View Full Version : Catch up for Rockingham area Mum's!

Seraphim
18-07-2009, 14:15
Continuing on from the other thread, there seems to be a few of us so I thought i'd start a thread so we could possibly organise a catch up!

Does anyone have any ideas of child friendly places we could catch up?

If you are interested in coming along, it might be handy to have each of us post our details up here so we can keep track of where we're all from, and when we are free. :)

I will list all of our details below: Feel free to fill out the template and post it up so I can cut and paste it into this first post.

Name- Seraphim
Age- 28
I live in- Kwinana
Children- DD who is 4 & due with another 11.11.09
Times free to catch up- Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Fridays

Name- youngmumof3wa
Age- 24
I live in- Kwinana
Children- dd 4, ds 2, dd 5 months
Times free to catch up- Mondays, Wednesdays (mornings), Thursdays

Name- samanthamum
Age- 37
I live in- Waikiki
Children- DD's- 8 and 4
Times free to catch up- Any day except Tuesday and Thursday

Name- MumMyo3
Age- I'm 27
I live in- Cooloongup
Children- DD 5, DS 4 and DD 7 wks
Times free to catch up- Mon - Fri it will just depend on how many little rug rats I have with me on different days

Name- xygirl351
Age- 22
I live in- Kwinana
Children- DD who is 2 1/2yo
Times free to catch up: most days are good for us. Friday morning we cant do as DD does dance class

Name- Tracy
I live in- Baldivis
Children- Ben 2 and Jayden 6 months
Times free to catch up- Availablility depends on where we going, if its enclosed mon and tues, anywhere thur and fri

Name- benkatesmum
Age- 35
I live in- Safety Bay
Children- Ben 4, in September & Kate 7 weeks
Times free to catch up-

youngmumof3wa
18-07-2009, 23:35
Here's my details:

Kwinana
dd 4, ds 2, dd 5months
Mondays, Wednesday (mornings) thursdays.

samanthamum
19-07-2009, 00:17
Hi we have just moved to Waikiki from England. I have 2 Daughters aged 8 and 4 and would live to meet other mums in the area.

Seraphim
19-07-2009, 11:05
Hi Guys :wave:

I've added your details to the first post.

samanthamum- Welcome to Oz! How are you finding it over here? What times are you free to catch up with others? I'll put it into your details in the first post I made. :)

MumMyo3
19-07-2009, 19:03

Here are my details-

I'm 27
I live in Cooloongup
I have DD 5, DS 4 and DD 7 wks
I'm free to catch up Mon - Fri it will just depend on how many little rug rats I have with me on different days :-D

xygirl351
19-07-2009, 20:03
Name- xygirl351
Age- 22
I live in- Kwinana
Children- DD who is 2 1/2yo
Times free to catch up:most days are good for us. Friday morning we cant do as DD does dance class.

If we are looking at going during the day (while big kids at school) there is a new play centre in cockburn called Little Champs that is really nice. It is for kids ages 0-5

samanthamum
19-07-2009, 23:50
Hi Guys :wave:

I've added your details to the first post.

samanthamum- Welcome to Oz! How are you finding it over here? What times are you free to catch up with others? I'll put it into your details in the first post I made. :)

Hi its been a bit crazy cos weve had to find a house and car and furniture etc and im still wondering what school to send them to private or state. Hubby has found work starting 2mz so thats good. I'm sure we will settle in ok and hopefully the kids will make friends soon.
By the way i'm 37 if you want to add to your list and not sure what days are best til little one gets kindy dates.

Seraphim
20-07-2009, 12:04
More details added to the first post :)

Looks like most of us are free from Monday-Thursdays. What about if we pick Thursday 6th August? It's a few weeks away but gives us time to find somewhere to meet up and get to know each other a little through here before hand? If anyone wants to meet up before hand i'm up for that too though! Just throwing suggestions around :)

How's the weather eh? We had our fence and back patio wall blow down in the last storm and last night our side gate fell down! Anyone else been hit hard?

xygirl351- The little champs place sounds good...where about is it in cockburn? Have you been there?

samanthamum- it's always so crazy busy at the beginning when you first move. We moved to Melbourne 2 years ago and have just moved back, it was great but the moving in itself was awful! Hang in there :)

MumMyo3
20-07-2009, 15:55

Thursday 6th Aug sounds great, I will only have my bub that day :)

Seraphim, weather was insane last night. I can't believe how much hail we had here. There was still piles of it around on the ground at 8.30am this morning. Sucks about your fences and gate - what a pain in the butt!

