View Full Version : Question about Immunisation Allowance?
~Emmylou~
24-06-2006, 11:01
I've just checked my bank account this morning and discovered I've just received a payment from Fam Assistance office of $222 :smiliedance:
I have NO idea what this is for....I haven't claimed anything recently.
Only thing I can think of is that it might be the immunisation allowance as my DD has recently turned 18 months old. But she hasn't had her chickenpox vaccine yet as she's been constantly sick the last month - I'm not sure if this is a compulsory jab though.
Does anyone know if the chickenpox vax is compulsory, and also about how much the immunisation payment is and if you have to claim it?
I get very suspicious when money "appears" in my bank account from the government :eek:
brizbabe
24-06-2006, 11:20
That sounds exactly what it is -the immunisation allowance is generally paid around the 19th-20th month of your childs birth (you've obviously supplied your medicare number to Centrelink so that they can do the data matching with the ACIR (Australian Childhood Immunisation Registry).
If you are registered for online services with Centrelink (centrelink.gov.au) why not check on your own Centrelink record-it will tell you
jessgray
24-06-2006, 11:32
from my understanding the immunisation allowance doesnt get paid until you are either exempt from completeing vaccinations or have completed them all.
~Emmylou~
24-06-2006, 11:50
Duh thanks brisbabe I didn't even think of doing that! :banghead:
Yep it is my immunisation allowance...but I thought she'd have to have her chickenpox vax before they'd pay that...guess not huh!
Woohoo! Car rego is due in a few days so this is a nice windfall I wasn't expecting at all :D
p4purple
24-06-2006, 11:59
[QUOTE=~Emmylou~]
Does anyone know if the chickenpox vax is compulsory, and also about how much the immunisation payment is and if you have to claim it?
QUOTE]
No vaccinations in Australia are compulory but that is a whole other thread!
That sum of around $222 sounds spot on for the MIA. This info may help:
http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/payments/qual_how_mia.htm
It has come up in other threads though, that you usually get a reminder letter if your childs vax program has not been completed.
Littletreasures
24-06-2006, 14:11
silly question does everyone get this bonus once their child has had all the needles or is it for if your baby was born in a certain year similiar to the $600 tax bonus that some people recieve,
the_queen
24-06-2006, 14:15
Not a silly question xaviersmummy - this is Centrelink we're talking about, it's extremely confusing!!!
The Maternity Allowance is the $3000/$4000 that you receive when you have the baby (or more correctly, when you add him/her to your Medicare card).
The Maternity Immunisation Allowance is given automatically when baby is about 18 months old, provided you meet the criteria:
http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/payments/qual_how_mia.htm
Who can get Maternity Immunisation Allowance?
You may get Maternity Immunisation Allowance if:
* your child is fully immunised between 18 and 24 months, or
* your child is on a recognised immunisation catch up schedule, or
* your child has an approved exemption from being immunised, or
* your child is stillborn or dies before 24 months, and
* you claim on or before your child's second birthday.
You may get an approved immunisation exemption for your child if you have a conscientious objection to immunisation or if there are medical reasons why your child should not be immunised. Please talk to the Family Assistance Office at Centrelink if this applies to you.
Important: To be paid Maternity Immunisation Allowance, you must claim through the Family Assistance Office. You cannot claim this payment through the tax system.
Eligibility for Maternity Immunisation Allowance differs for children born before 1 January 2003. For further details please contact the Family
FourAngelKisses
24-06-2006, 14:42
You don't need to get the chicken pox vaccine in order to get the payment. I had to call and check because Matthew didn't need the vaccine as he had CP when he was 6mths old.
brizbabe
24-06-2006, 17:41
"fully" immunised=up to and including the 12 month australian recommended
immunisation. (or have an approved exemption)
The chicken pox one is not on the schedule:
see below for the current "official schedule:-
http://www.medicareaustralia.gov.au/providers/programs_services/acir/current_immunisation_schedule.htm:smiliedance:
Littletreasures
24-06-2006, 22:00
thanks i didnt know that
onabreak
24-06-2006, 23:15
I received $222 a few weeks back and it was a Maternity Payment (thats what was said on my bank statement) for my DD having all her needles up to and including 18mths. I received a letter a week later from Centre Link advising me of the payment. It was a good surprise when I discovered I had $222 more in my bank.
jessgray
25-06-2006, 12:45
how come the immunisation allowance is more in some states and less in others?
FourAngelKisses
25-06-2006, 12:50
I thought it was in all states as Centrelink is a national department??
jessgray
25-06-2006, 13:01
its not i have been told by friends in other states they are getting $400 and its the immunisation allowance. i got told in NT it was $600 not sure if its true though,
FourAngelKisses
25-06-2006, 13:15
According to the centrelink website it is $220. I wonder where the people you have been talking to claimed theirs from??
jessgray
25-06-2006, 13:27
they got theirs from enterlink like everyone else. i also read it in the hearld sun ages ago about how different states had different amounts and the federal govermant said it was coz of the higher rates of non vaxing those states got more but i dont get why it doesnt say that on the centerlink site.
sam's mum
26-06-2006, 07:06
it is the same in every state, it is dependent on when your child was born whether your are receiving the allowance under the old payment system or the new. check the link to the Centrelink website for the date, I think it was 2003. If your bub was born before this you get $600 (but this is a share of the original baby bonus). If after you get $220 (but got a bigger bonus when bubs was born).
There used to be a lump sum baby bonus that got paid when bubs was born, then this was split in two with half paid at birth and half when immunisation complete at 18 months.
jessgray
26-06-2006, 09:40
thanks for that :) clears it all up :D