View Full Version : Christmas
HeidiLee
01-07-2009, 08:39
With the toy sales about to start I am wondering what everyone is planning on getting their bubs for their first Christmas?
I have never done toy sales before - am quite excited :)
My little girl was born 13/4/09 and have a 10 year old so one is all cds and ds games, bubs will get a few toys but mostly clothes.
i have no idea what im getting Cassie. i guess ill pick when i go shopping, but will prob be toys and clothes for when we go to perth
No idea really, there's so much out there! Definitely some interactive type toys, like the activity tables that they can use on floor level then at standing level. I guess there might be some pool floaty things...
But I am so excited about celebrating Christmas with my boy! I adore Christmas anyway, but to wake up Christmas morning with little 'un... so exciting. We're doing Christmas at ours this year. We take turns and it's our turn this year, so it's going to be so much fun! He'll be 7 and a half months by then! Wow!
muminshock
01-07-2009, 13:00
For those of you that will be celebrating your first christmas with bub, try not to get carried away with presents (I know, easier said than done) because believe me they will get spoiled rotten by family! Every year for christmas and birthdays I have put all my kids presents on the couch and taken a photo so we can see what they got and it's ridiculous! Thankfully we've got a 3 seater couch! Good to look back on though :)
So I got bubs Christmas present last year through the HEINZ baby food promotion. They do it every now and then, just collect bar codes and cash it in for Fisher Price Toys. It's a jungle pull along thingy (haven't looked at it yet) so will just need to buy a few other things.
Books are good to buy, you can never have to many books.
I love the timing of the toy sales, DDs birthday in 4 weeks, and DS 3 weeks after that :yelclap:
Sheer Bliss
01-07-2009, 14:05
We have far too many baby toys!! We did go crazy with dd1 and ds1. So with that in mind, we are going practical! My mum is getting them the suitcase/backpack combos, so when we go out/they have sleep overs (when we go out we and them will stay at my mums while she watches them) and we are getting them a mini lounge each. I have no idea how they will fit, but the older kids fight over the one we have, so hopefully bubs will like them too.
Other than that - a few books, a hooded towell each for summer, singlets, sox etc.
The BEST purchase we ever made was the fisher price learning house. They can use it from the time they are crawling, and both my other kids loved it, and still do. We moved it out of the toy room to the loungeroom in preparation for the twins to play with it, and DD1 & DS1 have been using it heaps, lol.
From the looks of our toy room - stick to a few good big things, plus books puzzles etc - skip most of the little stuff. IT just ends up in toy boxes and forgotten about, even when you rotate them. They hold their attentionf for a day or so, then they go back to the big things. Music stuff is good, and learning tables.
kobi'smama
01-07-2009, 14:55
I was thinking a swing set (there is one in Big W catalogue that looks good), he will be eight months and will be able to sit in the middle swing and the rest he can use the bigger he gets! DH and I both had swing sets when we were little and loved them.
Also maybe one of those mini couch's and a sit on rider thing that comes with a mower and trailer and garden tools - all plastic - only $20 in the catalogue.
I know i will go overboard, so i thorght if i stick to these 3 things and can manage to get them tomorrow at the sale... ill be happy!
Good luck - hope noone gets crushed!!!
I am too scared to go as it is so easy to go overboard. Hubby and I looked through the catalogues and realised that most of the stuff is already in our playroom :o
For you first time mummies I would recommend if you haven't already to look at the toy storage as your friends/family do tend to spoil them and then you might not have anywhere to put it all! This is the trouble I had anyway.
We need to replace DD's couch and get one for Zane. Other than that the only thing I would love love love to get them is actually in the target catalogue for their toy sale and its a cubby house up high with a slide but oh so expensive.
we have the fisher price learning chair, sounds keyboardy thing and activity table all packed away that we got ds#1 in excellent condition so we dont really need to get much.. will be going practical with a few little toys, one thing ive learnt from ds#1...they dont care about toys all that much for a long time.
I want to get the smart trike in the big w catalogue, that they can use from 10months onwards, Paige will be 8 months in december so it will come in handy. And like everyone else she will be spoilt by family so ill just get her a couple of things and that will be enough.
Df ans i spoke about it properly we are each spending $50 on her or if we want to get her something for $100 we will buy together,... that sounds weird saying it like that! but we figure then we can get her what we want to.
I want toget DD a walker that converts to a ride on toy after as she grows. I also want to get her one of those fold out couches too.
I can't wait for xmas this year now DD is here, it's going to be so much fun. I know my MIL, SIL & AIL will all spoil her.
Okay, got Kian's pressies sorted now... thanks Kmart... didn't go mad though... Couldn't believe some ppl had two trolleys stacked up with baby toys!!! What's the point?
Got him a Laugh and Learn Puppy, Crawl along Drum Roll, Laugh and Learn Toolbench and Jungle friends treehouse...
And there's a place online where I've seen rocking horses but they do jungle animals as well with sounds, so that'll be his big pressie. He'll probably end up with some clothes and books too but that's all the toy things...
