View Full Version : 40 + Parents or Parents to be July-September Chat!
Last 2 posts
Hi Vicki - does that mean completely finished with work? How is Katie feeling and what's your body up to now?
Hi Mary - how long are you in Cairns for?
Cat
Hi Cat,
I ended up a whole day there
ah well, more money.
but yes now I am work free from today!!!
although I did tell them give me a bit of time and if need me Ill fill in here and there
Katie is pretty much over it
i had 2 temp rises and thought woohoo ive ovulated to only have it drop again this morning so needless to say am very frustrated by it!
I really need a couple of days down time before tackling anything so wont think about what to do just yet
Hows things with you??
quitecontrary
02-07-2009, 19:35
Hi Vicki - you're not just talking to yourself today!
Hello everyone else come out, come out whereever you are!
Today I got a gate pass and went and had my hair done - thank goodness!! It took the whole afternoon but it is so worth it - inches off, and back to the colour god intended!!! I feel so much better for it.
Cat we are off to Cairns for 8 nights. Did I tell you I can hardly wait?
Genevieve has been crook the past few days, the poor little possum. Coughs and sneezes, dull for all of us. Toby is just as lovely as ever. Dh has been too busy with work, can't wait to have him without wireless broadband for a few days I have to say.
So, this is a quick one once again - should got and rustle up some dinner for dh and me. Thank goodness the two little ones are asleep already.
Hey Mary,
Hope G is feeling 100% again soon,poor love
When do you go?
Katie still has her rash and a tad cranky today so not a happy girl, tho the new trike did cheer her up somewhat short lol
Im worried bout ds1, hes 27 and was in love and shes just broken his heart...Hes barely txt'ing me back , wont tell me where he is or meet up..hes such a sensitive guy so am very worried, I know hes a grown boy but i can feel his hurt :crying:
quitecontrary
03-07-2009, 09:13
Vicki - sorry to hear your son's new relationship didn't work out. I hope you get to see him soon, and he isn't too upset for too long.
We are off tomorrow morning! In the meanwhilst I am taking an unwell Genevieve to the Doc's today - just need to make sure she's not actually worse than I think she is. She was awake several times in the night so I'm a bit weary this morning. I'm not very good at going straight back to sleep (unlike dh) - so I am dying to get on that plane. Only have to pack everyones stuff - well, except for Dh's. Did I tell you I hate packing?
Will be back here later I'm sure!
Mary. ah Im the same, dh sleeps as soon as head hits pillow but i lay there for ages!
Sympathize with the wakes..ive had at least 2 a night since she got unwell and im finding it hard to recuperate from hard work of late
still feeling very very tired
Hope G' feeling better soon xx
Ive upset the ils again! hahha
Ive not heard from her since wed last week when she couldnt change times to suit my work so didnt get to sit with dd..seriously over thier cr@p now...the plans she had she could have changed but they dont change plans for anyone it seems not even the grand daughter, so leastly me lol
She said she would still do one day a week even when I left and I could do with the break to catch up rest ...but ive heard nothing and this week is now over..
If dont see you before i hope little miss is well and you all have a great time! xxx
very envious! I could do with a holiday but dh not off till august :( and august usually wet and cold so not sure what to do within budget but nice
hmm not sure whats happening..have blood when wipe, but barely yet no af cramps nothing
if it is the witch she should be here by tomorrow then but rather confused about ovulation, it was 8 days ago..not 13 or so going by temps and cm..
argh just wish something would happen
still no proper af
its so light its only there when wipe....
no idea whats up with that!
where is everyone??
aw I feel ever so lonely here
cd3 for me. taking clomid tonight as changed to cd3-7 to see if that will do the trick :yelclap:
Cathrine
07-07-2009, 20:34
Hi Vicki,
Is this the girl you were telling us about? What happened?
How are you feeling today? Did AF arrive?
You know your ils are pains. WE know they are pains. Try not to be hurt about it. Once a *********, always a ... Life is far too short to worry about unkind people.
Hi Mary - hope you are having a blissful break and it's very relaxing.
Cat
yep AF has arrived, its cd3 for me today so have taken tablet 1 as changed to cd3-7. Might do the trick..
what girl about?? I forgot what I said where...... sorry, still feeling tired, ive not stopped since, Im enjoying being able go out and about so much ive not stopped to rest much. soon though..
Your right re : ils..I had decided to ignore them/take no notice and i feel better for it
Hows things with you??
surprisebub
08-07-2009, 11:20
Hello Ladies,
Sorry i have been so slack in posting, but have been working 7 days a week and when i get home i am too exhausted to do much typing. Have a few days off at the moment as the new crop isn't ready for picking as of yet (secretly i am happy, get to have nana naps on occassions :yelclap:).
Tabby sorry to hear AF has arrived, hopefully this will be the last you see of her for a while (well at least 10 months :thumbsup:).
Unfortunately my memory at the moment is shocking, only read this forum a few minutes ago and have already forgotten nearly everything. I like to blame it on preggy brain (secretly hoping it isn't the start of dementia :D).
Starting to get a lot of movement from bump, nothing major but certainly noticeable, and i am finding that i am tired all the time, find it impossible to stay up after 9.30pm, but then i do get up for work at 5.30am so might have something to do with it. But don't remember ever feeling this with my other pregnancies, i am guessing it may have a lot to do with my age and the physical work i do.
Have had my 18 week scan and everything is looking good, i do have a low lying placenta so will have another scan at 32 weeks to see what is happening there, worse comes to worse i might have a c-section, honestly don't care how this bub is born as long as bub is born healthy.
Will try and pop in here and post on a regular basis, and try and keep up to date with everything.
Tania
Tania, how lovely to hear from you and that all is well
I know I felt it a bit more with dd but yes your working full time and a 530am start! Thats bound to tire anyone never mind half way in pregnancy
Did a short shift for work today and came home and Kates got her daddys bad flu! gosh we only just got over last weeks illness :(
Cathrine
09-07-2009, 20:22
Hi Vicki - I think the girl was your son's new girlfriend??? How are you today?
Hi Tania - what is the significance of a low lying placenta? If I got up at 5.30am, my afternoon nana naps would continue through the night.
I'm off to the doc on Wednesday so I'll see what pearls of wisdom he has.
I'm totally hooked on MasterChef Australia and am disappointed with tonight's results so I've decided to be a little proactive in my life. I'm going to hunt him down...lol.
Cat
lol Cat, Happy hunting !
Oh, thats over..she gave the "I just want to be friends" line and needless to say he was devastated! I couldnt get hold of him for 2 days and was soooo worried. anyhow hes getting there by keeping busy and back out again with mates etc. Shes a bit of wierd one, am seeing now, so hopefully she doesnt haul him back and forth etc, i did tell him to be careful but since that even the friendship was torn by her so might be a good thing..how does a girl go from talking of the future together, buying house, marriage and 2 days later its over...not all there maybe?
anyway..good luck at the docs! Is that like a followup?
im cd4 clomid, 1 more to go and we are down with the flu!!! :(
surprisebub
10-07-2009, 21:33
Cat, a low lying placenta is the same as placenta previa (i think lol) which basically means my placenta is lying over the opening of my cervix, (i had placenta previa with my third child and thankfully it moved up on its own), and can't be delivered before bub as i am pretty sure the placenta stops supplying oxygen to bub once delivered.
Tabby, i hope your son gets over his girlfriend quickly. It is awful when are kids get their hearts broken, i guess the up side to this (which he won't see) is that it is better that she did this now rather than after the house, marriage etc. Hope your family manages to shake the flu quickly.
Well nothing much happening here, just working as usual and unfortunately i work on the weekends too, i generally work 6 - 7 days a week, really only take a day off if i have an appointment or something since the season only last 4 - 5 months. Have noticed for the past two nights that bub is becoming quite strong with the kicking, think the kids will be able to feel their little sister themselves soon.
Hope you all have a lovely relaxing weekend.
Tania
Cathrine
12-07-2009, 12:31
I think I'm being punished by the internet gods. I posted a note last night and it has disappeared. Hopefully I haven't sent it off to another forum of friends or work because they have no idea what I'm up to.
Hi Vicki - look like DS had a lucky escape, she sounds like a pain. What's your body up to today? As I contemplate putting on a pair of socks because my feet are freezing, I remember dear Mary - IN CAIRNS!!!
The doctor visit is just a catch up and I suppose discuss if he wants to change anything.
Hi Tania,
I hope your placenta behaves and moves around to where it should. Are you on a farm?
Cat
Hey Cat, AF has finally gone! Im now on EPO ( evening primrose oil) to promote healthy and lots of ewcm ! plus am on vit B complex, said to help follies be healthy..something...anyhow! good for you when ttc. Just took last day clomid last night so fingers crossed!
gosh socks! Is it freezing there? cos by goodness its bloody cold here today, suns out but just no warmth. Yes very envious right now of you Mary!!!
Do keep us posted of Wednesdays discussions :thumbsup:
surprisebub: Hope the placenta goes where it needs to go for this birth too!
must away, i think i need a early, still recovering flu,..am about 90% there
quitecontrary
13-07-2009, 14:09
Hello!
Yes, we have made it back (reluctantly) from our Tropical Holiday! It was great, gorgeous weather, swimming, exploring and generally lazing around the place. The kids both enjoyed themselves - Genevieve in particular really loved having dh at her beck and call - she loves her Daddy a lot, which is great. When he's around I take a backseat with her, thats for sure. The flight up was probably G's worst-ever, she was up far too early in the morning and carried on all the way, coming home both the kidlets slept for a good chunk of the journey. Made me realise how mad it would've been to take them to England at this age/stage. Though we are going to make that trip again either later in the year, or early next - we need to show Toby off to his English rels!
Anyway, at least it isn't rainy here today, and both the kids are sleeping now, which is just lovely.
Sounds like all is well with you all too!
Ys_Woman
14-07-2009, 01:33
Hello lovelies.
Glad to see everyone is thriving, particularly Mary after her gorgeous getaway.
Sorry to hear about AF Vicki:hugs:. I remembered about a US site I stumbled onto when I was ttc with Dane. It think it was called Fertility Friend and there were all sorts of calculators and charts to help you plot your O. Wonder if that could be helpful in some way.
Hope Katie gets the short version of the flu. Everyone here is crook with one thing or another atm. I love winter but I could do without the winter ills..lol.
Bummer about your ds1 hon. He is probably licking his wounds but will reach out when he is over that phase. Painful stuff.
Cat: Your message is probably floating around in the ether and will land in three days..lol. I think we've all experienced that?
I have only watched MasterChef a few times..so who won? I personally wanted that older chicky to win.
Tania: Glad your pregnancy is going along well and the 18wk scan was a good one *wonders if Tania found out the sex?* hehehe. Hope the placenta isn't an issue further down the track.
I had best get to bed..so tired.
