View Full Version : smokers

julie35
25-06-2006, 22:38
What do people think about those who smoke?

passive smoking people who have kids/babies who smoke isnt this a form of child abuse...??.

Is smoking a form of longterm suicide because they know its killing them.?

They have banned smoking within the grounds of hospitals but do you think they should refuse people from this time from practicing in the medical health careers??

if i throw a piece of biodegradable paper on the ground and police see me they will fine me.....how many people this year in australia have been fined for throwing their cig butt on the ground?

SamanthaJane
25-06-2006, 22:44
Oooh... this thread might get interesting;)

Personally it's their choice, i dont smoke and never will, i cant stand it.

Is smoking a form of longterm suicide because they know its killing them? Well science proves that smoking can cause cancer, cancer in most cases causes death but you are just as likely to get hit by a bus and die anyway.

I hate smoking near public entrances to shopping centres, cinemas etc. I've been extremely sensitive to the smoke from others ever since i was pregnant. So i find it a bit disrespectful that i have to put up with breathing it in every time i walk into the entrance of my local shopping centre. Ick :barf:

damien's mum
25-06-2006, 22:47
There is so many other threads on smoking....
If you read them, u might get the response u are looking for..
Walking across the road and not looking could kill you..
As could a muderer...
As could driving drunk...
Its just not smoking, and yes i am a smoker... If the goverment cared enuff for its people, they would take it off the market, but they wont they get tooo much $$

rynosmum
25-06-2006, 23:03
I just saw an interesting ad on TV that from July1, anywhere where food or drink is served (indoors or outdoors) will be smoke-free.

I can't help thinking how fantastic this will be when we take DS out for brekky or lunch on the weekend. I do get very protective when someone lights up at a table near us and DS is in the path of the smoke.

I have an allergy to tobacco smoke myself which is also an issue.

The world seems to be changing.

SamanthaJane
25-06-2006, 23:09
Is this everywhere ryno's mum? or just certain states??? Sounds lovely to me!:yes:

misskittyfantastico
25-06-2006, 23:15
I smoked a pack or more a day for ten years. I stopped when I found out I was pregnant with DD.
It was the hardest thing I've ever done. Harder than childbirth. But I did it and I know that any one can stop smoking. They just have to want to.
To all smokers...you can stop if you want to. It's that simple and that difficult.

25-06-2006, 23:18
Is this everywhere ryno's mum? or just certain states??? Sounds lovely to me!:yes:
QLD! We're quite an anti-smoking state which is fantastic!

I am of the opinion and smoking it just a long, drawn out suicide (but most of our life choices are) and I'll never agree with smoking near children. I don't know that I could be so extreme as to call it abuse, but it certainly is disgusting and thoughtless.

MissSparkle
25-06-2006, 23:39
how many people this year in australia have been fined for throwing their cig butt on the ground?

My Brother in-law got fined the other day for throwing a butt out his car window and one of DF's mates got fined the same day for dropping one on the foot path. Its a start....

Im a social smoker, I quit when I was pregnant but started slowly once I stopped BF as I'd put on so much weight and the only thing that stopped me snacking was smoking. I'd never smoke around DS (Don't think he's ever seen me smoke) nor around anyone elses child.

TinyStar
26-06-2006, 01:39
Unfortuneately it's an addiction. In time it will die out as it becomes socially unacceptable.

I agree that smoking around kids is just selfish and inconsiderate, as is smoking around pregnant women, or people eating.

Killing yourself is your choice, just dont force it others around you.

One time there was a lady smoking at an outdoor eating place and DH said in a very loud voice that it wasn't nice for people around, especially as my wife is preg. Anyway she put out the cigga and got up, then we realised she was at least as pregnant as me!

BlueGin
26-06-2006, 03:03
Interesting questions, I guess in way I see smoking close to kids as child abuse... as people know so much these days about the potential risks. On the other hand, I would be more worried about people drinking too much around kids.

I do think that the Government only allow it to stay legal because it makes so much money, which is a sad state of affairs.

I heard of a study some years ago about the effect of cigarettes on the lungs, apparently someone living in clean country air smoking a pack a day will have the same amount of gunk in their lungs as a non-smoker living in a major city. Food for thought. I think a lot of the fumes in the city come from exhaust and factories, but the expense of switching to green energy seems to put the "powers that be" off.

A long drawn out suicide? I personally don't feel that is so, excess drinking is more of a concern for me.

CarolineF
26-06-2006, 07:08
I don't like it, but i understand it is personal choice and it is legal.

However, I have been angered to the point of having to say something when I see people who smoke not just in front of their children, but also others who they know suffer from asthma or other heart and lung problems incl their kids. They believe the inhaler will sort out the problem should their kids have an asthma attack:mad:

Makes me so cross...and I do believe that is child abuse.

jessgray
26-06-2006, 09:48
i recently heard on the news that the nsw goverment owns a large chunk of the tobacco company that makes long beach smokes.

SammyD
26-06-2006, 10:09
Australia is a free country :thumbsup: , so if people want to smoke then that's their decision. BUT... I deeply resent having to walk through a cloud of smoke to get into a shopping centre, or sitting in an alfresco dining area with a smoker at the next table - I choose not to smoke - why should I have to breathe in other people's smoke?

