View Full Version : Roma: whats it like?

kas_chat
03-07-2009, 22:46
:wave:Hi there...
edied deleted Kas

saremc
03-07-2009, 22:52
Hey i live in the woomba which i quite like i have heaps of friends from Roma they like it. I have to say its like most towns not very entertaining but you get that. I recon its a good place for kids (although they will hate it when they hit teenage years) Been there a few times sorry i can't be anymore help its a nice town maybe go there and check it out.

Have fun deciding! HTH not really informative sorry :ecomcity:

Mummaholic
03-07-2009, 22:57
Roma is quite rural, a fair way from Brisbane. Toowoomba seems like a much bigger town with better facilities. My nanna was born in Roma so I can say that ;)

Lastcenturymum
03-07-2009, 23:04
Oh I thought you meant Roma, Italia! It's pretty awesome.:D

kas_chat
03-07-2009, 23:06
:wave: Kas

Lastcenturymum
03-07-2009, 23:11
Oh Kas! It's such a woman thing to do, think of all the possibilities and scenarios, even when he still has to have the interview!;) Believe me, I can so relate. Uncertainty is SO hard to deal with. I find writing it all down helps get it out of my head and then distract yourself with something else till you start to see the way forward and then look at the options you have been thinking about.

I've had 4 months of uncertainty and it's nearly driven me spare - trying not to get my hopes up that we might move home, but thinking through IF we did...it's so draining. Looks like the mud is settling for us now and we have some more clarity. Hope you don't loose too much sleep over it though.:hugs:

Miss_N
04-07-2009, 00:30
Hey!

I live in a town 60kms from Miles or about 1.5hrs from Roma. I'm a teacher and go to both places for courses and to do shopping! Where about is your DH being placed?! We have a lot of gas drillers in and near our town!

As for choosing where to live it really depends on what u want from a town! If being close to DH is most important the Roma has more facilities that Miles but Miles is closer to Toowoomba! I go back to Toowoomba every chance I get as my DP cannot get work out here! I really like my tiny town but love going back to Toowoomba too!

Feel free to PM me if u have any more Q's! ;)

kas_chat
10-09-2009, 20:57
[QUOTE=kas_chat;3864372]:shakehands: Hi
Thanks...
I am googling but aren't discovering much.

sheri82
14-09-2009, 14:36
i was going to say move to dalby
it is a good little town not far from that mine area

you will get use to then not being there in time i have had a hubby in the mines worling away for over 6 years if you need a chat
msn is sheri190@hotmail.com good luck with the move

Cherylanne
21-09-2009, 15:00
Roma has a woolies, target country, 2 Dr's surgeries, all the usual banks, chemist, dress shops, hairdressers. A couple of gyms, picture theatre, maccas, cafes, pubs. The local hospital is great.
There are 2 schools, state and catholic, a C & K kindy a couple of day care centres, a few playgroups. If you are religous there are a few churches.
Sports wise there is touch footie, netball, rugby, league, soccer, bowls golf, archery, ponyclub.there is dancing, gymnastics, calisthenics, guides, scouts.
It's quite a nice little town, but housing is expensive.
HTH