I went to the dr about the PND and he decided some counselling sessions would be helpful, rather than drugs. I have been to two so far and honestly don't feel much different but will give it my best shot over the coming month or so.
Was great having Brittany down..hard to send her back home..but she rang today to say she is coming again in a few weeks time to organise the removal of her goods-and-chattels back to Rocky. She and her partner are moving into a house this month. She is well. Week 33 this week!! Time rocks on.
Best dash. Night all.
Hugs,
Amy:)
wow Amy, your dd 33 weeks already!
Yes, Ive been with fertility friend since started temping , even joined up to get all the options for 3 months
Im sure the counseling is working, it can take some time to notice the difference :hugs:
must head off, we are off out, regardless of sickness!! So over being in lock down :sunshine:
Cathrine
15-07-2009, 15:31
Nice to see you back Mary (I'm still dripping with envy) and Amy.
Amy it's good to see you start the process to a happier new you. You run around after your family all the time so a little navel gazing and TLC for yourself is perfect.
Hi Mary - glad you had a lovely holiday. Wrangling two children on a flight could be ugly - lol.
Hi Vicki - do you take EPO every day?
I'm just back from the doctor and it was a pretty sobering conversation (as usual). I've decided to do one more cycle. He suggested egg donation which would push the odds up from practically zero to over 60 or 70%. I'm not sure how I feel about that and he said I have to consider if I want a child or I want my child. I think I'm a bit iffy about having no biological connection to the child. Anyway, I will ponder.
Better scat. I planned to do a million things today and of course - just the doctor's appointment!!
Take care.
Cat
quitecontrary
15-07-2009, 21:03
Oh Cat, what a conversation. Before you start another cycle go and get started on acupuncture will you? Or do I have to find you in "real life" and drag you to a practictioner in person? At least I think they will talk up your chances a bit more than the average Doc!
Amy - glad to hear you're having counselling - hope you start feeling like you're getting something from it. How exciting to think your grandchild is so near to making its appearance in the big wide world! So glad that Brittany is going well, its seems like a long time ago that she was living with you all again - and here she is set to become a Mum herself with a whole new life in QLD.
Vicki - hope you're all feeling better at your place!
All isi well here, will post properly soon - this buhub thing is going very slowly here today and is driving me to distraction.
Cat: Hope the decision on which path to take comes easy for you hun and leads you to your BFP xx
Mary; not better, i actually got worse before better, just getting over a bout of tonsillitis ! hopefully 100% by time comes to ovulate which is expected early next week if not sooner
sorry so short, really not feeling too great just yet and trying to rest as much as possible with a little one!
Cathrine
18-07-2009, 20:02
Hello Ladies, hope you're well.
Hi Mary - you have convinced me completely. I have found a place in the same building as the clinic and among other regular treatments, they do a before and after treatment with the embryo transfer. I'll see them in the next week or so and start a plan of attack.
How are you and yours - all well?
Hi Vicki - you sound a mess - are you feeling any better? When do you ovulate next?
I'm on my Saturday night fix of Harry Potter. Went to the rugby today and had a fabulous meal, sat in the sun and had a couple of beers. Unfortunately now, not sure I'm going to last to the end of the movie- lol.
Cat
Cat: Am feeling much better since that post, i started to pick up the next day, even went and did a few hours work friday then out yesterday to the Museum again
yay, glad your going for the acupuncture hun, hope it does the trick
I got lent a clear blue fertility monitor and got my "peak" this morning which means ovulation any time from now to 36 hours or so..awesome machine, so much easier to read than opk's, it leaves no doubt for you as reads for you and reads more than lh
also got a temp dip which usualy comes the day before Ov
so hoping this month is the one..ill be 46 next month and time to think if I should even continue :(
Cathrine
19-07-2009, 15:26
That sounds like a fantastic gadget Vicki. Good luck with it. What date is your birthday?
forgot to say..a very low key one for me this year as ds2's bday is the same day and he turns 18 so making a bigger fuss than usual
also have dh's on the 16th!
Cathrine
21-07-2009, 21:10
Hi Vicki,
Cripes, you certainly clump your birthdays together! How are you feeling?
Cat
Hi Cat,
A little tired from coughing all night but will survive
dh is sick again !
I went to work today to fill in for ds2 and will probably go all week while he recovers.
Thats okay i need the money and its terribly cold and wet here so may as well be work and make up for it next week when hopefully the sun is shining more
Im about 2 dpo now so all fingers are crossed! :thumbsup:
How are you??
Cathrine
22-07-2009, 22:49
Well Vicki, we have certainly swapped the weather! We had a glorious 24 degs today - just lovely.
Are you feeling better?
I'm very well thanks, but in the middle of a punch up with uni. A bit fed up with everything going bung. Another woe is me moment - lol.
Heya Cat!
Aw hope things improve uni :hugs:
Yes we are MUCH improved, today was the 1st day ive felt 100%! DS2 is a bit better tonight, finally out of bed and in the lounge...as far as he got lol
He did get it bad though. Katie is well, dh is 98% well and me totally
Only did 1 hours work today but quite a bit for tomorrow and sunny weekend coming so will be nice to get out!
Off out Saturday night kiddie free ( shes off to mums for a sleep over ) and then a lay in Sunday woohoo!
best away bed, damn work! lol
Cathrine
23-07-2009, 21:54
Hi Vicki,
Glad to hear that you are all on the mend.
I caught up with a girlfriend this afternoon for a coffee and as we parted, she mentioned she's got swine flu! I could have killed her, but then again, I wouldn't mind some time off work - lol
oh dear, do hope you manage to avoid it though, its a prety nasty flu I hear! Im pretty sure thats what ds2 has/had, ive never seen a flu hit that hard. He even needed a hand to walk to the loo the 1st day he had it he was so bad! He couldnt stand on his own.
Katie woke coughing last night and vomited..twice! so not sure of our night out tomorrow now :(
quitecontrary
24-07-2009, 19:59
Hello again!
Been MIA really, though reading your posts.
Vicki - I know the coughing then vomiting routine, its not a fun one. When G had her ikky cough thing she did it a couple of times, but not two nights running - if that makes sense. You are right, unless there is a huge improvement you don't want to chance it for someone else.
Cat - hope you don't get the flu. Although I know you and the desire for time off from work!!
Well, it seems the UTI lurgy is still lurking here. I cracked and went to the Doc today, and am on a course of superstrong yet acceptable for bf-ing antibiotics. I hope they work better than the last course I took. I also hope that little To has no reaction to the additive in his milk. Oh well, I have a script for stuff for him if he does get oral thrush. He's pretty resiliant though I think!
Genevieve is just fine. I realised the other day when she didn't have a run in the park that it is essential to her having an afternoon nap. Plus she has so much fun down there! Whilst I was at the Doc's today dh put the child seat on the back of his bike, apparently they were riding around the back yard much to Toby's amusement! I think tomorrow we have to get her a bike helmet so they can go out roaming the neighbourhood - we have some great bike paths nearby!
So, thats about us in a nutshell at the moment.
Mary: aw can just picture the bike riders, very cute. Melts my heart when see a man with the little one on the baby seat riding round..
Cat: How are you love? Hope you avoided the dreaded flu
Dear Kate is sick...again! Ive been up a few times and awake since 430am listening to her try to sleep but the cough not letting her, until 7ish when she cried out in frustration..so we decided getting up was hte only option..
So, no night out for me..ah well, my baby comes first, can go out any night
im now 6 dpo so not long now to see if that changing days of clomid did the trick
seems to be just us again....There was a lovely influx of ladies joining here then gone again??
quitecontrary
25-07-2009, 20:54
Vicki - I hope Kate is feeling a bit better today - it is so awful when they are that ill. Sorry that your night out has been postponed but it can't be helped. Hope the clomid is doing what its meant to this time around!
We had a lovely day out today (after a hellish morning with Miss G). We went into the Quay and caught a ferry over to Mosman - G loved it, T relaxed, fed and slept, and for dh and I it was a little trip down Memory Lane!! When we met he lived at Kurraba Point, his apartment had the most amazing view of the bridge, city, opera house and fort denison - it was hard to give up that lease but there was no way we could've lived in a studio apt!! So we had a great old time, including icecreams at the quay on the way back to the car!
Thanks Mary, Shes a little worse tonight, still trying to be her happy self through it all as usual
Her eyes are all gunked up now and really red the poor thing but not seeming to be bothering her..
Your outing sounds wonderful! You really do have lovely weekends, even in winter lol
I tend to hibernate winter as i hate the cold so much..and this sickness here everywhere hasnt help
ds2 is still pretty bad @ day 4..a tiny tiny bit better so I will most likely be filling in again for him next week
Im so tired....ive barely recovered my self and yet working, cleaning, cooking, shopping and dd and sick men so dh has annoyed me tonight as he seems think woe is me im sick and grumpy and not helping me one bit...seriously! :banghead:
Kate has gone to bed early as she was awake early, think ill head for a early too very very soon
quitecontrary
25-07-2009, 22:00
Vicki - have you seen that "Man Cold" comedy clip doing the rounds on FB etc? Its hilarious, the fellow calls the ambos because he has a cold and his wife didn't come quickly enough, the wife is given strict instruction on how to treat her man and when she says she has a cold too the reply is "Haven't you heard of lemsip?"
I think Sydney winters are so much milder than the Perth variety, though when I've visited in summer its just so great. We do try and get out and about on the weekends - tend to try and make the most of it!! Plus we all benefit from the adventure!
Cathrine
26-07-2009, 20:22
Hello Germy Ladies,
My only malady is a dose of menstruation and apathy, but I've found a glass of wine and a big packet of Smarties and I'm watching a silly movie - all good!
Mary - your outing sounds lovely. A view to die for but imagine trying to squish all of you into a studio, might be fun for a night...
Why might Toby get thrush - from your antibiotics? Hope you're feeling better.
And Vicki, I thought you and yours were getting better!!! I do love the man flu ad. Men are such babies. What's next for you?
I don't really want the flu, and I feel mildly ripped off as a of friend of mine at work had it, but didn't manage to infect anyone. I have tomorrow off which is good because I've lost my Bledisloe Cup tickets so if I can't find them, I imagine it will be a stat dec to Ticketec.
Hope you're all very well soon.
Cat
Cat: chockies,wine and a good movie. good combo. :thumbsup:
im 8dpo tomorrow, testing starts! I have been having very strong cramps since 2 days ago and getting stronger, sore boobs as well, all good signs so fingers crossed ladies!
Im just hoping i dont get this flu..i dont think i could handle another
kates coughing in her sleep :(
best go
Cathrine
28-07-2009, 21:59
Hi Vicki - how did you go?
Cat
quitecontrary
29-07-2009, 20:17
Hi Cat and Vicki - and those of you that read this and don't post!!
Cat - you are right, T could've had a reaction to my medication, but so far so good! He's a little trooper that one! And the image of us all living in a studio apartment is not a good one, even staying in a motel room together is a scarey thought.
