View Full Version : Get togethers........

babyboo
21-06-2006, 09:03

Alot of (coupled) parents have get togethers, but I havent seen many site/forums that have single parent get togethers in sydney.

I would like to create a mothers group for solo mummies in sydney. I know there are heaps of mothers groups but i havent really seen many for us solo mums. And rather than sit at home suffering in silence,we can get together.

If anyone is interested, let me know and i'll start compiling a list of everyone that wants to participate.

cheers.:smiliedance:

tyler's mum
21-06-2006, 10:38
where abouts in sydney are you from???

babyboo
21-06-2006, 12:05

Im in Girraween (hills/parra area). What about u?

Sam143
21-06-2006, 21:39
Hi - I'm in the lower Blue Mountains.

I agree - I would love to get together with other single mums - the kids would love it too!!!..

I am so afraid of the 'single parent' get together clubs as I think that they maybe just for men to try to 'pick us up!' I REALLY DON'T WANT THAT!!!

Add me to the list....

tyler's mum
23-06-2006, 12:05
im from out mt druitt way

Mum of one boy
24-06-2006, 18:42
Yay!!!:smiliedance: just what I've been looking for. A single mummies group. I once called one of those single parents groups only to come off the phone feeling even more rejected. The lady sounded about 40 and said that I sounded young and was not friendly to say the least. I'm actually 29 but got the idea that the group was full of men and women about 40 plus so I dont think I was welcome!!! More rejection just what us single mums need!!!

I have a littlel two yr old boy and live in Baulkham Hills, I'll be moving to Gladesville area soon but have a car so can travel to wherever you guys decide to meet up. So yes please definitely count me in. I have to say I get most lonely on the weekends. as even though I have my little gorgeous one we have to do most things just the two of us and I look at all the happy families in the park and think I used to have that. Really gets me down.

But I think started a single mums group like you guys have said would be such a positve great thing and yes the kids would absolutely love it as much as us mums.

Really look forward to it. Anyone any thoughts on where we could meet?

Jaime

Lovely Lochie's mummy

babyboo
25-06-2006, 21:43
welcome welcome welcome Jaime - YAY :smiliedance: another single mummy.

Ive been trying to think of where we can meet up, dont know alot of places and not sure what would suit everyone, but......

tonz of fun - castle towers
kids play land - behind RTA in Castle hill
lollipops - all over

These all cost to enter, but might be ok for our first meet up. Does anyone else have any ideas or know any great spots to meet up where the kids can play?? or a park or something.

Maybe we can work on meeting up on Thursday. I work Mon, Wed, Fri (9-3) so I cant do much on those days and have just scheduled dd into swimming lessons on tues morn (starting 4th july), been wanting to start her for ages :) , what is everyone else schedule for days??

I know how you feel Jaime when ya go to the park and you see all the other families with mummy & daddy, cause i think the same thing - I used to have that, or should I say dd used to have that and it gets me down too - its hard i know. As for my weekends, i know try to fill them as best i can. We go to the shops, do baking, play, etc - but sometimes i get down and just exhausted, especially if miss attitude decides to play up.

Maybe we sould write a little about ourselves too, ok...so...me: im 28 (29 in nov) and my dd Rhianna is 3 in August. I seperated over a year ago after being with dd's dad for 10 years and moved state to be closer to family. dd doesnt see her dad (lives in different state). Just her and I in our villa. As i mentioned i work 3 days a week. I used to work fulltime but it took its toll after 6mths and i had to cut back, so changed jobs. Im currently studying a diploma of marketing (trying to anyways hehe) external through tafe. Have gotten to a point where ive got myself together (enough anyways) to get out there and meet some other single mums (put a group together), been a bit of an uphill battle, but getting there. So thats me.:ecomcity:

chat soon.:yelclap:

SimplyMum
26-06-2006, 13:40
Hi Guys, thought I'd post here rather than the oter thread Babyboo.

Ok, firstly this sounds great. A single Mums group. I am all for it.

Secondly a little about myself. My name is Lee, I'm 22. I have a DS- he's name is Bailey. He is 9months. I currently live with my parents in Glenmore Park but am hoping to move out early next year (after I save for a car). I'm studying Accounting part-time but still have a looooonnnnng road ahead.

