View Full Version : Sydney/UK people
I was wondering if any of the UK people in Sydney wanted to meet up one day for coffee chats etc
I voted for Sydney as well I am here lol not really sure how many of us there are in Sydney.
I prefer weekdays but understand most people work lol
CarolineF
20-06-2006, 17:47
Wish I could but it would be a darn expensive coffee coming from Brissy:o :laughing:
Although I am technically from Manly and we like to think we are a town all of our own, can I come? xx
I'd be happy to on condition that if my waters break, no one will charge me for their dry cleaning :p
ohh cool :D
When you due Beany? Just so I can bring my raincoat and plastic pants :D
Claire that will be great if you come
PN come anyway you did live there once upon a time
Caroline that's no excuse there are some very cheap airfares out there:laughing:
did I use enough icons in this post
Not due for a while yet - the official due date is 18th of August. Having said that, judging by the increased fluids in various bits of my anatomy and the fact that the baby has lodged itself quite firmly in my pelvis (the little rotter), I think I'll be dropping it a little earlier than that.
Better bring the raincoat and plastic pants anyway. It's not like my bladder gives me much of a warning these days ... :D
Ah OK I have a friend due the same day actually!
Well how's about we meet next week some time, I am pretty easy with times and days so we can throw some ideas around, I am in the city I know Claire is over the "other side"
I know travelling when pregnant isn't much fun, so ideas people :D
I'm also in the city and, barring Monday and Wednesday this coming week, I'm easy for days and times, too.
So it's down to you, Claire :)
Monday I have my Mums Group and Tuesday I have gymberoo but other than that I am totally free....! Is Thursday good for everyone? Emily can sleep in her stroller so I am easy for times...
Cx
Whoo cool so shall we meet next Thursday 29th
Now for location, location.
How about a coffee shop somewhere?? Somewhere near Pitt St Mall/Martin Place would be good for me as its an easy stroll to the ferry and central....
Sounds good to me easy walk for me straight through the park :D
in Martin place there is the Lindt cafe..bit pricey but oh so yummy
where's Beany run off too?
"Run off to"?! You've gotta be kidding :D
Yep, Thursday is fine by me, as is Martin Place/Pitt street Mall.
My only request is that it not be too early ... I needs me sleeps! :D
Oh I was planning 9am :p
I am easy 11.30am?
11:30 is fine by me :)
If we're going to a cafe, I'll skip breakfast in anticipation!
Are we going to a cafe? You wouldn't just make me skip breakfast for a laugh, would you?
Claire might be able to help more with the cafes there I only know Lindt lol
Watcha doin up in the small hours Beany?
I am feeding Eliza :D
Oh just being kicked in the groin :D I knew I wouldn't be able to sleep with old wriggly in there doing the wriggly thing so I thought I'd get some "research" done for uni. Hah!
I haven't been to the Lindt cafe yet - heard all kinds of good things about it though.
Max Brenner in David Jones is pretty good. Though to call the seating "limited" would be an understatement. Not at all sure that 2 prams would manage to fit in there ...
You can type and feed? Motherhood is suddenly not looking that bad! :D
I remember those lovely kicks :D
Ahh I never bring the pram into the city for that very reason unless I am buying a lot then I use it as a trolley! So she'll be in the sling...
Oh yes I am now typing as fast with one hand as I did with two! Well she's back in bed and the laundy is done my nappy bags are re-packed might go watch the football!xx
Enjoy! I'll go read some more dull stuff about dull American authors and their dulls books.
Stupid books.
11.30 sounds great to me and I haven't been to the Lindt place either, but have heard good things. Lets face it, it has lots of chocolate so I'm in! I think it has quite a bit of room too and as unfortunately long gone are the days of being able to carry Emily in a sling, I'll be with a stroller.
I had a chuckle when I caught up with your posts this morning as I had been in bed since 8.30pm! Geeeez I hate the first trimester and I haven't even been :barf: . Remind me that it does get better Beany? I am looking forward to those lovely kicks (even if they are in the groin). I couldn't believe how much I missed them after Emily was born.
Cx
I had a chuckle when I caught up with your posts this morning as I had been in bed since 8.30pm! Geeeez I hate the first trimester and I haven't even been :barf: . Remind me that it does get better Beany? I am looking forward to those lovely kicks (even if they are in the groin). I couldn't believe how much I missed them after Emily was born.
