View Full Version : A thread to chat in when you just feel like talking about nappies #3
kotakai- I have been thinking about buying a taggie blanket too. Can I ask where you got yours from? I love the name sewn on!!!
And you pics of your 2 little fellas in matching beetlebums is gorgeous. They like so soft and lush and a great fit!!
I just PM'd you :)
A'sMummy
30-07-2009, 09:59
I just PM'd you :)
Thanks kotakai, I got your pm :D
Teegzie - Do you know the maker of Babybullfrogs? I'm thinking of getting some with my tax return, but I'm still undecided...
She lives down the road from me! :p I ordered some nappies from her a little while ago and got an email saying did I want to save myself the cost of postage and just wander down to her place and pick the nappies up? :laughing:
I love the BBF's we have, and looking at some of the nappies she was doing for other people has made me want more! She puts so much work into each nappy, so they are really well made! They are a great fit on Alice as well (though as always, every baby suits different nappies).
If you are unsure about BBFs you could always get one of the in stock cotton outer AIOs from her site (cheaper because they aren't time consuming embroidered minky ones) and see how it goes. You can always sell it off later if it doesn't suit.
I can't believe it's taken me so long to look at the bbf's site... OMG how gorgeous!
Aren't they just so cute! I got some BBFs to try on a whim after stumbling across the site and I love them! I'm actually wishing I'd got one of her paisley embroidered minky ones when she did her last stocking, but I suppose I can always ask her to make one for me! :p
I've packed up all my MCNs for Alice and my trip up to Townsville tomorrow. We've almost finished our pack of sposies and Alice's rash is pretty much gone, so I figure it's time to get her back into her cloth! :smiliedance: I think she'll be so happy!
Jaspat24
30-07-2009, 23:07
Aren't they just so cute! I got some BBFs to try on a whim after stumbling across the site and I love them! I'm actually wishing I'd got one of her paisley embroidered minky ones when she did her last stocking, but I suppose I can always ask her to make one for me! :p
I've packed up all my MCNs for Alice and my trip up to Townsville tomorrow. We've almost finished our pack of sposies and Alice's rash is pretty much gone, so I figure it's time to get her back into her cloth! :smiliedance: I think she'll be so happy!
Which MCN do you think she'll pick to wear first?? I looked at the BBF site also, and they are gorgeous; i might email her to see if she can make me a custom!
Jaspat24
31-07-2009, 10:00
What is a taggie blanket for?
why does my darling DS only do poos (BF poosplosions still) when he's wearing a nice white bumgenius pocket????? no joke, every 3-4 days he poos and its always in a bumgenius. Not in my cheap happy babes, nor in the old magicalls, not even in his night bamboo fitted; always in a white bumgenius. (coincidentally, its always the day i'm due to wash them so they don't sit in the bucket long).
What is a taggie blanket for?
It' just a blanket for them to snuggle with, but with ribbons sewn around the outside for them to play with. Play is probably not the right word, but have you noticed kids love the feel of the tags on their toys & like to rub them in their fingers?
Jaspat24
31-07-2009, 18:25
It' just a blanket for them to snuggle with, but with ribbons sewn around the outside for them to play with. Play is probably not the right word, but have you noticed kids love the feel of the tags on their toys & like to rub them in their fingers?
thanks kotakai1 my DS is only just 4mths so we're still new at exploring motherhood and the world together! is anyone going for a custom tomorrow at fluffy bubs? i really want to, but so don't need anymore nappies.
faroutbrusselsprout
31-07-2009, 18:54
Kotakai!
Got my itti's! They are FABULOUS! AND thanks so much for the bonus trifolds..very impressed. :D
How funny there are certainly a few of us BH members over on "you know where".
It is funny how there are a few of us over on another (best not to mention other forums) forum!
I got fluffy mail today (and wednesday), I have 3 new bbb (for nights) 3 purple wool covers, 3 WC (red, blue and purple) and a grape slushie FB, so its a very happy fluffy house here :)
faroutbrusselsprout
31-07-2009, 19:14
I was so excited to be the proud owner of a GF super night.
But the rise is SOO low..?
Are they usually so ridiculously bulky?
It actually leaked everywhere the second time I used it and DS2's bum crack was hanging out of it by the morning! :laughing:
Off to swap land for that one me thinks.
Still can't beat my trusty BBH minky stuffed with a booroi prefold for nights
bubbleandme
01-08-2009, 20:25
But the rise is SOO low..?
Are they usually so ridiculously bulky?I found that too!
my DS got the oh so attractive plumbers crack too (thank goodness he poo-ed frontwards lol)
it was such a gorgeous nappy too :(
did anyone score anything from the FB stocking today??
I got a custom dreams (yay! can't wait) :fingerscrossed: it works for fountain boy lol
also have a soaker being knitted, purple and black!
and some baby legs...
today was expensive :laughing:
Jaspat24
01-08-2009, 20:30
did anyone score anything from the FB stocking today??
I got a custom dreams (yay! can't wait) :fingerscrossed: it works for fountain boy lol
I got 2x custom embroidered minky days! I got a blue with a pirate and a cream with a cow jumping over a moon! I was so lucky cos i forgot my username and password and DH let me register in his name and let me get two! i was so happy. I really hope others were able to get what they wanted!
I got FB today:) And at the last stocking:o
Today I got the one I wanted! The chocolate with pink and lime dots:) And I got another one - just because I could.....a girly retro circles one.
I must say, I'm really loving my FBs. I think they might be just about my favourites atm. I really like the new booster better too. The other one was overkill for a day nappy imo.
bubbleandme
01-08-2009, 20:43
awesome! they sound gorgeous
it took all my will power not to get an embroidery one.. i even had it in my cart! but i was good lol just as well with everything else i've bought!
You will love the FB Dreams Emma:cloud9: I've got 3 now - they are SO luxurious. If I had to wear a nappy a Dreams is the one I'd want:D
MrsErinnElizabeth
01-08-2009, 21:08
Ok, I must know what this FB Dreams is now. What does FB stand for? I haven't quite gotten all the abbreviations down yet! :)
faroutbrusselsprout
01-08-2009, 21:13
FB = Fluffybubs. They are really hard to get your hands on. All sold out in less than 24 hours today!
bubbleandme
01-08-2009, 21:15
FB stands for Fluffy Bubs!
ooo all these awesome reviews, I can't wait!
MrsErinnElizabeth
01-08-2009, 21:37
Ahhhh, makes sense! Good thing I didn't know about it...I most definitely would have caved ;)
Purely out of curiosity, how often do they have stockings?
bubbleandme
01-08-2009, 21:45
from her site it says:
custom orders will be taken on the 1st of each month and a stocking will occur in the 3rd week of each month.
it also says that the volume of nappies will be decreasing after this month
love emma
Jaspat24
02-08-2009, 18:37
ok so after buying two fluffy bubs in their custom stocking on saturday, i'm now on an indefinate nappy ban. I can't resist the sales and discounts etc. I am so sad :(.
My DS is 4months and still fits into smalls. I have 16 medium sized MCN's and 26 OSFM and enough covers, liners etc; so i have absolutely no reason to buy more. DH made me go through all my hidden nappies this morning and show him and made me promise not to buy more. :crying::crying::crying:
I am sad too Jaspat. I was lucky enough to score 4 embroidered FB and the layby slot! But DH has also made me lay out all our nappies and said no more :no:
CaitlinsFood
03-08-2009, 22:11
hi all I'm Bonita and I'm new to the MCN world.
I've ordered GK trial pack,1 BG,IB trial pack(small),6 FB Day and a custom Bubba Moo(and a pair of H u g g a l u g s)
I've just received my GK trial pack today and to be honest I'm quite disappointed. I reckon after stuffing the boosters in they are quite bulky, and I can't be bother to stuff all the time(I prefer the snap in AI2 rather than pockets) so I'm now thinking of returning them.
I wish I have more money that I can buy more babylegs and bubba moo.
Jaspat24
03-08-2009, 22:28
I am sad too Jaspat. I was lucky enough to score 4 embroidered FB and the layby slot! But DH has also made me lay out all our nappies and said no more :no:
its so sad Leish, but i'm so glad you got some FB's.
hi :wave: Caitlinsfood welcome to the very addictive world of MCN's!
HAs anyone tried Spunky Butts? Do they still do custom orders? I emailed them last week but never got a reply and everyone else i have tried dont do customs...im REALLY desperate for some custom embroidery (sp)
CaitlinsFood
04-08-2009, 10:15
traseal-maybe try bubba moo?i just ordered my custom there, the lady is very nice to talk to:)
kezzaskids
04-08-2009, 10:31
hi all I'm Bonita and I'm new to the MCN world.
I've ordered GK trial pack,1 BG,IB trial pack(small),6 FB Day and a custom Bubba Moo(and a pair of H u g g a l u g s)
I've just received my GK trial pack today and to be honest I'm quite disappointed. I reckon after stuffing the boosters in they are quite bulky, and I can't be bother to stuff all the time(I prefer the snap in AI2 rather than pockets) so I'm now thinking of returning them.
I wish I have more money that I can buy more babylegs and bubba moo.
You will get used to the green kids. They are one of gthe nappies I use the most! Never had a leak...ever!
CaitlinsFood
04-08-2009, 11:32
i've just got my IBs!:yelclap:they are much much trimmer than GK!can't wait till they are dry and ready to use!Just one quick ques...are the tri-fold bamboo a must or i can take them out if i want?
:wave: I've been lurking for a little while now:o
I have been getting supplies of cloth going, never thought i would go to cloth, but after alot of reading, ect, i think its best for us to make the change:yes:
So far i have pockets,
a baby safari snaps M
Happy babes OSFA pocket vellcro
Bumgenius
Issy bear
So far i've found the bumgenius work well, the happy babes are the cheaper version of the bumgeinus, the babay safari has leaked a bit, think ikt may need a better insert. the issy bears are great for absorbency, i do wonder if they are too bulky for everyday use?
does anyone else have issy's? how do they compare with others for compactness?
i really like them, perhaps i should invest in a few more of the more 'compact' ones for going out?
TIA
mytwoangelsC&A
04-08-2009, 12:10
HAs anyone tried Spunky Butts? Do they still do custom orders? I emailed them last week but never got a reply and everyone else i have tried dont do customs...im REALLY desperate for some custom embroidery (sp)
Hey there, yes i got a AFL embroidered one about 8 weeks ago very nice lady. Maybe shes on holidays or i know she had young children, not like her to not reply she was very quick when i enquired good luck:yelclap:
OOOooo I dont want to email again in case she thinks im nagging....sitting on hands patiantly hitting refresh on my emails :laughing:
i've just got my IBs!:yelclap:they are much much trimmer than GK!can't wait till they are dry and ready to use!Just one quick ques...are the tri-fold bamboo a must or i can take them out if i want?
If you take the trifold out you only have 2 layers of absorbency... so you wouldn't get very long at all out of them (id say an a hour at most).
mytwoangelsC&A
04-08-2009, 12:43
OOOooo I dont want to email again in case she thinks im nagging....sitting on hands patiantly hitting refresh on my emails :laughing:
I think she may have taken 24hrs to get back to me but i think thats pretty quick she was really nice
CaitlinsFood
04-08-2009, 13:02
If you take the trifold out you only have 2 layers of absorbency... so you wouldn't get very long at all out of them (id say an a hour at most).
ic!i'd leave them in then,thanks!:yes:
im REALLY desperate for some custom embroidery (sp)
Genesa Forge will do customs, so does fluffy bubs, but you just missed her one. She does them on the 1st of each month. Baby bullfrogs will also do customs.