Because I do not have access to a car, I am only able to go somewhere either in Penrith or somewhere not too far away and is close to a train station. I would love to meet up with other single parents and am looking forward to it very much.

tyler's mum
26-06-2006, 17:33
im in the same boat as lee i dont drive so it would be better some where local for me aswell is there a lollipops close to penrith or near this area??? i really would like to have a single mums group

Mum of one boy
26-06-2006, 17:47
Thanks for the lovely welcome babyboo. Thursday this week sounds good for meeting up! All the play places you suggested sound great. I've only been to the Lollipops in Castle HIll, not the other two. But it's great....huge.

I'm guessing your Rhianna and my Lochie would have a great time playing together :thumbsup:thumbsup: and we could have a great old chat :ecomcity: and of course any other single mums and their little ones who were able to come!

A little more about myself....I was married for two and a half yrs, separated from my ex last yr and divorced as of two months ago. My ex has moved on super quickly, just got married and has a little bub due this Oct. Our relationship, if you can call it that!! is fairly amicable for the sake of our son. His dad usually has care of him from Wed night to Fri evening but this week is an exception, hence my being able to meet this Thurs.

I have just finished studying Medical Admn at Tafe and next Fri am v.excited as my son and I go to Malaysia to visit my parents for a month:yelclap: . Soooo need the break as I'm sure all you other single mums would relate too!! So I'd really love to meet up with you guys before I go. I don't really have many close friends that I can chat too and reallyl need that adult conversation! When we get back we will be moving and I will be looking for part time work.

Good on you Babyboo for working and studying at the same time!! plus being a full time mum. Hats off to you. Plus you have sole care of Rhianna which means I assume you don't get much 'you' time. I used to go crazy when Lochie would go to his dads but now welcome the break and gives me time to have a bit of a social life.

Like you babyboo lochie and I do a lot of shopping! well mainly window shopping! on the weekends, going to the park andn heaps of play too. During the week we have Kindergym on Tues morn and Library on Wed. Until recently we were going to a playgroup but didn't really feel like I fit in there. I'd love us to create our own group. Maybe even take turns at meeting at eachothers houses or parks like babyboo suggested. Would love a group of friends that I could rely on and heaps of other children for Lochie to play with.

By the way my email is jaimeturland@hotmail.com, maybe we could exchange phone numbers via email babyboo if you like. Or I dont' mind orgainising time and place on here. Would love to meet you guys this Thursday. Any time is good. Maybe morning is best??

Whoops just realised I have yacked on for nearly a whole page!

anyway hopefully chat soon
Jaime

babyboo
26-06-2006, 19:56

Well, im thinking for our first meet (and to make our initial meet easier for everyone) how about we meet at the Penrith Lollipops at say 10:30 Thursday morning. 233 Mulgoa Road, Penrith.

http://www.lollipopsplayland.com.au/location_au.php?page=home

(hope im allowed to post that in here - but you can check out the prices, etc.)

Ive had a look at the website and its about $10.50 per child over 2 (i know its exp) and $4.00 for an adult which include 1 cup of tea or coffee. How does that sound - let me know if no good.

I have meet a couple of other single mums over the net, so i'll invite them along too.

Now we just have to work out how we are going to know who is who when we get there. hehe:) maybe I should put something on the table.hehe.

Ok, so let me know what you all think. Any suggestions.......

mz sv6
26-06-2006, 20:08
:wave: hi ladies i jus wonna say i havnt had my baby yet but his due in 6 days (2nd july) but i would like to meet other solo mums also after i have baby i do drive n i can meet anywhere love to meet up with other mums sometime thanx

babyboo
26-06-2006, 20:15
hi mz_lancer,

congratulation on your bub on the way soon :smiliedance: . Sounds great, the more the merrier (spell ? lol).

take care

tyler's mum
26-06-2006, 20:21
mz_lancerelcome and congrates on you all almost new born hope all go's well:fingerscrossed:

i can not make this thur sorry would have love to come

mum2littleman
26-06-2006, 20:33
hi girls im not from syd so i dont want to crash ur thread or anything but was hoping when i saw single mums get to gether that you would be form the coast so instead of posting another thread like this i though i was post in here and hope that there are more single goldcoast mums that would like to meet??

i do go out with a few other bubhubs and they are just the most lovely people but i am also hoping to meet other single mums like me...

sorry for :ecomcity:

mz sv6
26-06-2006, 20:37
thanx for the welcome ladies n if any single mums wonna chat jus message me i have msn or jus email

babyboo
26-06-2006, 20:38
Hi Louise,

I have a friend that i chat with on msn. She lives on the gold coast and is a single mummy and when i mentioned to her that i was trying to organise a single mummies group, she said to me that she wished there was one up there.

