View Full Version : Nappy Brands, which is best?
beetlgrl
25-06-2006, 22:13
Hi all. just doing a lil research my lil one seems to be weeing threw her nappys at night i have tried putting the liners inside but they realy didnt make to much difference. Im using huggies atm so i was just wanting to know wot do u recomend?
i go huggies.. i have used them from about a week after i brought bub home, i tried her on baby love and i found her wee and poo's went straight through them. But have never had a problem with huggies :yelclap:
borntobemummy
25-06-2006, 22:18
I've found Babylove to be the best, I've tried Huggies and Aldi too- they are great, but both DH and I have noticed these are the best, no leaks at all:yes:
damien's mum
25-06-2006, 22:19
I love and swear by snugglers, i have tried a few other brands, but each to their own, and whatever goes!
Huggies and Aldi brand nappies are the best! :thumbsup:
I only buy Huggies when they are on special and then I get a few boxes - I find Aldi Mama Mia brand nappies excellent. Actually they are the only nappies that has never leaked the gel-like substance - both Babylove and Huggies have for me. :(
25-06-2006, 22:19
I like Huggies the best. Ive tried baby love, snugglers, coles & woolworthes brands but her poo doesnt seem to stay in the nappy just goes straight through.
25-06-2006, 22:22
i use both babylove and huggies
damien's mum
25-06-2006, 22:23
Isnt it funny, how the same nappy, same make and all..
can be so different on each child.. !! lol
Ange&Seth
25-06-2006, 22:26
Yeah it is funny :laughing:
We use Mamia and, as we don't have an ALDI store nearby, we use Babylove when we run out of Mamia. These 2 are the only brands that don't leak overnight. DS even leaked through Huggies.
:thumbsup: Mamia are the best, I'm actually planning on making the hour and a half drive this week sometime to get some more! Oh, and have lunch with my mum of course :smiliedance:
borntobemummy
25-06-2006, 22:30
gotta say, I absolutely hate Snugglers, I bought a big box once cos it was so cheap, they were horrible, we had to change her twice as often and it always leaked through!! I complained to the company, and instead of a refund, they gave me more nappies:banghead: - never again!!
I also tried the Target brand nappies, they were pretty good, DD was still newborn then, so don't know how they'd go now.
I use a combination of cloth and Dymples disposables during the day (Dymples is the Big W brand and cost about $23 for 96). At night or when out I use Aldi Mamia, which are absolutely brilliant.
Huggies are the worst for leaks with DS - one out of every two nappies :mad:
Babylove were terrible, a lot of leaks, and a lot of crystals.
Snugglers - well, I gave up after about 3 nappies. Appalling.
Woollies Home Brand are also very good - I had very few problems. And the BiLo brand nappies aren't bad either.
sshellzp
26-06-2006, 00:03
I find babylove are very crystaly. I use them but only till the pack I have runs out then im gunna switch to huggies.
Cheeky Little Monkey
26-06-2006, 00:43
I used to use Huggies on my daughter and found they leaked more often than not.
It was suggested to me to go up the next size as others had found doing this solved the problem for them. If you want to continue with the Huggies brand that may be an option for you.
I have also used Aldi Mamia ($15.99) which are great as well as Woolies Select brand ($19.99) which are great too. Personally I think these nappies perform much better than Huggies.
I eventually changed to the modern cloth and havent looked back, No more leaks at night for Gabrielle now :thumbsup:
I like coles savings nappies the best :yes:
HugsAndKisses
26-06-2006, 08:02
i used huggies since we brought DS home and they are the best IMO:thumbsup:
but i have been using snugglers through the day the last month due to saving money...but i find i change him almost 2hrly and still use huggies for bed time...very rarely do huggies leak at night with my son:no: i think there excelent but u do need to get a size that isnt too small, i think maybe thats were some might leak..and also nearly every night ive used snugglers theres a guarentee leak,and also very crystally
26-06-2006, 08:41
I have used:
BabyLove - good, but leaked the crystal stuff sometimes.
Tried Snugglers once and hated them (you're right elissas, they are appalling!)
I use Woolies Select for daytime. :thumbsup: They're just that bit cheaper than huggies.
Huggies for night time. Excellent :yes: , no leaks at all.
I've tried the cheap Woolies Savings ones and they were great leak wise, but were an ill fit on Charlee. I've also used the Black & Gold brand, and they were alright dor daytime use too.
~Emmylou~
26-06-2006, 09:10
I've used Huggies, but I really love the Aldi Mamia ones as well. Never had a problem with them.
I find the Babylove leave too many crystals on her bum as well. Come to think of it I also noticed that occasionally with Huggies. Never seen it with the Aldi nappies though....and they're so cheap!! Love em.
Aquamarine
26-06-2006, 09:28
Definantely Aldi Mamia brand nappies are the best.
My son drinks alot and they have never leaked!
I find all the other brands I have used leaked including Huggies.
Sally.
I use Huggies and I get a box of 100 from babies galore for $42 V good ;)
I use Teddy Care, there great. you can get them from terry white chemists. and even the warehouse sell them.
Sandra/Paul
26-06-2006, 09:55
I used Coles Savings brand nappies on my little boy, they were great. That was about 10 years ago. So its good to see Jem likes them too, now after all these years they are still a good nappy. Good news for me when I try again. They are soooo much cheaper too.
mum2paige
27-06-2006, 22:07
Beetlgirl have you tried using the boys huggies at night time?
My DD was leaking thru her girls huggies, and for some reason does not leak thru the boys ones.
But we're cloth converts now!!
