View Full Version : well I just picked up a copy of marie clare....

em1984
12-07-2009, 17:54
And I spotted one of our fellow bub hubbers in an article! :D It was an article about the pressures around how women birth and the ways in which they are treated (whether it be for having a c-section, homebirth, free birth etc) and I just have to say I think she made an amazing, informative, relevant and really lovely contribution to it :thumbsup:

Not going to name names in case she doesnt want me to, although its pretty obvious by her kids names :yes: (and she probably has no idea who I am and may think im a crazy stalker woman, but i've just seen her name pop up in threads a bit).

But yeh, its a good read and highlights the way us women really put pressure on ourselves and how much we really judge each other quite badly for something we should be supporting each other in! We really are our own worst enemy at times!

Anyway, feel free to contribute opinions (well more than what I have, I'm a little brain dead today), i'd be interested to hear what other people think!

mummy2lilly
12-07-2009, 17:59
Sounds quite interesting might have to pick my self up a copy tonight to give it a read.

Luna Lovegood
12-07-2009, 18:00
I noticed this as well...was a interesting article...in some ways...

Refresh
12-07-2009, 18:02
OH, whoooooo?

I don't normally buy magazines but Marie Claire is pretty good....might have to get me a copy on Tuesday:)

em1984
12-07-2009, 18:03
I noticed this as well...was a interesting article...in some ways...

Why do you say in some ways?

I have to agree in that I think it lacked a great deal of substance, it kind of seemed to skim around the edges iykwim. It was the personal experiences I found interesting to read and really relevant. It also didnt give enough on freebirth i thought, except mainly negatives of it which I didnt think was really fair. The same for homebirth too I suppose, although it seemed to support that a bit more. It focused a lot more on c-sections, but then maybe that was the intent?

CrankyAndTired
12-07-2009, 18:08
I know who you're talking about and I don't think she was very happy with what she was quoted as saying! (i.e. she was misquoted!!)

MothersMilk
12-07-2009, 18:10
Oh that reminds me i contributed something that was apparently going to go in some mag - but it was so long ago i have forgotten what one and when it was :laughing:
A pregnancy mag i think...

em1984
12-07-2009, 18:11
I know who you're talking about and I don't think she was very happy with what she was quoted as saying! (i.e. she was misquoted!!)

oh really?? Do you know what she was misquoted on??

Refresh
12-07-2009, 18:12
Tell us the names of her kids! :D I wanna know whooooooooooooooo

CrankyAndTired
12-07-2009, 18:15
oh really?? Do you know what she was misquoted on??

I think they twisted her words, but I'm not 100% sure which parts and I dont want to speak out of turn..

I've sent her a link to this thread so she might come in and tell you the details. :)

Izy
12-07-2009, 18:17
Dang it... which marie claire is that? Whats on the cover?

Fuchsia!
12-07-2009, 18:30
who was it?

Luna Lovegood
12-07-2009, 18:30
Why do you say in some ways?

I have to agree in that I think it lacked a great deal of substance, it kind of seemed to skim around the edges iykwim. It was the personal experiences I found interesting to read and really relevant. It also didnt give enough on freebirth i thought, except mainly negatives of it which I didnt think was really fair. The same for homebirth too I suppose, although it seemed to support that a bit more. It focused a lot more on c-sections, but then maybe that was the intent?

I have read what the person has wrote on here and it didn't match. Perhaps I have misunderstood what she meant on here and the article was more accurate.

I was biased. I think it should have pointed out birthing options without prejudice.

It really could have spoke of birthing center's, and alternative hospital options for vaginal birth.

Dang it... which marie claire is that? Whats on the cover?

This months...:) Cover is grayish...

Izy
12-07-2009, 18:37
I think I managed to miss the article and left it in NSW with my SIL cause I had read it :banghead:

SalTheGal
12-07-2009, 18:37
Wow...would love to know who it was!! We have a celebrity in our midst!

Haven't seen this months Marie Claire....and I am presuming your not referring to last months which covered women who have orgasms whilst in labour :D now that was an interesting story!!