So, if you like i could have a chat to her and give her your details or vice versa and you guys could possibly get a single mummies group going on the GC.

Let me know :)

babyboo
26-06-2006, 20:42
mz_lancer - feel free to come along before bub is born too to meet everyone. :yelclap:

Tam - bummer, but thats ok, well catch you at the next meet. :D

mum2littleman
26-06-2006, 20:47
Hi Louise,

I have a friend that i chat with on msn. She lives on the gold coast and is a single mummy and when i mentioned to her that i was trying to organise a single mummies group, she said to me that she wished there was one up there.

So, if you like i could have a chat to her and give her your details or vice versa and you guys could possibly get a single mummies group going on the GC.

Let me know :)

o that would be great!!!!
thanks!
my email addy is ur_good_girl16@hotmail.com tell her feel free to add me on msn or anything.. thanks again

babyboo
26-06-2006, 21:02
no probs Louise, i'll pass your email addy on to her.

Mum of one boy
26-06-2006, 21:08
Just wanted to let all who are able to go know that we will definitely be there at Lollipops on Thurs. Really look forward to meeting you all there:smiliedance: and thanks Clare for organising it all! Um....trying to think what would be a good way of marking the table.......how about if you bring a largish cuddly toy, like a tigger or pooh and put it on the table and let us know what it will be, I know maybe a bit silly but just a thought!:p

See u there
Jaime

babyboo
26-06-2006, 22:08
Good thinking Jaime.......i'll take Rhi's pooh bear and put it on the table (its one of those soft ones that sits up and sings), providing dd doesnt try to nick it off the table. Its not huge, but hopefully will be noticable. lol.

Looking forward to it!!

SimplyMum
27-06-2006, 08:02
What time will you guys be going?

babyboo
27-06-2006, 14:38
Lee - meet there at 10:30am Thursday - will u be able to make it. Let me know if you cant, cause i'll change the destination to lollipops castle hill. Hoping you can!!!!!:)

Rebecca - are you guys going to be able to make it???

Oh and i wanted to share with you guys that........ I got 87% on my assignment (got it back today). Its my first assignment, im sooooo STOKED!!!!! YAY :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

SimplyMum
27-06-2006, 21:19
Hi, are you meeting at Penrith? I should be able to make it. I'll have to let you know for sure tomorrow though.

SimplyMum
27-06-2006, 21:21
Oh and congrats on your assignment. That is a bloody excelant result.:yelclap: What are you studying? I'm due to go back on the 17th July- not looking forward to it!:crying:

babyboo
27-06-2006, 21:30
hey lee, im studying my diploma of marketing external through OTEN.

thats cool about thrus. let me know, cause if ya cant make it i'll email Jaime and change it to closer at castle hill.

chat soon.

SimplyMum
27-06-2006, 21:47
Oh Wow, good on you babyboo.

Ok, I've worked it out. I can come on Thursday. I'll meet you guys there at 10:30am with a teddy/blanket on the table.

babyboo
27-06-2006, 21:50
great Lee. as i mentioned to Jaime, i'll put Rhianna's pooh bear on the table. mind you she will probably take off for the play area the second i walk in the door lol.

c u there.:thumbsup:

babyboo
29-06-2006, 20:53
Jaime & Lee - Heya guys, i just wanted to pop in and say Thanks for today, I had a really great time.

Jamie, i hope Lochies little nose is ok.

Was really great meeting you guys and chattn. Looking forward to catchn up again soon. :) :)

SimplyMum
30-06-2006, 09:41
Clare, Jaime- yeah, I second that Clare. It was really good to meet you guys. Can't wait to do it again some time.

Clare- will definatley have to set a time and date to get together.

Jaime- have fun on your trip- I am so jelous!:rolleyes:

Any other single Mums- bummer that you couldn't make it but come along next time, the more the merrier!:)

Chanelc
30-06-2006, 13:48
Curious if there are any single mums in Melbourne that catch up as love to met other single mums

Cheryl - 33
Chanel - 6 months

SimplyMum
01-07-2006, 09:53
Sorry, I'm Sydney

babyboo
02-07-2006, 09:36

Cherly - im also in Sydney, but maybe you could post for your area in the main "single parent' thread and see if you get any replies for your area. good luck:smiliedance:

Hows everyone else doing? hope your all well.