So far i've found the bumgenius work well, the happy babes are the cheaper version of the bumgeinus, the babay safari has leaked a bit, think ikt may need a better insert. the issy bears are great for absorbency, i do wonder if they are too bulky for everyday use?
does anyone else have issy's? how do they compare with others for compactness?
i really like them, perhaps i should invest in a few more of the more 'compact' ones for going out?
TIA
A cross between BG and IB would be good! I love Bumgenius, but I usually use an Issy Bear booster in them, or add a bamboo booster to the BG microfibre booster. I like the Issy Bear minky pocket too, but the BG pocket better. They're both great actually! I don't find the IB booster that bulky - I know it's humungus, but it's somehow soft.
CaitlinsFood
04-08-2009, 17:14
arggg it's :rain: my IBs won't dry...:hissy:
one ques abt GK, it said to leave 5cm from the end for newborn,i did so, and if i stuff all the insert in it just all crumble together:no:, if i don't, the extra length just stick out from the pocket iykwim:(...what should i do with it?am i expressing myself clearly?:confused:
kezzaskids
04-08-2009, 17:19
just pull the insert as far back in the pocket as you can. The elastic is stretchy!!.... then fold over the top so the white bit is showing and attatch the tabs to that.... only works with the bamboo insert, not the microfiber....
Genesa Forge will do customs, so does fluffy bubs, but you just missed her one. She does them on the 1st of each month. Baby bullfrogs will also do customs.
Thanks muchly
CaitlinsFood
04-08-2009, 18:27
just pull the insert as far back in the pocket as you can. The elastic is stretchy!!.... then fold over the top so the white bit is showing and attatch the tabs to that.... only works with the bamboo insert, not the microfiber....
still can't work it out...me being stupid...:dizzy:
are FB days good?I order 6 of them and also 6 extra boosters...
and any reviews on bubba moo?i'm thinking of getting more
oh and last ques, if you could only pick 1 from baby legs and H uggalugs, which one will you choose and why?
are FB days good?I order 6 of them and also 6 extra boosters...
and any reviews on bubba moo?i'm thinking of getting more
oh and last ques, if you could only pick 1 from baby legs and H uggalugs, which one will you choose and why?
What are FB days? When I see FB I think Fluffybubs (like what dd has on atm), but if you got 6 of them it cant be...
Ive never had h uggalugs, Ive got 2 bonds leggings, 3 happybabes leggings, and 1 pair of babylegs, have to say that the quality in the happybabes ones isn't fantastic, but there ok.
CaitlinsFood
04-08-2009, 18:44
What are FB days? When I see FB I think Fluffybubs (like what dd has on atm), but if you got 6 of them it cant be...
Ive never had h uggalugs, Ive got 2 bonds leggings, 3 happybabes leggings, and 1 pair of babylegs, have to say that the quality in the happybabes ones isn't fantastic, but there ok.
yes i mean fluffybubs, i ordered 6 in the custom order few days ago, are they good do you reckon?
have baby legs and have found them GREAT
yes i mean fluffybubs, i ordered 6 in the custom order few days ago, are they good do you reckon?
Wow you got 6!!
I love them, there one of my favorite nappies, I have 3 of them, so soft and well made, even my mother (who is a cloth sceptic) loves them.
CaitlinsFood
04-08-2009, 19:02
Wow you got 6!!
I love them, there one of my favorite nappies, I have 3 of them, so soft and well made, even my mother (who is a cloth sceptic) loves them.
i've been sitting in front of the computer 15mins prior to the custom order, and keep refreshing the page untill it's ready,then i quickly add all the colors i want in my cart and paid for them:laughing:i was so happy singing that DH was laughing at me in the bedroom:o
glad that they work for you!i hope they work for DD too!can't wait to receive them!
Jaspat24
04-08-2009, 23:25
how bad is this: i'm on a nappy ban and i ordered 10 more nappies today :no: i ordered 6 of BBH smooth with snaps on special and 4 bambooty's. Sssh, don't tell DH.
SmileyBJ
05-08-2009, 08:11
Im excited! :D Havent made a fluffy mail purchase for quite some time but ordered a GNST nappy, Beary Bottom Fleece cover & a BBH bamboo fitted nappy this morning :smiliedance:
Looking forward to there arrival!! & Very determined to make cloth work overnight for Ds. He is one SUPER Pee'er lol.
Jaspat24
05-08-2009, 11:20
That's awesome SmileyBJ! hope to see some cool pics soon!
Caitlinsfood: that's a whole heap of fluffy bubs! i felt guilty getting 2 cos of the limited number in the stocking. I'm yet to use my FB's on DS cos he's got skinny thighs so even on the small setting, the legs still gape.
Its a sad day today *play sad music*. i handed over all 3 of my credit cards to DH last night :( so i can't buy anymore nappies :crying:
Jaspat24
05-08-2009, 11:32
if you had the option of "try before you buy" or "look and see" would you:
1) take up the offer and/or
2) offer up yourself.
Just an idea i've had cos a lot of people are confused about the diff types of nappies etc. But then again, i spose thats what the expos are all about.
A cross between BG and IB would be good! I love Bumgenius, but I usually use an Issy Bear booster in them, or add a bamboo booster to the BG microfibre booster. I like the Issy Bear minky pocket too, but the BG pocket better. They're both great actually! I don't find the IB booster that bulky - I know it's humungus, but it's somehow soft.
Thanks Harriet:D
I think the issy's just seem huge cause ds is only 4 and a half months, i think when he gets a bit bigger, they will look more 'proportioned', iykwim?
Sooo, my stash consists of some issy's, baby safari, bumgenius, happy babes, have just put an order in for some itti bitti d'lish, bambooty's and a BBH, the one on spec. which puts my running toal up to around $360. i think another $100 or so should get me enough to be 'full time', so thats not too bad at all!
CaitlinsFood
05-08-2009, 11:53
i don't feel guilty because all the FBs are mine!MINE!:laughing:
Fluffy mail!:smiliedance:I just got my BG pocket and H uggalugs this morning!Tried them on a doll and all look good.DH thought the HL are leg warmers for myself!(yea if i were a baby)Maybe i'll keep the BG pocket and just return the GK as I really dislike them.
if there's something like "try before you buy" then i won't have to return the GKs:(
MCNs just never too much for bubs!(well..us...:D)
glad that they work for you!i hope they work for DD too!can't wait to receive them!
Fluffybubs are 1 of the ones on my list of favs. Not sure if they'll fit your bub yet though. They're still too big for my 10 week old (although he was prem so he's tiny)
Its a sad day today *play sad music*. i handed over all 3 of my credit cards to DH last night :( so i can't buy anymore nappies :crying:
big :hugs: for you. I'm almost at the end of my ordering too. I've got 4 abby gros, 2 fluffybubs, 1 genesa forge & 2 beetlebums on order & won't need much more after that. :(
Fluffy mail is almost at an end for me too:( I kept buying more and more so had to cull. Trouble is I culled almost all my workhorse nappies and am now left with heaps of really pretty nappies which I will be worried about DD damaging when she starts dragging herself around in the dirt:o Luckily I kept a few Bumgenius and I also have a few Bambooty on order. Just had to try them after all the good raves on here:) I really have to stop now though.
oooo can I join this thread! I cant believe how addictive this cloth thing is haha. My dp finally agreed to go cloth last saturday I think it was and ever since I've gone cloth mad. I'm quite embarassed to say but so far I have bought:
4 cushie tooshies, 3 itti bittis, 1 peapods, 2 second hand bbh minky magicalls, 1 baby bullfrogs with matching singlet, 2 bbh magicals (on top of the two second hand ones), and 6 bambooty's with another 8 on order to pay for next week :D oh god thats scary when you actually write it out... I've also ordered various boosters/liners... hope dp doesnt actually figure out the amount of money I have spent.... The itti bitti's arrived today and they have JUST dried so now I'm eagerly awaiting Noah to wake up so I can give them a whirl! I can tell this is going to become a little problem for me, I think my credit cards may need to be confiscated soon....They are SO irresistable though...I just hope with have success with them coz I really want to become a full time convert! :D
oh god I just added up how much I have spent....very scary...how did that happen?!?! haha
Sparrowgal
06-08-2009, 06:50
LOL Em1984, that's why I tell people I don't use cloth nappies coz of cost.. because I swear I spent so much on nappies it's not funny!!
Caitlinsfood - I know what kezzaskids means, I'm trying to think how else you can say it (about the GK)... stuff it in like you would for a normal sized baby, stretch the nappy out to as long as it goes and then fold down the front bit (kezza I think that's what you mean right, I feel like i'm just saying what you just said). If that doesn't work caitlin, you can use something else to stuff the nappy, like a bamboo foldup or the booster from a BG?
My sister is cute, she saw my massive stash and said that she wants to use cloth nappies when she has a baby because I've already got them all ready and she wouldn't have to spend any money! I wonder if the elastic would last that long...
I was looking at issybear nappies the other day - they look kinda like GKs to me! Does anyone have both? And how do they compare? I was wondering how the night one goes, but I am a little nervous when it comes to night pocket nappies, especially OSFM ones... DD having nappy rash with her night nappies lately but it tends to be more with ones what don't have a stay dry top liner (like my whizzkidz nights - older style).
kezzaskids
06-08-2009, 09:17
Dont return the GK just yet! Bubs will grow and as I have said they are realyl the most fantastic nappy! I have issybear and GK . The issy are lovely and the night nappies did work. The boosters seem huge, but are really soft and squishy. I must admit I was a little scheptical but I do like them. great value for money I think :) I have put the day inserts into my BG pockets as the bg microfiber inserts dont stand up to my DD huge wee!!
SmileyBJ
06-08-2009, 10:44
I was looking at issybear nappies the other day - they look kinda like GKs to me! Does anyone have both? And how do they compare? I was wondering how the night one goes, but I am a little nervous when it comes to night pocket nappies
I have both GK and IBs. I find them very much the same appart from the inserts. GK are more like bbh inserts, and issy bears include microfibre in theres i think. Its squishier, quite thick but flexible.
I havent tried the night nappy over night as ds just about leaks through anything. however it lasts 4 hours on him no worries, so it is quite absorbant :)
borntobemummy
06-08-2009, 18:06
if you had the option of "try before you buy" or "look and see" would you:
1) take up the offer and/or
2) offer up yourself.
Just an idea i've had cos a lot of people are confused about the diff types of nappies etc. But then again, i spose thats what the expos are all about.
there are actually a couple of nappy libraries online that allow you to borrow and try out different nappies;)
mummybunny
06-08-2009, 19:18
Hello everyone, mind if i join in i love talking nappies :D
2boyoboys
06-08-2009, 21:08
Yay- welcome :)
Im stalking the postie at the moment expecting, 13 Bambooty :o ( cant resist a sale)
4 BBH Magic-All's
4 Pea pod bamboo boosters,
At the moment im drooling over Rumparooz, But i think my DS2 will pee through Microfiber is a sec?
