View Full Version : Brisbane - Where to donate baby clothes
I have a big box of boy baby clothes and would like to donate them somewhere. Any ideas on where best to give? :)
Bump - women's shelters, homeless parents programs? Anything?
What about Salvation Army, St Vincent De Paul and Lifeline - I saw a thing on telly very recently saying they needed all types of clothes esp winter clothes including for children.
Or ring up local community organisations in your area for more info about homeless families or women's shelters.
abbeybarclay
14-07-2009, 19:56
Hi Seekrit
First you tell me where are you from? Then I can help you.:confused:
BoyCrazy
14-07-2009, 19:59
i reckon salvos, vinnies, lifeline too..
i just took 4 garbage bags full of baby clothes to lifeline. :D
next are the old toys..all perfect condition! gotta go through them first and see what i can keep for jasper, but i have HEAPS to give away.
do lifeline etc take toys too?
could offer on freecycle website :yelclap:that way they go to someone that really wants them and can use them.
what about passing to appreciative friends :confused:
i find that the good baby clothes donated to vinnies and the likes are either taken by the volunteers or sent overseas as I never see any there :no: that are any good.
Local childrens hospitals are good too. :yes:
sweetseven
21-07-2009, 13:45
PM sent about a community support group.
RubyRedToes
26-07-2009, 20:28
Maybe a young mums or support playgroup in your area?
I wouldn't say Lifeline...purely because I donated a heap of boxes there once and found them selling my things for a lot more than I thought! More than I would pay anyway.
Hope this helps :)
Debstar- Just in relation to your post I must agree that I believe also that the volunteers take all the good stuff too! I've been there on a number of occasions for bit of a rummage through(never know what you'll come across!lol.) And see them come from the back with bags of clothes!!
At mine anyway! So I dont buy much at all in clothes anymore from there. Nothing too great left:(
Womens shelters sound like a great idea though! Or maybe a young pregnant mothers organis. if you can locate one.
Havana_Face
30-08-2009, 22:17
If you have any little little clothes like biggest being 000 Mater Mothers Hospital Special Care Nursery are crying out for clothes! they accept donations with open arms - also blankys if you have them too!
luckyfour
03-10-2009, 20:56
my ds went to mater childrens as a bub as an emergency patient/ambulance and vomited all over himself and was awaiting surgery in the ward and the wards had no spare clothes so he had to wrapped in blackets in just a nappy till dh could get in so maybe there?