I wanted to drop in and let you guys know that im on the hunt for a permanent location for our meet ups - ive tracked down some community centres in the area and will give them a call next week and see if they can help out (they hold playgroups, so hopefully, well be able to hold a single mothers group).

What do you guys think? would you be happy to meet up at a commuity centre. And i'll try to find a place that has some toys (hopefully) and tea/coffee facilities. I think it will make it easier and cheaper if we have a central locaiton.

take care everyone :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

SimplyMum
02-07-2006, 10:03
Sounds great. :smiliedance: We could always bring a plate of food each or take turns or something......:thumbsup: Good thiking Clare.

Harley's Mum
30-07-2006, 18:30

I think this is a fantastic Idea and id like to know more bout the group.
About me im 33 living in Pendle Hill with My son Harley 15mths. When/where is the next get together or is there a regular meeting place.

Looking ofrward to meeting some of you.

Kylie 33
Harley 15 mths

babyboo
31-07-2006, 16:26

Kylie - great to have another person, welcome.

We havent had a get together for a while. How about we organise one.

Maybe we could find somewhere that can be accessed by a train line/bus line so everyone can come.

Just trying to think.......nope shouldnt do that, hurts my brain :p . Maybe a cafe (with kids play area) in parramatta or Castle hill somewhere.

I'll have a think and search for some places on the net. Any suggestions?

Harley's Mum
31-07-2006, 18:12
Hi again

I know there is a kids cafe in the level 5 food court in westfield parramatta. Maybe that could be a good place. Im not sure if a reservation is needed though.

Kylie

SimplyMum
31-07-2006, 21:05
Parramatta sounds great. Easily accessed as well. :thumbsup: Top idea guys!

KaM
01-08-2006, 09:32
Im a single mum in sydney as well. I live just near bankstown and would so love to meet up with some other single mums. Havent really found a lot around here and being that I dont drive its a little tough. But I do know I can get to parramatta by train. My grandparents live in Baulkham hills so we're always heading up that way. So definitely something easy by train and ill do my best to get tehre with my little miss!

babyboo
01-08-2006, 16:29
Hey guys,

Ive done a little search of the westfield. Found Chipmunks and Playhouse Cafe, I think they are on level 5.

Has anyone been to either of these places?? I can call into the westfield on my way home from work tomorrow and have a look - just hope i can get in and out without spending any money :laughing: :laughing: , such a sucker for shops.:yes:

Harley's Mum
02-08-2006, 13:38
I will be in parra today so will go early and have a look maybe get some prices.

babyboo
02-08-2006, 14:26
ah thats great Kylie. Im a bit pushed for time, so im glad someone else can check it out. cool.:yelclap:

Maybe we can work on meeting up on Thursday if everyone is free that day??

Im not far from you Kylie - im in Girraween. :wave:

SimplyMum
02-08-2006, 15:20
Next Thursday I can do, Can't do tomorrow- got my sisters ultrasound, so excited. :smiliedance:

babyboo
02-08-2006, 15:59
I didnt realise when i said it that Thursday is tomorrow - gosh my days are getting away from me again.:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Yeah, maybe next Thursday. Think Jaime might be back by then aswell.

Okay, so we have (let me know if ive missed anyone)

Lee
Jaime (have to check with her when she gets back)
Kylie
Krisseh
Me

I sooo hope i havent missed anyone - are any of you other ladies coming??

Im not sure if ive mentioned that i did do a bit of a hunt around for a place to hold our group as a permanent locations. However, have been told that to hold it at a hall/community centre or anything like that we would have to have public liability insurance. Which is expensive. So looks like we'll have to go between each others places and playgrounds/cafes.

I'm only in a 2 bedroom villa with not alot of space, but will hopefully be moving soon into a 3 bedroom house with more yard. So i'll be counted in as one of the places once im moved and settled.:thumbsup:

How did you go kylie with checking out parra??

Harley's Mum
02-08-2006, 18:21
Doh

Sorry to say that the place I was thinking of has been closed down and replaced by galaxy world. :crying:

I dont know anywhere else thats easy toget to for everyone.

got any ideas

babyboo
02-08-2006, 20:43
im gunna be at parra westfield tomorrow too. might have a look around aswell.

