View Full Version : Anyone in Cairns??

mamesmumma
19-06-2009, 22:59
Moving back home to Cairns soon and wondering if there are any mums in Cairns here on Bub Hub?
Wendy

BazzasMum
11-07-2009, 22:02
Hi, I'm on the beach side of town.... Cairns threads seem to be very hit and miss.... you posted this 3 weeks ago! :laughing: Anyway, I hope there's more of us around! Good luck with your move.

MeLFunKTioN
11-07-2009, 22:03
Yup another one here :D Southside though.. Woree :)

mummeeto2
11-07-2009, 22:13
I'm southside too, Edmonton

BazzasMum
11-07-2009, 22:24
Hi Mel, I have to ask. How can you have been a member here 3 year and only have 7 posts? :confused: I'm sure I've read more than that....

earthfairy
08-08-2009, 09:06
Hi Ladies!

Seems a bit quiet in these parts...:detective:

Anyhoo, im in Cairns & would be happy to meet up with other mums & bubs. Im in Redlynch!

EFx

staceyandalley
02-09-2009, 12:38
im a single mum of alley 2 1/2 years. we currently live with grandma as we jus moved from mackay we live in bungalow.

not sure how to make friends here cos i got bubba and im only 19

mamesmumma
02-09-2009, 18:40
Okay so we've got a couple of newer posts why dont we try and meet up somewhere. Bungalow and Redlynch are kinda close (relatively) but edmonton is a bit far. Who has transport who doesnt. Where would be easiest, beaches, city, shopping centre, someones house?

Im beaches too, have a car and am happy to go anywhere. Weekdays are probably best for us as weekends are kinda busy lately. Hubby is at TAFE Mon and Wed. so good days for us to go out too. Have a heap of toys and a bit of space at my place but it's not pretty (bit of a renovation type setup) so not sure if mums would be happy to come over.

I think I will PM this to all in this thread and see what we can organise. Anyone else reading this but not posting yet feel free to PM me.

yummummy2009
30-09-2009, 17:25
Hi, just found this thread. I am a new mum to a 3 week year old boy and am also looking to meet up with some mums (im 23 and none of my friends have kids, bubhub has been my only source to talk and vent baby stuff). I live in Earlville so pretty central so if your keen to have a meet up or anotherone as the last post was a few weeks ago count me in. Just PM me.

Cara

nucass
06-10-2009, 13:38

I need to corresponde with someone about what it's like to live in Cairns - can anyone help?

Cassy

shanzoolander
08-10-2009, 12:35
Hi guys, im new to bubhub, new to cairns and a new mum to an 8wk old boy. I'm 23, Don't know many ppl here yet n finding it hard to find mothers groups.

not sure how bubhub works yet but wuld love to meet up with a group

hope someone can help
have a gr8 day with ur lil ones

arty1
10-10-2009, 00:22
Hi there. Where abouts do you live? I have some friends who have good things to say about some mother's groups on the northern beaches.

I am also 23, and currently 29weeks preggers. Baby is due mid-late dec 2009.

Where did you move from? Hope your adjusting ok. Especially being a new mum and moving. I know when I moved I was a wreck for a number of months (but that was nearly 6 years ago I not only moved out of home but away at the same time).

Cairns is a beautiful place. Summer is coming and you will hate it (stay in air-con). But you will get use to the weather after a year or two. for 6-9months of the year the weather is perfect. So it is worth the suffer through summer (except Im dreading it this year being due in the middle of the hottest time of year).

Chrissy

AlirasMummy
11-10-2009, 15:47
Hey :wave:

Another southsider here. Weve just built a house in Edmonton. Happy to travel anywhere though, my DD loves getting out of the house and going on car rides.

arty1 - I'm also 23 and due in December. Might see you at the hospy! What's your due date? I'm due the 16th but docs have scheduled me for a c-sec on the 10th December

shanzoolander - I hear ya with the mother's groups. I went along to one and it was so clicky.

