View Full Version : Calmbirth chat
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
22-06-2009, 22:06
Thought I would start a little bit of a thread to chat to other mums and mums-to-be who are using/have used Calmbirth?
DH and I did the classes at the start of May with a wonderful midwife who also works at the hospital we are having bub at (I work there too!) :).
I've been pretty slack in practicing though I will admit. I have put the CDs on my Ipod and listen to them some nights before I go to bed but am starting to find that I have listened to them too much and can't get into them as much because I find myself distracted by knowing what is coming up next IYKWIM.
Just wondering how often other people practiced? What exercises did you find helpful etc? What calm music (if any) did you choose for the birth?
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
22-06-2009, 22:09
Hey sorry I appear to have made two of these (I think due to my slow internet at the moment! :hair:), can 1 be closed please mods? :o:o
Thanks for starting this post Nic. I too have been pretty slack practicing my CB techniques and getting sick did not help. I spoke to my doula about it at length this week because i am feeling like I am running out of time to grasp the methods and also feel like I am putting unrealistic pressure on myself to ensure I perfect the technique. I don't want to go into labour thinking I am going to be able to go into this deep meditative state & not feel any pain.
My doula reassured me that just being aware of the techniques and the breathing will be a huge help. I know that using the breathing recently during blood tests and acupuncture has helped me relax a lot.
I feel a lot better now and know I have enough knowledge to be aware of what my body is doing during labour and not to fight it. I think this, if nothing else will make me feel a lot less anxious once labour starts IFYWIM??
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
27-06-2009, 18:21
Ahh Sassy glad I'm not the only one who hasn't been practicing. :o At the start I did regularly but have slackened off!
But last night I decided that enough is enough and I have to get serious about it (hadn't done it for about 3 weeks....) so ran a warm bath, put on two of the tracks on my ipod (the third and fourth on the first CD I think?) and had a good listen. Kind of drifted off/fell asleep for half hour or so, but was also semi-awake as I remembered hearing some of it?
Anyway, when I went to bed last night I had the best sleep :thumbsup:....I still got up 5 times to pee :laughing: but the quality of sleep was really good and I actually woke feeling well rested which I haven't done for ages. So am thinking that just because of that I will have to try to do it at least every second night or so?
Do you find the breathing a little difficult because you have no lung capacity? My bub is still sitting really high so I find it hard to breathe too deeply. Have heard that 2nd bubs sometimes don't engage till labour starts so hoping that she decides to drop a little earlier as getting breathless a lot!
hi there,
Wasn't even looking for a calmbirth thread but spotted this and thought I'd drop in.
I did a lovely calmbirth class about a month ago that gave me so much information, not only on the breathing techniques (which I kinda of knew through yoga) but the other options available (importance of skin to skin contact etc). I too have not been great on practising but think I have to get into the habit!
Did the private hospital classes yesterday which scared the crap out of me - 50% caesarean rate which we'll apparently be pushed into doing cos the doctors are scared of being sued!!
I really hope your birth goes beautifully and I look forward to hearing how the techniques worked for you!!
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
30-06-2009, 22:55
hi there,
Wasn't even looking for a calmbirth thread but spotted this and thought I'd drop in.
I did a lovely calmbirth class about a month ago that gave me so much information, not only on the breathing techniques (which I kinda of knew through yoga) but the other options available (importance of skin to skin contact etc). I too have not been great on practising but think I have to get into the habit!
Did the private hospital classes yesterday which scared the crap out of me - 50% caesarean rate which we'll apparently be pushed into doing cos the doctors are scared of being sued!!
I really hope your birth goes beautifully and I look forward to hearing how the techniques worked for you!!
Hi Lola! :wave: My antenatal classes scared me a little too (and I am going public, so it wasn't even about the C/S rates!)..because they made epidurals sound like no big deal and talked a lot about drugs but not much about natural pain relief. Just be firm about your birth plan and make sure your midwives communicate with you etc!
I have been trying to get more practice in, starting with every second night and when it gets a little easier I'll bump it up a notch. Also need to read over the book again for a lot of the other stuff you mentioned, like the skin-to-skin stuff, some of the light touch techniques, and to memorise some positive mantras to say in labour.