Izy
12-07-2009, 18:40
Actually I think that was the latest one I read Sal. I think I want to approach labour thinking pleasure is ok :o

I doubt I'll be one of those (what was it... >1%?) But it would be nice to avoid all pain and subsequently pain relief :thumbsup:

jag5000
12-07-2009, 18:41

:o

studyingECS
12-07-2009, 18:43

Was waiting for you Jo.:flowerz:

SalTheGal
Ah Izy.... get yourself in the right headspace and ANYTHING can happen.....can't wait to hear all bout it :p

delirium
Was it you Jag? Do tell :yes:

fox_girl
12-07-2009, 18:44
That explains your signature Jag.

em1984
12-07-2009, 18:46

im sorry to embarass you :hugs:

Just noticed your sig.... fill us in!!!

KatiesMum
12-07-2009, 18:49
Jo - :hugs:

I haven't read it (yet) but I am so sorry hun.

I know how excited you were about doing it and getting your message out there.

To be so unhappy with what they said must be so disappointing and horrible for you.

:hugs::hugs::hugs:

Fuchsia!
12-07-2009, 18:56
as soon as i read the thread i thought it would be Jag!

jag5000
12-07-2009, 18:57
yep, it was me.

Wasn't terribly happy with it unfortunately. Others that have read it thought it was good, but I just didn't think it represented my thoughts and indeed me well at all. I was REALLY unhappy about the headline! Something along the lines of 2 different 'sides' one saying 'she's too posh to push' the other (presumably me) saying 'she'd be crazy to birth at home'. I think that anyone that knows me AT ALL would never believe I said that.. and I didn't.. but it certainly seemed like I did. We (the journalist and I) talked about a lot more issues than was mentioned. I'm getting over it now.. just was unhappy as I thought I was being given an opportunity to represent my view, namely being, that ALL birth choices should be respected, but I just don't think I came across that way.

not to mention that the photo SUCKED! they did my hair and makeup in such a horrible way and I can't believe that from a photoshoot that lasted about 2 hours that was the best pic they got! I look about 5 months preg FFS.. I also think they made me look 'snooty', which I am NOT. Just more of the C/S birthing stereotype :(

the photo is the least of my worry about it really though.

delirium
12-07-2009, 19:00
That blows Jag :thumbsdown: I've heard of this sort of thing happening before.

Izy
12-07-2009, 19:02
That sux! I may have to send in a letter to the editor about how disappointed I was to see my friend misquoted...

And I so can't wait to see the article now!

MothersMilk
12-07-2009, 19:03
That really sucks Jag :( :hugs:

gizmoduckus
12-07-2009, 19:08
Awww Jag :(

I haven't read it but if I did and I had realised it was you, I would have known that you wouldn't of said it that way. You are one of the most non-judgemental person on the hub.

BabelFish
12-07-2009, 19:13
That sucks. That's horrible. I thought about being a journalist once and then decided that most of them are pond scum. We should draft a letter from the collective members of BubHub saying how disappointed we all are. AND pointing out how often we disagree on the very things discussed in that article - but that we all agree on a woman's right to choose.

MountainGirl
12-07-2009, 19:13
Bugger Hon! But I am still going to go and buy it!!!

Reminds me,.... Rafferty and I have a piece written (by me) in the next Cosmo Pregnancy issue,..with photo,..... onsale August!:D

em1984
12-07-2009, 19:14
That does really suck, im so sorry you were dissapointed with it... And I;m sorry if i drew more attention to it, spose it at least gives you the chance to clear it up for us all. For what its worth I didnt see you as being against other birth choices at all, just giving a voice to those that have had c-sections for reasons other than being 'too posh too push' and giving people a clear picture of the crap you are sometimes up against... I've seen plenty of your posts on here that have well an truly indicated your true beliefs and the article didnt make me doubt that at all....It really was a small article considering the subject matter, so i spose what you said would have been culled down somewhat? I dunno, but again sorry you werent happy with it :(

jag5000
12-07-2009, 19:34
that's fine Em! no need to be sorry! :hugs:

It's not that bad I 'spose.. not mis quoted as such, just mis represented... and like I said.. the fact that the pic sucks just adds salt to the wound :p .. at least I got to put a few of my own pics in there.. one about 3 hours after flynn's birth and one OF his birth.. yep, that's right, it's only a small pic, but my admomen sliced open is there for all to see! :D .. I never got around to signing a release form for that to be printed, DH has said we should make some money out of them! j/j ;)

look forward to seeing your article SJR! :)

MothersMilk
12-07-2009, 19:42
Bugger Hon! But I am still going to go and buy it!!!

Reminds me,.... Rafferty and I have a piece written (by me) in the next Cosmo Pregnancy issue,..with photo,..... onsale August!:D

Ahh that's the one i was supposed to be in. I guess my story was cut since i have heard anything since. :(

PunkyDiva
12-07-2009, 19:43
That sux! I may have to send in a letter to the editor about how disappointed I was to see my friend misquoted...

And I so can't wait to see the article now!

There's a web site addy you can comment about article on.

We have a copy of the mag that's being shared around our mum's group cause it's horrendously expensive. I know I'm an old fart but mags only used to be a few bucks.

Personally, knowing Jag extremely well in r/l and having very differing opinions to her I was actually quite suprised at the article and didn't think JAG was made out "bad", for want of a better word.
It certainly wasn't a great article in terms of just copying a lotta stuff about births word for word from other articles but what JAG was quoted a saying was interesting.
I still cannot work her out :laughing: she is an enigma I reckon and I lurve her all the same or maybe it's just because she likes a tipple of vino and a good banter.:hugs:
JAG ROCKS !!

12-07-2009, 19:57
Awww hun I remember us talking about this before it came out & you were hoping it was going to get across your feelings about womens birth rights etc !

Bugger !

Now I am going to have to go stand in my local Woolies & read it :laughing:

Its all good though we know what you will have been trying to say :hugs::thumbsup:

DreamBelieveAchieve
12-07-2009, 20:14
IMO its a teriffic well written article but as Jag said it didn't really portray her true opinion on the births women chose.

At least it doesn;t make you look like a t00l!

P.S - I thought the photos were lovely :)

em1984
12-07-2009, 20:23
yeh I thought the photos were lovely too! Especially the one with you and your little man, the look on your face is of pure love, I thought that even before I knew it was you. You just look so proud and so into your bubba, honestly, you just look blistfully in love, its beautiful :)

jag5000
12-07-2009, 20:37
awwh .. thanks PD, DBA, Ally, Em and all :hugs:

I know I puzzle you, don't I PD?? :laughing: I love it! haha .. you just can't get that I can be on the 'crunchy' side of parenting with so many things and still choose elective C/S :p .. but you accept me for who I am, and that's just one of the many reasons I luff ya!

oh yeah .. don't go and buy it! LOL .. I did but, well, ya know, I'm in it! If you really want to see if I'm sure you can get a quick peek at a newsagent before they get upset! hehe

Pax
13-07-2009, 10:40
hey Jag do you have a PDF version saved? would love to have a read ....

In a few years to come you will have a little giggle at them making your hair and makeup to suit their story.

Typical media hey.:hugs:

PunkyDiva
13-07-2009, 10:43
Yeah Jag too bad it was done before you get your dreadies :laughing: I wouldn't be the only puzzled one.

dillydAlly
13-07-2009, 10:51
Good On you Jag for saying your bits..... even though it was eventually misquoted.......:rolleyes:

The problem any magazine article faces is that once the story is documented and they have all the information "they" want they can manipulate it as they see fit. You have to contend with legal standards (has to go through lawyers) as well as the agendas of the publishers and editors...

For example, the Editor may be someone who doesn't believe in homebirth so therefore she is less likely to include alot of the information about that... She might even cut it out all together....

Oh and I'm sure Marie Claire always likes to stir the "too posh to push" debate :no:...........

Great Pics btw!

Jakois
13-07-2009, 10:53
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:Jag.

