View Full Version : 30 min naps! COME ON!!!!

lupa
24-06-2009, 13:08
It was bad enough that he had 45min naps now they've changed to 30 mins and he wont go back to sleep! That makes getting at least 3 hours during the day very hard!! According to my calculations that's putting him down hmmm, 6 times!!

Does anyone have the same problem and have you fixed it?

:hair:

Lily_Pad
24-06-2009, 13:32
I've currently got the same problem. I'm nowhere near close to fixing it, so I'll be watching this thread :laughing:

But I know how you feel! :hugs:

workin'mumof2
24-06-2009, 13:35
maybe try cutting his number of naps down. so if he is having 4 , make it 3. if its 3 have 2.

why does he need 3 hours?? not all babies follow that rule. my 2 didnt lol

JabberJaw
24-06-2009, 13:43
Mmmm yeah, i kinda had a similar thing.

Are you breastfeeding? If so, keep your water intake up and look into Lactogenic foods (peanuts (must be raw), green juice, green leafy veg, oats and spirulina) Lactogenic foods boost supply and also help you make wonderful fatty milk that will keep bubs tummy full and heavier. It does work, these days i just eat a couple of handfulls of peanuts a day (raw) and use other things like flaxseed meal and fish oil also. Drinking herbal tea such as chamomile will help induce sleep or you can offer bub a teaspoon or 2 of cool tea before sleep.

:hugs: Hope things improve. I have good days but am still working on the nights with my 15 month old.....

If you goggle Lactogenic foods you will find oodles of info, and it will describe the benifits in full :D

JustUs3
24-06-2009, 13:45
My DD is a serial catnapper! She has 3 naps a day and would wake after 45 mins (on the dot) for all of them. When she woke up she was happy at 1st but after about 30 mins she would get grumpy so i knew she needed more sleep. I tried everything from patting her just before she woke to putting her in her rocker for her nap's hoping that i could just rock her once she woke up but nothing worked. On Monday i had a light bulb moment and wondered what would happen if i left her in her cot once she woke up, she doesnt normally cry when she wakes she just lays there and talks to herself so instead of going in to get her like i normally would i just left her in there and she went back to sleep for and hour and a half!!! Yesterday she slept for 2 hrs in the morning, 3 hours at lunchtime (!!!!!) and 1 hour in the arvo :smiliedance:. If she wakes up crying after 45 mins i just go in and give her her dummy and she normally goes back to sleep again.

So that's what's working for me *at the moment* but i'm not getting too excited coz i know how quickly the little bugger's can change!

Good Luck! :)

lupa
24-06-2009, 14:26
tickledpink- *sigh* I leave him for about 5-10 mins each time he wakes up to see if he goes back. He only will when he's had a huge awake time earlier... I remember the 45 min days. I would be happy if they went back to 45!

I eat oats every day, drink water, take thistle4-6 times/day, have flaxmeal and I can't tell the difference... He wont even take a bottle of EBM.

For his age I think the recommended day sleep amount (total) is 3-4 hours. Even getting 2 hours is tough.

JustUs3
24-06-2009, 14:40
Awww Lupa that sucks, I wish I could be of more help to you, I know how frustrating it is. Hopefully it's just a faze and he'll start sleeping better soon.

Big hugs to you.

izziesmum
24-06-2009, 15:12
Big :hugs: Lupa!

I had this problem with my DD (now 16 months).

She used to catnap 20 minutes at a time and generally only in 2-3 hour blocks overnight........right up until she turned 1!

We tried absolutely everything, read every book and tried to follow routines religiously but nothing helped. Then when she hit one and DH and I had suffered a year of exhaustion we tried Tizzie Halls routine (and I swore this would be the last time). Lucky for us Izzie finally got the hang of the whole sleeping thing and now usually sleeps through the night and for at least 2.5 hours during the day.....

The moral of my story? It will happen eventually! I know that atm it is soooo frustrating but there is light at the end of the tunnel as most babies get the hang of it eventually.....