All is well here, antibiotics are doing their job this time around which is just as well.
I took the kids down to Story Time at the local library and it was great. Toby was more wrapt in the stories than G was, but she enjoyed herself a lot, made a mobile, sang some songs, watched a little dvd - fun all round.
Dh is so busy with his work at the moment its scary. The two other partners are both out of the country and websites are going live that they have been working on so he's a bit frantic. Thai takeaway is the order of the evening!!
HI Ladies
nothing to tell yet sorry Cat
bfn so far but only 10 dpo so still in with a chance
Mary: Hope dh gets to slow down again soon.
hope you enjoyed your thai! envious!
Kates quite ill, back up the hospital tonight for fluids as her throat was so sore she wouldnt drink and got dehydrated
alls well now tho, dosed up on panadol and nurofen so she would drink which she has and off to bed after a nice bath to hopefully sleep well
Cathrine
02-08-2009, 17:28
Hope you're well.
Vicki, Katie sounds like she's in a bit of a mess. Is she feeling any better?
Hi Mary - story time sounds like a lot of fun. Is it a regular thing? Glad to hear that Toby is back to normal and hopefully dh's workload will ease.
I had a lovely lazy weekend, and now starting the Sunday night ritual for work and such. Hopefully this glorious weather continues.
Bye for now.
Cat
Hi Cat, nope shes still quite sick, right at this time shes been sick twice from the constant coughing, shes not eaten for 5 days her throat is so sore
I know cos its the same flu we all had
She akesd for bed at 530 and 40mins later shes still coughing and trying to sleep
Ive tried everything! vaporiser, medicines, vicks vapor rub..Eventually she will stop but it just breaks my heart while she suffers till it does.
We have sunshine here too now so we were out side for a little bit today which was nice, also having the doors and windows open to let some fresh but not freezing air in finally!
ive been testing negative..well some questionable lines but maybe evaps..i dont know, af due today and no sign so waiting now see what happens, at the moment its the last thing on my mind
Im mentaly and physically exhausted,
3 weeks, i was sick, dh was sick, then ds2 ( and i worked his place for him while i was still recovering) and now kate and ive had no help
mum and dad are both down with it too
oh, sorry for the very whingy post.
not in a very happy mode today
quitecontrary
02-08-2009, 21:23
Hello!
Cat - ah the Sunday night getting ready for the week thing - I remember that. Even years later there's the 'school tomorrow' feeling that I've never been able to shake.
Storytime is a new thing for us, its on every tues and wed down at the library so I am going to try and get us there once a week - its the same story etc on both days apparently.
Vicki - hope you're all all all feeling better soon. How awful that must be when the whole household slowly gets knocked down with illness. We're yet to experience that properly, though I have to admit we had a few days of us all being crook when we came back from England via Thailand 18 months ago. There was no one else around to bring over a care package at all either. So much not fun when you are the prime carer.
We have had a lovely weekend. Yesterday we went down to watch our nephew play soccer - he's 10 - so that was a bit of fun and Genevieve had a great old time charging around with my eldest niece. Mum and Dad had invited us down for lunch today - but then the invite came to stay last night as well, so that was great too. We had a very busy day down there today with my little sis and her dh and dd, and our good friends from the bush were in town too. They hadn't met Toby before so that was lovely for them. He's at such a delightful stage at the moment, lots of chattering and big smiles - a real joy to be with! G had a great old time with her cous, she fell asleep on the way back here and hasn't stirred.
Dh's boxes arrive from his parents place tomorrow. The house sale was finalised on Friday - so its the end of an era in so many ways. I don't know how he has kept such a level head about it all - I'm a wreck just thinking about his Mum still.
Enough on all that.
I should really be getting ready for bed - G will probably wake at a ridiculous hour tomorrow.
quitecontrary
06-08-2009, 20:53
Come out, come out where-ever you are!!
Hope you're all okay!
Would love to hear from some of you again!
We are fine! In the process (kind-of) of booking our next two holidays - a week up the coast at the end of September and the Trip to England just after Christmas. The fares are so cheap at the moment it would be silly not to have it booked before the end of the month. I suppose we'd better wait on that one til dh talks to his sis, as we will be spending most of the time at their place I suppose. It will be such a mixed-feelings trip for us all, but I think it will do me and dh the world of good to go back, he needs to see his Dad and the rest of the family - and everyone needs to meet Tobias!!
The boxes from England have been a hoot! I am using a new(ish) apple Mac laptop, we have every type of cutlery imaginable, some beautiful serving dishes with lids that were dh's great grandmothers, pewter plates, a new dinner set - the list goes on! Most of the unopened boxes have books in them apparently so I think we've stalled til the weekend now.
Amy - when are you going up to Queensland? I hope everything is going well with you!!
I think I am really going to have an earlier night tonight, I even had a nap this afternoon - for some reason I am exhausted - oh, I know - its the two "two and under" phenomena!!
Looking forward to some news soon - I have been resisting talking to myself here all week!!
Cathrine
07-08-2009, 21:26
Hello Ladies,
Very annoyed here! I've discovered over the past week that several people I work with have had swine flu AND NO ONE GAVE IT TO ME! Actually I don't want it, I'd just like to be mildly contaminated and we're all sent home.
Vicki - how's your baby girl going? Hopefully all the coughing has stopped. And what's news with your nether regions...
Mary - what fun with the boxes! I imagine it will be an enormously emotional time for dh to go home for the first trip, but a new baby will work wonders for everyone's heart.
The fares at the moment are unbelievable. The first time I went to the UK more than 20 years ago and before deregulation, the fare was $2,500! For some airlines, that would be the round the world fare now.
Ciao for now
Cat
quitecontrary
07-08-2009, 22:27
Cat - I did laugh at your swine flu - or lack thereof - dilemma!
You are right, the trip back at the end of the year will be full-on, though dh is so level and "english" that he won't show anything much. I'll be the wreck, with tears on meeting up and tears on departing with all of his family. I know what you mean about the fares - we usually fly Qantas but the fare we are looking at with Asiana (thats right, who??) is amazing - at least half of what Q has on their website for the same time. Plus you get a night in Seoul which is somewhere we haven't had a stopover! Now everyone sing along "Its got a Seoul kind of feel to it!!" as opposed to "one night in Bangkok" which we've done twice!!
Oh hahaha, I break myself up!
Trust you are all okay and have fabby weekends planned! We've had a good start to ours already - went out to dinner at a fish place near dh's work, as G said she wanted to go to a cafe. It was great, a restaurant at the back of a fish and chip shop run by greeks, the food was fantastic, there was no-one else dining in and G danced around to Greek music for ages!! So a really lucky find!
Sorry ladies, have been popping on to read but still getting over those 3-4 weeks of illness here, starting to feel human again now. Just exhausted from being sick myself, and working in ds2's place and then playing nurse (and more fill in for ds) to him and Kate for 2 weeks!
anyhow we all nearly there
Cat: lol sorry to hear didnt even get a wiff of swine flu so you could go home but really love, im sure your glad you seem to have avoided it??. I do think thats what we all had and oh my! It was bad, the worst flu i have ever seen, Ive even had pnemonia and recovered quicker from that!
lol Mary, nice tunes! The coming trips sound like fun and will be so nice for yous to catch up with everyone and meet the little ones.
No news re: ttc. AF is awol AGAIN! Looks like late ovulation , which annoys me as takes me 2 cycles to everyone elses 1 to try get the egg :(
anyhow off to the FS 24th so hopefully something can be done
Just received both taxs and family allowance back pay so cashed up ready for the birthdays etc lol
Amy: Hope you and family are well hun
Do pop on and let us know soon xxx
Seems everyone else has gone too! We had a few new ones join to only dissapear ?
anyhow, loads to catch up on, have only just felt like cleaning so house is a mess :(
Am starting one room at a time and a total cleanout/makeover. Lounge and ds's room done and tomorrow will tackle bathroom!
Cathrine
09-08-2009, 22:35
Hi Ladies, hope you're all well.
Hi Mary - I don't really want to be ill, just a little leisurely - lol. Had a lovely lazy weekend, ate, napped and watched dvds. Should actually be studying, but it all seems too strenuous.
I'm a Qantas gal too, and I'll wear the extra charge domestically, but for international flights it's becoming an enormous difference in the price. I'm still tossing up whether to go back to Europe this year or leave it until next year. Is Asiana a new airline?
I love the sound of the Greek cafe, I had dinner on Norton St the other night and as we walked back to our cars, all the noise was coming from the Greek restaurants, always sounds like a party.
Hi Vicki, how are you all feeling? Everyone better yet?
You're on the ball with your tax. I haven't put mine in yet. I've been good for the last few years but before that I did 7 years in one go and 4 years before that. I was punished badly with the 7 year one where they fined me which is incredibly rude because they owed me money.
Fingers crossed for the FS visit. What sort of things might she suggest?
Ciao for now.
Cathrine
I had the online tax all filled ready to go Cat, all had to do was enter the wage data once we got the certs and submit heh
Im not sure what if anything the FS will do now
Im actually trying to sit it to the back of my mind for now and hope I wont need it as will / have ovulated and caught the eggie, im 46 in 10 days and not feeling too great about it all actually, feeling very down of late
did i show our new member of the family
http://www.new.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2347730&l=081cdd37ab&id=707438716
saved by pet rescue from the owner drowning him :(
I adopted him on friday
quitecontrary
11-08-2009, 10:28
Vicki - what a cute little kitten!! What fun, I bet Kate thinks its the best thing out! You have done well getting your tax done - I'm a bit with Cat with the slacker returns, but now that dh is on the case I'm sure I'll be getting my returns in on an annual basis. Especially with the kid-money, we get it with our returns.
Cat - Asiana is a korean airline, not sure if its a really new one here. There are so many different airlines out there. We still haven't booked, waiting I think til my sis-in-law and her partner come back from their little jaunt to Venice, obviously an important part of the 6 weeks recovery from his op. Plus we need to make sure they want us to come!! Actually, there's no question of that!
Everyone else here has a dreadful cold. T is back in bed (which is quite the usual for him, lucky boy!) and G is in front of ABC Kids. I've decided we're not going to storytime or fairy ballet this week - she is not well.. I think we might even cook some cupcakes - that will make her a happy little camper!!
Cathrine
11-08-2009, 21:15
Vicki - Georgia is gorgeous and I hope they prosecute the revolting owner!
I'm sure I've already lost my group certificate, but I'll try and get everything together this week and send it off. Is everyone feeling better?
Hi Mary - how did you b-i-l's op go? All good? Cup cakes are the best medicine for kidlets (and me :)).
How long will you go for?
