View Full Version : Could you please recommend me a nappy that doesn't leak??

Lily_Pad
11-06-2009, 14:24
I've had it with these huggies nappies! :hair: I am so sick of getting pooed on and getting poo on everything else while trying to clean it up. I can't figure out why the poo comes out of the top of the nappy of all places!! She's 4 months and already in crawler nappies, so surely she doesn't need to go up a size?

If they are cheaper than huggies too I wouldn't complain! :p

tia

Zada
11-06-2009, 14:28
try sorbies. They work really good. Coles and IGA sell them
otherwise ALDI nappies are good too

NonnyMouse
11-06-2009, 14:29
I'd recommend putting a pilcher over the top. DS is in sposies at night sometimes and they ALWAYS leak. He's 4.7kg and in the infant size, and we've tried a few different brands. What stops the leaking is to put one of those fluffy pilchers over the top, because they have elastic at legholes and at the top so anything that escapes the nappy doesn't also escape the pilcher.

They're not that bulky over a sposie either. The only type I haven't had leakage issues with is cloth terry flats, and I think that's cause the extra absorbency catches the runny bits before they reach the leg holes. (Aside from the occasional HUGE poo, in which case I'm sure even wrapping the entire baby in nappies wouldn't stop it leaking LOL)

Jenko
11-06-2009, 14:29
Aldi are the best!

ethansmum08
11-06-2009, 14:32
i use snugglers i find them really good my little man is in crawlers and there good i think! he never leaks and i found any other nappie i used everything leaked out

sarahkm82
11-06-2009, 14:33
I always used Huggies... then I discovered Aldi work so good and are way cheaper! They are unisex though, not like Huggies which make boys and girls different.
Worth a try! All my friends use Aldi nappies too.

Luna Lovegood
11-06-2009, 14:37
Dry Bots are good...

Maybe try going a size up in the nappy???????????

Lily_Pad
11-06-2009, 14:37
Thanks heaps everyone, I think I'm going to try the Aldi's ones :thumbsup: And I'm gonna go get them right now cause if I get pooed on one more time I'm going to cry :laughing:

Lily_Pad
11-06-2009, 14:42
Dry Bots are good...

Maybe try going a size up in the nappy???????????

That's what I was thinking, but the next size up is the Walker nappies right? :confused: And she couldn't possibly fit into them yet... she's about 6.5 kilos...

Mrs Dolphin
11-06-2009, 14:50
I sometimes had this trouble with DD with it all coming out the top...the next size in Huggies and generally for most nappy brands after Crawler is Toddler then Walker nappies.

But I think Crawler should be ok up to about 11kg so shouldn't need to go up yet....maybe try another brand - it might be that Huggies just do not suit your DD bottom shape or something!

I find Snugglers quite good or even the good ole red and white Home Brand ones are good too from Woolies!

Good luck and I hope you find something that suits soon! :)

BabelFish
11-06-2009, 15:35
Everyone raves about the Aldis so if you can get them I'd give them a try.

DD is only in disposables at night and we have found the best ones by far are the Coles Drynights. Fantastic. I've never liked Huggies - I think they're a small fit, ridiculously expensive and no better than much cheaper brands.

Lily_Pad
11-06-2009, 15:42
What kind of cloth nappies do you use Chesby? I really want to use them instead, but they all seem so pricey to get started with...

kylza
11-06-2009, 15:46
:thumbsup: ALDI :D

BabelFish
11-06-2009, 15:52
What kind of cloth nappies do you use Chesby? I really want to use them instead, but they all seem so pricey to get started with...
We use Baby Beehinds - love, love LOVE them!

It IS pricey to get started. I took a risk and bought all of mine when I was pregnant, because they were on sale on eBay for $15 each. I bought about 45 in total, in the small and medium sizes. We had already planned to use disposables for the first 8 weeks, just while getting used to being new parents. So each fortnight doing the grocery shopping I bought one bag of natural, biodegradable, chemical-free disposables to use when bub was born. I ended up having all the nappies I needed sitting in the cupboard by the time I was about 35 weeks pregnant! :D

She graduated to the Baby Beehinds at about 10 weeks of age, in the end.

The thing is, if you buy three or four to begin with, it'll cost you around $100 - a lot, yes. But if you like them they're with you for this child and the next. If you don't, you can sell them - because they get absolutely snapped up.

I ended up spending about $500 on my nappies and for the nappy-wearing life of my child that is a saving of about $3,000 compared to if I was using disposables. So to begin with it's a bit of an outlay, but over the period until they're toilet trained you'll literally save thousands of dollars.