I truly feel sorry for smokers. I used to be one, so I can understand how their addiction gets in the way of their ability to make sensible decisions about their health and the health of those around them. IMO the more places that are declared smoke free the better.

Verdi
26-06-2006, 11:48
If people want to smoke it's their choice, but it is also my choice not too smoke, so having someone blow smoke into my face is not my choice!!! My husband is a musician so i go to alot of night spots, it seems that the smokers enjoy the outing but us non smokers come home with passive smoke in our lungs!!
I used to be a nurse so i have seen the consequences of smoking, and yes some nurses smoke and that angers me even more, although it's their right, but i do agree that health care workers should not smoke.

In a way i also do feel sorry for smokers as it is an addiction!!!! A very strong addiction.

What gets my blood boiling is, 1 don't see it often but when i do gees it angers me, when a mum that is obviously very pregnant and chain smoking!!!
Yes i saw it at Dromana last summer she had a beer can in one hand and a smoke in the other!!!! :thumbsdown:
What will happen to that unborn child!!!

I can now understand why some OBS (but do not necessarily agree, as we are all human beings) will not take you as a patient if you smoke and do not attempt to give up!!! I have seen to many children born with breathing difficulties and mums who heamorraghe from smoking. Then these mums go on to complain why their kids have ASTHMA!!!!
Well Hello?????????

my_lot
26-06-2006, 12:36
i agree with carolinef
i have friends that had a 3 months old with a chest infection in the middle of winter when they had just taken her home from hospital another friend called by and the three adults, mother, father and friend were in the closed up house smoking right by this poor little baby. i do believe that is child abuse.

Crissie
26-06-2006, 13:15
i smoke but quittin 2day- but i dont do it inside or in the car... when i was preg i quit but my mum (a heavy smoker 4 30 yrs) would go outside 4 a smoke even tho we lived at her house... she was amazing. i know ppl who smoke around there kids and thoes who go out of there way to smoke away from the kids.. my mates kid got ashma and ppl think its coz of havin the babe around smoke. but remember there r ppl like me and my other friends who do keep THEIR addiction away from there kids trying to quit is hard & if u'v never been addicted you wouldnt understand.

MeeG
26-06-2006, 13:24
i believe if u wanna smoke than smoke, but keep it to yourself jus cause u want to waste your money and breathe in toxice chemicals doesnt mean that non smokers should suffer, especially in clubs n pubs. im so happy about the new laws coming in because nothing makes me angrier than someone blowing there smoke in my face:mad:. i jus thnk some smokers need to be more considerate.

littlepickle
26-06-2006, 13:40
Hmmm..this one gets me too! I was standing at the bus stop last week and was sort of standing back a bit from the crowd when this guy comes along stands right next to me and lights up a cigarette! I couldnt believe it - I am SO obviously pregnant and went out of the way to stand away from everyone else and still someone came and lit is cigarette practically in my face:mad: I ended up moving further away again. I think a lot of people just dont think! The new laws coming in are really good, but I think that the government would probably be better off banning smoking in public places full stop

Crissie
26-06-2006, 13:57
hey i agree with thoes laws. it was my little girl who said mum whats this? at the park 1 day and picked up some1s dirty butt. i dont litter im a consiterate ex smoker! wen im not having a smoke i feel the same way as u girls its my thing not every1 elses

flo
26-06-2006, 14:08
IMO I think drinking in excess is worse because it alters your mental state and smoking doesn't or swearing around children(it just sounds so horrible).....I am the sort of peson that minds her own business- If I personally wouldnt smoke then I wouldnt butt into someone elses life and get annoyed a them....if they wanna smoke thats their business. My mum smoked with all 3 of us when she was pregnant and none of us have breathing problems, asthma, allergies. I never smoked while pregnant with my 3 children and they all have asthma and/or allergies. I think it is a good idea about not smoking around food/drinks/shopping exits, but lets all remember that we all probably do things that really annoy or put other peopls life in danger. Just about everything in society effects us and our children but we treat smokers very harsly..????Should people who speed be allowed to drive as this effects our children and us???? People are not getting annoyed at them but we are at smokers. i think this is a very good topic of discussion and agree that all points of veiw that have been expressed are very worthy...all people are entitled to their opinion.

Just remembered - yesterday while pulling into my driveway a man was pushing a very young child in a pram (under 6 mths) and he was also drinking a longneck of beer????

squiglet
26-06-2006, 14:18
I can't stand the smell of sig smoke. I have to move away from people who are smoking, and it makes me feel sick when some one sits next to me who smells of dirty stale smoke:barf:

I also get :mad: when I see people squashing their buts onto the ground and just leaving it there.

I don't think it is right to smoke around your children, or let anyone smoke around them. I see so many kids in cars with mum and dad smoking in the front seat, or bub being carried on a hip and mum with a smoke hanging out of her mouth:eek:

I come from a family thats smoked around their kids and it makes me very mad that my parents couldn't have cared less.

JATS
26-06-2006, 14:28
For many years people have known the risks smoking causes, anyone who started before that ok its an addiction and they were already hooked, but anyone who took it up SINCE THEN is an idiot. It's unattractive, it's unhealthy, you'r clothes stink, where is the appeal?