Cat
quitecontrary
12-08-2009, 21:41
Hi Cat! My b-i-l's op went fine apparently, he was only in hospital for 2 nights then home with a catheter for I think 2 weeks. The op went for 5 hours and there was less cancer than they thought there would be, which I suppose is a good thing. He'll be having chemo or whatever starting in a couple of weeks I think, well, after the post-op assessment. I think here in Aus they are a lot more pro-active for cancer testing. At least on the pamphlet I picked up on prostate cancer at the Drs the other day it said for blokes to start having tests annually at 50, and 40 if there is a family history. Whereas I know my s-i-l pushed for her partner to have the test in the UK and the Dr was all, oh no that wouldn't be necessary. My b-i-l will be 50 in Dec. Must get dh to get tested, as it is in his family apparently. Enough on all that!
The cupcakes were a raging success - G took some with her over to the cousins - and the rest are in the freezer. I didn't even try one - the weightwatcher mindwashing must be working to some extent, though I have to say I just had to have a few of dh's crisps as those english people call them!!
More news soon from some more of you please!!
quitecontrary
12-08-2009, 21:42
ps we will go away for about a month I think - have to be back in time for term at preschool for Genevieve!!
Cat: Kittys name is sweetpea. Where did georgia come from lol ? tho that is a cute name I would prefer lol
And yes katie adores him and he adores her! He even has DH and hes not a big animal lover, so Ilove this guy more than ever if he can manage that lol
quite amazed he follows Kate everywhere and lays beside her often, usualy they avoid toddlers but then again she is pretty gentle. It took till today for her to actually pick him up and she did it perfectly, i think she was worried before now
Where are you in regards to ttc love?
yep everyone is MUCH better and it feels great!
Mary: ah glad bil's op went ok. I agree to get dh in there for a quick check especially if it is in the family, peace of mind after all :thumbsup:
Hows the family today, feeling better?
Remember me?? It's been a while. Guess what?!:bfp: BFP!!!!
I can't believe it. We HAD given up seriously, I still can't believe it at all....OMG:smiliedance::smiliedance::baby:.
I hope it sticks! Worry, worry....
I am 45 and 5 months old. IT IS POSSIBLE!!
Tabby keep your chin up, thinking of you.
Just did home test this morning, I am so in shock.
Bye,
Tracey.
oh my gosh tracey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That is wonderful news! happy and healthy 9+ months hun
You give me such hope hunny.thankyou xxx
How far along do you think you are?
Did you do anything diff this cycle?
give me all the goss! hahaha
surprisebub
15-08-2009, 08:57
Tracey a hugh congratulations to you :smiliedance:
Here is to a healthy and worry free 8 months (guessing you would be around 4 weeks).
I was 45 and 6 months when i fell pregnant (a scary 46 next month), so i think this is the year for us older ones to get our wishes.
Tabby you are next :thumbsup:
Sorry i have been MIA for so long, but have been working 7 days aweek and when i get home i am just too tired to do anything, can honestly say i don't ever remember being this tired when pregnant with my other children, mind you my last child is now 15. My work will be finishing in a few weeks so then will have time to do a proper catch up, the only reason i am not at work today is because i am going to my bosses daughters wedding today, just hope i can stay awake for the reception as i am hard pushed nowadays to be awake after 9pm.
Tania
Tania: Lovely to hear from you again
Hope the next few weeks until your time off work is easier on you :hugs:
how far along are you now?
Am having what I hope is ovulation any day now after another long drawn out cycle :(
Been taking evening primrose oil tablets and my gosh do they make a good job of ewcm as hoped so hopefully is all I needed
Back to the FS on the 24th
Cathrine
15-08-2009, 22:03
Hi Vicki - very pleased to hear that you are finally better - it's taken a while. I have no idea where I got Georgia from. Have you a Georgia in your photo album - lol.
Hi Mary - glad to hear bil's news. That sounds far better than the initial prognosis. Send dh off to the doc. I remember having a hilarious conversation with my father years ago nagging him about going to the doctor for a prostrate check. He spun around and asked if I had regular pap smears - we both looked at each other and retreated to our corners - lol.
Congratulations Tracey on your news and I hope Tania you've managed to stay awake for the wedding.
Cat
Cat: ahhhh There was a reply on that pic from a FB friend named Georgia :laughing:
Hows things with you?
happy weekend all
Still in shock!:eek: I rang dh at work, and when I asked if he was sitting down....he thought I'd smashed the car.
He is rapt as we have had no luck since dd2 and she's 6 and a half!
I have doctor appointment today...did second home test as well , both positive. Thought I was seeing things.
Am a bit concerned as stopped taking folic acid , am back on now though! Anyone else been off folic acid and conceived?
Well, am wondering what tests are available these days .... don't really want to have amnio due to miscarriage risk.
I think I'm around 5-6 weeks, will seriously calculate later.
Nipples very sore, a bit cranky and tired.
Will talk later after appt.
Thanks for the congrats. Thanks especially for being there.:hugs:
Tracey.
quitecontrary
17-08-2009, 13:53
Tracey - Congratulations to you!! Here's to a good, healthy pregnancy and a wonderful new baby!
I love you asking your dh to sit down, and him thinking you'd smashed the car! Don't worry about the folic acid, you're taking it now! It wasn't that long ago that no-one was taking it. I just had the nuchal translucency test with my two, but I think if I was going to have another I would have an amnio or cvs - but thats just me. I got in enough strife from my midwife relatives not having the further tests with both my babies.
Hope all goes well at the Docs!
Everything is fine here, I'm just waiting for Toby to settle down for his afternoon nap. For some bizarre reason I took them both to the supermarket today - well, not that bizarre, T needed more nappies and the situation was getting dire. I take my hat off to anyone who takes both kidlets to the supermarket on a regular basis. If I had to, I can tell you now I'd be doing my groceries on the internet! Dh does most of the groceries, and usually he takes G - but things have been tooooo busy lately.
Hope all is well with you all!
Just trying to work out what tests to have dr. recommends amnio. Hate the thought of invasive needle! The risk of miscarriage scares me too. The nuchal translucency will do for starters....then amnio maybe if I'm high risk.
So now it's sit and wait thru the risky first few weeks. I am nervous, but:fingerscrossed:!
Thanks Quite Contrary for the congrats and lovely comments!!:)
Told dds yesterday, they were really great...they are hoping all goes well too. My brother and sister got a shock, but are happy for us.
Mil shocked too, worried about down's etc. Sil said sh_t!
Well, better do something for the day!!
Bye for now,
Tracey.:hugs:
Very quiet here of late
Tracey: Has the news sunk in yet lol
Traci: What are you up to love?
Amy: hope your all well
Mary: Hows the family?
off to my FS today...long cycle again but am sure have ovulated so blood test i had other day for results hopefully confirms i have
was too early for hcg at only 4dpo tho
need to see what we do now if not pregnant :(
quitecontrary
24-08-2009, 14:17
Hello! Yes, Vicki, it is quiet times on this thread at the moment! I am looking forward to a flurry of posts soon!!
All is well with us, nothing much to report really, we're just going along in the usual manner! Toby ate dirt and grass for the first time today - which is an accomplishment of some type I suppose!! We were all out in the garden and he had rolled off the mat and had a mouthful of garden matter pretty quickly! I was pegging out the washing and G was in a daze. He didn't like it very much, nor the process of getting it out of his mouth! I don't think it will be too long til he's crawling, it is quite funny to see him trying his darnedest to move in a different fashion.
Dh's work partners are both back from their breaks this week - it will be a relief to get my husband back from this constant working scenario. I find it rather dull to say the least.
Must away and settle the bub, he is making an awful racket!
Hi Mary, LOL at Toby and his dirt eating. crawling soon? How old is he now?
yay for having dh back a bit more :yelclap:
Well set back to 4dpo, blood tests confirm Ov was last thursday
af due 14 days from then,,3rd sep?
IF not pregnant and she shows its on to 150mg clomid and blood work daily from cd14 to pin point Ov and bd as much as possible soon as they call me
Its called monitored Ovulation.
heres hoping i wont needs it though
Have been worried due to spotting over the last few days ....seems to have stopped:fingerscrossed:.
Anyone else had spotting during pregnancy? I never have , hence the worry.
Morning sickness has settled in (great):barf:
Hope you're all well.
We are house hunting, had our hearts set on one , but too dear.
Bye for now,
Tracey.:)
Tracey its not uncommon to experience spotting in early weeks so try not to worry as hard as that is.
and yes I did, twice with Katie and it wasnt spotting it was bright red gush and I thought I was losing her at 7 weeks and again at about 12 weeks.
oh and morning sickness for you is a very good sign the hormone levels are still rising! As crappy as ms makes you feel it can be a good reassurance things are going as planned
:fingerscrossed: its nothing to worry about xxx :hugs:
Ive forgot to say yesterday, i have 4 months supply of 150mg clomid on script and decided if not successful by the end of them...december?
then am calling it a day ttc, will have a damn good cry and move on.
so i have 5 cycles counting this one...
He did mention IVF but we just dont have that sort of money :( so I need this to work!
Thanks Tabby.
Will try not to worry. Spotting started again today...:confused:
At least it's only spotting right??
Wait and see I suppose.
Hi to everyone:wave:
We are trying to decide whether to rent or buy, big decision! At least either way we get a new place to live!!
Bye,
Tracey.
Spotting is very normal in a lot of women no matter of age. Hopefully its just baby digging in nicely but do take it easy for now wont you :thumbsup:
Cathrine
26-08-2009, 20:19
Hello Ladies,
Hi Mary - I can do a one up on the Tobester! My mother was used to me regularly trying to ingest dirt, but she drew the line, and the gagging commenced, when she had to fish out snails. The thought of it now makes me ill. Glad to hear that things are settling down for you and dh is around more.
Hi Vicki - how are you? Just looking back at your posts and see that you are continuing the adventure at least until December. How are you feeling? Good to see that you are all feeling better.
Cat
HI Cat!
Yep hes given me 4 rounds so once they are gone..heres hoping i wont need them at all though.
lol and ew @ the snails haha
what are you up to with ttc news?
Cathrine
30-08-2009, 20:08
Hope you're all well.
You know how I've been carrying on like a pork chop about retiring? Well I have my wish (temporarily).
Five sleeps to go before I'm unemployed!!! I've taken a redundancy from work and finish up on Friday - woo hoo!
Hi Vicki - how are things going for you? What's your next step?
Hi Mary - what have you and your horde been up to?
Do you remember those little potato balls called pomme something? I've just spent the few minutes chasing them around the kitchen. Pays to pay attention to what is in your hands when you walk...
Cat
quitecontrary
30-08-2009, 21:35
Cat its a dream come true for you!! I hate to say it, but in your case - What Fun!! Hope you managed to round up those little tattie balls!!
All is well here, we have had a very busy weekend. Yesterday was Dh's best friend's (in Aus) birthday celebration - or Festival as I was calling it! We went out to brunch in a cafe in Surry Hills, and G got to have that babycino she's been talking about for days now, and dance around and scream in the manner of someone who was rather overexcited! Dh and I went out again in the evening for the birthday drinks. It was fun to be out amongst it again - it is soooo long since I've been in a bar, and there is a good reason for that it seems! My little sis minded the kids and they were up nice and early in the morning!!