So is anyone else hanging out for school to be back tomorrow? My DD and DS can't wait and it'll be nice to have a little bit of peice and quiet tomorro even if just for a few hours - love the little darlings but it'll be great to have them back at school :yelclap:

Samanthamum, what school is ur little one going to?

xygirl351
20-07-2009, 15:57
http://www.littlechamps.com.au/

This is the place

We went there last Friday and my DD loved it.
It is a small place but i really liked it.

Seraphim
20-07-2009, 16:12
MumMyo3- Yeah it was crazy! The wall was made out of limestone too, so not a flimsy one! Pretty powerful weather down this way that's for sure.

My DD will start kindy next year. She could've gone this year but her birthday was just before the cut off date (19th June) and we moved from Melbourne at beginning of term 2, and DH started working away at the same time so it was a really hard time for her. She started school but I took her out after 2 weeks, as I don't think she was ready. So, school for us next year and i'm hanging out for it! I think she is much more ready now, might have to start 1 day of family day care or something and have lots of catch ups with others to keep her from not being so bored!!

xygirl351- Thanks for the link. I reckon we give it a go!

I found this on the playcentre's website-

Mothers Groups and Play Groups Receive a Discounted Entry Price of $7.00 per Child. There's a form to make a booking for weekdays after 11am.

MumMyo3
21-07-2009, 15:26
Aaaahh! The sweet sound of peace and quiet! Kids are back at school :yelclap: but I just can't seem to get motivated today to do any cleaning etc. Maybe I will just enjoy today and do it all tomorrow.

Anyway hope that all you ladies are having a fine day :D

Seraphim
21-07-2009, 15:53
Ello! Ah yay for it being quiet at your house. Hope you've enjoyed your day!

Not so quiet around here. :laughing: I just wish the sun would stay out so we didn't have to be cooped up inside. DH is leaving to go back to work early though we found out today....he'll be gone for 4 1/2 weeks as of Thursday :crying: We really need the money though so we'll have to grin and bear it.

MumMyo3
21-07-2009, 17:13
Sucks that your DH has to go away for so long. My DF works away every second week Mon-Thurs, although its not all bad. Means that I get to have some time to myself at night when the kids are in bed. And my house always seems to stay cleaner the weeks that he is away so thats a bonus :)

It has been great today with the sun out. Its always hard when the kids have to stay inside for days on end. :sunshine:

I'm listening to my two big kids pouring through the Target toy catalogue at the moment, working out what they're going to "buy" each other. LOL "if you buy me Ben 10 then I'll buy you Dora", "well if you buy me Baby Born then I'll buy you this Spongebob here". Kids can be so cute sometimes. :yelclap:

Seraphim
21-07-2009, 19:55
Haha, that is cute!

Yes, sure does suck that he has to go away for so long, but the good side is that he gets the equal amount of time at home (except for this time- 3 weeks on, 2 weeks off due to going back early). HAHA our house stayed so much neater with DH gone as well!

We went down to the Rockingham foreshore today, was beautiful with the sun out. It quickly got freezing though when the sun disappeared.

samanthamum
22-07-2009, 01:04
My kids started school in Australia for the first time today and loved it! They spent all afternoon telling what had happened. So glad they enjoyed it. It was strange not having them around but nice to have a little break from all the moving we have done.
Anyway my youngest will be at kindy Tues and Thurs so we would be free to meet any days apart from those.

MumMyo3
22-07-2009, 12:58
Thats fantastic that they liked school. What school are they going to? My kids love going to school which is great, it makes it much easier to send them when they are happy to go. Its amazing how much they are getting taught at such a young age now.

