View Full Version : Breast feeding Tops?

25-06-2006, 12:20
Hi all lactating mums and mums to be :wave: lol

When i had my son (back in the day lol) almost two years ago now, i had never heard or seen a breast feeding top!

So my questions are;

Are they any good?
Why do they cost sooooo much? Ive seen some up to $80:eek:
Which ones are the best in your opinon? ( bub is due near the end of summer so will need both summer/winter ones) And
Where can i get cheap ones? (apart from 2nd hand on ebay:no: )

Thank you for all your help

Milk producing mama to be signing out:p

Tam-I-Am
25-06-2006, 13:19

I've never used a breastfeeding top, although I've looked into them - I just couldn't justify spending that much money on a top, when a $5 singlet under a top works just as well - I get stretchy singlets, so that I can pull them below my breast, I wear a drop-cup bra underneath, and that way, my stomach is covered while I feed, and the over-top covers the top of my breast nicely. I'm not exposed at all, and its far cheaper.

Having said that, a couple of my friends swear by their breastfeeding tops, I think one of the reasons that some of them are so expensive is because they have an in-built feeding bra, so you don't have to wear a bra underneath.

They're not for me, but good luck finding out about them!

bigglet
25-06-2006, 13:46
I love my breastfeeding tops and no one knows they are breastfeeding tops! :)

I bought one from a maternity shop and then discovered some on ebay - in the end I liked Mummymatters (http://www.mummymatters.co.nz/) the best because they were the cheapest, easy to feed and wash! (no zips or buttons).

25-06-2006, 13:58
Thanks Tami, I was thinking about getting some of those bonds singlets with the inbuilt bra.....may be a cheaper option and ok for summer.

Bigglet thanks for the link i love the nursing nighties very cute! and your right they look like a good price compared to what ive seen:thumbsup:

Anymore ideas girls??????:detective: thanks:D

25-06-2006, 14:33
I just wear 2 tops too!!!! heaps cheaper the cheap tops from supre are good they are only $10-15 and they are long and cover your tummy then a long sleeved top over the top!!

25-06-2006, 14:37
I have a Fresh Mums top and to be honest, I'm not that fussed on it. A regular shirt (not button up) I found is fine but you could use a boob tube top to cover up your PP tummy if needed!

25-06-2006, 15:11
I have been eyeing off BF Tops but thought to myself that I could just grab some boring ol' boob-tubes from supre to wear underneath my regular clothes for BF :D that way I won't embarress myself with showing off a big floppy tum!

Sara's Boys
28-06-2006, 22:07
:D when I was BF my first born, I was wearing these super comfy fresh moms tops, they were casual and practical, and will use them this time also (due in nov and planning to BF) But I have just bought 2 breastfeeding tops from www.sexymama.com.au they are by 1intheoven (UK?) really cool cotton 3/4 sleeves, really light for summer and they look sexier/funkier than the others, you should check them out. I am a big advocate of BF in public, and BF tops make it 100 times easier, unlike a boob tube DIY, nearly all BF tops have provisions for breast/nursing pads, which is very very handy. We are so lucky these days to have stylish choices to make our lives a little easier! Good luck on your mission!

28-06-2006, 22:16
Are they any good? Depends on which one
Why do they cost sooooo much? They are expensive maybe cos they are new but some are worth it for the quality
Which ones are the best in your opinon? I like the BOOB and Harriet Bear
Where can i get cheap ones? There are sales at certain marternity and nursing stores - just have to be lucky:fingerscrossed:

I never saw them until I was pregnant with my last baby, but there are a lot of cool things out there since I had my first, which was only 6 years ago

TwoBlue
28-06-2006, 22:18
I have a fresh mums top... it was ok....

it bothered me a bit because it was more designed to be worn without a bra.. it has the inbuilt bra thing happening... but i just felt i needed the support of a bra... and the two together just didnt work

I am about to list it on ebay if your interested?

wattle
29-06-2006, 05:02
I found the Rio stretchy singlet tops great, and they're only $10 at Big W. I couldn't justify spending $80 on a breastfeeding top either.

I found it much easier in the early days to pull a top down to feed than to lift one up. It always seemed that there was too much material sliding back down over ds's face and I couldn't see how well he was attaching.

29-06-2006, 06:57
Thanks girls

I found some singlet ones for cheap $30 each (well cheaper lol) here

www.mamalicious.com.au

and also at

www.loveable.com.au

for $55 for two so i may get these and just see how they go as it will still be warm when bubs comes.

Oh and tracey thanks for the offer but im really not keen on 2nd hand.....fussy i know sorry:o hehehe:D

InSaneOne
29-06-2006, 07:04
hi i wanted to get some of the bonds singlet tops but i couldn't get them large enough for when my milk came in (they don't make above a 16 and my d cup didn't fit)

i ended up buying 2 freshmums breastfeeding tops and i love them. it did cost me $100 for the 2 but then i only got 2 maternity bras to wear on the other days. with fresmums you can get a siglet type, a sleeveless type and a long sleeve type. i finished breastfeeding when my d was 6 months but i still wear my top as it is so comfy. the nightshirt is great too for feeding at night as you don't have to worry about wearing a bra to bed.

when you think about the cost of the top and the cost of a maternity bra there isn't much difference as a good bra will cost you $30- $40 and i think for $50 if you get a top too great.

my top - i wear it at least 2 times a week and have since my dd was 2 weeks old (she is nearly 11 months now) and my top still looks brand new. it hasn't faded or stretched, or gone icky like the bonds ones do sometimes. i got black ones and they are so easy to dress up with a nice jacket and some jewelery for going out and look really good with jeans for when you want to dress casual.

29-06-2006, 07:20
thanks belinda you do make a convincing arguement hehehe i may have to splurge:D

Pixie
29-06-2006, 07:22
I love mine I use Glamormom they're great means you don't show your mummy tummy and all that :D

I get mine at babies galore and get a discount ;)

InSaneOne
29-06-2006, 07:25
its just because i really, really love my tops.

someone asked me on another thread ages ago if i worked for them. i don't and she said maybe i should.

i love the singlet tops from bonds but thanks to my lovely dd i can't fit into them anymore. it would be nice if bonds made their clothes and underwear in the larger sizes. at the moment you can't get a bra above a 14c and the singlet tops only go to a 16. i used to fit a 16 but now my boobs fall out.

i think that the freshmums tops are easier to use than the glamourmom tops. the gm tops have a similar opening to maternity bras and can be tricky to do up and undo with one hand. the fresmums just lift up - but they have snaps (like the aplix on the cloth nappies)under so don't just open up as you are walking along.

TwoBlue
29-06-2006, 19:29
Oh and tracey thanks for the offer but im really not keen on 2nd hand.....fussy i know sorry:o hehehe:D

No probs mate.. i'm probably too fat for it to fit you anyway at a guess...:rolleyes:

29-06-2006, 19:49
I doubt it hun :laughing: but im glad i look thin in cyber space LOL:laughing:

TwoBlue
29-06-2006, 19:49
oh your a stunner !! Didnt you know ?!

Nathans mun
30-06-2006, 17:06
Personally I have only tried the glamourmom nursing tank & love it.
I gives me heaps of support & I found them easy to use. It was also alot cooler in summer

Karen;)