Today we went to another pals "End of PhD" barbecue - which was lovely. They have two little girls, and there were quite a few other little ones there, as well as their parents - and a few people without kidlets. Luckily G fell asleep in the car on the way over, and continued to sleep in the car, as did dh! They were both much more sociable when they did join the party!! Toby had his nap in the midst of it all.
There have been no more dirt eating experiences for Tobes - I don't think snails would stop him either Cat! Though I did spy him this morning trying to eat the leg of one of G's little tables. We got some farex for him today, so I think he might be trying it on his 6 month half birthday. I made him some rusks this morning - and he seemed to enjoy the one he ate.
So, I think thats us just about up to date.
Hope all is well with all of you!!
Cat, Pomme noisettes? yum! but not off the floor LOL
WOOHOO to the redundancy, will you take a longgggg break and return somewhere later?
Mary: gosh woman do you ever have a lazy weekend? lol
sounds like a awesome weekend
Im 10dpo, so waiting....
will keep yous posted
quick one as dd woke from 4 am on and off and then decided 530am was okay to get up
am pooped!
surprisebub
03-09-2009, 17:40
Hello Ladies,
Sorry for being so slack with posting. Well i have finished work and now have time to start posting on a regular basis.
Tabby - I have been thinking of you and hoping this is your month, hoping that today or tomorrow you get your BFP.
Tracey - Hope the spotting has settled down. How is the house hunting going, have you decided on whether to rent or buy yet?
Cat - Good luck with your last day tomorrow, is it excitment or sadness that you will be feeling tomorrow or both?
Me - Well i am 28 weeks today, bump is quite active at times, generally find the most when i go to bed (hope bump gets this out of it's system by the time it is born). Finding that i need a nana nap around 3pm everyday, not sure if it is pregnancy or old age or a combination of both. Unfortunately had to take my daughter for an appointment and while i was waiting in reception kept nearly nodding off like an old lady lol.
Well i am trying to read back bit by bit to try and get reaquainted with you all, but have a memory of a gnat at the moment so forget everything i have just read.
Hello to everyone else.
Tania
HI Tania! Lovely to hear from you again and do hope we will see more from you
Its been rather quiet here of late :(
Sorry to hear your so tired, am sure its not age related! Even in my 20s I had nanna naps with ds1 lol
Hows the family?
im alos done working for now....am looking in to running a family day care after a bit of a break. Will take me a few months to get it happening anyhow and once going I get to be with dd at work heh
As I temp and chart Im waiting on AF arrival with 2 days of temp drops so Im fairly sure not my month
oh well, hopefully the 150mg clomid will work
Cathrine
05-09-2009, 13:42
The unemployed here! I was flat for the last few days trying to clear up everything and missed my farewell last night! Anyway, I'm now a lady of leisure so I'm very pleased with myself.
I've decided to flick the big holiday and just have a week off now somewhere tropical.
Hi Mary - it is a dream come true however temporary! I see you're still the social butterfly with all your events. I'd be incapacitated if someone tied up my arms while I was talking. You'd be incapacitated if you lost your diary! Hope all is well and Toby stays away from the snails. I'm babysitting tonight and little Joe is looking forward to his babycino while I'm looking forward to vino not cino.
Hi Vicki - have you started on the next round of clomid yet? I hope Katie isn't starting a habit of the early morning wake ups - I'd have to kill her. I'm beyond hope of being a morning person. Actually I'll have to strive to become an afternoon person.
Hi Tania - I'm very happy about it. Very sad to leave some people and there was a few tears all around which of course started me off, but you always keep in contact with the good eggs so it will be fine. I'm not even pregnant and I can nod off in a warm spot! Glad you're feeling well.
Off to internet travel land and see what I come up with.
TTFN
Cat
Ooooh Sounds nice Cat! Let us know what you decide on.
Nothing here, truly am wondering if should give it up. 60 day cycle again, i think its over for me
Ive had af like cramps and back ache since yesterday am but still she refuses to show so I can get on to more clomid. :(
I dont know what to do , keep hoping for something that has no chance?
quitecontrary
05-09-2009, 19:43
Oh Vicki, big hugs to you!
Cat - glad to hear that things finished up well for you, and you're planning a week in the sun! I highly recommend it! We're off to Yamba again at the end of the month, I cant wait. Rest assured we are having anpther busy weekend, though not as crazy as last weekend - lunch at my parents today and the Father's Day afternoon tea with the tribe at our place. I'm looking forward to it - G just loves a party! Can you tell she is my daughter?
Toby had his Half Birthday yesterday! Can you beleve he is 6 months old? And yes, we are having a special party for him next weekend!
I'm in Perth in my 40s and just had number 3 (4 months old)
HI ccwa1! and welcome
Hope youll join us here
congrats on your little one
Im also perth (SOR) in my 40s and ttc one more (no4)
dd is 2 and a half.
Im not well today so a very short post as didnt want cc to think she was alone :wave:
back when im recovered
Happy 6 months Toby!!!!!!!!!!!!
surprisebub
07-09-2009, 19:35
Hi ccwa1 and welcome, I am also a newish member here and really hopeless at keeping up and posting, but just thought i would come in and say welcome and congratulations on the birth of your baby, i unfortunately am also in my 40's :yes:.
Tabby how are things going for you, i am hoping you can join me soon on the pregnancy merry go round.
Me - Just sitting around getting fatter by the day and also getting lazier too. It's been really hot up here and by the looks of things is only going to get hotter so hate venturing outdoors at the moment. But tomorrow will be taking my daughter into Townsville for lunch for her 19th birthday and to let her buy a birthday outfit from me, thank god for airconditioned shopping centres.
Hope everyone is doing well.
Tania
quitecontrary
07-09-2009, 20:03
Welcome CC! Yes, we're all in our 40s here! All in various stages of motherhood, or mum-in-the-making! As you can tell from my signature I have two little ones, both of whom are just lovely!
Cat - yes, it was another busy weekend! The family party on Sunday afternoon was just great - the kids all had a ball and so did the sisters and brothers-in-law - oh yes, and I think Dad was pretty chuffed to be surrounded by his grandchildren!! My brother didn't turn up, but to be fair I invited him late knowing full well that he works on Sundays with his partner in their Cafe. True to form he didn't ring, text or reply in any manner.
Today was Lazy Monday - which I am loving. G didn't get out of her pjs til after her nap! We went in to the Dr's for my follow up (late) from my kidney infection, and Toby's shots (late too, he's just had his 4 month jabs now!) and I wanted to get G's skin checked out, she had a nasty rash for a while now. So we've all been attended to, at long last!
Tomorrow the week ramps up for us again - Story time and Fairy Ballet!
Hope you're all okay!
surprisebub, hope you enjoy your shopping day out and not too hot for you
Mary: hugs for Toby's jabs.
So did they say what G's spots were?
cc; hope youll join us often here
Cat: Hows things with you?
Katie and I had a 36 hr bug, good god i dont think my bones have ever hurt sooo much! Like every bone and muscle, right down to my toes. woke feeling better this am so hopefully on the up. just as well as the MIL when dh rang her to ask for her help she said nope sorry cant...cow!
dont want ask my parents as they are old and just been through a bad flu as is
Seem to have caught everything this year..
I am now 8 weeks and sick and tired, know I shouldn't complain! All else seems ok, I have my first appt on the 17th...
welcome CC!:)
For those who dont know I'm 45 and a half.
Surprise Bub, I only just noticed that you're far north Qld too! I'm up near Cairns, an hour inland.
I noticed when you said Townsville.
How far along are you? What tests did you have done?
We may be buying a house , signed contract....so hopefully we get finance approved!:fingerscrossed:
I wanted 4 bedroom and this one is only 3, which is silly. But we all love it and it's a good price.
Better go,
Bye for now.
Tracey.:wave:
Hi Tabby,
Glad to hear you're feeling better, I know what you mean with the sickness thing ... we had a year or so where we caught everything its a pain!
My MIL is similar, a mean b--ch. Not one to help either , just criticise!
Hope you all stay well. Where is Amy? I miss her!:confused:
Tracey.:)
quitecontrary
08-09-2009, 17:09
Hello!
Vicki - glad you're feeling a bit better. Sorry to hear your m-i-l is being useless, bit of a shame really.
Tracey - yay to 8 weeks, and a new house, how exciting!!
Well, I have a sooky lad on my knee, just a bit off colour after his jabs. He did sleep so well last night though!! We had a busy morning, youngest niece and my little sis came over to come to storytime and fairy ballet with us, then my youngest bridesmaid met us down there and came back here for a natter which was lovely. G has gone off with the neighbourhood cousins, and T and I are off to weightwatchers later. Exciting life eh?
Hope you're all fine!
Cathrine
09-09-2009, 19:19
Hi Ladies, I hope you're all well.
Hi Mary - how is your sooky boy - feeling better? I'm sure your father had a lovely time surrounded by lots of little people.
Hi Vicki - how are you getting along - health and baby-wise? MILs can be in a class of their own - that's why we have so many jokes about them! And keep in mind, you will be one yourself one of these days lol.
Hi ccwa1 - I'm in Sydney and am 45 and 11.5/12 years old... :)
Hi Tracey - it must hugely exciting about your home! Good luck!
Hi Tania - glad to see the chubbiness is continuing!
I'm off on a holiday on Monday. The travel agent who booked my holiday last year was exasperated with me today and asked if I could plan the next one with a little more notice. lol
Bye for now
Cat
I'm 46, he's 61 and we're going to give it a fly
:eek:
surprisebub
09-09-2009, 20:27
Tracey - I actually live about 45 minutes south of Townsville, i live rural. Been to Cairns once, sad isn't it only about a 5 hour drive, would love to go back up again for a couple of days, i really enjoyed it last time. I will be 29 weeks tomorrow, and basically only had scans and blood tests done, my doctor said judging by the scans and the blood test results he didn't feel that downs syndrome was a concern but he would test further if i wanted him too, but since it wouldn't have made any difference to me we both agreed not to do anymore. Tomorrow i am going to the hospital to have a GTT test which takes about an hour.
Tabby - The shopping trip went well, my daughter wanted clothes so we did a bit of window shopping before finding what she wanted, then she spotted a cd player that she just had to have, and since i am the one who left her other one out in the rain one night thought i best buy her that too, so one very happy daughter. Sorry your MIL is so unsupportive when you obviously could have done with a bit of help.
Cat - Chubbiness is definitely continuing, my son and his girlfriend went to Cairns for the weekend and when they came back she thought that my bump had grown a fair bit and i am afraid i have to agree with her, seriously i wondered how much further my stomach can stretch.
Too Old - Good luck with the TTC, i will be 46 this month so in my opinion you are at a great age :thumbsup:.