Seraphim
23-07-2009, 10:44
Hooray for both of your kids enjoying school :) Must make life a heap easier!

tracynben
23-07-2009, 21:08
hi can you put me on the list too, only just see the thread

tracy
baldivis
2 kids, ben 2 and jayden 6 months
available depends on where we going, if its enclosed mon and tues, anywhere thur and fri

Seraphim
24-07-2009, 11:18
All added Tracy :)

It was suggested we'd go try out Little Champs in Cockburn on Thursday 6th August? You guys still up for that? I'm not fussed where we go!! Edited to Add- Just noticed samanthamum isn't free on Thursdays. What about a Monday? Looks like we're all free on a Monday.

I love the Rockingham foreshore for sunny days but obviously it's not that sunny at the moment. :laughing:

Hope everyone has a great day! Actually looks a little sunny out there and blue skies?! :yelclap:

tracynben
24-07-2009, 14:56
yeah monday is better for me, as lll have my eldest then who can play, on thurs hes in childcare and jayden too small and young to play on anything yet
tracy xxx

samanthamum
25-07-2009, 01:11
Hi thanks for being considerate bout my days. Monday would be ok for me but don't worry if you can only do the Thurs. I can come another time. Will keep a look out on here for when you arrange it.

MumMyo3
25-07-2009, 10:47
I'll have my lil man on Mondays too but i'm happy for any day :D Theres always the Funstation in Rockingham to go to too.

Hope everyone has a great weekend and enjoys the sunshine :yelclap:

xygirl351
25-07-2009, 11:20
I use to like the fun station untill i found little champs. There is so much more for them to do at little champs and no big kids to knock them over :)

Seraphim
26-07-2009, 14:06
Just thinking selfishly here....:o it'd be nice if more bigger kids could come so my DD (4) can play with some older kids...though she loves kids of any age! Maybe we could we make it the Monday instead of Thursday? samanthamum can come then too :)

My MIL took DD to little champs and she liked it but got bored after 30mins. My SIL has also been there and wasn't a big fan because it was so small, but i'm easy....don't mind where we go.

benkatesmum
31-07-2009, 19:31
Hi Mums,
I live in the Safety Bay, 35 and have two kids (Ben 4 in Sept and Kate 7 wks) and have not been in the area very long and would love to join a mothers group to meet some new people.
Noticed that you are meeting on Monday 6th August - do you have room for another mob? Would be great to hear back for someone.

Me - 35 :wave:
DH - 39 :hugs:
DS - 3 (nearly 4):yelclap:
DD - 7wks:flowerz:

Seraphim
31-07-2009, 19:40
Hi benkatesmum, of course! You're very welcome to join us :) I've added your details to the first post. If you'd like to mention what days you are free, I will add that too for you.

My daughter has just started Kindy (yesterday)on Mondays and Thursdays so now I won't be able to go on either of those days! GAH! :(

I don't think there is one day that suits all of us......bummer. Any suggestions? The little champs meet up on the 6th or 3rd can still happen of course, but I won't be able to be there on either day as me and my preggo belly wouldn't fit down the slide haha (DD is in Kindy both of those days).

In the mean time, if anyone wants to catch up individually, i'm up for that. We're bored and the suns out!!! :sunshine:

I'm on facebook if anyone wants to add me. PM me if you do and we can swap names or something.

tracynben
31-07-2009, 21:34
how about weds then and then u can make it?
Hows that with everyone else?
tracy xxx

Seraphim
31-07-2009, 21:40
Yup, a Wednesday would be perfect for us :)

MumMyo3
01-08-2009, 10:56
Wednesdays are good for me too

benkatesmum
01-08-2009, 13:46
Wednesdays are good for me.

tracynben
04-08-2009, 16:39
whats happening about tomos, are we still up for a meet at little champs?
time?

i went to little champs last week, brill place apart from one thing, its quite small, so if we go when its busy, i dont know how lots of prams are going to fit in, but it is much nicer than funstation.

tracy xxx

Seraphim
04-08-2009, 19:56
Gees! Wednesday has come around SO quickly.