Cx
I might not be the best place to look for reassurance right now - I have a dodgy pelvic ligament, my back hurts and, just to top it all off nicely, I have a sodding cold :gloomy:
But yes, the kicking (when not directed straight at the poor, abused bladder) is fun. Except when it does it when I'm singing. Everyone's a critic!
Ow I'd love to come Nat, even if it is just to prove to you that i'm not a raving alcoholic like everyone says!!:laughing:
But i'm afraid my DD decides where I go these days and I doubt very much i could keep her entertained in a quiet little cafe!:rolleyes: I'd be getting 'those looks' off eveyone when she starts playing up!:o
Hope you all have a super time though girlies!!:smiliedance:
You mean there is a child in existence that won't have the time of their lives sitting with their fingers in chocolate drinks, chocolate cakes and all sorts of other chocolate things to make her sick from now until next month?!
You just haven't taught her anything, have you?
Natasha there is an outside area there, anyway I have been there with Children in there I am sure she can manage 1/2 hour...think about it would be good to see you..+ Like Beany says child-chocolate-still-for 5 minutes at leats lol
Lol thats true!! Maybe I will come then!! You don't know what you have just done do you!!:laughing: :devil6: mwahhh hahhaha
That's OK you can sit outside we'll sit inside if she gets to crazy lol
I was really looking forward to the meet this Thursday but there's a chance I might not be able to make it ...
See, I am the caring, sharing type but I'd HATE to share my cold with your babies :( (not so fussed about the mothers - you can handle yourselves :D )
I was waiting to see if it would just clear up and go away but a niggling cough turned up last night. If I manage to turn the corner and am less buggy tomorrow, count me in. Otherwise, I'll have to take a rain check.
Drat it all. :mad:
:( hope you're better Beany be great to meet u and the bump!
Eliza just got over a cold poor mite!
Maybe I'll just plaster some of those anti-viral kleenexes over my face.
Hey, if I wore a hat and sunglasses, do you think people would mistake me for Michael Jackson? :D
Nonono, don't you remember those bandaged-faced pics of him?
Though it was a while ago. His latest favoured outfit is a hijab, I think.
lmao yeah turn up wearing that Beany I could do with a laugh
I hope you make it :D
Ohh I am excited Beany you better come young lady I'll bring a mask :D
Nasha you coming?
could just be myself and claire lol :D
Probably not, sorry guys, having 'issues' with DD at the mo, I think it's unsafe to subject you to her behaviour at the mo!:D
I'll see how she is today but she's teething really badly, has a sore bum and had her 18 month needles yesterday.:crying: So she isn't feeling her best, poor thing.
aww poor Anna perhaps not then ah well another time
I'm feeling a lot better but may well still be contagious ... I'm not sure I should subject your babies to that.
(granted, I was wandering around all day, looking at baby things in baby departments and thus subjecting strangers' children to the risk but hey, they are strangers! :D )
Like I said, I'm willing and more or less able if you lot are. I'm happy to take a rain-check too, if that's necessary :)
filmgirlgail
28-06-2006, 18:31
Have just discovered this thread and thought I'd say HI. I'm English, lived in Sydney 1985-88 when I was a teenager, then met an Aussie in the UK in 2001 and emigrated to Brisbane 2 years ago. So wouldn't be able to make the coffee morning in Sydney :D
I thought I'd say hi on this thread as the other ones all seem to be about footie at the moment!
Hey, by Friday, this thread will probably be about footy too :D
Beany that's excellent come along hey it's a cold I can't protect Eliza all the time and it's only a cold! So come :smiliedance: Well perhaps Claire doesn't want her kidlet exposed lol Gosh I am a tuff mummy lol
Filmgirl you could always fly down tonight :D
filmgirlgail
28-06-2006, 18:42
I could, but at 28 weeks pregnant my prefered evening is spent on the sofa :D
So ... any word from Claire yet?
We still on? Or are we postponing for Nash and the littlie?
Claire is coming and so am I Nasha said she's not as her lil one is teething and being a little monster I think lol
so just us three should be fun and sooooo yummy!:D:yelclap:
Girls I had a great time, finally we met Claire!!