Has a meet-up been organised yet? My DD has a broken leg at the moment (got double bounced on the trampoline) and her cast will be off in 2 weeks so I'm sure she'll be rearing to go and want to play with some other kiddies by then :)

arty1
12-10-2009, 09:32
Hi Ladies, glad to see more of us are popping out of the woodwork!

AlirasMummy- Well a bit confused about due-date. Mydate/Doctors date is the 19th Dec but 1st scan came back 26th Dec...so I tell people mid-late december. I hoping earlier though (get it away from Xmas). We also are building, at Redlynch Valley Estate. Nearly done. Should be in amount a month before baby due.

Nucass -
I need to corresponde with someone about what it's like to live in Cairns - can anyone help? PM me if you like with your questions. I will try to get back to you ASAP.

Yumummy2009 -I also don't have any friends my age with babies. It is so hard to make friends.

I dont mind travel. Im use to it. Currently live at Trinity Beach but work at Earlville. Even if we meet somewhere like Earlville Shopping Centre, its kinda central to all of us then. Currently finishing my last few weeks of uni, so its chaotic for me. But if you arrange something before Novemeber I will try to make it, other than that November will be better (but not quieter, then I will be moving :hair: ) Saturday mornings are properly best for me. We could meet for a 'coffee' in a neutral location?

shanzoolander
13-10-2009, 10:05
Hi guys, I don't mind travel either, live on the southside but we spend most weekends on the north side. Saturday is fine or during the week, I'm easy.

Alirasmummy & Arty1 - Wow christmas babies how exciting, you may def be in hospital 2gether :) My boy was 11 days early although my friends baby was 2wks late!

Alirasmunny - Your lil one has a broken leg, hope shes handling it ok, can't imagine its much fun

It would be great to catch up with other mums or mums to be, locals and other newbies like me :) So we could organise something in 2 wks maybe?

Sorry I'm not sure wat PM is I'm guessing Private Message? I will try to work that one out have only used this site a couple of times and have had baby in my other arm so didn't take a good look around. :P

gtg being called :) take care xxx

arty1
22-10-2009, 10:41

What do we think about meeting the first week of November (so in two weeks time)?

Im free during the days. Work evenings and weekends.

Could do Wednesday 4th Nov or if others work during the day, on Saturday 7th Nov in Im available til 2pm than have to go to work.

What would you day and time rather? Morning/Lunch/Arvo?

We could meet at Earlville. Its kinda a central location. (Plus you have to pay at Cairns Central). Or DFO is you like, but they dont have a great food court?

Chrissy

yummummy2009
23-10-2009, 09:54

am really excited about meeting you all. I am free both those days you suggested Arty1 so whatever works for all the rest of you will suit me fine. Earlville sounds good, i only live down the road so nice and easy but am able to do DFO ect if that is better.

i would say lunch would be a good time or arvo, mornings take me a little while to get oragnised, lol.

Anyway let me know time and day and me and Jackson will be there.

Cara

arty1
28-10-2009, 13:12
Ok Ladies...ALL are invited to meet us on Wed 4th Nov (2009) at Earlville at Muffin Break (foodcourt) at 12noon.

I hope no-one is working during this time. If so we can change it to arvo as I want to accommodate everyone.

PM me if you like and I will give you mob number in case your running late (or we cant tell who we are and to call each other and wave :wave: )

Looking forward to meeting you and starting our own little mother's group.

Chrissy

CronesFamily
03-11-2009, 08:23

We just found out yesterday that my husband is being sent to Cairns and I'm looking for some help/advice. I've never even been to Cairns so I have no idea where the best place (or worst place) to live is. I'm going to have to do most of my organising over the net as we move in 10 weeks and I don't know if we'll get a chance to go up before we move. We are considering buying but have NO IDEA what the market is like, where to look to buy or if renting is a better option in Cairns. I'm feeling a tad overwhelmed at having to organise everything and leaving my life here as I won't know anyone in Cairns initially. I'm also a tad worried about the humidity as I'm not sure I'm designed to live in the real heat :)

Anyway, I thought that Bub-hub was probably the best place to start looking for advice so I would LOVE any help anyone can offer on where to live etc. My hubby will be working at the public hospital. I have a 16mth old and a boy who is about to turn 4. Thanks in advance to anyone who can point me in the right direction.