I can still make it, probably next week would be better though.

Should we make it 1pm @ Little Champs for those that want to come along?

Should we wear something so we can recognise each other or just go up to each other/strangers and ask?! LOL.

tracynben
04-08-2009, 20:37
i cant make it for 1pm, i got someone picking somethin up at 2pm so have to be home, but can do next week
tracy xxx

Seraphim
04-08-2009, 20:43
Ah no worries. Yeah how bout we make it for next Wednesday the 12th @ 1pm?

I don't know how the time has gone so fast!!!!

benkatesmum
04-08-2009, 21:07
Little Champs next week Wednesday 1pm will be good. Just got back from my Mum and Dads place today (they live up Geraldton way) and after 5hrs in car with a nearly 4 yr and 8 wk old by myself I feel a touch exhausted. With recognizing each other how about we tie a yellow ribbon around pram/stroller/backpack/handbag (take your pick) better than walking trying to figure out whos who. By the way how long will it take to get from Rockingham to Little Champs??

Seraphim
04-08-2009, 21:24
Oh gees, how draining!!! I spent 3 hours in the car non stop today with my 4 year old and man was it hellish!

Sounds good about the yellow ribbon.

I think it would take about 20-30mins from Rockingham?

leeplus4
10-08-2009, 12:42
:wave:hi everyone im a 29 year old mum with 4 kids, 3 boys aged 4 10 + 11 and 1 girl aged 10. And i am sick of sitting around the house, i dont really have any other mums to chat with and would love to meet for coffee and chats.

tracynben
10-08-2009, 16:40
hi leeplus4v welcome.
ur welcome to join us on weds at little champs at 1pm , are we all still on for it ?
tracy xxx

leeplus4
11-08-2009, 11:50
I would love to meet up at little champs but i dont drive, i have had driving lessons but im a bit too :onervous driving but i will get it one day:fingerscrossed:. Anyway i will definitely meet up when ever you are all meeting up closer to home.

tracynben
11-08-2009, 16:28
is anyone going to little champs tomos, im only gonna turn up if someone posts on here they going, as its 20 mins drive for me, and i dont wanna go all that way and on one turn up
tracy xxx

benkatesmum
11-08-2009, 19:15
I dont know about anyone else but I will be there at 1pm with my yellow ribbon - hope we get a few Mums come along!

Seraphim
11-08-2009, 20:17
Sorry everyone, I can't make it tomorrow. DD's kindy teacher has asked me at short notice to come in at 10am to have an initial chat as DD has just started. I also have a delivery coming at 3pm that I need to be home for. I'll be really rushing if I come, and I don't do ''rushing'' well so... I hope you guys have fun and I can come along next time :goodvibes:

benkatesmum
12-08-2009, 09:01
Sorry I am not going to make it today either we have had a death in the family not quite up to it.

tracynben
12-08-2009, 10:30
so sorry about it, i couldnt make it either, major problems with my sister.
tracy xxx

Seraphim
17-08-2009, 15:18
benkatesmum, sorry to hear that :(

smurfs
24-08-2009, 23:14
I live in Rockingham and have an 11 month old son. We have no family or friends in WA as I find it extremely hard to socialise with people. My sons only contact is with me and occasionally his father.

I was advised that my son needs to socialise with other children, and so I am making a huge step in typing this message and hoping to meet up and make new friends. Don't mind driving 20-30 minutes if need be.

shoopshoopshoop
02-09-2009, 17:31

I live near Rockingham area and would be happy to catch up. How about we arrange to meet on the Rockingham foreshore when it warms up a little?

melinc
03-09-2009, 16:58
hey smurfs hope to organse a catch up soon so we can get you and your son out and about meeting a few of us other mums with bubs!
I'm in Baldivis which is only a stones throw from Rockingham, so happy to
meet up where ever.

mel

Mum2BinJan
18-09-2009, 23:24
Hi, I'm moving to Baldivis next month - would love to catch up with some other mums in the area. Have a 7 month old boy.

smurfs
08-10-2009, 23:44
Sorry I haven't checked back on this thread until now. I have had lots of stuff going on!