Good luck!

vickih
24-06-2009, 15:26
oh my goodness lupa! i was JUST going to hop on bubhub to post the exact same problem!!! my bub is about the same ages as yours (22 weeks).

like tickledpink said, i think it's just a phase. isaac did 45 min naps and about a week ago, i tried keeping him up about 10-15mins longer (so total up time between 1.5 and 2 hours) and he generally has slept longer (around 1.5 hours) during the day. i thought 'phase over'!!!

but in the last 3 days, he's gone back to his catnapping! grrr... i'm an advocate of leaving baby in their cot for as long as you expect them to be asleep- so mum (not baby) determines when sleep time is sleep time and when up time is up time. but isaac will quite happily lie in his cot for up to an hour just squealing away. on these days it's not so bad (even though i think he still needs more sleep) but on other days when he just cries and cries, nothing i do can make him go back to sleep. very frustrating. he doesn't take a dummy and patting, rocking, holding to sleep has never worked for him.

anyway...

have you tried giving your bub a little bit more wake time? i was giving isaac 1.5 hours for a long time, till i finally clicked that maybe he needed more up time and sure enough 10-15 mins more, i was getting the tired signs again and he generally tended to sleep for longer than 45 mins.

is your baby on solids yet? mine hasn't started yet- he just turned 5 months. i was hoping to wait till6 months, but maybe starting now might mean he's a bit fuller and sleep longer until his next feed. he sleeps fine overnight (7-7 with a dreamfeed at 9.30) so i can't complain too much:)

good luck. i will also be keeping my eye on this thread for more ideas.

Areca
24-06-2009, 15:30
Yep they recommend three hours at that age but not all kids need it. He sleeps well at night from memory so try stretching his naps out...give him more play time and he might sleep sounder. don't let him get over tired but if he isn't showing clear signs of tiredness then leave him up. He'll catch up on the sleep if he misses any he is supposed to be having.
By that age both my girls were down to two day sleeps...a short one in the morning, a longer one in the afternoon and they both woke up through the night.

lupa
24-06-2009, 17:18
have you tried giving your bub a little bit more wake time? i was giving isaac 1.5 hours for a long time, till i finally clicked that maybe he needed more up time and sure enough 10-15 mins more, i was getting the tired signs again and he generally tended to sleep for longer than 45 mins..

yes, I've given him up to 3 hours (maybe too much?) and he still wakes up after 30 but I leave him and 15 mins later he'll go back to sleep, only for another 30 mins.

is your baby on solids yet? mine hasn't started yet- he just turned 5 months. i was hoping to wait till6 months, but maybe starting now might mean he's a bit fuller and sleep longer until his next feed. he sleeps fine overnight (7-7 with a dreamfeed at 9.30) so i can't complain too much:)

Yes, he's been on solids for a couple of months now. He's on 3 meals a day. Over night he's fine.

izziesmum- thanks, that's reassuring. I know he'll have to grow out of it.

Well, today's been tough. But I got 2 hours! (4 x 30mins).

I might try extending his awake time a little more. All my books say completely different things.

JackieandFletcher
01-07-2009, 11:01
I am in the same boat, my DS was born 16/12/08 and although he sleeps mostly thru the nite - from about 7pm usually to about 5:30am (but 5 & 4:30 last 2 monrings), he has never been a great day time sleeper and lately I am lucky if he has 1-2 naps between 0.5-1hr each.

I know he is tired but I used to nurse him to sleep and now he fights me - arching his back & screaming - when I try to settle him this way. I have put him in his cot to self settle with 50% success rate over the last 1-2 weeks but can't figure out what is different on the times when he doesn't settle.

He is on solids 3-4 times a day, so I am pretty sure he's not hungry.