I know how much it upset you when you found out how you were misrepresented :hugs::hugs:.

I think they are Poo for doing that to you:thumbsdown:.

Teegzie
13-07-2009, 11:55
Now I am going to have to go stand in my local Woolies & read it :laughing:

I think that's what I'll do too! :p

jag5000
13-07-2009, 11:58
hey Jag do you have a PDF version saved? would love to have a read ....

In a few years to come you will have a little giggle at them making your hair and makeup to suit their story.

Typical media hey.:hugs:

I suppose I could scan it? I don't have a digital version. I had to go out and buy the mag myself.. I was a bit miffed I didn't even get a free copy! LOL

jag5000
13-07-2009, 12:02
Yeah Jag too bad it was done before you get your dreadies :laughing: I wouldn't be the only puzzled one.

:laughing::laughing::laughing:

the hippy feral woman who's too posh to push!! lol .. that would have gone over a treat! :p
I just wish I had of had my pink hair then!

MountainGirl
13-07-2009, 12:04
have you got your dreads yet Hon???? I am thinking about getting dreads too!!

jag5000
13-07-2009, 12:16
I've still only gotten around to doing my 2 lonely little dreadies! hehe
but have found a lovely gal who will do them for me..so fingers crossed very very soon!

eta: don't you have short hair MG?

MountainGirl
13-07-2009, 12:18
I've still only gotten around to doing my 2 lonely little dreadies! hehe
but have found a lovely gal who will do them for me..so fingers crossed very very soon!

eta: don't you have short hair MG?

bahahaha! Do the 2 look feral!?

I have really really short hair,....but you can get dread extensions,.....:yes:

MountainGirl
13-07-2009, 12:21
I am thinking something like this,..

http://pro.corbis.com/images/42-16679585.jpg?size=572&uid=%7BD701447A-4A25-4D64-A226-8C787BF232FB%7D

jag5000
13-07-2009, 12:22
it's probably a bit pathetic that I have even put beads on those 2! lol
I am thinking extensions too! but I'll go natural to start

they'll match your boots very well! :D

jag5000
13-07-2009, 12:23
OMG! that's the exact photo I have saved as my 'this is what I want' pic!! .. haha

MountainGirl
13-07-2009, 12:25
OMG! that's the exact photo I have saved as my 'this is what I want' pic!! .. haha

no way!! in the entire universe of the internet, we choose the same image?!?!?:laughing:

I am thinking about getting it done before Scarlett starts at conservative private school next year,.....and before I am too old and daggy!!!!

jag5000
13-07-2009, 12:47
I'm hearing you on that point! :D .. I'm going to hand in the enrolment papers for DD's catholic girls school this week BEFORE i have them done!

MooMum
13-07-2009, 14:10
yep, it was me.

Wasn't terribly happy with it unfortunately. Others that have read it thought it was good, but I just didn't think it represented my thoughts and indeed me well at all. I was REALLY unhappy about the headline! Something along the lines of 2 different 'sides' one saying 'she's too posh to push' the other (presumably me) saying 'she'd be crazy to birth at home'. I think that anyone that knows me AT ALL would never believe I said that.. and I didn't.. but it certainly seemed like I did. We (the journalist and I) talked about a lot more issues than was mentioned. I'm getting over it now.. just was unhappy as I thought I was being given an opportunity to represent my view, namely being, that ALL birth choices should be respected, but I just don't think I came across that way.

not to mention that the photo SUCKED! they did my hair and makeup in such a horrible way and I can't believe that from a photoshoot that lasted about 2 hours that was the best pic they got! I look about 5 months preg FFS.. I also think they made me look 'snooty', which I am NOT. Just more of the C/S birthing stereotype :(

the photo is the least of my worry about it really though.

Jag was this the woman who asked on BH for stories? I remember her, I pm'd her and said I was more than happy to give her my story if she gave me a professional email addy as I wanted to make sure she was who she said she was (I'm a suspicious little bunny!). But she got really funny with me then ignored me!

I'm sorry you were misrepresented :hugs: