View Full Version : Dec 05 chitter chatter... #2
also Oli has his first school dance tomorrow:laughing:.It is going to be so cute.It is at 5 and goes for an hour.A fundraiser sausage sizzle with a difference.Parents obviously join in and have fun
How cute!
I'm excited about meeting you on sat!
Sarah when are you heading back? we're driving back sunday night - well getting a few hours north, then the rest monday.
brodiebunch
28-06-2009, 10:18
sorry Jess.:crying::crying:
I hav managed to not end up in hospy today.@ days was enough.Am on the slow improve.pretty bummed.Well off to bed.
Thats ok Brodie, you can't help being sick. I hope you 2 are on the mend and the morphine helped.
We're home! Apparently KD gets car sick:rolleyes:. Was sick at least 4 times yesterday and once on the way down. To make it worse dh has a very weak tummy, so i had to do all the clean ups, but we had kd in the middle so i had to lean over from the front seat to do it all!not easy or fun.
But the show was a success, far more of a success than we had ever imagined, so DH and I are both pretty happy about that!
Better go, there's so much washing to do!
emilysmumma
04-07-2009, 18:45
Just a drop in to say I'm still preggo, lol. We are heading up early Tuesday morning to wait him out and another midwife appointment that day.
Thought he might be arriving last week after 2 days of morning sickness and a few hours of pains but went to sleep and it was a false alarm.
Emily this week has been very clingy and even had to pick her up early from preschool the other day as she was so upset. So I think they are telpathically talking to each other and she knows it's close.
We just got back from a evening at preschool as they had a winter bonfire and the kids singing and dancing. It was very sweet and DH came to her school for the first time.
I'm finishing the tidying up of myself for most likely a very long time. I got my hair done yesterday, pedicure today and if bubs is still inside a facial and nails next week up in brissy.
I hope everyone is all well. Are you better now Brodie? Unfortunatley DH's bipolar has raised it's ugly head again (3 year cycle) and it's been a bit tough for all of us, especially at this stage of life. So we are really trying to stay on top of it, but it's fairly hard going.
Time for bed I say, DH has already fallen asleep on the lounge (medication) and since Emily had such a late day sleep she is still up finishing her dessert. But time to get the troops into their proper beds.
Will keep you informed on bubs arrival.
xxooxx
Funkychicken
04-07-2009, 22:01
*hangs head in shame at most obvious absence of late-and before late* :o :o
But, I had a hankering to see what all you lovely people are up to and, although I can "see" you on FB, I felt a pull to BH to read about your movements. Although, I do not mean your bodily movements but your physical movements. Although that doesn't sound any better does it?
Hmmm....so, I have read back just a little and it seems all is going along well.
Sarah, your wee William will be here soon! How exciting for you. I'm sorry to hear of T's illness rearing up again. It takes strength to go through this with someone. :hugs:
Brodie, are you coming to Melbourne in July? I have only just learned this bit of information from flipping back the pages. If you are, let me know where you are staying and when and we might be able to meet up. I could see if Lis is up for a gathering too. If I have missed you, then it is entirely my fault for not coming in here sooner!
Reidy, are you sure you are as busy as you claim to be? All this spare time you seem to have to find obscure, bizarre washing machine sales!:p
Although I imagine this could be a lovely way to have brain down time...
Jess, how is life as 4? It certainly gets busier as they grow hey?
Tracey, it sounds like you are moving on from babies-selling off baby stuff? Careful, I remember doing all that.....:p
So, I won't make this a huge essay, just wanted to say hi to you and touch base, so to speak.
Oh Miss Sal! How lovely to "see" you! I hope you and your wonderful children are doing well.
Sarah - Sorry to hear your DH is having a rough time atm, hopefully it doesn't last too long. :hugs:. I'm always around if you want/need anything, or just want to chat about any of what's going on. Have a safe trip back!
Nothing much new from me. I'm off to the gp this afternoon because i'm still having some drama's with my c/s wound:hair:. Well miss indie's just woken up, so have to hit the day.
I had such a feeling in my bones yesterday that we'd be hearing a birth announcement today, damn intuition being off:p. Sarah hope you're holding up well. Have a safe trip home today!
Reidymac
07-07-2009, 18:06
:laughing: Me too Jess!
All day I have had this feeling that I should be doing something or be somewhere, as I drove past the centenary suburbs today I realised it was 'the call to Rally'.
So here I am too, come to join the gang and rally around for our girl Sarah and her little man to be :goodvibes:
((((((((((big hugs))))))))))) and lots of beautiful, warm and managably paced ;) labour vibes to you Sarah. I hope the grace and beauty with which you have carried this little man is met with joy and strength through the next part of your journey and onward to all those days of milky baby love:bee:.
Anything that we can do to give you support you need for you, baby W, Emily, and for T so that he can better support you through these next days and months, please let us know!
Hello to all of you other gorgeous girls too :wave: beter go an feed the masses now, but I shall return later
Reidy were you stalking me??? I was out that way today too! Tracey I was going to see if I could pop in at short notice, but as always happens, 1 errand turns into at least 5 and my day ended up taking me on the giant loop of the brisbane - home ->richlands->yerongpilly->stones corner-> home:rolleyes:. Unfortunately I have about the same trip needing to be done again tomorrow.
emilysmumma
07-07-2009, 18:58
Thank you so much you lovely ladies.
But nothing today!
We arrived early this morning to await the arrival, lol.
Had a big dissapointment at the birth centre appointment today. We both really like a certain midwife out of the two of them and was going to call her when the time came. But we just found out she is on holidays till the end of the month so have to have the other midwife who we find standoffish and not as friendly. So that has caused arguments with DH as he doesn't want her at all at the birth. It feels like all this travel back and forth and organising has been for naught. :rain:
He wants to demand a new middie at the last minute but me I don't like to make waves.
So I'm focusing on me and concentrating on making sure I am relaxed etc. The midwife did say that I'm 2/5th's engaged but still thinks I have another week.
I have been awake since 2:30 this morning and am feeling very tired and emotional so don't mind me. DH did run me a nice hot bath which was wonderful and I bags sleeping in tomorrow morning since he has had 2 naps today and has just gone to bed himself.
Thanks for the well wishes you guys. I'm hoping for an arrival at the end of the week, you know Friday or Saturday would be good, lol. Just can't wait to meet him.
Getting sleepy, will keep you updated.
Hello people's
It's getting so exciting, I have goosebumps reading your post Sarah. I remember the anxious wait for missy moo. Day after day, and nothing. I was so sure she would have to come on her due date since Chumps did. God, those memories are just with you forever hey? There are even a lot of nights still that I play over in my mind the 2 scenarios of my pregnancies & births. I'm sure most women are the same. Such an exciting time in your life. I know you are not one to make waves, and don't let the midwife thing stress you. Just focus on the other side, as you know that no matter how the little guy arrives (or under whos guidance), all the preliminary business will be minor detail :) As the others said, if there is anything I can do for you, just call, you knnow I'm just around the corner - or across the bridge as the case may be :laughing:
Jess - sure I'm always up for pop ins!!! Don't mind the obsecities you might hear though as you are pulling into the driveway :o and of course the mess inside & possibly the lack of showering etc etc!!!
Hey Sal - I must admit, I am always concerned for an accident :laughing:. So I've been quite choosy in what I am selling, and focusing on the things I rarely used, or the things the kids didn't like & old clothes.....because I now know that even if there were ever another, I couldn't help myself anyway, I'd be out there stocking up!!!!!! I am so reluctant to sell everything as I have heard of too many cases where the surprise comes along.
We had a short trip away to my parent over the weekend. Kids travelled so well, I was quite proud of them! While down there, I almost had a heart attack...Missy fell off a part of the verandah that didn't have a support and landed on her back onto concrete with a very heavy thud. It was a time lapse experience, I was right there and she just fell from my grasp. My heart just broke into a million pieces & I just can't stop replaying the event over in my mind. It almost reduces me to tears when I think about it. Thankfully she seemed ok. I couldn't find any marks on her head & I'm not sure what she hit the ground with but something must have broken her fall. Does anyone know if there are any signs I should be on the lookout for? Anything that may arise some time after a significant fall? She has been completely normal in all areas since the fall so far. That was on Saturday.
I'd better sign off, weetbix duties and all that stuff :flowerz:, I will be checking on here for any updates in the baby arrival world :bee:
Funkychicken
08-07-2009, 08:35
Good morning!
I jumped on here to also see if there was some news of a new arrival. But after having waited with bated breath for three weeks recently for a friends baby to arrive, I am going to be patient. :D
Chumps, how awful for you and Missy! Did you have her checked out afterwards? It's always a good idea to have some observation done but as it is now 4 days past, I would think she is fine.
It's just awful when you keep replaying accidents in your head-even when you dont want to rethink it!
About 15 months ago, I had a wheel fall off my car (the whole thing had snapped and it was only holding on by the brake). I was in traffic and it felt wrong so I drove to a nearby supermarket and pulled in to have a look and just about passed out. I had just driven 20 kms at 100 kms/hour on a long road that has big bends and hills. I couldn't stop thinking about what 'could' have happened and that 'film" kept playing through my head every time I was driving.
Eventually I got rid of the car and we bought a newer, safer car. I know it doesn't mean we are immune to accidents but the peace of mind is so worth it. I can drive without that feeling of impending doom hanging over my shoulders!
Well Sarah, I hope you are resting up and soaking up the last few days of your pregnancy. What an exciting time for you and your family!
No I didn't end up getting her checked out. I just followed what the doc did when Chumps had his mega fall off the speaker onto the floorboards. Just checked all body structures & functions, checked pupils responded to light, prompted her to speak & recognise words she was familiar with, watched motor function etc. I guess it's just a matter of watching and waiting if there is nothing obvious. And like you say, it's been four days now so I hope the danger period has passed. I just can't stop thinking 'what if there's internal bleeding or something'. I know, mind goin ginto overtime :o. I am such a queen of what if's that it freaks me out quite a lot. See, your car story is definately another event that would constantly play over & over. I have so much trouble 'moving on' so to speak :(
emilysmumma
08-07-2009, 20:17
Nope, nothing yet. :p
Tracey, it sounds like you did all the necessary checks. I wouldn't know to do half of them.
I'm no expert but it would seem she is in the all clear after this time, just keep an eye on her which no doubt you're doing.
I overheard DH speaking to mum this morning about still not being happy with the midwife situation but he is being kind to me and has told me that it's all about the baby in the end etc.
Bed time.
Sarah there will also be a backup midwife there while your favorite midwife is on holidays. i'd ask about it and see if you can get to meet her prior to labour as she may be the one on call when its time to go in and you may find yourself more comfy with her anyway. at the end of the day you may be more comfy with dh as your midwife and the midwife just there as a silent observer?
oh where's emily going to be for the birth? I can just imagine her face lighting up as she meets her baby brother for the first time:bee:
emilysmumma
09-07-2009, 11:34
Ah, what a morning- no not that.
Jess we always had appointments alternatley with the 2 midwives so didn't know we had a set midwife, just thought we would call either one of them on the day. So we do know the midwife who is on call for the arrival, it's just we liked the other one who is on holidays so much better.
I managed to get DH to listen (took a couple of sessions) on what I expect for the birth and I said it's the birth centre and it's philosphies (sp) that I like not who is there, though that person (midwife) thinks and goes along those lines as well.
So yes he is going to be my main point of contact and the less interferance (which they do anyway) the better.
Emily was always going to be bought in after the birth, but she has gone to all our appointments, ultrasound, birth centre etc and as soon as she saw the birthing room on our first visit she said she wanted to be there for the birth. So she is! Mum is soley her support person and I have run through with her what she needs to do, like take her out if she is bored, disturbing me etc.
Also I've been preparing Emily for months now for the day by reading kids books about a home birth and talking frankly about what happens and in theory she seems to get it. Fingerscrossed it's a lovely family experience all round.
Anyhoo this morning our office manager handed in her resignatation!! Of all the things to happen. But since we are all very close she is taking the rest of the week off and is back on monday and still working after talking and going through everything that is stressing her out to reach this point. Never rains, it pours.
So thankfully that is sorted out but leaves us picking up the pieces with work when I really need to be organising so much other stuff that will be harder to do once bubs arrive.
I'm so sorry for all the whinging this week. Still working on getting this bub out on Saturday, lol.
Oh Sarah what a morning indeed! I know exactly how it feels, our tech quit about 2 weeks before indie arrived, which left our office basically unmanned. we hired a young guy who was hopeless but he could at least sign for parcels and answer phones(barely). I'd be happy to help out in any way that I can.
Sounds like a wonderful birth plan(identical to mine:D). I think 3 is a great age for them to be at the birth because you can prepare them for what can happen(bc library has a great video on water birth that kd watched with us in preparation) yet they are so facinated and excited to hopefully not get bored too easily. I am so excited for you and hope it all goes to plan:goodvibes:
emilysmumma
10-07-2009, 15:23
We've watched that waterbirth dvd too.
Nope, nothing. Terrible :barf: last night. Thought it might bring it on but nope.
I have been awake since 3am with worry about work/finances/everything and am exhausted. We are going out to dinner tonight to catch up with some friends that have a daughter 2 days older than Emily. So that will be great for her to do plus I'm getting a car seat from them to save on buying another one.
We have two, one that Emily is still using and the other converted back to baby use for one car and will be getting a booster seat for Emily and use this borrowed seat for the other car. So are getting out of it cheaply I think with only getting a booster seat so far.
Anyhoo back to work. Good news though is tummy has dropped considerably in the last 2 days. :smiliedance: It's so exciting!!!
brodiebunch
10-07-2009, 17:24
Sarah- i cant even begin to imagine how hard waiting for bubs must be.Something I missed out on cause of my early c/s's:(.It was funny reading back but I also jumped on sure of news the other day....think it was tuesday:laughing:.Goodluck with everything.Sounds hectic and exhausting.
I have had to postpone my melbourne trip and will miss the barbie exhibit cause the head cook at work has just gone on Long term sick leave.He had tummy pains last week and went to DR only to find out that he has cancer of the liver,gall bladder and pancreas.All pretty advanced.He is only 53 but is aheavy drinker and smoker.Still great man and the heart and soul of our camp.Every one Loves "cookie".Been very hard at work this week.I now have a minimum of 24hrs a week as we divide up his work load.Sad to as we have gheaps of family who wanted to meet our princess.
Oliver has a series of assesments this week.Getting so much closer to his final dianosis in august:fingerscrossed:.He is a little trooper it has been a big upheaval seeing all the professionals.Layla is a cute,naughty,sweet little girl.Into everything.
I am heaps better but am still really rundown feeling and getting headaches at night.I think I need to go to the naturapath as my immune system will be shot apparently.Well I am going to have dinner,a wine and watch benjamin button.
Sarah next time you're up in the wee hours of the morning you may as well just call me 'cause I was up from 1:30 this morning, dozed from 4-4:30 then up again, put on some washing at 5 and dozed for maybe another 15 mins before being up completely for the day at 5:30ish. I've decided I'm going to keep bringing Indie into bed with me for night feeds so that I don't wake up so much. The stupid part of me being awake so long was I was trying to work out in my head how much 1000 divided by 17 multiplied by 19 would be... for no freaking reason at all! Just because I couldn't work it out I couldn't get to sleep:rolleyes:.
Brodie - Your poor head chef, what a shock for him and everyone around him.
Great news that Oli is taking all the assessments well and that you're getting closer to an actual diagnosis so that you can know how to best help him.
Well a big weekend planned here, Dad's birthday tomorrow then a birthday afternoon tea on sunday for my step-grandmothers 75th birthday. DH is still at work atm and then is going away on sunday for 2-3 nights for work. I finally did the groceries today for the first time in probably 3 weeks:o. Thank goodness I keep the cupboard and freezer so well stocked. Just going to head to the markets in the morning for fruit and vege and I want to go to the butcher at west end to get their mince - it's honestly the best mince I've ever had. I also figure that if my brother(who's a butcher and very very very fussy) will eat it, then it's got to be pretty decent, plus it's only $10/kg:thumbsup:
Funkychicken
10-07-2009, 21:46
Won't be long now Sarah! Those last weeks are so, so hard. I had actually convinced myself that time had frozen in the last few days before Hamish arrived. it just felt like every day was stuck in some huge pregnant time warp and it was going to stay that way for ever!
And then he was here. :goodvibes:
Brodie, how awful for your cook. That's not the news anyone wants to get. Hopefully we will get to meet one day when you do get to Melbourne.
All the best with Oli's tests. I have watched a close friend of mine go through the battery with her son, who is now 8, and it's a tough road but he is such a fantastic boy and a true delight to be around.
Jess, I am laughing at you trying to do the sums when you should be sleeping. I do things like that. I get on a random thought trail and then I find I am clenching my teeth and trying desperately to work something out-so no conducive to falling asleep!
We have our last weekend at home before school starts back on Monday. I have spent the past week getting stuck into the garden and today I finally finished all the rose pruning-such a huge job and because I am slack and couldn't be bothered looking for my gloves, I now have cuts all over my hands!
But it truly looks like a winter garden now with all the bare branches and no flowers to be seen. I have just ordered a massive amount of heirloom seeds for the garden, so hopefully I have a productive vege garden again by summer.
Now if could only get my stubborn choks to lay eggs...........
brodiebunch
11-07-2009, 09:16
Yep a big shock but the man has at least 12 beers a night and a pack and a half of smokes a day......no I am not exaggerating sadly.
Reidymac
12-07-2009, 08:38
Get some sleep you crazy people! Have you ever heard of a calculator!! Geez, wouldn’t see me sitting up al night contemplating bizarre thoughts or sitting up rambling about bizarre thoughts on some internet discussion site *shifty eyes* :p.
Sarah I am so sorry to hear that your fav midwife is away and your office manager has been considering leaving all adding to you discomfort and worries. Those last few weeks always seem to fraught with challenges. I hope you are getting some sleep and getting to focus on you and the little man's journey. You Know the middy will just be an observer anyway, you know what your doing ;) Still sending lots of good wishes you way :goodvibes: he will be here before you know it (or we do).
Jess I hope you having a lovely weekend with all those birthday celebrations. Many cuddles to those gorgeous girls of yours.
Brodie, what devastating news for your 'cookie' I hope the changes to hours work out for you. And how about you, ya poor thing. viral meningitis aint no ball game. hope your feeling better.
Funky, it's so lovely to see you round these parts again. I hope you have been having lots of school holiday fun. getting out in the garden sounds wonderful. thats my hope for today. I know I said it at the time but I have to say again, I am so glad you are OK and the wheel incident wasn't.... worse..... although pretty bl**dy bad you poor thing. It must have given you such a fright.
We have been having a missive weekend of school holiday fun (trying to make up for the days I was stranded at work). Thursday was lunch/ science museum/soccer in the park and travel ing on the city cats all the way down the river. Friday was lunch followed by Disney on Ice 'Princess wishes' (spectacular...even if we were the only 3 children present not wearing a princess costume :0 but in my defence I only discoverd the show and booked the tickets at 3am that morning), Yesterday was a day of Seaworld (which I love) then driving further down the coast for dinner by the beach. Today is the day of rest (or housework as I like/ don't like to call it). And finally Monday I am back at work but going to see French and Saunders final show in the evening :smiliedance: I love those girls cant wait to see them live:smiliedance: All the wile I am thinking of you Sarah
Take care girls, I'll just hover over her for a bit and do a baby inducing dance :smiliedance:
emilysmumma
12-07-2009, 11:48
It's getting closer!!
Last night after eating chilli's with lunch and a curry for dinner, something may be starting, lol.
As I was reading Emily her bedtime stories last night he spent half an hour moving around and hitting my hoo haa for all it's worth, hopefully getting into position. He is nice and low and has slowed down his movements.
But the good news was I thought it was it last night. I kept being woken up by needing the toilet. After the 3rd time (slow on the uptake I tell ya) I realised it was the mild contractions that were waking me up. So they came every 8 or so minutes for a couple of hours, but I managed to go back to sleep, woke 2 hours later to nothing. Damn.
But it is very niggly and slightly tender now and then, so fingerscrossed he will arrive on his edd. (tomorrow)
It's so good to see everyone dropping in. We need to have more babies around here for it to happen. Any willing particpants :p
Funky, our chooks aren't paying there way at the moment either. I think it's the cold and all the rain we had. Hopefully when we get back down to the farm I'll have a stock up of a few dozen eggs.
I would love to comment more on everyone but the little miss is being her usual bossy self and requires me to throw myself at her feet, I mean wait on her hand and foot. Just get her lunch actually but it's becoming to loud to ignore.
Reidymac
12-07-2009, 13:09
woohoo. It sounds like lil W is packing his bags, moving the furniture and preparing to vacate.
I'm sure my dance must be helping a little bit too. I'll do some more :smiliedance:
Sarah, I can highly recommend running up and bouncing down the stair well at the RBH for 14 flights of light entrertainment an gravitational assistance. :p When the middies kept me captive after a 38 week appointment and told me I was on the 'preeclampsia clock' I went for a little "walk' up the stair well. It brought on a few wooha thumping, knee crumbling contraction, 2hrs 25 minutes later his labour started and 20 minutes after that we were the proud owners of a Rowie :cloud9:
I'll shut up and keep dancing now :smiliedance:
It's so good to see everyone dropping in. We need to have more babies around here for it to happen. Any willing particpants :p
:goodvibes: ME!!! Except that it takes 2 to make that decision and I don't think DH is keen on another:(.
Very exciting Sarah! Well I'm sure I'm speaking for everyone when I say we're sending happy peaceful blissful easy-going labour vibes your way!
We enjoyed all of our birthday celebrations over the weekend. Today we had a huge birthday party afternoon tea for my step-grandmother and KD had an awesome time playing with all the kids. Her cousin(aged 7) sat down and had a good hold of Indie but when she started crying M stated "I'm not very good at babies" and handed her back:laughing:. After that she just kept having KD sit on her lap and cuddle:bee:
Funkychicken
13-07-2009, 09:27
Jess, that is so funny-Indies cousins comment! :p Children say the most gorgeous things.
As you know, we had our two children...and then came Hamish. :D Although I was the one in the most shock, not DH, until he arrived and we knew how right it was.
Reidy, it sounds like you have had a fun-packed few days. I heard on the grapevine that another Dec 05 princess went along to the Disney On Ice extravaganza too!
Sarah, as I type, I hope you are you are feeling well still and are having, if not already have had, your little bundle of blue.
The energy in this thread seems to be buzzing in anticipation at the moment!
Our big two went back to school today after an amazing three week break. We had such a lovely time with a trip away and a visit to our science museum as well as all the lovely homely things like gardening, bike riding etc...
I have spent the morning putting the house back in some sort of order and with only one to tear it up again, I'm hoping to stay on top of it for at least 2 days. :D
:laughing: I don't think I've logged onto bh this much in the past six months as I have in the last few days!!! Everytime there is a new post, I jump in to see if it's the long awaited birth announcement :D
Sending you good birthing vibes Sarah, hope the wheels are in motion :flowerz:, I can't wait for an announcement & accompanying story!!!
A giant big hello to everyone, hope you are all going well :)
emilysmumma
13-07-2009, 11:54
The only news is that I'm feeling tired, headachy and nauseous after a huge :barf: session last night.
Dh keeps asking every 5 minutes if the baby has come yet, driving me nuts :rolleyes:
Thankfully mum is keeping the little miss entertained today as I'm prone to burst into tears every 5 minutes and I don't have any patience. Poor Chester (the beagle) was yelled and screamed at this morning and uncerimonously (sp)thrown out the front door by me this morning for scoffing down Emily's sandwich from the coffee table as he was on his way out from the back verandah. He searches the table everytime he goes by but he was too quick for me today.
Keeping busy by doing heaps of paperwork which there is a tonne of with work and doesn't seem to end.
I think I'm going nuts!!!!! :eek:
emilysmumma
15-07-2009, 10:00
He is still nice and warm and toasty in there. Can't say I blame him since it was freezing here last night and this morning- agree Tracey?
Sal- it sounds like you all had some lovely holidays together.
Brodie- sympathies for your 'cookie'. Regardless of how many drinks or smokes he has it still not fair.
How are you enjoying the work load?
Brooke-wherever you are. Good luck for Friday night. I'll be cheering you on from the sidelines.
Reidy- didn't picture you as a disney on ice person. Things you do for your kids hey? I'll keep in mind the walking up those stairs. But if you know Jess's driveway, I have a very similiar but longer one. I've been checking that letterbox many times a day, even though we have a po box, lol.
Also I finally relented and let Dh near me last night. All in the name of duty of course ;)
That's about it for now. Will keep you all posted.
uummm yep, its cold :( and looking at the forcast, I wouldn't blame little W for staying in there for another week :laughing:
:iagree:. those night feeds were a killer last night. indies room is a lovely temp but getting back into bed is like going and laying my head on a block of ice!
brodiebunch
15-07-2009, 17:22
EEEK night feeds in the cold.I used to shiver that much my let down was delayed,Layla used to crack it:hissy:.
Sarah-I am handling the work load well.Actually I am enjoying it.It is a very family friendly work place.We are all very close.
Things are really happening now,finally,with Oli's assessments.He has just been accepted into the uni's first chance early intervention group:smiliedance: and an interim group in the mean time.They have ruled out Autism but think it is aspergers.Just a few more tests next month and we should know for sure.The relief that things are getting there is a breath of fresh air.
hugs to you all.Especially you Sarah:hugs:
Oh Brodie I hate that! Most of all because the little *darlings* always seem to pull off as you're letting down then get milk everywhere which ok for a minute or 2 until it's just cold and making you colder!
Indie was up every 2 hours last night and KD was up a bit too:confused: I still got a few hours of sleep(total) but was a bit cranky when DH kicked me out of bed at 6 when I tried to take KD back in with me so I could get some extra rest:rolleyes:. Oh well, he's well rested and I told him he owes me a massage:p
Reidymac
17-07-2009, 16:16
Hello lovelies
Hope you are all having a good week and the little people are being kind to you all.
Sarah where ever you are I hope you are comfortable and well. I am assuming you have gone into lock down to keep away from the foot tapping and cyber pacing :p Either that or you have taken poor T into sexual slavery between trips to that mailbox, What ever you are doing I hope your happy and we are sending good thoughts your way :goodvibes:
Oh and Ps. I didn't see myself as a disney on ice kind of girl either ... especially a "princess' themed event, but you know, motherhood brings the ultimate sacrifices (and I secretly loved it, but shhhh don't blow my cover)
Jess I hope you are coping with feeding in these cold nights. It has been mightly chilly in the wee small hours. Fortunatly the recent introduction of a flecy sleeping bag has my little monster sleeping through his usual 5am feed time. He still likes an early snuggle but after 3 children I have mastered the art of scooping him into our bed without having to get out of the blankets. He's just a big, kissy hot water bottle with arms :cloud9:
I have had a great week full of fun and giggles. Monday nights French and Saunders concert was brilliant and almost as funny as the Junior school inter house sports carnival on Wednesday. Junior and Sports are two words that should never go together in the same sentance. :laughing: What an uncoordinated, easily distracted, non competative ,gaggle of monsters they were :laughing:
emilysmumma
18-07-2009, 08:18
Nada, nothing, zilch, nothing, zero, nope.....nothing happening.
Thought I'd get that out of the way first since it's driving me crazy with everyone asking, lol.
Had a midwife appointment on thursday morning and all good of course. Went for the stretch and sweep as that's what I had with Emily at 6 days over and she arrived the next day. Everything was the same as for her, dilated 2cm, thinned to half, but besides feeling invaded and jaded for the rest of the day from it, nothing.
Jess, I'm doing things differently this time around with the night feeding. No getting out of bed for me. :no:The cot is set up flush against my side of the bed so I don't physically have to get out for feed times, just pull him over and go back to sleep during it, lol. Not only is it way too cold to get out of bed, especially down on the farm, but getting up and going into Emily's room even though it was only 5 steps away, really caused a lot of sleep deprivation. As I would then sit in the comfy chair and feed her which could easily take an hour in the early days.
I'm hearing you on the no or little sleep and am determine to get as much as I can this time around.
Kids and organisation just don't go together. Emily's bonfire at preschool also had a mini preformance of singing beforehand. I give the teachers points for trying at least :laughing: Glad you enjoyed your concert Reidy and athletics.
So much to do but I think will spend most of the day on the lounge watching dvd's. Never know when I will ever get the chance again.
Oh Sarah I'm thinking of you! I was so excited for you today thinking of how much I was looking forward to labour and excited at the anticipation. I think if I could go through labour for other women I'd do it in a heartbeat(but forget the pregnancy part 9 months is too long!).
Reidy we have some fantastic pics of my brothers and I in our fantastic uncoordinated glory haha! Glad it was a fun day!
I envy you girls who get to have your babes in your rooms, there just isn't space in our room(unless we ditch the king size bed but then dh is too close and it cramps my style:p). But I just scoop indie up and plonk her in bed with me. Better than sitting up and waking up!
brodiebunch
19-07-2009, 17:19
I hate disney on ice........it started here today so our local farmers markets were closed so people could park there cars.I was forced into gong to a shopping centre:rolleyes:.I think Layla would love that show when she is older.
Kids in bed huh!Oli ended up with me last night cause he wet his bed and was cold.I enjoyed my cuddles but got very little sleep.He is a fidget bum.
I am so excited to see the final of masterchef tonight.Go POH
Hey guys haven really posted in here.
Thought I might if thats ok.
DS1 was born on the 8th dec.
He has just been refered by the child health nurse to a spech pathologist and a medical exam for his learning. He is great at all the running and action problems solving but on paper he fails. He understand pretty much everything you say.
Feeling like its my fault cause like the nurse said he is switched on so there is no reason for him to be so behind in speech and book learning. So it must be me.
Maybe you guys could let me know where ur bubbas are in these areas so I can get an idea on where he is falling behind.
Sorry Its a bit drab for my first post just worried.
Hi bex,
Dd1 is so into books, we literally have books strewn everywhere and always have. She knows the alphabet, reads the letters in words, can write her name and her favorite game ATM is ispy. But there are many areas she isn't so advanced. She has a lot of trouble regulating her emotions, calming herself and gets frustrated really easily(and forgets to ask for help when she is frustrated!). Each child is different, and needs support in different ways. The situation is in no way your fault so please don't beat yourself up. Together with his specialists you'll be able to put together an action plan and enjoying watching your little man moving forward in leaps and bounds!
Brodie I completely know how you feel about the supermarket, probably why I leave it weeks between adventures in if I can. I cringe at the thought of taking kd grocery shopping.
Unfortunately mil took a turn last night and has landed herself in hospital for an undetermined amount of time. Has really shaken dh and bil though neither will admit it.
I spent the day mini spring cleaning and feel a lot better for it. Just need to vac and mop and my house will be completely sorted! Yay!
Funkychicken
19-07-2009, 20:19
Hey Bex, welcome to the Dec 05 group.
I am not sure I understand you clearly regarding your son. What is it exactly that the health nurse is concerned about? When you say books, so you mean recognising words?
Our son is a happy, bright little 3yo but I don't think he is too much different from other 3yo's. He loves listening to stories, both from books and my telling, but he doesn't read or know how to recognise any words yet. Nor did our other two children at 3 and they are happily settled in school now.
Speech can be a tricky one. Our first born was a chatterbox from a very young age but our 2nd born didn't say much at all until she was well over three.
My husband, apparently, didn't talk at all until he was 4.
They all learn at different paces and some seem to excel more than others but often we only compare certain aspects of their development, the ones that seem to be the most important. But all children have areas of development that surpass other children their age, but we often overlook those areas because they don't seem to be the "important" ones. Does that make sense?
Take on board what 'specialists' and health nurses suggest but don't let them be the ones to tell you how your child is doing-you will know if they need help or not. Often the most obvious question is, "Is my child happy and settled?" If the answer is yes, then the most important part of their development is being covered. :thumbsup:
Hey by books I mean learning stuff like counting and fine motor.
He is very behind on speech which I think frustrates him.
When I try to sit down and teach him he just yells no way and gets angry or upset.
DH needed a speech path and stuggled with english and such school subjects. Though he exelled at maths.
He is now a electrician who earns over 100k a year so it not life sentence.
I just want my boy to have the best start and not to go through the struggles and learn to hate school.
brodiebunch
20-07-2009, 04:17
Bex-:hugs::wave:
I understand.My little man is having assessments done for Aspergers ATM.I to just want him to have the best start in life.He may be behind but boy is he the sweetest boy around once you get to know him.Welcome to the thread
Well I am off to work in a minute.Hash brown day today
Well said FC - what I was trying to convey unsuccessfully in my sleep deprived state:o.
Thanks for making me crave hash browns Brodie:rolleyes:!
brodiebunch
20-07-2009, 17:31
sorry Jess.I do them in the oven cause they taste better and then I can eat more:o.Of course that was only one small part of break and lunch shift.Tomorrow I am doing bacon and scrambled eggs.Sounds good till you take into account the smell of eggs for over 100 people:barf:.Lunch is chicken wraps with sour cream and cheese etc.Hot chicken.Lots of work but oh so good.
emilysmumma
21-07-2009, 19:28
Just a quick update. 8 days over now and am way over it,lol.
Had a middie appointment this afternoon and he is all nicely position and ready to go but just won't budge.
Had another S&S like last week and given the idea of eating a pineapple. It's suspose to help clear you out and the tingling it gives you in your mouth is suspose to have something in it to help as well. So I ate half of that, a spicy thai soup and spicy salad. DH better be prepared shortly as well :p
I spent most of the weekend :barf:.
Nighty night.
Reidymac
21-07-2009, 21:10
Awww, you poor thing Sarah. You sound pretty tired and frustrated. I'm so sorry too that your still getting the dreaded MS. many ((((((hugs))))))) to you and your belly (squishy downward hugs to the belly).
I am suddelnly reminded of how horrible that Ms in the last weeks can be. :( There were days I thought I was going to vomit the baby out. On the bright side nobody ever reported being more than a month overdue and the MS goes away when your not pregnant any more :) I'm really feeling for you mate.
Here is some mundane rambeling to help you get to sleep
On the weekend I got to cach up with some lovely old mates from Uni. They were all in town for a weekend of child and partner free fun and debautchery. Over the last *coughs to muffle the number* years we have all spread to the far corners of the land and our lives have changed dramatically but Oh My God it was fun. We rambled and giggled like idiots and it was like we had never spent a single day apart. We ended up spending Sunday in one of the old pubs that we used to live in to survive uni life and I even got hit on by a spunky young man (he was blind rotten drunk at 11 am in the morning:rolleyes: but hey, I'm old, tired and not that picky ........and clearly neither was he)
On another note, I am baffled by my childrens strange experience with teeth. I don't know if you remember, but my childrens only extrodinary developmental ability was in getting all of their teeth in one foul swoop. All 3 children have had 10 teeth come in between their 4th and 8th month of life. thats a sh*t load and not much fun to brest feed. Now I am finding they go as fast as they come:( . Little G is only 5 years old and in the last 4 weeks she has lost 6......I repeat 6 teeth. Is that normal???? Is she going to be wearing dentures by the time she's 10? Is the tooth fairy going to have to take out a second mortgage on our house??? Is she doing this on purpose because next week is her first ever school photo???? The freaky part is 3 of the teeth have been replace with their adult teeth in just a few days. The other 3 I'm not sure of but it looks sooooooo weird when she smiles It useed to look like this :D now it's more like this :eek:
Funkychicken
22-07-2009, 15:31
Oh Sarah, I really hope you are smoodging that wee little babe of yours by now. It seems he has been determined to make you wait! Which means he is going to absolutely divine in every way and is just ensuring that you have some delayed gratification. :goodvibes:
On the matter of teeth, I have some background experience (and an ex-dental nurse for a mother who was exceptionally anal about teeth and their abilities!). Generally speaking, the earlier the baby teeth arrive, the earlier they depart to make way for the arrival of the biggies.
So, if your children got their baby teeth early, they will then lose them and receive newies early also. Am I making sense?
All children greet their baby teeth in roughly the same order (bottom two, top two, next bottom two etc...) and they then lose them in that same order. It's a deceptively simple little arrangement that never seems to veer off it's path.
Plus, it nearly always has a genetic aspect too. For instance, my brothers and I all got our teeth later, which meant we lost them later too. And we all had too many for our mouths so their was some tooth pulling to be done (they don't automatically do that these days).
My children have followed a very similar pattern in getting and losing teeth although their teeth are little replicas of DH's.
Let me know if that was way over the top. :p
I hope everyone is staying comfortable and warm and enjoying the winter season.
Reidymac
22-07-2009, 18:30
Sarah I hope you are trapped under a sweet little bundle of warm squishy baby and cant make it to the keyboard to brag. If not then ……….I blame Chumps! Her last post clearly planted the idea in little W’s mind that he should consider waiting another 7 days.
see Quote from 15/7/2009
uummm yep, its cold , and looking at the forcast, I wouldn't blame little W for staying in there for another week :laughing:
Naughty Chump's. She's quiet but wicked that one :shame: On the bright side that means that the 7 days is over and tomorrow is B Day :). I'm trying to help, really I am.
Sal, thank you so much. :yelclap: You are wise and wonderful and what you said makes perfect sense. You have allayed the fears of a mother that invents things to stress about when she gets a moment to spare.
I suspect most of G's little teeth didn't jump voluntarily, they were pushed by the new adult teeth coming through. She has lost 5 of the front bottom teeth and one upper front. The front bottom 2 teeth were replaced by big adult teeth over night, which then seemed to crowd out the adjacent ones making them fall out too. I just checked a few moments ago and two more adult teeth have pushed through on the right side within the last 24 hours. She has also gotten a set of 4 new molars within the last month. Poor sod. no wonder she is such a grouch
I think the upper front tooth will take a lot longer to appear because it was an assisted departure thanks to a cheeky little brother. That is much more in keeping with genetic predisposition of her mothers side of the family. I believe I didn't lost a single tooth without the aid of my big brothers and their evil sister torturing ways. :devil:
anyway, you must be all bored to tears with recounts of Graysies teething pain, back to William watch now :goodvibes:
emilysmumma
23-07-2009, 08:27
Good morning my patient friends. Well you still need to be patient. I had a show yesterday morning but that's it!
I agree Reidy, damn that Tracey woman :p
Welcome Bex. Everyone said it perfectly. We all have our weaks and strengths and kids develop at different paces and may take a while to catch up in certain areas. Anyhow, come in and chat. It's not that I'm doing much but waiting...........
Jess, I hope your mil is out of hospital now and all is well there. Sorry about the other morning, but by the time I got your message for coffee I had only been up for half an hour and would never of made it on time.
On the subject of teeth, hopefully Emily follows her father's side of the family who have all strong, straight teeth. I ended up with extractions and braces for having vampire teeth. Seriously the two adult eye teeth grew up high in the gums and the two front teeth slanted backwards. And braces are painful :crying:
The other day Emily told her first fib! I always make a point of not saying 'are you lying' but more 'are you telling me the truth'. We were on the back verandah and she had made another cubby house (makes them all the time, we have a huge construction in the lounge room atm consisting of a chalk board, sofa lounge, cardboard box, laundry basket and about 5 blankets and 10 stuffed toys). Back on the subject.... I thought she was just having a lay down in it as she was a bit tired for half an hour but it turned out she had drawn purple biro pen all over the front of her grey top and was hiding it from me. She never showed me but mum spotted it and when asked she said "Chester did it" and when asked how he did it she replied " he took the pen off the table and he is very naughty".
She knew it was wrong and wouldn't let me see and got her gran to take her top off and wash it so I wouldn't growl at her.
See beagle dogs are trouble, they just can't be trusted.
Ok, William watch is still ago, 10 days over now. I guess he was waiting to be a Leo instead of a Cancer. So the little lion cub can come out now, PLEASE!!!!
Look on the bright side Sarah.....each day that passes....is a day closer to the big event :D, but I am so hearing you on the over it part. I remember wanting to go in at about 7 months and get them to extract :laughing:.
Reidymac
23-07-2009, 10:54
Psst Sarah: There she is now :shame: Dont look directly at her or she'll make you another 7 days past edd:p
Hi Chumps :wave: What are you up to today?? How about we go shopping for some pineapple dackeries, hot and spicey curries and a Cod Liver icecream chaser, head round to sarahs house and make her do star jumps for an hour or two??:smiliedance:
:laughing::laughing:, sounds like a plan!
Reidymac
23-07-2009, 11:53
Okay Sarah, you start with the star jumps now and keep them up until we arrive with the goodies (other wise known as 'the pregnant womans last supper'). It shouldn't take us too long to source the cod liver icecream but you know what that chumps is like when she gets to a shopping centre :rolleyes:
Oh and for those of you keeping score Graysie just losk ANOTHER tooth:dizzy:
Please send
'Save tooth fairy from bankrupsy" donations to
PO BOX 7 down more to go
Brisbane, Qld 4001
I'm calling Births, Deaths and marriages now to see if we can get her name changed to Gappy.
Sarah these second bubs can be quite interesting creatures. Remember Mr Liam came 7 mins after Reidy arrived at the hospital and Missy Moo was a similar time frame too. Indie was a stubborn critter and no matter what I did to encourage her, she was staying bum down! When I finally accepted that and was booked in for a c/s, she decided she'd had enough and came anyway! Young William is just keeping the trend alive in here for an interesting birth story:D.
Reidy - OMG 7 teeth in such a short space of time! Are you sure you didn't switch her toothpaste for acid? At least the replacement teeth are all coming through quickly and hopefully fill that mouth of hers back up again before class photo day!
I have KD's parent teacher interviews this afternoon. Should be interesting. She's come out a few times with "fock it" so I have no doubt that will be raised. Not sure if she picked it up at kindy or if she heard it from me:o.
Better run, loads to do as usual.:rolleyes:
Reidymac
23-07-2009, 14:37
Awwww, Doesn't it make your heart swell with pride when you hear the stories about how our wonderful little 3 year olds are developing
"Lying, swearing, roughing up their siblings :cloud9:" They sound like they are doing 3 perfectly from my experience.:laughing:
Jess, They do say that imitation is the most sincere form of flattery :D
You could just tell the kindy teachers that she doesn't get it from you, that you think it might be those gastly 'R' rated "Porkies" movies and "Rap music" that she is listening to:D
And yes, OMG 7 teeth now. The bright side is that I just need 2 more to make a really freaky necklace, lol.
Sarah, How lovely that you are going to have a Leo in the house. Every home should have one. Everyone knows that Leo's are the most awesome people ever.
On that note :o Happy very belated Birthday Funky. Hope you had a lovely day. Sorry I'm such a slacker happybirthday
Happy belated birthday sal, I must admit that I didn't realize I'd missed it this year, my brains getting a bit fried and forgetful these days.
Talking of rap music, literally everytime we get in the car kd asks for "the rap song" ana eminens latest release. Thank goodness for censored music!
Parent teacher interviews went well, there's been no foul language out of her mouth at kindy so that's a relief. Teacher said she's doing really well with letters, both recognizing and writing but that she's having trouble 'regulating her emotions'. We already knew that was a problem so we've been working on deep breathing to calm her down when she's frustrated, hyper or upset and are starting to have quite good success with that at home so I will suggest they prompt her to do that at kindy too.
Brodie I've been meaning to ask, how's young turbo going?
Sarah it was very last minute of me I know, sorry about that! Unfortunately mil will be in hospital for at least a few weeks until they figure out what made her sick(she had no platelettes in her blood but they don't know why) so they can work out a plan of treatment. It's scared the bejeezers out of dh and bil so they will be happy when we know she's well and getting any treatment she needs.
Anyway, kids are in bed so I'm off for a spot of chocolate shopping :p
brodiebunch
23-07-2009, 18:47
OMG 7 teeth lost!:eek:.I hope the tooth fairy only gives 20 cents per tooth these days.
Sarah-Bubs cant stay in there for to much longer now.Ps I am told swallowing is more affective than having sex:laughing::o
Bahaha brodie I almost spit soup put everywhere.
emilysmumma
23-07-2009, 19:59
Hmmm Brodie, interesting concept.
I too burst out but quickly shut up in case DH wanted to know what I was cacking myself up about. Don't want him to have any more reasons on why he should have %*@#! :laughing:
Emily's favourite song is Pink's "i'm a rock star, i've got my rock moves" I just don't sing out loud the 'you're a tool' bit in the hope that she won't copy it.
Desperatly tired and headachy. Hopefully tonight's the night :fingerscrossed:
emilysmumma
24-07-2009, 11:09
Last night wasn't the night.
Today I'm a mess and can't stop being teary. :gloomy:
We are also in the process of selling our house and tomorrow is the first open house. So am feeling overwhelmed in getting things tidied up and organised. Thankfully the house is old and crappy and we are really marketing the land it's on so it doesn't need to be a showroom.
Also DH is very 'manic' at the moment so it makes things very hard. But I must say he is handling this episode the best yet but it's taking it's toll on him and me.
Ahh, the trials and tribulations of our lives.
Back on the subject of 3 year olds and what they come out with. The little miss has a favourite saying at the moment which I have no idea where it came from. It's either "I'll poo on your head" or the other is " I'll cut your head off". :confused:
Back on the subject of 3 year olds and what they come out with. The little miss has a favourite saying at the moment which I have no idea where it came from. It's either "I'll poo on your head".
:laughing: Can I suggest that perhaps big brother might have had a hand in this one? certainly sounds like something my big brothers would have taught me to say.
Sarah would you like to get out tonight for coffee and cake?I'm free from say 6pm onwards? perhaps take your mind off things? Sorry to hear its all starting to take its toll:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:. I wish I had some wonderful words of wisdom to offer or could take some of the pressure off. If there is anything that I can do to help, please let me know.
I can imagine Emily singing Pink and dancing around, I think she'd do a pretty good job of her songs. KD hasn't mastered singing anything other than nursery rhymes yet. I had a friend who's son would sing Gwen Stefani's "If I were a rich girl" and in the part where it goes "this sh!t is banana's b-a-n-a-n-a-s" he would sing "this ship is banana's, b-a-n-a-n-a-s" then one day it clicked and he burst out laughing "mum a ship can't be made of bananas!". Very cute!
:hugs: Sarah, hang in there mate. On top of everything, those damn hormones.....persistant little buggars aren't they? As per Jess offered, I don't really have much in the way of words (Reidy where are you? ;)), but please let me know if there is anything I can do too. (Except help you deliver that baby of course - you're on your own for that one ;))
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
:hugs: Sarah, hang in there mate. On top of everything, those damn hormones.....persistant little buggars aren't they? As per Jess offered, I don't really have much in the way of words (Reidy where are you? ;)), but please let me know if there is anything I can do too. (Except help you deliver that baby of course - you're on your own for that one ;))
(Except help you deliver that baby of course - you're on your own for that one ;))
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
Oh come on you know you're dying to deliver a baby, you're such a pro you barely even need a hospital:p(had a little giggle as I walked into greenslopes the other day to see MIL and KD asked why there was a wheelchair next to the front door - all I could think of was Missy Moo's speedy arrival and you needing the wheelchair to get into the hospital from the car).
emilysmumma
26-07-2009, 19:45
My fellow supporters and cheerleading squad :smiliedance:
I think the time is coming :thumbsup:
For the last couple of hours I've been having contractions every 10 or so minutes :D
Dh is over the moon and wants to call his mum. I just want to go and wash my hair, lol.
So I'm pretty sure that this time tomorrow night I will be able to tell you the details of little William's arrival.
But so far nothing is consistent but thought it best to let you know now while I still can.
Wish us lots of lovely birthing vibes :goodvibes:
Reidymac
26-07-2009, 20:31
Lots and Lots and Lots of lovely birthing vibes being sent your way Sarah :goodvibes::goodvibes:
I can almost hear the joy and relief in your post. :cloud9: What an amazing woman you are, Sarah and you will do beautifully bringing this little man into the world tonight. I am so very excited for you mate.
Much love and hugs to you:hugs: Dont forget to breath and let William do the work;) Be kind to your self and enjoy this beautiful little man and this very special time in your life.
My thoughts and strenght are with you. And of course all of the lovely birthing vibes the universe has to offer :goodvibes:
Funkychicken
26-07-2009, 20:46
Oh Sarah, it sounds like it is time! :goodvibes:
I wish you love and strength as you bring this new little soul into the world-you will be a birthing warrior without doubt.
:goodvibes::goodvibes::goodvibes::goodvibes::goodv ibes:
Oh Sarah hopefully by now you're holding your wee little man. I hope his birth has been/will be everything that you hoped for! I can't wait to "meet" the little man!
brodiebunch
27-07-2009, 07:00
go Sarah:yelclap::yelclap:.Hope all has gone well for you and you are enjoying some new baby snuggles:hugs:.
brodiebunch
27-07-2009, 07:02
oops
:goodvibes::goodvibes::goodvibes::goodvibes::goodv ibes::goodvibes:
I hope I am not too late in wishing you the biggest birthing vibes too Sarah :goodvibes:, I'm kindof hoping I am too late, for your benefit - and that by the time you read this.....you will be holding that most special new little person in your arms & getting all those beautiful new baby smells :bee:
I wont be on BH for the rest of the night(I'm sick with gastro:dizzy:) but I will keep an eye on fb to hopefully hear some news of master williams arrival:goodvibes:
Reidymac
29-07-2009, 18:26
Ok, It's official, I am a giant F#%*&%g Mushroom and only just found out a few minutes ago that Congratulations are in order.:laughing:
CONGRATULATIONS SARAH :yelclap::smiliedance::flowerz:
Welcome to the world to your beautiful new baby
and I believe it's
A BOY :cloud9:
Woohoooooooo
I am so glad that he arrived for you in the wee hours of monday morning. Here I was fretting about you thinking you may just be suffering through the longest labour in living history :laughing:
Hope you and the family are all happy and well and enjoying lots of new baby snuggles. Cant wait to see pictures or get snuggles of the little man.
Much love
Reidy
Funkychicken
29-07-2009, 18:49
Oh, Reidy, thank you so much for that-I was really starting to get worried that there was something really wrong!
So, without any further knowledge than that which Reidy has imparted,
CONGRATULATIONS
SARAH AND TERRY
AND EMILY!
I can't wait to hear more news with all the lovely birthy details!
I hope you are now basking in a beautiful smoodgy babymoon with loads of milky smooches and cuddles!
:flowerz::flowerz::goodvibes::flowerz::flowerz:
:bee:
emilysmumma
29-07-2009, 23:30
He has arrived!!!!
Sorry Carolyn but I didn't have your mobile number to let you know on Monday along with the other brissy girls.
First let me gloat. He is very lovely :cloud9: And I think I'm in lurve :D
So Willam Taylor Johannes arrived at 2:25am Monday morning the 27th July after 2 hours and 50 minutes of labour via waterbirth.
As I said I was having contractions that Sunday evening and once I washed my hair and DH had gone to rest up :rolleyes: I put Emily to bed about 10:30 and stayed in there sleeping in between the contractions until waking DH up just before 12 when they were 5 minutes apart.
Rang our midwife and said I want to come in now who then said could I stay home another hour since they only just started being 5 minutes apart with the occasional one a bit closer. She told me today she said that because I sounded so calm.
Pretty much immediatley after hanging up they got closer and about 1:00 rang her and got DH to speak to her as they were now every couple of minutes.
Got Emily into the car, mum followed us in her car. Parked out front at emergency where mum was so flustered she only parked half her car in the car spot.
Then DH opens the door and said "are you coming" which I replied "I'm a bit busy at the moment" as in having a contraction which he got cranky at because I snapped at him. Same thing happened last time I arrived there in the middle of the night for Emily's birth, lol.
So in between contractions I'm organising Emily because Terry and mum where going on about how she parked and who is grabbing what stuff and achieving nothing :rolleyes: while I put her shoes and dressing gown on.
DH did thankfully grab a wheelchair that was out the front for me and in we troop.
I arrived at 2:00am and breathed a sigh of relief because the room was warm and dark, the bath was being filled and I wasn't going over bumpy Milton Road anymore.
DH went out to move the car, he came back, mum went to move her car and as soon as she left I said I need to go to the toilet as they were on top of each other now and felt that I needed to poo! Emily during this was quiet as a mouse just watching and being ever so good.
The next contraction my waters broke and he moved down with immense pressure. Another over the toilet and the top of his head was showing.
Hopped into the bath and DH was running between me and Emily and 2 contractions later his head was out and mum came back in.
Because it was dark they had a torch so Emily and mum came over and saw his little head and then watched the rest of his birth which happen with the next contraction.
As I was leaning forward over the bath he was bought in under me to put on my chest.
So only 25 minutes at the hospital and I just didn't have any idea that it was that close as the contractions were quite managable and easy enough to breathe through. Also the euphoric relief after each one and the clarity when there was no pain was something I didn't have with Emily's birth.
So after 20 minutes in the bath we hopped out and sat on the birthing stool awaiting the placenta. He latched on and I mean latched on to the breast which helped and it was out. Dh cut the cord and Emily watched up close and saw the placenta.
Mum said her eyes were so lit up when she saw his head poking out and in awe and she has said that I was very good "because I didn't yell or scream at all like we read about".
So he weighed in at 3910grams, exactly half a kilo heavier than the little miss and 54.5cm long. We were home by 5 that afternoon, and would of been sooner but the peadatrician was running a couple of hours behind and had to wait for her to see him first.
He is a great little feeder. Too great I think as he has a suction on him like you wouldn't believe. Very ouchy at the moment with the milk coming in. He is sleeping lots and I am seriously proud of myself for doing it so calmly and having such a lovely experience.
A shame that I didn't get to utilise more of the waterbirth part of it but at least it was used where it counted....the whole 5 minutes of it, lol.
We went in today to have his hearing test and heel prick as we are leaving early this morning to go back to the farm. We have seriously overstayed our welcome here and just want to get back there asap. It's been just over 3 weeks when we thought 10-12 days max.
It was good going over the birth notes to see it from the midwife point of view.
So that's it and he is so worth waiting those extra 2 weeks for.
I understandbly haven't had a chance to download any pics yet but they will be up in the next day or two.
He is very cute :bee:
Emily is just being wonderful and the first night when he woke up and cried she told him to " please be quiet" then "shoosh baby William I'm trying to sleep". Last night when he woke she did too and helped change him and talk to him and was just so happy she couldn't get the grin off her face. This morning when she woke up I was already up in the lounge room with him and she was very upset because her baby wasn't in the room with her. He was dutifully returned, lol.
I am already thinking she is going to be slightly posessive of the little fella.
So all is well. Just the normal tired, tender and teary.
Thanks for all those lovely birthing vibes, they sure helped.
brodiebunch
30-07-2009, 06:28
Congratulations
I have just had goose bumps reading your wonderful story.Lucky Emily!Wow a big sister now and a fantastic one by the sounds of it:hugs:.Sounds like a beautiful experience for the whole family.:yelclap::yelclap::D:hugs:
OMG Sarah, that sounds like such a wonderful experience for you all :bee:. I'm so happy for you that it all came together - you are very fortunate to have that experience and have everything go so well to plan, except for the extra 2 weeks of pregnancy :laughing:
Congratulations again, and I hope one day to see your little man before he's walking. Is that it for you guys up here then? Did your house sell? Are you ever returning? :(
Give Emily big smooches from Chumps & little William newborn snuggles from us all xx
Sarah What a beautiful birth story. I told you these post-Dec 05 Brisbane babies like to have an interesting birth story. I can't wait to see some photo's, I bet he's just handsome! It's such a shame(well for us) that you're leaving so soon.
Reidymac
31-07-2009, 20:52
:goodvibes: Beautiful Sarah. I am so happy that everything went so well for you all. Welcome to the world little William. A much loved and anticipated little boy (and little boys are very special:cloud9:) What a lucky boy too, to have such a sweet and protective big sister to help watch over him.
I'm sure you must be pleased to be back in the safe haven of the farm and away from the crazyness of the office and the house for sale. I hope you get to enjoy a very special babymoon with your new little family of 4.
And sarah you big sweety, I didn't need a call, I must admit holding my breath for 3 whole days was just about to kill me though:p Like Funky I was beginning to get really worried with the silence around these parts and my imagination was starting to run away from me. (remember, I am the queen of post partum drama so my imagination is well fed). I am so glad to know the worry was baseless and you are all beautiful and well.:smiliedance::bee:
Happy Weekend everyone
emilysmumma
03-08-2009, 20:45
For some reason I can't put photos on here. So you have to check out FB instead. I'm just doing them now.
Bubba is gorgeous and just eats and sleeps and eats and sleeps, lol. Emily is being a dream with him and fingerscrossed it keeps up.
DH has been really sick with a flu and has been useless in helping. But we are managing. Thankfully William sleeps long stretches through the day which means I get things done. Unfortunatley he likes to drink all night but it's easy having him in bed with us.
Especially since it's so damn cold down here still at night.
Anyhoo time for bed and now that bubs has arrived it's awfully quiet in here again. So who is up for another one? Seriously only an hour after he was born I could of done it all again straight away, stupid hormones playing havoc I expect.
But still wish I was back at that time since it was such a great experience. Arrrrh, hormones again :laughing:
Sarah I'm so happy to hear you are all settled in and enjoying William so much!
Ah post baby hormones, yep still feeling them atm! Lol but there's enough going on for me to distract me lol.
Must dash, sleeping baby in arms... Off to check out pics of William!
Sounds like you are enjoying the whole business Miss Sarah. Sorry can't say I will be joining you any time soon, at all actually unless it's a major accident :laughing:. We have just completed our booby feeding career too, and I am enjoying my own time & space nicely. I miss my animals too much and am really looking forward to the time I can increase my hours at work again :p
brodiebunch
05-08-2009, 08:24
Sarah-I loved the pictures.As for having another one........well discussions are in action here.Lots to talk about.I hope Emily keeps it up for you and the novelty does not wear off.Enjoy your new bub they grow up to soon.
Well it is official.Layla has weaned:(:):smiliedance::crying::confused:.Still dont know how I feel about it.I also never thought I would feed her this long.She did it herself though so I have to respect that.Still a happy sad moment for me.
Oli is so cute at the moment.He gets really anxious at the drop of a hat but is starting to communicate very well with us close adults.Makes life so much easier.He also sang his first nursery rhyme this week all by himself.It was exciting for us.
Well must get out of my pj's
Well done Tracey and Brodie on a fantastic breastfeeding journey for both your girls. You've both done a great job!
Brodie - so are you leaning towards having another? I would like another but I'm not sure that I'm ready quite yet. DH is cool with having another as long as I feel ready/like I can cope.
Tracey - when would you look at increasing your work hours? Will you wait until Missy Moo is a bit older/ready to start kindy?
Wow what a whirlwind few weeks I've had. MIL went home from hospital on monday, only to be re-admitted on tuesday morning:( she's quite unwell but last night she was talking like she'd only be in for a few days. She's at the point now where she needs around the clock care, but she's not willing to accept that.
Dad's due back in just over a week but he's staying with my aunt and uncle, well my aunt has swine flu. Apparently there's no quarunteen over there so I guess it's just a waiting game to see if dad gets it and what we need to do when he gets home.
Another friend had a baby girl this week, so hopefully I'll get to visit them today or tomorrow but I'm having car problems and with having MIL in hospital too it's a juggling act as to who I can see and when.
Anyway, my life is full of dramas atm, won't bore you with the rest of it! Off to get a few things done while Indie sleeps(shhh don't tell her she's sleeping, she might wake up!) and KD is watching Finding Nemo!
emilysmumma
05-08-2009, 15:19
I believe there is a happybirthday in order for tomorrow to our one and only Miss Reidy :party:
I hope you have a wonderful day and are spoilt rotten by your 3 beautiful children and that lovely husband of yours. Anything on your wishlist? Wonder how it will compare to what you actually get, lol.
Also a belated happybirthday to Lis for last week who just so happens to share the day with my beautiful new boy!
Jess, sometimes it feels like it doesn't rain it pours. I hope your mil gets the help she needs.
Congrats to both of you Brodie and Tracey. I'm just starting on my bfing adventure again and thankfully they were broken in by Miss Emily as this boy as I've said before has a suction you wouldn't believe.
I love how they sing nursery rhymes Brodie. Must of been a proud moment.
Well Miss Emily has gone backward in going to preschool. Last term she freaked out big time one day when I left and I had to go pick her up early. Ever since then she is adamant that she doesn't want to go anymore. She went on Monday and I finally got to leave after a couple of hours but on Tuesday she freaked out and in the end I took her home. So next week we are going back to just the one day and hopefully she will let me leave her there. It's my fault as the first time she freaked out last term I left her bawling and I swore I would never do that to her but I listened to the teacher and went anyway. Yesterday I had to practically drag her to the car and she wanted to go as soon as we got there. Once she is involved with a task and playing she is fine. She did news yesterday and group and was fine then played with one of the teachers, but when it's time for me to leave all hell breaks loose. She screamed again and bawled and tried to get to me as the teacher was holding her and the teacher said again to go, but this time I said no way. I couldn't do it to her and was in tears myself. (I'll say it again, damn hormones, lol) Preschool just isn't that important to go through that trauma, even though she does love it there when she forgets about me.
So fingerscrossed she doesn't panic next week otherwise we may have to give it a miss for the term which would be ashame.
Anyhoo, must go and try and pay some bills and do paperwork while junior is asleep and Emily is watching tv.
happybirthday Reidy! I hope you're spoilt rotten - you deserve it! You do such a fantastic job, you are a wonderful mother, fantastic friend and no doubt a marvellous wife too!happybirthday:party:
Funkychicken
06-08-2009, 14:26
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR REIDY
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
:smiliedance: happybirthday :smiliedance:
HIP HIP HOORAY!!
Well as others have said, I hope you are soaking up the birthday vibes and drowning yourself in coffee and cake. I'm still giggling at Sarah's comment about what you get v's what you want to get! How true that can be in this household anyway!
Sarah, it sounds like your new little boy is just scrumptious! I so love those first few months of having them feed and sleep and snuggle in close all night. Ahhh...these are the moments I get all mooshy and think about four....
Re the kinder stuff, it sounds a bit rough at the moment. From what you have said, Emily is going through exactly what Tristan went through with kinder (and a few other places!). Firstly, it isn't your fault based on you leaving her there crying-I also did that and felt so awful for so long but realistically, Tristan was always going to be a child who had separation anxiety.
We had a number of occasions where he just didn't want to stay but this lessened over the years. His prep year was lovely and he felt really comfortable and safe, so not too many problems but class 1 saw a few days of trauma! When their classes moved to a new campus (he was in class 3 by then), he regressed briefly for a few days and got quite upset but after about a week, he settled in. It was just a bit too overwhelming for him.
Anyway, I think I could be in for much of the same with Hamish, so we will take next years 3yo kinder gently and if he doesn't want to go, I'll skip it and wait for 4ypo kinder the following year. We already know he isn't going to start prep until he is six, so no hurry.
Jess, I hope things aren't too icky for you at the moment. Please talk if you need to-don't feel like you can't share with us in here. :hugs:
Brodie and Tracey, well done to you both on your breastfeeding journeys. It is such an intense time in our lives and when it reaches an end it can feel very strange.
:babydust2::babydust2:
Thanks Sal, sorry my posts probably haven't made much sense of late.
almost 3 weeks ago MIL went into hospital, a week later my grandfather passed away so a few days after that my dad flew over to the UK for his funeral then MIL went home from hospital monday only to readmitted tuesday then they wouldn't keep her at her local hospital so transferred to another hospital. found out last night she has a bug which is very resillant to treatment so we can't go visit. oh and looks like Dh is going to melbourne tomorrow for the day, oh fun fun!
So yeah, I'm ok, just got a lot going on atm, but I've got good things happening too - like Master Williams birth and another friend had a little girl on Monday too so :goodvibes:. Though seeing all these lovely little babes is making me feel rather like a chicken because Sal I'm sure you can hear me clucking from down there:laughing:
While I'm thinking of it, can anyone offer any advice?
Yesterday afternoon when I got to kindy I was asked to have a meeting with the kindy teacher this morning. KD kicked the director yesterday during a tantrum. Her behaviour is a bit difficult at times but usually not too bad, just the occassional meltdown, nothing that 5-10 mins in either her room(if we're home) or her car seat(if we're out) won't fix. I was so embarrassed when they told me. We had a huge talk about it last night and the first thing I made her do this morning was go and appologise. She knew she did the wrong thing and she was sorry for it. But she's been really wired for a few days, just completely restless, demanding, rude. I'm not sure what to do. We've been doing a lot of work with her over the last few weeks on deep breathing when she's feeling overwhelmed and on teaching her to recognise her emotions so we can help her regulate them. I'm also putting her on a bit of an elimination diet to see if we get some results with that. Kindy are going to try out a few different methods over the next week or so and I have another meeting with them next friday afternoon to put some permanent strategies in place. She loves kindy but if she's going to be out of control then we wont be able to keep her there. Any advice or words of wisdom would be really helpful.
Funkychicken
07-08-2009, 12:40
Hey Jess,
I just logged on for a peek and here you are-or it may be were by the time I finish this post in between tending to a demanding 3yo and well, attending to a demanding 3yo!
I think we may be heading closer to dropping the afternoon nap-I have pushed and pushed to keep it but we seem to be only having it 4-5 days of the week. hmm....my afternoons are about to change forever!
Sounds like it has been a rough few weeks Jess. It can be really hard at times-just as you feel you are on top of something, another "thing" crops up, followed by another and another.... I'm sorry to hear about your grandfather. I know I have again visited that world of mortality since we lost my grandpa a few months ago. It's a bit scary at times-the realisation that one generation is moving on and we are going up the chain of command so to speak. Our entire lives were spent being the younger of three generations and now we are moving into the middle territory, with parents above and children below.
Sometimes I think, NO, I don't want to be the one looking after up and down, I want to be the child again!
It is something that we hear very little about when we start having babies. Not only is parenting tough but we also find ourselves dealing with our own parents issues and often having to appease them at the same time as nervously justifying our own actions as parents!
Phew, who knew how confusing it was going to be!
I am reading an interesting book at the moment and have just finished a particular part in which the author talks about how when we relay certain events in our day to friends, we tend to easily find humour in what has happened, yet at the time, it can seem horrible. We stress and worry when we are dealing with demanding children or ginormous mess or broken crockery or whatever but when we mull it over with friends we always seem to see the lighter side of it.
Anyway, the point of the authors discussion is that we can choose to keep that humourous outlook during the horrible events as it really has no impact on the outcome, however we deal with it at the time.
So, now all I have to do is learn how to not 'lose it' when the ****e hits the fan! :goodvibes:
Thanks Sal you really did hit the nail on its head - I am scared of being the 'middle generation'. I have my mothers father left, my mothers step-mother and possibly(sadly mum doesnt know or care... long long story there) my mothers mother. I think that with dhs mum also unwell it just makes me feel that my parents are getting closer to being the oldest in the fam(theyre quite young though!) and i worry most about loosing them as they are a daily part of our lives. Ahh the joys of the circle of life.
brodiebunch
08-08-2009, 18:29
Tried to read back but struggled after a couple of glasses of champagne.Jess- cant help to much with the pre-school tantrum meltdown stuff.Oli has meltdowns all the time it is usually something sensory however.I hope she stops lashing out so she can stay at school.
I took my scooter out today.....check facebook pics.Even braved heavy traffic. I am so proud of myself.
Ooh toddling off to check out those pics:D oh champagne yum! Can't remember the last time I had a glass, have 1 for me(unless you already have:p)
brodiebunch
09-08-2009, 17:36
Jess-I am enjoying that glass now.Have to finish the bottle.It was to celebrate my new wheels.
I think kd is having withdrawal symptoms! Ive cut any artificial colours, flavours and preservatives out of her diet a few days ago(except for the few things daddy didn't check on the weekend). They said today was better at kindy(which just means she wasn't kicked out of the room and sent to the directors office at rest time) but tonight has been an absolute meltdown. I literally couldn't even get into the house before it started and as I was trying to put her back in her car seat so she was somewhere safe while I tried to find my keys the neighbour came over to help but she picked indie up and she just screamed because I wasn't holding her. Kd only calmed down after she wet herself in her car seat. I think she was embarrassed because the neighbours little girl was there. I'm starting to get to my wits end but I know I need to wait a few weeks for the new diet to really show some positive results before I change anything else. I just need to stay strong and we will get there and it will be worth it!
emilysmumma
10-08-2009, 19:58
Jess, besides the cutting back on the food additives etc which have to help, I don't doubt it but I'm finding Emily is acting up since wee William has arrived.
Could it be because of the arrival of Indi and she is having trouble voicing her feelings about it and also not understand what she is feeling and it comes out as something physical?
Emily has started to "pretend" bite me when she has never bitten before even as a baby. She says she is pretending but still manages to get the teeth in. She is also wetting herself at least once a day and now won't be left at preschool.
She said something profound today which has made me amazed at how she has put it all together by herself. She said that it's because she loves me so much that she has been wetting herself and doesn't want to go to preschool anymore and wants to be with me all the time.
So maybe the pecking order has been disrupted a bit for them?
DH had a really bad cold all last week and now Emily has the snots, me partially and the poor wee man also has the sniffles and he is only 2 weeks old, poor fella.
Giving preschool another go tomorrow. We dropped monday's and have gone back to one day. Hopefully I can leave with her happy. I'll give it tomorrow and if it doesn't work then one more try next week and then wait till next term.
I did wonder about that Sarah but we put a lot of effort into spending 1 on 1 time with her, so I didn't think it was that... Though who knows with these kids. Most of her tantrums are at rest time at kindy, it's the 1 time of the day where she has to do what everyone else is doing, no exceptions. She does like being in control so I think that's a part of it too.
Funny that you say that about her emotions, we've been putting a lot of effort in over the past few weeks towards helping her to calm herself with deep breathing and and working in recognising her emotions so that we can help teach her how to regulate them herself. We get her to take a few deep breaths to calm down then tell us how her tummy is feeling inside. We were having some success but today is just so far beyond talking and rationalizing.
I hope the colds don't last too long and tomorrow goes smoothly at preschool. I used to get kd on a swing and happy then say "in 5 more pushes it's time for mummy to go" then we'd count them up to 4 and I'd say "ok last push then mummys going". Worked for us because she knew the time frame, was happy
emilysmumma
10-08-2009, 20:20
Will give the swing trick a try.
Reidymac
11-08-2009, 21:54
Hello lovely people :wave: Thank you for the beautiful birthday wishes. Sorry I didn't get back sooner to say thankyou but it has been a marathon week of events and the residant Top Gear fan got as little download happy last month leaving us with the world most frustratingly slow internet until today.
I had a wonderful birthdy and have been spoilt rotten. Daddy Mac was a particulatrly good boy and gave me lots of fabulouse cake making things, a big push to start getting serious about turning the hobby into a serious job to get out of my current rat race, and 2 whole days of fabulouse relaxing spa treatments ending with a dramatic hair cut, dinner and a movie without the munchkins in tow. I am no longer the tired, frizzy, long haired girl of old but a newly short, straight and sleek haired girl who will alway be frizzy (and tired) on the inside. :D God I used to hate getting up to iron my clothes before work every morning and now I have to get up even earlier to iron what is left of my hair :D
I am so sorry to hear you girls are having troubles with your little (medium) sized people. I genuinely believe that 3 is a tough tough age. For us and for them. They have learned so much in such a short space of time and have this thirst for experiences and independance yet their physical and emotional capacity betrays them. Too excited and too old to sleep yet exhausted by the day, so much to talk about but not a big enough vocabulary to explain it, itching to be independant but desperate to be mums cherished little one. That kind of conflict has got to make you a grumpy and hard to live with. Harder still if they have a new little sibiling that they love but who is competing for their time. Lucky for us Leelum is continuing to be fairly even keeled and very sweet natured. Rowie worships the ground he walks on which helps Liam apreciate his presance, Little G however has been 3 for almost 3years now and she is just getting grumpier by the day:dizzy: cute but viscious that one. Hope things work out at kindy for them both soon.
Sal that sounds like a wonderul book you are reading I would love to know what it's called and who is the author. It s a way of thinking i really prescribe to but I find you need some regular reminders to keep your mind from wandering
Brodie and Chumps, congratulations on hanging up the maternity bras and an amazing achievement feeding those beautiful girls for so long :yelclap: I imagine its a bitter sweet relief to have your bits back and have that tiny bit more freedom. I must admit I am looking forward to joining you in the very near future. It feels like it has been a very long time since I had my body to myslef and didnt have to share. I thought Rowie might give up on me after a recent work trip out west for 3 days but he didn't. maybe soon:fingerscrossed: I hope.....kind of.
I'll have to go see if I can check out these FB pics of the adorable William and brodies new wheels.
Day off work tomorrow and we are going to the Ekka. Woohoo, The fun never ends
brodiebunch
13-08-2009, 18:55
Reidy-your description of 3 year olds hits the mark I think.Poor Master O life can be so magical and yet so frustrating.
Jess and Sarah-:hugs:for your Day care trails and tribulations.Oli found it hard for at least a year after we had Layla.They are slowly turning into mates and the jealous behavior is getting less as the time goes by.
Oli has some big developmental tests on wednesday next week.We have been waiting for ever it seems to get to see this doctor.I am struggling with my depresion ATM.I am going to have to get to the dr's and up my meds.Otherwise we are getting along just fine.Layla keeps us laughing,she was not missing the day personalities were handed out at all.
Thanks for the reassurance Brodie, I guess I was trying to convince myself it had nothing to do with Indie:o. Ahhh denial:p
brodiebunch
14-08-2009, 17:52
Thats alright.Tim told me they ganged up on him today.Lots of fights,naughty stuff.poor daddy:laughing:
You've trained them well haha! We're making good progress with kd by cutting out preservatives, artificial colours and flavours. Dh was so skeptical but I think he's starting to see the difference. She drew the most awesome drawing this week - she drew a family picture and it's actually 4 people and a dog! I'm so proud, I hung it on the bedroom wall so I can look at it when I wake up haha sad but true!
brodiebunch
15-08-2009, 04:08
I have a clock with one of Oli's baby scribbles printd on it.sad but true
Brodie that's a great idea, mind if I "borrow" your idea? This drawing is a bit scrunched up from just randomly being shoved in her kindy bag lol. Would love to do something special with it!
Has anyone approach night toilet training yet? Kd has 2/3 nappies left for overnight and dh isn't keen on buying cloth for her(he's hoping she'll tt quite soon whereas I think we'd actually get quite a few months, if not a year, out of it but hey I'm not up for a debate:p).
I just thought this was too cute. Indies worked out a new way to let me know when shes hungry... she just strokes my boobs and if i dont get the message fast enough then she just starts ripping at my shirt:laughing:. very cute:bee:.
Shes also worked out how to suck her thumb:rolleyes:
Reidymac
17-08-2009, 20:13
Awww, sounds like Indie has it all worked out, Jess. I'm so glad that things are going well with the Bf'ing for you two. I'm sure she has grown heaps since we saw he last.
About the night time toilet training thing, I'm no expert but I'd go with you on letting KD stay in nappies for a while longer. It sounds like she already has a lot going on and having the pressure to TT over night might just upset her little world a little bit more. I'm also sure the last thing a busy mum of 2 needs is more sheet washing and bed making.
There is a whole world of research that suggests that night dryness has a more to do with body chemistry and almost nothing to do with training or emotional readyness. Aparently as the body matures there is a hormone that releases which slows the bladder function during sleep. The result is that the bladder doesn't fill as readily, the urine consentrates more and the need to empty is slowed. When this hormone happens is widely varied. Apparently most children under 5 still urinate frequently during the night and 1 in 10 childern still do well into the primary school years, so KD is very normal for 3.
I am a horrible lazy parent and both of my big childern are night trained purely by defult and genetic stubborness :o Little G went nappy free/ dry night the first week Rowie came home from hospy because her tired and distracted mummy forgot to put her in a night nappy. She was 4+2 months and roused on me in the morning saying I was rude to forget, she might have wet the bed, but she was fed up and now she didn't want them anymore. That was that:o she was dry thereafter. Liam was simmilar, I only started to day train him earlier this year when he initiated intrest but he is an all or nithing boy and was determined to go cold turkey refusing nappies night and day. By sheer fluke he has been great and we have only ever had 1 wet bed during that really cold snap and only because he didn't want to get out of bed after he woke in the morning. I myself have contemplated doing the very same thing when I am tired and the mornings and bathroom tiles are too cold to bare ;) Sadly I share my bed with a big fella who might notice and not appreciate the warm wet wake up call.
Brodie I hope everything goes well for Oli this Wednesday. I'll be sending good wishes your way and hope you get the information you are hoping for. Big hugs for you too. Sorry to hear you are feeling so low.:hugs:
You know how I am always complaining that I have birthed the spawn of satan in the form of little G??? well apparently It's just me who bares the brunt of her wrath. This week she came home with a massive award for outstanding behaviour, and showing great respect for others and her enviornment :eek: She is the 3rd person out of all of the 150 prep kids to have reached the qualifing number of stamps for good behaviour to have recieved this award and got to bring home the class mascott for the night (a koala). It's like living with Jeckle and Hyde. I'm so proud and pleased for her but........ I want to live with the nice one :hissy:
Reidy you have just given me the closing statement to my argument with dh that there is absolutely no point in pushing this night time tt business, so thank you!
Yay to little G. Hopefully she will learn that this behaviour is more than welcome at home too!
Btw, I uploaded new pics of indie on fb last night:D there's 1 of kd too.
emilysmumma
19-08-2009, 08:49
I'm hoping it all goes well today Brodie.
Reidy, that's really interesting on the night time toileting. I'm also of the opinion of in their own time and it also works in my favour of being lazy. That way I seem really clever when they have toilet trained themselves. Emily sometimes has a dry nappy in the morning but not enough to go nappy free just yet. And I wouldn't be pushing it either Jess with Caydence, especially with the new arrival and the behaviour at preschool atm.
We have given up preschool this term, hopefully next term otherwise next year it is. She held onto my neck for dear life last week when I went to leave her there that I seriously could not untangle her. She just wants to be with me and says when she has grown up she will be happier to go. It's such a shame because she absolutley loves it there when she takes her attention off of me.
We here have had a terrible time these pass couple of weeks. 2 weekends ago one of our neighbours who has become a very good friend of ours, his son who is also a good friend was killed in a car crash on his way home from our town. It was and still is such a shock. Sadly our friend, his father went looking for him and found him the next morning under the car as he had been thrown out. He was only 27 and was literally only a minute from home as he lived with his dad. I can't even type this without tears in my eyes. And we and his father have to pass the place where it happened everytime we need to go into town. It's just dreadful.
But on a happier note, William is chubbing up nicely but that's because he is a milk monster. He has the sniffles still which makes it hard to drink but suctioning his little nose out is very traumatic for him.
Brissy girls will you be up for a meet on the 4th Sept?
Sarah I'm so sorry to hear of your neighbour. I can only hope that he wasn't in pain. RIP:angel:
Good to hear William is "chubbing up" so lovely to see those rolly legs hey! Sounds like a good plan with preschool.
Well the :devil: has gone and my child has returned! Since cutting all artificial colours, flavours and preservatives KD is a new person. If she doesn't get her way instead of throwing an "OMG mum is trying to kill me" tantrum, she simply has a little sulk and asks what she can have. Changing her diet really has been life changing for me(I don't think DH really sees the full extent of the change in her... he's a bit oblivious with these things!).
Sarah I'll pencil the 4th in:D, looking forward to meeting Master William. Hopefully we can steal him away from you long enough for a quick cuddle!
Indie is going well too, just a few snuffles atm(as do I) and cut her first tooth yesterday(without too much fuss!). She still isn't rolling yet, but is trying to sit on her own - I'm very proud:)
Glad to hear things went as well as can be expected today Brodie. How long do you need to wait for the results?
I received my first hint of a bf putdown today:( I had mentioned to someone that indie cut a tooth and they just said oooh bet your lining up the bottles now. I just kind of laughed that nervous what are you talking about laugh until the penny dropped. I didn't know what to say. Because i bf quite regularly in the office I feel I'm going to get a lot of negative comments as the time passes. It's probably not the case, I guess I'm just worried about it. I'm happy with bf and will let indie decide when she's ready to stop, I just don't want t get negative comments along the way. I guess I'm just taken aback by the comment, it was so unexpected, more so because the guy who said it has a 3 year old and 18 month old, I guess ijust unrealistically expect other parents to understand(both extended bf and judgement parents already experience). Maybe he just didn't feel it was judgemental? At least I feel in good company in here with so many fellow extended bfers.
Ah yes and as if we haven't already had our fair share of relatives in hospital, last night my other grandfather was taken to hospital or retained fluid, he's dropped 4kg overnight:( when indie and I are over our colds we'll head over to visit him.
brodiebunch
20-08-2009, 04:21
on my way to work but just wanted to let you know that Oli's assessment went as expected.The pead said after all the reports etc and the development test yesterday it seems that yes he has aspergers syndrome.Now we just have to wait for her full report and official diagnosis when all is added up and we can start accessing more for our little man:smiliedance:. he blitzed the memory section of the dev. test and when identifying simple pictures of a dog,ball etc got to the flower and blurted out thats a gerbra at the yellow daisy like flower,when asked are you sure its not a violet he lost the plot and said no its a Grebra.Flowers are a an area of intrest for him.he can identify at lest 70 flowers by name:flowerz:.
:yelclap: Well done Oli, I'm hopeless with flowers! Maybe he'll be a florist? Glad to hear you are getting some answers to get some help:)
I am so lame but I'm so excited, this afternoon for the first time I have successfully bf in the ergo:smiliedance: Welcome back 2 hands!
Indie's sitting:) I'm so proud:goodvibes:. She's not sitting well enough that I'm game to walk away and leave her sitting, but she does a pretty good job and can sit for a few minutes before she topples over. I even managed to nab a photo of it today(and a pic of the tooth) so I'll get them up on FB sometime this week:)
Sarah how's Master William? Is Emily happier now that you've taken her out of preschool for a while?
Mrs Reidy - Has the 'new and improved' Little G decided to stay?
emilysmumma
24-08-2009, 18:26
Hand free bfing Jess. It's great isn't it. May need some hints when I start using the ergo. Atm we have a sling which is great for discreet bfing, especially whilst shopping. I get some interested looks though as it's like a huge handbang I'm carrying at the front of me. And ignore all those uneducated people with any negative comments about bfing. He should of known better that guy.
Indi is growing so quickly, sitting up already. Way to go little one.
Wow, Oli can name that many flowers? Impressive. I did a year of fulltime study of horticulture many moons ago, and am lucky if I can remember the names of a couple of dozen :laughing:
Huge weekend here. Our poor piggy pig was bbq on Saturday night. I have refused to eat him and now every one has pigged out (pun intended) and we are giving a lot of him away. So we had a big pig party with the dutchies from Caloundra and some of my friends and a few locals as well. So Emily had a great time with her cousins but she is still attached to me and won't go anywhere without me.
William is 4 weeks old today and just lovely. It has gone so very fast. Still has the sniffles a bit. He sure doesn't like having any pains in his tummy with wind. It wakes him up poor little mite.
Hot here today, same with Brissy I see. It defintley has a tropical feel about it. Only problem is that we are then inundated with bugs. Already the spiders have come out this week and at night there are bugs aplenty flying around, yeek!
The 4th August is still on for us for a meet up?. We most likely will be up earlier though as now our manager has finally resigned for good. Not happy to say the least. Of all the times to do it with a brand new baby and all. We were suspose to go to Perth next month but it looks like DH will have to go alone now while I train up a new person.
So besides Jess what about you other two ladies?
brodiebunch
26-08-2009, 18:51
Go Indie! Thats great she is sitting,a whole new world of play she can do now.I Loveed BF'ing in the Ergo.Layla still likes to snuggle into my when in the Ergo just minus the boobies.
Sarah-poor piggy.I have never been able to eat an animal if I have met it.guess thats why I would never make a good farmer.
well all is well here.Not much to report.in-laws coming this weekend:hair: but otherwise cant complain.Catch you all later:wave:
Hidee ho!
Reidy - I just had a quick question for you! What was the brand of that dining chair booster seat you had?
All I shall try & get on here later to elaborate on our lives at present........will only take 2 lines :laughing:
Mummaof2
31-08-2009, 06:38
Hi Dec 05 mums,
Is it ok if I join back in the group...i know i came back in May and dissapeared again things have been pretty hectic this year.
Hope you will all be happy to have me back..
emilysmumma
31-08-2009, 10:51
Silly girl, no need to ask Emma. Wondered about your fly by night visit. I hope things have settled down for you.
Quick catch up for you. We have a newbie bub here again in the name of William who is now 5 weeks old today and very lovely :goodvibes:
I wish Tracey that I could put what is going on with us in only 2 lines. I'd be a happy person if that was the case.
Back up in brissy now for an indefinite period. I can say at least till the end of September anyway. Just hired this morning a new office manager and fingerscrossed she will work out. It takes a bit of stress off knowing that one drama has been taken care of, just 99 more to tackle now :laughing:
Anyhoo off to save the world for the day, well my world anyway. :)
Mummaof2
31-08-2009, 12:24
Awww thanks Sarah.
Things have kind of settled down a bit..let me see a bit of a run down;
- I have a new man in my/our lives who is just amazing to me and the kids;
- Still having ongoing health problems;
- Lodged plans to council last week for a 2 storey 4 bedroom duplex im building with a friend for us to live in one side each;
- DD & DS are growing so fast and having some behavioural problems with DS at the moment.
- Work is going well and I have made the decision to cit back to part-time in the office once Coop starts school or I have another bub whichever comes first. With everyone having babies around me at the moment the bub may come first hehe
ANy questions LOL
Hello again!
Welcome back Emma :wave:
We havn't really been up to much of late. Finally all snot free at last. Doubt it will last long (lol).
Bit of a surprise for us today - found out my brother & wife had a baby girl last night 6 weeks premmie, emergency ceaser. Both doing well aparently, but I'd imagine some shock amongst the ranks!
Must say, some fine weather going on up here of late. I hope it is a sign of things to come this summer.
Can't wait to meet the young William :flowerz:
Welcome back Emma.Good on you for deciding to cut back to pt, I couldn't imagine working ft with 2, very exhausting I imagine!
Congratulations aunty Tracey! What a surprise indeed!
Brodie did you survive the ils?:p
Sarah I really hope your new manager works out well and picks things up quickly.
Indies second tooth is close to cutting through. We're very excited about kds museum excursion on Wednesday and the excitement for dh for the week is that I'm attempting to make lamb shanks for dinner haha the simple pleasures!
I also can't believe it's 6:15 and kd is still asleep! Woo hoo, just a shame I'm not asleep too lol!
Mummaof2
01-09-2009, 06:38
Morning girls,
Well today I start my low fibre diet until this evening when I have to stop eating for 2 days...woohoo for me.
I had a really weird dream last night that all my teeth kept crumbling in my mouth and falling out and Mum & Dad took me to a hospital out in the middle of nowhere and the last thing I remember is been given the happy gas. Weird hey...
Hope you all have a good day...:flowerz:
Mummaof2
03-09-2009, 06:46
Morning girls,
Im having my colonoscopy today around lunch time. Hopefully I will get some answers.
Im feeling pretty weak this morning...i guess anyone would after not eating for 2 days and only being able to drink clear fluids and spending most of the night on the toilet. I was almost tempted just to sleep on the toilet.
Hope you all have a good day:flowerz:
I hope today goes quickly and smoothly for you Em.
We had our kindy museum trip yesterday which was nice but exhausting.
better run, not easy typing single handed.
Reidymac
03-09-2009, 13:15
hello folks. Lovely to see lots of chatter going on in here. Sorry I have been home computer AWOL lately. Work is a killer at the minute and I have been making a few more cakes for friends in my not particularly spare time.
I just saw the message about the meet up so I have responded and would love to steal a cuddle from that sweet wee boy but i suspect that I have missed the boat :( If so, hope your having a good day, if not and it's tomorrow........let me know! I have a thing on in the morning but might be able to escape in time for a cuppa.
Chumps, that booster attachment for dining chairs you asked about is called a "handysitt" made by 'Danish by Design'. I still think it's one of our top 2 most handy baby/ child purchases ever. Also, I just wanted to let you know that the Baby and Childrens market is back on again at that big church in Eatons Hill. I think I remember you saying you went to it and loved it last year???? We'll it's on again this Saturday and there is advertising everywhere so it looks like it could be a big one.
Jess you might be interested too. it's just up the road and could hold some great bargains.
just for a giggle I am adding a pic of the cake I just made for a pink themed hen's night on the weekend. A boy jumping out of the main cake and 40 cupcakes, all with white chocolate tiaras or sugar paste ball and chains. Everything except the cake board was eadible and hand made. He's a bit of an ugly bugger though but let's just say it wasn't his head they were interested in ;)
Cake (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3494/3869966043_caedd31c65.jpg)
Cake (http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2463/3870743138_96de5c99ca.jpg)
ball and chains (http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2496/3869957595_6f753a9c7d.jpg)
tiaras (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3498/3869954647_d95032ec0d.jpg)
Wow Reidy they're marvellous! You have such an amazing talent!
Thanks for reminding me about the markets, I saw it advertised earlier this week but had forgotten:o
Mummaof2
03-09-2009, 18:27
Reidy the cakes are amazing. I showed DP and he said they were excellent too.
I ended up having both a colonoscopy and endoscopy today and the diagnosis is i have Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS). The thing is I know nothing about it as the dr had to see to other patients and told me to make an appointment to see him in his office. So really im none the wiser.
DP was great today he got the kids ready for school and dropped them off, cleaned the house, did the washing and cleaned my car inside and out before taking me to the clinic. I never thought I would find a man so loving, caring and helpful as he is.:valentine:
Reidymac
04-09-2009, 11:36
Thanks Jess and Emma. It's a bit dodgy but I didn't know what to make until the last minute. I have to say ......when looking for inspiration for hens night cakes DO NOT GOOGLE :eek::doh::dizzy: I have seen things......so many things a delicate little wall flower like myself should never have seen :laughing:
Emma while IBS is no fun at least now you have a diagnosis and can ge the infomation and treatments that you need. Poor old Brooke has been struggeling for years with what they think could be IBS, Chrones or maybe something else but last I heard they still wern't sure. I have read lots about IBS and there are lots of potenial treatments for some relief of symptoms. Hope yu are feeling better and get it managed soon.
Jess I hope you enjoy the markets if you do go. Thank you for the call yesterday by the way. I really apreciated it. I am sorry I somehow missed you both this morning but the boys and I enjoyed a quiet cuppa befor we headed on to work. talk to you again soon:goodvibes:
Mummaof2
05-09-2009, 07:02
Reidy - Does Brooke still chat on here or do you keep in touch via email???
I went to the Health Food Store yesterday after some fellow bub hubbers gave the name of some remedies to take for IBS and the lady there was very helpful.
So im now taking Chlorophyl, IBS Support tablets and Slippery Elm. Hopefully these will give me some relief until i go back and see the doctor.
My throat is still pretty store from the endoscopy and somehow Ive ended up with a cold in the last 24hrs as well.
Hope you all have a wonderful weekend. Im off to yum cha and to the movies to see My Sisters Keeper today.
:flowerz::flowerz::flowerz:
Emma While IBS isn't great, it's a good starting point and at least you can work on it now. You may want to look into a gluten free diet too, I've heard it helps with IBS.
Thanks for the warning Reidy, I won't google;). I didn't end up making the markets today, early morning was the best time for Grandad for us to go up for a visit(KD missed out yesterday because I didn't want to put extra stress on him when I wasn't 100% sure how he was). He's ok, hoping to go home monday, but he's pretending to be a lot better than he actually is so it's hard to know just how bad he is.
Well I was asking a few weeks ago about night training. Well looks like KD is there:D DH and I have been debating for a week or more about if her pull ups were dry in the mornings or not, so last night I decided to put knickers under her pull ups and they were dry this morning. I told her if she can stay dry for a week then she can ditch the pull ups. It seems to have happened in conjunction with changing her diet too.
Well the mini alarm clock is awake again(think I got 20 mins out of her that time:goodvibes:).
Mummaof2
06-09-2009, 07:14
Morning girls hope your all having a great weekend and enjoying the sun.
HAPPY FATHER's DAY to your respective partners.
Jess: Im definately going on a gluten free diet. The last dr i saw told me I just had a gluten intolerance so i started cutting gluten out but i was still having problems thats why i sought a 3rd opinion.
I bought the book 4 Ingredients Gluten Free so will be buying all the ingredients to make the recipes this week.
Welcome back Emma
On the gluten free stuff, my MIL was recently diagnosed with Caeliacs (sp) disease & I got a lot of great info from our young Lis who sometimes frequents this thread, but havn't seen her here for a while. She really is a little knowledge box & she filled a lot of gaps for my MIL whom seems forever grateful. So Lis - since I don't seem to ever catch you, I thank you again for your great help.
Well, would have loved to catch up with you Brissy ladies this week, but as I have already mentioned to Jess, I have an u'sound booked for Thursday which I don't really want to change. About 6 weeks ago I had a sudden large sore lump appear on my thyroid. Had an u'sound then & it appeared to be a haemorage into a thyroid cyst, which sounds bad, and yes I thought I was dying....and not going to see the kids grow up etc, but it's not too significant. I just have a follow up u'sound to see if there are any changes etc.
Also to add to this crazy week of DH being away & me getting ready for our holiday to see the gorgeous whales & then onto Barra fishing, Chumps has decided to develop the snots :hissy: which I have to ask.....is it just us or does everyone else seem to have this constant cycle of snots / coughs etc going on this year? Whenever I make plans to catch up with anyone, more often than not, I end up cancelling because one of mine are snotty AGAIN. I feel like my friends will be thinking I am making it up to avoid catching up with them. I am so over the snotty shyte:( so anyway Miss Sarah, I'm thinking that will cross out any plans we may have had for a quick pop in some time this week. Aaahhhhh life with kids, who would have thunk it? :rolleyes:
Sorry, havn't been ignoring any q's like the night training one, just havn't had a long enough break to think & type!!! Also been too busy playing games on facebook :o
We never had to worry about that with Chumps. As soon as he was day trained, he never needed a night nappy either. For once something worked out a treat for us!!! And in fact he has actually woken up twice in the middle of the night since he has been trained and said he needed to do a wee. So think he sorted that one out all on his own.
Reidy, the markets I go to are over here at Middle Park, but they are not very big or well advertised. Funnily enough, it was on the same day as the one over your way! So the reminder for the wrong markets was still useful!!!! Once again I got some great bargains, and got a heap of stuff for a friend of mine who has a 3yr old girl, so she then passes stuff along to me, so was a double winner!! Didn't get a lot for the boy though this time.....mind you, he is still mostly getting around in stuff he has been in for the past 2 years (my small child :o)
So yes Dh away this week, then we are on holidays for a week, then when we return, Dh is off away working again on & off throughout the month of october, so shall be a long lonely month I imagine.
Anyways, better be off, got the washing to hang :thumbsup:
brodiebunch
08-09-2009, 07:01
OMG so much to read back on.I will be back later as i have 2 bubs underfoot and carter is getting ready for a nap.I was just dropping by to let you know that I have been busy and have not forgotten you all.I am getting back on top with the higher dose of meds and have just had a nice weekend away in canberra with he kids.will catch up later:hugs:
Emma - Funny you mention the 4 ingredients gluten free as I only saw that today, I didn't even know it existed!
Tracey - I hope the US goes well, I'll have a piece of cake for you... well actually I'll just blame the 2nd piece on you:p
Brodie - ohhh a weekend away in Canberra sounds lovely. Good to hear you're getting on top of things, life is a rollercoaster but sometimes it'd be nice to be able to step back and just admire the rollercoaster rather than ride it:)
Well I'm shattered tonight, I'd be lucky if I've had 30mins of sleep since 3am but I still have to sit around til 9:30 before heading out and picking DH up from the airport, I'm tempted to just say catch a cab, but I know I'd be in tears if he ever said that to me:o
Not sure what's going on with Grandad yet, but he was supposed to come home yesterday but he's still in tonight:confused:. Hopefully I'll be able to get up there and see him tomorrow so I'll know a bit more.
Anyway, off to troll around and spread my ramblings in a few other threads:D
emilysmumma
09-09-2009, 09:00
Good morning all
Just a quick one. I hope all the daddies had a lovely father's day.
Looking forward to the catch up tomorrow brissy girls. A shame Tracey you won't be able to make it.
We have been busy here as per usual. Dh flew to Perth yesterday for as maybe as long as a month :crying: I got mum to take him to the airport as I just couldn't do it. As it was Emily ran sobbing into her room after she waved goodbye. She has never cried like that. And all she says is I miss Daddy and why did he have to go. The plan was for all of us to go but since we are training up a new manager I have to stay for that.
Enough boohooing from me. Wee William is good. Suffering from a bit of colic but is starting to get his night and days sorted out. He has changed over to doing his long bouts of sleep in the evenings/night so is only waking twice instead of 4 times like he was.
Going out to the library so see you guys tomorrow.
brodiebunch
11-09-2009, 10:47
Layla is going to be doing an add for the cotton industry board.She will be wearing a cotton terry fold and a t-shirt saying I love cottons small footprint.Very exciting:smiliedance:
Reidymac
11-09-2009, 14:57
HUGELY BIG EXCITING WARM WISHES FOR
A VERY
VERRY
VERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRY
HAPPY BIRTHDAY
TO OUR LOVLEY JESS
Hope you have a great day and a wonderful year ahead Jess.:flowerz::cloud9:
Also a big thank you to Jess and Sarah for a lovely day our yesterday. It was great to see you both and hopefully we can have a longer catch up with you next time Jess. That little man William was even more beautiful and special than I could have imagined.:bee: so cute and snoozy in his little coocoon:sleeping: Congratulations again to you and your beautiful little family Sarah. Hopefully we can catch up again before you leave town. Please call if you need anything or want to get out for a coffee and a play.
Brodie, Congratulations to Layla and bless her little cotton socks ;)
Absolutley massive weekend planned, can't wait until daddy mac gets haome so the fun can begin. Hope you all have a lovely weekend too.
Thanks Reidy, it was actually a pretty full on day yesterday with a terrible ending and a rough nights sleep to boot, but I won't dwell on it because the year to come is going to be fantastic and I'm heading out shopping with my mum today, so that should be good too:)
Sarah and Reidy - Thanks for thursday, woo hoo for me I had coffee AND cheesecake AND got to sit AND got to chat with some wonderful women:goodvibes:. Will definately have to do that again soon!
Oh well, best get to it, I have 4 loads of washing to do before I head out, I have no idea where I'm going to find the time to get them all done, so perhaps I just need to leave them to DH:D
brodiebunch
13-09-2009, 07:12
A very late Happy birthday jess:party:
We have Layla's shoot today.She will be on the cover of all the magazines that the cotton industry give to farmers,international companies etc.
brodiebunch
13-09-2009, 07:14
Just wondering if we are still considering a dec b'day up north for all the kids?Still keen to come up just need to start getting organised.
emilysmumma
13-09-2009, 19:59
Were we planning something? Great, just blame my baby brain and excess amounts of partying in my teenage years for my exceedingly bad memory.
Are you thinking about coming up Brodie, if so when?
Jess why didn't you say anything about your b'day the other day. Anyhoo happybirthday to you.
Brodie you have to show us Layla as covergirl when it comes out.
Tracey how did the u/s go? It must of been scary when you initially found out. I hope your enjoying your holiday, snots and all, lol.
Emma I hope you've got some answers etc for your diagnosis. I don't know anything about IBS so am no great help here.
Arrggh, I'm a bridesmaid again and I've just spent all day looking for a dress with the bride. Thankfully not till febuary. As the MOH (matron of honour) couldn't come this weekend even though she had organised the weekend as she was coming, I have to go and do it all again in a fortnight's time. Found 3 dresses as possibles and I'm exhausted now after trying on at least 15 others.
Time to ring DH for my goodnight call. :valentine:
Mummaof2
14-09-2009, 20:12
Hey gals,
Well I can't get in to see the specialist about my IBS until the 6th Oct/ So im just slowly crossing out foods that upset me or give me an attack and have started taking a few things from the health food store which are helping.
Brodie - Can't wait to see Layla's covergirl ad
Jess - happybirthday Happy Belated Birthday Wishes
I've just spent the evening at the medical centre as Steph's tv (a 60cm) fell on her head somehow and split her head open. She ended up with 5 stitches in her head and a very swollen & bruised right side of her face. So am now monitoring her to make sure she has no concussion signs. The tv is bloody heavy cause I only moved it the other day.
:eek: Emma I hope Steph's ok!
Sarah hows Emily holding up with DH away?
Brodie how exciting!
same ol' same ol' here, too much to do and no time to do it in:rolleyes:
Mummaof2
16-09-2009, 16:18
Jess - Steph is ok....she had more bruising this morning but seems to have settled down this afternoon.
She said she cant wait to tell her friends what happened and that she was very brave when she got the stitches.
Looks like I will be selling my block of land and cutting my losses. The valuation from the bank came in $40k short on the construction side. We disputed the val and they did a new one which came in $20k short.
We have already applied for the maximum we can borrow from the bank so can't borrow the extra money. So we are pretty much in between a rock and a hard place.
The girl I am building with wants to apply for a personal loan for the extra money but my gut feeling is saying No. My heart just isnt in it anymore and I've spent the last 12 mths stressing over the whole process and is probably the cause of me being sick ongoing for the last 12 months.
Im really just pi55ed off with the bank...seriously how could the valuation be $20-$40k less then what it will cost us to build. Im over the whole thing.
Sorry for the rant...
Em you can always build at a later date, go with your gut instinct.
Well I've said it before and it's just been confirmed again, when it rains it pours! Now mil got a call tonight confirming that she has a grade 2 skin cancer on her arm which needs to be removed. Apparently she needs a general anesthetic for it which I would presume involves some kind of hospital time, considering her other current health issues. I guess the bright side is that now we will all be more vigilant looking for spots on her now.
Well it's almost the end of yet another absolutely full on week. My folks wanted to take kd away for the weekend but I wasn't keen, but I do feel a bit bad because I know she'd love to go. But we don't get to spend a lot of quality time together during the week so our weekends are so important for us as a family.
Well my brain has stopped functioning for the day so I'd better leave it at that.
Oh Brodie yes it'd be great to have a brissy b'day bash, I'm happy to volunteer my house, early dec sometime or even late nov before the onslaught o the silly season? A tues or wednesday work best for me but whatever suits everyone else.
Mummaof2
18-09-2009, 14:53
Jess - we could build at a later date but the longer we leave it the less of the increased First Home Owners Grant we receive which means more money we have to come up with.
So my gut feeling is to sell and cut my losses..but the hard part is telling my friend that that is want i want to do
Sorry, don't mean to crash the conversation, but just had a question.
Does anyone know, or has anyone used it.. if you can use one of those toddler booster seats (not the chair style - just the height raiser one, as though sitting on a telephone book :laughing:) with the H harness, with a lap/shoulder sash style seat belt?
I've had a look on the s & s sight, and it seems those seats are to be used either with 'just the lap/shoulder sash style belt', or combined with the H harness and a 'lap only belt'.
Reason I ask, is my friend from Tassie is coming to visit, and her little boy is big enough (weight wise) to sit on one of those booster seats, but I would feel more comfortable also with the H harness, however the middle seat belt in the back set of our car is a shoulder sash/lap belt.
Hope this is clear enough to get some sort of response!!!!!!!!!!!
Tracey if you get a "gate clip" it turns a lap/sash into a lap only belt so you can use it with a H harness. If you have trouble finding one let me know I think I have a spare one floating around in my toolbox, um oh I mean my handbag.
I just knew one of you guys would have an answer :D Thanks so much Jess, I will look into it!
Also Jess can you text me your mobile number - I just realised I don't have it since my phone dramas.
Just picked one up on ebay ;-) thanks again Jess
Glad I could help:)
I'm getting a new phone tomorrow:smiliedance::smiliedance:. Well actually DH is getting a new phone and I didn't see the point in getting 2 new phones so I'm getting his "old" iphone... barely had it 10 months, spoilt man he is:p
Next question - whats the difference between the standard harness & the protecta harness? Is it just the easy access to the adjustable strap bit?
Mummaof2
25-09-2009, 06:31
GOOD morning ladies,
Well I did a pg test this morning as I have been feeling very emotional, cranky, tired, forgetting things and been a bit ditsy...strange symptoms to do a test but anyway I got a faint :bfp:
I used the Crystal Clear test...has anyone used this test before???
Chumps the protecta harness will feed through the current strap slots in your maxi rider but the H harness will need to sit over the top of the seat, does that make sense?
Em any news on your bt results?
Mummaof2
26-09-2009, 15:47
Em any news on your bt results?
Jess: No news yet did another test this morning which had an even fainter line. It's driving me crazy
I had a faint line with indie too, got it on a Sunday, then left things a few days and it got stronger. Try to do something that will distract you for the rest of the weekend, movies, visiting friends etc. I figured that if I was letting myself get impatient over a few days how on earth did I expect to last another 36 weeks of pregnancy impatiently;) just helped me chill out a bit:)
Seems a bit ghostly in here of late, so thought I'd better post something!
Thanks Jess & Reidy (for your pm) in regards to the harness. I ended up getting the protecta. My friend may end up buying it anyway, but if not , then seems I will have a use for it some day anyway! Or maybe not if chumps doesn't grow too much :rolleyes: Still my little squirt he is!!!
Well nothing going on here...Dh is away for a while, back for a weekend somewhere in the middle, then gone again for the rest of october). We are going ok, just I have a very short temper where the two are involved at the moment. He wants all she's got, and vise versa & it's quite driving me nuts:D Not to mention I am missing my sanity 'work' days a few times this month....another downside of having no family around to dump the kids at!!!! It's going to be a long month.
I am so very excited about my friend coming up from Tassie though. She is the one who when she left a few years ago, I said it felt like a breakup :o. I've only seem her once since then, so I am really looking forward to it.
I can't believe our babies are going to be four soon :eek:. Where has that time gone? They are such independant strong minded people now.
Our trip away was fantastic, and saw a lot of great whale activity. Except the day fo us going out on the boat, chumps woke up so grumpy & I thought he was just tired, but when I was brushing his teeth, he cried to open his mouth it hurt so much. The dilema of a- getting on the boat to see the whales....or b- seeking prompt medical attention......I chose the boat option :o, but did the doctors after, and he had an ear infection. Got missy checked too as she had also been snotty on & off for a few weeks again. She also had one brewing, so did the drugs grab & they started to improve by the next morning, so all was ok after that!
Well Tracey we can be loners together!
Dh has a work trip tomorrow for 2 days but we're tagging along, then he's working all weekend then off interstate next week then again at the end of the following week. I can't wait for October to be over!
Kd is driving me up the wall a bit. Last night I was ready to pick up the phone and call my parents to come and take her for the night as dh was still out at work quite late. Thankfully dh is home tonight, I couldn't handle last nights tantrum again tonight.
Mummaof2
08-10-2009, 06:42
Hello my lovely ladies,
Hope everyone is well.
Jess - I still don't know whats going on. I am now 4 days late and HPG have been negative. If AF doesnt come by tomorrow then I will go back to the the doctors for a BT.
emilysmumma
08-10-2009, 08:39
I don't like being a loner. 3 weeks straight was terrible. So I'm feeling for both of you girls.
In the end I wasn't missing him just for himself but for the fact he is an extra pair of hands and gives me some time out. Going to the loo with a baby on your lap and a 3 y.o in your ear isn't what I'd call privacy.
This morning I got to sleep in till 8am and it was bliss. Better than the other morning when he woke me up because he missed me. He was very sternly told never to do that again since I'd been up twice to feed bubba during that night.
Nothing comes between you and your whales Tracey :laughing: Glad all is better though. I remember when your friend left. How long is she up for? Just a visit or for good?
Emma, keep us up to date with any results.
Jess, how has the night training going? Any problems or still doing well? We are still getting either really wet or completley dry nappies at night. So am still going to leave it for a bit longer.
We are back down at the farm but will be heading back up to brissy early next week. Our new manager has spent 2 weeks with the old manager in training then 2 weeks with me, so she is on her own this week and doing really well thank goodness. But it will be wise to go up and check every few weeks until she is more settled in.
Sorry for the bit of the ramble but it's been the first time I've had a chance to breathe let alone post.
Hope all is well in everyone's world. BTW, wee William is not so wee anymore. Already in 00 sizes and has been for a few weeks. Also he is a smiley and aware lad and has the loveliest little coo as a laugh. Smitten :bee:
And Emily is well and always busy, busy playing and is a doll.
I'm going to be an Aunty!!!
Mummaof2
09-10-2009, 06:09
Congrats Jess.
Well AF arrived Wednesday afternoon for about 10mins and then again yesterday morning for about 10mins:hair:
I am going to go see my doctor next week and see if she thinks i should give the pill a break for a while as AF hasn't normal for months. Cycle has been regular its just the days im meant to have AF hasn't been and its driving me bonkers.
I'd get it checked Em, especially as you've had irregularities before.
Well I'm sick:( Mostly a head cold, want to crawl into bed and sleep but dh is away:hair:. So panadol and camomile tea will be my friends this week and :fingerscrossed: I get better soon.
Sarah, we're completely night trained now. Not sure what I did but it's like Reidy said, it just clicked and she started being dry:thumbsup:. I highly recommend the "lazy parent" approach to TT'ing, these kids are smart little chooks:D.
Ah got to run, despite being sick I'm still in the office with DH away:thumbsdown:
Mummaof2
12-10-2009, 16:53
Hello ladies,
Hope everyone and their families are well.
Jess sorry to hear you are sick. I feel like I have been sick non-stop all year. I went to the doctors on friday as my glands were very swollen and i could barely talk or swallow and turns out I now have glandular fever...just what I need.
I spoke to the dr about my AF and she said that because I have been sick so much this year it could be throwing my whole body out of whack. She also said it could just be the pill but the only way to find out if its the pill is to stop taking it. It was a bit hard to discuss it with DP on over the weekend while the kids around so we will sit down and talk about whether I should have a break from the pill or not tonight. I guess it comes down to whether or not we want to start using other forms of contraception or use the pull out method (sorry TMI) and take the risk that I may fall pregnant.
I have to go take an important call but will be back later with more updates xx
I think a few people have had a big year em, I know I have... C/sec, 4 teeth out in 3 appointments, colds, tonsilitus, asthma attacks and now I have swine flu.
Hopefully your health(and mine) will start improving as the weather improves(((hugs))).
Mummaof2
13-10-2009, 16:54
Oh Jess you poor thing.
The doctor confirmed today that I do have glandular fever. I broke down in her office cause im just so tired and so over being sick all the time. She gave me a dr's certificate to have today and tomorrow off but I'm putting my foot down with myself and taking the rest of the week off work. I don't care what my boss says my health is more important then my job and I can't look after Steph & Coop if I keep pushing myself into the ground.
Good on you Em for putting your foot down(even if it's just with yourself). I'm trying to rest as much as I can, but with 2 littlies, our own company and DH away, I'm not having much success.
Reidymac
13-10-2009, 23:54
Hello girly swatts :wave: Gosh I have missed you lot. Sorry I havn’t called in for so long. Life is kind of crazy here. As a matter of fact I have only just gotten home from a 14 hour work day and I am trying to have a little computer wind down to turn off my brain and hopefully achieve some sleep.
I am sorry to hear you have been unwell Jess and Em. I hope you are feeling much better soon. I sympathise with the constantly sick feeling. For me it's been a year of ongoing bouts of bronchitis and liver and kidney problems. I'm so tired it's not funny.
Congratulations on the toilet training achievements for KD and Emily. I am a big advocate for the lazy parent way. It's is defiantly a winner. We have reached the magnificent next stage........
BOYS CAN STAND ANNNNNNNND WEE :smiliedance: Again I take no credit for this development. I noticed when we go to parents rooms that Liam was more likely to stand than to sit lately. One day I asked him “who taught you to do that mate??†He just looked at me with a complete dead pan face and said "no one, I'm a boy, it's what we do. That’s why I have this handle" :laughing: Many years ago I had read about parents putting ping pong balls and painting targets in the toilet or taking other painstaking lengths to teach their boys to aim, all I had to do was sit back and let him mimick other boys who have the handle.
Sarah I am so glad you got your boy back and that the new office manager is working out well. Tracey and jess I hope you get your boys back soon and get some much deserved time out.
Not too much excitement here. Lil G just turned 6 and has finally passed the horrid 3's. We gave her a 6month pass to ballet lessons for her birthday and she is sooooo excited. All of the teachers keep telling her what a tall elegant creature she is and how she has a natural grace and a long ballet dancers neck (what ever the hell that is:rolleyes:). She just loves it now it's working for her. She had been struggling a bit this year with being self conscious of her height. Being around 150 other prep students made her realise that she was a bit unusual for her age and she hates being taller than all the boys.
I have taken on running another big program at work and finally gave in to increasing my hours. It has just become impossible to run both programs and manage so many staff in just 3 days. So now i am essentially full time but 3 days in the office and another 2 day's worth of hours whenever i damn well feel like it (wee small hours of the night usually):rolleyes: It's complete madness.
Rowie and I are is the last stages of Bfing I think. We are in the 'don't offer, don’t refuse stage'. He also moved out of our room last weekend and it feels very strange. In the past the bed move and BFing wind down has been directly related to the impending birth of the next child so this time feels very different and weird. I'm not quite sure how I am feeling about the whole thing but the dominant feeling most days is tiredness. How do you stop being meels on heels after 6 straight years??
Well, judging by this massive essay it's becoming obvious I am not quite out or report writing mode and the wind down is not working. I better stop rambeling and go wind down some other way. ;) Sorry for the long boring ramble. Many hugs all aroung and I'll talk to you again soon
Mummaof2
15-10-2009, 19:10
Well i took the rest of the week off work to rest and just ducked down the road today to get some milk and on the way home was turning into my street and had a car accident so spent the afternoon at the hospital...I swear I have either had a black cat walk across my path this year or as my mum said killed a chinaman (apparently that brings bad luck)
((hugs)) em I hope you're ok! Probably the last thing on your mind but don't forget to get coops car seat replaced, insurance will cover it.
Reidy your little family always makes me smile. Leelum is so funny... A handle who else would have though of it like that haha. How did Rowie go with the move? Is he in a big boy room of his own or sharing with L or G? How grown up of him. I can see miss G as a ballerina! She's certainly got that grace and poise about her. We'll have to watch this space for all the exciting costumes that will ensue!
Good news is I am starting to feel better:) but the bad news is it looks like I passed it on to my mum:( she's taken a few days off work to see how she goes, I think she's hoping she is just run down, but from how she described it to me, sounds like it'll really hit her tomorrow and she'll be sick as a dog in bed:(
dh is also now home for a few days which is great but the poor bugger has been working so much lately that all he really wants to do is rest and sleep but he's ended up looking after us 3 girls and the office single handed. Thank goodness the weekend is only a day away!
Mummaof2
16-10-2009, 12:49
Thanks for the hugs Jess.....Coop's seat wasn't in the car as he has been away for the week at his dads.
Gald to hear you are feeling better.
How are you feeling today Em? I remember I felt a lot more sore a few days after it happened. Hope you're not in too much pain
Mummaof2
18-10-2009, 19:20
Hi Jess I'm starting to feel better today but was in alot of pain last night
emilysmumma
19-10-2009, 19:24
Just a quickie. Nice to see you in here Reidy. I can just picture Miss G as a ballerina.
I hope your feeling better Emma after the accident.
Just had a flying visit up to Brissy to check out how our new manager is going and to do the GST for the quarter. Thankfully our new lady is very good and maybe even though the timing sucked hugely, our last lady did us a favour by leaving.
Bubba is a chubba and has doubled his birth weight already at 12 weeks. He is a hefty 8kg and won't be in the 6 month old clothes for much longer.
DH and mine 9th wedding anniversary tomorrow. :valentine: Nothing planned for the day but we are organising a short caravan trip down to Port Macquarie and South West Rocks for later in the week for a week's break.
Better go and get some :sleeping: since we here in nsw are an hour ahead.
catch up again soon xxxxx
Wow Sarah, I weighed indie this morning at 6.95kgs, your milk must taste better than mine lol go William!
That's great that your new manager is working out so well, I'll have to get some staff hiring tips off you!
Em glad you're starting to feel a bit better.
Mummaof2
20-10-2009, 05:34
:wave:everyone just popping in for a quick hello
I should have my car back by then end of next week hopefully.
Jess did it take you a while to get back in and drive a car again after your accident. DP was going to drop his car at my work yesterday arvo so that I could drive it home but I told him not to cause I wasn't ready to drive again just yet.
Well I emailed my boss yesterday about whether or not I can cut my hours back. I told him that I need to get my health back on track and thats not going to happen while I am working full time and I also what to be more of a mum and be home with my kids more.
Em I had a lot of people push me to drive again that very afternoon, which I did, but it took me a long time to be comfortable driving with KD in the car and 3 1/2 years later and I'm not yet comfortable driving with 2 kids in the car. I mean I do it almos daily, but I'm not yet comfortable with it and many times I have ended up pulled over on the side of the road shaking and/or crying because other peoples bad driving has become too close for comfort:(
I suggest getting behind the wheel sooner rather than later, but start small like up and down your parents driveway(they still live on a few acres right?), and build it up from there as you feel comfortable.
I hope your boss grants your reduced hours. It might be worth pointing out how many sick days you're having and that by reducing your hours, you're hoping to eliminate being sick and having that time off.
Mummaof2
21-10-2009, 07:01
Jess - I hope he grants them to me too otherwise I will have to start looking for a part time job elsewhere. He hasn't replied back yet and I sent him another email yesterday afternoon to make sure he got my first cause our email has been playing up at work this week but still no response.
I have a gut feeling though that I will have to look for a part-time job elsewhere which is fine because im not good a mortgage brokering anyway and am always stressed about whether or not im going to win the client.
So all in all it could work out to be a blessing in disguise.
I have also found a great work from home business that you can do part time or full time which I am going to buy into I just have to save the money first. Its only $500 which I had saved but now have to use for excess on my car.
I have now had a falling out with the girl I was going to be building with whom I also work with. Another one of her friends is buying out my share of the land but she expects me to pay for their legal fees, for her to discharge her loan, for them to register the land in their names and she also is expecting me to pay her $3500 as its after the 30th Sept so she misses out on $7000 of the first home owners grant/boost. She has buckleys.
It does sound like a blessing in disguise, all that stress wouldn't be helping your health and after the falling out with the other girl it'd be quite awkward too.
Mummaof2
23-10-2009, 10:37
I had the meeting with my employer this morning and he said that my job doesn't allow for me to cut my hours back to part time. He said I understand your health problems and I feel we have been more then accomodating with allowing you to have time off when you are sick...well excuse me but I am entitled to 10 days sick pay a year which I have only just used up after having 4 days off last week.
He said so you need to decide if you are going to stay on full time or not. So I told him due to my health situation and the fact that I don't want to get back to the point I was at last week where I felt my body was going to shut down at any moment then I will need to hand in my notice. And he said I will find out if its 2 or 4 weeks you need to give.
So now Im off to write my resignation
That sucks Em. I hope you can find a more accomodating employer!
Kd helped me make the yummiest white choc chip cookies today! She loves cooking. She's already cooked 2 BBQ dinners by herself, we've just supervised. She does a better job than dh lol! Today she asked me for "a little BBQ" for Christmas(along with a 2 seater electric car) hmmm I think she thinks we're magical and can make anything she wants happen!
Has anyone had any ideas of what you're getting your dec 05 angels for birthdays and Christmas this year? I'm quite stumped but at the same time there's lots I want to get her(if I was made of money lol). I have no idea what to get indie either because kd was spooky at indies age so indies inherited loads of toys, books and puzzles, but I feel I'm shafting her if I don't get her something decent.
Ok if they're this bad at 3 and it gets worse at 4, I'm moving out and I'll return when the attitude is gone. We're on eggshells for the morning, I wrong move and her birthday party invitations are being returned:hair: I swear, she's driving me up the wall and over the other side. We have a personality clash at the best of times then add in my sleep dep, her getting up early, turning into a 4yo monster and dh being away and you end up with a right mess. I just want my happy polite non demanding little girl back:(
emilysmumma
31-10-2009, 19:44
OMG you took the words right out of my screaming mouth. I've been meaning to come on here and ask that exact question. What is it with this age? Man talk about pushing you to your limits and sometimes over them as well.
I've been thinking maybe it's me, not Emily. Now that William is here and I'm busy with him I've found that I get irriatated with her (not openly though) for wanting me to do what I usually do with her.
But far out the demands of 'NOW' just spin me out. And the freak outs from her when she doesn't get what she wants, boy oh boy.
So yes, I have been thinking what the hell is it going to be like when she is 4.
She is also going through seperation anxiety to the max as well. To the point when she is in the car she screams and cries when I get out to open the gate even though she can see me all the time and takes less than 30 seconds. It does have the added benefit though that if William is crying in his car seat he is so gobsmacked he shuts up and looks at her with fasinaction.
Anyhoo, on the present front that you asked Jess. We have had a request for rollerskates for her b'day as she knows that's earlier than xmas. Also DH wants to get her an electric car as well but I'm more inclined to get the pink wheelbarrow set at Aldi's this week with it's spade and rake etc.
Classic example of our little 'Emo' that DH and I have started to secretly call our darling little DD. That's because she can have 5 different emotions present one after the other all in the space of a couple of sentances.
I just did a toilet run with her where along the way she told me 'not to talk to her anymore' and also that 'i don't want you as a mummy'. What the??
When I explained that it was not a nice joke and what that would really mean, no cuddles and love, reading her stories at night and other meaningful stuff mums do, she promptly burst into tears on the toilet.
Where do they get that kind of attitude? I know they learn from us but seriously how does stuff like that come about?
Enough rambling from me for now. We just spent a week away in the caravan and was rained in for 3 days which wasn't too much fun but did end up spending the rest of the days at the beach.
I hope everyone is having a nice weekend.
brodiebunch
03-11-2009, 08:02
;):wave:
:laughing: You have a way with words Brodie:p Are you all settled in to your new place?
Tell me about it Sarah! KD has stated that she wants a 2 seater electric car for christmas... it's $500:eek:. No way sweetheart!
The attitude is what gets me too. If it was just her personality then well I'd just have to adjust, but it shirts me to tears that she is sooooooo well behaved for DH, listens, helps, polite blah blah blah, but for me it's, nope I don't want to do that, she spat toothpaste all over the bathroom the other day within 30 seconds of DH leaving the bathroom:hair:.
It's actually causing me that much stress(well, it's not the icing on the cake, there are a lot of contributing factors), that Indie and I left for the weekend. We're back atm, but I don't know for how long. I've said I'll work in the business for another 2 weeks, long enough to tidy up any loose ends, get things in order to hand them over to DH and he can find someone else. I'll see how I feel after 2 weeks wether dropping just that is going to be enough for me to wind down and destress a bit or if Indie and I take off for a couple of weeks. Time will tell.
In conjunction with everything that's happened I've started on anti depressants, hoping that might help take the edge off so that I can work on destressing and not being an angry mummy anymore. I feel bad because I just feel like there is so much that I have to do that every single second of the day is precious and when KD is there messing around I just get so frustrated and yell at her to just stop messing around and do whatever I've asked her to do. I feel awful about that, I am working hard on changing.
Anyway, I'm so tired. I've barely slept in about 3 or 4 nights, Indie's cut 5 teeth fairly ok but #6 is causing her so much grief, she finally fell asleep about 3 today, for the first time since 5am, and getting up at 5 was after 4 night feeds too:( Poor munchkin. She's much better during the day though, than at night, and I put that down to her teething necklace, it makes a huge difference to her.
Hope everyone else is well. Sorry for dumping in here, but thought it's best I keep you up to date on the sad state of affairs that is my life:rolleyes:
brodiebunch
03-11-2009, 18:34
Jess-Sorry to hear that things are not that great atm.I hope the meds help.I am on my highest ever doesage atm and am able to survive each day.I kind of wish Oli was going through all that stuff but he is just same old constant Oli:rolleyes:.All he wants for xmas is a coles shopping basket:laughing:.That said he is exhausting in his own way.The incessant questioning I can deal with but not the same 5 questions 24/7.Gues I had better get used to life with an asperger child that gets stuck on one topic.
Our new house is going well.The transition for Oli has been hard but he was delighted we had a purple toilet(he hates white ones espec if they have blue loo in them).Actually it is a nice lavendar colour from the 60's:barf:.we are all very happy here.Layla is enjoying her new room.It has been done up with upsey daisy.Our dog is in heaven with more room to get away from her.
All in all we are managing alright.still dealing with all the red tape stuff with Oli.Finally got a pshycologist for him today:smiliedance:.need a holiday.
Ahhh so that's what you were wracking up your phone bill doing!
It's not just Oli, kd asks me the same question over and over and over again until she either gets an answer she's happy with or I get annoyed and tell her Ive answered that question enough if you ask again you'll have to go to your room:o honestly drives me up the wall!
Oh and all she ever wants to watch is the sound of music, we watch it probably 4+ times a week. That's driving me up the wall too. But she knows it recorded on TiVo, so when she's naughty we tell her we'll take it off TiVo and then she behaves perfectly.
emilysmumma
04-11-2009, 09:01
Hi Brodie :) Hmmm, I think the incessant questions are normal at this age. Especially the same one over and over and over again. Have to laugh at the purple loo, at least Oli appreciates it :laughing:
Jess, I had no idea it's been so hard for you. Big, big :hugs:.
The sound of music huh! You poor thing having to have that on all the time.
I feel bad too about Miss Emily. If William wasn't around then I'm sure I wouldn't be so irritated with her, but the lack of sleep is a killer.
It's funny how they know which buttons to push with us mummies. I guess that they know us so well as we do them that they know what exactly will get a rise out of us. I do let Emily have a fair amount of leeway with lots of things but DH has a constant saying to her 'I'm not your mother' so if she tries anything on him she knows she won't get away with it.
So different parenting styles would mean KD knows her dad expects certain behaviour from her.
Also Jess give yourself a break. You are doing the right thing to take time off work. Having your own business, a young one and a baby is too much to do on top of the everyday essentials. So no wonder you're at your wits end.
I envy you your weekend away. Gosh I envy DH when he gets on his tractor or ride on mower and goes into the paddocks. I look so longily at him the other day, just to have that free time without having to think of others for a short time.
Today I've woken up with a sore throat, massive headache, aching all over and very sore boobs. They are so ouchy that I think I may have on top of a cold a bit of mastitis trying to happen. Dh has a cold too so we are a happy family today :rolleyes:
emilysmumma
04-11-2009, 16:08
Jess on the electric car front. Toys r us have a Barbie electric car for $199 at the moment.
Also last time I went into Wow sight and sound, they also have cars for around $100.
Hope that helps.
Thanks Sarah.
You poor thing, it sure does sound like the start of Mastitus, get yourself some cabbages for the freezer and just rest up as much as you can.:hugs:
Thanks for the tip on the cars, unfortunately she is very adament that it needs to be a 2 seater:rolleyes:, which I've only found in toys r us for $500:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
:laughing::laughing: KD walks around the house now singing and dancing most of the different songs from the sound of music. Any words she doesn't know she either makes up or just jumbles a whole heap together into a mumbled sound. :laughing: So funny and cute to watch! She also told me this morning that Rolph can't sing! She's so obsessed!
Mummaof2
06-11-2009, 19:34
Sorry I haven't popped in for a few weeks.
Today was my last day at work. I don't think it will really sink in till Monday that I am now a SAHM.. I kind of have mixed feelings at the moment..excited and happy that I can be a SAHM and starting a new chapter in my life but also sad to be leaving such a great job and a great place to work.
I also still don't have my car back yet...its now been 4 weeks since the accident and I am not happy. It was meant to be ready last week then everytime i ring I can told its going to be another day. Yesterday i was told that it would definately be ready today at lunchtime and then today I get told another few days....:hair: its so frustrating....I requested a courtesy car free of charge today and they dropped it off at home for me while i was at work...i got home and cant believe they expect me to drive that kind of car with 2 children... the lining of the roof is coming off , it has no exhaust so is very loud and who knows what else is wrong with it.
I can't believe you don't have your car back yet! That really sucks! I hope you get it back monday.
Use this time to rest up as much as you can to get your health back on track.
brodiebunch
08-11-2009, 15:04
Sarah-I hope you feel better soon.Yeah the questions are pretty normal but if you ever meet a child with Aspergers you would notice the difference straight away.It is just not normal.We are still trying to get him to say hello and goodbye to people when they talk to him .Seems impossible but he will ask them what colour their car is and then go on and on about pipes for ages:doh:.That is untill he finishes the entire dialoge from nemo about how all drains lead to the ocean.
Jess-Sounds like KD has expensive taste.Good luck dealing with that one on xmas day:laughing:;)
Emma-I thought courtesy cars were supposed to be usable:eek:.I hope your is fixed really fast.
I am struggling through my first REAL: hangover in years.It is not helped by the fact I ate an 800gm steak and chips and veges with it.I will never eat steak again.Also have bronchitis so does Layla.well I am supposed to be making visual aides for Oli atm but just cant think what I need:o.Early night ahead.
Mummaof2
09-11-2009, 14:59
Yay I get my car back tomorrow WOOHOO:smiliedance:
Mummaof2
11-11-2009, 06:43
Oh it feels so good to have my own car back:smiliedance: although it did take me a little bit to get use to driving a manual again..it's amazing how qickly you get used to driving an auto and a heavier car...when I got in mine it felt like i was flying lol
My first week as a SAHM has been good...i've spent more time with my kids and getting them outside after school and getting them to be more active. Took Coop to his first swimming lessons on Monday and he absolutely loved it and Steph starts gymnastics tomorrow.
The hardest part has been learning to not have a weekly wage and having to budget even more so then before. This has made me wonder if I have made the right decision financially for my family.
I was looking into a work from home thing but I was getting bombarded with 20 emails a day and I don't want that.
Thats my rant for the morning...lol
Hope you are all doing well....
Brodie - Hope you got over your hangover quickly:flowerz:
I'm so glad you're enjoying the lifestyle change Em, after a few weeks you'll adjust to the financial changes.
I really need to get kd back into swimming lessons, and I think she'd love ballet too, but being so late in the year I'm not sure if it's worth starting her now or waiting for the new year to begin? Really must go investigating swim schools again, hmmm might pull my finger out and do that today!
Nothing much new here, though I did sleep til after 7 this morning, woo hoo! Shame I want to go back to sleep already lol!
Mummaof2
13-11-2009, 06:17
Hope you are all having a wonderful week.
Well it's another trip to the doctors today. I havn't been feeling the best the last few days and have been quiet nauseous and sometimes vomiting and then this morning i sat on the edge of the bed and felt a pain in my groin...then i found a lump about the size of a 20c piece....hopefully its nothing and just maybe a cyst or something like that but I better go get it checked out asap.
On the good side today will be my first day as a canteen mum at stephs school.
Mummaof2
19-11-2009, 06:11
Good morning lovely ladies,
It has been quiet in here this past week, hope you are all well.
Coop is off for an ultrasound on his head today. I found a lump on the side of his head yesterday and the base of his neck under his skull is swollen and there was another lump there too so the doc wants to do an ultrasound to see what is going on.
Have a good day.
Mummaof2
26-11-2009, 06:26
Hi all hope everyone is ok it has been very quiet in here lately.
Hi:waves:
I've barely been online the last few weeks and omg my house has been spotless(well what's spotless to me) for ages.
We had kd's birthday party last weekend, she had a lovely time(was great to see you Sarah, Mr W is absolutely gorgeous!).
Christmas is in full swing here, tree is up, lights are up, rum balls made and we had the kindy Christmas party today(and I'm sunburnt:().
Hmmm, that's about all for me.
Reidy, I hope little g had a blast this weekend!
Hope everyone is well!
emilysmumma
29-11-2009, 20:00
We are here, just over in Perth for a couple of weeks. Introducing our young one to his Oma and Opa and his older sister as well. Plus Emily gets to see her family too. We got here on Thursday but unfortunatley she has come down with gastro on Friday and now Dh has it as well.
Emily loved KD's party Jess. She also is in love with the present we gave her so I got Emily one the other day for being so well behaved on my lap while I was getting a pedicure. It goes everywhere and is has to be beside her bed at night when she sleeps.
Well as Jess can agree our little one is not so little. He got his 4 month old needles last week and he comes in at a whopping 10.2kg!!!! Way off the charts for 4 months. He is the size of a top of the chart 7 month old or an above average 9 month old. Vigorous is what the doctor has called him, lol. Also length and head circ are also in the top percantile as well. I think it runs in DH's side of the family. His brothers boys were born at 10 pound 10 (4.9kg), a whole 1kg bigger than William at birth but he has certaintly made up for it.
Got to go as dinner time here in Perth and my MIL has made a scrummy meal.
I hope everyone is well and sorry no personals but I'm thinking about you all. xxxx
emilysmumma
06-12-2009, 00:43
Very quiet in here people.
We are having a nice time here in Perth. Seeing lots of the family which is why we are here and it's lovely to see how much Emily adores her older brother and sister. Sammy brought her a princess and a vet barbie, all these different barbie outfits and some other doll. This has made Emily amazed at her big sister because she had been asking for a barbie doll for xmas just recently.
Wee William (this is said tounge in cheek since he is huge) is now rolling over onto his tummy and talking away to anyone who will listen. He gets quite vocal with his "raa raa raas".
Sheesh he is awake so gotta go before he wakes the house up.
Wow Sarah indie only just started rolling about a month ago lol! I constantly get amazed at how different all babies are!
Kd has taught herself the words to rudolf the red nose reindeer. It's so cute, she always asks for it on in the car and sings along. We're going to take her to carols by candlelight this year, hopefully she'll love it! She's watching the Christmas pagent with dh now while I'm hanging out watching indie sleep.
Mummaof2
08-12-2009, 06:33
Not much has been happening around here except for lots of xmas parties.
I start my new job on Thursday. Its just 2 days a week bookkeeping which is great.
Cooper graduated to the next level for his swimming lessons after 3 weeks & has now gone from a 4 floatie to a 2 floatie...I am so proud of him.
I can't believe they are all turning/turned 4 this month where has the time gone. Cooper already wants to go to big school next year.
Reidymac
08-12-2009, 21:16
hello lovely people. I hope you are all doing well. Its so nice to hear what you are up to and all about the growing little ones.
I think of you all often but don't get much time to play now a days. My little men both celebrated their Birthdays this weekend (Liam 4 on Saturday and Rowie 2 today). I couldn't possibly celebrate their birthdays without thinking of you lot, my lovely december buddies. :p It seems like no time ago we were looking forward to their first birthdays *sigh*
Sarah how beautiful is Wiilliam!!that sounds like good Viking stock you got there. What a big strong boy you are growing at 10.2 kg!!! thats Awesome. I remember what a beautiful Buba Emily was and those georgous legs she had. I think you must make super milk!! Out of curiosity and scientific interest :detective: I just had to go weigh Liam and Rowie who is the neglected and rarely ever weighed 3rd child. Rowie has just hit 12.2 kg and Liam is a massive 17.5:rolleyes:. Both of them a super tall boys but not making much impact otherwise. Graysie is still under 20 kg and the tallest 6 year old we ever did saw. Sadly I am making up for what the 3 of them lack. What a dedicated mother I am:p.
Jess I hope KD had a lovey birthday party last month. I would love to see photos of your girl. Both your girls in fact. I'm sure they must be so changed from when I saw them last. I hope everything is well with you and you are enjoying a bit more time at home.
Brodie, happy birthday to Layla for later this week. I hope she is bringing you as much joy as Rowie does for me. How is the beautiuful Oli doing? Does he enjoy having a little buddy to knock around with now that she'd so playful? do you get some support with his thereapy and learning tools through the HCWA package. If there is ever anything I can do to help you guys access some resources I would be really happy to. My work is primarily in the ASD field and I often wonder if you are getting some good support or if there is something I could be doing for you guys.
Em congratulations on the career change. I am very jelouse of the guts it must have taken to make such a great decision. I am sure you will have lots of days that you question it and wondering what you doing (don't we all) but I think its brilliant and more power to you.
I better stop rambeling and go and kiss my big birthday boys again. Best wishes to you all. I'll try and get back to facebook and load some new photos of the cute little monsters to share. Hope to talk top you again soon
emilysmumma
18-12-2009, 13:12
HAPPY BIRTHDAY to our BEAUTIFUL BUBBAS of 05 and 07.
4 years already, my how time flies. It's been lovely having you all by my side during this amazing time.
I hope all our little girls and boys have or have had a lovely 4th birthday.
xxxxxx
Mummaof2
29-12-2009, 09:23
Hello ladies,
I hope you all had a wonderful and safe xmas. The whole of December has been quiet hectic for me and it still hasnt ended. After sunday Im hoping to spend some well needed time at home.
Hope you are all well.
xx Em
brodiebunch
30-12-2009, 07:52
New years resolution...............back to bub hub.
I hope you all had a great party season and I was thinking of you all.
I am off today to get the results of a mamogram.I have a lump in my right breast and have already been told that regardless of what it is I need it removed.wish me luck:fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed:
brodiebunch
02-01-2010, 13:08
The lump is a pea sized calcification of breast milk:eek:with a build up of milk behind it. I finished BF'ing Layla over 5 mths ago and I am still producing milk in my right breast:confused:.They want to remove it surgically but I am going to give ultasound therapy a go first as if I do have another baby I will want to bf.Wish me luck:fingerscrossed:
Far out Brodie that's no good! I assume it'll be keyhole surgery? I really hope there is a non surgical way to remove it. Can you take meds to stop you lactating?
I hope everyone had a fantastic birthday, Christmas and new years season!
Not a lot happening here, we're on holidays and are hopefully heading away this week.
brodiebunch
02-01-2010, 19:39
They have to fix the ducts before I take meds.Also meds to help are known to cause depression,I already have that so maybe not such a good idea.It would be keyhole as the main blockage is actually very superficial.You can see the white hard pea lump.Draining the colostrum would be the prob.I sure didn't read this in any bf'ing book:laughing:.That said would BF again in a heart beat.
Mummaof2
04-01-2010, 07:54
Brodie - So glad to hear it wasn't anything more serious and hopefully the ultrasound therapy will help. Its amazing how much ultrasound therapy can do. I had it instead of physio years ago when i damaged all the ligaments from my hip to my ankle and my recovery was so much faster then what the Dr intended.
I'm kind of glad the birthday, xmas, nye season is over cause now I can have some well needed rest.
Steph got a new baby brother for xmas this year (her step-mum gave birth at 12:45am on xmas day). So I will planning my next bub to make sure there isnt another xmas baby. All going to plan I will be starting TTC in september this year woohoo.
Things are going really well with my new DP. We are also moving at the end of the year. Not too far away only about 30mins south from where I am now.
Im off to the movies with the kids today to see Alvin & the Chipmunks the Squekel...im more excited then the kids lol
Hope everyone else is well and enjoying the holidays...this time next year we will all be getting ready to send our littlies to school
Hey girls :) Thought I'd drop in and say hi! I haven't checked in for a very long time, as you know hehe. I'll take some time to check over previous posts and see what you're all up to. Finally conceded that FB doesn't cut it for friendship and support ;)
Em, I've seen that you've got a new DP and are now a SAHM! That's great :D I'm so happy for you!
As for me, life is certainly getting interesting. DH and I had decided that 2 kids were just dandy, and were in the process for getting a referral for the snippity snip. In the meantime I was on the pill (the full one).
It didn't work. HAHA. Someone out there seems to think we need another.
So now I'm 9wks pregnant, due mid August (we're guessing, we'll know for sure after our scan in a few weeks). Feeling great, not sicky or anything, just a bit tired and a bit of an unsettled tummy here and there.
As for Will and Bridget, they are doing great!! Bridget turns 2 in Feb. They get along so well and I love watching their relationship unfold. Bridget is challenging to say the least - very, um, assertive, and full of fire. Even after everything we've been through with Will, he's a much easier kid in many ways hehe.
Hope everyone had a great Christmas and New Year, and look forward to catching up with you all through 2010 :D
Lis xoxo
Oh wow Lis.....Congratulations!! (I think???)
Don't think i'd appreciate any congratulation comment if that were me though :laughing:. I live in fear every day!!! Seriously though.....Congrats :yelclap:
Havn't been in here for ages myself actually. I am so obsessed with the games on facebook, that I can't pull myself away :o
We're really just plodding along, doing our thing. I've increased my working to both weekend days now, which has done wonders for my stress levels and my continous back & shoulder soreness. Must just need the physical activity to get the joints moving smoothly I think. I did a nice 5 day stint over xmas / new year, and must admit on the last day I had to really step back and remind myself that I had kids at home. 5 days of therapy it was ;) Absolutely loved it & can't wait to get back into it when the kids are off to school.
Had a nice but quiet xmas this year. Of course there was a rediculous overload of xmas then birthday presents...... all in the one hit, trying to fit 2 major things into one day is pretty full on. Ryan is so funny.....since he has turned four, of course he refers to everything as 'things that 4 year old's do' for example.....I made a ham & salad sandwich the other day and asked what he wanted on his and he replyed 'everything mum because 4 yr olds eat all stuff you know' :rolleyes:
Like BB, I shall endeavour to get on here a bit more this year & stay in touch.
Hope everyone is well.
Mummaof2
13-01-2010, 16:03
Wow congrats Lis...what a surprise... I wouldnt mind having one of those surprises but am going to have to be patient lol.
Things have been a little stressful the past week or so...after getting financial advise my new DP has had to close his business down and go bankrupt (no thanks to his ex). So I may have to go back to work sooner then I thought well at least till he can find a job anyway. Im trying to do things to lower my stress levels though as my blood pressure has been high for a few days (148/97)
Cooper was disappointed when he went back to pre-school this week cause he thought he was going to big school...
Congrats Lis!!! I'm so excited for you!
Em that's an awful start to the year, I hope he can find a new job soon, though a lot of people change jobs at this time of the year sk there's usually a bit around.
Dd1 is still on holidays from kindy this week as we thought it'd be really quiet at work but it's been flat out but she's been really good about it, so helpful. Dd2 starts at daycare next week so I'm stocking up the freezer with my liquid gold. I tried to offer her a bottle tonight but she had no idea what to do with it, so I'll try a sipper cup tomorrow. I keep telling myself she'll be fine and to stop stressing, hopefully it'll go smoothly(I've never left her before!).
emilysmumma
16-01-2010, 08:55
HI Ladies and a Happy New Year
Congratulations Lis on bub number 3. Nothing like a pregnancy/new baby to get me all gushy inside.
Keep us posted please, I love hearing all the news.
Brodie, I hope the ultrasound works. Another one of those things they don't tell you about breastfeeding. Just last week I again (2nd time) had the beginnings of mastitis and was in agony for days. But I worked through it and presto all good again. Wouldn't change my breastfeeding realationship for anything I don't think.
Glad to hear Tracey that work is saving your sanity, lol. We also got lots of 'when I'm 4 I'll do ......." but now that she is 4 she's changed it to 5 :laughing:
Well we had a busy dec/january so far. As soon as we got back from Perth William got bronchilitis and ended up a night in hospital for observation, the next day Emily came down with a fever and a week later found out she had a middle ear infection. During all this I got sick too with larynigitis (sp) and DH got tonsilitis. Then as soon as we all got better I got sick again with an eye infection, flu and that boob thing I mentioned all rolled up into one.
Thankfully that should do us for the remainder of the year.
I've just started William on rice cereal this week which he loves. He gets his 6 months needles at the end of the month and I hate to see how much he weighs now. Some size 1's don't even fit him and he is only 5 months old! I had to return some all in one jumpsuits as his feet were too big and they wouldn't do up around his fat thighs.
But he is such a happy bubba who adores his big sister Emily. When he was so sick the only one he would smile for was Emily. It got to the stage that he was so exhausted from coughing for 3 days constantly that he couldn't even open his eyes anymore.
And she loves him too and everytime I say I want to eat him up she gets all upset and says I'm not allowed to as she loves him. But the love doesn't extend to some of her toys though, lol.
My mum is on her way down with my nephew from Perth who is 13. DH and I help my brother bring him up from 4 months to 2 years when his mum walked out when he was 3 months of age. Also she walked out on his brother who was only 4 at the time. So we have a real soft spot for him.
So we are down on the farm for a good 5 weeks before we head to Malaysia for 3 weeks. We are going to Kuala Lumper, Penang and Borneo. Should be interesting! We are meeting DH's cousin and family over there and travelling with them. The one's who live in Caloundra now. His wife is from KL so it will be helpful having someone speak the local lanuage and Emily just adores her 2 cousins (technically 3rd cousins) and they come down to stay with us all the time here on the farm.
Well that's my short (not) update. I've finally found my usb connection for my camera so I have a few pics to upload on FB.
Sadly we have a memorial service to go to on Tuesday. One of my close friends of 20 years, her boyfriend committed suicide this week and her and her daughter found him so it's been a terrible tradegy all round for everyone. He had 3 sons and they and her 2 kids all lived together. It's a hard time and something no one should have to contend with, let alone kids. Hopefully he is at peace now.
But we are all happy and healthy. This afternoon DH goes to hypnotherapy to stop smoking. He is a pipe smoker. He was going to stop on his 50th b'day which was on the 5th of January, but since he has been smoking for 35 years, the last 7 with just the pipe he is really fretting and needs all the help he can get. Fingerscrossed today is the last day he will ever smoke.
Now that is enough from me.
I hope everything is running smoothly for all.
Mummaof2
18-01-2010, 19:06
Hi lovelies,
Just thought I would pop in and say a big :wave:.
Not much happening here. Im off to the doctors tomorrow as my blood pressure has been high all week ranging from 138/87 to 149/93...could stress related but going to get it checked just in case.
I have been doing alot of thinking this week and am looking at doing my Bachelor in Accounting. This way I can study while at home with the kids and still have another bub and by time ive finished my degree Steph & Coop will be bit older and I can also be flexible with my hours as well.
Mummaof2
01-02-2010, 08:28
Where is everyone
emilysmumma
03-02-2010, 20:02
I'm here. It's hard to find a time to type with two hands as bub is usually in one arm which is amazing in itself since he weighs in at 11.5kg at his 6 months vaccinations. I'm defintley getting lopsided biceps happening.
Not much is happening though. DH has stopped smoking now for nearly 3 weeks and is doing really well. A few narky times and a bit short now and then but he is doing incredibly well.
Reidy this question is for you if you're out there. Recalling back on when little Miss G was 4, was she an emotional girl who seemed to have hit puberty early with an attitude? Because our little Miss Emily should be locked up I think. Not really but man she can carry on, I can never do anything right by her and she is a cranky pants about everything if it's not done her 'susposed' correct way.
Are you having this happening at your house as well Jess? Is it just a girl thing or an age thing and the boys are like this too? Maybe it's just an Emily thing?
But all quiet on the front here. :wave:
brodiebunch
04-02-2010, 08:48
Hello again.The ultrasound didnt work but in the last week the duct opened and I have reduced the lump by half but I have a cracked nipple.Ouch! how did I ever feed on one.Could sure use a bf baby now to help suck the lump out:laughing:
Oli is doing well but really tired.He started at the autism school this week 4 days and normal pre-school one day so I miss him heaps.The break is nice however he is very draining at times.The good news is the school thinks Oli will be able to mainstream at infants sooner rather than later he is exceptionally smart and already blitzing at phonics and simple maths:yelclap:.We just need to se a sensory OT to help with the noise problems.All our hard work is paying off.
Layla started pre-school this week 3 days a week and is loving it.They cant believe how loud she is and commented that it is no wonder she causes Oli to have meltdowns:laughing::o.But they Love and she is the youngest in the class.
I am doing well.I miss the kiddies and have so much to do but cant figure out where to start.I am going to drop down a dose on my meds now the worst of the Oli stuff is over and we have settled into a routine of dr's school etc.I might even go back to work again.I am housebound today as my scooter has a flat battery and I dont get paid till wednesday :mad:.Maybe I will do some house work........Maybe??
Sarah-your little man is so cute.I saw the facebook pics and he looks so huggable.Sorry to here Emily is being trying atm.
Oh and DH and I are now Bonking without fear of consequence.Sorry if tmi but :fingerscrossed:
Sarah - I can reassure you, that we are having the same issues with Chumps, like you wouldn't believe. I am hoping that his return to kindy as of next week for 3 days & also a different swimming teacher who seems to pull them into line well, will help make a difference. One can only hope. Besides, I've been drinking way too much lately & need to slow down :D His attutide is so unbearable at times, it drives me insane. It seems to be getting more stronger since his communication skills have been progressing too. Figured that would be the case though. I just thought it was a boy thing though......you know.....'the whole world revolves around me' :rolleyes:
BB, good luck to you guys. I love the idea of having 3 kids in a family, but I know I am simply not cut out for the trials & tribs of the 3 young kids!!!
emilysmumma
05-02-2010, 06:06
Brodie- I can lend you William any time to help with the lump. From the first time he latched on a half hour after he was born I literally said "Woah". He was like a huge suction cap and has never had a problem gulping the milk down. As the photos of him show, lol.
Hmmm, number 3 is it? Have fun trying btw ;)
That's great news about Oli and Layla with school. It must be such feel good moments hearing about how well Oli is doing and knowing that all that hard work has paid off.
If I was you I would be taking it easy for the next couple of weeks since in the last 4 years you have been flat out with both kids. Take some time for yourself. So what if you do SFA. Give yourself some breathing space and stuff the housework, lol.
Ok, so better communication skills equals lets be assertive with mummy.
Tracey you're just catching up on the years of not drinking. Again you be kind to yourself too.
I'm going to try a new tatic with Emily. Don't know exactly what that is yet but what I'm doing now isn't working with her.
I hate how I'm awake since 5am when I could be getting more sleep. So hopefully some work can be done before the tribe descends upon me.
Hey girls, sorry been awhile.
We had an awful night. Our little bubba decided this time wasn't to be. Miscarried just after midnight at 12+4wks. Ended up in emergency as my blood pressure was very low and they made sure nature was taking it's course, which thankfully it did, so no need for a D&C. But was in for a few hours just on drips while they tried to bring my blood pressure back up. Got home exhausted at 7am today, have had a couple of hours sleep but I'm feeling restless now.
But it has made us realise that our original design for 2 bubbas wasn't really for us ;) There's still a place in our family and home, and we'll keep trying over the next year or so.
Luckily my sister stayed the night, and is helping with the kids today. Thank god for sisters.
I started bleeding a little on Wed night, in my heart I knew. We had a scan last night at 7pm, which confirmed what I felt in my heart, and luckily my body decided to let go.
We're going to get a tree today and plant it in the backyard, and bury our little angel underneath it.
I'll be back soon and keep you posted on how I'm doing, and check in on you guys too :) For now I might try and get some more sleep.
Lis I am so sorry for your loss. I hope you find your way soon. I can only imagine it would be one of the hardest roads to travel.
Mummaof2
05-02-2010, 15:18
Lis I am sorry for your and your family's loss xxxx
Thanks girls. I'm doing ok. Still lose my sh*t on and off, but that's to be expected I guess. Now it's just about getting to the point where I can move on.
Still feeling like my nethers have been hit by a baseball bat, and still getting crampy after pains, which is really frustrating. I just want it all to be gone and my body to be back to normal.
We've told our families, haven't got onto friends yet. They all knew about the pregnancy, which is fine, I'm happy they'll know. At least they know it'll be a sensitive topic for us. But there are heaps of other people that know too, such as all the sales assistants at our little shopping centre. There's no way they couldn't have known, I looked 5-6mths preg and was in maternity clothes. That's what feels so bizarre, I had this massive belly a week ago, so much so that we took a photo on Tuesday night because it was so hilariously huge! Now it's just flat, already. Bit of pudding around the edges, but back onto my detox tea trying to lose the fluid. At least I've only got about 2kgs to deal with. A lot of that's going to be fluid I think.
Anyway, enough :ecomcity: about me :) I'll be back a bit later, hope you girls are having a great weekend.
Lis
xo
brodiebunch
09-02-2010, 11:04
Lis-Love to you and you know where to find me if you want to chat:hugs:
brodiebunch
09-02-2010, 11:10
well I have dragged myself off facebook to come post again
not much to say really except that Oli is doing really well at school and loving it.He has even teamed up with another aspie boy connor and formed a friendship so it seems.So much so that Connor insists Oli be at his party next week.:D.I hope it last as it is the first time Oli has really made an effort to start a friendship and initiate a conversation thats not about pipes,filters, fountains or pumps.
I am doing the housework thing this week.This humidity is making it so draining to be motivated to do anything.Bring on some cooler weather.I might hit the shops on thurs and
have a cuppa and read a book.Big plans I know.
Anyway take care all.
emilysmumma
10-02-2010, 23:31
Oh Lis I am so very, very sorry for your loss. I can not imagine how you feel. When I posted last I thought nearly all day how I needed to come back on here as I forgot to ask how you were going.
It must be hard.
I too feel that we need to be a bigger family of 3 maybe even 4. (tracey cringes as she reads this ;))
Don't know how I would manage it but gosh I just love babies. Our neighbour had a little girl yesterday and came around this atfernoon with her. OMG how small are they? She was teeny but still 8 pounds and I just melted.
So Lis I wish you all the best in creating a new little life for your family.
brodiebunch
14-02-2010, 20:05
Okay.Here we go
DH and I have decided it is time to officially TTC #3.
emilysmumma
15-02-2010, 00:06
:smiliedance: Brodie. Lucky you guys. I hope all goes well and needless to say, have fun trying :p
I'm just doing the packing to leave in the morning to head to malaysia. It didn't get done today as I spent 4 hours at the emergency with William.
I feel so bad for the guy. Friday before last he woke up and rolled off our king sized bed onto the floor which has just a thin layer of carpet and no underlay as it's not even tacked down yet. So basically onto concrete.
Well no less than 24 hours later he rolls off again but this time instead of being fine within 5 minutes like the day before he was really hurting and we gave him panadol. It took him about an hour to settle down and anytime we grabbed his left shoulder, arm, back or pulled him up he would cry. Long story short, as the days progressed he got better and only would cry out a couple of times if we somehow moved him that he didn't like.
Well it was just really not feeling right with me and this morning had another feel and finally found a lump on his collarbone near his neck and said that's it he is going to get check out Turns out he broke his collarbone :crying:
Thankfully and this is the bit that I am grateful for as it lessens the guilt somewhat. It will heal itself so there is nothing they can do for it anyway.
But still I am gutted that I didn't get it checked sooner.
So besides feeling like the worse parent in the world along with DH we are really excited about tomorrow and our holiday. Except when Emily woke to go to the loo just before she is sounding very coldy, so fingerscrossed nothing comes of it.
Anyhoo I'll keep you updated on my movements via FB and I will try and have a few cocktails for anyone feeling left out ;)
Mummaof2
15-02-2010, 07:58
:smiliedance:Brodie - how exciting for you both. I am counting down the months/days until Sept/Oct so that DP and I can start TTC.
Sarah - lucky you....please do have a cocktail or 3 for me...hehe
Lis - Hope you are doing well xx
An update on me and the family....I quit my 2 day-a-week job as I just wasnt happy there and really didnt seen the point in there being 2 bookkeepers there when there isnt even enough work for 1 bookkeeper.
I am now working 3 days a week at a caravan franchise doing bookkeeping. The girl that is leaving there has been there for 6.5yrs but they have just realised that she hasnt being doing things properly so there is alot of things I need to fix.
I also enrolled in Open Universities to do my Bachelor in Accounting which will take 3-4 years to complete.
DP & I celebrated our 1 year anniversary on Saturday and spent the weekend up in the Hunter Valley and went to the Rob Thomas concert which was amazing.
Steph is in year 4 this year and Coop is in prep school getting ready for big school next year.
Hope all you lovely ladies are well xx
brodiebunch
16-02-2010, 10:15
OMG! Sarah:hugs:. I never get my kids checked out after big falls:o.I Hope all goes well. for William while recovering.And have a great Holiday.
Emma-good luck with the uni degree.I am enrolling in an intensive Tafe course in child care so I can get my diploma next year.Thats if the head teacher ever calls me back.
Well home alone today so pretty bored and doing housework.Otherwise all well.
brodiebunch
26-02-2010, 18:15
Just started coming off my meds today........me>:dizzy::devil6:.Basically a moody cow. Halfed the dose I was on for depression but still about 4>6 weeks before I wean down to nothing.Bit scared really last time I was off them was when I had PTSD after oli's birth and it was so not good.At least my head is in a good place atm.Wish me luck:fingerscrossed:
Good on you Em for moving on and finding somewhere you're happier.
Sarah - I hope you're enjoying your holiday!
Brodie - Best of luck coming off the meds, slowly slowly and you'll be ok. I don't think I could live without my meds atm:o.
Nothing much happening here, just work and kids and work and kids, but I wouldn't change things:).
brodiebunch
01-03-2010, 19:09
Hi Jess- I am still cruising on the half does of 75mg.It is the first time after Layla's birth that I think I can do it.Really the thought of being PG helps.Plus all that Oli stuff has fallen into a kind of groove for the time being.Dare say the holiday from meds will be short lived.To much goes on in my head.
brodiebunch
03-03-2010, 09:32
I am going to one of my grandmothers funerals tomorrow:gloomy:.She has been battling cancer for many years,tumors,loosing both breasts and eventually Melanoma throughout her entire body including her bones.It has been a hard few weeks but she is resting now.We loved you and still do Beryl.
We have a rough year ahead,My step grandparents who we love as our own are both very sick,Grandpa has cancer all through and has only been given a few months,Grandma is very sick and blind to and will shortly follow.My fathers dad,Grandad has had several strokes and is failing fast.My Nan(mums) thankfully is well thank goodness.the joys of getting old.
Reidymac
16-03-2010, 11:11
Hey Brodie. I am so very sorry to hear of the loss of your grandma Beryl and the illness faced by your other grandparents. It is never easy to loose a loved one and horrible to see them suffer. You are absolutley right, getting old is not fun at all !!!
I really feel for you. I lost my grand parents over the last few years and have been trying to support my lovely mum who has been very ill since before Christmas. Amoung a range of other concerns she had a horrible fall in Feb and broke her femur and hip. Unfortunatly help didn't arrive until many hours later and I was gutted that she had to go through so much alone. It has taken quite a toll and made all the worse that she has been in the same hospital room where my poor dear dad died a few years ago. I worry for her and a little for me too as she is really all I have left and she means the world to me:gloomy:
On a brighter note.... Happy baby making to you and Lis. Happy holidays to Sarah and Much love and best wishes to Jess, Chumps and Sal if any of you every pass by this way again:kiss:. I can tell you brodie ....being the mother of 3 is certainly an adventure :D add a stressful full time job, a ballet obsessed daughter, a fledgling cake business and an unwell parent and you got yourself a very interesting life indeed. :p
I don't get back here much anymore but think of you all often with warm wishes for much peace and happyness :wave:
brodiebunch
16-03-2010, 19:07
so good to read your post Reidy
That is an awful situation your mum is in.Sending you lots of love. I miss my mum and often wonder how I cope without her. Thank goodness for my sister we are about all we have that classes as true family.
As for #3 well this cycle is the traditional one for me to be a fertile myrtle. December babies seem to be the thing to do at our house. we all know what happens here for easter........got to work off that chocolate some how:o:laughing:. Now I have said that I actually think it may be next month this year seeing as both my december angels should have been January ones:confused:.I am to tired you do the maths.
wow a cake business. Your cakes are awesome.I am thinking about learning the art form in classes run locally.just to get the fine details polished off.
anyway.must go pack Oli's school bag.Oh and he is going to be in a choir for a major Aspect fundraiser.cant remember the song title but it is in July.he is more excited about the fact he gets his own torch on stage.and he has an easter hat parade at his school that we get to go watch:goodvibes:. They make their hats in class and have been practising their bunny hops ( a challenge for the developmentally delayed kids).I cant wait.
brodiebunch
16-03-2010, 19:14
Oh and i forgot.Layla's pre-school has given me the go ahead to send her in and with MCN's.Seems several mums have been asking about it this year.So good as she goes to the loo more often in them than sposies.They asked me to do a poster on how to use them in the school place.:smiliedance::smiliedance::yelclap::thumbsup :
brodiebunch
17-03-2010, 10:00
Great news:D
The autism school want to transition Oli into St Kevins primary class.Means that he is doing really well and has a big chance of mainstream schooling:)and weeping at the good news.So next term he will be off to real school if we want him to.Still in the autism class but spending time with other normal kids in the playground.
That's great news about both Layla's kindy and Oli's school and their progress. How exciting for Oli to be in the chior and the easter hat parade!
Reidy - :hugs:, I've been meaning to call you. I am so sorry to hear your mum has been unwell. Please send her my regards, I hope she's on the mend now. If there is anything I can do to be of any help, please don't hesitate to ask.
Miss Indie turned 1 last week, she's growing up, though very much still my baby. She can't walk on her own, but is enjoying walking around the house holding our hands. She hates going in the car, and is settling in at daycare(2 days a week).
KD is going well. I've just started sewing her some clothes which she is loving. She's very proud to tell everyone "my mummy made this for me". She's also started doing ballet once a week and is improving each and every week. She loves it and looks forward to it so much.
Business is going well, keeping us super busy, I can't remember the last time DH was home in time to put the kids to bed. Once we get a new tech on board hopefully that workload will ease again.
I hope everyone is well.
Sarah I hope you had a wonderful birthday!
Tracey - I hope you are well, still enjoying your 2 days at work? or have you dropped back to 1?
Miss Sal - I love seeing all the pics on FB of your hiking adventures!
Argh, more emails are coming in and I've still got work piled up, better get this done before the weekend.
brodiebunch
22-03-2010, 08:02
Jess- I love the dress you made for KD. Ballet sounds great. I am hanging out to do that girly stuff with Layla. Saw that you Mac is dying on FB the other week. So is ours:geek:. Hope all is well.
Oli has just gone off to school as happy as a pig in mud.It is swimming day followed by after school singing practice. These kids just grow up way to fast.
Wow Brodie, you are busy bees!
Ah my mac is living to see another day, I want to get a new one, probably will later in the year, but I'm such a tight but that I hate spending money:o.
Bub is sick atm:(. But the positive side('cause I'm really into looking at the positive side of things atm), is that I have taken today off. I wanted to move the cot to the lounge room, but it was too hard to take it apart so I put up the toddler bed in the lounge so I can keep an eye on her and she's basically slept all day.
Poor thing, she can't catch a break. I'm really struggling to get Indie to gain weight, and we finally hit the 8kg mark a few weeks ago, then she got sick and lost 600g, so we've gotten her back up to 7.7/7.8kg and now she's sick again. I'm getting a bit disheartened by the constant yoyo of her weight. It just gets tiring constantly celebrating each weight gain only for her to get sick a week or 2 after and loose that gain and some.
Anyway, better have some lunch before I pick KD up.
brodiebunch
29-03-2010, 08:03
Jess- Big hugs for you and Indi:hugs:. It must be so hard for you and frustrating. I remember when Layla failed to thrive for the first 15mths. It was so stressful for us. She is still tiny now as a result but she is a pocket rocket.I hope they find out what is going on soon.:hugs: I look back on Laylas photos now of her at around 4>6 mths and the poor kid looked very yellow and so ill.I still dont have pics of that time on FB. I couldn't see it at the time but now I understand why the drs etc were super worried. I guess it helped my friends boy who was born at the same time was and is still a very sick boy so I counted my blessings.again Good luck!