I like the idea of breathing the baby down with each contraction, and also the waves analogy. :yes:
Do you find the breathing a little difficult because you have no lung capacity? My bub is still sitting really high so I find it hard to breathe too deeply. Have heard that 2nd bubs sometimes don't engage till labour starts so hoping that she decides to drop a little earlier as getting breathless a lot!
Sorry Nic...forgot about this thread. Shows how well my CB practice is going :o My bub is engaged but still sitting very high & pushing up over my sternum (he must be very long). I find it very hard to breathe deeply and I still have this persistent cough. I think I can master the breathing during contractions, the meditation side of things may be a bit harder. I'm sure we have read and practiced enough for it to be a huge help to us no matter what :fingerscrossed:
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
10-07-2009, 11:18
I'm the same Sassy! No so good at the visualisation stuff. :o But the breathing is good and relaxes me so hopefully that will be enough. Have still only heard mostly good things from people who have birthed this way so really trusting that we will have a similar experience.
Surely there are more than just us on BH using this? :confused:
Good on you all for wanting a peaceful entry into the world for you babies. Good Luck.:thumbsup:
blondelizzard
17-07-2009, 14:03
Hi, mind if I join in? :wave:
I'm Liz, 22 weeks pg with second child, and am hoping for a completely different birth this time round!
Have started reading a hypnobirth book - don't think there's any classes where I am so am relying on the book, and my trainee doula, who is lovely and a big fan of hypnobirthing.
I really need to get stuck into finishing the book, and starting to practise!
Looking forward to hearing how it goes for everyone else! :yelclap:
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
19-07-2009, 11:55
Welcome Lizz!
Glad to hear there are more of us out there! ;) Good for you starting at 22 weeks, you sound a lot more organised than me!
I'm 39 weeks now and still have to get DH to listen through the relaxation exercises on the CD with me. :o He came to the classes but they were a few months ago. I've been better with my practicing though and have been listening to them on my iPod...but probably need to be doing it every night rather than a few times a week.
I borrowed a great little book from my local library the other day called 'Tranquil thoughts on pregnancy' by Kattrin Davida. It's just a little book, one of those 'warm fuzzy thoughts' kind of books, but has some lovely thought in it that I'm going to use in early labour hopefully! Also came with a tranquil reflections CD so will put that on my iPod too and give it a whirl.
Will you have music playing, and what kind? I need to get off my bum and burn some CDs to bring in..we are taking our iPods too but don't know if there is anything to hook them up to in labour ward so will burn some hard copies too.
blondelizzard
20-07-2009, 20:02
Not really that organised - only just started reading the book and haven't listened to the cd at all yet. The trainee doula I've found is going bring her relaxation cd's to the birth, so I don't have to worry about that.
Your lucky your hubby is going to listen to the cd! Mine is supportive of whatever I want to do, but thinks that hypnobirthing is just hippy stuff :no: silly boy, so I'm glad I've found the doula to help me through with that side of things.
39 weeks - almost there! :yelclap: Hope it all goes well for you, and I'm looking forward to hearing how you go!
Excitednewbie
21-07-2009, 08:06
Hi Everyone!! Just stumbled across this thread while looking for pain relief options. I'm looking to go drug free but am looking into the TENS machines so will hopefully find a thread on them here. I am currently reading a book on instinctive mothering which although is more for post birth, also covers a little bit on pregnancy and labour too. I have 'Calm Birth' and 'Active Labour' books on my shopping list for this week and am looking into doing the Birthwise classes with Fitwise in Melbourne. I think that class focuses more on positions and breathing techniques so should be helpful.
Can anyone recommend anything else I should read/listen to/do? I'm 33 wks pg so have a few weeks to practice stuff.
Sassy and Nic - how are you two going? I'd love to hear how you got on after the birth of your bubs!!!
beachmummy
21-07-2009, 13:36
Hi Nic :wave:
I haven't been in BH for a while. But I just saw your thread and just had to reply! I'm so excited for you hun! You probably don't remember me from the due in Dec thread, but I often think about how you are getting on. Just wanted to wish you the best for your birth.
Don't worry about the lack of practice :laughing: I slacked off at the end too but I was fine and had an amazing birth.
I thought I would be listening to my ipod and getting hubby to do the visualisations with me and the light touch massage but in the end I didn't need (or want) anything apart from the breathing and my belief in myself to get me through.
I kept a nice quiet room (everyone talking in whispers or not at all) with the lights down and the middies put some soft music on. I stayed upright and moving between contractions then leaned on hubby and closed myself down and breathed thru contractions. I jumped in the bath just before my body started pushing and everyone said I looked like I was asleep between pushes.
I think my labour went so fast and smoothly because I was so relaxed. After my first two horror births, I can honestly say I LOVED my labour :yes: Calmbirth rocks!!!
trixiebelle17
24-07-2009, 12:24
hi girls!
i thought i would drop in and join the thread... thanks for starting it nic (hope your going well and bubs has either arrived or is about to arrive with all being happy and healthy!)
I have been reading up on hypnobirthing and have bought a couple of CD's which i havent listened to yet... i know bad me...
I've struggled with understanding why child birth has to be sooo painful, i mean everything about our bodies has been designed so perfectly why does this have to be soooo hard? So ive been re-energised and invigorated reading about hypnobirthing and feeling like their is ways we can help ourselves... although the closer im getting to my due date the more and more nervous i am becoming :(
so i hadnt been planning on attending classes, but i bit the bullet and booked calmbirthing classes for sept. I'll finish them one month before im due but figure it can only help and would really like DH to be informed about what i am trying to achieve...
Look forward to chatting with you all... :D
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
26-07-2009, 16:55
Still no baby for me here! :laughing:
Beachmummy- Of course I remember you from the Dec chat! Hope all is going well, sounds like you had a beautiful birth, that is exactly what I want- with the lights down and minimal interruption etc. Such a relief to hear that you didn't practice much toward the end! I'm not very good at the visualisations, just the breathing so glad to know that it was what got you through!! Feeling much more positive after your post!!
Trixie- Wonderful that you have booked the classes, I found them a little full-on at the time TBH but it's great now having them to reflect on and having the CDs and book etc. :yes: I also found it was good for DH to come along, even though he didn't get into the meditation kind of side at least I am hoping that he will be able to calm me and refocus me if need be on the day!
Excitednewbie- The fitwise class sounds good! I haven't heard about that one, although I live in the middle of nowhere so that could be why! Hehe, well not quite but in a regional area!
Sassy is now 8 days overdue so hopefully she has her bub soon. I'm now 2 days over! Will definitely be on here afterwards though and let you know what worked or didn't work for me. I think it's important to keep the support up!
Liz- Well DH did listen to the CD but it put him to sleep! :o I'm sure your hubby will be great on the day when he sees how well it works for you! Some of our friends did Calmbirthing and the woman said that her DH wasn't into it at all until he saw her in labour and how in control she was and now he goes on about how wonderful it is.
:fingerscrossed: i have an experience like that!!
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
07-08-2009, 21:16
Hi girls, as promised here is a link to my birth story:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3974405#post3974405
It was a wonderful experience. Found I didn't really listen to the CDs though (they seemed to relax me a bit too much and slowed my contractions down!), or do the visualisations (although I do remember thinking of the flower one) but the breathing was a godsend. I did feel like I was losing it a little towards the end but just kept trying to tell myself to relax and DH encouraging me to breathe.
So glad i did the classes, even DH thinks they made a huge difference to both of us!
Hi, I have just been to a Calmbirth Course. I loved it and my husband loved it too.
I haven't been listening to my cd yet, but will hopefully start this weekend.
Can't wait to hear all your Calmbirth stories.
papaka79
19-11-2009, 15:17
So glad to find this thread !! :yelclap:
Im super excited about my Labour ( sorry just realised that sounds a little cheerleadery lol )
Planning to use calmbirth method, however we can only do the one intensive class as DP works nightshift...but have ordered a couple of books and cds to use at home. Its so exciting to hear about peoples experiences on here :)
mumma2cubs
19-11-2009, 19:41
I'd love to join this thread.
After a hard birth (short but extremely intense ending in epidural) with my son, we have a Calm Birth practitioner coming out to our place this month over 2 Sundays to go through it with us.
I am extremely grateful to have found someone willing to do it in our home (so we can keep DS with us) - and the fact it is a personal service.