I'm not really sure of anywhere else that is on the train line.

Will have think :idea:

SimplyMum
03-08-2006, 07:53
Hello Everyone. That would be so good to catch up with Jamie again.

My house (or my parents house) is always free. It's got enough room inside or out. Out is much nicer and easier as my mum's house isn't too child proof but we could accomodate.

Oh, and good news. I may have a car soon!!!!:smiliedance: Can't wait. Hate not having a car! Although it's only really crappy!

Harley's Mum
05-08-2006, 15:40
Baby boo

did you end up finding anything in parra. I cant really do early thursday that when I take DS to playgroup.

I also met another single mum today not a member here yet but is interested in joining us.:smiliedance: She works FT so can only do weekends.

let us know what you found

babyboo
07-08-2006, 12:18
Na, i didnt find much at parra either unfortunately.

sorry guys, not having much luck here. lol. I'll look for another place, just dont know if it will be on a train line.

See how we go.........

SimplyMum
11-08-2006, 11:31
Hello Guys,

I got a car! Not a fantastic one, but it'll get me to wherever the meet is! I can come:smiliedance:

LilShenanigans
11-08-2006, 17:18
I thought I had posted a message here? or did someone make multiple threads that all look alike?? lol

I'm confused.

I'm also here, somewhere and slightly bored :thumbsup:

Harley's Mum
28-08-2006, 16:02
Hi Guys:wave:

Just thought you might be interested in a thread I just posted. Fun day out in Bondi.

Would love to meet some of you :yelclap:

scorpio
02-09-2006, 07:20
I think its great that a single mums meet up has been arranged for Sydney mums. My dd is 25 and is a single mum to Kaleb, 6 months. She lives with us, her parents, at the moment, as rentals are so very expensive!!!

We are moving to the Hills District in the 2nd week of Oct. and I know my dd would love to meet some other single mums. We are making the move from Tassie so everything will be new!!

I will talk to my dd and have her register on this site so she can post and tell you a bit about herself. She will be looking for some part time work when we arrive in Syd. but at present any day would be good for her I would think.

So you will have another mum and bub joining your group very soon!! :smiliedance:

kalebsmummy
02-09-2006, 10:05
Thanks for the introduction mum!! :laughing:

I hope to meet other single mums when we get settled in Sydney - everything will be new to me and I would be rapt to make some friends and meet up every few weeks or so ... have a coffee, chat/whinge :rolleyes: and introduce our babies :fingerscrossed:

When you are planning your next meeting, let me know and hopefully I'll be able to make it!

babyboo
04-09-2006, 13:12

Sorry, havent been in here for a while. Ive been pretty busy lately and havent had alot of time for meet ups. Im in the process of looking to move house and seem to have alot going on.

so, if you guys want to organise a meet up, go for it and enjoy :yelclap:

chat soon.

SimplyMum
05-09-2006, 08:37

Well- love to meet up again. Anyone got any suggestions of places?

There's lollypops in Penrith, Nepean River (might be a bit hard to keep track of littlies and talk at the same time though).

kalebsmummy- when are you moving up?

kalebsmummy
05-09-2006, 13:36
Baileymoo - at this stage, we're planning to be in Sydney in the first 2 weeks of October. I can't wait!

There's been some hub-ub :rolleyes: here today - there was a fathers' day card posted to me from Kalebs father. Weird thing is, I didn't send one to him (he seems to be under the impression that I did). It certainly had some choice phrases... he's one sick man to send something like that just to upset me. :banghead: I'm getting tired of being called a b***h and a s**t by him. I know there's a complex history between us (he's not named on the birth cert., he's not acknowledged Kaleb as his son, he has another child whos' 7 months old) but HONESTLY this latest act of immaturity just takes the cake :gloomy:

Aaaaaarrrrrgghghghhgh!!!!!!!!!! Has anyone else got an ex that's like this?

kboogie74
25-10-2006, 17:04
HI there

I noticed your post on get togthers for single mums, and I am in the Gladesville area. I am very new to this site, although I've been a single mum for 4 years. Would love to meet more single mums in my area.

SimplyMum
27-10-2006, 08:40
We haven't actually organised a meet up yet. We should. Kalebs mummy are you in Syd yet? (Oh and don't worry, I think the majority of the male population has the maturity of a 7yr old)

How about a date in late November?