Emma:flowerz:

AlirasMummy
03-11-2009, 13:56
Arty1 - I only just noticed this post sorry! I've got two appointments at the hospital tomorrow so I won't be able to make it. I'll definately try for the next meet up though! Wish me luck, i'm having another ultrasound 2moro and as this is our last one (i'm 34 weeks) i'm hoping bub will finally behave so we can find out if we have a boy or girl.

CronesFamily - I moved to Cairns nearly 2 years ago, without ever having been here either. Is your hubby a doctor? I guess it was an easier move for us as the Navy packs and moves all our things and supplies a house!
We have just built a house in a lovely new estate in Edmonton. I live on the Southside and love living on this side. And as for the humidity, aircon was my saviour for the first year but now i'm acclimatised to it. I get cold when it's 25 degrees now! And the kids adapt easily enough too. My DD just runs around in her nappy most of the time and still does while were at home

BazzasMum
03-11-2009, 14:41
CronesFamily - I live on the beaches and love it! The hospital is pretty much in the middle of everything, on the esplanade, so wherever you end up will be fine.

TBH, I find the beaches a lot cooler than town as we get the sea breezes constantly. I'd rent a first - there's a lot available online, that's how we did it - then decide which part of town you like best to buy.

We don't have air con - we live in the pool! It's really not that bad, and I think you'll miss the worst of the heat. The 2 months or so working up to the Wet are the worst, which if youe coming up in 10 weeks you'll miss. It will be wet when you get here, but not too hot (30deg). Don't know where you are now, but know it doesn't get anywhere near as hot here as it does in the southern half of the country!

There's a general ruling here - stay away from the "M" suburbs, and you'll be right! :laughing: Oh and Stratford and Aeroglen are a bit smelly - the sewage farm and airport are a bit on the nose, as is Portsmith (dump).

Good luck! When we decided to move again, I only had 2 weeks to organise everything! I managed (DH was working) with an almost 3 year old and 8 weeks preg. You'll be fine! And we're a pretty friendly bunch up here :D

CronesFamily
03-11-2009, 19:17
Thanks AlirasMummy & Kirsty you have reassured me. I'm sure it will be great living up there - I think I was a bit in shock as we only just found out yesterday and weren't expecting it.

Yep, hubby is a doctor but before that he was with the RAAF so I remember the ease with which Defence moves you (and miss it!).

I think I'm going to spend some quality hours on realestate.com now to try and find a house (maybe one with a pool!). I'm just impatient to buy a place so we only have to move once (but am trying to learn some patience :)) - thanks heaps for the pointers on the suburbs - so nice to get a local perspective!

I'm sure we'll love living up there, it will be an exciting change anyway.

I may ask some more silly questions over the next few weeks and after we move up, if that's ok?

Emma

BazzasMum
03-11-2009, 20:00
No probs Emma, ask away! PM me if there's anything you'd rather not ask in the open forum.

And yes, I'm sure you will love it.

earthfairy
03-11-2009, 20:49
Bugger it!!!
I only just saw the post re: tomorrows meet!!!:hissy:

I have a dr's app in the morning & then have already made plans with a friend to take our littlies to the Lagoon!!

I will definitely make the next one though....how often will we do them?? Im really missing my mothers group from Darwin so would love to have another one....it helps keep me sane :laughing:

EF x

BOSS302WMOM
04-11-2009, 12:11
YES stay AWAY from Aeroglen we made that mistake once wet season came and the yards go to poo it literally smells like a septic tank backed up and the yard looks like it too well along the main stretch of road there anyway the mozzies are shocking as there is a massive drain right there!!! The airport is really noisy it was not the day we looked at the house but it also interferes with HDTV's

Redlynch has an amazing school form prep to 12. Id say Smithfield or beaches I love those areas close to the shops and the city is just up the highway.

STAY AWAY from the three M's unless your in the very swanky area

shanzoolander
05-11-2009, 08:54
Cronesfamily - I had the same issue about 5mths ago. We came to Cairns for a quick holiday and my partner 'sold' me the idea of moving here. Its very pretty and the lifestyle is fantastic, house prices are cheap and there is lots to do for the family. We are renting in a new estate in Edmonton on the south side as we wanted to get a good idea about prices/suberbs before we bought a place. If I was to buy I would choose the Northern suberbs because I love the beach. Redlynch is a nice new area and seems very popular and there are nice estates around Smithfield. Bluewater is also a good one to look at its a new suberb near the canals. They have a deal where they pay your rent for a while or something like that. If your anything like me you will be on realestate.com a fair bit. Also you may want to sign up with specific real estate agencies like CairnsBeaches they specialise in the northern beaches suberbs and www.owner.com.au (http://www.owner.com.au) has some owners selling their places privately.

EarthFairy and Others Interested - We are meeting in the second week of December but if anyone wants to met earlier, feel free to organise something or make a date.

Arty1 - and Kathy thanks for our mothers lunch it was great to meet you :) :) Can't wait until next time. Good luck with exams

CronesFamily
09-11-2009, 19:44
Thanks everyone, you are all such a helpful bunch:thumbsup: I'm trying to find a spare weekend to 'pop' up to Cairns to actually have a look at houses so am starting to get a bit excited about moving there. I'm thinking Brinsmead/Redlynch at the moment (someone told me that school zoning was important in that area??) so am looking for places there. Does anyone know what the new developments at Redlynch are actually like??

I've tried to get my eldest into Kindy but they all just laughed (cause they're all full) so am now looking for the community day care so if anyone has any suggestions, please feel free.

I really appreciate all the insider tips you give, makes it so much easier 'talking' to locals who live there.

shanzoolander, I am impressed that you came for a holiday and ended up moving - Cairns must be good!! otherwise your hubby is one super sweet talker!

Em

arty1
09-11-2009, 22:25
CronesFamily -everywhere in Cairns is in development pretty much (well except the inner city)...I will be living in a part of Redlynch called Redlynch valley estate. The development is nearly over, only bout another 2years to go as they are in the last few stages of selling. There are other areas around Redlynch being established, it is a fairly new area (propably 10yrs+ old).

If you dont get around to visiting before you move, just stay in a motel for a week when you arrive, give you a chance to look around for a place to rent/buy.

Dont rely on public transport here...it is cr@p. We only have a bus service, no trains or trams.

The most annoying thing about living here is the lack of double lanes and there are only 2 main roads which lead into town from the north side. But thats Cairns, they are never going to drill tunnels out of mountains for better convenience :thumbsdown:

If your interested in daycare, depending on where your going to work, you can try applying for a place closer to your work. There is not alot of daycares around, expecially in the Redlynch area.

earthfairy
10-11-2009, 15:22

I live in one of the new housing estates in Redlynch, our house is about 12 months old...
We love it here. The area is clean, friendly, safe....woolies is close by, its not far to the beaches & its not too busy iykwim?

There are plenty of family day care places in Redlynch, my DD is starting at one in January.

NOt much else i can add to what everyone else has posted...but i dont think you will regret moving here, its awesome :thumbsup:

All the best with your move!

EF x

arty1
09-12-2009, 13:47
<Bump>

Hey Ladies, Its been a bit quite. Was going to organise a catch up before xmas but have just moved house and have no internet! Im on the library computer and haven't been able to check my email or this forum much :( Plus my bubba is due in a few weeks and my mum is coming up next week to visit for a while.

And as xmas/holidays etc are getting closer im sure everyone else is really busy too. Hopefully we can get together early in the new year.

Has anyone got plans for the holidays? Going away or having family stay etc?

new_mummy82
09-12-2009, 14:38
:wave: Everyone,

Another Cairns mummy here. I'm in Mt Sheridan, I have two little ones DD who is nearly 3 and DS who's 15 months. We would be keen to come to a meet at some stage.
I also have another thread about a playgroup that I will be running on the south side in 2010, if anyone is interested please feel free to PM me :).
Hope to catch up in the new year some time.

arty1
05-01-2010, 22:19
Well I had bub on December 20th 2009, a girl Ella-Jane, 6 pound 2 ounces, 52cm. Labour went well.

Hope to catch up soon, especially now I have my bubba here...I will have so many new-mother questions to ask Im sure!

earthfairy
06-01-2010, 11:38
:wave: Everyone,

Another Cairns mummy here. I'm in Mt Sheridan, I have two little ones DD who is nearly 3 and DS who's 15 months. We would be keen to come to a meet at some stage.
I also have another thread about a playgroup that I will be running on the south side in 2010, if anyone is interested please feel free to PM me :).
Hope to catch up in the new year some time.

Would love some info on a playgroup!!!! :D

CronesFamily
12-01-2010, 22:37
Congrats Arty1 on the birth of your daughter - very exciting.

Well, we're in Cairns and so far am loving it but still haven't sorted out somewhere to rent. I have a few 'silly southerner' questions for you.

1. what do you do about the mozzies - do you just ignore them or use spray and what is best to use - I'm becoming a bit of a mozzie psycho!

2. am looking in the redlynch, brinsmead area and perhaps up to Trinity Beach but I think that's a bit far for us and can't find the 'perfect' house (perhaps I'm a tad fussy), anyway I just want to know how much do your kids actually use the backyard with the weather/mozzies etc. The places with a pool don't seem to have any grass yard so I'm just wondering if my quest for a proper grassed yard is rediculous and I won't use it? we're still in a serviced apartment in the city so haven't really got used to the lifestyle here yet.

Thanks for the help and I hope I can join one of your catchups this year.

Em :wave:

BazzasMum
12-01-2010, 22:54
QUOTE=CronesFamily;4390663]
1. what do you do about the mozzies - do you just ignore them or use spray and what is best to use - I'm becoming a bit of a mozzie psycho!
Aerogard is my friend! Of course, don't go out in dawn/dusk when they're vicious. And don't live too close to possibly stagnant water.

2. am looking in the redlynch, brinsmead area and perhaps up to Trinity Beach but I think that's a bit far for us and can't find the 'perfect' house (perhaps I'm a tad fussy), anyway I just want to know how much do your kids actually use the backyard with the weather/mozzies etc. The places with a pool don't seem to have any grass yard so I'm just wondering if my quest for a proper grassed yard is rediculous and I won't use it? we're still in a serviced apartment in the city so haven't really got used to the lifestyle here yet.

We've got a pool and very little grass area. It's enough for the dogs to poop :rolleyes: but we've got a bad set-up here so can't let the kids out the back anyway. The pool fence cuts of the yard.

DS1 plays out front mostly - we're in a quiet court so the kids are out on scooters and bikes all afternoon. I'd love a huge yard with a veg garden, but I can't have that and the pool unless we pay $500 a week.

The beaches get the sea breeze and while we have a creek close, it runs all year so not a huge mozzie problem up this way. The only thing I find is sandflies at a couple of the sheltered beach spots.

Good luck finding something you like. There's heaps of rentals available right now and this town is very pet-friendly, especially compared to some places we've lived. :yes:

Congrats on your bub arty.

AlirasMummy
13-01-2010, 10:26

Havn't been on here for awhile and now that I've got a few spare minutes I thought I'd do a quick post.

DD's leg is all better now, cast is off. It took awhile to strengthen it again but she's forgotten all about it now.

We had a little girl, Sienna Rose, born on the 10th December @ 1:18pm. DD is so good with her and loves her to pieces :smiliedance: She's nearly 5 weeks old and hubby has just gone back to work. Was great having the extra hand at home! Anyway in 3 weeks he is going out to sea for nearly 3 months so this will be the hardest trip he's ever done. He's gonna miss out on so much with Sienna :(

Arty1 - Congratulations!! I love the name Ella-Jane. I'm glad all went well with the birth :)

CronesFamily - Welcome to Cairns! I hope you are settling in well and good luck with the house hunting.

new_mummy82 - Would love info on the playgroup you are setting up. Would be awesome to join a new one

So I'd love to come to a meet up if there's any being organised soon? Would love to meet some new people!

CronesFamily
15-01-2010, 08:17
Ok, next question.....can anyone recommend a good doctor to take the kids to. Just remembered DD is due for her 18mth apt today so if anyone's been to a doctor that seems to know what they're doing, is good with kids and seems to care, please let me know. Cause we're still in serviced apartments in the city, I haven't really met anyone 'local' yet.

BazzasMum
15-01-2010, 09:53
Emma - I've been to a few GPs up here - it's all about who can see you at short notice :rolleyes:

Apple Tree med centre at Smithfield (near Woolies/chemist) is brand new. Popped in there Tues to see if someone could check DS2's ears - was nothing, just teeth, again) but Dr Liz was lovely. I also had all my prenatal care done at Smithfield Campus med centre. Lots busier but great Drs there too, as is Kewarra Family practice. Dr Matthews is also a gyn/ob as is Dr McNamara - she's a well known women's health advocate too.

If you just want needles, Smithfield Community Health run clinics, and are good to see. That's all free and have lovely CHNs.

If you're looking to move northide (and yes, there's a LOT less traffic!) then I'd go with Apple Tree. You'll be shopping there anyway.

Mummyof2girls
15-01-2010, 17:18

My name is Toni. I've been living in Forest Gardens, Cairns for 6 years now with my fiance. We have 2 girls. Bella is 2 and Emily is 6 and a half months old. I look forward to chatting to and meeting other mums from Cairns. Bye for now.

earthfairy
16-01-2010, 16:25
Ok, next question.....can anyone recommend a good doctor to take the kids to. Just remembered DD is due for her 18mth apt today so if anyone's been to a doctor that seems to know what they're doing, is good with kids and seems to care, please let me know. Cause we're still in serviced apartments in the city, I haven't really met anyone 'local' yet.

I take my DD to Draper Street Medical Centre, they have midwives there too as well as GP's & are just excellent!!!!

We see Helen, she is such a lovely lady :D

CronesFamily
18-01-2010, 10:05
Thanks ladies for the suggestions, you weren't wrong about finding someone at short notice - I tried a few of your suggestions and even the Smithfield community clinic was booked out until Feb. I ended up at the Draper St clinic for later this week so thanks Earthfairy (although Helen is on leave apparently).

Put an application on a house on Saturday so fingers crossed it gets sorted today, am so impatient that they haven't rang yet but I have to remember it's monday morning and they're probably only just getting into work - not everyone is up at the crack of dawn like me lol.

BazzasMum
18-01-2010, 10:11
Put an application on a house on Saturday so fingers crossed it gets sorted today, am so impatient that they haven't rang yet but I have to remember it's monday morning and they're probably only just getting into work - not everyone is up at the crack of dawn like me lol.
They're usually pretty good with rental apps up here. Not like GC - couldn't care less :rolleyes: Where's the house? Hope you don't mind me asking :o

Glad you got into a Dr.

CronesFamily
18-01-2010, 14:07
They're usually pretty good with rental apps up here. Not like GC - couldn't care less :rolleyes: Where's the house? Hope you don't mind me asking :o

Glad you got into a Dr.

Ask away Kirsty, the only thing is I'm a bit scared to tell you where in case you come back with "don't live there, it's not nice" LOL but the place we're hoping to get is in Kanimbla heights. I still haven't heard anything so am not as confident now but I can't get in contact with hubby so not sure if they've called him or not. We looked at the beaches and I really liked the older Redlynch area but it would mean we'd have to buy a 2nd car whereas this place hubby can (just) ride to work. I've started to look into daycare/kindergartens today too so am slowly starting to get organised.

BazzasMum
18-01-2010, 14:17
Haven't heard anything bad about Kanimbla Heights and riding to work would be handy. Not so much fun riding back home uphill tho!! :laughing:

Hope you get it.

CronesFamily
19-01-2010, 21:35
Am most excited, we got the place so no more looking at houses for me!! The only problem is that the removalists, despite previous confirmations that it would be no drama to deliver it when we want, now say they can't deliver it until next Tuesday and our paid accommodation finishes on Sat so that is a bit of a pain in the A but apart from that, all is rosy :sunshine:

we also bought a new bed on the weekend - first new one in 10yrs so can not wait to sleep on it - I'm dreaming of sleeping on it which is a bit sad!

cairnsnic
23-01-2010, 10:42
Hi, Im a single mum to a 15 month old boy and live on the southside of Cairns. I'm 32 and would love to chat to other mums

new_mummy82
23-01-2010, 15:09
Hi cairnsnic, I'm on the southside of Cairns also. I have a lil boy who has just turned 16 months old, I also have a daughter who is 3 today! Look forward to chatting :).

earthfairy
24-01-2010, 06:21
Just wanted to post to all you Cairns & FNQ girls to stay safe with this cyclone today....

Hopefully we come out unscathed on the other end....:fingerscrossed:

staceyandalley
22-02-2010, 12:18
Hey all I'm a single mum of my 3 year old daughter Alley! I'm a teenage mum turning 20 in may. I would love to chat with other young mums n get some friends as I only moved here last year n many people thing as I have a child I'm not good enough to b friends with which is ridiculous! If u wanna chat pm me plz!!

arty1
23-02-2010, 20:03
Hi Stacey, welcome to the forum. I do understand what you mean about people judging you about age. I am 23 and get people saying "geez you look young", they make me want to say "and how OLD are you?" Its just rude to ask someone younger their age. I am married and have a degree -but does that mean anything? Maturity is a state of mind, age means nothing.

So what brought you to cairns?

becq
23-02-2010, 20:31
hey there, im 27 and baby matilda is 2.5 month now. we are moving to smithfield in say 2 weeks and im really really looking to meet up with some nice ppl. im a single mom from germany, my baby girl is australian thou.

it would be awesome if matilda and me could make some friends to make live quite nice from now on. im in singapore right now where my parents live and am looking forward being in cairns again.

ill probably go to JCU from july on to study psychology. i did read about your mothers groups and would love to join in. i love cookin and bakin, so as soon as im settled in i could offer my place to meet every now and then too with some nice german pastry or somethin :)

staceyandalley
24-02-2010, 21:10
Hey arty1
yer the age business is ridiculous! I no for a fact there is worse mums out there that r much older than me so discrimination against us is just pathetic.
I came to cairns because my mum lives here although I Neva see her as she is always away for work.
I also came for the places to take alley on the weekends it's jus endless n also the affordable rent and the plentyful of jobs.
Unfortunately no one will give me a chance at wat I love so it's hard.

So if anyone knows of any jobs available,mainly admin, but anything would be great?

mamesmumma
25-02-2010, 14:40
Hey all - Just had my 2nd bubs and am at work 7 days a week...with literally no end in sight. Arrrrggg the joys of owning your own business.

Anway im glad to see a little more action in here! Yay Cairns mums.

Im in the beaches. A couple of my customers with kids are coming around on the weekend to play with my son ( I am setting up a sprinkler here at the shop ) and if it goes well I was thinking of doing it again for us bubhub mums.

Let you know how it goes - and let me know if you guys would be interested in coming out to Machans for a playdate.

Wendy

Gypsy Mumma
05-03-2010, 16:32
Hi Mumma's,

I am a 25 year old single mum new to Cairns with a recently One year old girl.
Looking to make friends really and seeing who else is out there!
I have booked my daughter in at a daycare Pelicans on Mulgrave Rd has anyone got feedback on that?

Thanks,
Abbie and Luarna :D

CronesFamily
19-03-2010, 20:47
hey there, im 27 and baby matilda is 2.5 month now. we are moving to smithfield in say 2 weeks and im really really looking to meet up with some nice ppl. im a single mom from germany, my baby girl is australian thou.

it would be awesome if matilda and me could make some friends to make live quite nice from now on. im in singapore right now where my parents live and am looking forward being in cairns again.

ill probably go to JCU from july on to study psychology. i did read about your mothers groups and would love to join in. i love cookin and bakin, so as soon as im settled in i could offer my place to meet every now and then too with some nice german pastry or somethin :)

Hi Becq, welcome to Cairns. I moved up here in January from Brisbane so am still finding my way but if you need any help, just let me know as I'm still making friends!! Smithfield is lovely and very close to JCU so hopefully you'll enjoy it there.

I had a very good friend in Brisbane who was German and she is a baking queen, she used to wow us at playgroup morning tea's with her German food so I'm sure you are an amazing cook too. I love to bake so we used to swap tips.

Hope you're settling in well.
Emma :sunshine:

BazzasMum
19-03-2010, 20:53
Welcome new ladies. One day we'll all manage a meet-up.

Emma - was thinking of you a couple of weeks ago when that man was hit on his way to work. He was from Kanimbla and riding his bike! Had horrid visions of it being your DH - highly unlikely but the only person I know of who does both!!

CronesFamily
20-03-2010, 09:16
Kirsty, would you believe I didn't even hear about that!! Thankfully it wasn't my DH and I hope that whoever it was isn't too badly hurt - I try not to think about how often someone gets hit.

On another note, is that a new pregnancy counter down the bottom of your page Kirsty or have I just not noticed it until now??? (I still seem so vague) Congrats, super exciting.

I was also being rude and didn't say welcome to everyone else who's new to the thread - sorry, just saw 'german baking' and got totally sidetracked with memories of all the yummy things my friend used to make.

hope everyone is enjoying this lovely cool drizzly weather - I LOVE it.

arty1
19-04-2010, 09:23
<Bump>

Hey ladies, how are we all. Well now school holidays and easter is over, maybe things have settled down a little for us all and for those new people who arrived in Cairns too.

Why don't we try to meet up in 1.5weeks time at Earlville Foodcourt near Muffin Break on Wed 28th April at 10.30am?

How does this work for everyone?

PM me if you require my mobile number or other contact info.

Chrissy

Sparrow
20-04-2010, 16:54
I've just moved to cairns and am 9 wks pregnant with my first bub. :D
Any advice?
Thanks a heap.

arty1
25-04-2010, 18:59
Anyone coming this wednesday (28th april Earville Food Court Muffin Break) to the meet up?

Sparrow...depends on what you want to know. Come along to our meet up and you will pick up hints and tips

arty1
27-04-2010, 08:10
Ok people...I have cancelled tomorrows meet up (Wed 28th April) as so far I have had no responses.

How about we try for 2weeks time then? Wednesday 12th May 2010, same place, Earlville Foodcourt outside of Muffin Break at 10.30am

MeLFunKTioN
03-05-2010, 21:38
Howdee!

Doing the rounds of the forums i've joined but not had a lot to do with :P

Thought i'd pop in and say hi :D See there's a few people i know already hehe ! Hi Chrissy and Sara :D

Hello to everyone else. Hope you're all well :) Will keep popping back time to time to see if there's anything organised :D

Talk soon

nic campo
04-05-2010, 14:31
hi am a new mum to be in cairns and am interested in meeting other mums none of our friends have kids. it would be nice to have friends with similar interests:wave:

Cait2010
11-05-2010, 07:39
Hi I'm new to bubhub and cairns,
I'm 26 and have a DS who is 14months old. I'm finding it really hard to make new friends now that I have bub and being new to the area as well. I work 3 days a week, and live in Parramatta Park.
I'd love to meet mum's around my age.
I know I'm a few days late on this thred, sorry.
:-)

Gypsy Mumma
12-05-2010, 03:51
Hi cait2010, I can't pm you not sure why? I'm a 26yr old mum w a 14mth old daughter too living in bungalow. If you pm me your mobile number we should catch up I work part time also. :)

Gypsy Mumma
12-05-2010, 03:52
Is the meet up still on for today at earlville?

arty1
12-05-2010, 21:52
Yes the meet up was still on for today. I had two responses but no-one showed up. Good thing I meet a couple of girlfriends there.

Someone else can try organising one.