I am looking forward to it - and the water birth my hospital offers. I have a good feeling about the experience this time around :goodvibes:
Just wanted to say good luck to all of you! I did a calmbirth course before DD2 was born...her labour was not even close to what I had hoped for but I'm positive it was the calmbirthing that got me through 8 1/2 hours of labour, on a bed attached to a monitor (worst way to give birth). She was 10lb 2oz born and my pain relief was 10 minutes of gas near the end (I lost it a bit). Funny thing was I used the gas in between contractions cause I wanted to breathe through them.
I didn't practice much with DS, intended to but finding the time was hard with two little kids. DS was a 25 hour labour and I was very relaxed and focused right up until the 24 hour mark.
So he was born with my only pain relief being 20 minutes of gas at the end (when I'd lost all faith in my body).
Calmbirthing made a huge difference! I used different techniques for both the births and with DD2 especially I found that what I really thought I'd use during labour and practised the most during my pregnancy (visualisation) I didn't use at all.
So practice and enjoy but don't stress....the techniques will be there for you when you need them. By the time I got to transition I did find it hard to stay relaxed, but much better to only lose it a bit during transition than to be freaked out the whole time.
SomewhereOverTheRainbow
20-11-2009, 10:16
Good luck ladies!! :thumbsup:
Doubleace- I agree completely! I think the experience is what you make it, have heard of ppl really being able to get into the visualisations and being hypnotised during labour but that wasn't for me. I did try and visualise my body opening up etc but no travelling to nice places or anything. Actually it made me more aware of what was happening and I knew I was in transition even though the middie said I was only 5cm (she was born 12 mins later). Instead of making me feel out of it/confused/in agony as my first birth did I felt a certain power with each contraction and felt right there in the moment. :yes:
Good luck ladies!! :thumbsup:
Doubleace- I agree completely! I think the experience is what you make it, have heard of ppl really being able to get into the visualisations and being hypnotised during labour but that wasn't for me. I did try and visualise my body opening up etc but no travelling to nice places or anything. Actually it made me more aware of what was happening and I knew I was in transition even though the middie said I was only 5cm (she was born 12 mins later). Instead of making me feel out of it/confused/in agony as my first birth did I felt a certain power with each contraction and felt right there in the moment. :yes:
In regards to the bolded bit.....I didn't get that feeling in labour either (but didn't try overly hard....when it didn't work straight away I just gave up and went for the technique that I was feeling drawn to) but I had to go to the dentist at 37 weeks with my last pregnancy, for my first ever filling...I was a little nervous and very uncomfortable in the chair and I used calmbirthing and visualisation and completely zoned out from the whole thing. It was great!
Hi :)
I've had 2 caesareans i 1994 and 1996 so I am trying to do anything to avoid another one, we'll be using calmbirthing any day now as we're 3 days over due.
Took the classes with a beautiful Doula, (wish we could afford to have her at the delivery)
I haven't been listening to the cds as much as I should have, reading through everyone's posts has made me think I've forgotten everything lol
I have put the cds onto my ipod and will take the ipod dock to the hospital with me.
Very excited!!
I have heard of calm birth and I am aiming for a natural birth (due April 2010 with number 1) and have read about being active during birth etc but would love more info on calm birth as I have tried getting info in my local community but there is nothing in Bundy where I live. If anyone could pass on some info I would be much appreicated.
Hi all, I have given birth now so can finally say I've experienced it and Calmbirth helped me so much!
It also helped that my husband new how to coach me on my breathing. I didn't listen to the cd's in labour as I was induced in hosp and sharing a room with another person whilst in labour and I was told I wasn't 'in labour' at the time, but I used the breathing and I had a fantastic birth experience with no drugs and a four hour labour. My baby didn't get distressed at all during the labour (even though she got stuck for a while) and was bright and alert from the moment she came out and breastfed straight away and has been a champ at breastfeeding ever since.
I can't recommend calmbirth enough!
alexandra
24-01-2010, 11:42
I'm very interested in getting some calmbirth lessons or course. Is anyone in melbourne?
Could you please advise what session you went to? where? rough cost? please :)
Also where can I purchase the cds from?