And yes I know many people who smoke.

My father refuses to quit even though he has been told it's killing him.
Even though I begged him to quit so he'd be around when Tommy is older.
Even though my mother told him "me or the smokes" because he was killing her too (asthma) and he threw away his family because he didn't want to throw out the smokes.:mad: [text deleted by moderator]
When I found out my sister, (16 at the time) in the throws of depression took it up, I was on her back like lightning and managed to get her to quit before she was hooked. My sis and I are VERY close and there was no way in hell I'd have let her abuse herself that way.

She said it actually helped her self esteem that I cared enough to do that, at the same time it upsets her that everyone else looked the other way, "her body her problem" attitude.

I wish it'd be banned, but the government pockets alot of $$$ so I doubt it will be.

:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

Baby Girl
26-06-2006, 15:23
I am a smoker. I have assessed the risks to myself and those around me and I choose to do it.

I don't smoke around my kids, in the house or in the car. I wash my hands after every cigarette (unless the girls are not with me) and I have a smoking jumper that I put on when I go to have a smoke and take it off when I come inside. I don't think my kids should suffer because of my addiction and I try my hardest for that not to happen.

As for banning smoking in public places - indoor is totally acceptable but outdoors too - how far do they want to take it :rolleyes: If you are a non-smoker then why can't you sit away form people who are smoking rather than complain about it when they light up.

It is once again, another thing to enable one person to judge another and try to kerb a persons right to freedom of choice.

I am not directing this at anyone but more as a general comment -
I choose to smoke and you can choose not to but don't shove your non-smoking, holier than thou attitude at me and expect me to be okay with it - You are not better than me, nor vice versa so live and let live........;)

my_lot
26-06-2006, 15:35
I am a smoker. I have assessed the risks to myself and those around me and I choose to do it.

I don't smoke around my kids, in the house or in the car. I wash my hands after every cigarette (unless the girls are not with me) and I have a smoking jumper that I put on when I go to have a smoke and take it off when I come inside. I don't think my kids should suffer because of my addiction and I try my hardest for that not to happen.

they wont suffer at all if you get smoking induced health problems??

CarolineF
26-06-2006, 15:39
The difficulty with cigarette smoke is that gets everywhere. Even if you have segregated areas the breeze will carry the smoke and people are still affected.

Have you seen the fingers and teeth of heavy smokers? If it does that to their hands what on earth is it doing to their lungs?

My sis is a smoker. Even after a shower etc I can still smell it on her. It gets into clothes, hair, curtains, carpets, furniture..everywhere.

We don't smoke - its a habit I do not want my children to grow up and be accustomed to thinking that its alright. Its not and it kills. A
I do have some sympathy for smokers though, as it is a legal vice even if it kills.

Ange&Seth
26-06-2006, 15:42
I am not directing this at anyone but more as a general comment -
I choose to smoke and you can choose not to but don't shove your non-smoking, holier than thou attitude at me and expect me to be okay with it - You are not better than me, nor vice versa so live and let live........;)

Well said Schmell :thumbsup: Very diplomatic!!

CarolineF
26-06-2006, 15:46
-
I choose to smoke and you can choose not to but don't shove your non-smoking, holier than thou attitude at me and expect me to be okay with it [/B];)

As a general comment I think its actually quite rude and not diplomatic in the least. People have a right to state their views with thought and tact, and I'm afraid that lacks both. Sorry!:no:

Ana Gram
26-06-2006, 15:50
It's just as tactful as some of the other comments made here such as smokers are child abusers and so on.....

jaimie
26-06-2006, 15:52
I cant understand why anyone, especially parents would willingly take years off their lives, by smoking. Obviously there are many things in life but why not cut out the ones that pretty much guarantee a shorter (and unhealthier) life?
If you lived next to a factory/power plant that emitted cancer causing toxins you would move yourself and kids away wouldnt you?
Im damn sure i would...so why would you put your and your kids health at risk by smoking?

SammyD
26-06-2006, 16:03
If you are a non-smoker then why can't you sit away form people who are smoking rather than complain about it when they light up.

schmell that's a perfectly legitimate point...but it would carry more weight if more smokers applied the same rule to themselves when deciding to sit & light up next to a table of non-smokers. at the end of the day, it's the smokers who are emitting the dangerous chemicals, and ultimately their responsibility to keep it to themselves!

Mamaduke
26-06-2006, 16:08
The NSW government knows what a 'good thing' smoking is...