Well thought i better start getting a bag organised for the hospital, have managed to buy a pair of pj's that i can hopefully breastfeed in, other than that i have nothing lol, will ask the hospital tomorrow what i am actually meant to bring, hopefully they will have a list i can go off. Time just seems to be flying with this pregnancy, when i was younger and pregnant with all my other kids, time would crawl by.
Well best be moving, have dinner cooking, Italian sausages mmmm.
Tania
Mary: your reading and fairy dance day sounded lovely!
cat: yes am sure I will be a MIL oneday..i hope?
but can tell you I will not be like her and not be there should they need me..ill be in the "i have a awesome mil" group! lol
No baby as yet..on day 5 clomid today
had to use it to kick start me again! no ov, no af, nothing for 60+ days.
I think my chance is over actually but am giving it 3 more cycles of clomid till ending it
what about you???? enjoy your holiday!!! oh where you off to?
too old: welcome! hope you have much success ttc
tell us a bit about your self? :wave:
im also 46 and ttc 1 more
tania: Glad alls well with you and bubs.
we were doing the same, re: scans and bloods and no further as would make no difference as we would continue
the shopping trip sounded fun
well the ils have one more chance to make it up
dh is asking for a small loan to start up my family day care which has potential to earn us $1000 a week if i take in maximum kids and occasional over night stays which am prepared to do so fingers crossed if they cant be there emotionally as they have more money than a bull can poop maybe they will be there financially
quitecontrary
10-09-2009, 22:06
Vicki - fingers crossed your in-laws come forth with a loan for you and yours. There are a few women around here that do family day care, and I see them with their little tribes going down to the park etc. The kids like to have a chat as I've got the double pram as well! One of them has quite the set up in her garden, and new "garage"!
I'm not much chop when it comes to mil discussions, mine was such a sweetheart all the way over there in England, and I know when she was dying the one thing she said she was going to miss was watching her grandchildren grow up. We were lucky that we were able to spend so much time with her with our trips back with G, much more than we would've if you were thinking about Sunday lunches once a month. Now my f-i-l is back in a psych ward as the home he was in was unable to cope with his behaviour. My poor s-i-l is exasperated - and really can't fathom what to do next. I think we are still planning to have about a month away in January - but I don't have the strength to bring it up with Dh, I think he is reeling with the latest developments over there.
Enough on all that.
Today at playgroup I was talking with some of my friends about the "3rd Child" if/when etc. I think Dh and I will have to put it on the agenda once T is one ie whether to try or not and if so, we would be starting ttc then. I don't think I could cope being pg again right now, thats for sure. Oh well, we shall see what happens!
Hope you're all well.
Amy - how are you?? Are you a grandma yet? I hope you at least get a chance to read here sometimes!! We miss you!
Mary; wow thinking of no3 already hey, even if not actually soon but the thinking is there hehe. hope it happens quickly again for you when the timing is right
well good news re fil. He said yes! Hes not sure how much but i have to make a list and costs and he will see what he can do
till then hes agreed to some for rental application! So means the house im looking at saturday if its perfect then will have money now to apply with
cant believe they make you pay one week rent to just apply! and then if you dont get it, take weeks to get it back! Hence why we had to ask fil for that too aqs we dont have the funds to have money locked out for up to 2 weeks at a time
will take me forever to get a house
Ys_Woman
11-09-2009, 06:57
Made it home in one piece last night after adding around 7,000kms to the car in the fortnight we were away.
Arrived in Rocky on Saturday the 29th at lunchtime and Brittany went into labour at 5pm the next day, an hour after her partner reluctantly left for the four hour drive to the mines to start his working week. We didn't ring him til the midwives had checked her out at 7:30pm and advised him to get some sleep but head back at first light. They advised Brittany to go home and drink loads of water, as she was a bit dehydrated, and see if the labour progressed. Some time around 9pm the pains changed in intensity and by 11pm I convinced her to head back to the hospital. We then rang her partner and told him to start driving back that there should be plenty of time *famous last words*. The contractions were becoming almost unbearable by midnight and as she was fully dilated the middy suggested breaking the waters. At 1:28am after a drug-free labour Jake Seth entered the world. His father kept sending texts as he got closer to town but I didn't have the heart to tell him his son was already born. He arrived an hour and a half after the birth and was terribly disappointed that he had missed it.
Jake weighed a respectable 7lb 10oz and was 50cms long with a 33cm head. He had to stay in a day and a half while they monitored him as there had been a small amount of meconium in the amniotic fluid. Thankfully it presented no problems.
So the pics start from here..just hit the right arrow to see them all:
http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/Amypen...31610844290946 (http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/Amypendragon/AmySPublicAlbum?authkey=Gv1sRgCN6198vDlJPeTQ#53797 31610844290946)
We are all fine here. Dane is getting his four canine teeth at once and biting everything and everyone currently. He handled the trip really well even though we were travelling up to 12hrs a day.
Just glad to be home but missing Brittany and Jake so much.
Hope everyone else in here is well. When I have a moment I will do a catchup read.
Hugs,
Amy:)
quitecontrary
11-09-2009, 08:33
So good to hear your news Amy - what a lovely grandson you have, you must be floating on air with such a little man in your life!
More later, have to get the kids ready to head out to the gym/creche and grocery shopping afterwards. We are having a cast of thousands around here on Sunday afternoon it seems, in honour of Toby! What fun!!
surprisebub
11-09-2009, 09:38
Amy i just wanted to say congratulations on the birth of your grandson Jake Seth, i had a look at the photo's and he is absolutely gorgeous.
Amy, you're back!!:yelclap:
CONGRATULATIONS on the birth of your grandson!!
He shares the same birthday as our dd1 and she is just lovely.
My news is that I am 9 weeks pregnant... a big shock after 6 years of trying!!
Just trying to handle the morning sickness thing, not nice.
Hope you've recovered from your big trip....we missed you!:hugs:
Tracey.
Cathrine
12-09-2009, 22:05
Hello Ladies,
Hi Vicki - as they say, it's not over until the fat lady sings. And after trying on a swimsuit this morning and realising that I am now a land-locked beluga, I'm not even trying a whale song. Have you tried acupuncture as Mary swears by? Could make you nice and relaxed and your body working better. How's your house hunting going?
Hi Mary - sorry to hear about your fil. It's such an awful situation especially being so far away. How is your bil? VERY pleased to hear mention of a 3rd...lol. How are your beautiful babies?
Hi Amy - such wonderful news. Congratulations on your new baby boy! How is Jake settling in? It's a great photo of the clan at the hospital. How are you feeling?
I'm off to Palm Cove which is between Cairns and Port Douglas and I'm really forward to it. Unfortunately I forgot I have a hire car (mine is getting some repairs) and it has to be returned Monday morning, but they don't open until 7.30 and I'll be pushing it to have it signed off and to the airport in time. I'll never learn.
Have to scat and put on another load of washing. It's so warm here tonight, I think my clothes will be dry by morning.
Cathrine
Well, bad news . I think I may have lost the baby...won't know till tomorrow , when I can hopefully have an ultrasound.
I had bright red bleeding and a rather large clot as well.
I haven't vomitted since either....so not sure.
Been in the hospital for a while and had gross examination etc.
No ultrasounds here till monday and then I have to travel either 30 mins - 1 hour to go have it!
So dunno yet what's going on..........
Will let you know.
Tracey.
surprisebub
13-09-2009, 14:07
Tracey my heart goes out to you and i am sending you all the sticky vibes i can. Please as hard as it is try and stay positive, i have heard of many women going through exactly what you are and they have gone on to have a perfectly healthy pregnancy, just try to stay calm and relaxed, and remember you are still pregnant until proven otherwise. I will be thinking of you and sending you all my love and best wishes your way.
Tania xxx
Tracey, stay positive love!
I had 2 VERY heavy and very red gushes of blood / then bled for few days after as well twice with Katie, once at about 7 weeks and again at 13 weeks. very scary but do stay hopeful hun, its not always the end
Hope all ends up okay on u/s :hugs:
Cat; enjoy your holiday! think of me here with STILL rain..onto about week 4?.. in a row of raining/gloom
am very over it!
Amy: welcome to your grandson, hes a cutie! :thumbsup:
Mary; Hope your day for Toby went smoothly?
hi surprise bub :wave:
of house hunting again tomorrow..need a bigger house to rent for my day care
much fun! but imagine that will wear off soon lol
quitecontrary
14-09-2009, 09:17
Tracey, I hope everything is okay, my thoughts are with you this morning.
Cat - oh what a lovely place for a holiday!! We called in at a resort for a coffee along the highway between Cairns and Port Douglas and it was stunning! Though where we stayed at Trinity Beach was just lovely too.
Vicki - hope the house hunting is quickly successful!
We are having a pyjama morning today, thank goodness!! Yesterday was just lovely, the party went really well, Toby enjoyed himself as we all did! It was so hot here, but we're lucky this house stays pretty cool. Its hard to believe its only Spring with the temps we've been having!
On Saturday we went and bought a new (to us!) car! A gorgeous 2006 Honda Odyssey, a big change from the 20 year old Magna we've been driving for the past few years. Though I have to say the Magna has been a good car. So, we are heading back out to the dealership this afternoon to say goodbye to Steve (the magna) and drive away in the new car. Can you tell I'm excited?
Thanks everyone for your good wishes, it has meant heaps to me.
Had my ultrasound this morning and everything looks great , our baby is still there little heart beating perfectly!!:yelclap:
My dates are right I'm 9 weeks 2 days today and due on our wedding anniversary!
I went in expecting the worst and could not believe my ears when the girl told me that the baby was still there and heartbeating etc!
It has been a real shock. Dd2 and I went to Maccas to celebrate.
Dunno why the bleeding or the clot though. Wish I knew. Can't get into doctors till Wed.
Thanks again girls.
Much happier now!:hugs:
Tracey.
surprisebub
14-09-2009, 18:38
Tracey that is such good news, i had been thinking about you all day and hoped that you would come on here with good news, i can imagine your relief it must be enormous.
Tania
quitecontrary
14-09-2009, 20:27
Tracey - I am so pleased to hear that everything is okay - more than pleased, thrilled.
We now have our new car - and it is so exciting! Such a fancy-pants vehicle, I can't believe we really have it for keeps!
Tracey thats wonderful news! so glad to log on and see that! :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:
Being so early most likely you will get the same answer I did with both bleeds..no idea! Sometimes wonder though if clots are lost twins especially at our age where multiples are higher but we will never know
Mary: yay for the new car!!! heh it is exciting and nice to own a brand new one though isnt it..enjoy xx
so tired, been out all day house hunting and more to come wednesday..not found one im happy to apply for yet either but i think wednseday should see me do it with almost new 4 x 2's in our price range :thumbsup:
Thought af was here but she decided to just spot and go! so frustrating
I think my time is up to be honest with my self
my body is telling me its over
happybirthday Traci!
Hope you had a great day xx
quitecontrary
17-09-2009, 21:50
Hi there! Just thought I'd better put my head in here and say something!