Looking forward to a 'meet-up' now the weather is warming up. :)

tracynben
09-10-2009, 13:05
anyone up for a meet on weds?
ANy suggestions?
tracy xxx

melinc
12-10-2009, 01:31
we're good. weather is going to be nice so how bout a park?

tracynben
12-10-2009, 14:13
yeah park good with me, which one do u fancy, any ok with me?
Best times for me either 9.30-11am or between 1.30- 3.30pm
tracy xxxx

melinc
12-10-2009, 22:46
I don't know any other parks down here except Steel Tree at the mo, so you decide and tell us and we shall be there :)
Oh and prefer PM meet up time for us.

mel x

mythreelittlemonkeys
01-11-2009, 04:59
smurfs...was going to suggest perhaps you could also go to the Ngala playgroup in Rockingham...the ladies that run it are lovely (they also do one here in Kwinana) and I have met some of the Mums from the playgroup and they seem really nice too...I think their details etc are on the website...they would also be able to point you in the right direction for other mum groups...
also check out the www.kwinanakids.com website for 0-5 activities in Kwinana...

brown4
09-11-2009, 01:03
Hi all I live in the rockingham area and would love to catch up with some other mums....especially now the weather is getting warmer. I have two bubs home with me full time 15 mth old and 4 mth old..:)

melinc
12-11-2009, 02:55
the rocko foreshore is also a great place to catch up too..
i know DS loves the play equipment there.. and I don't mind the coffee
from the merchant tea house

mel x

mummaracer
13-11-2009, 20:59
Hi Ladies, Im 34 weeks and would love to meet up with ladies due around the same time, especially now I have finished work! :)

Mum2BinJan
22-11-2009, 17:11
Hi all, I've just moved down to Baldivis and need to meet some other mums as I don't know anyone in this area. I have a 9 month old son. Message me if you would like to catch up.

minties
25-11-2009, 16:38
Hi Rockingham mummies,

though some of you might be able to answer a question for me.

I am planning to have bubs at Rockingham hospy and the Dr faxed my booking in forms to them about 2 1/2 weeks ago. He said they would contact me for a booking in appointment but I havent heard from them yet. Do I need to call them? How far along were you ladies when you had your appointment? I'm nearly 22 weeks btw.

Thanks for your help, hope to meet up with you all once bubs arrives!

tracynben
25-11-2009, 17:12
i cant remember how far i was when i had my booking in appt at the hospital, its normally the hospital who ring you to arrange the appt, or send a letter throught the post, just give the hospital a call first, and see whats going on
tracy xxx

jac7
01-12-2009, 12:50
Ive just moved from perth down to rockingham, i have a 9 month old daughter and would love to make some new friends. I was thinking of going down to the foreshore on thursday or friday cause it willl be nice weather if anyone wants to join me.

tracynben
01-12-2009, 16:29
Ive just moved from perth down to rockingham, i have a 9 month old daughter and would love to make some new friends. I was thinking of going down to the foreshore on thursday or friday cause it willl be nice weather if anyone wants to join me.

hi there
wont be free on thurs or fri, but free on tues and weds if u want to do anything.

Was thinkin now the weather is gettin better does anyone want to do anything regualr.
tracy xxx

jac7
02-12-2009, 11:15
Yeah something regular every wednesday or something sounds like a good idea:-)

jac7
03-12-2009, 16:44
Im going to the foreshore 10am tomorow morning if anyone wants to join me. i think there is 2 or 3 other mums also meeting me there.
i will have a yellow balloon and will be at churchill park kind of across from the newsagent.
I think its going to be nice and warm so im bring my bathers:-)
hope to see you there

tracynben
03-12-2009, 21:16
Im going to the foreshore 10am tomorow morning if anyone wants to join me. i think there is 2 or 3 other mums also meeting me there.
i will have a yellow balloon and will be at churchill park kind of across from the newsagent.
I think its going to be nice and warm so im bring my bathers:-)
hope to see you there

av a great time, sorry cant join u, im workin
tracy xxxxx