The NSW government has reportedly invested in the owner of the world's biggest tobacco company.
The NSW Treasury has secretly purchased a significant stake in the owner of Philip Morris, which makes Marlboro and Longbeach cigarettes, News Limited reported on Monday.
It says the government has not disclosed the size of its investment in parent company Altria Group, but documents show it is a top-10 holding in one of Treasury's two international share portfolios.
NSW Cancer Council chief executive Andrew Penman said the government should ditch the Altria shares immediately.
"It is highly hypocritical for the government to convey strong personal health messages while at the same time profit by owning shares of a multibillion-a-year cigarette company," Dr Penman told News Limited.
Altria booked a net profit of more than $14 billion last year and owns seven of the top 20 cigarette brands around the world

Take millions in tax from cigarettes, spend millions telling us to quit...
and then invest millions in the companies that you're 'trying' to ban us from using....Makes perfect sense to me!!!!

tickle
26-06-2006, 16:13
Just a warning that if this thread continues to go off track it will be closed. I don't believe that anyone has been directly attacking anyone else, so it would be greatly appreciated if the comments about who is insulting who could stop and posts in regards to the OP's question be addressed.
HL:)

CarolineF
26-06-2006, 16:14
"Do as I say, not as I do"......typical politician!

Perhaps they could remove their investment and maybe...oh, lets see, invest in the failing hospitals and better education on what smoking does to you, your kids, your family, your pocket, your environment (do you know how many cig butts are lifted off the street????) Maybe if there was better education than just toes dropping off, people may realise that some of these things really can happen to them, and not just to other people.

But no, why try and save millions of dollars a year in saved lives and hospital resources? Oh how naive i am!!

SammyD
26-06-2006, 16:22
Maybe if there was better education than just toes dropping off, people may realise that some of these things really can happen to them, and not just to other people.

CarolineF I noticed in the saturday daily tele that since the new scary on-packet photos have been introduced, the monthly enquiries to quit-line have increased from circa-5000 to circa-9000, so maybe they are having a positive impact and encouraging smokers to quit.

Crissie
26-06-2006, 16:26
honestly i cant smoke outa a packet with that on the frunt i took em all out and used a old packet!! but now im quittin an that ad did help alittle

CarolineF
26-06-2006, 16:30
Sammy D - Thats great. Its a start.

I don't know how many people here have seen a lung cancer sufferer or seen the effect on the families?

A friend of mine back home found out her father had lung cancer in the February and he was dead by the May. He was in his early 50's. It was like a bombshell dropping on the family. She was off work for weeks and her 2 much younger sisters were simply devastated.

Dana Reeve - The late Christopher Reeves wife died a few weeks ago from lung cancer - she was not a smoker. She was diagnosed just a few months before her death. It was said she probably contracted the disease from her days as a singer in the clubs - passive smoking. I felt for their young son who had lost both parents in such a short space of time.

I just would not want anyone to go through this.

Going back to the Govt education bit - i am curious how many of the people here have been affected by the new Govt ads on the packs - has it changed their view points at all? Has it scared them? Has anyone on the bubhub decided to quit as a result of them? If not, why not?:detective:

SammyD
26-06-2006, 16:39
I don't know how many people here have seen a lung cancer sufferer or seen the effect on the families?

I lost my grandfather to lung cancer...he was a smoker all his life. I was too young at the time to fully understand what was going on, but my only memories of him are in bed, dying. My mum is still traumatised by his illness. She tells me what a wonderful man he was, I only wish I had had the opportunity to get to know him and to learn about and from him. You're right, CarolineF - this is the real issue here. Man, I'm going to cry!

Ana Gram
26-06-2006, 17:22
My grandfather died of lung cancer when I was 7. It didn't stop my father smoking, nor did it stop me from starting smoking.

The new packets don't affect me at all and they haven't affected anyone else I know persoanlly who is a smoker. The only people it really seems to affect is non-smokers.The last party I went to wee all compered which pictures we got and who had the best one.

CarolineF
26-06-2006, 17:28
The last party I went to wee all compered which pictures we got and who had the best one.

OMG, you are going to be swapping them soon like pokemon cards!!!!:eek:

Nice to see another govt initiative has had the desired effect!!!:thumbsup:

WeThree
26-06-2006, 17:40
Those pictures definetly had the desired effect on me, I have already quit, but am still occasionally tempted to have one. I think most people who smoke find the whole thing funny (ie the pics on the cigarette packets) or genuinly believe it wont happen to them, until it actually does, and by then it is usually too late. You cant understand how truly horrible lung cancer or something similiar is either. I nearly died from smoking, when I was only 26 years old, Ive told this story on here before, but im going to tell it again. I was on life support in intensive care for several weeks, then along recuperation in a Sydney hospital and I almost lost my DD, who I was pregnant with at the time. My lungs now only function at 60% capacity. I cant begin to describe how awful it was and I can assure you, it is not a matter of IF you die a hideous death from smoking, but WHEN. To all my lovely friends here who smoke, please please try to quit, for your sake and your children, I nearly left my children without a mother because of my addiction, and it CAN happen to you, dont leave you babies all alone. :no:

Ana Gram
26-06-2006, 19:10
OMG, you are going to be swapping them soon like pokemon cards!!!!:eek:

Thanks for the new game idea.

CarolineF
26-06-2006, 19:39
just hang on whilst I patent or copyright that idea.:idea: :idea: :idea:

heymamma
26-06-2006, 20:22
I'm not a smoker...& i hate it when i see people smoking in the car with the kids in the back...but there's nothing i can do.
But to all these people bagging out the smokers about how they are destroying there health or there kids etc....just stop & think...well if the smokers are bad for smoking...then what about people that eat takeaway...macca's kfc, pizza etc...does that make them bad people cause its doing the same thing....its killing them,,, I mean i eat a heap of fatty food...i know i shouldnt cause it is bad for your health, but i still do.... Now we do let our kids have takeaway somtimes..but does that mean all those people out there that let there kids have takeaway or somthing unhealthy to eat, are abusing there children?

People are always going to find something to criticize about.
BTW im not tryin to be nasty i just wanted to mention that.....because i have seen alot of people say they eat takeaway in other threads.....so would you like to be attacked for that...just think about it.

Verdi
26-06-2006, 20:30
Interesting point, But you can not put smoking and junk food in the same category. Smoking is a carcenogenic substance, you are putting smoke into your lungs ( almost like puting your organs on fire). You are burning your insides.
Food is needed for our body's to function, eating fatty foods in MODERATION is not going to kill you.(infact you need a small amount of fat in your diet)
All degrees of smoking does major harm!!!

Although i can see your point of view!!! We do have a national obestiy problem!:(

misskittyfantastico
26-06-2006, 20:50
As a former smoker. I can tell you that smokers KNOW what they're doing is killing them but just ignore it.
The difference between smoking and alcohol to me is that my child doesn't have to have a drink just because the person next to her is having one.
Really though, there is nothing you can do to stop people smoking, drinking too much, eating bad food. It's a personal choice....as long as they arent blowing it out near my daughter.

WeThree
26-06-2006, 20:59
As a former smoker. I can tell you that smokers KNOW what they're doing is killing them but just ignore it.

so true Miss K, I can remember making jokes about it, but you dont really really know iykwim, until it actually happens to you, I mean part of you deep deep down thinks that you will be ok, that it will happen to someone else, or that you will quit aggessss before anything happens to you.....

Anyway, Im definetly not bagging out smokers, some of my dearest friends here and irl are smokers, I am simply concerned for the health of some people I have come to care about. Sorry if I have come across as preachy. :o

JATS
26-06-2006, 21:15
Same here coops, and I think it paid off for me when I got my sister to quit.

My sister's life will be a hell of a lot different because I convinced her to get out of that nightmare, and I think if by simply telling someone you care enough about them to want them to stop you can on occasion succeed... it's worthwhile.

SassyMummy
26-06-2006, 23:54
I'm pretty grossed out by smoking...my nose ALWAYS gets itchy if anyone smokes nearby...it's really annoying (even if they're several meters away from me...I can always smell it).

I don't really UNDERSTAND why people start smoking (I've never had a cigarette, so that's probably why I can't understand it)...but I guess that younger people are affected by peer pressure and just continue the habit. The thing I DO NOT GET is when older people, who have previously been smoke-free, take up the habit.

I had a friend (he's a friend no longer...) who began to smoke "socially" in his 20s. He'd never smoked before...he just suddenly took it up. I was bewildered as to why...I don't think that, after high school, the "peer pressure" thing is really legitimate anymore, and none of US (a group of friends) smoked. He DID get another bunch of friends (druggo rev-heads who slept around...), and I think it was because of them that he began to smoke. He started doing it with them, and then just bought it over to our "group." It was gross. I have NO IDEA why he began...he just...did. What an idiot.

I DEFINATELY agree with the no smoking in places that serve food thingo. While it's easy to say "don't sit near a smoker"...what am I supposed to do if a smoker sits near me? Am I supposed to MOVE...or am I supposed to tell them to get lost? Smoke also wafts...so while I may be 5 tables away from a smoker, I could STILL smell his/her smoke.

I also think that everyone has a right to enjoy a meal wherever they like...and I think it's unfair for me to only be able to sit inside (in order to avoid smoke). Nobody is suggesting that non-smokers are not allowed to eat in public...they're just saying don't SMOKE while you're doing it. I think that's fair.

I'd actually be happy if smoking was banned in ALL public places. That way, I know my lungs would be a lot healthier as a result. People aren't allowed to drink in public (unless in a liscenced area)...and drunk people generally don't directly affect me. Smokers do.

I don't like the 4m rule either...I STILL get a whopping great smack of smoke when I enter a building...it's just not CLOSE to the building entrance! It's pitiful.

annie71
29-06-2006, 17:51
Down here in Tassie they have just banned smoking in all clubs and pubs. It has been banned from eating area's including outside for ages. It is amazing the difference it makes to be able to go out for a drink and not have to sit in a haze of smoke. Even the pokie area's are smoke free plus nightclubs. The smokers arn't very happy and I can feel there pain as I to before I was pregnant loved to have a ciggie once I'd had that one to many drinks, they just seem to go hand in hand. :devil6:

But something has to be done. Passive smoking kills and non smoking staff and patrons of these establishments should not have to breath it in because they want to go see a band or sit on the pokies for a while. If you choose to smoke fine but be aware it is a toxic killer and you have no right to infringe it on to other people. Go outside away for others and make sure you don't little your butts on the ground.:shame:

I do have one question for all the smoking mums that have posted. Smoking kills, stinks, it's very expensive, doesn't get you high, and is very anti-social so if you gave it up for nine months while you where pregnant why on earth would you take it back up again. :confused:

SamanthaJane
29-06-2006, 18:00
I also think that everyone has a right to enjoy a meal wherever they like...and I think it's unfair for me to only be able to sit inside (in order to avoid smoke). Nobody is suggesting that non-smokers are not allowed to eat in public...they're just saying don't SMOKE while you're doing it. I think that's fair.

