected)
The worst things were the separation from my hubby,the emotional rollercoaster and the heart wrenching choices they have you make about the little ones care.:gloomy: Emotionally the guilt you feel when "it was not yours" and you felt sad for the other parents and relieved all at the same time.
The best thing was the friends you made. The support from complete strangers and how much human kindness there is in the world:hugs:
The hardest thing ( sounds stupid) but breaking away and bringing a small baby home on oxygen. The confusion started for us when we came home as you see different Drs and specialists from all areas who judge your DD development via a book. If she had been term they wouldn't be studying her so hard. Someone said sift it and take what you want from it.
I look back and think what a blur. I don't feel ripped off... well sometimes, I don't have any fat photos. But ripped off never just look at that smile.
I did do a diary when at NICU and continued it when at home including a treasure chest of photos and small significant keep sakes.
There are always things that make you feel a failure or if your going backwards.:hair:
Remember to play the cards your dealt and just look at the great smile that greats you of a morning
Great things come in small packages
littleone
15-08-2009, 20:23
I too had a prem (32+2) weighing 1575g. DD spent 5 weeks in SCN as we were regional and luckily she had no major medical probs to require us to fly to brissy. DD was concieved via IVF, the pregnancy was very stressful (no heartbeat at 1st scan, m/s till 28wks, contractions from 20wks meaning I had to limit all activity, borderline gestational diabetes then waters broke at 31+3). Our real problems started when DD came home. she screamed day and night as she had feeding and attachment problems, a cows milk protein intolerance and reflux. She also had plagiocephaly (flat head) as she had tight neck muscles (and nothing was done about it!) she needed 2 corrective helmets. She also had a "clicky hip" and was in a body brace for 12wks (with ongoing probs now).
The first 8 - 10 months were really tough, my husband is a shift worker and was often not home when she was really bad... it is very lonely and stressful in the middle of the night with a screaming bub on your own.
We also had no family or close friends as we had been moved with DH's work only a few months earlier.
DD is 18 months (16 corrected) now and is just gorgeous. She is just starting to walk and her speech is a bit delayed, otherwise she is doing well. We still have a lot of medical appointments for her (respiratory issues, hip problems, physio and now speech path) but it doesn't compare to what it was like in the first few months.
I felt the same emotions and anxieties as as the other prem mums have said, it really is nice to know your not alone and your feelings are normal.
I hope life is getting a little easier and your DD is growing stronger. I live on the north side of Brissy, if you would like to chat about anything please feel free to PM me, I understand how hard it must be without your DH around. :hugs: It will get easier.
I haven't been on the site for a little while so reading a few of your posts made me want to reply & give big hugs as well:hugs:.
Gresh08, I had a little tear when I read your thread.. I can't imagine going through all that without hubby around to help..
I had DD on the 22 November last year at 32.1 weeks premmie at the John Hunter in Newcastle. I had severe pre-eclampsia & he was born by emergency C section 12 hours after I wondered into the clinic to get checked out.. (womens intuition which was a life saver in the end!!!). He was born at 1260g but luckily all was well & continues to be.. we are blessed, but it doesn't make it any easier.. I still find it hard every day & went through a horrific time with breastfeeding, expressing, top ups, my emotions, hubbys emotions etc etc etc... hardest time of my life & sometimes I think I'm still not quite "right" for the lack of a better word but I know there are others out there just like me!!!
No-one else can possibly comprehend what you have been/going through unless they have been there themselves, that's why I love this forum. There is so much support out there which is fantastic!! I had/have a great network of family & friends but how do you tell them how you feel when you are trying to understand it yourself!!! Really hard..
Just know there are people out there that feel exactly like you do & that you are not alone:flowerz:
TripleTime
04-09-2009, 20:08
No-one else can possibly comprehend what you have been/going through unless they have been there themselves, that's why I love this forum. There is so much support out there which is fantastic!! I had/have a great network of family & friends but how do you tell them how you feel when you are trying to understand it yourself!!! Really hard..
Just know there are people out there that feel exactly like you do & that you are not alone:flowerz:
My Mum told me for weeks on end that she knew what i was going through. She had NO idea & still doesnt to this day.
The best support i found was in fellow prem parents on a support forum.
I also had my 3 at John Hunter last may.
sandy cheeks
05-09-2009, 10:27
Hi ladies/Girls:wave:
My dd was born at 33 weeks due to PROM she weighed in at 4lb4oz she was in nicu for the first few days as she contracted golden staph and has a rare and different blood group from me at one point they were considering draining her blood and re-infusing her thankfully this was avoided.
She spent 2.5 weeks in the scn of a big hospital over a hour away then moved to a small scn close to home for 2 weeks.
She was home at 5.5 weeks then lost weight, was very spewy and couldn't maintain her temp ended up back in hospital for 1.5 weeks where a dietian put her on fortified ebm and ff.
She started gaining weight and going from strength to strength she is now 15 months or 13 months corrected pead said she is doing fine last week :smiliedance: and she just over 10kg she's short but they say for a few years prems are a little smaller.
Lovely to hear your stories funny how we all have very simmular feelings towards being a prem mum Miss charlies post summed it up well.
Hope the prems are thriving
Wow sandy cheeks, your DD is very similar to my DS. He was born last May at 33 weeks, but weighed a little more at 2.4kgs.
I was induced due to Rhesus Incompatibility & he had a full blood exchange within hours of being born.
He is also now 15mths actual & is so close to cracking 10kgs. I haven't weighed him in a couple of weeks though, so maybe we're already.
I've actually just had another 33 weeker in May this year, but he's turning into a real chubber :smiliedance: so I'm hoping he won't have any weight gain issues.
Hope you're all having a great weekend :wave:
surfside01
07-09-2009, 00:20
Thank you for posting this thread, I had my prem on 19/05 and his due date was 10/07, so he was 8 weeks early due to my developing pre-eclampsia. I have been trying to find other mothers in similar situations or who have had premmie babies before to offer an insight as to what to expect. I did not know that colic and reflux were common!
I have noticed that altho my son is 9 weeks old, he should only be 12 days...so he really seems like a newborn..he was tube feeding up until 3 weeks ago but is thriving now..just still sleeps a lot and seems...newborn?
Any advice or insights would be most welcome, and my thoughts are with you all and your precious precious babies :cloud9:
Hi SilverSprite,
My girl Chloe was born 7 and a half weeks early beause I too got pre-eclampsia, she's thriving now but what your saying about your son acting like a newborn is perfectly normal. Despite being born early the brain doesn't always mature any faster, him still being sleepy is because his brain is still at the maturity of a newborns if you get my drift.. every baby is different though, he may start waking up alot all of a sudden or he may not, as long as he's happy and healthy he'll do what he wants when he wants :)