Thanks heaps appreciate the help. Would like to get started asap.
bakubaby
07-02-2010, 19:39
hi kandy & alexandra,
i spent 3 days in hospital this week (suspected appendicitis at 23 weeks, not so much fun)..anyway, i freak out at most medical procedures, and after one freak out one of the midwives suggested i do a calm birth course, so i have been looking into it. here's a link to all the registered practitioners in australia.
my husband and i are going to do the course - not sure when yet, but by the sounds of it, the sooner the better! keep in touch as I would love to hear your stories.
http://www.calmbirthregister.com.au/findapractitioner.html
j xx
due 4th june 2010
newmummy2010
26-03-2010, 17:44
I'd love to use calmbirthing for my labour this yr. Is anyone in Bris? If so where did u go for classes/info? Did u get books/CDs from the course or can u get them elsewhere?
For those who said they didn't use the CDs in labour, were they still helpful beforehand?
I'd love to use calmbirthing for my labour this yr. Is anyone in Bris? If so where did u go for classes/info? Did u get books/CDs from the course or can u get them elsewhere?
For those who said they didn't use the CDs in labour, were they still helpful beforehand?
here's a link that will help you
http://www.calmbirthregister.com.au/locations/Brisbane.html
4intheBed
09-03-2011, 11:33
I have been reading the hypnobirthing book, cant afford any classes.
I am in a unique situation where I have no family or friends close by at all so our 2 year old daughter will be attending the birth at the hospital so that my husband can be there.
The book talks about a quiet room and a support person who knows what to do and when to prompt... I will not have either of these things. My husband is not as supportive as others and to be honest was useless at the first birth.
I do feel scared that I will not be able to achieve a calm birth in this situation, especially being a complete sook when it comes to contractions.
Has anyone done it without a support person?
I am in a unique situation where I have no family or friends close by at all so our 2 year old daughter will be attending the birth at the hospital so that my husband can be there.
The book talks about a quiet room and a support person who knows what to do and when to prompt... I will not have either of these things. My husband is not as supportive as others and to be honest was useless at the first birth.
I do feel scared that I will not be able to achieve a calm birth in this situation, especially being a complete sook when it comes to contractions.
Can you look for a student Doula to be your support person? They may be willing to read the book or go over some of the techniques with you.
I totally know the feeling to be worried about not having a support person - I shouldnt say that i dont have a support person as such because my husband will be there but he was pretty useless for my first birth. (However I would hate for him to miss it and not be there at all)
Our little girl is 18 months old and she will be with my mum so that means my mum cant be with me and to be honest there is not really anyone else that i would want to be there.
I looked into getting a doula but it was just a bit too expensive. I have done a calm birth course, however my husband was unable to attend with me (my mum came with me - even though she wont be with me for the birth)
I have just been practising relaxation and visulisations everyday and the way i am looking at my husband is that he will be there so that I am not alone but I am not really looking to him for support.
The hospital that i will be giving birth in have lovely midwifes and i found that with my first birth I had confidence that they were there if I really needed anything.
I completely understand how you are feeling though. I have been so scared that i would be going through it alone and without any support but i am looking at it from a whole different perspective because there is not much i can do about it and I dont want to stress about it too much when there are other things that i should be focusing on.
shelleweb
21-05-2011, 21:14
Just wanted to say thank you, I am looking into calmbirth myself and everyone sharing their experiences in this thread is really helpful :)
kates192
28-07-2011, 13:12
Hi ladies.
Can I ask where you get more info on hypno/calm birth techniques please? I am almost 16wks pg and want to avoid the drugs if I can.
Thanks, kates
bubhubby
12-05-2012, 10:00
Hi thanks all for sharing all these comments, I read them during my pregnancy and decided to book into a calmbirth course – which we absolutely loved – it was very easy even though there was quite a bit in it.
But I thought I’d just answer some of the questions now we’ve done the course – yes it’s really easy to find a calmbirth course as there is lots of practitioners check out the list here: http://www.calmbirthregister.com/register/home
We did our course with Julie Clarke at Sylvania in Sydney over 2 Saturdays for only $350
Hi thanks all for sharing all these comments, I read them during my pregnancy and decided to book into a calmbirth course – which we absolutely loved – it was very easy even though there was quite a bit in it.
But I thought I’d just answer some of the questions now we’ve done the course – yes it’s really easy to find a calmbirth course as there is lots of practitioners check out the list here: http://www.calmbirthregister.com/register/home
We did our course with Julie Clarke at Sylvania in Sydney over 2 Saturdays for only $350
Thanks heaps for the link:)
Dh & I are very keen to do a calmbirth course & have now found to practitioners in our area!