View Full Version : would you have anyone?

lochiebearsmum
07-07-2009, 18:34
i got to thinking the other day that if i had to go to hospital for an overnight visit i would be in a trouble... i would have my mum and dad to watch him but i know he would NOT cope at all without me... i cant even have a shower (if someone else is watching him') without him getting upset and coming in let alone leave him for a night,,,, this then got me to thinking if it wasnt for my mum and dad i wouldnt really have anyone else, well anyone i would absolutly trust.... what would circumstances be then? i wonder if you had noone who would look after bub if it was an emergency operation?

Myztiks#1Fan
07-07-2009, 18:42
yeap i would have a few people who i could call on very short notice so i am very lucky there. i have had it happen once where i had to go to hospital at about 7pm as i was in so much pain and didnt want to take him with me. i was lucky i had someone who i could count on as i didnt get out until 3am but even if i was to stay overnight, i am very lucky to have people who would take coop no problems.

lochiebearsmum
07-07-2009, 18:44
and would Coop be ok going with them? Lochie would not handle it at all... he is very much a mummys boy and as its just the 2 of us we are always together... i have never had him babysat for and i know he would not handle it if i wasnt there

JabberJaw
07-07-2009, 18:45
Nope i have no one, not even parents here, i have been in this situation before. My friend took my kids for a few hours but she has her own 3 kids and also had to work so i was allowed gate leave to spend the night at home and when i had an OP, the hospital organised the lovely Salvation Army ladies to look after my 2 little ones (then aged 1 and 2) and when i came out of theater, the Ladies were there waiting by my bed side with the kids. They had them for the following few hours afterward and brought them back to me when i went home. Hospital organised for me to have IV antibiotics brought to my home and the nurse came over through the night to administer them and the following day was back up the hospital till i had seen the doctors etc, again the Slavation ladies were on hand to take my kids.

It can be done, the hospital provides all kinds of services for people in various situations :D

Myztiks#1Fan
07-07-2009, 18:48
and would Coop be ok going with them? Lochie would not handle it at all... he is very much a mummys boy and as its just the 2 of us we are always together... i have never had him babysat for and i know he would not handle it if i wasnt there

yeah he would be fine. he goes to daycare full time so is always around others and would stay with them overnight at times.

crazymuma
07-07-2009, 18:49
I would be up **** creek if there was an emergency. I have not one friend or family member here I could call - the best I could do is call my family who are almost 4 hours away and hope someone could get out of work fast enough to get here! My son would stay with my family but my daughter would be hard - she tends to spend the whole time screaming for me and as we co-sleep it makes it even harder to leave them.

Really need to make some friends :yelclap:

Ana Gram
07-07-2009, 19:00
I don't have any family here and DD's father lives over an hour away. I have plenty of friends who I would trust to look after DD and she would be fine with them but none of them have a car. I only have one friend who I would trust with her who has a car but she hasn't met him, which would make it difficult.

lochiebearsmum
07-07-2009, 19:07
wow JabberJaw thats fantastic that all of that can be done! how did you handle coming home after the op and having to function and look after the kids? you deserve a medal!

JabberJaw
07-07-2009, 19:15
wow JabberJaw thats fantastic that all of that can be done! how did you handle coming home after the op and having to function and look after the kids? you deserve a medal!

The Salvo ladies came to visit me at home also! and the nurses also come out, i cant remember what its called but it is a program set up by the hospital so they you can leave hospital early so as not to take up precious beds. (maybe the early discharge program ?? something like that)

The Salvo ladies, well i never knew they existed till i said i have no one to look after my kids, so they just asked the volunteers at the hospi and they arranged it all for me. I didnt have a major OP, i had severe mastitis that turned into an abcess that needed to be surgically drained but still an OP none the less.

I had a similar situation when my son was in hospi and the Salvo ladies also helped me out there to by taking the other kids for a couple of hours and keeping them entertained in the play room. I owe them Salvo ladies big time :D

Amara
07-07-2009, 19:16
I do worry what I'd do if I had to go to hospital in a hurry. I'd probably have to take him with me then call someone. My parents live 45 minutes away, my ex IL's do too, both would help in an emergency. My son's great grandparents are around 20 minutes away (the are only in their 60's so not as ancient as they sound) and I know they'd help if needed. I also have a cousin who is 45 minutes away who I would trust with him, but he doesn't know her that well yet, but I know she'd help too. I have one friend who has offered to help but again, he doesn't know her that well either.