Not that there's that much to report. Bit of a quiet week for us, both the kids are recovering (I hope) from colds. Been doing a bit of driving around enjoying our new luxury vehicle - we even did the Harbour Bridge trip down memory lane to Kurraba Point on the north side of the harbour after dinner in Chinatown tonight which was lovely. I get the feeling that we will be driving down the south coast on Saturday!
Hope you are all okay!
Cathrine
19-09-2009, 18:56
Firstly, well done Tracey - you must feel so relieved!!!
Steve??? Mary, your car was called Steve? I always copped grief for having a cat called Kevin, but a car called Steve is simply appalling! Palm Cove is just lovely!
Hi Vicki - are you fed up wih house hunting yet - lol. Are you looking in the same area where you are now?
I've been spending a fortune being pampered at the spa here and taking the tourist route. My snorkling trip turned into my first scuba dive and I was in a little gondala over the rainforest yesterday. Ballooning for Monday and I'm trying to get a helicopter flight tomorrow. BEST things to do and you all must if you come anywhere near here, is to Dine with Lions (you're not sure if you're caged or they are) and a thing called Flames in the Forest where we wined and dined in the middle of the forest by candle light under a magnificent tent. All the foreign tourists were squealing when bandicoots were racing around the place.
A blissful holiday that is unfortunately coming to an end. Nearly ended earlier than expected. There's a wedding here tonight and the woman on the next balcony and moi were leaning over to try and catch a glimpse of the bridal party and we both nearly flipped over. Ugly finish to a holiday.
Hope you're all very well.
Cathrine
Cathrine
19-09-2009, 18:57
gondola even - lol
quitecontrary
19-09-2009, 20:34
Hi Cat - sounds like you're having a wonderful holiday! Glad you managed not to topple off the balcony! The car was called steve as its number plate was stv - as you do! This one is BB for same reason though I don't know whether it will stick - can't believe I even think about naming cars! We went down the (near) south coast today just to have a drive through the National Park and along the Sea Land Bridge - which is stunning in any vehicle!
Cathrine
22-09-2009, 12:44
Hi Mary - I tend to name cars as well, but for some reason I haven't named my current one. I haven't been across the bridge yet, but the photos of it look great.
Back from holidays last night and off to uni for a couple of days on Thursday. Then I'll have to be grown up and think about work.
Hope all are well.
Cat
just popping on to let yous know am still around just been busy house hunting, finally got one and we move 2 weeks sunday so probably wont be on much till after i settle in!
been this house for over 10 years so expect a lot to do :(
then soon as in ive my family day care career to start
so hope this post finds everyone well and will come on when can
Cathrine
28-09-2009, 19:26
Vicki - are you in the same area? Well done!
C
hi!
Its about 30 mins away, a fairly new estate so everything brand new and clean and pretty lol
The council is awesome and maintains tons of beautiful parks to perfection and in whole the area is big change for us
hope your well xx
Hi girls, mind if I rejoin you? I came on board with you about 5 months ago, but during the interim I had an early miscarriage then a missed miscarriage at 9 weeks.
Now I'm 40 (due just after my 41st birthday), nearly 7 weeks pregnant and wondering if I will actually drug my children on these very LOOOONG school holidays so I can get some much needed rest and a chance to vomit in peace!:o
Hi bgbg! Long time no see, sorry to hear of your losses (hugs) and hope you have a very sticky one this time round. Got a bit of morning sickness at the moment?
Have acquired a head cold so not a happy girl , last thing I need with so much ahead of me so am hoping its a short one
Cathrine
29-09-2009, 20:41
Sounds lovely Vicki. I've just heard that Perth has had a record 26 wet September days. No wonder you have a cold.
Hi BGBG - welcome back and hope this one sticks nicely!
Cathrine
Yep its been horrid! I know we need the rain but im sooo over it, too much sickness this year too
Hows things with you ?
Hiya girls. Well had my scan yesterday.
I'm sure you're all aware that the odds of having twins rise as you get older. Also they rise if you've had a number of pregnancies previously.
Well looks like the odds are in my favour again.
Its twins!!!!
lol bgbg Thats wonderful hun!!!!!!!!!! congratulations!
Were you shocked? Would explain you serious morning sickness
I was shocked but not surprised, if you know what I mean. After 4 kids already I realised all the signs were so extreme this time. But it's still hard to get my head around....
surprisebub
03-10-2009, 14:31
BGBG congratulations on expecting twins :yelclap:, how exciting for you. Hope you have a great pregnancy without too much m/s etc.
Cathrine
03-10-2009, 20:31
Hi Vicki - the weather is berserk, we've just had the hottest September in 150 years.
Not long now for your move!!!
Congratulations BGBG, wonderful news!
Cathrine
Hi Cathrine, yep the seasons certainly are out of whack arent they
we finally have spring here after so much rain! days of 22 and up for the next week..perfect!
Just sold the swing set ( plus baby swing) on ebay for $177 lol happy with that seeing as brought on special for 199! retails for 299.
Also have a deposit on the old car to hold till tomorrow! Everything is coming together just perfectly :yelclap:
8 days to go! :thumbsup:
quitecontrary
04-10-2009, 19:58
Hello!
Just a quick one!
So good to hear all the exciting news this week - Yay to the new house Vicki and the twins BGBG!!
We had a fabby holiday - and now my little baby is 7 months old (today!) and has a tooth (as of Tuesday) and is up on all fours getting ready to launch into crawling!
More news soon!
Cathrine
04-10-2009, 20:31
Hi Vicki - great news on the selling and moving plans. Have you starting packing yet?
Hi Mary - glad you had a lovely holiday. I can't believe that Toby is 7 months already.
Cat
Cat,I have started packing, over a week ago lol
Not a lot to do now just little bits here and there while we live out of the boxes so I can clean cupboards etc
Mary: happy7 months to Toby and yay to the toothy peg! not long now to crawling by the sounds
Its only 8pm but am off to bed, still choked up with flu and ever so tiring packing and cleaning and weeding without that never mind while sick
Cathrine
07-10-2009, 21:51
Hi Vicki - are you feeling any better? I had a hoot of a night. Have you ever been speed dating - lol.
Cathrine
quitecontrary
08-10-2009, 07:49
Speed dating eh Cat, now thats worth a comment!! Sounds like you had a great time - more details are required though!
We are fine!
More later I am being summonsed by a two year old!!
lol nope I havnt so you need to tell me ALL about it please?!
any worthwhile for follow up? :D
hi Mary :wave:
Cathrine
08-10-2009, 16:56
It was an absolute giggle and if you have any single girlfriends, urge them to go together in a gaggle.
In saying that, I'm devastated (not really). I only made one match and I only picked him, because I was having a laugh thinking what if no one picks me! And that's what happened! Still highly recommended. I laughed for about 2 hours. Only disappointment was I must have gone to a short man's event - lol. Only 2 of them were taller than me.
Any woo, a lot of fun.
How are you pair?
Cat
oh lol are you tall? or were they all just very short!
I dont know if I would have ever had the guts to do that sort of thing, im very shy! Unless Ive had a few drinks lol
had a nice rest day today and another slower one tomorrow in prep for full on Saturdays dismantle of beds etc and rest of the packing
Cathrine
09-10-2009, 13:38
Hi Vicki - I'm not a giant :). I'm 5'7" or 170cms, but I had heels on so in hindsight, that wasn't a great idea for that group.
I've just discovered a pimple on my nose. What age do I have to get to before they stop!!!
I don't envy you moving, I hate it. Good luck with the packing.
Cat
I still manage the occasional pimple! I dont think they will ever stop lol
Thanks xx
Taking it rather easy today just pack a few boxes, tomorrow is the big one to get it ALL pack and dismantled
If I dont see yous here before Ill be back online in about a week when the net on at new place
quitecontrary
09-10-2009, 14:31
Cat - we're almost the same height! Yes, you don't realise how tall you are til you are around a crowd of vertically challenged people! Heels - lord I can't remember the last time I wore a pair of shoes with high heels, though the boots I bought this winter do have quite a heel (for me) and I do like the extra height! Note to self - buy some high heels again!!
I think the pimples stop when the chocolate does!! So there is not much chance for me in the long run it seems.
Vicki hope all those young men you have surrounded yourself with are proving their worth with the packing up of your home. It is so exciting to be going to a new home eh? And starting the process of setting up family day care - what fun!!
How are the rest of you going?
Amy - I trust the mantle of Grandmother-ness is suiting you to a tee, and you are skyping away with Britt et al as often as possible, and scheming your next trip up there, or indeed Britt and bub's to you! I assume that ACT school hols are about the same as NSWs so you will be busy as with your tribe!
All's well here. I am still amazed at our new car, this luxury vehicle thing is ace! We also went out and bought iPhones on the weekend, so now I have a very fancy phone which is driving me to distraction but I am sure it will grow on me! Toby is just about getting there with the crawling thing, it is very funny to watch. Genevieve is still a textbook two year old, absolute delight one minute, screaming banshee the next. I have been told that Three is the New Two by friends who have 3 year olds, so I can't see there being any big changes soon. Oh yes, and I have decided to bite the bullet and do the 3 Day Toilet Training Program, starting tomorrow morning with the ritual throwing out of the nappies (don't worry, we are running down the stocks!). G is going to be beside herself, but I am sure it is going to be fine. I am just looking forward to not changing her nappies any more. I will keep you posted on the progress I'm sure!
Hope you've all got lovely weekends planned!
Mary, all the best with TT.
We had success last week. Now a week later we head out for hours on end with kickers on! :yelclap:
I ended up doing the reward system and worked a treat. 1 lollie for wee and 3 for no2!
I also left her just with a skirt on so was easy to just pull it up and pee without worry of knickers. Once she got that we added knickers and she learnt to hold on . Now we are teaching to wipe herself, so far so good.
No nappys and save a few $!
The boys havnt done much packing, I prefer to do that my way seeing as will be me unpacking. Ive tried to clean everything before packing too so will be all lovely and dust free! lol
But ill be letting them do all the heavy lifting :thumbsup:
snugglibub
09-10-2009, 16:33
Hello, mind if I jump on board?
I'm 43, working married mum of 3, and I'm 14 weeks along with #4, due in April 2010.
quitecontrary
09-10-2009, 19:05
Welcome snugglibub! We would love to have you here on the 40+ "bus"! Congratulations on the pregnancy - heres to a healthy pg and a beautiful baby at the end of it all!!
I'm 41, mother of two, married and at home with the kids!
Vicki - glad to hear you had a good week and got the tt sorted out! I am going to use stickers for G as she is mad on lollies - though a few lollies as a big reward would be loved by her I know! We have a few little toys for "big" rewards. Gosh, its fascinating stuff eh?
welcome snugglibub! and big congratulations, we would love to have you where
Mary, I forgot!! you reminded me, before the lollies was the box of pressies to get it started. She got to choose 1 pres for wee and 2 for poos. Just things from the $2 shop like fairy wand, stickers etc and lasted 3 days and once they were gone we went to the lollies, sugar free of course! lol
Am off to bed and up very early to get the truck and load her up! Will be offline till end week or soon after.