I'd actually be happy if smoking was banned in ALL public places. That way, I know my lungs would be a lot healthier as a result. People aren't allowed to drink in public (unless in a liscenced area)...and drunk people generally don't directly affect me. Smokers do. It's pitiful.

Thats so true! :yes: :thumbsup: :shame:

Ana Gram
29-06-2006, 18:55
I do have one question for all the smoking mums that have posted. Smoking kills, stinks, it's very expensive, doesn't get you high, and is very anti-social so if you gave it up for nine months while you where pregnant why on earth would you take it back up again. :confused:

I don't agree that it is anti- social. I cut down while I was pregnant but now with my social life, I smoke as much as before sometimes.

CarolineF
29-06-2006, 18:59
On the news this morning an Australian research study has shown that the only identifiable cause of childhood asthma is not dust mites as everyone thought, but cigarette smoke!:eek: Eating more fish etc makes not one jot of difference. It just said they cannot pinpoint the causes of asthma other than environmental factors specifically relating to second hand cigarette smoke.

Its recorded in the health section of The Australian online.

my_lot
30-06-2006, 07:37
on sunrise this morning they are running a public poll on what people think about alcoholics and smokers getting free medical treatment such as transplants- should they have to pay for their own mediacl treatment? in the uk 40% of doctors think these people should pay for their own medical treatment. it will be interesting to see what aussies think.

pestiferous
30-06-2006, 11:20
On the news this morning an Australian research study has shown that the only identifiable cause of childhood asthma is not dust mites as everyone thought, but cigarette smoke!:eek:

Really, who were the researchers, how did they come to the conclusion that smoking is the ONLY cause, how did they disprove all other research that state numerous possible and proven causes to warrant such a strong opinion on smoking?

Did the program even bother to quote their sources or was it a fox friendly 'some people say' lol ?

Anyone who says there is only ONE identifiable source of asthma, has never lived in (a non smoking house) in the hunter Vally, then watched their children's 'asthma' practically disappear on moving away from the coal mines.

I dont think the actual CAUSE of asthma has even been identified
but numerous things are known to trigger an attack. dust, smoke,
dry air, cold air, car fumes, over exercise, cold or flu , hell even laughing too
much can set off on attack! (ask any asthmatic)

I wish these 'studies' would test real people! in real life situations before trying to convince us all they have discovered some amazing new peice of information:rolleyes:

Verdi
30-06-2006, 11:27
I really hate the smoke!! I choke up even from one ciggy miles away from me. I am very sensitive to the smell, my eyes well up with tears and so on.
Saying that i just can't understand why a parent will smoke with kids nearby. It ceases to amaze me that in this day and age we still see mums and dads with ciggy's in their mouths with a child in tow:confused:

i am all for a public ban. :D

Sara's Boys
30-06-2006, 14:43
I used to be a smoker, and now that I am not (and will never be again!) I see how selfish and disrespectful it is. I dont necesserily think it should be banned in all public places. I do think it has a place, ie, when I go to the pub, I expect it to be smoky, its a traditional thing, that I accept should I chose to go there. most bars have had allocated areas -like gambling places, and although you can still smell it, I accept that one rarely spends all of their time in social places like that. So I am not against it in bars or clubs. I am all for banning smoking at the entrances of public buildings, as in the supermarket, maternity hosp, and banks etc. Thos are places I have to go quite regularly and with my child, bus stop train stations. How can you be able to smoke in all these places that are a necessity for so many people, yet ban it from places you can make a choice as to whether you would like to go there. I think the ban on smoking in clubs and pubs will cause a lot of street drinking and house parties, which can be bad, for there is no one to say "no you have had too much" but not only that it will also have a huge effect on pub/club industries.

SammyD
30-06-2006, 15:18
Does anyone know the details of the new smoking ban for pubs/clubs that comes into force tomorrow in NSW?

I thought I heard on the radio this morning that smoking will be banned in all enclosed areas, and all outdoor areas with food service - is that right?
If so....:smiliedance:

Ana Gram
30-06-2006, 15:23
I know in Victoria it doesn't come in till 1st July 2007 which means i will not be going out anymore.

SammyD
30-06-2006, 15:43
I know in Victoria it doesn't come in till 1st July 2007 which means i will not be going out anymore.

yeah chelle I can see how it's pretty tough on the smokers, but from a public health point of view, and an OHS point of view also, it had to happen. I'll be pleased to be able to pop down to the local for a bite to eat or a few drinks and not come home smelling like I've just smoked a packet.

CarolineF
30-06-2006, 15:43
Really, who were the researchers, how did they come to the conclusion that smoking is the ONLY cause, how did they disprove all other research that state numerous possible and proven causes to warrant such a strong opinion on smoking?

Did the program even bother to quote their sources or was it a fox friendly 'some people say' lol ?

Anyone who says there is only ONE identifiable source of asthma, has never lived in (a non smoking house) in the hunter Vally, then watched their children's 'asthma' practically disappear on moving away from the coal mines.

I dont think the actual CAUSE of asthma has even been identified
but numerous things are known to trigger an attack. dust, smoke,
dry air, cold air, car fumes, over exercise, cold or flu , hell even laughing too
much can set off on attack! (ask any asthmatic)

I wish these 'studies' would test real people! in real life situations before trying to convince us all they have discovered some amazing new peice of information:rolleyes:

It was researchers in Sydney who had followed over 600 families in real life situations. They concluded that the one clearly identifiable cause for childhood asthma was second hand cigarette smoke although other environmental factors may have an affect. I would give you the link if I knew how, but it was in the The Australian online Health section yesterday. I'm not saying I agree, they are the specialists after all, I just read it!

The link, if this is right is:

www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,19615476-23289,20.html

This information is probably obvious to all. Its the add ons that dietary changes etc make little or no difference to preventing it.

Ana Gram
30-06-2006, 15:55
yeah chelle I can see how it's pretty tough on the smokers, but from a public health point of view, and an OHS point of view also, it had to happen. I'll be pleased to be able to pop down to the local for a bite to eat or a few drinks and not come home smelling like I've just smoked a packet.

I do think it is going to hurt the nightclub scene a bit. It means people will be spending less time at the bar if they have to go else where to smoke. Well for the nightclub scene I frequent anyway.

SammyD
30-06-2006, 16:01
It could very well have a negative impact on clubs...then again, someone like me who avoids nightclubs because I don't like being in a closed smoky room, would be more likely to go.

Sara's Boys
30-06-2006, 16:03
chellegoth
"I do think it is going to hurt the nightclub scene a bit. It means people will be spending less time at the bar if they have to go else where to smoke. Well for the nightclub scene I frequent anyway."

I agree chelle, i made a point bout that in my previous posts.

SassyMummy
30-06-2006, 16:11
I agree that it'll probably hurt the nightclub thing...but here you're not allowed to smoke in nightclubs anyway...AND there's a "curfew". You're not allowed to re-enter (or enter) clubs after 3pm (though, if you're in one, you're allowed to STAY there until it closes).

It probably wouldn't harm the ONE club I visit (very rarely)...it's a gay club that plays remixed versions of older songs...they even had a dance version Whitney Houstan's "I Will Always Love You" (lol)! The dance floor is populated by dancing gay men...nobody usually smokes there...

Verdi
30-06-2006, 16:19
No it will not hurt the night club bar scene, as those are the main reasons i don't frequent them as i much as i want to!!!! You watch when the new rule comes in theye will be alot of non smokers out on the town!!! I will be one!!!.

I love to party, it just gets spoilt by smokers.

This will force people to atleast cut down. So this is a positive move all round!

And if it does hurt the hospitality industry just a little in the long run what is more important, peoples health or Money, thats a poor excuse to not ban smoking.

My hubby is a musician and we love to go and see bands and our dear friends play, We used to frequent so many cool hotspots, but just can't do it that often due to smoke intolerence and now with no.3 on the way there is no way i will put my baby in danger.

Ana Gram
30-06-2006, 16:22
No it will not hurt the night club bar scene, as those are the main reasons i don't frequent them as i much as i want to!!!! You watch when the new rule comes in theye will be alot of non smokers out on the town!!! I will be one!!!.

This will force people to atleast cut down. So this is a positive move all round!

It will hurt the nightclub scene i frequent as half the patrons are smokers.

And no this will not force people to cut down.

Mamaduke
30-06-2006, 16:25
God forbid you allow smokers to light up in clubs/bars...
the drugs available at clubs...well, we just won't worry about that!:rolleyes:

SammyD
30-06-2006, 16:27
God forbid you allow smokers to light up in clubs/bars...
the drugs available at clubs...well, we just won't worry about that!:rolleyes:

fair point mamaduke... but if the person next to me at a club drops a couple of eccies, that's not impacting on my health (well unless they decide to kiss me & give me some kind of disease!) :D

Verdi
30-06-2006, 16:31
Thats what they said about Restauraunts!!! No it did not hurt them!

We are definately moving in the right direction, America is one step ahead of us and they have banned it in all public places!!!

It will definately have an impact but ALL fot the RIGHT Reasons!!.

I can't wait for July 2007 it means i can enter a club without having my hand burnt or my outfit with a cigarette hole on it !!!!.

Someone forgot to mention all the amount of damage smokers cause to the nightclubs!!! Couches with cigarette burns, carpet burns!!!

I just don't see why people who smoke won't go out because they can't have ciggy, or is it that ADDICTIVE!

Mamaduke if someone wants to get loaded he ain't hurting anyone but himself!

Gees i am so glad that i am not a slave to any substance!

In saying that i hope it will make people think twice or atleast our young ones that it is no longer cool to smoke.:D

Ana Gram
30-06-2006, 16:35
So let me get this straight, getting high (which is illegal and addictive) in a nightclub is fine but smoking which is legal is terrible.

Mamaduke
30-06-2006, 16:36
Prediction...
This country does NOT ride on the sheep's back...
it rides on the smoker's back...
ban it all together and we will see this country come to a complete standstill...no more tax dollars from the poor ol' smoker!!!