PS - And they're SOOOOOOOOO cute! Here is my DD in her very first BBH.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v450/Sarahpen01/Little%20Girl/Newnappy.jpg

BabelFish
11-06-2009, 15:54
Oh yes - and now that we know how easy they are, I'll be buying the newborn size for my next bub and they won't be wearing disposables at all. I still don't think that they're up to the job of an all-night sleep (because DD sleeps for 13 hours and even her disposables leak sometimes!) so we'll still use sposies at night. I feel guilty about it, but I don't want her sleep disturbed with wet nappies and she wees up a storm at night :p

NonnyMouse
11-06-2009, 15:55

I'm not Chesby, but I'll but in with an answer hehe...

I use terry flats, which cost me under $100 for three packs of 12, and we only go through about 6 - 8 per day. I did the same for DD and hers lasted from birth to 2yrs.

BabelFish
11-06-2009, 15:59
A friend I work with uses them too, Nonny - she loves them. Safety pins scare me hahahaha :D

Lily_Pad
11-06-2009, 16:17
We use Baby Beehinds - love, love LOVE them!

It IS pricey to get started. I took a risk and bought all of mine when I was pregnant, because they were on sale on eBay for $15 each. I bought about 45 in total, in the small and medium sizes. We had already planned to use disposables for the first 8 weeks, just while getting used to being new parents. So each fortnight doing the grocery shopping I bought one bag of natural, biodegradable, chemical-free disposables to use when bub was born. I ended up having all the nappies I needed sitting in the cupboard by the time I was about 35 weeks pregnant! :D

She graduated to the Baby Beehinds at about 10 weeks of age, in the end.

The thing is, if you buy three or four to begin with, it'll cost you around $100 - a lot, yes. But if you like them they're with you for this child and the next. If you don't, you can sell them - because they get absolutely snapped up.

I ended up spending about $500 on my nappies and for the nappy-wearing life of my child that is a saving of about $3,000 compared to if I was using disposables. So to begin with it's a bit of an outlay, but over the period until they're toilet trained you'll literally save thousands of dollars.

PS - And they're SOOOOOOOOO cute! Here is my DD in her very first BBH.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v450/Sarahpen01/Little%20Girl/Newnappy.jpg

Awww she's gorgeous!! :bee:
You're right, they are super cute, and you've convinced me. I'm gonna get some :laughing:
So true about the amount you save though - I'll have to show DP your post cause when I told him I wanted to buy some he was dead set against it cause of the cost. We were lucky at the start, pretty much everyone who came to my baby shower brought us boxes of nappies. But now it's beyond a joke how many we go through and what they cost!

Nonny my MIL also told me to use terry flats. But the safety pins scare me too :o Or maybe I just dont want to do anything MIL suggests. :laughing:

NonnyMouse
11-06-2009, 16:23
A friend I work with uses them too, Nonny - she loves them. Safety pins scare me hahahaha :D

Me too... so I use a Snappi... fantastic invention!!!

This is what they look like on: http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1066&pictureid=5168

BabelFish
11-06-2009, 17:27
If you go to the Baby Beehinds website (and other websites for MCNs - Bumgenius, Itty Bitty etc) there is a tonne of information about cost and how much you save, different styles and types (all in ones vs pockets etc) how much the effect of the water and chemicals is on the environment (it takes more water and chemicals to manufacture ONE disposable nappy than it takes to wash an entire load of cloth!!) and just about every other question you could answer.

The thing for me, too, is that I find them easier than disposables. People raise their eyebrows but here are my reasons:

1. They are easier to put on (stretchier, a better fit and softer for baby)
2. They don't have any chemicals in them so she doesn't ever get any nappy rash - ever
3. I do so much washing anyway with her clothes etc that it doesn't make any difference to my load
4. No smells, no icky nappies in bins (ewww hygiene), no worries about storage, saves me heaps of $$$ and almost totally guilt-free.
5. During the day with cloth nappies on DD sleeps 2 x 2-hour sleeps. If she is wearing a disposable she will only sleep for an hour and fifteen minutes. I didn't believe it either at first but it's true!"?

These are my main reasons for thinking they are actually easier than sposies and whilst they may not be the same for everyone, this has been the case for us. Good luck - they are so totally sweet!