And i still havnt made my mind up about the BBh fitteds (im not sure about the wet bamboo being against my sons skin)- DP is sick of hearing about it, and i cant make up my mind with out talking about it :confused:
oh god I'm stalking the postie too...I think I opened my front door about 20 times today to check for parcels :D so dissapointed none came :(
2boyoboys are the rumparooz from oz? They are gorgous! I wish people woud stop mentioning new brands!! I'm gonna send us bankrupt!! haha
jimmysmummy
06-08-2009, 21:20
I love Rumparooz!:cloud9:
The only bad thing is that they're from the US. I'd much prefer to support Aussie WAHMs.
bubbleandme
06-08-2009, 22:03
And i still havnt made my mind up about the BBh fitteds (im not sure about the wet bamboo being against my sons skin)
I use BBH fitted and as far as wet bamboo goes, i don't find that there is nappy rash cause you're changing them often. when i used them overnight though i did find that he got a rash, that may also be cause he can pee through them in about 3-4 hours lol the heavy wetter that he is!
if you're worried, maybe use a liner? something stay dry like microfleece (cause that's easier to get!)
love emma
2boyoboys
06-08-2009, 22:47
that may also be cause he can pee through them in about 3-4 hours lol the heavy wetter that he is!
Thanks Emma,
It must be something about 5 month old boys, cos my pee machine is 5 months old too, and he even pee's through sposies. I think im going to get one as a test run, and then go from there, and i can always lay in an Itti snap in piece with the stay dry stuff on it top.
I think im getting apprehensive cos this MCN business is addictive :) and getting expensive :(. What covers are u using with yours?
Sparrowgal
07-08-2009, 06:52
Thanks Kezza, DD is having nappy rash with just night nappies (like it clears up during day but once night nappy goes on it's getting wet and she wakes up with rash again) so I'm looking for a drier option (which does not include disposables! everyone keeps telling me to put her in a sposie but I'm trying not to). So I might try this Issybear night, it doesn't seem that expensive. Just hope it doesn't leak!
mytwoangelsC&A
07-08-2009, 07:40
Well i am expecting some fluffy mail :yelclap:i couldn't reseist in bambooty i brough some of there boosters to to try as they were cheap as i use mainly bumgenius so though i could boost them with a bamboo booster for extra absorbancy. I brough a rumparoo yesterday to try to it outs me offf a bit that its an American company to but i really like bumgenius but not the velcro! I also ordered a baby buttcover to try as well but i have been ordering a little larger as DS nickname is PUMBA and i really have plenty for now i havn't used a sposie on him in like 3 months
sweetseven
07-08-2009, 09:40
They're gone! :hair:
Last night, I went to make up the night nappies for my toddler and 6yo, and couldn't find the pocket shells, and I'll have to check if I'm missing any contents also.
I've only got the four (two each), so it is always, two in the wash, and two for them to wear that night. I also like to wash them with the school uniforms at night. Now I'll have to go back to morning washings. :crying: (I still habve the two from the previous night.)
I cannot believe how addictive this nappy thing is!! I am really thinking we will need to have a 2nd bub to justify all the nappies..:laughing:
I am waiting on three bambooties and some silk liners...hope they get here today. DD has all of a sudden got a bad case of nappy rash, so I am going to give the silk liners a go - has anyone had any luck with them?
Funny thing is, her rash looks better in the morning (after 12 hrs in BBH bamboo) than it does throughout the day (changed very 2-3 hours). How does that work :confused:
I received my first custom nappies this week - two embroided Baby Bullfrogs. They are soooo gorgeous and soft and cute....I don't know if I want to use them.
DH was laughing at me patting the nappies with no bum in them!!!
Looking forward to summer, no pants just cute nappies :yelclap:!
CaitlinsFood
07-08-2009, 11:41
When does your LO start using night nappy?
Should I get day nappies and night nappies/day&night nappies(which you add extra booster to make it a night nappy)iykwim?:confused:
I'm thinking of getting some...
TIA
:smiliedance: I'm getting fluffy mail!!! Some extra gk covers and my bambootys have both been despatched, waiting to hear on despatch of my issy bears and will be getting a couple of bonnibuns tomorrow:smiliedance:
does anyone know, with bambooty, I was told they are sent express. So I got the confirmation that they were sent last night, does that mean they will come today some time? I was given a tracking number but its not working on the aust post website?
Can you tell I'm hanging :D
dont know if they were express post, i got a confirmation yesterday too, so was hoping today, but not pinning my hope on it, my postie has been:(
mytwoangelsC&A
07-08-2009, 13:50
tommo yes i have recieved them before express post, i got confirmation they had been sent last night to my postie just been with some fluffy mail but not my bambooty:(will def be expecting them on Monday
:laughing: We all got Bambooty emails last night! So theoretically if 1 of us gets them today we all should, otherwise monday:D
CaitlinsFood
07-08-2009, 14:21
Should I get day nappies and night nappies/day&night nappies(which you add extra booster to make it a night nappy)iykwim?:confused:
TIA
please anyone?:confused:
haha well I hope one of us does then! Im desperate! I only have 3 mcn's so far, it just doesnt cut it so we're still in sposies :( mytwoangelsc&a is it possible that the posty might come back?!?! haha
and is anyone else's tracking working with aust post??
I'm like a kid at christmas!
caitlinsfood, as far as I know they can start using them right away?! I suppose its finding a good one though that can handle all the newborn wee's! I saw on one of the sights yesterday that had newborns wearing them, it was either itti bitti's or bbh I can't remember. I spose you could just boost them up heaps. The itti's bitti's I got are quite small and they are a medium, so I imagine the small are pretty tiny, and the clasps allow you to overlap the sides so I'd imagine they would fit a newborn easy... Sorry I'm only new to this so cant offer much concrete advice, hopefully someonce else can come along and give you some more advice!
borntobemummy
07-08-2009, 14:53
please anyone?:confused:
my baby didn't need a real night nappy until about 4 months. Now I have two in full time cloth and they have 4 night nappies between them and if we need more (not washed yet or pooed in the night nappy) we have BBBs and wool covers as back ups and they work great!
mytwoangelsC&A
07-08-2009, 15:00
haha well I hope one of us does then! Im desperate! I only have 3 mcn's so far, it just doesnt cut it so we're still in sposies :( mytwoangelsc&a is it possible that the posty might come back?!?! haha
Um no i doubt it my postie that does the mail has been cos i had mail in the letterbox and i recoeved two fluffy mail that were delivered by the parcel one LOL. I know express post has to be at the PO no in the Post box by 4pm to be garanteed next day delivery.
CaitlinsFood I've had DS in sandmans and a cover at night since he was about 3 1/2 months. I have two in Sandmans at night i have 3 girly ones for DD and 3 boyish ones for DS and he also has a bambooty night so he has 4 and i am waiting on another night nappy in the mail that i did a swap on here, I probably could get away with 3 each i only wash every second day but they are a lot thicker than a normal day nappy and here in Melb we don't have the greatest weather.
springbubba
07-08-2009, 16:17
CaitlinsFood - I can't help you on when they are needed...bun still in the oven here. BUT the Bambooty smalls are pretty small and I would imagine that they would fit a newborn if that helps. They look smaller than the small itti's.
well it doesnt look like I'll be getting any fluffy mail today :( I was convinced I'd at least get one parcel! And now I'm going to have to pray it comes in the morning on Monday coz dp has the day off but will be out all morning, I dont want him to see how much MONEY i've spent haha! He would have a nervy turn!
Does anyone use itti bitti's overnight?? I have been wanting to try one out o/night but a bit nervous to in case noah ends up soaked! I do have some big bamboo boosters (oh i lie, these came in the mail today :D) that I can add to them, although it might be a tight squeeze! hmm
jimmysmummy
07-08-2009, 21:10
TIA
I started using night nappies when DS was about 13 months old. We use Sandmans and Wild Child Dreamy Nights.
Prior to this, we used Baby Beehinds Bamboo fitted or Cute Tooshies Bomboo Delight fitted with an extra trifold booster between the nappy and the wool cover.
Before that (about 6 months) when he was waking once or twice a night, we used a Bumgenius with an extra bamboo booster in it.
Em I persoanlly wouldn't use an itti overnight but dd2 soaks a snap in in3-4 hrs or a sewn in 2-3 hrs plus there's no extra room for another booster in dd2s. How old is ds? Do you do nappy changes overnight or night feeds that you could change him at?
:iagree: 2-4hours max for itti's.
newme, i have 2 med ittis coming, a freind sold 3 to me today (hardly used, boyish colours, and she has a girl, so never got to using them), and they only just fit josh :(
have you ever dealt with itti for an exchange??
is indie in in M now???
Noah is 9 months, still sometimes wakes o/night but I never change his nappy when he does otherwise he would wake up too much. Occassionally he is wet in the morning but not very often (in sposies). Its ok I'll just wait for my night nappy's to come, I'm just worried even they wont hold up like the sposies do?! He hates being wet, so the thought of him waking up wet in the middle of the night isnt overly thrilling...I suppose I'll just have to give it a shot and see how we go! Still thinking of investing in some wool or PUL covers too which will prob make me feel a bit more confident...and it seems a lot of people have had success with the bambooty night nappies and I have ordered a few of them so fingers crossed! The itti's are holding up well though, tomorrow will be my first outing in them! haha :D
Jaspat24
07-08-2009, 23:20
The nappies i ordered before i handed my credit cards over still haven't arrived; oh well, something to look forward to next week! i ordered 6 BBH magicalls and 4 bambooty's. but the bambooty order didn't process properly so when i went to re-place the order, i ordered 8 intotal. I'm getting 5 night nappies so i'll have 6 in total. The bamboo fitteds are good but have had to change the smaller insert to the larger one and have noticed a rash appears on DS. It clears up with nappy free time but once the night nappies arrive i'll use the bamboo fitteds for day use. DS is 4 mths and i def need to not change him overnight cos then he wakes up too much and wants to play.
Tash I just mentioned in the bambooty thread but I'll pop it here too. The ittis seem to fit on the same snap for ages, indies in an m has been for a few months and I don't think I've changed the snap setting yet. You should get some good wear out of them. Plus when j starts being on the move it's likely he'll slim down a bit too and need smaller fitting nappies again briefly:)
CaitlinsFood
08-08-2009, 14:43
thanks all!does that mean that I can start using a night nappy now and don't have to change it if DD didn't poo?I'm interested in getting a Bonnibuns night nappy to try with!
Tash I just mentioned in the bambooty thread but I'll pop it here too. The ittis seem to fit on the same snap for ages, indies in an m has been for a few months and I don't think I've changed the snap setting yet. You should get some good wear out of them. Plus when j starts being on the move it's likely he'll slim down a bit too and need smaller fitting nappies again briefly:)
ohh, good point;)
he's not super chubby yet, but has wide hips, if that makes sense? i've always used bigger nap's on him (sposies).
(i wont save much if i have to send them back!!)
thanks for the recommendation on the itti's, they are just super trim arnt they!
the issy's will seem huge compared to them, but i figure, J will grow into the other ones, and they will look more proportioned when he gets a bit bigger.
the issy's are the best quality out of any nappies that i have tried though:yes:
Can someone explain to me what the great cloth nappy hunt is??
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=233532&page=3
heres a thread explaining the nappy hunt
Caitlinsfood you still need to change a pooy bum night nappies are just more absorbant to hold 12-13 hrs of wees:)
no probs tash, I'm thankful of the recommendation on the issys Im hanging out to get them! I can see these becoming my fav night nappy fast and I haven't even got them yet hahaha! With a bit of luck the night nappies will suit dd1 as well then we'll truely be a cloth only house:D
newme, oh, the issys will look so cute on dd1!!
she's launching a new site at the end of august too, that will be exciting!!