Beany so glad you came along despite being so un-comfy and both of us short a$$'s sitting on the high high chairs lol
I never thought 3 chocolates would be enough but they were so rich!!
rubyredlips
01-07-2006, 10:59
Bummer I missed out on your meet up ladies -my puta at home has died and we havent had a chance to get a new one! I have been having withdrawl symtoms fromm the net HOW SAD! Anyway, i'm in a net cafe having a peep but Rubes just woke up so had better get walking!
Hope to back SOON!!!!!!!!!!!!:fingerscrossed:
I had a great time too, Mousey :)
Yeah, it's a tough life being a titch, ain't it?
Rubyredlips: perhaps you'll be along for the next one? I'm SURE Mousey will arrange it again :p
Rubyred Hope you get back on the net soon!
Yes we should have another meet how about in 6 weeks Beany you up for that??? :p :D
we can do another one in July that would be fun. Maybe somewhere else over your way Claire? Beany I could drive or we can take the Ferry together.
Anyways lets throw some ideas around.
Hey ladies
I think I still feel slightly sick after all that choccy, although perhaps it was from not having enough :detective: .... yes I think that is what it MUST be!
Would love to have you over this way - the ferry is very relaxing (I almost fell asleep on the way home on Thursday) although will travel if somewhere else is more convenient.
Really great to meet you guys - we had a ball!
Look forward to doing it again in a few weeks :)
M&P - just noticed the new pic of E....TOO CUTE!! :D
Yeah, a meet in 6 weeks sounds just dandy! I know an ideal location in Randwick, too!
Short plastic chairs, the faint smell of antiseptic in the air and loud profanities from the surrounding rooms ... Fun time to be had by all! :D
Yeah, a meet in 6 weeks sounds just dandy! I know an ideal location in Randwick, too!
Short plastic chairs, the faint smell of antiseptic in the air and loud profanities from the surrounding rooms ... Fun time to be had by all! :D
Hey Beany
You would be surprised at how much fun I would have! The only downside would be the horrid coffee so maybe we'll have to skip that option and leave it to you :D
But I don't want the horrid coffee!
I want the yummy epidural! *drool*
(Actually, probably should have left that drooling bit out what with Mousey's experience ... :o )
:laughing::laughing:LOL at the drool comment.....ah just you wait beany get the pethadine that stuff is heaven I'd take a smidge a day if I could, can you tell I have an addictive nature!!
Sooo when shall we meet???? do we want to meet each other again? I promise to wash this time and comb my hair and dress E in some clean clothes hmmkay :D
I read somewhere that up until fairly recently heroin was offered as a pain relief option in labour.
Now why couldn't I have had my whoopsie moment back then?!
My policy regarding pain relief is "accept first, ask questions later" :D
rubyredlips
17-07-2006, 11:13
Hi Ladies....... It seems to have gone awfully quiet in here... is it something I said?
rubyredlips
17-07-2006, 11:16
Did my picture come up...?
ahh no tisn't you RRL we just very quiet people Beany especially :D
rubyredlips
17-07-2006, 11:21
Aw look, theres my ickle Rubes :kiss:
Is Beany due soon?
awww :wave: Hello Ruby
Yep she's due in 3-4 weeks!!
I'm only quiet because I'm sleeping ...
At all other times, I do the Brits proud: whinge whinge bloody whinge :p
yes enjoy the sleep beany
rubyredlips
17-07-2006, 13:00
3-4 weeks eh?? eeeee!! is it your first? cant beleive Ruby is almost 5 months old!
i too can whinge! usually about the hubs snoring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:
Yep it's my first :)
Time is both flying past and slowing down to an absolute crawl. I'm always thinking "there's four bleeding weeks of this left! :crying: " followed by "There's only four weeks left!! :eek: "
And I can't really complain about the husband's sleeping habits at the moment, what with my getting up at all hours, tugging at pillows, kicking the duvets, grumbling and groaning as I try to turn my monumental self over ...
Oh well, it WAS all HIS fault.
I know the feeling RRL Eliza is nearly 15 weeks and I am like where did that go!!!
rubyredlips
17-07-2006, 13:33
15 weeks hey, hows she going? Ruby has been pretty laid back since day one! :fingerscrossed:
Beany - I remember that well! Are you working still? I went until right before which kept my mind busy....wish I had more time to veg out though! Cant bloomin win!
She's a real easy baby truly blessed thank goodness!!