He goes to daycare so I'm sure he'd be OK with anyone really, but I'd still worry about him missing his mum.

confusd
07-07-2009, 19:23
my parents, my sister and one of my close friends would always help out. If i was desperate.....like REALLY desperate my other sister and my brother would also be able to watch her.

A few weeks ago i would of said she would be fine but at the moment i cant even go to the toilet without her or she will cry and scream. So i think it would be hard on her. She has become VERY clingy recently which is odd as she has always been very independant.

SPC
07-07-2009, 19:31
I was very aware of this because I'm British, so have no family here. I live with two flatties who would look after Esme in our home. I also have two more close friends who regularly take Esme to the market on Saturday mornings, so she knows them and they are brilliant with her. I also have my birth partner and a good friend who has a baby the same age, who is one of the executors of my will, and she will help the flatties with Esme if anything happens to me. I really like to be prepared. It's all arranged, and daycare etc have their numbers. One of the reasons I really don't want Esme to be an only child is I wouldn't want her to be all alone if anything happened to me. My birthplan even contained a whole section of what would happen to Esme should I die in childbirth. The midwives were quite taken aback.

lukaelmo
07-07-2009, 19:36
I hadn't thought about it, but yeah, I have heaps of people... Their dad is as reliable as the sun (we aren't together, but we get along really well), I'd have his parents who live around 20 minutes away, my parents would jump to my aid as well, they live an hour away, my next door neighbours at a pinch and I have looked after all my friends' kids, so I could call in a few favours there too!

So yes, I am really lucky, I think the boys and I have got a really strong network around us :).

Now I am feeling all warm and fuzzy :laughing:!

RmumR
07-07-2009, 21:00
i've never given this a thought either until now. I have a few friends that i could call on, plus two girls that babysit for me on a regular basis and if all those fail i have some lovely bubhub mothers group friends who i know would help me out until her dad could get here (he lives 2hrs away).
thinking about this i consider myself lucky really that i know i have people i could call on in an emergency.

Bubmum
08-07-2009, 08:17
I live with my parents, but DD would not cope at all being with them. Her nickname is "the klingon", and I don't begrudge her at all. I am her Mummy, so I know it is natural.
I would call her Dad to fly up, so he could help out. She loves him to buttons, and would probably cry after an hour, but I know he would come up for us.
Oh, and my best friend's partner could look after her. She adores him, and vice versa.

Mum2Bug
08-07-2009, 14:55
My sister and BIL would take her in an instant for however long they needed to. Not only are they her aunt and uncle but are also her godparents and a wonderful influence in her life. They have no children of their own so they cherish any time they get to spend with her.

Issey
08-07-2009, 15:36
plenty of people i could call on, none of which are family.

do you think you should consider letting your child spend time without you, maybe for short periods so they can adjust to you not being there 24/7. It would drive me crazy if I couldn't get a break.

I am lucky my son will go off happily if I explain to him where he is going and what is going to happen :yes:

lochiebearsmum
09-07-2009, 18:45
Its really difficult Debstar as i have never left him and now i know there is no way he would handle it at all... my dad is terminally ill and my mum has been medically retired with a bad back so they are unable to really look after him for a long period... my brother has "issues", my sister works full time and although loves him he doesnt feel comfortable with her as he doesnt see her a great deal, most of my friends have families or arent exactly trustworthy and i would hate to impose on their time.. i worked in childcare as a director prior to having lochie and due to things i have seen i have decided not to send him to daycare... I know my mum and dad would take him as would my sister if anything was to happen but i dont think he would cope at all... and it scares the crap out of me... plus we cosleep and he still wakes regularly for a pat on the bottom or a bottle... i know the decisions i have made are probably going to set us both up for a fall in the long run but what i have done has been out of loving him soooo much, i also worry how he will cope at kindy as i talk to him about it now and he says no me cry mummy come and he is only just 2!!! AHHHH the joys of being a mum!