I know I've been checking out the pics on fb j looks so cute in his minkys! I think I like the cheetah the best on him. I've ordered a night pink hearts an a smarties minky:D
dd1 has put her order in for giraffe prints lol!
newme - oh, i love the smarties minky!! (im wondering if i can get away with it on J:laughing:) i love that she's made it so they are interchangable, nights/minky/bearytime, they can be used day/night depending on the booster:thumbsup:.
i can't help but show off his cloth bum:D
i think i've had about 10 people seriously interested in cloth since seeing J on facebook alone, theres a couple of mums at mothers group interested too.... oh, when i get on a bandwagon:laughing:
i think there is a stigma attached to cloth, until you understand just how easy it is,
leaks are minimal,
washing easy, no soaking
bum rash isnt an issue
$$$$
true enviro factors
bandwagon, bandwagon, bandwagon....:laughing:
so i finally put DS in a cloth nappy overnight- i put a bamboo insert, bamboo booster and microfibre insert into a GK nappy- it is HUGE!
have noticed that those of you who haven't bought specific night nappies boost a normal nappy heaps (like a BBH one) and most of you admit that the nappy is huge on bub... so i'm just wondering... do you reckon there are any physical problems with having bub in such a huge nappy for 12 hours? like DS's bum was way off the ground, his hips were tilted, legs all frog legged out etc... is this ok from a developmental point of view??? (i realise this is a silly question, but DH took one look at DS in his huge nappy and asked if was ok, because he looked so ridiculous...now i'm all paranoid!)
could be an excuse to buy some more nappies...special night time ones??? hehe.
katieinwa
08-08-2009, 23:57
vicki there won't be a problem developmentally, people have been doing cloth since the stoneages :) when i use the gk minky over night (when my FB dreams are in the wash) i only use the bamboo hourglass double insert and the microfiber insert and that is good for her overnight. maybe take the bamboo booster out if he is really dry in the morning.
DD is a tummy sleeper so a big nappy doesnt bother her lol
SmileyBJ
09-08-2009, 08:51
Tommo- Lol Im the same, have converted quite a few mums from photos and them seeing Ds's nappies :laughing:. And other people really don't get it lol... I got told by one mum last night that she didn't quite get the whole concept of cloth nappies but they smell... :rolleyes:... Btw.. shes never seen one before.
Vicki- I don't think theres ever been developmental issues brought up with night nappies. Ds sleeps on his tummy and brings his legs up so his back is arched naturally anyhow... Don't think theres any issue though, as katie mentioned, cloth has been used for many many years at night with no dev issues so far?
Question- Have been wondering... Does BBB stand for Baby beehind bamboo??
Im hanging out for the posty toomorrow! Hoping my GNST, bbh bamboo and a fleece cover arrive in the mail!
SmileyBJ
09-08-2009, 09:09
Where abouts can you sell cloth nappies??
I know ebay only allow new nappies...
bj, ohhh, cause if you've never seen a MCN, you obviously know how they work;) smart girl this freind of yours:laughing:
try buy for baby & oztion and nappy chic (minus the spaces)
they have second hand nappies there:)
and monkey's undies? I always have a look on there!
What sizes are you selling? pm me if your not allowed to say :)
do you think i got ripped off?
i bought 3 medium itt's for $18 ea
all in very good condition (not used very often, 5-6 times, about 7 months old)
or does that sound about right????
katieinwa
09-08-2009, 10:59
if they were excellent condition then yes that is an ok price, i probably would pay more like $16 for great used condition for that age and $18 for snap ins myself lol but thats just cos i know the market is flooded with them at the moment. i have seen some go for as little as $14 and $16 respectively as there is so much available, and so many specials with them its very easy to buy them brand new with the 6 month warrenty for early $20's
ok cool, so maybe payed about $10 too much, thats ok, i suppose:laughing:
i've only been using cloth for a month now, and dont really know the 2nd hand market yet;)
im sure the other new girls will be happy to see this too
katieinwa
09-08-2009, 11:11
no worries lol thats just my interpretation and from what i have seen from direct wheeling and dealing elsewhere. i think on auction sites they might go for a little bit more as not everyone is aware you can buy second hand elsewhere.
acronyms - i read somewhere else that
BBH = Baby Beehind Hemp or Baby BeeHind
BBB = Baby Beehind Bamboo
katieinwa
09-08-2009, 11:16
well i am just waiting on 3 fluffybubs in the post and thats me done (bar anything super dooper at expo this weekend LOL)
i have ordered a large FB dream to see if a higher rise will suit DD as her mediums still fit fine waist wise but the rise is starting to get a bit low so if the larges are better then i will get rid of my 3 mediums and get more of the bigger ones. i have a mint minky with a girl pirate embroidered and a pale pink minky with "big sister" embroidered on the bottom. once i get into the 2nd trimester i will put it on her and use it as an icebreaker to tell people i am pregnant lol (havent told anyone yet, only just nearly 7 weeks gone)
have also noticed onn the NN webstie that the BG AIO are instore so i have flicked an email to find out when i will get my replacements, i can't wait, trying to decide whether to ask for small (for the next baby) or large (for DD) as she has since outgrown the med i sent back
hey girls :) Can someone tell me what is better? polyester PUL or cotton PUL?
I have anotrher question :D SAy I found a really nice fabric, and I wanted to get someone to make a nappy out of it for me, where would I look for someone? Like what would I search for in google or whatever?
Lots of WAHM's will do this. Just choose which nappy you want & email & ask.
What type of material have you found?
I've found quite a few online, only problem is my computer just died temporarily and I lost all the pages I had open :crying: so now I need to find them again...dont know if it would work out really expensive though and not really be worth it?
I must be a dork but this morning I discovered my washing machine has a specific nappy cycle which has a deep rinse cycle first, I was so excited. Wish I had discovered it months ago but better late than never!
jimmysmummy
09-08-2009, 20:22
I must be a dork but this morning I discovered my washing machine has a specific nappy cycle which has a deep rinse cycle first, I was so excited. Wish I had discovered it months ago but better late than never!
Wow, cool!
2boyoboys
09-08-2009, 20:29
Please tell me it is a Fisher Paykel? im going to look now and see if mine has one :detective:
Yep fisher paykel aqua smart. Go into the lifestyle section, then families and almost at the end of the options:D
oh wow I wish mine had that! makes life a bit easier!
I know, shame I had just pulled the nappies out when I found it, now I have to wait til Tuesday to test it out when I do my next load.
LOL, I have the same machine & only found it a few weeks ago myself. I always do a rinse first & find this one works better than just the normal rinse cycle.
SmileyBJ
10-08-2009, 06:37
Aww wish mine had a specific nappy cycle... will check the book but don't think it does. :(
That's great kotakai, I always do the rinse then wash cycle thing so hope this works out better
yay my fluffy mail is on the way! Finally was able to do the tracking and its onboard with driver! haha, I coudlnt get to sleep last night I was so excited.....how exciting my life must be! Dp thinks i'm going nuts :D
COPIED FROM BAMBOOTY THREAD:
I got my bambootys this morning:D
They are nice and trim, well made, very similar sizing to the itti bittis (Medium anyway), they arn't quite as trim as the ittis, but still definatley one of the trimmer out there.
they fit with one or 2 snaps in the middle, so should fit for a while?
has anyone had ittis? how long did it take to go from one snap in the middle to outgrown??
my day ones came with the cute little wetbags, PERFECT for the nappy bag!
the Easy peasy (AIO), as close to a sposie as you can get, nothing to snap, stuff or anything.
interesting to see drying time:)
easy dry- very nice too.
night time ones- really are quite slim than a regular bumgenius/happy babes.. not any more bulky
i think i only ordered 3 boosters, but she sent 4 :)
love the little gussets, will hold poosplosions much better (had one in an itti the other day, did it go everywhere:rolleyes:)
now to get them washed and dried to see how they go absorbency wise!
yayyyyy it arrived!!! already in the washing machine :D i got my bambooty's, pea pods and cushie tushies! they are all quite different from each other! now I can REALLY start my cloth journey :)
jjules13
10-08-2009, 12:36
yay. be careful its addictive!! ive been busy unpicking and sewing new velcro onto my sons old pocket nappies. im too sad to throw them out i thought i'd rejuvenate them for bubba #3. its very much a hobby collecting mcns. hahah.
For those of you with baby boys & are as tragic as me & like to match your clothes with your nappies, you have to check out the new pumpkin patch range. They've got robots & sea creatures & boats, that match perfectly with the embroidery some WAHM's use :laughing: Also, I noticed in Target yesterday, I think it was the fisher price brand, a cute t shirt with giraffes on it. Would also match some embroidery I've seen.
Bring on summer I say so he can just wear a nappy & t shirt :D
WOW! ~Goes off to look at her own washing machine~
Nope no luck here :rolleyes:
SmileyBJ
10-08-2009, 16:42
Em- Just pm'd you :).
None of our fluffy mail arrived today :( Maybe 2morrow lol...
embryonichappyperson
10-08-2009, 17:30
I just ordered some Bumboo flats, first big buy of any other nappy so I'm looking fwd to that! Though I do have 4 BBB arriving this week and 4 Maz covers.
2boyoboys
10-08-2009, 17:59
I got Fluffy Mail!! 4 BBH Magic-Alls arrived today, and are about to go through the wash, They are MASSIVE compared to my other nappies, but i will be able to boost them heaps for DS2 sleeps, and maybe get one on DS1 overnight.
Still waiting on Bambooty, and 2 bamboo fitteds, 1 mother-ease cover, and a Rumparoo!
Then thats it for me till the nappy hunt and maybe the Melb Expo. DP doesnt even bother kicking up a fuss anymore.
2boyoboys
ohh, whens the melbourne expo???
i saw the rumparooz last week, look really good, only prob is, they arn't aussie. was thinking of getting one during the nappy hunt though.
im waiting on one BBH, only got 1 just to try them.
well we used a bambooty night nappy last night and it was FANTASTIC! No leaks, and even had plenty of room for more wee's YAY! I'm super happy with the bambooty's, such a good nappy!
really em?
mine wern't dry in time, so trying tonight.
is ds a heavy wetter? or does 1 sposie do him the whole night?
hey tommo, he's not a super heavy wetter but probably 2-3 out of 7 mornings he will wake up wet from a sposie, so I suppose some nights he wets heavier than others. It may have been one of those nights that he didnt wet as much. The nappy was heavy but definetly room for more. I was worried coz they are quite low cut that he would wet out the top, but it was great! No worries at all, I'm really happy coz I was worried we'd still have to use sposies at night, but with these I dont think we will!
The other thing is, I wasnt able to boost it any more as it just ended up WAY too bulky, but I reckon if you used a larger size it could be bulked which would make it even better if you did find that bubs wet through...
2boyoboys
11-08-2009, 08:50
2boyoboys
ohh, whens the melbourne expo???
i saw the rumparooz last week, look really good, only prob is, they arn't aussie. was thinking of getting one during the nappy hunt though.
im waiting on one BBH, only got 1 just to try them.
The expo is 16-18th October at Melbourne Exhibition centre. I went last year, and i think it is def worth a visit. There are heaps of products and specials all in one place. It helps if u know what ur looking for because it can be overwhelming.
If you google PBC expo, then u can download a free ticket.
Im hearing u about the Rumparooz not being Aussie, but i bought it from an Australian sight though so thats half good. Itti's and BBH despite being Aussie companies, anrt made in Australia either. It was a bit of an impulse purchase, and im hoping it pays off, it will be the most expensive nappy in our collection. Im not sure about the microfiber inserts, but being a pocket nappy i will be able to stuff it with anything.
Its a good idea to get 1 or 2 of things to try, although it might cost more in postage, in the long run if the nappy doesnt work- at least u dont have half a dozen of them!
The other thing i have realised is that kids peeing habbits change as they get older. My DS1 can get at least 3-4 hours out of an unboosted Itti, where as DS2 only get 1.5 hours max out of a boosted. It makes me feel good that the nappies i have are varied enough to go the distance :ecomcity:
thats promising em, J gets through 11 hours with 1 sposie at night, no leaking, so the bambooty should be fine then;)
2boyoboys, ohh, 16-18th oct it is then:laughing:
i saw the rumaprooz on an aussie site too, alot cheaper than getting them from the US direct.
im wanting to try one, i'll see what you think, lol. they're the same price as bumgenuis, so not too bad.
i have a very varied stash now, lol.
mytwoangelsC&A
11-08-2009, 09:06
2boyoboys, ohh, 16-18th oct it is then:laughing:
i saw the rumaprooz on an aussie site too, alot cheaper than getting them from the US direct.
im wanting to try one, i'll see what you think, lol. they're the same price as bumgenuis, so not too bad.
i have a very varied stash now, lol.[/QUOTE]
I used my rumparooz yesterday i got it from soul mothers aussie seller on Thursdays it arrived on friday not even 12hrs :yelclap: I was very impressed and although it isn't an aussie company and it works out the same price as bumgenius i think i prefer it better it is snaps had the gusset it has a smaller setting for newborn i think rumparooz will be the way o go if i have another from birth
ah he should be fine then, Noah goes about the same amount of time, last night he had it on from about 7.30-7.30. Where do you get the rumparooz from here? Can pm me if not allowed to say. Yay can't wait for the baby show, I've never been to one yet!
Hi Gals! :)
can I ask for feedback on any of these nappies please?
Baby Kangas, Sugar Shots (would a Medium AIO side snap fit my 12kg 16 month old?) , Jamtots Berry Plush, Mini Lala and Auriel (again do you think size 2 AIO's would fit my little guy?)
thanks heaps :)
jjules13
11-08-2009, 11:04
we have a jamtots berry plush. well made strong absorbent nappy that can be boosted further if needed but feels great. the medium fit is only just getting onto my 12kg toddler.
Baby Kangas, Sugar Shots (would a Medium AIO side snap fit my 12kg 16 month old?) , Jamtots Berry Plush, Mini Lala and Auriel (again do you think size 2 AIO's would fit my little guy?)
I haven't personally used sugar shots, but they get rave reviews. I think you've got more chance of winning lotto than getting 1 brand new though :laughing:
I loved my Auriel's. My DS is a skinny 9.5kg 15mth old & wears size 2. I've recently sold them though as they were still a little big, but since your bub is bigger than him they should be fine. I plan on getting some more when he bulks up a bit, so they fit better, as they are a gorgeous well made nappy.
Haven't tried the others sorry.
I have a medium AIO Sugar Shots! and I doubt it would fit a 12kg bub. My DD is a bit over 9kg and it fits her but not for long I don't think. If you can grab one in large, or a pocket - go for it!!! They are VERY hard to get.
I just sold a medium Berry Plush and it has fitted my DD since she was about 3 months and still fitted at 7 months, 9kg. I didn't mind it - they're a bit like a cover with a snap-in booster system IYKWIM. The booster part was quite nice and very soft, but I found the nappy a bit puffy around the front.
Haven't tried the others.
What a bitter sweet afternoon... My fluffy mail arrived(just another couple of gk shells because I had extra inserts) but dd1 saw how lovely they were and has claimed them as her own! She refuses to give them back, so I suppose they will become her night nappies, which is frustrating because the magicalls boosted work really well for her overnight whereas ifind it a bit hard to stuff a gk with what she needs. Oh well at least she's a cloth convert now too:D just have to get dh excited about nappies now and we'll be a fully cloth nut family:D
SmileyBJ
11-08-2009, 19:15
My fluffy mail arrived today! But not here as i was away, so have to wait until 2morrow to see it :laughing:. bbh bamboo, a fleece cover and GNST nappy :D yay, very excited.
katieinwa
12-08-2009, 08:06
*if* you can get one go for the large. DD can just fit in the medium, but really the rise is starting to get too small and suits the medium longs better, shes a couple kgs lighter so i would say the large are the go.
the auriel size 2 should fit fine. DD fits into it with heaps of room to grow and tightest snap setting.
mini lala i have seen but not tried
havent heard much about baby kangas, well i havent heard anything raving good so who knows, might be under the radar or something :)
Jaspat24
12-08-2009, 11:28
...living in WA. I am waiting on a total of 5 parcels all coming from the eastern states. I'm waiting on BBH, Bambooty and my Xtrainer computer, all of which have been sent. Also waiting for fluffy bubs and baby bullfrogs, both of which i know won't even be finished being made. I just want my nappies so i can wash them and dry them in one big load and have them ready for DS's daycare next week. can i cry or is that a bit juvenile?
Wow I haven't been on here in a little over a week and there is 20 odd pages to trawl through! :p
Alice's fungal rash went away so I finally got to get her back into her cloth nappies, only to have it come back a day later, and worse than ever! :crying: So she spent another week and a half in sposies. :( The cream the doctor gave me for the rash didn't seem to be all that good so went and got some Dactozin from the chemist (after it was recommended on here ;)) and it worked a treat! Her poor sore botty is now as smooth as... well a babies bottom! :laughing:
I'm thinking of sticking to fleece lined nappies rather than suedecloth because the fleece seems a bit better for Alice's super sensitive skin.
I got an email today saying my Weenotions nappies are in the mail! :smiliedance: Can't wait to get them!
I also got 2 Bubba Moo's to try. I haven't washed them yet (since Alice is only just back into her MCNs) but they look good so far. Plus I couldn't resist the pretty pink star and moon minky!
SmileyBJ
12-08-2009, 13:35
Glad to hear Alice's bot is much better!! :yelclap:
My fluffy mail arrived today, wrong colours from what I ordered but its night nappies so all is good, not bothered lol :).
Does anyone know whether Fleece covers need to be prewashed? Or washed after every use??
I always washed Alice's fleece covers after each use. Mainly because they got pretty stinky when she was teething and since they dry so quickly they would be ready for use again after about half an hour! :p
mytwoangelsC&A
12-08-2009, 15:24
Teegzie i use fleece in Gus;s nappies and i find it great never had a problem with them and they dry super fast, poor Alice must be sore.
Hey Jag i have a number of sugar shots i love them fir great look great absorb well i orefer the side snapping over the velcro fronts.
Im a little sad at the moment i don't wana whinge but i did a swap a while ago well i havn't got my nappy yet, i know i am probably being impatient but i send a fluffy bubs off 16 days ago and havn't got mine back yet or heard from the person im am an honest person and am just disapointed cos i sent a new nappy i have been told it was getting sent has anyone else had any problem?
Teegzie i use fleece in Gus;s nappies and i find it great never had a problem with them and they dry super fast, poor Alice must be sore.
Hey Jag i have a number of sugar shots i love them fir great look great absorb well i orefer the side snapping over the velcro fronts.
Im a little sad at the moment i don't wana whinge but i did a swap a while ago well i havn't got my nappy yet, i know i am probably being impatient but i send a fluffy bubs off 16 days ago and havn't got mine back yet or heard from the person im am an honest person and am just disapointed cos i sent a new nappy i have been told it was getting sent has anyone else had any problem?
oh no, thats terrible:(
have you messaged them?
id be rather upset too:hugs:
yay I have nother order of bambooty's on their way! I'm so in love with these nappies! Last night was another success, no leaks! it seems like such a small nappy its hard to believe it would hold so much wee :D So I've now got another 5 easy peasy's coming and 3 night nappy's and I'm even tempted to get a few more and just make them the majority of my collection, but I think I'll wait and see if she has another sale. Are they likely to be when that nappy hunt thing happens? Do all the nappy places have sales at this time?
We've had a couple of leaks with our itti bitti's but thats purely coz they've been left on too long (daddy is good at putting off nappy changes) but they would still have to be my second favorite, I love the size of them, although can be a bit tricky to put on when you have a bub doing screwdrivers as you try to change him. We also got our bbh's yesterday and pea pods I think they're called and I'm impressed with both of them, just not as pretty :) The cushie tushies are a little bit big around the leg, but I can see he will grow into them quite well, and I've recieved great customer service from them. So bub is now officially in full time cloth yay! I still have a heap of sposies sitting there, but dont wanna chuck them as that would be a big fat waste so I might give them away. Still waiting on a baby bullfrogs set and some second hand bbh minky's and pul covers I bought. I have quite a few but am realising I still need quite a few more as I'm going through them quickly, already need to wash them otherwise I'll run out tomorrow. Makes you realise how many sposies you actually go through! Yay I'm so happy we converted!
mytwoangelsc&a I'd be upset to! Thats a long time to wait, especially when yours have been sent! I'd be getting on there back, a couple of weeks is fine but any longer than that and I'd be getting a bit worried!
SmileyBJ
12-08-2009, 17:17
I'd be upset too not to mention a little annoyed. How inconsiderate.. I hope they send it off to you soon!!
Jaspat24
12-08-2009, 18:14
Mytwoangelsc&a: hope the nappies come soon.
Does anyone know where i can get a good sized wet bag to hold 4-6 nappies, with either a drawstring close or a strong zip with a handle? just after one for daycare.
SmileyBJ
12-08-2009, 19:10
I have a bummi's one which would hold about 4 nappies. Its a medium I think, and im sure they also sell large ones also?
ok, so our first sign of nappy rash today:( first ever... this afternoon
red, with little sore type things, not pussy or sores yet, like little red dots.
he wore his first MCN overnight last night, the bambooty. it was full this morning, and just starting to moisten at the elastic around the legs.
i havnt had any problems with rashes since starting mcn's, so i wonder if i need to do something different overnight??
Sparrowgal
12-08-2009, 19:36
Teegzie I'm glad Alice's rash is better!
Tommo787 - I find that if the nappy is very full then either boost more to keep wet away (because the wet SMELLY wee gives my DD rash) or make sure you have a nice dry liner. However for me once the rash comes I have to aggressively treat it or it just goes nuts (my DD has very sensitive skin) so I have lots of nappy free time and slather lots of barrier creams on. make sure you put liners in your nappies if you use zinc creams though!
my2angels - oh i hope you get your nappies soon, that's so disappointing.
out of curiosity what is everyone's favourite fleece covers? Personally myself I use flongies as covers but just wondering what fleece brands are good.
jimmysmummy
12-08-2009, 19:43
I would be sad too- you're entitled to whinge! Have you tried PMing your swappee? 16 days is far too long to wait. Luckily I've never had any trouble with swaps.
mytwoangelsC&A
12-08-2009, 19:52
I'd be upset too not to mention a little annoyed. How inconsiderate.. I hope they send it off to you soon!!
Yeh :fingerscrossed: it turns up by the end of the week i pm'd yesterday havn't got a reply but i know everyones not like me and not on here every day lol
Dd2 doesn't like her bambootys. Just screams when they're on. They're on right, sizing is good but she just isn't happy in them. I haven't had this before, thinking I might need to swap them for something else.
oh no newme:(
pop them in the swaps, see if anyone is interested?
i swapped out 2 mediums for 2 larges' today in the swaps.
what do i do with the fleece liners that have cream on them? how do i wash them?
Yeh :fingerscrossed: it turns up by the end of the week i pm'd yesterday havn't got a reply but i know everyones not like me and not on here every day lol
I'm on here every day as well. I don't always comment but love learning more and more everyday.
I've been a little slack using cloth up until now. To my defense though I haven't had much luck and it has all been a little disappointing. Having said this I have now discovered itti bitti d'lish snap in nappies! They have been my best find yet. I'm so glad that I took a leap and tried them. No leaks as yet and I'm using their mediums and their large nappies on my 16 week old bub. He is a cute chubby little guy. Its a bit scary that he is into larges now. They are big on him but I'd prefer to buy larges than waste $$ on mediums.
I'm now waiting on 6 new large snap ins and 6 booster sets. Can't wait for them to arrive. My order went through today. So glad that I did because they leave for Perth tomorrow morning. I'm hoping that the 6 booster sets will mean that I can get more use out of my 11 Ittis and put bub into cloth during the day.
Dd2 doesn't like her bambootys. Just screams when they're on. They're on right, sizing is good but she just isn't happy in them. I haven't had this before, thinking I might need to swap them for something else.
Oh no :(, I wonder why? Mine should arrive this week. Can't wait to try them.
No leaks as yet and I'm using their mediums and their large nappies on my 16 week old bub. He is a cute chubby little guy. Its a bit scary that he is into larges now. They are big on him but I'd prefer to buy larges than waste $$ on mediums.
Wow, I can't believe he fits a large. Do you get leg gape? My 15mth old still fits a med. They don't last for him anymore though :( & I had to sell most of them, but I think I'll try the last couple on my 3 month old & see how we go :fingerscrossed:
That's really bad. Not sure where you both live, but if it's going from 1 side of the country to the other, that can take ages. I hope it turns up in the next few days. Hopefully they reply to your PM. You can always check whether they've been online.
Well I'm hoping to get some fluffy mail in the next couple of weeks :smiliedance: I'm waiting on 3 bambooty's, 2 fluffybubs, 4 abbygros, 2 beetlebums & a taggy blanket for Cruz.
Cruz has really chubbed up, which is wonderful, but I'm going to have to sell his newborn nappies :( They are so tiny & cute, I don't want to part with them, LOL. But we're not having anymore, so it would be silly to hold onto them just cause they're cute. Oh well, at least I can look forward to which ones I'll buy him next!
I haven't had any luck with the swaps :no: but I know a lot of people never have a problem . I never received my nappy , she said it was sent ( I believe her because I trust people ) but it never arrived here . Must of been lost in the mail :crying: . I am very annoyed that I gave away a brand new Abby gro for nothing . I definitely won't be doing any swaps again .
perhaps you should put it in the feedback thread, just incase anyone else has had the same expereince:detective: i know i would want to know if someone had not received a parcel, so i was wary, and would have it sent on registered mail. not saying the person has done anything wrong, but to perhaps be aware, iykwim?
I would be VERY annoyed too, i get parcels here almost every day, i've NEVER had any go missing, so it does make you wonder...
(but you do hear alot about aus post eh)
trifecta
13-08-2009, 12:54
Hi there, I'm new to the cloth nappy way of life but know a few of you :wave:
Just wanted to jump on and let you know how impressed I am with the bambooty easy peasy. I just got 4 hours out of one (he was asleep for 1.5 of them) and it still felt like it could still hold more. No leaks and none of that 'wet cloth' smell you get with boosters. And so super easy, just like a disposable. Love it!
Hi there, I'm new to the cloth nappy way of life but know a few of you :wave:
Just wanted to jump on and let you know how impressed I am with the bambooty easy peasy. I just got 4 hours out of one (he was asleep for 1.5 of them) and it still felt like it could still hold more. No leaks and none of that 'wet cloth' smell you get with boosters. And so super easy, just like a disposable. Love it!
did you end up swapping the M's?
trifecta
13-08-2009, 13:07
I've kept the two M, the easy peasy fits pretty well actually it's the easy day that's just a tad small but I don't think I will get any more of them anyway. Thinking I will get 2x M and 2x L of the easy peasy.
I'm wanting to swap a brand new large Easy Peasy for a medium if you're interested. I bought mine too big. Thread is in swap section.
ETA whoops! just read you're ok with the Easy Peasy, so forget I spoke!!
I've just my first bad experience with buying secondhand nappies:( Horribly stained boosters. Why can't people just state the condition and let the buyer decide whether to buy them and what to pay? I would never have paid what I did for these.
Oh well, every other nappy I've received has been great so I guess I've been lucky really.
borntobemummy
13-08-2009, 13:39
kotakai - how did you get beetlebums?:detective:
That sucks Harriet :( I could never sell a stained nappy without listing the problems. What's wrong with people?????
Glad to hear more good bambooty stories. Can't wait till mine arrive & try them out.
I can't wait to try my Bambooty's either!!! They look great!! I managed to swap 2 of mine for mediums so just waiting until they arrive. I bought some wool Ecobubs recently too - they are good. I had to cull and found myself with very few workshorse nappies, so am having a bit of a re-stock:D Madness isn't it?:laughing:
kotakai - how did you get beetlebums?:detective:
I was very lucky! I emailed her a few months back when I was looking for tiny newborn ones for DS3 & asked if I could order some & she said yes. I ended up getting a small & a medium. Well the medium was a perfect fit for DS2, so I asked could I order 2 more & she said yes :smiliedance: She is so lovely, as are most WAHM's and her nappies are gorgeous!!!!!!!! What's even better is DS3 has really chubbed up & can now also fit in the medium, so they'll both get to wear them :smiliedance:
trifecta
13-08-2009, 14:34
Actually I just recieved my bambooty night nappy in size large and although it fits well around the waist (on tightest snaps) there is bit of leg gape. So with that in mind I think I will order 2x M and 1x L in the easy peasy if any L at all. And I got a card for 10% off my next order :yelclap:
You'll have to let me know how your L fits Tash.
harriet - thats terrible about the swap.
mine are exactly as stated :-) hoping mine will get here tomoz, and yours will turn up as well:yes:
hubnbub - classic sign of too big, the leg is the best way to gauge best size, at least he can grow into them! glad they are working so well!
is anyone using the feedback thread for nappy swaps? seems there a couple not 'following through', just a thought....
RANT:
ok, so at mums group today, i was made to feel so silly:( some of the mums had seen my facebook status about fluffy mail, and 2 had asked me to bring some to have a look at. well, some of the mums were so mean about it, saying nasty things about the whole cloth thing. going on and on about how *I* was doing more damage by using cloth and valuable water:ecomcity:
:rolleyes::crying::dizzy:
if they did any actual research, they would think dofferently. i couldn't be bothered argueing the point....
Jaspat24
13-08-2009, 18:47
RANT:
ok, so at mums group today, i was made to feel so silly:( some of the mums had seen my facebook status about fluffy mail, and 2 had asked me to bring some to have a look at. well, some of the mums were so mean about it, saying nasty things about the whole cloth thing. going on and on about how *I* was doing more damage by using cloth and valuable water:ecomcity:
:rolleyes::crying::dizzy:
if they did any actual research, they would think dofferently. i couldn't be bothered argueing the point....
OMG thats so awful! i'm the only one in my mum's group (13 of us) that uses cloth. But i never get that kind of response! they just say they are too lazy etc etc. Thats awful; don't worry, we love that you use cloth! (i typed a mean comment, but then deleted it cos i didn't want to offend)
trifecta
13-08-2009, 18:58
Tash thats crazy! It just shows their ignorance.
I've never understood parents making other parents feel bad for their choice's just because they choose to do something different. You are doing a great thing and J knows it too! We all parent differently as we are all different, you should never be made to feel silly! :hugs:
tommo - why did you feel silly? They're the ones that should feel silly!
harriet - thats terrible about the swap.
mine are exactly as stated :-) hoping mine will get here tomoz, and yours will turn up as well:yes:
hubnbub - classic sign of too big, the leg is the best way to gauge best size, at least he can grow into them! glad they are working so well!
is anyone using the feedback thread for nappy swaps? seems there a couple not 'following through', just a thought....
RANT:
Oh pooh:rolleyes: Some sposie users are very sensitive about cloth! I can't even mention it around some of my friends without them feeling guilty and blaming me for it!! I've tried to explain I rave about my nappies because I think they're so gorgeous and I'm a nappy addict.....not because I think everyone should use them. Even though I can't understand for the life of me why anyone would use sposies over cloth when they're so pretty and so much cheaper!!!!:flowerz:
borntobemummy
13-08-2009, 19:16
I was very lucky! I emailed her a few months back when I was looking for tiny newborn ones for DS3 & asked if I could order some & she said yes. I ended up getting a small & a medium. Well the medium was a perfect fit for DS2, so I asked could I order 2 more & she said yes :smiliedance: She is so lovely, as are most WAHM's and her nappies are gorgeous!!!!!!!! What's even better is DS3 has really chubbed up & can now also fit in the medium, so they'll both get to wear them :smiliedance:
wow! that's great to hear how nice she is! Are they good nappies? How they they compare to others?
jimmysmummy
13-08-2009, 19:44
Well I FINALLY got my replacement Bumgenius AIOs from Nurture Nappies. I sent them back in February!!!:thumbsdown:
On a positive note, I sent back a one-size BG with them, and was originally told it was not considered faulty because only one of the legs had shot elastic, and that the nappy would be returned to me as is. Well, they ended up replacing that one too, which is good.
I'm feeling a bit disillusioned with NN's service, which I have always found to be faultless before this.
Anyway, the new BG AIOs are pretty cool. They have a pocket opening like Magicalls.
oh, thanks girls.
i was just so offended by their mean comments:(
i know im doing the right thing by us and all the pro's to using cloth make me remember that.
and it's really not that hard!
(and Joshy will look SOOO much cuter in summer;))
i guess i was a bit skeptical of cloth a while ago, but i would never say anything mean about it.
maybe thats the difference lol
Tash some people need to learn lifes golden rule... "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all!"
sorry they were so mean. I worry about how some of my friends would react so I've never meantioned cloth to them(I'm shy irl and don't like feeling the need to justify my decision).
Just went out and bought my first trial MCNs!! I got two AIO Sized Babybeehinds, two Peapods and one Mio. Im also going to get some OSFMs in whatever brand I can find to trial. Im going to see which ones work best on DS and then get a whole bunch. Im hoping to do full cloth but will probably be on cloth daytime and sposies for nighttime until I get set up.
Do you experienced ladies have any tips? Im so excited!! The BBHs look SO cute! :flowerz:
jimmysmummy
13-08-2009, 20:32
Just went out and bought my first trial MCNs!! I got two AIO Sized Babybeehinds, two Peapods and one Mio. Im also going to get some OSFMs in whatever brand I can find to trial. Im going to see which ones work best on DS and then get a whole bunch. Im hoping to do full cloth but will probably be on cloth daytime and sposies for nighttime until I get set up.
Do you experienced ladies have any tips? Im so excited!! The BBHs look SO cute! :flowerz:
My tip-
When I first started out, I went to a few sites (Nurture Nappies, Wee Wuns, Darlings Downunder) and looked in their specials/sale sections. I'd get one of each of a few different nappies- about 2-4 from each site, then decided which ones worked best and bought more.
The Great Down Under Cloth Nappy Hunt is on next month. Google it, and register (reg date is the 20th of Aug I think). Even if you don't do the hunt, most of the sites have great discounts for people with the hunt code. I bought heaps of nappies in the hunt last September.
2boyoboys
13-08-2009, 20:46
Also go to the discounts section of bub hub and u can often get codes to save $, and check the specials threads.
Ur very wise getting a couple of each, its a great way to get a feel for what cloth is about, all brands are different in some way. Also if ur in Melbs, or perth, check out the PBC expo- cos there are specials there. Also once u decide what u like, dont get heaps of small sizes cos babies grow up quick, and their pee habbits change Good luck- its very addictive!!
Tommo- unfortunately there are always going to be negative people. If u like using cloth, and ur son likes it to- then do it!! they arnt the ones washing them, or changing ur bub;s nappy. Its horrible when mothers groups turn negative. I got it too when i told my MG that i was changing to cloth (after 2+yrs in sposies). I was told that i wouldnt be able to keep it up, cos u couldnt keep on top of my washing as it was! I was in shock.
On a brighter note DS2 slept through in a BBH M-A for 12 hrs and it didnt leak!! yeah!! im going to test it out again and if it works out i might buy some more.
I am so impressed!
There was a man who came into the Narellan Town Centre parents room today and changed his little boys nappy. The impressive part was it wasn't a disposable! I haven't even been using cloth when I'm out and here was a man happily changing his boys bottom with cloth and cloth wipes. I think they were itti's but didn't enquire as I didn't want to be rude.
Just wanted to shout out how happy I was to see it.
*does a dance*
Just had to come and say... I got a CGR!
*dances more*
Thats all for now.
jimmysmummy
13-08-2009, 21:07
Oh, I'm jealous, Merla!
Which one??? Spill the beans!
*does a dance*
Just had to come and say... I got a CGR!
*dances more*
Thats all for now.
Oh!!! So lucky:) Which one?
I had the page all ready to go and got involved in reading something and when I looked at the clock it was 8.35 and they were all gone!!!! Good thing really......I didn't love any of them, and I certainly don't need another nappy:laughing:
I got the large oriental floral fairy. So pretty, and will fit DD perfectly by summer (she is 8kg now, so it should fit now, just be a bit big.).
whats a cgr? Or am I better not knowing? :D
We got the rest of our bambooty's today yay! Another 8 to add to our collection! Totally in love with these nappies. Not one leak, and this afternoon Noah was in a regular day one for 5 hours straight (decided to have a 3 hour sleep) and not one leak, brilliant!! We also got a baby bullfrog which is georgeous!! I'm so tempted to order more but want to wait for the nappy hunt, hopefully they might be discounted? and b/c she didnt have the singlet I requested, she threw in the replacent I decided PLUS another free one in a bigger size! How nice is that?!?!
thommo thats awful about your mums group. I've been copping heaps of this crap lately, not just with nappies either, its such an awful feeling. And I'm not good with confrontation so tend to keep quiet when I really should be sticking up for myself, its hard though. It sucks feeling like you constantly have to explain and defend why you do things the way you do, why cant people just worry about themselves!
borntobemummy
13-08-2009, 21:44
I am so impressed!
There was a man who came into the Narellan Town Centre parents room today and changed his little boys nappy. The impressive part was it wasn't a disposable! I haven't even been using cloth when I'm out and here was a man happily changing his boys bottom with cloth and cloth wipes. I think they were itti's but didn't enquire as I didn't want to be rude.
Just wanted to shout out how happy I was to see it.
ooh, we live right near there:wave: hi neighbour! I have yet to see anyone IRL other than my bubhub friends use mcns:(
[QUOTE=em1984;3991798]whats a cgr? Or am I better not knowing? :D
QUOTE]
They're sooo pretty. Don't look its dangerous. I only started DD in cloth a few months ago but its starting to become an obsession. I love my ittis (mmmm minky -so cute). But now I keep looking at the special ones with embroidery and different patterns like the CGRs and beetlebums etc. I just ordered myself a custom from spunkybutts for the new bub. Soooo unnecessary when i have perfectly good bambooties for half the price.
ps I hope its ok I join in this chat? I've been posting other threads but just looked into this one :).
ooh, we live right near there:wave: hi neighbour! I have yet to see anyone IRL other than my bubhub friends use mcns:(
Same actually. I don't know anyone who uses them now. My aunty used to use Eenie Weenies but I'm yet to meet anyone in real life who uses them. All my friends use disposables. It was so good to see.
ps I hope its ok I join in this chat? I've been posting other threads but just looked into this one :).
Every clothy is welcome to chat here. :) Welcome to the world of cloth.
ok, so at mums group today, i was made to feel so silly:( some of the mums had seen my facebook status about fluffy mail, and 2 had asked me to bring some to have a look at. well, some of the mums were so mean about it, saying nasty things about the whole cloth thing. going on and on about how *I* was doing more damage by using cloth and valuable water
Urgh! I get that sort of rubbish all the time! People always tell me I'm making my poor daughter wear cloth nappies for my own amusement etc. :rolleyes: I'm happy with my decision and don't feel the need to say anything to anyone else about it, so why can't they do the same! :mad:
Yay! :yelclap: Getting your first MCNs is so exciting!
Yay I got some fluffy mail!
My issy bears arrived yesterday but I only spotted them this morning, OMG the workmanship is fantastic! I'm so impressed. I can't wait to get them washed tomorrow and onto DD2:smiliedance:
Jaspat24
14-08-2009, 09:44
my bambooty arrived yesterday, still waiting on bbh but i called and they said it takes awhile to get across to wa. hopefully i'll get my fb's and baby bullfrogs soon too!
i'm the only person irl i know who uses cloth; others think i've got too much time on my hands. its just another load of washing its not too hard. i cant wait for summer to show off DS in just a singlet and a fluffy bubs or minky itti etc compared to their paper and plastic
i will say though that i used disposable for the first few weeks and it saved a lot of stress.
katieinwa
14-08-2009, 10:11
i've ordered from BBH in the past and yep it does take like 6 working days to get to metro perth
i found a cool trick, i get things delivered to DP's work (in the CBD) and that cuts a day off postage time hehe only thing is i have to rely on him to not leave it at work!
YAAHHH i got some tax return...i have order a custom embroidery :smiliedance:(finally) from bubba moo and a minky ai2 (the one i really wanted and it was the last one)...trying to get some bbh to try out also.
CaitlinsFood
14-08-2009, 10:36
i've ordered from BBH in the past and yep it does take like 6 working days to get to metro perth
i found a cool trick, i get things delivered to DP's work (in the CBD) and that cuts a day off postage time hehe only thing is i have to rely on him to not leave it at work!
then he'll know how much you bought!lol
OOOOHHHHHHH!!!
how exciting, a girfreind just chatted to me on facebook (an IRL GF), she said there is a BBH party today in our town!!
Other clothies!!!!:yelclap:
I'm looking foward to meeting other girls in MY town who use cloth!!
I didnt even know this freind uses cloth!
(sorry, finding it hard to control my excitement!)
Jaspat24
14-08-2009, 11:26
It was shipped last thursday. I always hope and pray that fluffy mail comes when my DH is at work so i can quickly hide it all away. My bambooty came yesterday morning when i was mum's group and he was home (working late night) and he answered the door. I told him i ordered some (4) but when the order didn't go through ad i re-ordered, i ordered 8; he's not annoyed though, i thought he would be. i'm also waiting for my XTrainer computer which was being fixed; i need to lose this weight ASAP and the weather over here sucks atm.
Fluffy mail! WOO HOO!!!!!
The rest of my Ittis arrived today! So very fluffy and cute. This completes my stash. =)
I just bought a whole bunch of minky magicalls at the baby expo today :smiliedance::yelclap: I am so excited about my bargain, and they are sooo lovely.
I wish they could sell them prewashed though. Especially the red one which needs to go to 3 times by itself!!:hair:
Now I have to find places around the house to hang them up to dry. Stupid winter!
But still yay! Noone else understands my excitement!
Jaspat24
14-08-2009, 21:46
yay my BBH magicalls arrived today (and my XTrainer computer) what luck though, my bambooty's arrived yesterday while i was at mothers group so DH signed for them, and then today while i was getting my hair done, my BBH arrived so DH yet again signed for them. They were both ones he wasn't supposed to know about...OOPS! he just laughed though!
But still yay! Noone else understands my excitement!
I took my fluffy mail along to mums group a while back 'cause i was so excited and wanted to show them off. They just don't get it :(. Not mean about it or anything just a lack of caring. I'll come on here instead! :p
2boyoboys
14-08-2009, 22:14
I got 13 Bambooty's today!! im about to go and start the washing process.
Im still waiting on my Nurture Nappies delivery which was sent Monday- so im getting worried about that one.
Can anyone PM me with some of the specials they got at the Perth PBC expo? just so i have some idea what to look forward too?
Yay for fluffy mail!:smiliedance:
I finally got around to going to the West End Markets today and saw Bonny at her Bonnibuns stand! I told myself I was only going to look at her banner with Alice on it, but ended up buying 2 more nappies and 2 pairs of babylegs! :o :D My MIL bought some nappies too, for a friend's baby, and one for Alice because she is an awesome MIL who encourages my nappy addiction! :laughing:
Bonny is lovely! And she had some teeny tiny newborn nappies there that just made me want to have another baby so I could get some! :bee: They were so adorable!
I forgot to take my nappies off the line today! It's too late now, so I hope it doesn't rain tonight!
jjules13
16-08-2009, 10:07
can u tell me the time and address of the west end markets? they are on saturdays, right?
The markets are every Saturday from 6am - 2pm on the corner of Montague Rd and Jane St (around the West End, or Davies Park). There wasn't as much handmade wares as I expected (other than Bonny's lovely nappies! :p) but it was still great! We got there around 11am-ish and it was heaving! By the time we left around 1pm-ish it had eased off a bit, but was still pretty busy!
This is the banner Bonny has up at her stand!
Bonny's banner (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v69/Teegz/001-3.jpg) :D
I love that my little girl's bum is helping promote cloth nappies!
katieinwa
16-08-2009, 12:51
i snagged 2 small cgr at the NN/BG stall at the expo yesterday. there are none left now! BBH had their hemps and magicalls at $17.50 each, itti had the$40 trial pack. the NN/BG stall didn't seem to have any specials at all, the BG and the GK were regular retail...bit dissapointed! havent looked at the cushie tooshie, imse vinse, real nappy or green nappy stall...might have a looksy but doubt i will buy any
SpottySocks
16-08-2009, 12:59
Ahhh, that is so cute!!! I'd love it if my DD was promoting cloth nappies too!
i snagged 2 small cgr at the NN/BG stall at the expo yesterday. there are none left now! BBH had their hemps and magicalls at $17.50 each, itti had the$40 trial pack. the NN/BG stall didn't seem to have any specials at all, the BG and the GK were regular retail...bit dissapointed! havent looked at the cushie tooshie, imse vinse, real nappy or green nappy stall...might have a looksy but doubt i will buy any
were there any online codes there by any chance:detective:
i'd be very proud too:flowerz:
I thought before I sell them, I'd better take a photo of Cruz's newborn stash.
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk174/kotakai_chais/Cruznewbornstash.jpg
I'm so annoyed with myself. I've already sold quite a few of Chais's, but never took a stash photo. I wish I had just so I could look back & see which ones I had.
That looks fantastic :yelclap:
Hope I get to come back with some fluffy mail news this week.
jimmysmummy
16-08-2009, 20:01
Wow Kotakai, what an awesome stash!
Are those Patooties I see in there? I have 1 Patooties, in those two same fabrics! Spooooooky!
And do I see some Lushies? I patted some at the Babies and Kids markets- they're so lush.
And I love newborn Bubblebubs. I have 2 of them and one small.
Cruz is a lucky bub!
Wow Kotakai, what an awesome stash!
Are those Patooties I see in there? I have 1 Patooties, in those two same fabrics! Spooooooky!
And do I see some Lushies? I patted some at the Babies and Kids markets- they're so lush.
And I love newborn Bubblebubs. I have 2 of them and one small.
Cruz is a lucky bub!
:laughing: about the same patooties. Must mean you have great taste!!!! When Chais was prem, she made me some XS's. Was so happy when Cruz was big enough to fit them. DD wasn't though, she'd been using them on her dolls :D
:yes: yes they are lushies. They are very soft. But if you love those, you'd love the raphael's even more!
They are all so tiny cute, I'll be so sad to see them go, LOL! I'll just have to talk DP into 1 more, so I can use them again :laughing:
Cruz's newborn nappies are so cute! :bee: I'd hate to give them up too if I was you!
I just tracked my weenotions nappy order on the royal mail website and it has been handed over to Australia post, so hopefully I get it soon! :smiliedance:
SmileyBJ
17-08-2009, 11:24
kotakai- Cruz's newborn nappies are adoreable! Wish I started Ds much sooner than i did! :(
Teegzie- lucky alice to be on the banner! :)
Im super excited!! Have a pack from issy bear on its way with some of her new nappies and also one with snaps which she just made up for Ds to try! :smiliedance: Hope they arrive 2morrow Im super keen!!
smudge26
18-08-2009, 00:29
Hello everyone, my name is Kerry and I am a nappyholic!! I'm new to this stuff, actually bought my first a couple of weeks ago, a BBH AIO just to try, then I bought the Itti Bitti trial pack at the expo over the weekend and I just went and bought another itti bitti trial pack because I had the expo code and it was too good a bargain to miss! I love them, so snuggly and trim and no leaks! I've been looking at all the WAHM sites and am a bit worried that this is going to become an expensive hobby. Just have to convince DH that cloth is the way to go, He's doesn't quite get it yet...:yelclap:
Welcome Kerry!!:wave: Im afraid that we are all nappyaholics and egg each other on quite a bit!! Wahm sites are wonderful for feeding your new addiction!
(whats that alter ego? You want me to buy another GF? But we already have so many nappies? Ok, we'll just go have a look, i said look, put the credit card away, Nooooooooooooooooooo):laughing::laughing:
Welcome Kerry!!:wave: Im afraid that we are all nappyaholics and egg each other on quite a bit!! Wahm sites are wonderful for feeding your new addiction!
(whats that alter ego? You want me to buy another GF? But we already have so many nappies? Ok, we'll just go have a look, i said look, put the credit card away, Nooooooooooooooooooo):laughing::laughing:
:laughing::laughing:
i started, about 6-7 weeks ago, i now have a full stash, but cant resist them:o
:laughing::laughing:
i started, about 6-7 weeks ago, i now have a full stash, but cant resist them:o
LOL, I started about 2 months ago, now I have close to 45. You can never have enough, lol.
And stockings... soo much fun, you should see me pleading with hubby "just one more stocking, pleeeaaasssee"
LOL, I started about 2 months ago, now I have close to 45. You can never have enough, lol.
And stockings... soo much fun, you should see me pleading with hubby "just one more stocking, pleeeaaasssee"
just realised your little one was born 1 day after my ds:)
Hi Kerry :wave: welcome to the wonderful world of MCN addiction! :laughing:
Alice is driving me insane at every nappy change now! I thought at first she was fighting because of the sore rash she had, but now I think it is just to bug me! :hair: She arches her back, snaps her legs together so I can't get the nappy between them, kicks and rolls over! :hissy: She laughs at me as my frustration grows too! Grr! And after changing my niece's nappy while I was visiting my sister I remembered what it is like to change a placid baby rather than a crazy toddler!
springbubba
18-08-2009, 11:39
Just wondering...I suscribed to Bambooty and wondering why I didn't get an email with the 30% off code? Did everyone else?
Lucky for you gals, I still get notified via bubhub!! :):):) Gotta love this forum!
My Weenotions nappies arrived!!! :smiliedance: And they are gorgeous! I'm in love! :bee:
Here they are! (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v69/Teegz/043.jpg) And the cute embroidered backs! (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v69/Teegz/042.jpg)
The pink one is for my niece and the rest are all mine!!! :devil6:...well ok, they are Alice's, but she won't apreciate them as much as me! :laughing: I'm especially loving the xmas one and the citrus slush monster one!
Now I just have to wait until Alice wakes up to try them on her...
That's awesome Teegzie!
They are so very very cute. I can't decide which one I like more. Congrats!
omg Teegzie, they are awesome.
I am now joining this thread, i have been a part time mcn user for just over 6 months now, and i love it, atm we wear cloth at home, and disposables to the shops and bed, but i am slowly changing that, its just a bit of a longer process.
I have two in cloth, my 17 mth old son, and my 21/2 yr old daughter, who is currently tt.
and when i eventually get utd the new baby will be in mcn from the start (just wish i knew about these nappies 5 kids ago, lol)
I havent read the whole thread yet, as i have to walk to school, but will catch up when i get back.
ok so i havent left for my walk yet, lol
I have a few nappies in my collection now, and am starting to find my favourite ones.
I absoulutly love my baby bullfogs, the slim desgin is just perfect for my kids lil butts, lol
I have a few happy heinys, bum genious, eco bub, cushie tushies, green kids and pop ins.
I also have a few nappies from ticklefish tots, she is another work at home mum, just started out, the boosters are nice and wide, so perfect for poopsplosions!
Ooh and i also have a CGR on the way, and i have a Flattery in the collection as well.
oops just looked at the clock, will be back later......
:wave: Welcome to our new addicts :D
Teegzie they are gorgeous!!!!!
My bambooty's arrived today :smiliedance: Just from looking at them, I have to say I'm very impressed. They look really well made, are nice & trim & I'm so glad I changed to medium as they are the perfect fit on Cruz. I know you're supposed to pre wash, but I'm always too impatient for that :laughing: It only lasted 1.5 hours till it leaked, but hoping that will change after a few washes.
I've put some of Chais's other nappies on him, to see how they fit, & the medium Bundle of Buns is also a perfect fit :smiliedance: It lasts for ages too with no leaks which is what I need.
Now just need to get my butt into gear & get his smalls sold so I can buy some more :D
kezzaskids
18-08-2009, 16:15
I have 6 days worth of nappies on the line :( it wont stop raining :(
springbubba, how did you subscribe to bambooty? I cant seem to find on their webpage where I can do this?
2boyoboys
18-08-2009, 17:05
Teegzie- your bubba is so cute!! what a great mini eco-model she is.
I got my fluffy mail yesterday. I got a motherease air-flow cover, and it is MASSIVE!! waiting for the bamboo fitted's to dry and give it a test run. Will wait and see what discounts are available in the nappy hunt b4 i get anymore though. :)
I cant believe how quickly my (kids) stash has grown!! DP is starting to get over it so i might have to tone back the purchases. im thinking that now that i have my 'work horse' nappies it might be time to get some 'special ones' like GF etc. :goodvibes:
I have 6 days worth of nappies on the line :( it wont stop raining :(
Oh gosh! Are you starting to get desperate? Because I've stopped using the nappies that just don't work as well as I'd like from my stash I run out after about 3 days!
Surely this means I need more... :devil6:
Jaspat24
18-08-2009, 18:01
...who actually re-uses the shell and snaps new boosters in? the mediums are just perfect for my DS and i want to get some more but i've got a whole heap of bambooty's and bbh magicalls in medium also.
welcome to the newv addicts! before you know it your stash will be huge! (i've got 74)
kezzaskids
18-08-2009, 18:39
Oh gosh! Are you starting to get desperate? Because I've stopped using the nappies that just don't work as well as I'd like from my stash I run out after about 3 days!
Surely this means I need more... :devil6:
Nope. I have about 20 magicalls, 20 GK plus every other brand inc fluffybubs, 14 ittis, BoB, bubblebubs, abbygro, bumgenius etc etc I could go on.. :) I dont think I would need to wash for about about 2 weeks!
jaspat - could you try swapping?
have a look in the swap thread, there are quite a few ittis M up for swaps.:yes:
jimmysmummy
18-08-2009, 19:57
Now just need to get my butt into gear & get his smalls sold so I can buy some more :D
Ok, tell me where and when!!!
*Need~More~Coffee~Please*
18-08-2009, 20:36
ive been reading in this thread for a few days and thought its bout time i addmit my addiction too!:laughing:
i have only started buying MCN's LAST week and have ordered i think 22 online already......(in a few different brands)
and as i was going past the baby store on monday i couldnt resist buying a couple more so i got a choc bubles cushie coutore and a pea pod (to try a pocket coz i dont get much sun for drying !!)
ohhh and i got my first fluffy mail today !!!
3x ittis from ecobambino....i got the tiger....the blue and white polkadot and a royal blue d'lish
im thinking of having a go at making some coz i have lots of ideas of things i want :detective:
does any one here know any good online aussie stores to get bamboo fleece and plu fabric ??
(i have found one i just wanna have a couple to compair)
also do any off u have a snap press ?? could u tell me how much and where from ??:flowerz:
oh i cant wait for the hunt ...i have already been stalking the site that have the discounts to see what i might want !!!!
Hi fellow addicts :D I just wanted to ask you wise girls, Noah has just today come out in quite a nasty nappy rash. Now I dont know whether its the nappies or he has a tooth coming but whats the best way for me to tackle it? I know you cant use nappy cream direct on the nappies so how else can I use it. I really dont want to put another sposie on his bum and I fear I may have to if it gets any worse. Also, if it is the nappy's how do I prevent it from happening again? Maybe I'm not changing them regularly enough I dont know? I gave him about half an hour nappy free time tonight so hopefully that helps? Anyway any advice would be great thanks!
Jaspat24
18-08-2009, 22:00
Hi fellow addicts :D I just wanted to ask you wise girls, Noah has just today come out in quite a nasty nappy rash. Now I dont know whether its the nappies or he has a tooth coming but whats the best way for me to tackle it? I know you cant use nappy cream direct on the nappies so how else can I use it. I really dont want to put another sposie on his bum and I fear I may have to if it gets any worse. Also, if it is the nappy's how do I prevent it from happening again? Maybe I'm not changing them regularly enough I dont know? I gave him about half an hour nappy free time tonight so hopefully that helps? Anyway any advice would be great thanks!
i give my DS about 10-30mins nappy free time after taking the night nappy off after his first feed. If any rash starts appearing i use Brauers nappy rash relief. If using other napy rash creams, use a liner. You can buy flushable liners online from everywhere or you can make your own from some micro fleece. I personally do a bit of both. How often do you change your DS? i use about 4-5 each day, not including the night nappy.
HTH, jasmine
Hey Jaspat! Thanks :) I'm already using flushable liners. I change him about the same as you, sometimes more when he's having a particularly pooey day :D giving nappy free time in the morning is a great idea! I never thought of that, if its the nappies its probably the night ones that would be causing it. I have some of the brauers, I have never used it though, is it ok if its in contact with the nappy?
Jaspat24
18-08-2009, 23:38
Hey Jaspat! Thanks :) I'm already using flushable liners. I change him about the same as you, sometimes more when he's having a particularly pooey day :D giving nappy free time in the morning is a great idea! I never thought of that, if its the nappies its probably the night ones that would be causing it. I have some of the brauers, I have never used it though, is it ok if its in contact with the nappy?
i think it was on here that i read that it was waterbased and was ok in direct contact. I don't use liners generally cos my DS is breastfed and the poos just soak through the liner onto the cloth anyway. I ue the brauers without a liner and if i need pawpaw or sudocream then i use a microfleece liner.
can anyone please tell me the website for bundle of buns?