Crissie
30-06-2006, 16:36
wen i was a smoker... 5 days ago now i think i would have hated not beeing allowed to smoke when drink... but i do get the non smokers point... as a teenager id break my girlfriends ciggies so they cudnt smoke... howd i get in to it????? dunno but ive quit now!

Verdi
30-06-2006, 16:37
Nope you are missing the point! I Hate Drugs, just saying it does not effect me personally, when you smoke i smoke aswell, definately do not promote illegal substance:no:

Mamaduke - so we need to smoke to keep this country afloat, that is the most absurdest thing i have heard! I think we pay enough taxes minus ciggy tax to keep this country afloat!!:o

Crissie
30-06-2006, 16:50
i dont get you sorry!:o

Verdi
30-06-2006, 16:56
What don't you get? I am so hopeless at explaining myself!:p

Ana Gram
30-06-2006, 17:02
The government get ALOT of money from smokers. Which is why they haven't made it illegal.

Mamaduke
30-06-2006, 18:17
The government get ALOT of money from smokers. Which is why they haven't made it illegal.
That was my point...in a tongue-in-cheek kinda way...gee you non-smokers really have no sense of humour!
You'd think it would be the other way around...considering we're the ones dying!!:laughing:

CarolineF
30-06-2006, 18:20
Have we now merged the 2 smokers threads, cos I gotta feeling we've been here before in the past 24 hours...but elsewhere????!!!!!:rolleyes:

pestiferous
30-06-2006, 22:02
It was researchers in Sydney who had followed over 600 families in real life situations. They concluded that the one clearly identifiable cause for childhood asthma was second hand cigarette smoke although other environmental factors may have an affect. I would give you the link if I knew how, but it was in the The Australian online Health section yesterday. I'm not saying I agree, they are the specialists after all, I just read it!

The link, if this is right is:

www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,19615476-23289,20.html

This information is probably obvious to all. Its the add ons that dietary changes etc make little or no difference to preventing it.

I've read through the article. My take on it was basically, the study was a failure (in the sense it did not prove or disprove anything) the comments relating to smoking seemed, from the little information given in the article, really had very little to do with the tests conducted.

I had to shake my head when reading the following excerpt:

But this, too, was proven to have no preventative benefits, Dr Marks said.

"Once again we weren't able to demonstrate any beneficial effect," he said.

The inability to 'demonstrate any beneficial effect' in no way proves they do not exist.

I would love to know more details though, like the race, lifestyle, other dietary factors etc of each family studied. (exactly how they managed to avoid dust mites and how they tracked this would be nice lol)

What i mean to say is, there are so many variances in diet and lifestyle alone, that finding any conclusive proof one way or the other would be near impossible. For all we know, 50% of the families who ate fish once a week, ate Mcdonalds 20 times and kentucky for every other meal.

(an exaggerated example i know, but consider the amount of foods that may trigger an attack or that we know reduce our immune systems. unless each and every person ate the same meal for each and every day of the study. there is no way to really know if omega3 has any beneficial effects)

as stated in the article,

with Dr Marks saying some environmental factors very likely contribute to their onset. "The fact is that at the moment, though, we don't know what they are, or how they affect us," he said.

WeThree
30-06-2006, 22:10
Mamaduke - so we need to smoke to keep this country afloat, that is the most absurdest thing i have heard! I think we pay enough taxes minus ciggy tax to keep this country afloat!!:o

I think you will find MD was having a bit of a joke ;) dont worry, she can take a bit of getting used to, but once you do, you will wonder how you ever lived without her :p

Mamaduke
30-06-2006, 22:53
dont worry, she can take a bit of getting used to, but once you do, you will wonder how you ever lived without her :p
Awww shucks coops thanks....I'm a bit like an ingrown toenail really!
Pain in the butt to have - but far more painful trying to get rid of it lol!:laughing:

annie71
01-07-2006, 08:48
No one seems to be remembering that these public places ie. Bars, Nightclubs are run by WORKERS. These staff members should not have to be subjected to toxic smoke in their work place just because it is tradition or anyother reason. As for the arguement that they allow drugs and not smoking :laughing:
Last I looked drugs where just as illegal as they where yesterday and would love to know which nightclub you are going to that promotes drug use.:devil6:

These laws have been in place in Tassy for 6 months and there has been no adverse effect on the club industry. The only indurstry it is hurting is the small pubs in the country area's as the oldies who normally sit at the bar all day now just stay at home and drink as they can't smoke.

One of Hobarts most popular pub for bands the Republic decieded to bring in the non smoking rule before the laws as they new they where coming. The difference when you walk in on a Friday night is amazing. I never realised who much smoke was in the air until there was none. The place is still packed and the owner rekons there are more people heading out due to the smoke free enviroment. Smokers will still head out if it is smoke free but it allows all those people that avoid bars and clubs to join back in the party.:smiliedance: :yelclap:

01-07-2006, 10:46
That was my point...in a tongue-in-cheek kinda way...gee you non-smokers really have no sense of humour!
You'd think it would be the other way around...considering we're the ones dying!!:laughing:

:laughing: pmsl:D