So will see you here again soon as nets on there
Till then take care xxx
quitecontrary
11-10-2009, 20:00
Vicki - how exciting - next time you are "here" you will be "there" in your new place! Glad to hear you were putting the lads to work with the heavy stuff - thats really what I was thinking about!
We have had a great weekend and much success with the tt-ing. I love the program we are using, at least it has given us the tools to get on with it all at the one time. G hasn't been really interested in the rewards though she does generally love stickers, she loves the praise, and I can't tell you how much I love not changing her nappy.
Cathrine
11-10-2009, 21:57
Another pimple! I'm blaming it on the facial I had last week (rather than the Milky Bar I'm eating now...).
Hi Mary - it was a bizarre group considering I'm not incredibly tall. My mother laughed and said the men might be single because they won't go out with taller women. I asked her what my excuse was lol. Glad to hear you're having fun with your new car and phone. I've just bought 3 identical phones for us and they're driving me nuts already so I've flicked them to Dad to work out. Either that or find an 8 year old boy.
What colour is your car? Have you gone for any more scenic drives?
Hi Snugglibub - welcome and I hope you enjoy your visits.
Ciao for now
Cathrine
Still here - still recovering from my op.
Hi snugglibub, sounds like you have your hands full.
Tabby hope the move went well.
Cathrine
15-10-2009, 11:22
Hi Mary - I've just been chatting to Naomi and she said you're a lovely woman. I said no, she's a horror! She asked if you have been telling me to come for the last year, why haven't I. I didn't think telling her I was busy would quite cut it, anyway you'll be pleased to know that I'm seeing her tomorrow.
Hope you're well and the banshee has contained herself...
Cat
Cathrine
15-10-2009, 11:25
Hi ccwa1 - how are you feeling today?
Cat
Been away for a while, been busy moving.
Just got the results of my nuchal translucency and I am apparantely high risk. I knew that would happen because of my age
My results were 1 in 132...anyone else had a similar result? What was the outcome??
Trying to decide about amnio...big decision. Anyone had one??
Hope everyone is well.
Thanks,
Tracey.:hugs:
surprisebub
15-10-2009, 19:14
Hi everyone, once again i have been missing in action, due to complete laziness, mind you i do come in here to read. I have tried to catch up but i am afraid that my memory has gone on holiday and don't think it will return until after bub arrives. I have finally managed to turn the sunroom in to a makeshift babyroom (temporary until my son and his girlfriend move), now just have to move things around in my room to fit the bassinet in comfortably.
It has been really hot up here lately and is getting unbearable, think mainly due to my growing girth. But it is so much hotter up here now than it has been in the previous years. Today i haven't had the energy to do anything, and i am in the foulest mood for no reason, just don't seem to have any patience today.
Tracey, hope you find your decision about an amnio not too hard. I haven't had one so i am really no help to you. I had the NT (i think) scan at 18 weeks and the doctor at the hospital said from all the measurements and the results of my blood tests he felt that the baby is ok, but if i wanted to be 100% sure i could have further testing. I decided i didn't want any tests done and was happy with the results he gave me, as i would continue with the pregnancy regardless.
Snugglibub, hello and welcome, hope you have an enjoyable and trouble free pregnancy.
Hi to Tabby, Vicki, Cathrine, Quitecontrary, Ccwa1 and anyone else i have missed, i know a poor excuse once again but honestly my brain is like mush at the moment, so please forgive me.
Tania
Cathrine thanks for asking. I have ended up with an internal wound infection so on top of the wazza antibiotics which are also just kicking in.
Can't believe my little man is 5 months old today.
Hubby is starting to talk solids - and I just want to!! I want to stretch this babyhood out.
quitecontrary
18-10-2009, 20:22
Hello!
Good to see some more of you lurking around here!
Cat - hope you had a good time with Naomi - though not sure if thats the right phrase to use when describing acupuncture. She is lovely - hope you found her so as well.
CCWA - hope you feel better soon
Suprisebub - yay for having a place for your baby to sleep!
Jariah - tricky decision to have to make. I didn't have that dilemma, but I did have a lot of family pressure to have further testing anyway. I think if we do have another bub I will have the further testing just to really put myself at ease.
We have had a busy weekend. Took the kids to a party last night - it was a 7 Deadly Sins theme so there were a lot of women in "lust" outfits ie corsets and cancan skirts! Who knows what the kids actually made of it, but they were both well behaved in their pyjamas! So late for both of them, but it doesn't happen that often! On Friday night we all went into the Asian Night Noodle Markets with our 4 year old niece in tow as well - which was a lot of fun!
Poor old Genevieve has a terrible cough today - so I will be taking her off to the Dr's tomorrow. Its been cough cough cough cough vomit a few too many times today.
Toby is as lovely as ever, funny little tooth man that he is these days.
So, apart from G's bout of illness we are all going well!
Cathrine
18-10-2009, 20:26
Hi ccwa1, that's sounds nasty. Hope you're feeling better soon. I'd stretch out the moment as long as you're both happy with it.
Cat
Cathrine
21-10-2009, 11:41
Hi Mary - I'm off to see her again this afternoon. She is very thorough; she's called me twice about changing things she wants me to do and wants to send me off to a specialist, but parking there is a nightmare.
How is Genevieve feeling now?
Ciao
Cathrine
quitecontrary
21-10-2009, 13:41
Cat - if you read this before your appt - and leave with enough time - park at the top of Centennial Park - including allowing time for pedestrian lights its about 10 minutes walk. You are right, I always say a prayer to the parking gods (the time management ones are no use to me it seems) on approach to Woollahra. I hope Naomi gets you all tweeked and ready for that Big Positive (and sticky) pg!
Genevieve is okay - still a bit crook but well and truly on the mend. Toby is having the odd awful sounding cough as well but I think this warm weather will cure their ills!
Things are fine here. Dh is far too busy with work. I am attempting to be good with my lifestyle - diet just doesnt cut it as a description of what I am trying to achieve! I walked down to the gym with the kids in the pram this morning - so it was a double whammy of exercise! They are both asleep now - I wish I was too. Must start having much much earlier nights - I know I would feel a lot better with a couple more hours of sleep every night.
Enough on all that - I do hope that you are all doing well!
Cathrine
22-10-2009, 18:41
Hi Mary - thanks for the tip, I'll do that next visit. The last appointment was much easier because it wasn't lunch time so I got there in less than 20 minutes and found a spot right outside. I was concerned when the treatment went on longer than I thought, but I didn't get a ticket, but I won't risk that next time.
Is Genevieve sharing her germs - lol? Hopefully it won't blow out to anything nasty with the Tobster.
I've just joined a gym and the stuff the tiny personal trainer wants me to do in each session would be hilarious if I could breathe enough to laugh. I thought about walking there because it would only be 10-15 minutes, but my concern would be if I was able to wobble home on shell shocked thighs...
Cat
quitecontrary
22-10-2009, 21:27
Cat - you make me laugh with your gym comments, I feel your pain I assure you! I'm so pleased you're on the course of acupuncture - heres to success!!
Late here again - dh and I were out at his gallery opening - yet another interactive art piece he has been collaborating on. He's a clever man - I'd love to know how his mind works when I look at the works he has been the technologist on.
Cathrine
24-10-2009, 21:31
Hi Mary - how exciting about the gallery opening. I thought dh was an IT lecturer.
I've been slack with the gym, but will have to get back to it. Off to a 1st birthday party tomorrow. Now if I can only find the present I bought on my holidays...
C
quitecontrary
25-10-2009, 16:58
Cat - yes Dh is a man of many skills, he's doing his last semester of teaching at the moment (I hope!) and had a business with two friends doing websites, and also collaborates on art works - which is what he did his PhD on.
We've had a funny old weekend, yesterday I didn't even leave the premises til after 4pm - and that was only to go to the supermarket etc. Then today we were going to go exploring at a new (ie different) park then the rain started tumbling down, so we went for a drive down to the Royal National Park instead. Had a picnic in one of the big shelter sheds down there, which was fun really.
Am about to do some cooking, dh has dinner under control though which is great.
Hope you're all well. And that you had fun at the First Birthday, Cat!
Cathrine
27-10-2009, 18:58
Hi Mary - I had a lovely time at the birthday party, but realised this morning that I didn't get a lolly bag, so I soundly berated the parents!
I haven't been to the RNP for years, I'll have to put that on my to do list as well.
Glad to see that dh is so versatile, makes life fat more interesting.
Has Naomi ever done "cupping" on you? I now have 1/2 a dozen huge red circles on my back. It looks like crop circles - lol
Cat
quitecontrary
27-10-2009, 19:37
Hi Cat - and those of you who are lurking without posting! How funny about the cupping - it is weird huh? I think thats one of those "pulling out the big guns" things! We are yet to do lolly bags for kiddy parties - but I get the feeling G might demand them this year as she will be three, as she keeps on reminding everyone!! She was quite upset when she realised that her Grandfather will be having a birthday before her. She is also telling everyone that she is having two parties - one in London with all her friends there (her words!) and one in February. Can you tell the kid is party-obsessed?
We had her kinder play sessions today and yesterday. Dh took her today and all went well, as it did yesterday when it was my turn. Yesterday after we'd been there for about 20 minutes she said to me "I'll give you a goodbye hug and kiss" - I then had to explain to her that I was staying too. Thats what she says to me at the creche!!
Toby has his barking cough back, so I think we will be off to the Dr's tomorrow. I seem to have the beginnings of a cold too which is rather dull. Fingers crossed I don't get too crook with it.
Looking forward to hearing more new soon.
Vicki - how is the new house??? Pics please!!
Amy - how is the grandson?
The lovely pregnant women - trust all is going well with you all!!
Cathrine
31-10-2009, 21:19
How are you Mary?
The cupping was pulling out the big guns. I still have angry red marks on my back. Good thing I have no immediate plans for the beach.
I think my baby's birthday which was just family and a couple of friends, is too soon for the kidlets to have lolly bags, but not the adults!!! Did Genevieve "do" Halloween this year?
How is Toby feeling?
Cat
quitecontrary
02-11-2009, 21:07
Okay - it is time for a new thread - and I have started it - though I don't know how to link from here to the new one
40+ and Fabulous (etc!)
Mods - can you please close this one off and put a link from here to the new one for me. I can't work it out! Thanks!!
RaryGirl
02-11-2009, 21:44
Okay - it is time for a new thread - and I have started it - though I don't know how to link from here to the new one
40+ and Fabulous (etc!)
Mods - can you please close this one off and put a link from here to the new one for me. I can't work it out! Thanks!!
Your wish is my command QC! :D
And by the way, the new thread is over HERE (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=299432).