I am a single mum and working 3 days a week so I am finding it really hard to cope with the sudden early mornings and I just know that my happy, content little guy is in there somewhere, he just needs more sleep! But how??? Am I being greedy wanting him to sleep for longer thru the day when he sleeps thru the nite? :confused: I can cope with 5:30am, but any earlier is too early for me, esp on days when I have to go to work :no:

We don't really have a day time routine, although I am pretty strict with the evenings -
4:30 - 5pm bath
5-6:30pm quiet play
6:30 dinner
7pm bottle
bed 7:15, if he doesn't fight me for half an hour!:hissy:

Any ideas anyone? I am nearly at my wits end and feel so guilty for being glad to see him go to day care... :(

BecNBub
01-07-2009, 11:29
i have the same issue with my little man-he bat naps throughout the day, but there are times where he sleeps for 2+hrs if he's had crappy night the night before or something.

I would certainly not be complaining that ur baby doesnt sleep throughout the day when he/she sleeps very well at night.

I am over the moon when my son has slept for 3hrs straight during night time.

Some babies just dont like sleeping as much as the text books say. My son was VERY alert from birth and all nurses and docs said we'd be having him walk before he could crawl.

All i can suggest is try to give them more play time or get out of the house, i find going for a walk or window shopping at local shopping centre gives him heaps of stimulation and then he sleeps quite well afterwards.

Every baby is different tho, but just be thankful he/she sleeps well at night. (i'd love to go back to work but with him not sleeping more than 3hrs im a zombie 24/7) and certainly couldnt hold down my job like i used to)

Aries7
02-07-2009, 10:18
I'm glad to read that other people are also going through this. My 17 wk old DD is a serial catnapper. She is great at night....sleeps from around 9pm through to around 2am, has a feed & then will sleep through until around 8am. Day time is a completely different story. She feeds 3hrly during the day & I have tried my hardest to get her into a feed, play, sleep routine. But she really only can stay awake for 1-1.5hrs before she gets grizzly. I try to get her into bed before the grizzling gets too bad, but it's always a battle to get her to sleep. She screams her head off for 15 minutes before finally falling asleep. She then sleeps 30-45 minutes only. So she's usually waking up around an 1hr before next feed is due. I either then have to try to get her back to sleep or keep her up & feed her a bit earlier. The only time she will sleep longer is if she's in my arms or in the sling. And it would be nice if she could have a day sleep without putting up a fight!!!!!

lupa
02-07-2009, 16:23
I have put him in his cot to self settle with 50% success rate over the last 1-2 weeks but can't figure out what is different on the times when he doesn't settle.

Any ideas anyone? I am nearly at my wits end and feel so guilty for being glad to see him go to day care... :(

One thing I have had to learn is the early warning signs that my DS is tired. Eg, rubbing eyes, hyper, yawning, mixed behaviour. I was taught that you have about 2 mins to get them into bed after these signs or else it's all over! :hissy: I'm still learning! Like your DS, my DS gets tired quickly from not sleeping much during the day so it then gets harder and harder to go to sleep or self settle.

You shouldn't feel guilty about him going to child care, it's not like you want him to go. All you want is some time to do things! I totally get that feeling.

Our boys are very similar, age, sleeping patterns, amount of solids. Do you do CC?

All i can suggest is try to give them more play time or get out of the house, i find going for a walk or window shopping at local shopping centre gives him heaps of stimulation and then he sleeps quite well afterwards.

:iagree: I heard this too.

She feeds 3hrly during the day & I have tried my hardest to get her into a feed, play, sleep routine. But she really only can stay awake for 1-1.5hrs before she gets grizzly. I try to get her into bed before the grizzling gets too bad, but it's always a battle to get her to sleep. She screams her head off for 15 minutes before finally falling asleep. She then sleeps 30-45 minutes only. So she's usually waking up around an 1hr before next feed is due.

That's tough! I had a similar problem when we used to feed around 2 -2.5 hours. He got used to going to sleep only when he's had a feed, such a bad habit especially when he only slept 45 mins. Now because we're very well into solids, he feeds around 3-4 hourly so that helps. Have you started solids? Can she go back to sleep not being fed just before?