Ushas we got Olivia the treehouse for her first Christmas and she still absolutely loves it. I am going to get the tool bench for Zane, looks cute!
I got the crawl drums, stride walker and one of those pull along ball popping pelicans. Mum got the fold out lounge/sofa thing. All Isabelle's christmas and poss. some b'day shopping done lol. I always get my shopping done early.
I've done the 2 MEGA stacked shopping trolleys b4, but that was the whole family's pressies for my niece and nephew. It was very diff. shopping for my bub.
kobi'smama
03-07-2009, 12:20
Mum and I were one of those people with a stacked trolley then stuff staked on the pram - if you want to spoil them then do it! If it is your first Christmas with a child of course its going to be exciting and new. Especially if the Baby is the first grandchild on both sides like DS.
Do what you please I say - if you want to load up 2 trolleys go for it, if you dont then dont.
But it was fun! :)
MagicalLeopluradon
03-07-2009, 13:56
^^ I agree!
Seb is my first child and I want to spoil him for Christmas, its exciting. I have for him on Layby...Fisher Price Learning Table, Fisher Price Lion Walker/Ride On, Fisher Price Learning Tool Bag, Fisher Price Sit to Stand Giraffe, Fisher Price Amazing Animals set (was in the k-mart catalogue for 35.00) & a clam shell which I will fill with sand & water for him! Also already bought and put away a Ride On Thomas, Thomas Carry Case and some vehicles. Also want to get him some books, dvds and clothes..
We got the lamaze musical elephant, and 2 in 1 activity ball. I put on layby as well for her bday next year a bath toy set.
We have so many family members that will buy her things we didnt want to go overboard this year.
I also every christmas want to get one of those keepsake ornaments for her. Something a bit special for her when she is older and has her own tree.
I've got dome musical instruments from aldi...dont plan to buy much because I know she'll get spoilt by everyone else.
We got DD a walker/rideon in one & a musical dashboard at the Target sale today.
intrusion
29-07-2009, 20:42
I layby'd a walker/ride on bike, the one they can use their feet to push along and that's it so far. I did layby a activity centre that they spin around in and play with all the toys attached to the outside but I will pick that up sooner. It's aged 4m - 4yrs. It turns into a car track when they get a bit older. I also picked up a swing to hang on the balcony in summer because we spend alot of time outside. I couldn't help myself and got him a little singing monkey that moves along the floor DS thinks it's great and gets all excited and laughs at it
i got bubs a walker! (the kind u sit them in) ds#1 loved following me around the place as i cleaned up when he was a littley it was great!
everything else was cleared out :(
I decided not to go overboard for my bubs first christmas so i bought four presents, one from mummy(that daddy didnt know what it was), one from daddy (mummy didnt know what is was), one from Santa, and one from mummy and daddy, my bub was born in April 2008, so he was 8mths old, he got a shapes sorting ball, an activity ball thingy with lots of different poking out things (one with beads, one with water, one with a ball ect ect). One of those toys that have peek-a-blocks. A Spinning top that sings, i also bought him a xylophone piano (i forgot that i bought that, sorry)
I did layby a activity centre that they spin around in and play with all the toys attached to the outside but I will pick that up sooner. It's aged 4m - 4yrs. It turns into a car track when they get a bit older.
I had one of these for my DS, MAGIC, it was fantastic, i used it for everything (even a high chair, because i lived in a bus and a high chair wouldnt fit in it) Bub started climbing out of it at 11mths though, but i would definately recomend (sp? sorry mental blank) one to others.:thumbsup:
Sorry to crash your thread too. :o
Since my last 2 are 12 months apart, Cruz will be the exact same age as Chais was last Christmas, so I don't need any more baby type toys as we have plenty of those. He'll be getting things that are too old for him now, but he's got plenty to play with until then. Don't forget, you want them to last till next Christmas when they'll be 19months, so maybe get a couple of things that will last, age wise. They'll be around 7 months at Christmas, crawling, cruising along furniture & stuff, you may find they don't play with the really babyish stuff.
Some of the things Chais loved last year were a blow up ball pit, trucks to push around, little people stuff, toys where you push buttons & things pop up and the fisher price cruise & crawl jungle. The other thing he really loved was this thing you can get from kmart or big w, that has a round table bit in the middle that has different types of toys on it, and a chair attached to the outside, so they can sit in the chair, but still walk all around it & play with whatever they like. He also loved all the books he got.
I've got dome musical instruments from aldi...dont plan to buy much because I know she'll get spoilt by everyone else.
I got one of those too.
This year, the 2 boys are getting lots of Thomas stuff. Trains, flip out sofas, bath toys etc. I've also got him that laugh & learn tool bench & they're getting a coupe car. I love Christmas & even though it's my 4th baby, it's still his 1st one, so it's very special :goodvibes:
I also love the idea of getting the special ornament. I wish I'd done that with them all from the start.