27-06-2006, 22:19
When not using my cloth nappies, I use either Huggies or BabyLove.
MissBrightside
27-06-2006, 22:24
I use snugglers day and night. Never had a problem with them and I dont have to change him that often even though he drinks alot. I go through 4 to 5 nappies a day, 1 for all night.
I used Huggies and found them to be really crystally.
Babylove and Bebe brand nappies are also good!
claireandbailey
27-06-2006, 22:57
I used to only buy huggies. i tried babylove but they were too crystally i didnt like that.
Now i buy the woolworths homebrand ones just as good as huggies and half the price!!!. I was a bit sceptical at first when using the home brand ones but i like them now and they are just as absorbant and my dd has never leaked through.
OscarTheGrouch
28-06-2006, 07:56
I use Babylove nappies during the day and Huggies at night. Babylove are a cheaper alternative during the day and I've had no problems with them. But nothing beats Huggies at night, DS sleeps 10-12 hours at night with no leaks at all.
kailensmum
29-06-2006, 14:43
I was a huggies mumma all the way, but a friend of mine gave me some mamia ones from aldi and i haven't looked back. He used leak at night no matter what he was in, but since i started using the mamias from aldi, have had no probs and no rashes either. HEAPS cheaper. Pay $15.99 for 50 pack, way to got especially with huggies pricing... beware of huggies on ebay, deals direct and bulk nappy shops, they're the aussie ones and aren't of the same standard as ours.
Briannabear
29-06-2006, 16:35
Im a huggies girl. Nothing else works as well for us.
gidgeroo
29-06-2006, 22:29
I have also used Aldi Mamia ($15.99) which are great as well as Woolies Select brand ($19.99) which are great too. Personally I think these nappies perform much better than Huggies.
I'm a Mamia fan too (and their wipes are good as well). I have used Babylove and found them OK on my toddler#1DS but hopeless on my #2DS. No leaks on either with Mamia.:thumbsup:
angcaltam
30-06-2006, 13:41
We use Huggies at night and Baby Love during the day.:thumbsup: :yes:
The newborn Baby Love nappies seem to leave crystals but the next size up doesn't. Just thought I would let you know.:confused: :detective:
kailensmum
30-06-2006, 14:24
They're the Vietnamese ones, and probably are like the Huggies a mum would've bought at least 10 years ago...
The European and American ones would I think be better than ours though!!!!!!!
In 10 years Huggies Vietnam will catch up...
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
It was quite obvious that is what i meant to type, but missed a few letters. I did mean to say they're NOT the aussie made ones
beetlgrl
30-06-2006, 22:09
Thanks for the feed back ladies.
I recently brought a brand called lullibies from coles, they werent much cheaper than huggies and they are absolute ****!! My daughter now has a rash and i have to change her twice as often. i wont be buying them ever again
By the sounds of it the aldi brand seems to be very popular so i ite give them a go.
blessedmummy
29-07-2006, 11:01
yeah.. i know the feeling!! but have just resorted to getting bigger sized nappies cause i think some of the problem was the size was getting a bit small, i tend to use huggies at night cause they are best.. even though they cost more they are worth it! though have also used target ones, they are also great too. good luck!!:wave: p.s. the aldi ones sound like they are popular.. havent heard of them.... where can ya get them??? i live in wa so only have the usual brands here...
InSaneOne
29-07-2006, 11:39
i mainly use cloth during the day but i have found the woolies home brand (not select) are really good and cheaper than huggies. but if you are leaking through the huggies i would try going up a size.
I could only use huggies for DS1. He would get a nappy rash with any other brand.
With DS2 I am using huggies and wont try any other brand for him. But I am waiting for my baby beehinds to turn up. I can't wait for them.
That is REALLY DISGUSTING of the Australian Huggies.:barf:
They should become unisex like in other countries, because I now think the only reason they won't change after many years is because they want to make them better for boys and worse for girls.:confused:
If I'm right, then we should ban Huggies and return Pampers.:yes:
JUST-A-THOUGHT:rolleyes:
KFP
HELP WHAT DO I DO THEN. My DS leaks in his Huggies......or should i try the girl ones!!
On the size issue the infant are from 4-8kg and the crawler from 6-11kg Blake is around 5.5kgs so should i try the crawler?
blessedmummy
01-08-2006, 13:12
try the girl ones, see how they go and for the size, use crawler ones cause they would be better size fit, i think. have u tried any other brands? or you happy with huggies?? (lullaby have since gone to grip tabs, and they are quite good! have used them before and havent had any troubles, and they are really cheap!! u can get them at coles or woolworths) :):fingerscrossed:
blessedmummy
01-08-2006, 14:46
in a dilemma... wondering if teddy care has grip tabs?? if so... cool! then are they for day or night or both?? thinking about getting some, but unsure.. havent used them before... using huggies atm.. but rather expensive, only limited brands of nappies available here in Geraldton, so, looking for a good nappy for night without buying huggies. :idea::wave:
I have tried Huggies, Babylove, Coles Persona, Bi-Lo and most recently Kimbies because it was an emergency BP run and they didnt have anything else.....they are all exactly the same on James and are all great. If I get a leak its rare and happens with any of them, but I give Snugglers a big :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: ....they leaked pretty much every day he was in them. Thin as paper.
subaruforestermum
01-08-2006, 16:02
I have used Huggies, Babylove, Snugglers, Woolworths Select & Lullaby Brand nappies.
Will never buy Snugglers or Babylove again :shame: , as they are thin and leak all the time. For value for money Lullaby and Woolworths I think are great...
Try and test though I say, that way you know works best for your child....