RRL: Work? Pah! I'm a good-for-nothing-"why-don't-you-get-a-job" student :p
Semester ended last week so the timing was pretty perfect. I'm doing sod all for the next month (though don't tell my supervisor that! She thinks I'm working on my dissertation right up until I drop the baby and then start up again a few hours after the birth ... ).
How's that dissertation going Beany :D
Disserwhatnow? :D
My supervisor emailed me all concerned that she hadn't seen hide nor hair of me since May. I made up a pack of lies ... er, I mean, I told her how trying the pregnancy was ( :p ) and she told me not to worry - baby comes first! Just make sure I let her know when the baby arrives and let her have a hold ...
I'm glad I got a sooky supervisor. Imagine if it had been some crusty and embittered old fart :eek:
Yeah imagine you'd have a pen in one hand gas in the other lol
Sophie&Maisie
21-08-2006, 07:24
Hi, all have posted this on my own thread, but thought I'd say hello here as well
As the titles suggests. We are in the process of moving to Sydney.
So so so EXCITED, but also sooooo scared, stressed, apprehensive.
This is my first post, and I am just looking for general tips, and also to make some lovely friends.
I will miss my friends so much....
I am JO, I have two daughters
Sophie - Oct 2002
Maisie - May 2005
wouldn't say no to one more, would love a boy.
Would love advice on preschools, playgroups, things to do, child benefit.
Planning on moving to the castle hill area, although this is depend on hubby getting job ect.
Anyway can't wait to meet you all.
Please say Hello
Jo x:smiliedance:
I have no information on preschools, playgroups or child benefit ( centrelink (http://www.centrelink.gov.au/) would be the place to look) but am very happy to say hello.
Erm ... hello!! :wave:
What kind of "things to do" did you mean? I don't really know Castle Hill but there are lots of kiddy friendly places around the city (Taronga Zoo, the Sydney Aquarium). There are also playgrounds and things scattered around here and there. And of course the beaches which, unlike the seasides we became used to, have SAND! And are (mostly) clean!
What are you guys into doing?
PS: get your fill of Boots, Marks and Spencers and Sainsburys. Apparently, they are what ex-pats miss the most. Oh you laugh now but just you wait ... :p
Beany
Where is that baby!!?
Cx
Hi Jo
Welcome! I am from London and live in Manly which I love.
I am not sure what goes on in Castle Hill area but I have a friend whose got a little boy and who lives there so I'll pick her brains.
Claire :)
Hi, all have posted this on my own thread, but thought I'd say hello here as well
As the titles suggests. We are in the process of moving to Sydney.
So so so EXCITED, but also sooooo scared, stressed, apprehensive.
This is my first post, and I am just looking for general tips, and also to make some lovely friends.
I will miss my friends so much....
I am JO, I have two daughters
Sophie - Oct 2002
Maisie - May 2005
wouldn't say no to one more, would love a boy.
Would love advice on preschools, playgroups, things to do, child benefit.
Planning on moving to the castle hill area, although this is depend on hubby getting job ect.
Anyway can't wait to meet you all.
Please say Hello
Jo x:smiliedance:
Claire: Still stuffed in me somewhere ...
I think it's lost (on a one way road, no less). Must have lost the map weeks ago but denies needing it. It refuses to ask for directions and refuses to listen to me. I'm taking this as proof positive its a boy.
How's your bump coming along?
Jo I will type to you in a minute but Presntly my 4 month old wants to type to Beany's baby
' jmmmmkjx OK I think that says "stop stuffingaround and come out" Eliza just yawned hard work typing :D
JO I also have a friend in Castle Hill I know there is a good baby store there
I am from the westcountry originally so know Bristol a little bit.
I think we're moving back to London though by March next year he he!
Just for a few years.
Yep check out the link Beany left you :)
OK missey needs booby she's yapping on:rolleyes:
Claire we meeting on Friday Beany wanna come out? we'll be in the city I can help you thru the first stages if anything happens + I can ring noodle to come :laughing:
Depends when and where and for what :p
I have another OB appointment on Thursday - maybe I can convince him to take a scalpel to me then ...
PS: Eliza and sippy cup are adorable!
Beany - I want action!! Not that I can talk, I had kept everyone waiting 10 days for Emily (although I am sure its totally her fault as I am on time everything!).
