View Full Version : Engagement present under $50

cho
29-06-2009, 18:47
Does anyone have any suggestions for an engagement present that costs around $50?

If you have had an engagement party, what kind of things did you get and what did you like best?

I must admit it seems a bit much that you get engagement AND wedding presents...

munchie
29-06-2009, 18:59
how about one of those digital photo frames with the LCD screens, you should be able to pick one up for around $50.. and make a slideshow with photos of the bride n groom??

missie_mack
29-06-2009, 19:16
A great present we got was a nice wine bottle carrier (like a cooler but for one or two bottles) for when you go to parties or out for dinner. Not the most expensive but something we use a lot :)

ladybugblue84
29-06-2009, 19:22
My sis got heaps of towels. If they already have a place they may not need that though :confused:

Luna Lovegood
29-06-2009, 19:36
Does anyone have any suggestions for an engagement present that costs around $50?

If you have had an engagement party, what kind of things did you get and what did you like best?

I must admit it seems a bit much that you get engagement AND wedding presents...

Why does it seem a bit much to get wedding and engagement presents?

Mummaholic
29-06-2009, 19:40
I got a few large platters that really come in handy. A jug I really love. A beautiful large silver photo frame, and a small pewter one.

Cashola, as we had a honeymoon registry :D

ladybugblue84
29-06-2009, 19:43
Why does it seem a bit much to get wedding and engagement presents?

If they are close together (engagement party & wedding) I could see how it may be a bit much for someone on a budget :yes:

LeeJ
29-06-2009, 19:48
i got lots of platters, which at the time seemed useless, but now they get used ALL the time:laughing:

with all of the sales at the moment, what about a good cast iron grill or something like it? I know harris scarfe has some very cheap kitchen items going.

cho
04-07-2009, 12:34
Yes they are close (the engagement party and the wedding) together, plus she has just had a baby shower 4 months ago (then a naming day so more presents). Its her 30th birthday next week too (more presents). I feel like i am constantly buying her presents. They live together so they dont even need anything. Thanks for the ideas, any other suggestions?

TinyStar
04-07-2009, 12:39
You could get her a set of tupperware wine glasses, at $50 they are not something you'd buy yourself but having a bub they are much safer (ie cos they dont smash), and would last forever.

lavenderpegasus
04-07-2009, 12:58
You could make her a chatterbox, we got one for our engagement and as a first wedding anniversary present and I thought they were lovely.

The engagement one had lots of kinky/sexy suggestions and the wedding one had just nice things like, buy the other person a gift or give a massage or a nice kiss.

The paper was really nice and I thought it was a really sweet gift, my fav!!!

goodluck and yes it does seem like you are buyin gthis person gifts all the time but she will hopefully only get married once and turn 30 once and well she may have a few babies...

lp

Chub Chub
04-07-2009, 13:01
Some candle holders? We got some for a wedding present and it isn't something I would have bought but are useful when we have a blackout.

cho
04-07-2009, 19:39
Thanks you've given me some really good suggestions!

ibb
04-07-2009, 20:46
Crystal vases or platters or even tupperware. Usually outdoor tupperware. Photo frames are nice too, especially a nice album just for their engagement photos. Myers has reasonably priced items. Good luck.

WorkingClassMum
04-07-2009, 20:58
So they don't *need* anything - maybe an IOU.

Tell her well beforehand that you'll have a good look at what they get and you'll get them something after the party.

I now do that with a few of my younger cousins - and it save me ever getting them a double up, and sometimes I get something to compliment any other pressie that they get

SorenLorensen
04-07-2009, 20:58
i love these willow tree statues

http://www.petersofkensington.com.au/Product/ProductInfo.aspx?id=1543222&cid=512

cho
09-07-2009, 18:21
i love these willow tree statues

http://www.petersofkensington.com.au/Product/ProductInfo.aspx?id=1543222&cid=512

They are lovely... hmmm might look into them.

Boobycino
14-07-2009, 11:29
I like thinking about the person I'm buying for and try to pick something thats relevant to both of us. I find you can get away with spending less, with more thought... though... some people (namely my DP) would rather spend more money to avoid being meaningful.

Something a little random, and I'm not sure where to even get one, but its a ring holder, its like just a magnet thingy with a suction thing on the other side, if your washing the dishes and want to take your ring off, you keep the hold on the fridge or window, so you dont lose your engagement & wedding ring if you need to take it off doing the dishes (or cooking - like handing a whole chicken or whatever... i dont know, I dont have any rings, so I dont know what its like to have them on all the time!)

Just a random thought.