UmmInayah
11-06-2009, 18:04
The thing for me, too, is that I find them easier than disposables. People raise their eyebrows but here are my reasons:

1. They are easier to put on (stretchier, a better fit and softer for baby)
2. They don't have any chemicals in them so she doesn't ever get any nappy rash - ever
3. I do so much washing anyway with her clothes etc that it doesn't make any difference to my load
4. No smells, no icky nappies in bins (ewww hygiene), no worries about storage, saves me heaps of $$$ and almost totally guilt-free.
5. During the day with cloth nappies on DD sleeps 2 x 2-hour sleeps. If she is wearing a disposable she will only sleep for an hour and fifteen minutes. I didn't believe it either at first but it's true!"?

These are my main reasons for thinking they are actually easier than sposies and whilst they may not be the same for everyone, this has been the case for us. Good luck - they are so totally sweet!

Can I add to this list? They're so totally cute! And collecting them is an addiction!! :D :yes:

BabelFish
11-06-2009, 19:38
Hahaha yeah it sure is! We have pink, purple, orange, blue, turquoise and white. Now I want some with patterns or varicoloured - I've seen one with little paw prints all over it that is tooooooo cute!

mim1
11-06-2009, 22:40
My ds moved out of newborn nappies by 4 - 6 weeks and I had a few months when I had lots of trouble finding the right disposible nappy for him. Huggies leaked - even in the 6 - 11kg size (he was about 5kg). Tried aldi, they were good. Tried heaps of them. Spent heaps on all different brands, but by the time I'd used them all he'd grown a lot and fitted into the 6 - 11kg huggies with ease. We've used huggies ever since - but always ignore the kg listed on the packet - he was in 13 - 18kg nappies by about 11kg for example - and he's skinny.

So, just cause a disposible brand works well for her now, doesn't mean it will forever and vice versa. Unfortunately it's a bit of trial & error.

For me the fuss of MCN wasn't worth it - my ds did 8 - 10 poos a day (sorry if TMI) and the thought of dealing with it was enough to put me off. But next time around I might explore the option when #2 is a bit older (maybe around 6 months) ... but only if I'm a SAHM. My mum & dh wouldn't be big fans I don't think.

BabelFish
11-06-2009, 22:49
Woahhhhh that's a lot of poos!! We use biodegradable, flushable liners in our nappies and the poo sticks to them like glue. It's magic. Straight in the loo and no marks on the nappies, ever. I must say that makes using them much easier.

Kayteigh
12-06-2009, 01:21
I've had it with these huggies nappies! :hair: I am so sick of getting pooed on and getting poo on everything else while trying to clean it up. I can't figure out why the poo comes out of the top of the nappy of all places!! She's 4 months and already in crawler nappies, so surely she doesn't need to go up a size?

If they are cheaper than huggies too I wouldn't complain! :p

tia

I have used only huggies for 12 years now and never had a problem with them, my daughter was leaking through her huggies a few weeks ago and I changed her from Toddler to Walker and the leaking stop straight away

Paia
12-06-2009, 01:35
I had the exact same problem with my little one it woukld pour out the top, around the sides and anywhere else it could escape. I loved huggies for their wee control as he would soak right through everything else and trust me we tried almost everything

The only Nappy i found that answered our prayers was an "eco" brand they sell at coles and woolys. They are one of the only eco nappies on the market and have frogs on them (so cute) and they are dirt cheap!

They have a lot of room for all that poop and i never had too much of an issue untill my son learned to remove them himself :laughing:

bada
12-06-2009, 10:26
From my experience, when the pooh comes up the back it means it is time to upsize. The next huggies size up from crawler is actually toddler and my DD went into toddler at 4 months and she was 8.5 kilos from memory.

NonnyMouse
12-06-2009, 11:39
Woahhhhh that's a lot of poos!! We use biodegradable, flushable liners in our nappies and the poo sticks to them like glue. It's magic. Straight in the loo and no marks on the nappies, ever. I must say that makes using them much easier.

Which liners are they? I'm still experimenting as our nappies usually need a bit of extra "bleaching" in the sun.

cja
12-06-2009, 15:51
I think the best brand depends on bubs shape. Babylove was great for my DS. With DD I used Huggies, but have recently switched to Babylove/Coles now that she is a bit chubbier.

HoopDeeDoo
12-06-2009, 15:54
DS leaked with every sposie brand until we switched to MCNs. Best invention ever! And cloth nappies are such a money saver! Good luck, just remember there are loads of great brands out there, so it may take a couple of gos to find the best fit for your bub, but once you do look out because you will be hooked!