We haven't worked out when where or what on Friday yet - that would be far too disorganised! Let us know if you have any ideas...that goes for you too Pixie! I promise not to throw my wedding ring away this time but I would prefer to keep away from sand :o
Bump is definately there which is actually quite nice as I don't feel just fat anymore. Got my scan next week - woo hoo!
Sophie&Maisie
23-08-2006, 07:23
Thanks Beeny and Claire. Will check out the link...
very excited, will defo be stocking up on all my english faves.
jo
Well Claire will just be me on Friday if you're around you just let me know when and where, as Beany went and her her baby :D I am going to see her today very excited to see a baby boy everyone I know has girls!
I'm home!
Yay!
I'm off to sniff Asher's tummy a bit :D
When's the next meet - I wanna show off the wickle awwwwikins!
Well we'll have to try and arrange a meet up soon, Claire and I missed last week due to other things so we can try again soon :D Awww lickle baby Asher :D
rubyredlips
28-08-2006, 12:39
Thats great news that you popped out your little one Beany! And, it seems boys are rare, everyone I know has girls! Aw, remember those beautiful newborn squeeks and gorpy noises???
Just beautiful, well done dear, and I hope you and the little man are well x:thumbsup:
Well How about we all meet in a couple of weeks? By then Beany you should of recovered a fair bit and be ready to head out! Rubyred I see you're in Manly Claires there as well,
Any ideas girls?
Beany and I are both in the city BTW
A couple of weeks' time sounds great - right now, I literally can't get dressed. Apart from bobbies that would put a beach ball to shame, the nipples are so raw that I can't bear to wear clothing - I know, it's all mental images you could have done without! Anyway, Noodle is off buying me aides of various kinds and sorts and hopefully things will become tolerable soon.
In the meantime, gaze upon Asher's smile!
Clever boy, smiling well ahead of schedule!
I can't stop looking at ickle Asher :D
Noodle should become your booby holder :D nice and gentle lol
good man he is, remember I am just up the road across the park if you need anything and he's back at work ;) Can you tell I am just trying to see the gorgeous baby again :laughing:
rubyredlips
30-08-2006, 13:00
Sounds like a great idea Pixie......I'm a picnic fan myself, (however packed luch isn't the same without a Dairylea triangle!) but am easily pleased! how about the Botanical gardens or something? I'm happy to get the ferry in....
Hows your sore nips Beany?? Eeee, that toe curling feeling!!!! Hang in there!!
Ruby: Nipples are still sore though the soreness isn't as bad and seems to heal faster than before.
Pix: I'm willing to visit as soon as I can bear clothing over aforementioned nipples. Oh and as soon as Asher isn't hanging off them all day and night .... He's been latched on most of the day today! The nipples look like raspberries. I think I'll switch to bottle now.
Yes i'd rather see you with clothes on, no offense lol perhaps a picnic is the go sounds great to me I love the botanical gardeniums.
Beany it feels like you are for ever feeding eh! it gets better it feels like it won't but it does!
OK better go spend some time with my better half, try n get a back massage out of him bwaha ha
You mention a picnic and the weather goes from mid-20s to back into the teens ...
I still think Aussies have a nerve complaining about English weather ...
So, hot chocolate in front of an open fire, anyone?
Where's there an open fire Beany? that sounds good tho better catch up before I leave for the darn UK OMG I can't believe I am going to live in London! AGhhhh
So where shall we go where is everyone well all the brits anyway lol
rubyredlips
12-09-2006, 11:13
Aw, memories.......... I'm sure I know somewhere with an open fire.......engage brain.....
I was being a brat :p
The only place I know with an open fire and hot chocolate is the Hydro Majestic but a jaunt up to the mountains for just that is a little bit much, I think.
Been mostly awake since about 4am. Went to bed at 1am. Brain frazzled. Can't think of any alternatives except plain old Gloria Jeans.
Tag! Someone else is It!
rubyredlips
12-09-2006, 20:16
Good old Hyrdo! We went for a scout around there about a week before ickle Rubes came and said hello....it was a real let down! the rooms were sooooo small, we ended up treating ourselves to this swish boutique hotel overlooking those glorious mountaniums! Am so pleased we did that!
Sorry, a little distracted there!
Beany - you sound v positive for a sleep deprived human being! you keep up the good work and I reckon a solid nights sleep will appear before......erm...chrissy?